Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 1999
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 366 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
343
Mixed:
11
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AlecinoJul 27, 2011
I've seen all of Brad Bird's movies, and I've liked all three. But this is his best!!!! I love it so much!!! It focuses on a kid and doesn't make the adults look like morons like The Simpsons does. God knows why anyone would hate this, it'sI've seen all of Brad Bird's movies, and I've liked all three. But this is his best!!!! I love it so much!!! It focuses on a kid and doesn't make the adults look like morons like The Simpsons does. God knows why anyone would hate this, it's one of the best animated films of all time. How did this fail at the box office domestically? It's awesome! The cold war setting makes it even better. It's better than Tarzan and The Lion King. Not as good as Toy Story, though, although it comes very, very close. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
XorlathorNov 8, 2011
This movie is a classic. Simple yet complex, joyful yet saddening, exciting yet thoughtful, the Iron Giant weaves in real-life issues into it's plot in a way that's childish yet deep at the same time. The animation throughout the film isThis movie is a classic. Simple yet complex, joyful yet saddening, exciting yet thoughtful, the Iron Giant weaves in real-life issues into it's plot in a way that's childish yet deep at the same time. The animation throughout the film is superb, and voice acting by Vin Diesel, Jennifer Aniston, and Harry Connick Jr add immensely to the story. Watch it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
fat_funny_freakFeb 23, 2012
This movie was very touching to me, I loved every part of it and would recommend it to anyone who wants to watch it. Some parts even brought tear to my eye but some parts also scared me when I was young. All in all this movie brings aThis movie was very touching to me, I loved every part of it and would recommend it to anyone who wants to watch it. Some parts even brought tear to my eye but some parts also scared me when I was young. All in all this movie brings a classic animation to all movies on the market and its for any age to be honest. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CannonBlasterMar 2, 2013
The Iron Giant is one of those animations that don't feel like a cartoon. Its characters felt so real it never feels like an animation. The story and animation is pure solid, and the feeling you get from watching this is just heartwarming.The Iron Giant is one of those animations that don't feel like a cartoon. Its characters felt so real it never feels like an animation. The story and animation is pure solid, and the feeling you get from watching this is just heartwarming. This is by far, my favorite animation, and favorite movie in general. You will definitely learn a lot from watching this movie. The Iron Giant shows that perfection can be achieved. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Zeus99May 2, 2014
This movie is fantastic. So many wonderful and important lessons in this movie and handled so impressively. Its also not often we see an animated film set during the cold war. Its so good, iit deserved so much more when it was released
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SophieAug 6, 2007
By far one of the greatest animations ever made. Very underrated, but it's finally starting to get the recognition of critics and public alike, and it's great when a family-friendly cartoon is fantastic and intelligent By far one of the greatest animations ever made. Very underrated, but it's finally starting to get the recognition of critics and public alike, and it's great when a family-friendly cartoon is fantastic and intelligent entertainment for both kids, teens and adults. I really mean it - this is a rare thing, the type of wonderful movie they won't make anymore... Watch it and LOVE it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottB.Jul 11, 2007
One of the best and most moving movies -- animated or otherwise -- of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BKMAug 22, 2013
Brad Bird's delightful directorial debut is an exhilarating and emotionally resonant story about the friendship between a boy and a giant metal man from outer space that will appeal to viewers of all ages. It also manages to raise questionsBrad Bird's delightful directorial debut is an exhilarating and emotionally resonant story about the friendship between a boy and a giant metal man from outer space that will appeal to viewers of all ages. It also manages to raise questions about patriotism, violence, fear and intolerance and they ways that they so often seem to be intertwined. Both qualities combine to give it a timeless quality. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
1966ZodiacOct 6, 2010
This is a timeless movie that really goes out and touches peoples hearts. This is probably one of the best non-Disney animated films ever. This film really is something special that I recommend for the family to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DemiourgosAug 17, 2010
This is the best animated movie I've ever seen in my life, I so loved it the first time I watched it! It was so moving, the story was great and the voice over was perfect. Spectacular and unforgettable this movie stands as one of the bestThis is the best animated movie I've ever seen in my life, I so loved it the first time I watched it! It was so moving, the story was great and the voice over was perfect. Spectacular and unforgettable this movie stands as one of the best animated movies ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieFailAug 17, 2010
Brad Bird's The Iron Giant mixes adult themes about overencroaching governments and biting political commentary with humor, heart, and a true soul. To say this film is anything less than one of the preeminent animated films of our time is toBrad Bird's The Iron Giant mixes adult themes about overencroaching governments and biting political commentary with humor, heart, and a true soul. To say this film is anything less than one of the preeminent animated films of our time is to do it injustice. I do not believe any movie has been able to so deftly weave in a message as powerful as this one with a kid-friendly animated story. For a film about a "giant metal man," The Iron Giant is anything but mechanical. This film, interestingly enough, explores topics very relevant to modern American foreign policy, despite its setting in 1958 during the Cold War when tensions were high with the Soviets. The Iron Giant portrays the US as a highly expansionistic, militaristic nation with interventionist tendencies, playing off of the common beliefs about nuclear war at the time. However, it manages to do so subtly enough that it never feels like it is preaching to its audience- while there is a powerful anti-war sentiment towards the end of the film, it doesn't go so far as to insult the military or degrade the nation as movies tackling this issue tend to do. And then, it even works as a sci-fi film, grabbing the attention of the audience from the get-go with an exciting, mysterious opening scene. Sci-fi? Politics? Family values? This movie has got it all. Hogarth (Marienthal), the protagonist, is an eleven-year-old child with a widow for a mother who has no real friends from school, and often entertains himself outdoors as his mother (Aniston) tries to earn a living. At first, the character almost seems annoying due to his mannerisms and chatty personality, but over time, it becomes apparent that he is absolutely a realistic portrayal of a child who has been left to his own devices, but is undeniably kind and gregarious in nature and who is only looking for companionship (and a father). Throughout the film, the audience is given more backstory to who he is and this allows us to empathisize with him, making the climax that much more gripping. The giant also manages to become an endearing character as the movie progresses, with subtle voice acting talent from Vin Diesel himself. I belive it is safe to say that this is the best thing Vin Diesel has ever done. That goes without saying- in fact, picking him to play the giant with a limited vocabulary ironically gave him the opportunity to be the most affecting. The Iron Giant's incredible relationship with Hogarth evolves as a classic story of friendship that is both organic and believable. A brilliant edition to the cast comes from Harry Connick, Jr., who plays the beat generation hipster Dean. His role is the shining star of the film. He could easily have been underplayed or overly clichéd, as his character description would allow for either scenario, but fortunately his dialogue, delivery, and place in the story are so well thought-out that he never has the chance to flounder. Equal parts emotional and hiarious, Dean completes the triangle between Hogarth, the giant, and himself. The last character to finish off the cast is the wonderfully headstrong, slightly crazy and progressively aggressive government agent Kent Mansley (McDonald) whose choices throught the story ultimately lead to the powerful climax. Dislikable in the best way, Mansley represents everything that was bad about the McCarthy/Red Scare era in US history. I keep mentioning the movie's climax, but it's for good reason. At first the conclusion seems contrived, but the brilliance of its execution helps overcome this fact. The last 20 minutes will stick with you for days afterward. Of course, the animation is top-knotch as well. The hand-drawn environments and character movement, as well as voice-to-mouth alignment, make this a visual spectacle that can be referred to as nothing less than art. The sountrack compliments the visuals as well, rounding out the AV experience. In conclusion, I believe that this remains Brad Bird's genre-defining masterwork to date and will remain his best piece unless he somehow outdoes what is essentially perfection. Ratatouille and The Incredibles were fun, but they can't possibly measure up. In fact, I'd say most Pixar films would even find it difficult to compare themselves, mostly because, aside from Up, none deal with adult themes like The Iron Giant. Your biggest competition remains Miyazaki's epic, Spirited Away- and for that, I applaud you, Mr. Bird. You should be honored to be in such impressive company. You've got the Western front covered. Verdict: Movie Win Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 28, 2010
any kid who likes animation should like this. it has heart, comedy, and adventure. the right family movie for kids and adults.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
History-DudeNov 27, 2010
A truly great movie about a boy and his giant destructive robot. Also, a great story about friendship and sacrifice. The reason I probably find this a great movie is that I had to watch it more than ten times because of my brother.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DukenukemMar 24, 2011
This is a great movie with much feeling, drama, and action. I loved this movie when i was a young child, and i still do today, the only problem is that they haven't made an iron giant 2!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanJan 26, 2012
Brad Bird's big-screen directorial debut is a simply magical film. It preserves the central themes of the Ted Hughes novel on which it is based, but makes them far more hard-hitting by transporting the story to the USA in the 1950s. ThisBrad Bird's big-screen directorial debut is a simply magical film. It preserves the central themes of the Ted Hughes novel on which it is based, but makes them far more hard-hitting by transporting the story to the USA in the 1950s. This period of extreme paranoia at the height of the Cold War, with the fear of nuclear attack ever on people's minds is the perfect setting for a story about the darker side of human nature and loss of innocence, and allows for a healthy amount of satirical humour and 1950s sci-fi references. The film is a real visual feast, with flawless animation that seamlessly blends hand-drawn characters and environments with CGI elements. The voice cast are superb, with Eli Marienthal emotionally grounding the story as Hogarth Hughes, the lonely, good-natured and endlessly curious young boy who discovers and befriends the titular giant when he crash lands on Earth. Vin Diesel, though voicing a character of few words, imbues the giant with a childlike innocence, and perfectly conveys the sense of sheer horror as he discovers his own origins. Jennifer Aniston probably gives the performance of her career as Hogarth's exasperated single mother Annie and John Mahoney is the perfect casting choice as the patriotic but highly moral General Rogard. The real cast highlights are Harry Connick Jr.'s beatnik scrapyard owner and wannabe artist Dean, who provides most of the comic relief, and Christopher McDonald's federal agent Kent Mansley, who makes an extremely entertaining antagonist. What really makes The Iron Giant work is the balance it manages to maintain between the comic and the serious. There are loads of great gags it's true, but there's also some extremely dark observations about the Cold War state of mind (then there are the scenes that are both funny and serious at the same time, such as the creepily cheerful instructional video telling school children what to do in the event of a nuclear holocaust). You'd have to have a heart of stone not to be moved by the film's finale, with Hogarth and the giant's relationship so well established, and with the addition of Michael Kamen's beautiful, highly emotive score, be prepared to shed the tears. The film feels equidistant between E.T. and King Kong, but is better than either. To dismiss it as simply a film for children would be moronic. The Iron Giant can speak to everyone, no matter your age or background because Brad Bird is a great storyteller and introduces you to characters you can relate to and actually care about, and the moral of his story is universal. The Iron Giant isn't just a brilliant animated film, it's a brilliant film, end of. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JAM123Aug 30, 2011
This was an amazing movie. Touching and masterful. I remember watching it when it first came out and thinking it was great but after seeing it again, it's still that way. Instant classic for all ages this is. Brad bird really did aThis was an amazing movie. Touching and masterful. I remember watching it when it first came out and thinking it was great but after seeing it again, it's still that way. Instant classic for all ages this is. Brad bird really did a spectacular job with this one. This movie not only had an awesome story line but had a great message. It was that anyone can be a hero, but also anyone can be a villain it's your choice. It wasn't about a kid who finds a giant robot, it was about friendship and what you'd do for a friend. It's an amazing tear jerker and I highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LandFApr 19, 2012
Brad Bird has directed two Pixar films; The Incredibles and Ratatouille. Both of these are big favorites of mine. Browsing through films, The Iron Giant caught my eye. I could only hope that I enjoyed this film as much as I did Ratatouille orBrad Bird has directed two Pixar films; The Incredibles and Ratatouille. Both of these are big favorites of mine. Browsing through films, The Iron Giant caught my eye. I could only hope that I enjoyed this film as much as I did Ratatouille or The Incredibles. The verdict is that the film wasn't was good as either Pixar films, but is more than exceptional entertainment. In fact, this is one of the best non-Pixar animated films I've ever seen. The film opens with a gorgeously animated sequence of a futuristic vehicle flying through space, until it lands in the middle of the ocean where a boat sails nearby. The captain of the boat stares curiously where he saw the flash of light...then a giant 50-foot robot emerges from the ocean. The film only gets better from there. A young boy named Hogarth is at the diner where his Mom works long hours. The boy overhears a conversation about the Iron Giant, and wonders if it truly exists. His question is later answered when he sees the robot near a power plant, and ends up saving the giant's life. The two become friends, though the boy has to hide the giant to avoid the government (and his Mom) from finding out (Think E.T.). The film is quite funny, and it's filled with stunning animation and memorable characters. The story matches up to Pixar quality, in both heart and substance. There are a lot of tricky issues that are discussed in this film; death namely. The Iron Giant is curious about Earth, and one of his experiences is a deer being shot by hunters. The Iron Giant is traumatized by the experience, and Hogarth explains death as well as he can. "Death isn't a bad thing," Hogarth says, "Everyone dies." "You die?" The Iron Giant asks. "Well, yeah, someday." Hogarth says. "...I die?" The Iron Giant ponders. "I...don't know. Maybe..." The film is very thought provoking, and in some of it's many humorous scenes, laugh provoking. It's even a little tear-jerking at times. If you understand or appreciate anything about movies, this film should be viewed as a must-see. Something you have to experience at least once. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodOct 19, 2013
The films got an amazing story, amazing animation for the time period and has some truly amazing voice acting. I love this film and recommend everybody to watch it, its just great family fun, 10/10, why isn't their a squeal, why you may askThe films got an amazing story, amazing animation for the time period and has some truly amazing voice acting. I love this film and recommend everybody to watch it, its just great family fun, 10/10, why isn't their a squeal, why you may ask is because it would be pretty goddamn dark, if i say anymore it will be spoilers Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AUtiger314Aug 19, 2012
Just an excellent movie all around. Wonderful storyline and beautifully crafted cinematic scenes. Perfect family film. Loved this movie ever since I first saw it nearly 10 years ago. I still love it to this day.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
GooD.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
nicholas_heJan 13, 2013
The Iron Giant is a timeless masterpiece, a virtuoso animation experience with a heartfelt and powerful story of non-violence and the power of love and friendship.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
kev_i_nMar 21, 2014
Overview
+Great story that is surprising, entertaining and slightly unpredictable
+Excellent voice acting giving depth to the characters +The sound effect fit right into the film, no sound seems particularly out of place. +The chemistry
Overview
+Great story that is surprising, entertaining and slightly unpredictable
+Excellent voice acting giving depth to the characters
+The sound effect fit right into the film, no sound seems particularly out of place.
+The chemistry between all the characters feels right
-Are a few plot holes here and there, but won’t mention any cause doing so may reveal the ending
-Compared to recent offerings from Pixar, this film does look a little dated, but them again that is to be expected on a film that was released for 1999
-Some of the characters feel a little under-developed

Therefore I would highly reckon this film, as it is a great watch. It is such a shame though how the film as a whole was a finical failure, but don’t let that put you off.

Full Review
The main features about the Iron Giant that makes it stand above the crowd are the story and characters. At first it seems a very stereotypical children’s film, with the main character (Hogarth) being the unfortunate, bullied, kid at school who them befriends an iron giant. Furthermore the similarity to E.T is unavoidable, and it could be argued the iron giant is a less emotional version of E.T, as the story for the most part is basically about the relationship between a boy and an unknown creature, while the government try to find the creature. However when the film introduces the villain (Kent) who is sent to investigate certain incidents within the town, the story picks up as Kent becomes more determined to find the giant, and Hogarth must hide him, leading to a game of cat and mouse occurring. Furthermore unlike typical children’s films, where the villain is so obviously evil and a bit dull, here Kent’s position is sort of understandable, as his determination to gain recognition, and his fear of the unknown drive him on, while he is restricted by governmental powers. The combination of believing motivates and restricts on his power, make Kent an excellent villain. Likewise while Hogarth can be boring and stereotypical at first, this changes when he begins his interaction with the Iron Giant, because the relationship between the two is excellently portrayed, as Hogarth tries to restrain the Giant’s power, while at the same time trying to have fun with his own Iron Giant. For me this makes the relationship between the two far more plausible than the relationship between Eliot and E.T, in E.T. Likewise Hogarth nature of being a little bit rebellious while not being a really annoying character, as his maturity further help to place the film higher than its competition.

The story and characters are made less stereotypical, with the introduction of difficult issues, such as fear of the unknown, teaching something wrong from right in a contemporary setting etc. However these questions are balanced with elements of heart-warming comedy, whether it is the childish nature of the Giant, the creative imagination of Hogarth etc. help to soften out the moral elements of the film. It certainly makes a nice change from the countless children films that focus only on love/romance. Such features help to make the Iron Giant a breath of fresh air.

The excellent story and character portrayal are all enhanced by the excellent voice acting. In particular credit has to go to Christopher McDonald voicing Kent who really provides a nice balance of normality, crazy levels of determination, frustration, and a consistent level of evil. Likewise Vin Diesel voicing the Iron Giant works fantastically well, because his deep voice combined with the lack of spoken dialogue gives the Giant lots of depth. For me the overall sound of the movie was great as there was a minimalist sound track with hardly any songs, but everything, from the water effects, to the explosions, fit right in to the overall effect and feel of this outstanding movie.

The only major drawback to the film, decides the things you would expect (dated looks, and plot holes); is the lack of the development of the sub-characters. While lack of development does not affect Dean I particular, the characters that feel under-developed are the General and Hogarth’s mum Annie. Now while the general is not in the film for a long period of time, so his under-development is understandable, the fact that within the film he holds the power of Kent means that by him being barely featured, when he does exercise his power it is not as impactful as it should be. The same sense of under-development affects Annie, who despite being a key character seems a bit unaware of what is going on, and like the General, despite playing a key role as Hogarth’s mum, is not featured enough.

However, I would still recommend this film to anyone because it is charming and a lot of fun, despite its short comings. A must see.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dailyjalenOct 31, 2014
“The Iron Giant" directed by Brad Bird, is based upon the 1968 novel,'Iron Man,' by the British poet Ted Hughes. The film is about a giant metal machine that drops from the sky and frightens a small town in Maine in 1958, only to find a“The Iron Giant" directed by Brad Bird, is based upon the 1968 novel,'Iron Man,' by the British poet Ted Hughes. The film is about a giant metal machine that drops from the sky and frightens a small town in Maine in 1958, only to find a twelve year old friend named, Hogarth, that ultimately helps him finds its humanity and saving the towns people from their own fears and prejudices.
This original childhood film has a simple, but more than satisfying plot line that is fun and intriguing for children and adults leaving an emotional attachment to this giant metal man while bringing you light to a particular moral or ethic. Its beginning starts as any other science fictional movie with this seems to be crater falling from space and landing into a random location on earth where just so happens to be a civilized area to saying their goodbyes and leaving the planet, but not the same ordinary goodbyes as you would think. Its composition was beautifully executed throughout the movie in a comprehensive manner that still upholds the story. By that I mean the order of the scenes of the film were well done and each one needed, in order for the movie to be shown in a understanding way to children and adults. The film has an excellent cast that voice-over the personalities to give these 50's animated characters more of a realistic understanding how and why they react and contributed given their time period at which the events occurred much like Disney Pixar's animated film, “Wall-E” given that film didn't have many voices, but could still deeply feel the emotion within the characters. This great film portray events as they are in real-word settings. The actions and interactions were to be believable, plausible, and at least somewhat relatable to both child and adult.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
The Iron Giant is really a great film. You know those films that have a boy and his dog (Lassie). a boy and his whale (Free Willie), a boy and his alien (E.T.), and a boy and his Gamera (Gamera the Brave)? This film decided to do a boy andThe Iron Giant is really a great film. You know those films that have a boy and his dog (Lassie). a boy and his whale (Free Willie), a boy and his alien (E.T.), and a boy and his Gamera (Gamera the Brave)? This film decided to do a boy and his giant robot in a nutshell. The story is great, the characters are great, and I love what the Iron Giant was revealed to be at the end. It's just awesome! If you haven't seen this movie, then I suggest you do so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
annbdDec 23, 2017
I haven't watched a lot of animations, but The Iron Giant seems like a perfect one, suitable for every age. The story was compelling and its spreads a beautiful message. Love it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Sep 28, 2010
"The Iron Giant" is a soft-hearted and whimsical take on period movies (I've rarely seen a better take on Communist-era America) that is an absolute joy to behold. The combination of great animation and satirical dialogue makes every"The Iron Giant" is a soft-hearted and whimsical take on period movies (I've rarely seen a better take on Communist-era America) that is an absolute joy to behold. The combination of great animation and satirical dialogue makes every character memorable and fun and the finale is as gripping as animated films come. Expand
13 of 14 users found this helpful131
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 5, 2011
Brad Bird's "The Iron Giant" makes its mark as a classic animation. It dumps in love and pure honesty into the colorful screen as well as telling a good morale of unity. A definite must watch.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
SirKirbyThe4thSep 23, 2015
There are 2 types of people when it comes to this movie. People who love it, & people who've never seen it before. There is no 3rd option, It's one of the the most praised movie out of everyone I know. & if people DO hate it, they just loveThere are 2 types of people when it comes to this movie. People who love it, & people who've never seen it before. There is no 3rd option, It's one of the the most praised movie out of everyone I know. & if people DO hate it, they just love to troll, they love it, & they know it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
iAMsoBEAST1Jan 19, 2013
This movie is way too similar to E.T. to warrant a 10/10. Alien comes to planet. Kid finds alien. Government tries to get the alien. Only difference is the alien get sacrifices himself at the end of the Iron Giant and is "killed." AnimationThis movie is way too similar to E.T. to warrant a 10/10. Alien comes to planet. Kid finds alien. Government tries to get the alien. Only difference is the alien get sacrifices himself at the end of the Iron Giant and is "killed." Animation was pretty damn good though and it was a very cute movie Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMar 27, 2016
I am quite expected to not be scared of a giant robot because hey... dig deeper into my fears and you might find it. So yes, this film is not as great as the Incredibles was, but comparing it to a glory day animation filled with underratedI am quite expected to not be scared of a giant robot because hey... dig deeper into my fears and you might find it. So yes, this film is not as great as the Incredibles was, but comparing it to a glory day animation filled with underrated movies, this one takes the cake... or should I say... crushes the cake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Bmeyer8Apr 14, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know if I've seen this movie much and I'm pretty sure I spoiled the whole thing, but this is a stupid excuse for an animated movie. I heard of and seen a part in the ending that the iron giant might be coming back, but it probably still made poor little children upset. Expand
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
0
donmcdonoughAug 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's the worst. I don't reccommend it. I mean, COME ON! WHY THE HELL WOULD THIS BE A GREAT MOVIE? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Ikarus14Aug 25, 2009
A masterpiece in animation. Any animation student should admire this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielK.Jun 30, 2007
This movie not only has a good story; but it has heart. Along with a couple of comedic moments, there are morals that almost anyone can relate to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 28, 2007
This movie was great.. I liked the giant robot learning not to kill, and about the boy teaching him, and being his friend... This movie has a good moral, i expected less excitement, but it gave me soo much excitement!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanieloFeb 11, 2006
My new favorite animated feature! Great story, beautiful animation, and a tear-jerking ending. If you haven't seen this movie, get it now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeM.Jul 31, 2006
Take that Pixar. As close to animated perfection as you can come and not be Miyazaki. Absolutely brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RirenMar 3, 2007
Nostalgic animation at its best. Its outdated politics are shielded by that same sense of nostalgia. Its underpinnings are all strong, with a great voice cast and top notch animation. Its overall quality earns it all its conceits, creating a Nostalgic animation at its best. Its outdated politics are shielded by that same sense of nostalgia. Its underpinnings are all strong, with a great voice cast and top notch animation. Its overall quality earns it all its conceits, creating a heartwarming and silly adventure for children and adults who still have a child at heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurS.Mar 5, 2007
This is one of the most underrated animations ever made. By far one of the best. You will not be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GavinCJul 27, 2009
Very exciting, very entertaining, and very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MystiCSep 12, 2009
I watched this near the time of it's release, when I was eleven. I loved it then, as any science fiction-reading child would. But, what I did not expect was to come across it at twenty one, and cry like a baby throughout the last half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteJul 21, 2006
Not only a perfect cartoon, but a perfect movie. Great message, great story, great artistry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TyranianApr 12, 2020
Terrific animation with great visuals, writing, story and characters. Equal to Pixar's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJan 10, 2016
A wonderfully touching film, The Iron Giant serves as a showcase for director Brad Bird's talent with animated films and also has a very moving message at its iron core. Magnificently animated and voiced, The Iron Giant really progressesA wonderfully touching film, The Iron Giant serves as a showcase for director Brad Bird's talent with animated films and also has a very moving message at its iron core. Magnificently animated and voiced, The Iron Giant really progresses nicely, even if its story is a little frenetically paced at times. Additionally, I wish more of the character motivations and backstories had a bit more depth, because as is, it felt very cartoonish with vague motivations and just needlessly evil characters (who are bloodthirsty too?). So, this odd and poor characterization does detract from the film a bit, but the rest is so touching and wonderfully crafted, it is impossible to ignore. It stops short of being great, but The Iron Giant is a good animated film that really keeps you entertained and invested in the events of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMar 2, 2016
10/10 doesn't mean perfect. It means that its a masterpiece that should be an example for all future animations/movies! The Iron Giant is without any doubt one of the most emotional and beautiful animations of all-time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AijixeSep 27, 2015
The Iron Giant is a superb animated film that blends fantastic traditional and 3D animation with fine voice acting and a plot that leaves me a tearful mess every time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersJun 5, 2018
You know, after reviewing "The Angry Birds Movie" and being juuuuuust a little negative towards it, I'm so happy that I can follow that up by reviewing an animated masterpiece. "The Iron Giant" really is that, a masterpiece. It's a film withYou know, after reviewing "The Angry Birds Movie" and being juuuuuust a little negative towards it, I'm so happy that I can follow that up by reviewing an animated masterpiece. "The Iron Giant" really is that, a masterpiece. It's a film with animation that still looks breathtaking nearly 20 years later, it's a film that handles mature themes of death and relationships in a way that'll have you think twice about the idea of "all animated films being kiddy flicks," it's a film that's hilarious but also exciting, it's a film with brilliant characters like the charming Hogarth, the witty Dean, and the sinister and complex Mr. Mansley, but most importantly, it's a film that shines through with its title character, the Giant himself, a character that's both badass and adorable, and easy to love. It's a film that has stood the test of time, and it's a film that deserves to be watched not only by fans of animation, but by fans of films in general. It's a true masterpiece of filmmaking, and if there's anything I can criticize, it's that it took me until now to finally watch the film. Don't make the same mistake I did. Watch "The Iron Giant." And if you've seen it already...well, good, but go watch it again! It's truly a breathtaking film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
emlugo123Feb 25, 2015
One of the best movies I have ever seen. A tear-jerking movie until the very end. It is a must see if you haven't seen it. No matter what your age is you will love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gameguardian21Sep 17, 2016
The iron giant remains one of the best animated movies I have ever seen. This movie is so emotionally and excitingly amazing, that I've never encountered one dule moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMasterEddyApr 4, 2016
"The Iron Giant" is a fabulous animated feature, funny, touching, vivid and, best of all, humane. I hated it.
It's brilliantly animated, and like the masterpieces of its genre it transcends age groupings. Children will love it and adults
"The Iron Giant" is a fabulous animated feature, funny, touching, vivid and, best of all, humane. I hated it.
It's brilliantly animated, and like the masterpieces of its genre it transcends age groupings. Children will love it and adults will be transfixed by its cleverness and its deft satire.

The movie is set in 1957, in that immediate post-Sputnik panic, when it appeared that we were behind the Russkies and had to catch up. One night in upstate Maine – this was before the giant alligators of "Lake Placid" got there – a fireball crashes into the sea and the one survivor of a fishing boat sunk by the splash claims that it was a spaceship!

Later that same week, cute Hogarth, the son of the perky diner waitress, is wandering around, curious about a weird phenomenon: Something has been biting chunks out of tractors. Aliens or commies? Well, the giant footsteps in the mud suggest the presence of a 100-foot-high robot. Hmmmm. Hogarth bumbles into the woods exactly when a 100-foot-high robot is trying to eat the local power station and is about to be electrocuted for his hungers. The boy doesn't run screaming in fear – as would any kid in a '50s movie – but instead takes pity on the screaming giant and locates the power station's helpfully placed OFF switch, thereby saving the big guy's life.

What happens next is sort of like a Lassie movie with a 100-foot-high robot with nuclear weapons in its arms in the role of the collie. Boy and 'bot gambol through the woods, developing a touching relationship. They "bond." Boy is not stupid; he understands that some people might be made anxious by the presence of the 100-foot robot that eats cars for lunch. He helps 'bot hide by taking him to the junkyard – this would be a Horn & Hardart for a giant metal-eating robot, no? – which is run by the local beatnik artist. Meanwhile, his perky mom is trying to figure out what to do and a manly FBI agent, just like the one James Arness played in "Them," arrives to investigate.

Technically, "The Iron Giant" is superb. Brilliantly colored, it meshes computer-animated imagery (the robot and most of the war machines) with the more fluent and naturalistic stylings of the old Disney house style. It's "Bambi" with robots. The dialogue is sprightly and engaging and the off-screen actors – particularly Eli Marienthal as Hogarth, the boy, and Jennifer Aniston as his perky mom – are terrific.

But at a certain point "The Iron Giant," without missing a beat in charm or artistry, skews off into TULWC. And that would be The Usual Left-Wing Crap. I suppose the movies it is parodying would be considered TURWC, but they were made in the middle of the Cold War. This one was made in the toasty-warm safety of our victory in that war.

The artistic conceit of "The Iron Giant" is to invert the stereotypes of the '50s invasion-from-space movie, with its paranoid, xenophobic overtones and anti-communist metaphoric structure. Think of it as "The War of the Worlds" or "The Thing" as directed by a member of the Hollywood 10. As I say, TULWC.

Thus the FBI agent turns out to be a treacherous rat, not a hero; it's the beatnik who gets the girl (Mom) in the end, while the FBI guy runs away like a sniveling craven monster. When the authorities arrive, it's the usual liberal fantasy of the military, an agglomeration of trigger-happy, destruction-crazed yahoos willing to blow away the gentle giant just because he has A-bombs up his size 347 sleeves. Those rats! If they showed him love, this wouldn't have to happen.

Okay, you're saying: Who wrote this review, "Strangelove's" Gen. Buck Turgidson? Still, the movie – as beautifully drawn, as sleek and engaging as it is – has the annoyance of incredible smugness. It is, one could say, blinded by the hindsight. How stupid the '50s seem from our enlightened age, yet how utterly easy and cheap it is to affect superiority to that decade, particularly when nowhere in the piece does it acknowledge the existence of an evil empire busily nurturing spies and building H-bombs and threatening to bury us after burying millions of its own. This movie is set in '57, but nobody affiliated with it appears aware of what happened in '56, in Hungary. Yes, I suppose the makers of "The Iron Giant" are morally superior to the FBI, CIA, USAF and USN and USA agents, soldiers and officers who fought the Cold War, but it's easy to be superior when your dads have already beaten all your enemies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLover123Aug 29, 2016
This movie might be slightly overrated. I loved every minute of the movie, but its story is painfully unoriginal. It is basically a King Kong story but with a robot with high tech weaponry. Not a bad flick for kids and adults, but not aThis movie might be slightly overrated. I loved every minute of the movie, but its story is painfully unoriginal. It is basically a King Kong story but with a robot with high tech weaponry. Not a bad flick for kids and adults, but not a ground breaking masterpiece some will have you believe. Overall, a must watch for lovers of old animated cartoon movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Oct 29, 2017
The greatest success in amination of Warner Brothers. A tribute to the fantastic genre of time, it is a clear example of how to make animated films without naive sentimentalisms and dumb sing-a-long sequences. Pay attention for one of mostThe greatest success in amination of Warner Brothers. A tribute to the fantastic genre of time, it is a clear example of how to make animated films without naive sentimentalisms and dumb sing-a-long sequences. Pay attention for one of most saddest deaths in animation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
girlratesstuffApr 4, 2017
I loved this movie! It was endearing and poignant, following the age-old tale of love in the face of prejudice. The animation is very charming, and the characters were believable and easy to like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Dragonfly44Jul 19, 2017
Quite possibly the best movie of it's time, the Iron Giant is greatly written and has a nice overall story. It's heartwarming and all around spectacular
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
buzzsparkApr 15, 2018
Sooo 90's. In a good sense. I always really appreciate Brad Bird's work and this is no exception.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MacsMusicDec 28, 2017
All around, this is a pretty good movie. The animation looks great at times, and takes the viewer out of the experience other times. The humor works pretty well most of the time. Some of the elements feel unoriginal, and a few lines areAll around, this is a pretty good movie. The animation looks great at times, and takes the viewer out of the experience other times. The humor works pretty well most of the time. Some of the elements feel unoriginal, and a few lines are pretty weak and cliche. The detective and Hogarth are really great characters, with the former being incredibly entertaining throughout. The ending of this movie is satisfying. All in all, it's a pretty good, but not flawless movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeJul 1, 2018
giant at heart..

The Iron Giant 4 Out Of 5 The Iron Giant is a typical tale that battles between beauty and the beast, retold through the ingenious Brad Bird's lens. Such animation features are always a passion projects which is clearly
giant at heart..

The Iron Giant

4 Out Of 5

The Iron Giant is a typical tale that battles between beauty and the beast, retold through the ingenious Brad Bird's lens. Such animation features are always a passion projects which is clearly visible in here and is also the primary reason why it creates the impact like on other usually does. It is rich on technical aspects like cinematography, background score and editing. The animation speaks volume more than the words in here and as far as the script is concerned, it may follow a familiar format extracted from the textbook formula, but is undeniably an effective, impressive, charming and emotionally beautiful feature. Tim McCanlies and Brad Bird; the screenwriters, have created a cozy and warm environment that is perfectly balanced on delivering the entertainment to both, its younger and older audience. Brad Bird; the director, is on his A game for the emotions projected in here creates a deeper impact on the viewers and connects with the frame to frame with his brilliant execution skill and a knack for pleasing the viewers through its amazing visuals and camera work. The voice given by the actors seems apt especially by Vin Diesel as The Iron Giant, Jennifer Aniston and James Gammon. The Iron Giant is giant at heart that resides within a childlike relationship among two individuals that just like the protagonist, seeks for its own parts in bits and pieces.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarvelJoeApr 13, 2018
This movie has a E.T. feeling to it but with a giant robot being Superman. Underrated, but really memorable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RaduAFeb 6, 2019
Just WOW ! One of the best animated movies ever ! I love everything from this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NolanLundgaardSep 23, 2018
I went into watching The Iron Giant with low expectations because its animation was lackluster compared to Toy Story (which was made four years prior) and therefore assumed its story would follow suit. Truth was, I was so blown away by itsI went into watching The Iron Giant with low expectations because its animation was lackluster compared to Toy Story (which was made four years prior) and therefore assumed its story would follow suit. Truth was, I was so blown away by its story and its amazing messages that any prejudice I had against this movie was wiped away within the first ten minutes of the film. In fact, this may have been the best kids movie that I have ever seen, no joke. If you haven’t seen The Iron Giant yet, I would absolutely recommend this instant classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pritish286Jul 17, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I created a meta critic account just so I could tell others the greatness of this film. The cadence of this movie is spectacular it flows beautifully and there is no fluff in the entire film. The emotional bonds you set with characters, especially the giant, is amazing and adds so many layers of depth. Every character is crafted so beautifully you feel the emotions that they feel and even the antagonist you can somewhat sympathize towards. The visuals are phenomenal and I never felt like I was watching a movie made 20 years ago ,and what Bird does with the color schemes is spectacular. The lens in which you watch this movie is through the innocence of a kid, but Bird is not afraid to tackle real issues like the Cold War, death, violence, and even the state of our US Army. The emotions you feel is immense from the joy you feel with Bird's visuals, the anger you feel towards the antagonist, the fear when meeting the giant for the first time, the laughter from the witty dialogue, and finally the sadness when the giant sacrifices himself. This movie does have its fair critiques, but I truly felt a journey when watching this movie; when I finished the film I had chills that I had not felt since watching Forrest Gump. Coming from someone that isn't the biggest fan of animated films, this is personally up there with some of the greats like shawshank or empire as one of the best movies I have ever laid eyes on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OnaskDec 19, 2018
Sin duda una de las mejores películas de animación 2D de la historia. Bird dirige una cinta excelente que se convierte en un icono de la cultura popular. Increíble animación, paleta de colores y personajes. El Gigante de Hierro es tierna,Sin duda una de las mejores películas de animación 2D de la historia. Bird dirige una cinta excelente que se convierte en un icono de la cultura popular. Increíble animación, paleta de colores y personajes. El Gigante de Hierro es tierna, emotiva, emocionante y divertida a partes iguales; redonda en su ejecución, con una ambientación histórica más que arriesgada e interesante.

Sin duda un mensaje de paz y amistad que ha perdurado en los corazones de los espectadores por casi 20 años. Imprescindible.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jpgraneraJan 2, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the great director Brad Bird, The Iron Giant it's a good family-friendly movie. It does have some appealing, an emotional plot and a good ending, but, for me, it stays at 8/10 because I feel I have seen this type of movie before. A kid that founds "someone" that is very unusual or big, no ones believes him. Then people discover that he does exist and are afraid can be harmful, so they decide to eliminate him. Then at the end, that creature confirms he is good and it's a happy ending. So it was very predictable for me, but it doesn't mean it was bad. Another thing is that it let me with some questions like, where does the robot come from? How does he understand so well English, or even speak? But I think that the movie let that to the audience to think.
I recommend this movie to a family with kids, you will enjoy it for sure!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FlipjeOct 12, 2019
While the film has its merits, I found the familiar tropes to be somewhat bothersome. The setting, the time period provide a nice backdrop for the story of a metal ET crash landing on earth. We have the Americana version of Maine during theWhile the film has its merits, I found the familiar tropes to be somewhat bothersome. The setting, the time period provide a nice backdrop for the story of a metal ET crash landing on earth. We have the Americana version of Maine during the Cold War and a young boy, Hogarth who is basically your everyman as a child. He is precocious and adventerous. He owns a BB gun, he loves his comic books and wants to have a wild animal for a pet. His mother is your typical single mom... or rather a widow (it was not well-established how she lost her husband and I only discovered this after referring to the Wikipedia site) and works at a diner. She is patient, long-suffering with her child's antics and his many other quirks which altogether come out of the stereotypical screenplay bag of basic ideas here. Into Hogarth's life comes this Iron Giant and from there, it plays out like ET. I know this is a kid's movie yet after hearing and reading the great reviews, I found myself wondering how this film could belong to numerous top ten film lists. I kept forcing myself to keep watching, expecting some depth or revelation. Yet Hogarth, his mom, and Dean, an artist who owns a scrapyard were all poorly written characters. The bad guy was boring and idiotic. The climax was overblown and ludicrous. The whole plot offered nothing new. The dialogue felt clumsy and trite. A pleasant film and I suppose great for children. Weapons are bad. Killing is bad. Yes, wonderful moral messages here along with the idea that we choose to be what we want to be. The film just felt bland and boring, more a chore to watch. There are far better animated films out there. I urge people not to believe the hype. Brad Bird directed this work and it is definitely a first film for him. I recommend The Incredibles which is much more mature and a far better film. It was more well-thought out than this piece of juvenelia. This felt like a sketch that needed more attention to detail. I truly don't understand the rave reviews. Sometimes I think the herd mentality is at work in movie criticism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews