The Hangover Part II

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 613 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 27, 2011
    8
    The critics are right, this is the raunchiest movie ever created. It's also funny in every language and manages to mimic the original without being a clone. I love it, you will to.
  2. May 27, 2011
    7
    I don't care if it followed the same structure as the first one, I still think it was great. Really funny and over the top. Sure, the first one was better, but I got a lot of laughs from it.
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Don't even read what those idiotic critics have to say. I hate movie critics. How come they ever criticize a Hangover sequel? I know the jokes a re a little bit just the same as the first, but I think they changed it to a brand new look and if you haven't seen The Hangover Part II, Go rent it or buy it or save it in your wishlist! This is the best Hangover movie since the first and can'tDon't even read what those idiotic critics have to say. I hate movie critics. How come they ever criticize a Hangover sequel? I know the jokes a re a little bit just the same as the first, but I think they changed it to a brand new look and if you haven't seen The Hangover Part II, Go rent it or buy it or save it in your wishlist! This is the best Hangover movie since the first and can't wait for the sequel in 2013. Expand
  4. May 27, 2011
    9
    The original was AMAZING!!!! But the problem with this one is that it just feels like it's the same. The movie itself is very funny & I do like it, but it lacks originality which is why you have to deduct a few points. Otherwise this would have been a ten.
  5. Jan 31, 2012
    7
    I liked it but no where near as much as I did the first film but thats expected when its a comedy sequel, It rarely amounts to the first film. Its just as funny as the first film but its a lot of the same old same old imo. A lot more action too but Id rather have less of it, It doesnt seem to work well in the film for some reason. Its still funny though and if you liked the first film thenI liked it but no where near as much as I did the first film but thats expected when its a comedy sequel, It rarely amounts to the first film. Its just as funny as the first film but its a lot of the same old same old imo. A lot more action too but Id rather have less of it, It doesnt seem to work well in the film for some reason. Its still funny though and if you liked the first film then you will like this film. Just dont go in with high expectations. Expand
  6. May 31, 2011
    9
    THE MOVIE WAS GREAT i really like it, one of my friends asked me yesterday if they have to watch the first one before seeing tis one. i dont think its neccc , i mean the idea is the same , but i guess it has to be well its a sequal. i liked it and i laughed a lot which is what i paid for.
  7. May 31, 2011
    7
    I laughed a lot at this movie. Yes, the premise is the same as the first one, but the gags were different and I was entertained the whole way. If I were seeing this film without seeing the first one I would rate it a little higher, but because the characters aren't new and fresh anymore it isn't as good as the first one. There were a couple of hilarious scenes, a lot of mildly amusingI laughed a lot at this movie. Yes, the premise is the same as the first one, but the gags were different and I was entertained the whole way. If I were seeing this film without seeing the first one I would rate it a little higher, but because the characters aren't new and fresh anymore it isn't as good as the first one. There were a couple of hilarious scenes, a lot of mildly amusing scenes, and it has a monkey. Who smokes. I never expect sequels to be as good as the originals so maybe I went into it with lower expectations than other people, but I thought it was a success. Did I mention it has a monkey? :) Expand
  8. May 27, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to critics, they're just always depressed. Even though this movies followed the same path as the first one, THAT WAS THE POINT of this movies!!!!!! This movies is far funnier than the first one. Easily.
  9. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    Seems like they took 90 percent of the script from the first movie, added a car chase and replaced the baby with a monkey and a hotel roof for a hotel elevator. That being sai,d I went to see this movie to smile and laugh, as most people do when they go to see a comedy and I did both.

    Yes it was virtually the same film in a different location but it was STILL very funny.
  10. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hangover Part II. what a great film, yet another fantastic storyline. People doubted whether or not it could top the previous film, and if the sequel would ruin the originality of the previous film... they thought wrong. Part II is still the same idea, they all go out loose there memory etc etc, but Part II offers so much more comedy and thrill, there is more at stake this time, more too loose. It was great to see the "wolf pack" back together but unfortunately Doug was not in the whole drama again, he went home early, it would have been nice to see him get more involved in the film. This time they do not live the high life glamor like they did in Vegas, they were in Bangkok, there seemed to be a much darker and depressing tone in the movie, they wake up in the grotty, dirty hotel were all the power goes off, they find themselves in the slums of bangkok. the film gets much more graphic, near the beginning and throughout there are strong drug uses and strong sexual actions and nudity. I would say that this film is really a teenage humor, for 15 to 28 maybe but adults will enjoy just as much

    To sum up this film i would say it is a fantastic must see, its got to be comedy film of the year, its going to win loads of Oscars and just a general fun and fantastic film to watch. A must see film. i give it **** stars
    (please comment and rate my review :) )
    Expand
  11. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    It's a good film, but sometimes the jokes seem a bit overdone. Even if the film follows the same concept, I really had to laugh often in this movie. Why should you change something which worked perfectly in the past? Also they at least tried to make the film a bit more unexpected.
    It's a good movie, but don't watch it if you hate the fact that the concept was taken from the first Hangover.
  12. Jun 6, 2011
    8
    So what if it follows the same formula as the first? So what if the humor is super crude? What did you honestly expect? Once again, this wonderful cast comes together for another crazy night out, and the result is another film that made me laugh, and made me laugh hard. While it just isn't as quite as good as the first, I still thoroughly enjoyed this film, with "Alan" stealing the showSo what if it follows the same formula as the first? So what if the humor is super crude? What did you honestly expect? Once again, this wonderful cast comes together for another crazy night out, and the result is another film that made me laugh, and made me laugh hard. While it just isn't as quite as good as the first, I still thoroughly enjoyed this film, with "Alan" stealing the show again with his every line. Expand
  13. Jun 4, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this, even more then the first. I would say both movies have about the same amount of good laughs, but unlike 1, part 2 is has so much more adventure going for it. Good laughs in a more interesting city is good to me.
  14. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    Not quite on par with the first one, but still very funny and well worth seeing. Great to see the "wolf pack" back together again for another adventure.
  15. May 26, 2011
    10
    A classic example of a good comedy sequel. Truly fantastic. I saw this to make me laugh and make me laugh it did. Just take the film as it is - a comedy sequel. You'll love it.
  16. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    Overall I thought the movie was funny. I know that I laughed just as much or even more during this movie as I did the first Hangover. The concept was the same which brought the movie down a little bit, however, this was a comedy and it brought the laughs I was looking for.
  17. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I know I'm in the minority here. But I enjoyed it. I didn't think it was a good as the original but that's no surprise. But I did not think it was awful. It's way more unbelievable than the original. Let's face it, if any of that stuff happened in real life while in Bangkok you would be freaked beyond functioning. And understandably so. And a few reactions to events were truly unbelievable. But when it was funny, it was very funny. I laughed a lot. I really enjoyed Bradley Cooper. Especially his freaking out about the bachelor party. Great moment. And some really great one-liners throughout. Some very funny sight gags with touching things. Some gross stuff. And Coopers reaction to the tattoo was priceless.

    What I could have done without...It being Zach's fault again. The espionage angle. And as much as I like Chang or whatever his name is, I felt bringing him back was contrived. And I don't think I know anybody who would shrug off losing a finger. At least not without some morphine. I truly believe this movie will be enjoyed with repeat viewings.
    Expand
  18. Jan 4, 2012
    7
    A second part of a movie is expected to be more spectacular than the first. In this case, "The Hangover Part 2" is more or less the same as the first. This movie alone is very funny, adventurous and has an interesting plot. Compared to the original, it is very predictable, so there aren't as many surprises, but it definitely wins over many other films out. In my opinion it is a great filmA second part of a movie is expected to be more spectacular than the first. In this case, "The Hangover Part 2" is more or less the same as the first. This movie alone is very funny, adventurous and has an interesting plot. Compared to the original, it is very predictable, so there aren't as many surprises, but it definitely wins over many other films out. In my opinion it is a great film and a laughable experience. Expand
  19. Jan 19, 2012
    7
    This has to be a two-pronged critique to work. If you have seen the first one, then this one will feel like a fun rehash of it. The problem is that some of those excellent quips and one-liners that made the first one magical just don't seem to be there. If you haven't seen the first one, this is a riotous and ridiculous journey about a group of ragtag friends who are (yet again) tryingThis has to be a two-pronged critique to work. If you have seen the first one, then this one will feel like a fun rehash of it. The problem is that some of those excellent quips and one-liners that made the first one magical just don't seem to be there. If you haven't seen the first one, this is a riotous and ridiculous journey about a group of ragtag friends who are (yet again) trying to survive another pre-wedding night out, only to find out that it has spun (hilariously) out of control. Great jokes, funny action sequences, and more awkward moments than the last time you had to hang out with an ex you didn't want to be around. Expand
  20. Jun 8, 2011
    8
    I found this movie of the same standard as the first movie. Both were exceptionally funny and showed plots which gave good entertainment to the audience
  21. May 30, 2011
    10
    It's a movie about a big hangover, it fallows the premise of the 1st movie. Someone is going to get married. The guys get together to have a couple of drinks, they wake up in the middle of Bangkok and spend the next 24 hours looking for a lost crew member. The movie is very funny and the pictures at the end are even funnier,
  22. May 27, 2011
    7
    I can't blame the wolf-pack here. The movie wasn't lacking because of the acting chops. In fact, everyone did a fantastic job of pushing the movie forward as best they could. Special props to Ed Helms for being particularly funny in relatively unfunny moments. However, the prime issue with the movie is that the script itself just wasn't funny. There's hilarity and then there's shock value.I can't blame the wolf-pack here. The movie wasn't lacking because of the acting chops. In fact, everyone did a fantastic job of pushing the movie forward as best they could. Special props to Ed Helms for being particularly funny in relatively unfunny moments. However, the prime issue with the movie is that the script itself just wasn't funny. There's hilarity and then there's shock value. Here we aimed for shock as humor and it wasn't convincing. Zach Galifianakis has convincing moments, but the naive character from the first flick is no more, and that's a shame. All in all I laughed here and there, but I laughed more at the photos during the credits. It's a rental movie for a few chuckles, but the writing just isn't enough to warrant a buy. Expand
  23. May 28, 2011
    8
    It has moments where it's self-referencial, given it's Part 2, but overall, just as funny, witty, and clever as the first! As sequels go, this is a great follow-up!
  24. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    It was ok, Too similar to the first and lacks originality however the original parts in it are hilarious and just as good or better. Still a solid comedy none the less.
  25. May 28, 2011
    7
    This movie had the exact same formula as the first one, just different places and different situations. Which, in a way, was a little bit predictable. I was disappointed that Doug (Justin Bartha) wasn't a part of the problem. I wanted to see him doing some crazy stuff to. It had a lot of funny moments, especially with Mr. Chow (Ken Jeong). Personally, I think that the first one was better,This movie had the exact same formula as the first one, just different places and different situations. Which, in a way, was a little bit predictable. I was disappointed that Doug (Justin Bartha) wasn't a part of the problem. I wanted to see him doing some crazy stuff to. It had a lot of funny moments, especially with Mr. Chow (Ken Jeong). Personally, I think that the first one was better, because it was funner. I would prefer to get lost in Las Vegas, then rather being stuck in Bangkok. This one was awesome too. Even with the same structure, it's still interesting to see how these guys will solve their problem. Expand
  26. May 27, 2011
    10
    Maybe it looks like the first, but it is definitely very funny and I really like it. Definitely don't listen critics, they don't know what they saying. Amazing film, should be watched.
  27. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's 'The Hangover' just set in a different place. But then 'The Hangover' was great so why wouldn't this one be? Just as funny as the first even if it was basically the same. It's not a concept which has been done to death yet so it doesn't deserve to be panned for being the same as the first. Lack of involvement of Doug was a disappointment. I thought he may have joined in for some shenanigans. A third might be taking it a step too far but I reckon this one was alright. Expand
  28. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    Loved the first film, but was nervous about how a sequel would turn out considering how unnecessary one was. In the end it's good but isn't as funny as the first movie. One big flaw is how it fails to do anything new. The setting is dirtier and grittier, and the content is a lot darker, but most of the movie is just slightly altered content from the first movie. Still I enjoyed and fans ofLoved the first film, but was nervous about how a sequel would turn out considering how unnecessary one was. In the end it's good but isn't as funny as the first movie. One big flaw is how it fails to do anything new. The setting is dirtier and grittier, and the content is a lot darker, but most of the movie is just slightly altered content from the first movie. Still I enjoyed and fans of the first will as well. Just don't expect anything we haven't seen before in the first movie. Expand
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Unfortunately, part II doesn't bring as much laughter as it did the first but it was still enjoyable. Justin Bartha's character didn't miss much as he was the smart one to leave early back to Thailand. The hype of the movie spoiled the true fun as this would've been a great ride if it were to replace the first Hangover.
  30. Jun 5, 2011
    7
    Nice comedy. Not perfect, but i liked The Hangover II. But some moments are nauseous (I meant scene with transvestite in whorehouse). The movie is funny for one time.
  31. May 28, 2011
    9
    The Wolfpack is back. And according the critics thats a bad thing!? I dont think so. After watching The Hangover Part 2 I really have to ask what they were smoking? Just what movie did they see. I'll be honest I had my doubts because the first film was amazing and the success it had was incredible so following the original was always going to be a tall order but I now feel stupid for everThe Wolfpack is back. And according the critics thats a bad thing!? I dont think so. After watching The Hangover Part 2 I really have to ask what they were smoking? Just what movie did they see. I'll be honest I had my doubts because the first film was amazing and the success it had was incredible so following the original was always going to be a tall order but I now feel stupid for ever doubting this film. Firstly it's not the carbon-copy of the original - their are refernces made to it but they bring out the laughs remebering what went down. Yes it follws the same structure but I don't see the huge problem people have with that. If it ain't broke why fix it? This time around its Stu's wedding in Thailand and after joining The Wolfpack for a drink the night before the big day they wake up the next morning with a familiar feeling- it happened again. As Stu faces a races against time to get to his wedding they realise that he has lost brides brother, cue the madness and laughs as they try to figure out exactly what happened and where he is whilst evading the city of Bangkok! Ed Helms really steps up in the sequel and is great as Dr. Stu. Zach Galifiniakis is once again in fantastic form as the legendary Alan Garner, Bradley Cooper is once more mr cool Phil but the standout, besides that monkey, is Ken Jeong as the not-so-gangster Leslie Chow. Forget what the critics have said and just take the film for what it is. Its not as fresh and new but it was never going to be what you get is a hilarious sequel full of entertainment and ofcourse the LOL moments the first one was famous for and a marvellous little monkey! What more could you want? Expand
  32. May 28, 2011
    7
    While this film may not be very original (the critics are correct, it follows the first film to a T), it is by no means a bad or even terrible film. It has it's ups and downs like every comedy, and ultimately ends up being a satisfying experience, but it just doesn't have the charm of the first film because it's nothing new. At the very least, it's worth a rental, and at most, a packedWhile this film may not be very original (the critics are correct, it follows the first film to a T), it is by no means a bad or even terrible film. It has it's ups and downs like every comedy, and ultimately ends up being a satisfying experience, but it just doesn't have the charm of the first film because it's nothing new. At the very least, it's worth a rental, and at most, a packed midnight showing with a fun audience. Expand
  33. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Very funny sequel to one of the most funniest movie's yet to release in the last couple years. The concept is equal to the first one so, you already will know what could happen or imagine the mysteries of the story. The story is well scripted . But, see the first one if you haven't seen the movies .
  34. May 28, 2011
    8
    The plot is exactly the same as the first one and the jokes aren't quite as funny as before. However, if you enjoyed the original, there is plenty to enjoy here. It is not as good as the first film, but it was never going to be able to top that. If you are willing to ignore the identical plot, and just embrace the humour of the film, you will enjoy the Hangover Part 2 immensely, but don'tThe plot is exactly the same as the first one and the jokes aren't quite as funny as before. However, if you enjoyed the original, there is plenty to enjoy here. It is not as good as the first film, but it was never going to be able to top that. If you are willing to ignore the identical plot, and just embrace the humour of the film, you will enjoy the Hangover Part 2 immensely, but don't expect it to be as good as the first. Expand
  35. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    It's not that it's not very funny in parts, because it is, but the lack of originality, in that the structure of the plot is EXACTLY the same (the way they've shot it seems like they were deliberately trying to make it the same, with the beginning, end credits and even the general storyline ), which brings it down as you know exactly what's going to happen before it happens most of theIt's not that it's not very funny in parts, because it is, but the lack of originality, in that the structure of the plot is EXACTLY the same (the way they've shot it seems like they were deliberately trying to make it the same, with the beginning, end credits and even the general storyline ), which brings it down as you know exactly what's going to happen before it happens most of the time. It's a shame, but there wasn't really anywhere exciting they could go with the "hangover" concept, should really have just stuck with the first one and used it as a blueprint on how to make other films with seemingly stereotypical ideas and themes original and exciting. Instead, they've cashed in on an idea that seems tired five minute into the film. Expand
  36. May 29, 2011
    8
    It was very similar to the first, but with a plot twist and two here and there, and many guffaw-worthy moments everywhere, this is the winning formula that made the original so incredible. However, this movie is much more dirty and filled with "adult content", but this does coincide with the movie's darker setting. I loved it, and will be laughing for awhile.
  37. May 26, 2011
    8
    The movie is quite good in its own right, by all means. However, compared to the original, a great degree of flair was lacking in this sequel. Simply, the movie is nowhere near as outrageous as the original was. Now, this may well be due to the original becoming a fixture in American culture, but regardless this new one simply cannot provoke the same fits of laughter for swaths of timeThe movie is quite good in its own right, by all means. However, compared to the original, a great degree of flair was lacking in this sequel. Simply, the movie is nowhere near as outrageous as the original was. Now, this may well be due to the original becoming a fixture in American culture, but regardless this new one simply cannot provoke the same fits of laughter for swaths of time as the original one. Truly Ed Helms outdoes himself in this one, and it shows. The other acting is excellent, but Ed helms showed a full range of character traits, and, if for no other reason than his and Ken Jeong's good acting, this is a wonderful movie to see. Expand
  38. May 26, 2011
    7
    Just let go of expectations, this isn't going to top the original. Once you've gotten past that, the sequel can stand on its own. While not as good, it's funny in it's own right. Several scenes will make you laugh, while a few are actually rather serious. It's generally predictable as they follow the same direction that the first did... which isn't necessarily a bad thing. What was tiedJust let go of expectations, this isn't going to top the original. Once you've gotten past that, the sequel can stand on its own. While not as good, it's funny in it's own right. Several scenes will make you laugh, while a few are actually rather serious. It's generally predictable as they follow the same direction that the first did... which isn't necessarily a bad thing. What was tied into the 2nd from the 1st works, and it works well for the most part. Some parts seemed forced, others flow. If your a fan of the original, go with some friends and enjoy seeing what the cast gets themselves into. It's nothing mind blowing and it isn't going to win any awards, but it's worth seeing. Expand
  39. May 30, 2011
    9
    It was a blast! Sequels are tough. Of course the inevitable comparisons to its predecessor come into play, but 2 delivers.

    Yes, we all know "who" the characters are, and we all know what Hangover inevitably becomes, and that may take some of the punch away - but that also means if this is your first Hangover, then you'll find it even more of a blast. Wasn't sure the cameo worked, but I
    It was a blast! Sequels are tough. Of course the inevitable comparisons to its predecessor come into play, but 2 delivers.

    Yes, we all know "who" the characters are, and we all know what Hangover inevitably becomes, and that may take some of the punch away - but that also means if this is your first Hangover, then you'll find it even more of a blast.

    Wasn't sure the cameo worked, but I guess its a way to bring back one of the characters involved in one of the funniest situations of the first.

    Yes, my rating is based on the fact that I fell prey to what I already mentioned - I saw the first and no matter what will always have that "comparison" in the back of my mind. But make no mistake, this is a hilarious sequel and adds to the Hangover cult status. Let's see, the finale should be Zach's turn, right?
    Expand
  40. May 30, 2011
    8
    The critics are expecting Shakespeare, which is the only way they can be panning this great sequel. If you set realistic expectations, you will leave the theater completely satisfied.
  41. May 30, 2011
    10
    I don't get all the negativity. It's a buddy comedy, what did you expect? This isn't some pretentious arthouse film, guys. It made me and my friends laugh loudly the entire way through, and that's all that matters. One of the main complaints I'm hearing is that it was basically the same as the first movie except in a different location. OK, let's analyze this: it's called THE HANGOVER PARTI don't get all the negativity. It's a buddy comedy, what did you expect? This isn't some pretentious arthouse film, guys. It made me and my friends laugh loudly the entire way through, and that's all that matters. One of the main complaints I'm hearing is that it was basically the same as the first movie except in a different location. OK, let's analyze this: it's called THE HANGOVER PART II. Meaning, an extension of the first movie. They weren't going to make any radical changes, and they didn't have to. They met my expectations, and it was 10 dollars well spent. Expand
  42. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    The hangover 2 differs from the hangover in that all the crude parts are in the movie and not at end credits. The hangover 2 sticks to the original formula as the first movie and relies on crude potty humor and an overly abudence of F bombs to pull off a few chuckles. Save your money, wait for on demand and in the mean time watch the first one again.
  43. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    I don't really understand what people's expectations were for this movie, but after reading reviews on here and THEN seeing the film, I thought it was hilarious ! Ton's of over the top dark humor, man/lady private parts, and a monkey ! Although the plot was more or less the same as the first, it still found ways to surprise you. Not a movie for everyone, but if you enjoyed the first movieI don't really understand what people's expectations were for this movie, but after reading reviews on here and THEN seeing the film, I thought it was hilarious ! Ton's of over the top dark humor, man/lady private parts, and a monkey ! Although the plot was more or less the same as the first, it still found ways to surprise you. Not a movie for everyone, but if you enjoyed the first movie and aren't sitting there trying to find the flaws you should find yourself satisfied and laughing throughout the most part. Expand
  44. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Hangover happens to be one of the best comedy movies I've seen. So what if it's just like the first one. Its a hangover why should things change. Really I think its better. They lost thier friend last time, but this time they lost a kid which could a have jeopardized the whole wedding. Yes the other wedding could have stopped, but how do you explain a missing child, in **** Hangover PartHangover happens to be one of the best comedy movies I've seen. So what if it's just like the first one. Its a hangover why should things change. Really I think its better. They lost thier friend last time, but this time they lost a kid which could a have jeopardized the whole wedding. Yes the other wedding could have stopped, but how do you explain a missing child, in **** Hangover Part II, was wonderful, so for anyone that sees this review, you should go see it. It wont be a waste of money nor time. You will enjoy the action-packed, hilarious movie known as Hangover part 2. Expand
  45. Jun 8, 2011
    7
    Part 2 is The Hangover. Simply this is a reboot more then a sequel. Still fans of the first film will appreciate some new jokes in this second addition. It is not better or worse then the first film but it is the same film so just like the hipster next door I have to say the original was so much better!
  46. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    The hangover II is exactly like the first one. It is funny but while watching the movie, you feel like you have seen it all in the first one. It lacks the originality, the first one had. Still a funny movie.
  47. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Awsome movie but the first movie is better and also it very funny and tthere is alot of awsomwe **** in it
    ya has to be 150 chacarters long goddammit watevs it prett awsome ****
  48. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    "The Hangover part: II" is what i thought it was going to be, a great movie. The main cast in the movie were awsome. Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, Zach Galifianakis, and Ken Jeong have this chemistry that is insane. hangover 3 cant wait. i know people like my sister who were a little disappointed with the movie but i wasn't. i think the people that have given this movie a mixed or negative"The Hangover part: II" is what i thought it was going to be, a great movie. The main cast in the movie were awsome. Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, Zach Galifianakis, and Ken Jeong have this chemistry that is insane. hangover 3 cant wait. i know people like my sister who were a little disappointed with the movie but i wasn't. i think the people that have given this movie a mixed or negative review went into this movie thinking it was going to be better then the original. That was their mistake u cant go into sequels thinking that or your going to be disappointed. Bottom line "The Hangover Part II" is the best comedy of the year so far and probably the best since original. Expand
  49. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    The Hangover: Part 2 is an incredible film. It is a really funny film with more crazier things done in this then in the last one. The Story was a good one. My only problem with the film is some of the things in the story you can say they took it from the first one. Even though the critics are saying this is terrible to be honest i dont care what they say because i enjoyed this film alot.The Hangover: Part 2 is an incredible film. It is a really funny film with more crazier things done in this then in the last one. The Story was a good one. My only problem with the film is some of the things in the story you can say they took it from the first one. Even though the critics are saying this is terrible to be honest i dont care what they say because i enjoyed this film alot. This is probably the funniest film ive seen in a while. I would give this film a low full price Expand
  50. Jul 15, 2011
    7
    Similar structure as the first movie (which is totally okay by me). Some very dirty, yet funny parts. The pace of the movie seemed to go faster than the first Hangover movie. All the humor revolves around Alan, which is to be expected. Something any movie goer should see (and when I say 'any,' I mean from the age group of 18 - 35). Leave the kids and elderly at home folks.
  51. Aug 7, 2011
    8
    Not sure if I saw the same movie as you guys, but I thought it was really funny. Ok, sometimes it's a little predictable but still really funny. The hangover II was not as good as the first one but I had some good laughs in the movie theatre, like everyone else watching the movie. It was surely raunchier, dirtier and more crazy than the first one, but that doesn't mean it wasn't funny. INot sure if I saw the same movie as you guys, but I thought it was really funny. Ok, sometimes it's a little predictable but still really funny. The hangover II was not as good as the first one but I had some good laughs in the movie theatre, like everyone else watching the movie. It was surely raunchier, dirtier and more crazy than the first one, but that doesn't mean it wasn't funny. I had a good laugh and that's what I paid for. Expand
  52. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    This second helping is darker, grittier and more obscene than the original but not necessary better or worse than its predecessor. I found 'The Hangover Part II' to be more of a continuation of the first film (as the title suggests) then a entirely new sequel. Being an R-rated comedy, you're not going to unearth a more rancid, scandalous hive of foul language, full-frontal nudity or drugThis second helping is darker, grittier and more obscene than the original but not necessary better or worse than its predecessor. I found 'The Hangover Part II' to be more of a continuation of the first film (as the title suggests) then a entirely new sequel. Being an R-rated comedy, you're not going to unearth a more rancid, scandalous hive of foul language, full-frontal nudity or drug references but quite frankly you shouldn't expect otherwise and it's this appeal which won over so many fans from the 2009 movie. Warning: watch this picture with an open mind! Expand
  53. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    Far too similar to the previous film and it isnt as interesting either. However once it gets started, Its far more enjoyable and features quite a few side spliting moments.
  54. Dec 9, 2011
    8
    The movie is called "The Hangover"...I know what I'm getting when I watch it. No one goes to see Transformers expecting to be moved emotionally and reflect on life decisions. So why are you expecting a situational comedy movie to be anything more than that. YES they used a lot of the same gags that they did in the first one, but I laughed, and that's all that I ask of them, is to make me laugh.
  55. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    The Hangover Part II tries so hard to be exactly like the first that it leaves nothing to the imagination and has no surprises what so ever! Don't get me wrong, the movie is great, it still has all its laugh out loud one liners, and of course Alan. What Part II doesn't have is originality. With a sequel, we want to see the same characters we love, in a similar, but different story. ThisThe Hangover Part II tries so hard to be exactly like the first that it leaves nothing to the imagination and has no surprises what so ever! Don't get me wrong, the movie is great, it still has all its laugh out loud one liners, and of course Alan. What Part II doesn't have is originality. With a sequel, we want to see the same characters we love, in a similar, but different story. This movie parallels the original to the point where they are uttering the same lines in the same situation, just in another city. If you saw the first one, while watching this one, you're going to know where they go and what happens next. They have a great thing here with a ton of chemistry between the actors, but what they need to do is take it to the next level. I hear they have hired a screenwriter for a third chapter, let's hope they keep the laughter and change the story! Expand
  56. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    Don't lie to yourself, The Hangover Part II (2) was a GREAT movie if not perfect, at the time.
    I really enjoyed any moment from the chaos that only 3 men can make.
    If there won't be 3, and even better then this, cause I don't have a **** idea how it got 46 metascore and 5.6 user score!
    That rating makes this site, WRONG!
  57. Jan 7, 2012
    7
    Another enjoyable film by Todd Phillips. Unusual shenanigans in Bangkok with the "wolfpack" make for a hilarious comedy. It's the Hangover Pt. 1, just in a different place with dirtier jokes, but still worth watching.
  58. May 8, 2012
    8
    Well it isn't as good as the first but, it's still funny. But it's still kind of dissapionting that this didn't live up to my very high expectations. Well, maybe 3 will be better.
  59. Jul 8, 2012
    7
    Perfect example where the sequel doesn't live up to the original. This film uses a different backdrop (Bangkok-where hedonism is king) but uses the same story line and pieces to try to imitate the success of the first. This dynamic of trying to replicate the first one is so obvious its almost unwatchable except you want to see it end.
  60. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    I really have no idea why this movie has got such a low rating this movie is such a superb piece of comedy the world will ever know .this movie should be somewhere 8-10
  61. Dec 8, 2012
    7
    The first one was better. Thailand was a great setting. But truthfully, Vegas was better. The plot then was better. Maybe the third installment will do us good.
  62. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    I thought it would be hard to top the first film but surprisingly enough they managed to make a sequel just as good I know most prefer the first one but I think they are pretty much on par, and this one certainly seems like it has a little more Action and new creative jokes :P Great to have all the main cast back as well! Thailand was also a good location choice and a nice little mix-upI thought it would be hard to top the first film but surprisingly enough they managed to make a sequel just as good I know most prefer the first one but I think they are pretty much on par, and this one certainly seems like it has a little more Action and new creative jokes :P Great to have all the main cast back as well! Thailand was also a good location choice and a nice little mix-up from Vegas. Overall a great movie to watch with mates, and I can't wait for the third and final chapter! Expand
  63. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    Movie was great but it's the same like the first one. Everything is changed but plot is the same. Alan and chow are the main key of the film. GREAT MOVIE!
  64. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    Nothing new here, just bits and pieces of the original. But maybe that's not such a bad thing, considering how funny the original was. This movie is just a couple of steps below it, and definitely worth a watch.
  65. Oct 11, 2013
    8
    Th Hangover Part II is everything the first movie was but this time its in Thailand. Stu tries to have a nice and safe wedding but everything starts spiraling out of control. They loose Stu's brother-in-law and must find him before the wedding. Part II is just as good as Part I if not better.
  66. Jul 12, 2014
    8
    Sure, it's not as good as the first, but still a good movie. new setting and they got more extreme in this one. Storyline the same which is nothing negative. I enjoyed it
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Jun 1, 2011
    45
    It's not that Part II is bad, exactly. If "The Hangover" had never existed, this movie might feel funnier than it does, if not quite as freshly hilarious.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    May 30, 2011
    50
    The Hangover Part II isn't a dud, exactly - some of it is very funny, and there are a few memorable jolts and outlandish dirty moments. But it feels, at times, like a routine adventure film set overseas.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 30, 2011
    25
    If The Hangover was a boorish blackout fantasy for our binge-drinking age, The Hangover Part II is something like the contents of a fraternity house's toilet the morning after an insane kegger-namely, regurgitated elements of a more entertaining prior adventure.