Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 25, 2011
    83
    It's deja vu all over again in The Hangover Part II, only dirtier and more dangerous, if you can imagine that.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 25, 2011
    83
    Here, as in "The Hangover," the laughs aren't just staged, they're superlatively engineered.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    May 25, 2011
    80
    The chemistry this trio has is special; the premise of the sequel seems worn, but the way they work against and with each other is what provides the pleasure.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    May 24, 2011
    80
    The unexpectedly wonderful thing about this sequel is that it actually improves on the jokes.
  5. 80
    Manages to deliver more laughs than most of the competition.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    May 26, 2011
    75
    Never as edgy as it imagines itself to be. Bangkok may swallow innocents whole, but director Todd Phillips has a lucrative franchise to protect, so the film's flirtation with the comic abyss gets compromised into something that looks more like a rock-solid mainstream comedy with a prominent dark side.
  7. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 25, 2011
    75
    It delivers what it's expected to deliver, and that's likely to make it a success with anyone who laughed his ass off two summers ago.
  8. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 25, 2011
    70
    It's still fun to watch, but the first one was better.
  9. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    May 27, 2011
    67
    It's not that Hangover II is a notably bad movie. It's more that nothing in it seems to justify all the effort spent to add a new but nearly identical series of episodes to the original.
  10. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 25, 2011
    63
    What seemed laugh-out-loud fresh in its unpredictable rudeness (at least intermittently) is now chuckle-to-yourself funny with about the same regularity.
  11. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    May 27, 2011
    60
    That minute and a half of still photos packs in more dense, economical laughs than all the laborious gross-outs and chase sequences that came before. Maybe The Hangover Part III should consider restricting itself to the slide-show format.
  12. Reviewed by: David Denby
    May 30, 2011
    50
    The Hangover Part II isn't a dud, exactly - some of it is very funny, and there are a few memorable jolts and outlandish dirty moments. But it feels, at times, like a routine adventure film set overseas.
  13. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    May 26, 2011
    50
    Hangover II marks one of the most derivative sequels of the year: The opening and closing scenes are taken almost shot-for-shot from the original. Just substitute Asians for Americans, gross-outs for guffaws.
  14. Reviewed by: Gayle MacDonald
    May 26, 2011
    50
    Undeniably funny in parts, but the salacious spark and brilliant pacing of the original is off.
  15. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    May 26, 2011
    50
    This dark and seedy follow-up to 2009's blockbuster comedy has a quite a retro message - suggesting that civilized men carry inside them a monster, a "demon" within, that requires constant taming.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    May 26, 2011
    50
    How could a 2009 raunchfest that slapped a grin on my face I couldn't unglue degenerate into a cold dish of sloppy seconds?
  17. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    May 25, 2011
    50
    Lost is the fresh, perverse, painfully politically incorrect R-rated pleasure that came when "The Hangover" ate up the summer of 2009.
  18. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    May 25, 2011
    50
    Did I laugh? A handful of times. Did I cringe? For 101 minutes.
  19. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    May 25, 2011
    50
    It's clear that Phillips is betting heavily on funnymen Jeong and Galifianakis to hide his creative bankruptcy.
  20. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 25, 2011
    50
    A severe bout of sequelitis afflicts this eagerly awaited but only sporadically amusing follow-up.
  21. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    May 25, 2011
    50
    This isn't even really a sequel to the hilarious 2009 comedy smash set in Las Vegas. It's virtually the same movie, just transferred to another continent and with the raunch wildly amped up.
  22. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 25, 2011
    50
    I found this more elaborate, play-it-safe sequel far less fresh or funny.
  23. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    May 24, 2011
    50
    Has a "been there, done that, jailed for it" feel.
  24. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 24, 2011
    50
    Is this some kind of a test? The Hangover, Part II plays like a challenge to the audience's capacity for raunchiness.
  25. Reviewed by: John P. McCarthy
    May 23, 2011
    50
    The price for an invite to Stu's (Ed Helms) Thai nuptials is fewer laughs and an air of menace and mystery that won't endear Part II to escapist-hungry audiences.
  26. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    May 23, 2011
    50
    The rote professionalism on display verges on cynicism, and despite some occasional sparks, this ranks as a considerable disappointment.
  27. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Jun 1, 2011
    45
    It's not that Part II is bad, exactly. If "The Hangover" had never existed, this movie might feel funnier than it does, if not quite as freshly hilarious.
  28. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    May 26, 2011
    40
    This Hangover is a doozy, not quite as much fun (or well-written) as the original, but neither does it lack for lunatic plot complications that could only spring from the minds of writers Phillips, Craig Mazin, and Scot Armstrong.
  29. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    May 26, 2011
    40
    It follows the same essential pattern as its predecessor, but the ingenious loopiness is gone; the mechanism behind it grinds instead of whirrs.
  30. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    May 26, 2011
    40
    According to Phillips, the 'Part II' in the title is a nod to the second "Godfather," which matched the genius of its forerunner. Ironically, his own sequel offer is one you should refuse.
  31. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    May 25, 2011
    40
    The funniest, most reckless moments in The Hangover Part II, the largely mirthless sequel to the 2009 hit "The Hangover," take place in the final credits.
  32. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    May 25, 2011
    40
    Phillips sticks so close to the formula of his original that even the characters are given to saying things like, "I can't believe this is happening again."
  33. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 25, 2011
    38
    If not better, a Part II always has to be bigger. In the case of The Hangover Part II, that means raunchier, nastier, darker. It also means much more predictable, which is ruinous.
  34. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 25, 2011
    38
    Hangover II is more like a spitball meeting, a series of ideas that might, in theory, be good enough for a sequel, than it is an actual movie.
  35. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 27, 2011
    33
    It's as if the filmmakers were hungover from the first film and wanted to make a violent action movie instead.
  36. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 30, 2011
    25
    If The Hangover was a boorish blackout fantasy for our binge-drinking age, The Hangover Part II is something like the contents of a fraternity house's toilet the morning after an insane kegger-namely, regurgitated elements of a more entertaining prior adventure.
  37. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    May 25, 2011
    25
    The Hangover Part II offers absolutely nothing new to fans of the first film. In fact, once the comfort of familiarity has worn off, they may well feel as baited-and-switched as the patrons of one of the sketchier clubs the boys visit.
  38. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 27, 2011
    20
    What was fresh and surprising in Las Vegas turns rancid and predictable in Bangkok.
  39. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    May 25, 2011
    20
    It's hard to imagine a more calculating, creatively bankrupt piece of real estate than The Hangover Part II.
  40. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 26, 2011
    10
    It's a dumb, ugly and, most of all, painfully unfunny movie.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 553 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 176
  2. Negative: 41 out of 176
  1. May 27, 2011
    7
    I don't care if it followed the same structure as the first one, I still think it was great. Really funny and over the top. Sure, the first one was better, but I got a lot of laughs from it. Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    4
    I really looked forward to seeing this film, reason being that I loved the first film, but this film was darker and it was not up to standard. I guess I was forced to laugh at some parts of the film, it could of been a lot better. First of all the introduction was so boring, that I questioned myself if I didn't see the first film, I would be out of there within the first twenty minutes.

    Some of these Jokes, you have to wonder where they even funny or where they that shocking you wonder whether to laugh or not. The humor was nowhere near as good. I guess this is one of those failed sequels and to be honest I am not expecting a lot from the third one.
    Full Review »
  3. May 26, 2011
    6
    Maybe its because I'm biased about The Hangover franchise, in a positive way, because the original is one of my favorite movies of all time, but the new addition to the series shouldn't be getting a grade in the 40's. Yes, it is a much crueler and darker film than the original and everything feels the same, but "The Hangover: Part II" is better than the dumb, crap comedies that Hollywood produces on a daily basis. Newcomer, Mason Lee who plays Teddy, Stew's new fiance's younger brother, gives a flat, half-assed performance. And at points, I didn't even want "the Wolf pack" to find him when he went missing. I was sort of happy he was gone from the whole crowd. Also in this new addition, Alan seems more or less mentally handicapped in this film and after the first few of his jokes, you just start to feel bad for him, the humor is very dark and vulgar and there is no sign of heart or just any sign of human compassion in Part II. I'm not saying Part II is a bad movie, but none the less, I'm not saying its a great one. There aren't many quotable lines while the original was probably the most quotable movie of this generation, and the movie isn't very memorable. But, on the other hand, for the time being, it is consistently funny and while it is a little disappointing, it's a fine prequel to the last of the series, Part III, which hopefully starts Pre-Production in the next few months. By any means though, Part II doesn't deserve all of this critical bash it's receiving but it will please the fans for the time being.
    All in all, Part II is a meaner, cruder and much more vulgar remake of the original that is fairly funny and we'll entertain anyone in the theater, it'll just be that and will hold fans' attention spans long enough until the final part of the franchised is being released.
    Full Review »