The Hangover Part II

The Hangover Part II Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 610 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the follow-up to the record-breaking hit comedy "The Hangover," Phil, Stu, Alan and Doug travel to exotic Thailand for Stu's wedding. After the unforgettable bachelor party in Las Vegas, Stu is taking no chances and has opted for a safe, subdued pre-wedding brunch. However, things don'tIn the follow-up to the record-breaking hit comedy "The Hangover," Phil, Stu, Alan and Doug travel to exotic Thailand for Stu's wedding. After the unforgettable bachelor party in Las Vegas, Stu is taking no chances and has opted for a safe, subdued pre-wedding brunch. However, things don't always go as planned. What happens in Vegas may stay in Vegas, but what happens in Bangkok can't even be imagined. (Warner Bros. Pictures/Legendary Pictures)

    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 40
  2. Negative: 8 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 25, 2011
    83
    It's deja vu all over again in The Hangover Part II, only dirtier and more dangerous, if you can imagine that.
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    May 26, 2011
    75
    Never as edgy as it imagines itself to be. Bangkok may swallow innocents whole, but director Todd Phillips has a lucrative franchise to protect, so the film's flirtation with the comic abyss gets compromised into something that looks more like a rock-solid mainstream comedy with a prominent dark side.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    May 27, 2011
    60
    That minute and a half of still photos packs in more dense, economical laughs than all the laborious gross-outs and chase sequences that came before. Maybe The Hangover Part III should consider restricting itself to the slide-show format.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    May 23, 2011
    50
    The rote professionalism on display verges on cynicism, and despite some occasional sparks, this ranks as a considerable disappointment.
  5. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    May 25, 2011
    50
    This isn't even really a sequel to the hilarious 2009 comedy smash set in Las Vegas. It's virtually the same movie, just transferred to another continent and with the raunch wildly amped up.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    May 25, 2011
    40
    The funniest, most reckless moments in The Hangover Part II, the largely mirthless sequel to the 2009 hit "The Hangover," take place in the final credits.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 26, 2011
    10
    It's a dumb, ugly and, most of all, painfully unfunny movie.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 184
  2. Negative: 42 out of 184
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Don't even read what those idiotic critics have to say. I hate movie critics. How come they ever criticize a Hangover sequel? I know the jokesDon't even read what those idiotic critics have to say. I hate movie critics. How come they ever criticize a Hangover sequel? I know the jokes a re a little bit just the same as the first, but I think they changed it to a brand new look and if you haven't seen The Hangover Part II, Go rent it or buy it or save it in your wishlist! This is the best Hangover movie since the first and can't wait for the sequel in 2013. Expand
  2. May 28, 2011
    8
    The plot is exactly the same as the first one and the jokes aren't quite as funny as before. However, if you enjoyed the original, there isThe plot is exactly the same as the first one and the jokes aren't quite as funny as before. However, if you enjoyed the original, there is plenty to enjoy here. It is not as good as the first film, but it was never going to be able to top that. If you are willing to ignore the identical plot, and just embrace the humour of the film, you will enjoy the Hangover Part 2 immensely, but don't expect it to be as good as the first. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    Nothing new here, just bits and pieces of the original. But maybe that's not such a bad thing, considering how funny the original was. ThisNothing new here, just bits and pieces of the original. But maybe that's not such a bad thing, considering how funny the original was. This movie is just a couple of steps below it, and definitely worth a watch. Expand
  4. May 28, 2011
    6
    The best part of the first movie is also the best part of the second film: the photo reveal during the credits. Absolutely hilarious. IThe best part of the first movie is also the best part of the second film: the photo reveal during the credits. Absolutely hilarious. I jumped out of my seat a couple of times to the chagrin of my crime partners. The rest of the movie is good, just not nearly as new and fresh as the original - which is to be expected. It's not the Empire Strikes Back of comedies. It also doesn't have as many plumb supporting roles as the first. The lack of Mel Gibson in the tattoo artist scene leaves a gaping hole where some laughs should have been. And the cameo toward the end (no spoilers) was almost painfully unfunny. What salvages the movie is seeing more of the Wolfpack and Chow. On another note, how does this girl from the Real World San Diego keep getting roles? First Sucker Punch and now this? She doesn't seem to bring much to the table. But hey, to her credit, she's one of two actresses to emerge from that show with any semblance of a film career. Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2011
    5
    I Can't rate this movie any higher, because though this movie had some laugh out loud moments, for me it was just too much like the first one.I Can't rate this movie any higher, because though this movie had some laugh out loud moments, for me it was just too much like the first one. I'm sure that the filmmakers wanted to follow the same format, but for me it just doesnt work. I think they over thought this one....... Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    4
    Bland and unmemorable, this movie simply rehashes the first in form and content. I can recall laughing, but I can't recall at what. A blackoutBland and unmemorable, this movie simply rehashes the first in form and content. I can recall laughing, but I can't recall at what. A blackout of a movie, it's as if its entertainment value has been been omitted from my life. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    0
    I know I'm late to the party here, but redbox threw me a couple free rentals and everybody makes mistakes, okay? Good god, what was this? II know I'm late to the party here, but redbox threw me a couple free rentals and everybody makes mistakes, okay? Good god, what was this? I know the first flick is propped up because it was the only thing in a barren wasteland of comedy movies, but was it good enough to be done TWICE? With less jokes? Folks, I promise you, Zach Galifanakis is actually pretty funny. Please don't blame the man; blame the material. And what is up with this Bradley Cooper guy? He's absolutely WORTHLESS. Running around acting like a complete jerk does not a compelling (let alone likeable) character make. All people want from these movies is fatty and glasses; why do they even bother with the other two milquetoasts? Expand

See all 184 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. DVD Release Calendar: December 2011

    DVD Release Calendar: December 2011 Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Get a full listing of every movie and TV show coming to DVD and Blu-ray in the next month. December's top releases include "The Hangover Part II," "Rise of the Planet of the Apes," and "Midnight in Paris," plus the first season of "Portlandia" and the second of "Archer."
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 25, 2011
    This week's roundup is filled with new trailers and clips, including the very first look at "The Hangover Part II" and new glimpses of "Battle: Los Angeles," "Source Code," "Sucker Punch," and "Bad Teacher." Plus, get the latest details on the next Bourne film and other upcoming movies.
  4. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.