Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 2, 2009
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 159 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
46
Negative:
35
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BobSNov 4, 2009
Fabulous. Funny. Well done. Yes, it might have been executed in a better cinematic way, but who cares. The story, the plot, the acting, and most importantly the message was outstanding. In a nice delicate way it explained how religion -- Fabulous. Funny. Well done. Yes, it might have been executed in a better cinematic way, but who cares. The story, the plot, the acting, and most importantly the message was outstanding. In a nice delicate way it explained how religion -- while it might do very nice things to make people happy and lead nice lives -- is based on fables and stories. As people take those stories and make them absolute truths, they inhibit their ability to have original thought and sometimes do bad things. They can even use the religion as the excuse or rationale to do things that aren't good for others. They claim they can do things because god talks to them. That's why religious extremists can inspire so many illiterate and hopeless people and turn them into terrorists. That's why religions can get people to hate people - like gays, people of other religions, or non-believers. That's why religions can get people not to use birth control even thought population expansion is really bad for the planet. That's why Popes jailed Galileo in the 17th century for having scientific thought that contradicted church teachings. And that's why the religious right today can get all upset about movies like this -- because they see it as blasphemy that challenges their thinking rather than just seeing it as a someone with original thought questioning beliefs that have gotten out of hand. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
PeteFOct 3, 2009
I found this movie very refreshing for not only the acting, but the overall themes. The performances were very honest, and even though most of them seemed child-like, it fit the world they were creating perfectly. Sure, many critics called I found this movie very refreshing for not only the acting, but the overall themes. The performances were very honest, and even though most of them seemed child-like, it fit the world they were creating perfectly. Sure, many critics called the characters thin, but that makes sense for a world that can't embellish on things because lieing did not exist! Duh! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
alexpOct 7, 2009
Everybody that rated this movie poorly is an idot. It was comedy that challenges you at ever turn. Wich is the best kind of comedy. And it also had some very touching moments. If you dont get this movie its cuz your one of the shallow dumb Everybody that rated this movie poorly is an idot. It was comedy that challenges you at ever turn. Wich is the best kind of comedy. And it also had some very touching moments. If you dont get this movie its cuz your one of the shallow dumb persons that Gervais is making fun of. Sure it has some faults but the good far exceeds the bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.Oct 21, 2009
This is an extraordinary film that uses the mask of comedy to bring up subjects that would normally never be broached with a polite audience. It does so with a simplicity and directness that really highlights the obviousness of many of the This is an extraordinary film that uses the mask of comedy to bring up subjects that would normally never be broached with a polite audience. It does so with a simplicity and directness that really highlights the obviousness of many of the film's conclusions. I was astounded that it even got made. I'm not sure it's that funny, but I'm not sure it's supposed to be. It's nevertheless completely engaging, and it's the best "speculative fiction" movie since STRANGER THAN FICTION and ETERNAL SUNSHINE. If people are getting offended, then the film is doing its job; it's making them think. I don't want to live in the world this film presents, but I left with a lot to ponder about my own world. Easily the best use of my time in a theater since I saw THE FALL. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeH.Oct 26, 2009
Woah Logan St. Cloud! Get a life!!! Seriously! "I'm not an easily offended person" / "I'm not an overly religious person". My ass!!! A NOT overly religious person who was NOT easily offended wouldn't write a novel about how Woah Logan St. Cloud! Get a life!!! Seriously! "I'm not an easily offended person" / "I'm not an overly religious person". My ass!!! A NOT overly religious person who was NOT easily offended wouldn't write a novel about how religiously offensive this movie was! I'm religious myself and i still found that this movie was GOOOOOOD! Funny. Fun to watch. Different. Overall a really good movie that is only being given bad reviews by the hardcore over-religious people of America. Shame on all of you!. Yoblets. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlexMOct 28, 2009
I loved it. But Gervais should've expanded on his expose of religion and left the romantic subplot out. And just for the record, all of the offended christians saying "the movie was so offensive, we walked out" are fuckin' I loved it. But Gervais should've expanded on his expose of religion and left the romantic subplot out. And just for the record, all of the offended christians saying "the movie was so offensive, we walked out" are fuckin' hypocrits. There are an absurd amount of movies which suggest that there is a God, meerly by reference to an afterlife, or even a substantial part of the plot; but atheists don't just walk out of the theatre. The truth is, the reason you find the film so offensive is because the way in which Mark Bellison created religion is just as likely to be the origin of any other religion. And fyi, if you need religion to give you morals, then you're a dick. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
BrianN.Jan 19, 2010
A fantastic concept that sadly runs out of steam in the first 60 minutes then degenerates into murky waters.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
markAug 19, 2010
Thoughtful & very funny. I guess if you don't like it you just don't get the complete absurdity of religion. The pizza box sketch summed-up the pronouncing and subsequent development / expansion of religious laws perfectly. "When you're inThoughtful & very funny. I guess if you don't like it you just don't get the complete absurdity of religion. The pizza box sketch summed-up the pronouncing and subsequent development / expansion of religious laws perfectly. "When you're in heaven you can eat ice cream anytime you want ... and any flavour you can think of!" "Oh no! I just thought of vanilla & skunks" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
honestabbySep 26, 2010
I really love this movie! It's such a great, unique concept and I think they did a lot with it in a clever, humorous way. It's a bit dark and the humor is a bit more subtle than some people's attention spans can handle, though, apparently.

I
I really love this movie! It's such a great, unique concept and I think they did a lot with it in a clever, humorous way. It's a bit dark and the humor is a bit more subtle than some people's attention spans can handle, though, apparently.

I went into watching this movie with an open-mind and I was happy with it. I suppose I can see why those who are religious and also take themselves way too seriously would give it a negative review. However, this movie is best enjoyed on the top layers without trying to read into it further. Don't dig for what it might be implying with the religious references. There is no reason to be offended at all by it because none of it is done in a mean-spirited way. It is simply filling in a hilarious answer to a ridiculously unrealistic "What if..." question. As an atheist that appreciates subtle humor, I also think I really fit the profile for who this movie communicates to.

Overall, if you can laugh at yourself, society and culture without getting bent out of shape, you will enjoy this movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
annbdAug 6, 2019
Great fun and comedy. How Jesus come to life - realistic version. And by watching this movie with it’s absurd, you think that actually people can’t still realise what they are doing when talking rudely and by that hurting others. It’s stupid,Great fun and comedy. How Jesus come to life - realistic version. And by watching this movie with it’s absurd, you think that actually people can’t still realise what they are doing when talking rudely and by that hurting others. It’s stupid, but yeah. Great film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
YoursTrulyApr 18, 2014
We get it Ricky Gervais, you're an atheist. Now I don't have anything against atheists or trying to address religion in a film...but good God man have some subtlety. The obviousness of this movie is just shameless.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
sgjdfsofisjgsOct 3, 2009
This movie pisses me off, why is it ok for atheists and jews to make fun of us Christians but not the other way around. This movie was not funny at all and it was a dry plot throughout. Catholics and Christians need to wake up and realize This movie pisses me off, why is it ok for atheists and jews to make fun of us Christians but not the other way around. This movie was not funny at all and it was a dry plot throughout. Catholics and Christians need to wake up and realize that Hollywood hate us and trying to slowly brainwash and change our beliefs. I hope the ones that make fun of us burn in hell. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DougB.Oct 5, 2009
A great premise is wasted on a script based on characters who, because they can't lie--are also idiots. The characters have no ability to govern their speech at all, and this singular gag gets replayed ad nauseum. Jennifer Garner's A great premise is wasted on a script based on characters who, because they can't lie--are also idiots. The characters have no ability to govern their speech at all, and this singular gag gets replayed ad nauseum. Jennifer Garner's character is a mean-spirited nitwit, and yet Gervais tells her that she is the sweetest, most thoughtful woman he has ever met. Based on what? The only reason she won't have sex with him is because he has "fat" genes. Worse yet, the movie supposes that because no one can lie, there are no religions. You can see where that's going. The one church in the movie has a steeple and no cross, implying that Christ never lived, or that he did live and his being the messiah wasn't true and the lie was never spread. Either way, it paints all religions as being invented by liars. Pretty bold these days considering how tolerant Muslims are with people who cast doubt on their faith. End result--not nearly as funny as it could be, and fairly insulting to anyone of faith to takes the time to connect the dots and catch the atheistic implications. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BrandonZOct 5, 2009
This was the worst movie I've seen so far this year, which is horrible because I really like Ricky Gervais' style of humor. The whole movie relied too heavily on the gimmick of a universe without lying. I still however had a few This was the worst movie I've seen so far this year, which is horrible because I really like Ricky Gervais' style of humor. The whole movie relied too heavily on the gimmick of a universe without lying. I still however had a few laughs for the first half hour. The second half of the movie however was horrible, with stupid romantic comedy along with long and boring religious plot twists. The entire premise just doesn't work, if no one could lie, and mankind never had any religions, the world would be completely different. They try to get you to think about the possibilities, while the world in the movie is the same as this one except no one lies. Fact is, without religion, America probably would have never been settled, and even if they did come over, after being unable to lie to the Indians, they would have been killed. The premise just doesn't work. The movie itself just wasn't very funny, instead it was groan inducing. Horribly disappointing movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SandiJ.Dec 4, 2009
When reading reviews here, keep in mind that ALL REVIEWS by LOGAN ST. CLOUD are IDENTICAL to others written by him. They are CUT AND PASTE COPIES, and they promote his religious views, so just keep that in mind when reading his comments. When reading reviews here, keep in mind that ALL REVIEWS by LOGAN ST. CLOUD are IDENTICAL to others written by him. They are CUT AND PASTE COPIES, and they promote his religious views, so just keep that in mind when reading his comments. They have nothing to do with the movies themselves...take a look at his review for "Capitalism: A Love Story"...word for word the same review as this one for "The Invention of Lying". I wish there were a way to report him for abuse, but since there isn't, I am sounding the alert this way by "outing" his religious proseletizing,,I would be willing to bet that he hasn't seen any of the movies he has "reviewed" from his religious fanatic viewpoint. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
The script is the lamest thing in this movie, as well as the plot. Yes, the first 15 minutes are somewhat intriguing but it soon takes a sharp dive into the WTF category. Nobody except Ricky Gervias can play their part, and Jennifer GardnerThe script is the lamest thing in this movie, as well as the plot. Yes, the first 15 minutes are somewhat intriguing but it soon takes a sharp dive into the WTF category. Nobody except Ricky Gervias can play their part, and Jennifer Gardner couldn't have been worse. They have thrown the most boring ideas into one movie, and have created an ultimate disaster. It's hard for me to like a movie, but this was real easy to dislike because it makes me feel uneasy, and by the end I'm thinking: Who cares?!! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
CooterPatooterMar 16, 2012
A film that starts out in an intelligent and entertaining way but utterly collapses into a sluggish, head-scratching albatross in the third act. Although it apparently attempts to lampoon religion and its origins (which can't be done enough,A film that starts out in an intelligent and entertaining way but utterly collapses into a sluggish, head-scratching albatross in the third act. Although it apparently attempts to lampoon religion and its origins (which can't be done enough, in my opinion!), the last 40 minutes felt an awful lot of preachy bullcrap to me. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
TrilobiteGMay 19, 2015
A low point for Ricky Gervais. Awkward humour, cringe worthy screenplay and a concept with funny potential that was filled with only sex jokes. I love black comedy and sex jokes, but this just pushed it too mental boredom. Don't waste yourA low point for Ricky Gervais. Awkward humour, cringe worthy screenplay and a concept with funny potential that was filled with only sex jokes. I love black comedy and sex jokes, but this just pushed it too mental boredom. Don't waste your time with this crap Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
BobBungleOct 2, 2009
Some funny concepts and ideas but in the end it's not much more than a somewhat amusing atheist agenda movie more preachy than the very preachers he lampoons. He is capable of better. Let it go Ricky, we get it already, you hate Some funny concepts and ideas but in the end it's not much more than a somewhat amusing atheist agenda movie more preachy than the very preachers he lampoons. He is capable of better. Let it go Ricky, we get it already, you hate yourself and you blame God, or shall I say, "The Man In the Sky." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JacobCOct 2, 2009
The Invention of Lying is half a good movie, which is why it get's half a good score. The first half of the movie is a smartly written and genuinely hillarious comedy, with some moments of pure brilliance you'd expect from Ricky The Invention of Lying is half a good movie, which is why it get's half a good score. The first half of the movie is a smartly written and genuinely hillarious comedy, with some moments of pure brilliance you'd expect from Ricky Gervais. However, the second half of the movie is exacly the opposite. Gervais' staunch atheism makes the story take an unexpected, unfortunate and, quite frankly, completely unneccessary turn for the worse. The rest of the movie isn't only boring, it's also a bit preachy and pretentious. It goes from being one of the best comedies of the year to an excuse for Mr. Gervais to express his atheistic views. Religion jokes can be funny if they're done right. Unfortunatly, in the Invention of Lying, they're not. Not only is the second act of the film slightly offensive, it's also annoying and pretty extreme, even for Ricky Gervais. If you're an atheist you'll probably enjoy this movie a lot more than I did. But as someone who wasn't expecting atheist propaganda snuck into a funny romantic comedy, I found the movie pretty darn dissapointing. I'm a huge Ricky Gervais fan, and while I don't share his beliefs, I respect them. However with this film he took it way too far, as they simply had no place in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MeMyselfandIOct 2, 2009
Truly terrible. I'm so disappointed, as I LOVE Ricky Gervais. The writing is astonishingly bad and the acting is even worse. Everybody comes off looking poorly. A shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillySOct 2, 2009
Leave it to the brilliant Ricky Gervais to write, direct and star in a hilarious romantic comedy with more social punch then Bill Maher's Religulous! It's a terrific time at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaLOct 3, 2009
Not as great as extras, but almost. Gervais lovers will NOT be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeighHOct 3, 2009
This movie is clever, laugh out loud funny, ironic, sweet, and has depth. It's not your typical slapstick comedy, the cast is wonderful and its surprising.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DennisWOct 3, 2009
Worst movie I have seen in a long time - we walked out the theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WendyMOct 4, 2009
One of the most boring movies I've ever seen. Not at all funny. Don't waste your money or your time watching this irritating dud. DIsappointing treatment of a great premise. This COULD have been funny, but it just wasn't. I One of the most boring movies I've ever seen. Not at all funny. Don't waste your money or your time watching this irritating dud. DIsappointing treatment of a great premise. This COULD have been funny, but it just wasn't. I would have walked out if I'd been nearer the aisle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianBOct 4, 2009
A unique idea spoiled. This original premise for a movie was wasted; the potential for comedy was exciting but turned out to be a waste of money. The redeeming qualities are few and far between but come in the execution of the movie rather A unique idea spoiled. This original premise for a movie was wasted; the potential for comedy was exciting but turned out to be a waste of money. The redeeming qualities are few and far between but come in the execution of the movie rather than the screenplay itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
C.G.WOct 5, 2009
The only thing my friends and I enjoyed about this movie were the sight gags (Pepsi ad, old folks home sign). Sorry to see Gervais pushing atheistic beliefs. Our group felt very insulted and disgusted and in disbelief at such a bold The only thing my friends and I enjoyed about this movie were the sight gags (Pepsi ad, old folks home sign). Sorry to see Gervais pushing atheistic beliefs. Our group felt very insulted and disgusted and in disbelief at such a bold suggestion that his character "invented" Heaven and the afterlife. It was one thing when Gervais' character supposedly was told these things himself, but when the movie went further and his character declared it was all a lie, I realized the depth of the true lie - the entire movie itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadSOct 6, 2009
Protest this. Apologies all around for Carl Reiner("Oh, God!), Martin Scorsese("The Last Temptation of Christ"), and Kevin Smith("Dogma"). Their own subversive takes on the Almighty, which motivated church groups to stage boycotts at public Protest this. Apologies all around for Carl Reiner("Oh, God!), Martin Scorsese("The Last Temptation of Christ"), and Kevin Smith("Dogma"). Their own subversive takes on the Almighty, which motivated church groups to stage boycotts at public venues exhibiting these supposedly inflammatory movies, at least acknowledged His existence. "The Invention of Lying" is a whole different animal. Somebody finally had the chutzpah to make a film that's deserving of revile from God-fearing protesters. Comedy can sometimes be ruthless, and the jokes don't get more ruthless than the scene where Mark(Ricky Gervais), the world's first prophet, uses an ephemeral object to put the finishing touch on his idealistic lies. Not only does "The Invention of Lying" showcase Mark as Moses, it also has the screenwriter(in the film's best joke, the writer is "God" on any movie production) taking on the guise of Jesus. (***SPOILER ALERT***) Since the religious doctrine gets attached to pizza boxes, disposability is intimated, as if Christianity was an idea that was meant to be thrown away. Depending on who you are, a scene where Mark preaches to the masses while still in his long hair and white robe, would have either electrified, or horrified you, had the filmmaker decided to go for the kill shot. Controversial as "The Invention of Lying" purports to be, the filmmaker does draw the line on irrevocable heresy. (Admittedly, there is SOME heresy.) To kill time, there's a monotonous romantic subplot(with a woman who seems to be pro-eugenics) and one-note extapolations of the film industry, which helps soften the attempt made by the filmmaker to assassinate your faith. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidM.Oct 6, 2009
Starts amusing enough but loses its way once he tells his big lie. Not nearly as funny as it thinks it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
stuartlOct 7, 2009
Enjoyable film, and very touching in places. The one joke did drag for a little while, but as the story started to develop this became less tiresome. I would agree that Jennifer Garners character is not exactly likeable, she really doesnt Enjoyable film, and very touching in places. The one joke did drag for a little while, but as the story started to develop this became less tiresome. I would agree that Jennifer Garners character is not exactly likeable, she really doesnt show much kindness at all aside from her obsession about genes, which is a bit confusing,. I also have a suspision that alot of the bad reviws are from the likes of religious types. Id like to remind them that the story is set in "another world" as gervais clearly states at the beggining where people cannot lie. This doesnt mean it is set in our world, no one can lie so there is no religion because all religion is based on a story. The film is fantasy. Please grow up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ClaudineCOct 11, 2009
What happened? I really liked Ghost town - and I like Ricky Gervais, but I feel like we all paid an offering into Ricky's Church offering basket by going to see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkGOct 11, 2009
A massive disappointment. Saved from a 3 by the last 40 minutes where I did laugh a few times; for the first 30 I didn't at all. The basic premise is sound but (as the Empire review mentions) this film confuses a world where people A massive disappointment. Saved from a 3 by the last 40 minutes where I did laugh a few times; for the first 30 I didn't at all. The basic premise is sound but (as the Empire review mentions) this film confuses a world where people cannot lie with one where people are speak unsolicited and blunt truths; the former could be funny but the latter is absurd and very unfunny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LoganSt.CloudOct 12, 2009
I've seen a couple of Ricky Gervais' comedy routines and I'd always thought he was a pretty funny guy. I saw the ads and trailers for this movie and I thought that it seemed like a pretty unique and original idea so I went I've seen a couple of Ricky Gervais' comedy routines and I'd always thought he was a pretty funny guy. I saw the ads and trailers for this movie and I thought that it seemed like a pretty unique and original idea so I went into this movie with decent expectations. Now to be fair, I didn't read any of the reviews for it because, quite honestly I hate reading reviews beforehand and having the plot of the movie ruined, which is why I have made sure not to include them in this review. The moral of this movie is that you shouldn't judge people so quickly; which is what really aggravated me so much about it. You see, I'm not an overly religious person like a lot of the folks that have posted reviews here, but I was incredibly offended by what I saw in this movie. The movie started off with a few decent laughs but then went downhill fast. A significant portion of this movie was directed solely towards a ruthless, sacrilegious, mean-spirited attempt to sell people on atheism that added in no way to the story and served only as a cheap attack against religions. I did read the warnings that they have in the previews though and I'm not an easily offended person. I saw it mentioned that there were references to drug usage and sexual innuendo, it ended there and it really shouldn't have. If they had simply said that this is what this picture was about or that it had contained these elements, then I don't think as many people would have went to see it or have felt so upset at it. It just amazes me that in this day and age we would sooner bow down to the wishes of terrorists who are upset with seeing the words of the Koran or the image of Muhammad, rather than having even the tiniest bit of sympathy for the freedom of religion that this country was founded on. I respect the studio/producer/director/writer's rights to free speech, but if that's the primary message of the movie then you should really let people know that beforehand. Of course that would cut down on the amount of money that they would willingly take from the people they are mocking here, so I don't expect that to happen anytime soon. To those who are wanting to compare this on a religious level to movies like "The Golden Compass" and "The Chronicles of Narnia", allow me to clue you into a few things. First, the reason why "The Golden Compass" fared so badly didn't have anything to any religious connotations, it was because the movie was so incredibly BAD. I've tried watching that movie three different times and have yet to stay awake throughout the entire film. Second, "The Chronicles of Narnia" is NOW a classic in children's literature and while the same may be said on a certain level in regards to "The Golden Compass", it was nowhere NEAR as well known before the movie came out and even if there never HAD been a film of Narnia, it would probably still be more well known that that load of crap which is "The Golden Compass". BUT when Narnia was first released, it wasn't widely accepted by members of the Christian religion because they believed that rather than it being an homage to the crucifixion of Christ, it was a blasphemous portrayal of it. And to those wishing to change this from a simple reviewing of the movie itself and to a debate on the validity of atheism vs. religion as a whole, allow me to remind you of one simple thing. Beyond the questioning of faith and beliefs, and despite the atrocities that have occurred in the name of religion, without religion humanity would have taken a FAR less civilized route than the one it did. Religion was the basis of morals. Morals were the basis of laws. Without religions to set guidelines common sense dictates that we would have had no reason in which to act moral and consequently would most likely be still clubbing each other over the head, and that's if there would still even BE a human race at this point. TO ANYONE WHO'S ALREADY PAID TO SEE THIS MOVIE: YOU CAN TAKE YOUR TICKET STUB BACK TO THE THEATER TO GET YOUR MONEY BACK. PERSONALLY THOUGH, I'M TAKING THIS ONE STEP FARTHER AND FILING A COMPLAINT WITH THE STUDIO ITSELF. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffLOct 12, 2009
Excellent writing. The gag at the center of the film doesn't get tired - it keeps developing. The ending drags slightly, but overall this is a good movie with a big heart at the center.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AdeC.Oct 17, 2009
Gervais is perfect in the role. It's a lovely idea but not compelling enough to last 90 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanloZ.Oct 19, 2009
Extremely disappointing, in so many ways.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TomMNov 2, 2009
Good plot, good characters, good performances, but not funny enough from one of the funniest men on the planet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidCNov 2, 2009
Great premise, but the film lacks direction. it gets bogged down in the third act and never really recovers. While Gervais and Garner are good in their roles, neither is sympathetic enough to warrant enough interest with the audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MaxPNov 6, 2009
Despite me giving one point to this movie, one should give it a 5 only on merits for trying such a hard subject. While the cinema was packed and probably with great expectations from the public after the previous funny movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HerbertWNov 15, 2009
I can only agree with Danlo Z.! I still gave it two points for a promising beginning, but from then on it went only down-hill. Man, am I happy I didn't pay to see this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobKNov 17, 2009
Extremely original! The problem many people will probably have with this movie is that it is too accurate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KayCNov 21, 2009
Blasphemous and not the least funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisHNov 22, 2009
This movie is just fun to watch and very silly. It doesn't have any amazing special fx or lots of twists... it's just a feel good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HarryHNov 26, 2009
Really, quite a disappointment. I would say the review by Empire is spot-on, the film isn't so much about telling the truth, but people taking the piss out of Gervais for an hour and a half. The film lacks a decent stroyline and Really, quite a disappointment. I would say the review by Empire is spot-on, the film isn't so much about telling the truth, but people taking the piss out of Gervais for an hour and a half. The film lacks a decent stroyline and character development. There are are occasional laughs, which are used to make the trailer. Wouldn't advise the film, but have met people who did enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidSNov 29, 2009
Very enjoyable film and although it wasn't half as good as The Office or Extras it still managed to remain funny throughout. Gervais shows his atheist views cleverly throughout the film and this underlying meanig to a decent comedy is Very enjoyable film and although it wasn't half as good as The Office or Extras it still managed to remain funny throughout. Gervais shows his atheist views cleverly throughout the film and this underlying meanig to a decent comedy is why it deserves 8 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelDec 29, 2009
A remarkable movie. It accomplishes both a sweet romantic comedy with a sharp existential critique of religion underneath. Beautiful and moving approach to dealing with mortality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradAJan 11, 2010
I enjoyed this movie quite a bit. The story is unique and the brutal honesty is hilarious. Gervais is absolutely perfect like others have said. The surprising thing about this film was the touching story. From the previews you would not have I enjoyed this movie quite a bit. The story is unique and the brutal honesty is hilarious. Gervais is absolutely perfect like others have said. The surprising thing about this film was the touching story. From the previews you would not have guessed that is has a serious side found through humor. The bet part is still "the man in the sky" parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Cotts1988Apr 28, 2011
The Invention of Lying is based on a good idea, yet a relatively simple one. Due to this limitation the laughs dry up after 10 minutes and enjoyment of the rest of the film is reliant on how much the viewer enjoys watching RIcky Gervais beThe Invention of Lying is based on a good idea, yet a relatively simple one. Due to this limitation the laughs dry up after 10 minutes and enjoyment of the rest of the film is reliant on how much the viewer enjoys watching RIcky Gervais be the same character he is in everything that he does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 25, 2012
The idea for the film is absolutely outstanding. It's just a shame that the film itself isn't as funny as it could be. Ricky Gervais is funny in places but there simply aren't enough jokes. It starts wane a lot towards the end. Still I wouldThe idea for the film is absolutely outstanding. It's just a shame that the film itself isn't as funny as it could be. Ricky Gervais is funny in places but there simply aren't enough jokes. It starts wane a lot towards the end. Still I would recommend it to others simply for the premise alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
drlowdonJan 11, 2015
The Invention of Lying has an interesting central concept and an all star cast but never seems quite sure of the type of movie it wants to be. It starts out as a straight comedy movie before moving into rom-com territory and then suddenlyThe Invention of Lying has an interesting central concept and an all star cast but never seems quite sure of the type of movie it wants to be. It starts out as a straight comedy movie before moving into rom-com territory and then suddenly turning into a move about the issue surrounding religion about half-way through. As a result no area is really explored fully enough and the laughs gradually dry up as it reaches its conclusion.

The Invention of Lying isn't a terrible movie but its not a particularly good one either.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
morninstarMar 10, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie, goes to show comedians can really show the world a mirror when they want to. I know my review is a lot late but I just watched this movie and had to talk about it. It would have been a perfect movie for me if the comedy had worked for me as well as I thought it would. But everything else was phenomenal, well, minus the romantic subplot, that is, but, you know, a minor glitch in an otherwise well made movie. I liked how people's attitudes towards sex and marriage are all too focussed on the "genetics" of a person, just goes to show some things aren't going to change even in fantasy. Well, all in all, a great movie, minor flaws here and there, but nothing is perfect, so watch it and have fun Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMar 6, 2017
The story was original and interesting, the acting was very good, the movie was pretty funny and it was entertaining to watch. The Invention of Lying is one of the best and most original recent comedies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CaptGeechMar 2, 2018
I'm quite surprised this movie is rated so low. This is a very entertaining film that is unique in ways you don't see the likes of very often. The idea from the jump is an interesting premise, a world without lying, but it sustains itself onI'm quite surprised this movie is rated so low. This is a very entertaining film that is unique in ways you don't see the likes of very often. The idea from the jump is an interesting premise, a world without lying, but it sustains itself on clever scenarios and ideas and is also very thought provoking at times. Sure there aren't any laugh until you cry moments, but the comedy is solid and will keep a smile on your face while realizing how much of our world really does function on lies. There aren't many movies I'd score an 8, AND call it an absolute must see movie. That's usually reserved for a 10. But this one is a different beast, and I believe it is indeed a must-watch for fans of film in general. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
amheretojudgeMar 29, 2019
Truth Or Dare.

The Invention Of Lying Gervais and Robinson has a pretty good discussion about the concept of the film in the film itself. And that's as much as thrill you are going to get from it. Since, it never grows beyond a dinner table
Truth Or Dare.

The Invention Of Lying

Gervais and Robinson has a pretty good discussion about the concept of the film in the film itself. And that's as much as thrill you are going to get from it. Since, it never grows beyond a dinner table conversations. The ideas are thrown out here and there, the ambition is admirable, there is fluent levity in their vocab and they make a good team as far as entertaining the audience is concerned. But such a concept often is a double edged sword. And as much as gripping and easily spoken, the film is about, it is tremendously difficult to make it accurate.

Now, usually a viewer can let this go, but a film that completely revolves around that very idea and pushes further the boundary of the concept without double checking the so called secured area, that has got to be amateur-ish and also irresponsibly confident. From the very beginning, we are just told to mug up the fact, that without whatsoever change in the current society, the humankind has come so far without a lie. These questions continuously pokes you through out the journey and never lets you fully enjoy the film.

Is there anything to look forward to in the film beyond Ricky Gervais's performance? Probably not. If you don't count a literal rip off of the origin of religion and the concept of God; which is to be frank, funny. Gervais is a real artist. An actor, to be honest. There is empathy in his eyes and he uses it smartly, not milking it or manipulating it for the tears, his voice breaks and eyes mourns, and there you melt away with an awe. The Invention Of Lying is probably the apt description, it has a fresh concept but then it also is a big lie, except for the love track that Gervais claims to be like Billy Wilder's The Apartment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MacheteDontTextJan 19, 2020
A bit cheesy, but i literally cried laughing. Big plus for **** all over religion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
40mangunshotJan 31, 2020
This movie was hilarious and also very touching with a powerful message. A great film to spent your time with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Quiet_Spark87Feb 23, 2020
What starts as an interesting concept face plants in the second half as the writer opts instead to give a banal sermon about the origin of religion while utterly failing to understand the sociological purpose of it, for better or worse, inWhat starts as an interesting concept face plants in the second half as the writer opts instead to give a banal sermon about the origin of religion while utterly failing to understand the sociological purpose of it, for better or worse, in the first place.

Also, the logic of the premise was rife with contradictions and peculiarities. To start if the premise is that lying does not exist in this world and that people talk matter-of-factly why do characters seem to be compelled to voice every single thought that crosses their mind? Not voicing a thought is typically not thought of as "lying" unless one is under oath. Second, the problem with the protagonist's new found ability is blatant yet the writers clearly didn't realize it: in a world compelled to always recognize and tell the truth all his lies would simply make him appear to be insane. Like at the roulette table, where I assume he lied about the results of the wheel, wouldn't the guy at the table just look down and see the truth and that what the protagonist is saying simply isn't? Accepting such a lie involves lying to one's self about what one is seeing and yet the protagonist's ability to seemingly alter another's perception of reality is never acknowledged nor is it discussed.

Honestly, if the premise was expanded upon without the religion aspect the movie would have been great. As it exists it just feels like an Atheistic soapbox.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ozzsoffyMar 20, 2020
Very good simple and smart movie. A lot of famous people from different commedy shows. Very recommend
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
bradens584Apr 4, 2020
I really wanted to like the Invention of Lying. I love Ricky Gervais, and the premise has tonnes of potential, but it never goes much further than that. The basic jokes that can be made about only one guy being able to lie land just fine, butI really wanted to like the Invention of Lying. I love Ricky Gervais, and the premise has tonnes of potential, but it never goes much further than that. The basic jokes that can be made about only one guy being able to lie land just fine, but anything more fails. Gervais also fills up a large portion of the movie with a drawn out joke about making up Christianity. I found it mildly funny at first but the more it dragged on, the more tiresome it became. But the central problem with the movie was the lack of chemistry between the romantic partners, Mark Bellison and Anna McDoogles, played by Gervais and Jennifer Garner. The story, when you strip away the lying concept, is pretty much a cliché-filled generic rom-com. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
peacockriderMay 5, 2020
Brilliant concept, never seen anything like this before. I personally think Ricky Gervais is a pioneer in pushing non-theistic humanist thoughts through humour. Would 100% recommend anyone to watch this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
nkeakefnkMay 6, 2020
Super disappointing! There was potential and in the beginning I thought it might actually be a good one but Nah! Don't waste your time watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews