Lionsgate | Release Date: August 18, 2017
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 253 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
140
Mixed:
92
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SSH83Sep 16, 2017
These days, movies are judged by political correctness above all else. This movie tried to please with some jarring affirmation moments, but... since the white man is "protecting" a black criminal, and all the women are being saved by theirThese days, movies are judged by political correctness above all else. This movie tried to please with some jarring affirmation moments, but... since the white man is "protecting" a black criminal, and all the women are being saved by their lovers, it is impossible for any politically correct person to like this movie. The only moral thing to do is to give this movie a 10 to show I am 10/10 against it, despite how entertaining it was to watch. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
EludiumQ36Dec 25, 2017
You most definitely get your high-octane action from this hitman vs ruthless dictator flick but you get an unexpected side of passive-aggressive rom-com, kind of a weird combination but stay with it, it pays off nicely in the end. Note,You most definitely get your high-octane action from this hitman vs ruthless dictator flick but you get an unexpected side of passive-aggressive rom-com, kind of a weird combination but stay with it, it pays off nicely in the end. Note, there's one point where Ryan's character sings "I Saw the Sign" in falsetto in the car while SamuEL is attempting to finish his "No one gets out alive" improv - that should've been a Deleted Scene. Just FF through it and enjoy the rest. It's a strong Netflix on the Buy/Netflix/Skip scale, and it's a Netflix production btw. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SileSixEchoSep 10, 2017
This movie is good old-fashioned entertainment with a great cast and a lot of mindless fun. The only thing that was a bit odd to me was the very explicit display of violence which felt a bit odd considering the generally humorous tone of theThis movie is good old-fashioned entertainment with a great cast and a lot of mindless fun. The only thing that was a bit odd to me was the very explicit display of violence which felt a bit odd considering the generally humorous tone of the movie. Anyway, I had plenty of fun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RalfbergsSep 29, 2017
Fun movie with lots of action, great jokes, really enjoyable watch. Only why I don't rate this higher is that I probably will forget about this movie in a year. I mean it is fun to watch and interesting etc, but it won't last in the memoryFun movie with lots of action, great jokes, really enjoyable watch. Only why I don't rate this higher is that I probably will forget about this movie in a year. I mean it is fun to watch and interesting etc, but it won't last in the memory like some other movies, I mean it won't became that big of a hit. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Jess_HillSep 16, 2017
A gloriously fun experience which has a refreshing nineties approach to the genre that revels in spectacular action sequences and clever dialogue. The performances from Jackson and Reynolds are superb; they have a delightful rapport onA gloriously fun experience which has a refreshing nineties approach to the genre that revels in spectacular action sequences and clever dialogue. The performances from Jackson and Reynolds are superb; they have a delightful rapport on screen, and the pacing is excellent, with the storyline playing out with brilliantly choreographed violence and superb cinematography. The secondary characters are well rendered and add a surprising depth to this hilarious and highly entertaining film. Stylish, clever, funny, and delectably violent, this is an instant classic of the action genre that is well worth your time. 9.13/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Tony1984Jan 27, 2018
Firstly the makers of this movie managed to royally piss off the government of Belarus! No way Gary Oldman will ever get a visa to visit if they don’t just have him shot. Why didn't they do a makey uppy Sakovia? Never mind. This is a veryFirstly the makers of this movie managed to royally piss off the government of Belarus! No way Gary Oldman will ever get a visa to visit if they don’t just have him shot. Why didn't they do a makey uppy Sakovia? Never mind. This is a very entertaining comedy/action flick with one of my favourite comedy actors Ryan Reynolds, the critics don't like him which makes me like him more. I'm positive he'd be brilliant in serious roles if given half a chance. Ten times better than his fellow Canadian Ryan Gosling.The co stars in this movie aren't my favourite. Samuel L Jackson and his constant M*********R are way past their sell by date and I've never understood the attraction of Salma Hayek. Elodie Yung is good though.

Not withstanding this is still a tremendous fun movie, Masses of mayhem, violence , explosions and a very simple good guy bad guy message. Loved it..
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Dragonfly44Nov 27, 2017
This movie was funny and thoroughly entertaining, but barely decent writing gives the great cast little to work with. It was just another action comedy, funny and exciting but nothing different.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BlueDeadpoolSep 10, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Hitman’s Bodyguard was a hit or miss kind of film. It had a very unique concept of a world-class bodyguard (Ryan Reynolds) protecting a contract killer (Samuel L. Jackson) that has been out to kill him before, and used their differences against them. I quite enjoyed it, but didn’t find myself laughing too much, as most jokes felt forced and Darius Cincade (Samuel L. Jackson) was very cliche due to his immaturity, which was the basis of most of the jokes in the film. In the beginning, both characters hated each other and the film only gave us a bit of backstory between themselves. Most of what they had both been through was told through references to events during dialogue, leaving their past up for interpretation. The action was fantastic and well choreographed, however it had some continuity errors. In the ending Cincade wastes at least 2 mags trying to shoot his target from possibly only 15 metres away, yet we learned that he shot Michael’s client from the beginning of the film from at least 400m away with one bullet. Not just this, but when Cincade breaks free from the van that was escorting him to court, he kills many, many, bad guys, and yet can’t hit an unarmed man running with no obstacles blocking him from being shot. He also knows exactly where Michael is without any explanation as to how (e.g when he saved him from interrogation) and is annoyingly always right. Can’t he just be wrong for once?

There was a clear distinction the film made between comedy and action, it never actually merged the two. It was always one or the other. The only time I remember seeing comedy during an action scene was just right before it ended, and it was a subtle joke. It’s way more action than it is comedy, and I’m perfectly fine with that because the action was intense, well paced and entertaining. The gore, while unnecessary at times, was done realistically and not too excessively, but was still unnecessary (like Darius pulling the bullet out of his leg for a whole minute).

All in all, the film was actually very good and perfectly entertaining, with some funny jokes and immersive action. I never lost interest when watching it and there would be a possibility I’d see it again if I had the chance.

I am glad to give The Hitman’s Bodyguard a 7/10.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Ej_mupasOct 31, 2017
The Movie is amazing to watch! Great comedy action movies.
Full of amazing scenes and a great story.
I love the scene where the armed men were chasing Samuel Jackson, just WOW amazing stunts ! definitely a great movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
whoischarlotteSep 21, 2017
This film isn't amazing, but it isn't awful either. I just had a fun time watching this film, a great balance of action and comedy which is complimented by the talented of Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L. Jackson.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Sep 2, 2017
No, "The Hitman's Bodyguard" doesn't break any new ground. Like, NONE whatsoever. Be it in terms of its plot, characters, etc., this is all stuff you've seen before. However, that's not to say I don't enjoy all of these largely ubiquitousNo, "The Hitman's Bodyguard" doesn't break any new ground. Like, NONE whatsoever. Be it in terms of its plot, characters, etc., this is all stuff you've seen before. However, that's not to say I don't enjoy all of these largely ubiquitous elements. Yes, there's something undeniably safe about the use of Eastern European villains, nonsensical explosions, and poorly drawn love interests, but my sheer enjoyment of the film's key elements (the two lead performances, the action in a general sense, the overall tone) simply outweighs my academic cry for "something new" here. Overall, not a bad time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
temptershellAug 28, 2017
It's fusion of Jackson's bests roles and Reynolds's natural comedy talent in one movie. Behind the pavement on the comedy this production is too serious for the thriller. Pretty good connection without heat. The same cliches like in lots ofIt's fusion of Jackson's bests roles and Reynolds's natural comedy talent in one movie. Behind the pavement on the comedy this production is too serious for the thriller. Pretty good connection without heat. The same cliches like in lots of similar comedy and emotionally void at the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JackytheRipperSep 1, 2017
This is laugh out loud funny and over the top. But hey, I was in the mood for a silly action movie. The Hitman's Bodyguard did not disappoint. Great soundtrack, too!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondAug 22, 2017
The critic really missed the boat on this one. The chemistry between the two leads (and with their respective love interests) is palpable, the comedy in general is on point, and the action is incredible! In my theater alone, there wereThe critic really missed the boat on this one. The chemistry between the two leads (and with their respective love interests) is palpable, the comedy in general is on point, and the action is incredible! In my theater alone, there were belly laughs, people choking on their food, etc. Compared to the other action-comedies of 2017, this one stands head and shoulders above. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
ShiArchAug 30, 2017
Critics are clueless. It was a pretty good action movie with fun elements. Never a dull moment and it was a delight. It seems that critics only like boring pretentious art films and documentaries while having fun while watching movie is a bigCritics are clueless. It was a pretty good action movie with fun elements. Never a dull moment and it was a delight. It seems that critics only like boring pretentious art films and documentaries while having fun while watching movie is a big no for them. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
DubeauSep 2, 2017
I really like that movie in terms of humour and action. The story is interesting. You get some questions about who really is the good or the bad guy. It's funny but more smiling kind of... The action scenes are well done, especially how theyI really like that movie in terms of humour and action. The story is interesting. You get some questions about who really is the good or the bad guy. It's funny but more smiling kind of... The action scenes are well done, especially how they did the camera angles and placement. Yes, it's nothing really new in terms of action but it's done efficiently. The film keeps it's focus on one goal, so there are side stories that gets briefly exploited. And in the end some conclusions are a bit...easy to see. But it was fun, I give it a 70% Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
pastor43Aug 19, 2017
The movie was a simple fun ride, if you want anything more then maybe you should write, produce and direct a movie yourself. This was pure fun with talented actors across the board.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
SacchnAug 23, 2017
This is Deadpool mixed with pulp fiction. Need I say more? Its fast paced, action packed. The combination of Ryan and Samuel makes a good team. The smart remarks are endless.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
7
crankyermaAug 27, 2017
Solid, entertaining action flick that had a funny script, performed by a couple of guys who can deliver comedy lines as well as just about anybody in the business. Too bad the director and editor seem to find comedy and timing to be a foreignSolid, entertaining action flick that had a funny script, performed by a couple of guys who can deliver comedy lines as well as just about anybody in the business. Too bad the director and editor seem to find comedy and timing to be a foreign concepts. Still a decent summer flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RelaxedmikeAug 22, 2017
Not bad. Contrived and predictable though. I gave it a 7 based on the action and flow of the movie. Never a dull moment here. The screen fills up with humor and exposions all over the place. I can see why though many would give this movie a 5Not bad. Contrived and predictable though. I gave it a 7 based on the action and flow of the movie. Never a dull moment here. The screen fills up with humor and exposions all over the place. I can see why though many would give this movie a 5 or 6 rating. Samuel Jackson delivers his usual arrogant, deadpan and sometimes funny lines. Profanity is slung all over the place like peanut butter spread. If you like action, you will like this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
pupusenapatiSep 1, 2017
Film goes from a waste to best when great actors like Samuel L. Jackson and Reylonds are there. Pretty excited. Best part when Reynolds asked the man to pass the gun for him :) Go and enjoy the love action and comedy all at once :)
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
appsec-testAug 22, 2017
Wasn't a bad movie. Had a lot of humor with a decent amount of good action. Two good actors who have starred in a number of great action comedy films.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Greens131Aug 22, 2017
Entertaining and funny. the boys got the job done. and the women were great - especially Salma Hayek who was really great and funny. No overblown. this is a good escape movie. See it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
StrumzillaNov 24, 2017
I laughed out loud through much of the movie. It's a pretty predictable buddy (anti buddy?) action movie with some over the top (not in a bad way) action sequences and the plot/character development isn't the strong point, but what do youI laughed out loud through much of the movie. It's a pretty predictable buddy (anti buddy?) action movie with some over the top (not in a bad way) action sequences and the plot/character development isn't the strong point, but what do you expect from this sort of movie? The back and forth smartassery is on point and enjoyed the on screen chemistry between Reynolds and Jackson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeFeb 4, 2018
Once upon a time two sworn enemies teamed up!

Maybe the critics are right, but like usual, I don't have to agree with them. This is a nice film, not a great film as a few people lauding. It is entertaining. All the stunts were good, comedies
Once upon a time two sworn enemies teamed up!

Maybe the critics are right, but like usual, I don't have to agree with them. This is a nice film, not a great film as a few people lauding. It is entertaining. All the stunts were good, comedies were good enough, but the basic plot itself a cliche. Yes, anybody aged 20+ would surely have seen many similar storied films. It's just in another time with another cast and crew. They had promoted it so well. So the result was incredible. But in reality JUST one time watchable film with not expecting serious laughs.

Initially I thought it could be this year's 'The Nice Guys', and they are about to repeat the same magic of Crowe and Gosling duo. But it was different. Too hard hitting, just what Tarantino fans would like to have. Besides, their guy, Samuel L. Jackson is here. Both the leads were good. That does not mean they have saved the film. That's an assumption of fanboys. Luck could be another factor!

It was about a hitman in capture decides to give an important testimony in the International Criminal Court against a powerful man. So now the bad guys are after him in his every move from England to Holland. A demoted bodyguard takes the job to safely get him to his destination. Their journey begins where they are going to encounter a series of obstacles and they finally make it where a major twist comes in before the end.

As I said, this is no special, except the way they have presented on the screen makes the difference. But again, not all films are lucky in that criteria as this one. It is like one in a 20-25 films. So if your objective is timepass, then this will do just fine. There could be a sequel, probably prequel seems a nice idea. But I'm not sure whether I want it or not. I'll just be happy if they do!

7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eva3si0nMay 28, 2018
I don't understand opinion of critics at all. One of the best comedy movies of 2017. Great cast, cheerful plot and set of jokes. One of the best comedies of 2017. P.S. Gary Oldmen speaking broken Russian and being the president of Belarus isI don't understand opinion of critics at all. One of the best comedy movies of 2017. Great cast, cheerful plot and set of jokes. One of the best comedies of 2017. P.S. Gary Oldmen speaking broken Russian and being the president of Belarus is beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Mar 8, 2018
Yeah, this is the basic story of two opposites forced to go on an action-packed adventure together. However, there is still a surprising amount of entertainment to this. Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L. Jackson have great chemistry together. SalmaYeah, this is the basic story of two opposites forced to go on an action-packed adventure together. However, there is still a surprising amount of entertainment to this. Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L. Jackson have great chemistry together. Salma Hayek is also a hoot in her limited time. The comedy is surprisingly funny here.

Be forewarned, that the villains are quite serious and deadly. On the one hand, it does make them a serious threat for the protagonists. On the other hand, it feels like you're watching two different movies at points.

Also, Gary Oldman was cast as the villain in a role that was kind of beneath him. Don't get me wrong. He gave it his all, but the villain was at a basic level that it didn't need a grade-A actor.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kunivaNov 29, 2017
The only thing good with this movie was seeing Salma Hayek swear like a loose cannon. I kinda expected more from Gary Oldman though, the role could have been better developed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CoKronakanSep 7, 2018
This movie shows what a great cast can do to a movie if given the freedom. The comedy action genre fits perfectly Ryan and Samuel as well. They most certainly have a synergy in this movie, because the scrip is amazingly simple with a perfectThis movie shows what a great cast can do to a movie if given the freedom. The comedy action genre fits perfectly Ryan and Samuel as well. They most certainly have a synergy in this movie, because the scrip is amazingly simple with a perfect humor fit over the story. And as far as I know they also improvised and modified the script so 10/10 for the actors. Also the director's style is really nice and makes the movie fun and entertaining to watch. The Holland vibe is welcomed as well. The plot is very simple, it's basically offered on a plate for everyone to understand, but because it's as simple as this it really has no life lesson, at the end. No message comes over, which is a bad thing in my opinion, because what is a movie if not a piece of art, a piece of expression....well here it's just entertainment sadly. The visual effect are sadly awfully generated CGI, it's even cringy to watch at times. But the SFX and music always helps in keeping the tension. Overall it's a very good movie, which could have been an amazingly good if the action scene's would have been filmed more stable directing style, with better visuals and with a consistent conclusion at the end of the plot. P.S: I really hope there is going to be a second part of this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews