Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 13, 2020
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 93 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
23
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TryASummersaultMar 13, 2020
8.2/10 A brutal blast of an action packed political/class satire that rips apart both sides of the spectrum in bloodshed and hilarity.
I think after the initial delay of this film in September last year this was misjudged by its violent
8.2/10 A brutal blast of an action packed political/class satire that rips apart both sides of the spectrum in bloodshed and hilarity.
I think after the initial delay of this film in September last year this was misjudged by its violent trailer and some associated it with some violence in the news. Well now that it finally came out people are going to realize it goes after both political sides with razor sharp wit and intensity and the slaughtering doesn't discriminate. It's actually a very clever and accurate reflection of our Insane social/political climate these days full of extreme beliefs and opinions.

The story itself may not be the most innovative as we've seen this human hunt concept sort of thing in other films before but it works well with its premise and mixture of satirical comedy. It's a fast paced film that really never lets up. The action and brutality comes in bunches and is actually way more than I thought form the trailer. You also get your twists and turns that keep you intrigued with the plot. As everything comes to a head we get a very visceral showdown with a fantastic ending that many will not see coming.

The cast is all very expendable other than Betty Giplin which is phenomenal in this and blew me away. Everyone else is fine in their specific roles and the dialogue is surprising and sharp as a tack. Overall you won't know what you're getting until you actually see this for yourself and shape your own opinion . I for one thought it was extremely solid.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
Vikn01776Mar 13, 2020
I love how whenever something is critical of conservative ideals it is always lauded as great or at least clever, but if it so much as pokes at liberal ideals in the wrong way it's instantly discounted as trash. Im a liberal person in mostI love how whenever something is critical of conservative ideals it is always lauded as great or at least clever, but if it so much as pokes at liberal ideals in the wrong way it's instantly discounted as trash. Im a liberal person in most respects. I have very little I agree with conservatives on. However, in 2020 I agree with them on one major issue....a makor disdain for the way most luberals have been actingfor about 5 years. Most popular culture is awfully biased towards the liberal way of thinkinf. Even in the worst ways. The comically hyperbolic versions of leftist thinking. I can likely summarize why...people who are inherently uninteresting and lack the capacity for individual and critical thought scan the culture for a personality to adopt. They see "being a liberal" as an identity in response to seeing people they admire doing so. They see being the most liberal as a valued commodity and, without thought, dive straight into that way of thinking. Now, any idea that strays from that thought process is no longer a disagreement, its a personal attack on their identity. You aren't challenging their ideas anymore, you are personally attacking their entire person. Anyway, I appreciate comedy/art that attacks both commonplace political ends of the spectrum, so I enjoyed this. Plus it was the source of misplaced controversy. That's always funny to me. People trying to stifle art because they disagree with the point should themselves be stifled and said art should be plastered theoughpit America in their faces. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
bbonkMar 20, 2020
Look, plain and simple this movie is a lot of fun! Lots of action, lots of blood, humor, a like-able heroine, a fun snooty villain. Great "stay at home" entertainment. At $19.95, uh, what the heck. I made up for it with cheaper beer andLook, plain and simple this movie is a lot of fun! Lots of action, lots of blood, humor, a like-able heroine, a fun snooty villain. Great "stay at home" entertainment. At $19.95, uh, what the heck. I made up for it with cheaper beer and popcorn than what I would have paid in a theater. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
marco34laMar 14, 2020
bloody gory campy fun. loved the female lead in this. took some twists i didn't see coming. had some good kills and laughs. why is there a minimum word requirement to post. bloody gory campy fun
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Bulletsponge69Mar 13, 2020
Awesome movie, good action, funny. Well done. It doesn’t suffer from bad fight choreography or daft dialogue, it pokes fun at liberals and conservatives.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
erolsabadoshMar 20, 2020
I thought this was just going to be a cheesy horror movie but it's actually a really well done comedy thriller with a heavy dose of satire. There are plenty of surprises that kept me entertained and on top of that it was very well acted andI thought this was just going to be a cheesy horror movie but it's actually a really well done comedy thriller with a heavy dose of satire. There are plenty of surprises that kept me entertained and on top of that it was very well acted and directed. I loved it, so glad I watched it! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
zmgalen2000Mar 30, 2020
Perfectly horrifying, scarring, and eye-jabbing. "The Hunt" is a film that will certainly cause many to bat an eye at its gore and concept, but its execution is brilliantly-done, shedding a light on the contemporary socio-economic dividePerfectly horrifying, scarring, and eye-jabbing. "The Hunt" is a film that will certainly cause many to bat an eye at its gore and concept, but its execution is brilliantly-done, shedding a light on the contemporary socio-economic divide through precarious cinematic craft. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
radixlecti84Mar 24, 2020
Well this seems to be yet another movie that leaves me at odds with general opinion.

The Hunt is a fantastic little B movie, very much in the same vein as "battle royale", if this movie succeeds in anything its creating a really bad ass and
Well this seems to be yet another movie that leaves me at odds with general opinion.

The Hunt is a fantastic little B movie, very much in the same vein as "battle royale", if this movie succeeds in anything its creating a really bad ass and believable female lead. Seems ironic this movie should be panned when it suceeds where most other movies fail in that regard.

Very nice fight core-ography, gore galore and an endeering bit acting by the main character.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PanchogulMar 23, 2020
La Cacería (2020)

Sinopsis: La historia sigue a un grupo de personas que son perseguidos y cazados uno por uno por un grupo de ricos de élite por deporte, por simple diversión. Opinión: Esta película me tomó por sorpresa y resultó ser muy
La Cacería (2020)

Sinopsis:

La historia sigue a un grupo de personas que son perseguidos y cazados uno por uno por un grupo de ricos de élite por deporte, por simple diversión.

Opinión:

Esta película me tomó por sorpresa y resultó ser muy buena y llena de suspicacia.

La trama va mucho más allá de la simplista sinopsis siendo una sátira sobre las supuestas élites de alto rango llevándolo hacia un frenético viaje que no se detiene ante nada.

El guión es bastante interesante y sorprendente, realmente no es para nada predecible y las vueltas de tuerca que ofrecen al espectador lo hacen aún mejor con un clímax cargado de intensidad, diversión, ironía y cinismo pese a la falta de originalidad que posee.

Sin dudas una buena película para distraerse en estos tiempos difíciles, no verán la película de sus vidas, pero de que los va a distraer de todo y pasar un buen rato es totalmente seguro.

Valoración:

4.5 ⭐ de 5 ⭐
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ShiArchMar 21, 2020
A very well done satire/thriller/horror with plenty of WAIT WHAT!!! moments. Just loved the humor of this movie. Enjoyed this with beer and it made my weekend. Top notch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
freshtalentMar 24, 2020
Been a while since I saw a film this fun! Guns Akimbo was ok for a wild ride, but def much more cliche to me than The Hunt. I’m sure this has been said, but it’s like a much better version of Ready or Not, being about hunting humans and all.Been a while since I saw a film this fun! Guns Akimbo was ok for a wild ride, but def much more cliche to me than The Hunt. I’m sure this has been said, but it’s like a much better version of Ready or Not, being about hunting humans and all. Don’t take the film seriously and enjoy the hell out of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
viroodiemMar 22, 2020
The most relevant comedic movie since idiocracy.

While it does start to thin out toward the end, I have not laughed this much at a movie in far too long. The problem this movie faces is it attacks both conservatives and liberals. Thus it
The most relevant comedic movie since idiocracy.

While it does start to thin out toward the end, I have not laughed this much at a movie in far too long.

The problem this movie faces is it attacks both conservatives and liberals. Thus it has the potential to alienate the audience. However if you do have a dark sense of humor and are absolutely sick of what both sides are doing to this country you cant ask for a better representation of it on screen.

This will become a cult classic once people get over themselves and the hype surrounding it and actually watch it for themselves.

By no means perfect, it is not the film we want, it is the film we deserve.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AWESOM-0Mar 25, 2020
It was a good movie and Betty Gilpin did a great job! I’m sure it offended people from both sides of the aisle but the people offended but the violence seems silly. Violent stuff is all over, seems like a strange one to take a stand on.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JamesDickinsonMar 25, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is so good like the music background and how we are always on the edge of our seat and waiting to see who will die or survive and everything is just great I loved it so go watch it Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsMar 13, 2020
Is The Hunt a perfect movie? No. The Hunt is, however, a political satire done well. This movie makes fun of a lot of issues all across the political spectrum that are sure to delight and offend all who watch it. The cast is really charming,Is The Hunt a perfect movie? No. The Hunt is, however, a political satire done well. This movie makes fun of a lot of issues all across the political spectrum that are sure to delight and offend all who watch it. The cast is really charming, particularly Betty Gilpin. The story is engaging, even though I think it has a bit too many moving parts. The highlight of this movie is the action sequences. The finale in particular is really well executed. This is a movie I think everyone should check out, just for the themes and violence if nothing else! Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
SquabBubbaMar 14, 2020
This movie was exactly what I was hoping for. Very entertaining. The acting was not bad and the story did not disappoint.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Mar 13, 2020
Look, I know I'm capable of talking a big "I went to screenwriting peoples' college" game and all, but I'm also a simple MF-er at heart. If your movie's basically a series of well-executed and enthralling scenes of action and intrigue, I'mLook, I know I'm capable of talking a big "I went to screenwriting peoples' college" game and all, but I'm also a simple MF-er at heart. If your movie's basically a series of well-executed and enthralling scenes of action and intrigue, I'm much more apt to look over the cracks and creases of the overall narrative. And, yes, "The Hunt" is a largely ineffective satire with a needlessly convoluted mystery at the center of itself and a bevy of cringeworthy lines littered throughout its runtime. I'd say these problems can be largely chalked up to co-writers Nick Cuse and Damon Lindelof, however, as nearly every other production-centric element of the movie is in ship shape, with the product's two biggest factors -- director Craig Zobel and lead performer Betty Gilpin -- really making this experience that much more worthwhile. Again, expertly staged action and a terrific lead performance are no cure-all combination, but they certainly help propel a movie into the realms of eminent watchability. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
section20mi6Mar 27, 2020
A brilliant action piece combined with relatable commentary that mocks both liberals and conservatives alike, The Hunt proves itself to be smart, gory and thrilling all at once.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
LTLMar 22, 2020
Had a 80s movie vibe full of bloody gory campy satirical fun! Make more like this!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
LuisTheMar 14, 2020
Im seeing a lot of critics give bad reviews merely based off their confusion behind the message of the film. Which literally tells the message for you. This movie isn't for far-left liberal never-trumpers, i guess they just aren'tIm seeing a lot of critics give bad reviews merely based off their confusion behind the message of the film. Which literally tells the message for you. This movie isn't for far-left liberal never-trumpers, i guess they just aren't intellectually capable of identifying the sheer genius behind the writing of this film, their own bias blinds them from at least acknowledging the superb acting jobs done by the whole cast in the movie which without it the movie would've been a 7 on my scale. You never hear about trump supporters spitting in bernie supporters faces or throwing tantrums at anyone opposing their vote. The far left are so mad right now because the democratic support has shrunken into thirds and has only continued to shrink as 2020 moves on into its 2nd quarter. Far-left political junkies are so full of hate and anger that the story plot behind this movie is actually believable which terrifies me to my core. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
8
moothemagiccowMar 31, 2020
I liked this movie. It was fun to watch. It helps if you are perpetually online and don't like Fox News or NPR.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews