Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 2, 2009
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 159 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
46
Negative:
35
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
BrianN.Jan 19, 2010
A fantastic concept that sadly runs out of steam in the first 60 minutes then degenerates into murky waters.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SandiJ.Dec 4, 2009
When reading reviews here, keep in mind that ALL REVIEWS by LOGAN ST. CLOUD are IDENTICAL to others written by him. They are CUT AND PASTE COPIES, and they promote his religious views, so just keep that in mind when reading his comments. When reading reviews here, keep in mind that ALL REVIEWS by LOGAN ST. CLOUD are IDENTICAL to others written by him. They are CUT AND PASTE COPIES, and they promote his religious views, so just keep that in mind when reading his comments. They have nothing to do with the movies themselves...take a look at his review for "Capitalism: A Love Story"...word for word the same review as this one for "The Invention of Lying". I wish there were a way to report him for abuse, but since there isn't, I am sounding the alert this way by "outing" his religious proseletizing,,I would be willing to bet that he hasn't seen any of the movies he has "reviewed" from his religious fanatic viewpoint. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
BobBungleOct 2, 2009
Some funny concepts and ideas but in the end it's not much more than a somewhat amusing atheist agenda movie more preachy than the very preachers he lampoons. He is capable of better. Let it go Ricky, we get it already, you hate Some funny concepts and ideas but in the end it's not much more than a somewhat amusing atheist agenda movie more preachy than the very preachers he lampoons. He is capable of better. Let it go Ricky, we get it already, you hate yourself and you blame God, or shall I say, "The Man In the Sky." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JacobCOct 2, 2009
The Invention of Lying is half a good movie, which is why it get's half a good score. The first half of the movie is a smartly written and genuinely hillarious comedy, with some moments of pure brilliance you'd expect from Ricky The Invention of Lying is half a good movie, which is why it get's half a good score. The first half of the movie is a smartly written and genuinely hillarious comedy, with some moments of pure brilliance you'd expect from Ricky Gervais. However, the second half of the movie is exacly the opposite. Gervais' staunch atheism makes the story take an unexpected, unfortunate and, quite frankly, completely unneccessary turn for the worse. The rest of the movie isn't only boring, it's also a bit preachy and pretentious. It goes from being one of the best comedies of the year to an excuse for Mr. Gervais to express his atheistic views. Religion jokes can be funny if they're done right. Unfortunatly, in the Invention of Lying, they're not. Not only is the second act of the film slightly offensive, it's also annoying and pretty extreme, even for Ricky Gervais. If you're an atheist you'll probably enjoy this movie a lot more than I did. But as someone who wasn't expecting atheist propaganda snuck into a funny romantic comedy, I found the movie pretty darn dissapointing. I'm a huge Ricky Gervais fan, and while I don't share his beliefs, I respect them. However with this film he took it way too far, as they simply had no place in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
stuartlOct 7, 2009
Enjoyable film, and very touching in places. The one joke did drag for a little while, but as the story started to develop this became less tiresome. I would agree that Jennifer Garners character is not exactly likeable, she really doesnt Enjoyable film, and very touching in places. The one joke did drag for a little while, but as the story started to develop this became less tiresome. I would agree that Jennifer Garners character is not exactly likeable, she really doesnt show much kindness at all aside from her obsession about genes, which is a bit confusing,. I also have a suspision that alot of the bad reviws are from the likes of religious types. Id like to remind them that the story is set in "another world" as gervais clearly states at the beggining where people cannot lie. This doesnt mean it is set in our world, no one can lie so there is no religion because all religion is based on a story. The film is fantasy. Please grow up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkGOct 11, 2009
A massive disappointment. Saved from a 3 by the last 40 minutes where I did laugh a few times; for the first 30 I didn't at all. The basic premise is sound but (as the Empire review mentions) this film confuses a world where people A massive disappointment. Saved from a 3 by the last 40 minutes where I did laugh a few times; for the first 30 I didn't at all. The basic premise is sound but (as the Empire review mentions) this film confuses a world where people cannot lie with one where people are speak unsolicited and blunt truths; the former could be funny but the latter is absurd and very unfunny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AdeC.Oct 17, 2009
Gervais is perfect in the role. It's a lovely idea but not compelling enough to last 90 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TomMNov 2, 2009
Good plot, good characters, good performances, but not funny enough from one of the funniest men on the planet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidCNov 2, 2009
Great premise, but the film lacks direction. it gets bogged down in the third act and never really recovers. While Gervais and Garner are good in their roles, neither is sympathetic enough to warrant enough interest with the audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Cotts1988Apr 28, 2011
The Invention of Lying is based on a good idea, yet a relatively simple one. Due to this limitation the laughs dry up after 10 minutes and enjoyment of the rest of the film is reliant on how much the viewer enjoys watching RIcky Gervais beThe Invention of Lying is based on a good idea, yet a relatively simple one. Due to this limitation the laughs dry up after 10 minutes and enjoyment of the rest of the film is reliant on how much the viewer enjoys watching RIcky Gervais be the same character he is in everything that he does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 25, 2012
The idea for the film is absolutely outstanding. It's just a shame that the film itself isn't as funny as it could be. Ricky Gervais is funny in places but there simply aren't enough jokes. It starts wane a lot towards the end. Still I wouldThe idea for the film is absolutely outstanding. It's just a shame that the film itself isn't as funny as it could be. Ricky Gervais is funny in places but there simply aren't enough jokes. It starts wane a lot towards the end. Still I would recommend it to others simply for the premise alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
drlowdonJan 11, 2015
The Invention of Lying has an interesting central concept and an all star cast but never seems quite sure of the type of movie it wants to be. It starts out as a straight comedy movie before moving into rom-com territory and then suddenlyThe Invention of Lying has an interesting central concept and an all star cast but never seems quite sure of the type of movie it wants to be. It starts out as a straight comedy movie before moving into rom-com territory and then suddenly turning into a move about the issue surrounding religion about half-way through. As a result no area is really explored fully enough and the laughs gradually dry up as it reaches its conclusion.

The Invention of Lying isn't a terrible movie but its not a particularly good one either.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
amheretojudgeMar 29, 2019
Truth Or Dare.

The Invention Of Lying Gervais and Robinson has a pretty good discussion about the concept of the film in the film itself. And that's as much as thrill you are going to get from it. Since, it never grows beyond a dinner table
Truth Or Dare.

The Invention Of Lying

Gervais and Robinson has a pretty good discussion about the concept of the film in the film itself. And that's as much as thrill you are going to get from it. Since, it never grows beyond a dinner table conversations. The ideas are thrown out here and there, the ambition is admirable, there is fluent levity in their vocab and they make a good team as far as entertaining the audience is concerned. But such a concept often is a double edged sword. And as much as gripping and easily spoken, the film is about, it is tremendously difficult to make it accurate.

Now, usually a viewer can let this go, but a film that completely revolves around that very idea and pushes further the boundary of the concept without double checking the so called secured area, that has got to be amateur-ish and also irresponsibly confident. From the very beginning, we are just told to mug up the fact, that without whatsoever change in the current society, the humankind has come so far without a lie. These questions continuously pokes you through out the journey and never lets you fully enjoy the film.

Is there anything to look forward to in the film beyond Ricky Gervais's performance? Probably not. If you don't count a literal rip off of the origin of religion and the concept of God; which is to be frank, funny. Gervais is a real artist. An actor, to be honest. There is empathy in his eyes and he uses it smartly, not milking it or manipulating it for the tears, his voice breaks and eyes mourns, and there you melt away with an awe. The Invention Of Lying is probably the apt description, it has a fresh concept but then it also is a big lie, except for the love track that Gervais claims to be like Billy Wilder's The Apartment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
bradens584Apr 4, 2020
I really wanted to like the Invention of Lying. I love Ricky Gervais, and the premise has tonnes of potential, but it never goes much further than that. The basic jokes that can be made about only one guy being able to lie land just fine, butI really wanted to like the Invention of Lying. I love Ricky Gervais, and the premise has tonnes of potential, but it never goes much further than that. The basic jokes that can be made about only one guy being able to lie land just fine, but anything more fails. Gervais also fills up a large portion of the movie with a drawn out joke about making up Christianity. I found it mildly funny at first but the more it dragged on, the more tiresome it became. But the central problem with the movie was the lack of chemistry between the romantic partners, Mark Bellison and Anna McDoogles, played by Gervais and Jennifer Garner. The story, when you strip away the lying concept, is pretty much a cliché-filled generic rom-com. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews