Miramax Films | Release Date: April 6, 2007
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 43 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
9
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LeoTs3181983Sep 6, 2010
The Hoax is a great movie.It's just a little silly,however. But Richard Gere is great. It's one of his best movies. I highly recommend it:So don't miss it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
SweetToothApr 22, 2007
This is a terrific film crafted by professionals who know what they are doing and clearly love doing it. When movie screens are blanketed with nonsense like 300 and Pathfinder, it is a relief and a joy to behold a film that artfully tells a This is a terrific film crafted by professionals who know what they are doing and clearly love doing it. When movie screens are blanketed with nonsense like 300 and Pathfinder, it is a relief and a joy to behold a film that artfully tells a good tale. This is a real winner that you will find worthy of both your time and your money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BilB.Apr 20, 2007
I was not impressed with either the acting nor the story. Although I did find it entertaining, I would not recommend paying box office prices to see The Hoax, wait for it on DVD and see it for $1.99 from your local video store.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Apr 26, 2007
I was 19 when the Clifford Irving-Howard Hughes biography was all over the news and I remember thinking at the time what the big deal was. Somebody wrote a book about an eccentric hermit billionaire. So what? After seeing The Hoax I wished I was 19 when the Clifford Irving-Howard Hughes biography was all over the news and I remember thinking at the time what the big deal was. Somebody wrote a book about an eccentric hermit billionaire. So what? After seeing The Hoax I wished I'd have put down the joint and paid more attention. Lasse Halstrom has made his most entertaining movie since What's Eating Gilbert Grape with a true story thats immensely intriguing, very funny and rich in characters. I am not a Richard Gere fan but I will say this is the best role of his career. He plays Clifford Irving in all his desperate glory and not once do you see Richard Gere the movie star! This could be the one that gets him an Oscar nomination next January, no kidding, he's that good! The whole cast is that good. Alfred Molina, Hope Davis and Marcia Gay Harden all shine in very meaty roles and the credits are all top notch, especially Carter Burwell's score with a spot-on perfect song over the end credits. The Hoax is a great story made into a good well balanced movie that leaves you hoping for a sequel, not for The Hoax, but for The Aviator! Scorsese and DiCaprio doing the Howard Hughes the way this movie, and everyone alive, really remembers him!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcK.May 9, 2007
The acting's very good, but the plot is extremely slow moving. At least another 15 minutes or so could have been cut, which would have made it a much more enjoyable film experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LukeApr 13, 2007
Gere is okay, but between the brain-dead Hughes, the cut-throat publishers, and the lying novelist and his forger wife, there is absolutely no one in the movie to care about or root for. Come on, Hollywood, give us movies with people of Gere is okay, but between the brain-dead Hughes, the cut-throat publishers, and the lying novelist and his forger wife, there is absolutely no one in the movie to care about or root for. Come on, Hollywood, give us movies with people of substance with decent values, not this drek. I found myself wishing all the characters would die an ignoble death. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
amheretojudgeDec 1, 2019
The Hoax is nothing like you'd expect. Sort of like the very definition of the title. Hey! There's your first clue. They are getting things right.

The Hoax Lasse Hallstrom, the director, is an optimistic fellow. He has to be. Or so he
The Hoax is nothing like you'd expect. Sort of like the very definition of the title. Hey! There's your first clue. They are getting things right.

The Hoax

Lasse Hallstrom, the director, is an optimistic fellow. He has to be. Or so he projects himself as. Armed with a bizarre true story and even ridiculously funny script. The film easily has ten moments, steps in each act of the film that drops your jaw in the air. Now, that is a good script. But I think what Lasse does here is something much smarter and efficient. You'd think that after a while, the shock therapy would grow weary. But where there were supposed to be "mehs" there is perpetually an awe. And his first way in, is through the pace. It moves with a ferocious speed, even at times neglecting characters and their priorities. Lucky for them, they have a great cast and equally great performances in their side, especially Alfred Molina as the "co-author". There is another major improvement in the film and it is how meticulous it is. You'd think that a film like such, of such genre, that displays time passing by rapidly will rely upon montage sequences and a train of various scenarios whooshing in front of us. And instead we get proper hand picked set pieces driving carelessly in this safe street. Which makes me think about the genre, now. "The comedy" genre of the film is actually a major contributor in the dramatic elements. We get the essence of sketchy scenes. Now, where we draw lines in comic films are completely different then where we would draw in dramatic ones. Lasse pushes back and forth between these genres to make the most absurd plot swallow with delight in our face and the most mundane requirement feel like responsibility. That is what it all comes to, responsibility.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews