Warner Bros. | Release Date: October 10, 2014
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 257 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
185
Mixed:
53
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BHBarryFeb 1, 2015
"The Judge" stars Robert Downey, Jr. and Robert Duvall in a film co-written by David Dobkin (who also directed), David Seidler and Bill Dubuque. With a supporting cast of notable performers including Billy Bob Thornton, Vera Farmiga and"The Judge" stars Robert Downey, Jr. and Robert Duvall in a film co-written by David Dobkin (who also directed), David Seidler and Bill Dubuque. With a supporting cast of notable performers including Billy Bob Thornton, Vera Farmiga and Vincent D'Onofrio, this is nothing more than a vehicle for Messrs. Duvall and Downey who find themselves enmeshed in an unconvincing story filled with subplots which keep popping up in an often disruptive manner.
The film is approximately 2 and ½ hours long and, with that span of time, should have offered the viewers more than the one outstanding performance by Mr. Duvall (who could recite the alphabet and make it sound like eloquent prose). The bottom line, however, is that this talented cast of actors deserved something better to display their talents. For that reason, the writers and director will have to place themselves at the mercy of the court of viewing opinion and, plead guilty as charged. I give the film a 7.5 rating.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
fantasyOct 11, 2014
Would it shock you to learn that the professionals critics got it all wrong? I saw The Judge today with a packed theater as it was sold out. Robert Downey Jr. and Rober Duvall were absolutely brilliant as they played themselves basically.Would it shock you to learn that the professionals critics got it all wrong? I saw The Judge today with a packed theater as it was sold out. Robert Downey Jr. and Rober Duvall were absolutely brilliant as they played themselves basically. The supporting cast was outstanding. You sat on the edge of your seat listening to the back and forth barbs as you soon realizes that both father and son are hard asses and if you look in the mirror you would see the other. The story was very sentimental in which the father becomes the son and the son the father. It's a very good movie that theater audiences will see as word of mouth will spread. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
jhepJul 19, 2015
In an ideal Metacritic world I would give this film a 6.5.……almost single-handedly Robert Downey Jr. nearly pulls it off and brings the huge disabled cruise ship that is “The Judge“ to safe harbor….Downey creates a character that is soIn an ideal Metacritic world I would give this film a 6.5.……almost single-handedly Robert Downey Jr. nearly pulls it off and brings the huge disabled cruise ship that is “The Judge“ to safe harbor….Downey creates a character that is so intriguing and somehow “new” that the film almost succeeds in holding our interest very much in spite of its unwieldy and all-over-the-map script and direction.……My feeling is that the film is worth seeing almost exclusively because of the opportunity to watch Downey and Robert Duvall “do their stuff”; each provides a sort of master classes in acting…..

However, the film as a whole suffers SO badly from its impulse to go madly in all directions that it begins to feel more like a television mini-series crammed into a feature film format than an actual successful drama. Both the director and the script writer lack a sense of the those crucial boundaries that any film genre needs to accommodate and “The Judge” loses its way as indulges in far too many (almost whimsical) dramatic angles and possibilities i.e,….is this a psychological family drama ? a courtroom drama ? a film noir? a thriller? a coming-of-age story?……worst of all when the film begins to lose its way and grow quite muddled, the solution choice appears to be to pile on EVEN MORE plot developments…and this is what eventually very nearly “sinks” it (despite Downey and Duvall’s very strong performances)…

……a good example of a film that succeeds in being a legal/courtroom drama AND a psychological thriller is the George Clooney film “Michael Clayton”- a really remarkable achievement and one of the best American films I have seen in decades ….and another example is the more modest achievement of the Matt Damon film “The Rainmaker” of several years back….both these films respect the limitations of the film genre they’re working in while at the same time cautiously stretching the material to add new dimensions …… “The Judge” tries hard to do this but fails; it is an interesting failure, however, and hopefully the director will one day learn to reign in his overly ambitious narrative impulses……

…....another criticism I have is that the dialogue in the film is frequently frankly unbelievable and over-the-top witty and clever ….many of these characters would have to be geniuses or near-geniuses to come up with the things they come out with and Downey’s character especially often comes across as a sort of combination of Sherlock Holmes, James Bond and Zorro ! In fact dangerously close to the superhero Downey has now played in THREE “Iron Man” films !.... It's not be a stretch I think to suggest that at this point in his career Downey needs to watch out for Iron Man Damage !…..

My final criticism of this film is is its lack of any clear FOCUS. In fact, at times it feels more like a dream the director is having than an actual movie and the narrative line all but disappears in a muddled and undisciplined phantasmagoria and this is really too bad because there is in fact a lot to like here; hence my ideal 6.5 rating.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
HfahmyDec 5, 2014
Entertaining absorbing movie despite the 15 minutes slow start. Professional acting from the judge Robert Duvall and his three sons Robert Downey, Vincent D'Onofrio, and Jeremy Strong. Melodramatic movie about an evading son Robert Downey whoEntertaining absorbing movie despite the 15 minutes slow start. Professional acting from the judge Robert Duvall and his three sons Robert Downey, Vincent D'Onofrio, and Jeremy Strong. Melodramatic movie about an evading son Robert Downey who became a good lawyer despite his far from ethical life, and his father Robert Duvall who has a judgement derailed by his love for his evading son. The storyline revolves about the family fate deeply hurt by, Robert Downey, the son who flew away from family and probable love. The family reunites again when the mother dies and the father is accused of hit and run killing. The past is revived, and the humanly true feelings are uncovered. An acting game that is not to be missed, the movie isn't though a box office magnet. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ledaumasOct 20, 2014
I don't understand how a movie can be criticized because it doesn't turn out in a certain way. We enjoyed this movie, with the many subplots (that's probably where the criticism comes from). It has excellent acting from all. I did wonder whyI don't understand how a movie can be criticized because it doesn't turn out in a certain way. We enjoyed this movie, with the many subplots (that's probably where the criticism comes from). It has excellent acting from all. I did wonder why it was never explained what the youngest son mental problems were about. I especially enjoyed Downey's character's quickness with figuring the legal angles. All in all, it was a story about a family's love, despite their many differences and faults which clash. Good scenery too! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078May 9, 2016
John Grisham, the former lawyer turned novelist, has become known for his action packed, courtroom conspiracies. These films are always full of twists and unlikely heroes, but in his latest film, The Judge, Grisham takes a step back. TheJohn Grisham, the former lawyer turned novelist, has become known for his action packed, courtroom conspiracies. These films are always full of twists and unlikely heroes, but in his latest film, The Judge, Grisham takes a step back. The lawyers he creates have always been young and smart, but inexperienced and in over their heads, this time, it's just the opposite. Hank Palmer (Robert Downey Jr.) has left his small town upbringing behind and has become one of the biggest criminal defense attorneys in the country. Law has always been in his family, as his father, Joseph (Robert Duvall) has been a judge in that small town for nearly fifty years. Hank is home for a rare visit, when he starts to notice his father is deteriorating, but does little about it. One night, The Judge goes out to the store and hits someone with his car, his son contends, it was a simple accident, but the district attorney thinks it's something more, due to the Judge's former connection with the victim. Despite them never seeing eye to eye, and despite the Judge's stubbornness, he sees no choice but to let his big shot son defend him. Both actors in this film are terrific, few are as good as Robert Duvall, but the chemistry in this film is a bit of a problem. Robert Duvall is always this humble soft spoken guy, that pulls at the heart strings, but Robert Downey Jr. has a personality that's bigger than life itself. While Duvall was amazing, Downey Jr. always seemed to overpower him in their scenes together. The combination made for a few good laughs, but overall, Downey's personality overshadows the empathy the crowd had for Duvall. The bottom line, The Judge may not be John Grisham's most thrilling work, but it does pose some interesting questions of law and explores the necessity of a father/son relationship, even when the two parties don't really get along. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinOct 10, 2014
“The Judge” is a 2 hour and 20 minute film, half family drama and half courtroom drama, at least 20 minutes too long. The acting, particularly by Robert Downey Jr. and Robert Duvall elevate this film above all the clichés that you know are“The Judge” is a 2 hour and 20 minute film, half family drama and half courtroom drama, at least 20 minutes too long. The acting, particularly by Robert Downey Jr. and Robert Duvall elevate this film above all the clichés that you know are coming.

On the verge of divorce, after finding his wife has cheated on him, and his mother having died, Chicago lawyer Hank (Downey Jr.) returns to his small hometown in Indiana where his father (Duvall) has been a judge for 38 years and sober for 28. Hank’s older brother Glen (Vincent D’Onofrio) had been a promising baseball player is now a married man with children who works in a tire store and a younger brother, Dale, (Jeremy Strong) who, due to mental disabilities, constantly has a camera in his hand recording everything.

In spite of two or three twists and turns there are all the familiar scenarios including a high school girlfriend Sam (Vera Farmiga) who has a fatherless daughter who was born 9 months after Hank left town, a hyper young waitress Carla (Leighton Meester), who comes on to Hank along with a only in Hollywood storyline that makes for Hank to take on the defense of the judge who is accused of murder. This brings in a country bumpkin lawyer, Dax Shepard, which makes it necessary to be helped by Hank, along with slick opposing prosecuting lawyer, Dwight (Billy Bob Thornton) is holding a grudge against Hank. There is a completely unnecessary story involving Hank’s far too precocious daughter Lauren (Emma Trembay) showing that both the judge and her father have a soft side.

Both Downey Jr. and Duvall bring their A game to the movie, especially in a scene that could have been a complete turn off, and Farmiga lights up the screen in her scenes with Downey Jr. Billy Bob Thornton brings gravitas to the film with another one of his fine performances and is getting better looking every year as he grows older.

The direction by David Dobkin, along with the screenplay by Nick Schenk and Bill Dubuque, follow a course we have seen many times before brought to a higher level by the acting. The director of photography Janusz Kaminski, brings a Hollywood image of small town perfection to the film with everything green and shining. There is a breathtaking scene looking out from a restaurant that is shown twice.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Loler13grNov 3, 2014
A really entertaining movie with great actors and an interesting plot twist. I really liked the fact that the end is not what you would expect from a movie but instead it shows a more "realistic" point of view. The actors are all amazingA really entertaining movie with great actors and an interesting plot twist. I really liked the fact that the end is not what you would expect from a movie but instead it shows a more "realistic" point of view. The actors are all amazing especially RDJ and Duvall. The soundtrack fits the movie perfectly and is really moving. You should definitely check it out. 7/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BshopOct 21, 2014
A very family-centered film, decent film although it depends on who you ask.
RDJ is great in this role, a different type of character than he normally plays. Robert Duvall great as well. Smaller roles for others, mostly forgettable. Story is
A very family-centered film, decent film although it depends on who you ask.
RDJ is great in this role, a different type of character than he normally plays. Robert Duvall great as well. Smaller roles for others, mostly forgettable. Story is cliche and predictable, except for final scene.
In summary, worth a rent if you want a good simple movie without explosions. Wait for it on Redbox or Netflix.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ToffenuffJan 6, 2015
I really liked this movie. Sure, it has its flaws but the performances by the amazing cast are too good. Not to mention the fact that the film resonated with me very strongly because of how much I could relate to a big chunk of what was goingI really liked this movie. Sure, it has its flaws but the performances by the amazing cast are too good. Not to mention the fact that the film resonated with me very strongly because of how much I could relate to a big chunk of what was going on as well as the characters themselves. Plus it's nice to see RDJ play someone else other than Tony Stark again, though the character he portrays does admittedly have shades of Stark in him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
foxgroveOct 19, 2014
Encumbered by a trailer that doesn't do it justice and critics reviews that keep using the term 'mawkish' as if it's going out of fashion, 'The Judge' turns out to be a much better film than expected. Anchored by two powerful performances ItsEncumbered by a trailer that doesn't do it justice and critics reviews that keep using the term 'mawkish' as if it's going out of fashion, 'The Judge' turns out to be a much better film than expected. Anchored by two powerful performances Its hefty running time just flies by. I concede that at times it seems in danger of toppling into paint by number TV movie of the week territory, but to its credit this doesn't actually happen. The two Roberts, Downey jnr and Duval, play off against each other perfectly, even if for me Downey Jnr has the edge. He never puts a facial expression wrong and I believed his character totally.
A bathroom scene between the pair starts off shockingly but, with perfectly judged precision, becomes lighter as the scene progresses. The delicacy of the playing here makes these moments a highlight.
The supporting cast don't really have a lot to do but are all more than adequate and the screenplay to its credit does offer up a fair share of surprising plot twists.
On the negative side the score single handedly threatens to derail the whole thing as it is far too syrupy. Indeed, this is where the mush is coming from, not the story or the actors. Also, the coda in the boat comes on like 'On Golden Pond'. All that's missing is Katharine Hepburn and the loons!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
KeeOneOct 22, 2014
This review contains spoilers. Beat my expectation. Looking at the poster itself seemed like a boring movie but the surprisingly weak plot-twist (SPOILER) like the girl he made out is his daughter, turns out to be his niece and later on his own daughter having similarities to her was interesting and funny. They approached the audience well, its a movie about a man who had father issues and addressed it well. You cant be coming into this movie thinking its going to be Iron Man 3 and having to be a movie about attorneys, they had to make it somewhat interesting for the audience. Good movie to see with a friend or brother and sister! Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
arkcossJan 19, 2015
It is definitely the movie for the male part, because no one better can understand son and father relationship. Simply amazing with the right amount of humors and emotios.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysAug 22, 2015
The Judge is a powerful and emotional movie, way more than I expected. Duvall is brilliant, and the movie's themes of reputation and abandonment really come through in a couple crucial scenes. But don't let that deter you from seeing it:The Judge is a powerful and emotional movie, way more than I expected. Duvall is brilliant, and the movie's themes of reputation and abandonment really come through in a couple crucial scenes. But don't let that deter you from seeing it: those crucial scenes are what make the whole movie worth watching. Other than that, all that's left are the usual separated couple with a young daughter, cocky lawyer, honest and tough father, family drama, and rekindling with an old flame. The "small town" setting is the right choice for this movie, and it does its best to incorporate everything else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sammurphy66Oct 10, 2014
Incredibly clichéd and deliberating the pulling of heartstrings a little too frequently, The Judge is far from fantastic – but its consistently charming tone and some powerful performances overshadows these detrimental elements.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
AxgrinderFeb 9, 2015
Oscar season is here and I saw this movie because Robert Duvall is nominated for best supporting actor. Duvall, now 84, has appeared in dozens of movies, but no blockbuster hits since the 1970’s - 1980’s. Robert Downey Jr. has the leadOscar season is here and I saw this movie because Robert Duvall is nominated for best supporting actor. Duvall, now 84, has appeared in dozens of movies, but no blockbuster hits since the 1970’s - 1980’s. Robert Downey Jr. has the lead role. I find that both actors can be either really interesting or really tedious. As a result I wasn’t expecting too much, and was pleasantly surprised to find that the movie is much more watchable than the reviews would indicate. Duval plays an aging small town judge with high standards and an impeccable record, who may have committed a murder. Robert Downey Jr. plays the prodigal son, who left town many years ago with a chip on his shoulder and has become a talented and cynical lawyer who defends wealthy sleaze balls. The story is more about the redemption of their relationship and finding their humanity for each other, than it is a courtroom drama. (It’s certainly less dramatic than something like, say “The Client.”) It a feel good movie, and a worthy rental, but Given Edward Norton’s performance in Birdman, I think it’s doubtful that Duvall will win. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
HoonsagoOct 12, 2014
Very touching, yet uncomfortable at the same time, because I could simply relate to the movie so much. The movie may have appropriated some cliches, but the overall theme of the movie was just enticing. Also, the actors have shown just anVery touching, yet uncomfortable at the same time, because I could simply relate to the movie so much. The movie may have appropriated some cliches, but the overall theme of the movie was just enticing. Also, the actors have shown just an amazing acting in the movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ydnar4Oct 15, 2014
The Judge is a departure from Robert Downey Jr as he has been potraying Iron Man for the past several years and hasn't done much of anything else that was significant. This movie displays a great performance from him and it seems to me as ifThe Judge is a departure from Robert Downey Jr as he has been potraying Iron Man for the past several years and hasn't done much of anything else that was significant. This movie displays a great performance from him and it seems to me as if he is almost playing Iron Man again at the first of the movie but it morphs into so much more than that before. Robert Duvall was great in The Judge as well. This movie really triggered my emotions and I think it could very well be the best movie I've seen this year and its certainly worth watching. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
WhereisHankinsOct 11, 2014
I had no intention of seeing this movie and only went because my wife wanted to go. I went to the 10:40 showing and was expecting pass out at some point since I had been up since 6am that morning.

The movie actually turned out being really
I had no intention of seeing this movie and only went because my wife wanted to go. I went to the 10:40 showing and was expecting pass out at some point since I had been up since 6am that morning.

The movie actually turned out being really good. It wasn't perfect, but it had the perfect mix of comedy and drama with a star studded cast.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
RipperskiteJan 6, 2015
Juega mucho con los sentimientos y está llena de pequeños detalles que la hacen una buena película. Puede que en algún momento se haga pesada/larga, pero no aburre.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ScottshakNov 12, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Robert Duvall‬ is outstanding and so is Robert Downey Jr.

Little outbursts and disagreements of the duo have been executed brilliantly and framed exceptionally well by ‪Dobkin‬. The bit where Duvall rushes up in high squall carrying a temper whilst Downey follows for war is one of the most dramatic scenes that shows how puny nature is against human commotion! Humour is strewn in the movie and when you have Downey with the bat, it always makes home runs.

Drenched with drama the movie has an apt theme that runs around the convicted irony - the Judge who isn't willing to let his guard down and who hates his middle son Downey for so many irreparable reasons that he can't just give in. Whilst Downey, the forlorn child who never returned to his parents owing to the long born and bred abomination he burnt in, tries to save him from the clouded murder of a foul-mouthed obnoxious hill-billy.

The score is apt and the screenplay is intense. Loved how Dobkin carried it all. The amount of focus he put in, in every frame is worth commending. A must watch for Downey's wit lovers and also for dramaholics.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
monica424Oct 10, 2014
Really handsome actors and exciting plot. I like the movie and I hope to watch it by my Aurora blu-ray player. I always like this kind of movie which makes me excited to continue watching it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
coughlinpamOct 21, 2014
Read the book years ago. Loved the performances in this movie. Robert Downey Jr. and Robert Duvall play the parts to a T. Billy Bob Thornton didn't do a bad job - better than I would expect for the role he was playing. Highly recommend it!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DirectorTomOct 23, 2014
Fabulous movie! Excellent cast! Great direction. The reality of the story is gripping, often painful, and allows for brilliant interaction between Robert Downey, Jr and Robert Duvall. Although Vera Farmiga's screen time is minimal, she makesFabulous movie! Excellent cast! Great direction. The reality of the story is gripping, often painful, and allows for brilliant interaction between Robert Downey, Jr and Robert Duvall. Although Vera Farmiga's screen time is minimal, she makes the most of it and shines. Jeremy Strong is worthy of a nomination for his spot on portrayal of his mentally flawed character. All in all a great movie experience. This is a film to add to one's collection of classic drama. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
tbwil1Oct 25, 2014
Very gripping and deep in the sense of father/son interaction. The whole cast was great, Duvall and Downey especially. Kudos, this was the best movie I have seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mhardtOct 26, 2014
I realized that some newspapers such as The New York Times were very critical of this film, but I believe that this film is the best acting Robert Duvall has done since "Apocalypse Now." His wild tough as nails performance may well be anI realized that some newspapers such as The New York Times were very critical of this film, but I believe that this film is the best acting Robert Duvall has done since "Apocalypse Now." His wild tough as nails performance may well be an Oscar contender. Robert Downey Jr. is the big city lawyer/prodigal son who returns home. His tough, often sarcastic and arrogant legal arguments are compelling, yet he has a softer, sentimental side. The local color of rural Indiana adds so much beauty and small town feel to this drama, as does the Bon Iver song, "Holocene," which is used in the beginning and end of the film. The resolution of the family feud is not what one would expect, yet the end is poignant and heartfelt, yielding a very American story that is brawling, yet full of sentiment and heartfelt family stories we can all identify. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
itsrobert13Nov 12, 2014
I decided to pass this movie in the time of rating because the perfomance of Robert Downey Jr. is always amazing, and gets to save the picture. But the movie contains a lot of failures at the time of look like a film which opts for the Oscar.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
danippMar 13, 2015
Touching story about a father and a son who can't be near each other without fighting but fate bring them together. Their story is quite well developed on screen and Duvall and Downer Jr give amazing performances. Thorton also appears as aTouching story about a father and a son who can't be near each other without fighting but fate bring them together. Their story is quite well developed on screen and Duvall and Downer Jr give amazing performances. Thorton also appears as a potential antagonist but he proves to be a very kind man in the end and it fit well on the script. The main problems in The Judge are the unnecessary roles of Farmiga and Meester and their weird story with Hank Palmer's family, which doesn't end clear, and the ending. It was very weak comparing to the rest of the story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DokaluJan 24, 2015
Watching Robert Downey Jr. in a not Ironman rol is quite good, watching him exploit all his acting abbilities as portrayed as they are in this movie. He is an incredible actor, as also is Robert Duvall, and both of them show that in the film.Watching Robert Downey Jr. in a not Ironman rol is quite good, watching him exploit all his acting abbilities as portrayed as they are in this movie. He is an incredible actor, as also is Robert Duvall, and both of them show that in the film. The plot is quite good, an attorney goes back to his home town for his mother's funeral just to find out that his father is accused of murder, and now he shall represent him at the court. It's a very emotive family drama, being also mixed with some nice court scenes. Though, the movie can get boring at some parts, and some another ones you are going to feel that they are not necessary for the plot, and there are also going to be some incredible coincidences, but the film itself is entertaining.
Real score: 6.7
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
notlawMar 21, 2015
A great movie. Dont listen to the rubbish some critics say about this movie, its good, if you enjoy a real story with excellent acting and characters that feel like real people then you will enjoy this. If you need guns going off andA great movie. Dont listen to the rubbish some critics say about this movie, its good, if you enjoy a real story with excellent acting and characters that feel like real people then you will enjoy this. If you need guns going off and explosions every two minutes then probably not for you. the only thing i could fault it for is that its abit predictable in parts but the stellar acting makes up for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tony1984Feb 11, 2017
Robert Downey Jr basically does Iron Man the verbal vomiting lawyer and Duvall is the stereotypical ethical patriarch with a superiority complex. Cliched from beginning to end and criminally under-using top class supporting actors such asRobert Downey Jr basically does Iron Man the verbal vomiting lawyer and Duvall is the stereotypical ethical patriarch with a superiority complex. Cliched from beginning to end and criminally under-using top class supporting actors such as Vincent D'Onofrio, Billy Bob Thornton and Vera Farmiga. But despite that it feels good. The prodigal returns to small town America where family values are what matters just hits the right note.. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LoveeLandMay 7, 2016
I will say I personally loved the movie. But that is largely in part because I love movies about law. As a movie it has great acting, and a great story. However it never really surprises you with anything, as the case goes along with no realI will say I personally loved the movie. But that is largely in part because I love movies about law. As a movie it has great acting, and a great story. However it never really surprises you with anything, as the case goes along with no real large twists or turns and the verdict is what everyone thought it would be. It is very emotional and in my opinion worth the watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
greatjumel08Aug 6, 2016
The Judge is a dramatic film about a Father - Son relationship which both in the legal practice. Many may say, it's all about justice system in the society or about law, how to rule or whatever. But the way I look at it, It's how a son dealsThe Judge is a dramatic film about a Father - Son relationship which both in the legal practice. Many may say, it's all about justice system in the society or about law, how to rule or whatever. But the way I look at it, It's how a son deals with his arrogant and hard hearted father. The pride of his father worsen it. This further illustrates how he forgives his father and how hard it is. But at the end, the love of his father reveals when the pride finally vanished and admitted that his son is the best lawyer he met in the court. They've lost the case, he's father was sentenced. But through this, he forgave his father. Forgiveness. It really melts my heart. If you think your father doesn't love you or proud of you, or If your son will never go back at you - will never see you or will never defend you in any ways.. I recommend this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HaynesmilnerAug 22, 2016
We loved this movie ! The usual awesome performance by RDJ. Masterful performance by Robert Duval, Oscar worthy. I especially liked the acting by Jeremy Strange
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KelvinSelimorMay 24, 2019
The Judge. One of the best dramas! Throughout the viewing film touched to the soul. Game Robert Downey Jr. in this picture is the best of all the pictures that I have seen before.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bdjudeMar 18, 2018
Duvall keep us in a melancholic state but, he never let us getting out of the track. Suffice to rate this as a no-nonsense legal thriller out of many alike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews