The Hangover Part II

Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 25, 2011
    38
    If not better, a Part II always has to be bigger. In the case of The Hangover Part II, that means raunchier, nastier, darker. It also means much more predictable, which is ruinous.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 25, 2011
    38
    Hangover II is more like a spitball meeting, a series of ideas that might, in theory, be good enough for a sequel, than it is an actual movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 27, 2011
    33
    It's as if the filmmakers were hungover from the first film and wanted to make a violent action movie instead.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 30, 2011
    25
    If The Hangover was a boorish blackout fantasy for our binge-drinking age, The Hangover Part II is something like the contents of a fraternity house's toilet the morning after an insane kegger-namely, regurgitated elements of a more entertaining prior adventure.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    May 25, 2011
    25
    The Hangover Part II offers absolutely nothing new to fans of the first film. In fact, once the comfort of familiarity has worn off, they may well feel as baited-and-switched as the patrons of one of the sketchier clubs the boys visit.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 27, 2011
    20
    What was fresh and surprising in Las Vegas turns rancid and predictable in Bangkok.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Hynes
    May 25, 2011
    20
    It's hard to imagine a more calculating, creatively bankrupt piece of real estate than The Hangover Part II.
  8. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 26, 2011
    10
    It's a dumb, ugly and, most of all, painfully unfunny movie.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 610 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 184
  2. Negative: 42 out of 184
  1. May 27, 2011
    7
    I don't care if it followed the same structure as the first one, I still think it was great. Really funny and over the top. Sure, the firstI don't care if it followed the same structure as the first one, I still think it was great. Really funny and over the top. Sure, the first one was better, but I got a lot of laughs from it. Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    4
    It's clear this film was made simply to make a large heap of cash. If you enjoyed the first film, you shouldn't enjoy this one. Even theIt's clear this film was made simply to make a large heap of cash. If you enjoyed the first film, you shouldn't enjoy this one. Even the always great Zach Galifianakis can't save this mess. Full Review »
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    4
    I really looked forward to seeing this film, reason being that I loved the first film, but this film was darker and it was not up to standard.I really looked forward to seeing this film, reason being that I loved the first film, but this film was darker and it was not up to standard. I guess I was forced to laugh at some parts of the film, it could of been a lot better. First of all the introduction was so boring, that I questioned myself if I didn't see the first film, I would be out of there within the first twenty minutes.

    Some of these Jokes, you have to wonder where they even funny or where they that shocking you wonder whether to laugh or not. The humor was nowhere near as good. I guess this is one of those failed sequels and to be honest I am not expecting a lot from the third one.
    Full Review »