Focus Features | Release Date: July 9, 2010
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 316 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
234
Mixed:
50
Negative:
32
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
The_orudJan 8, 2011
This was a boring moving. It had two great kids caught in a movie where humor is defined as anger and predictable punch lines. I feel like I have seen this before and so before it was too late I turned it off. Much better!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
IswearimsmartAug 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Kids Are All Right should be a good film, and has some tender, honest moments. Unfortunately, the film is undone by its own premise. We have a typical, dysfunctional family with problems the general public can relate to... except the family has two moms! How progressive! Except it isn't, and that's sort of the point. What really screws the film up is Mark Ruffalo's character Paul. He isn't a bad or uninteresting character, but the effects he has on the plot is baffling, aggravating and it completely undoes the main purpose of the film. I will say spoiler alert, but since it is in the trailer it really isn't, but Julianne Moore's character (Jules) has an affair with Paul. Again, this isn't inherently a bad plot point, but it is handled very poorly. When a gay person has sex with someone of the opposite sex, it is confusing and brings up all these questions of sexuality... but the movie doesn't address them, it barely even scratches the surfaces. It was annoying to see this strong lesbian woman have an affair with a man for no apparent reason. Paul serves absolutely no purpose in this movie. He just detracts from the central family. The film would have been better off focusing more on the "dysfunctional family" than introducing this character. This combination of Paul and the affair he has with Jules causes the film to fall flat on its intriguing performances. All the actors do give solid performances, including the kids. Too bad the actors are wasted here. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AJackson729Feb 19, 2011
The first thing I have to point out about this film is how incredible the acting is. Bening in particular stands out, and should be a lock for an Oscar nomination. While the acting in this film is great, and most of the film is enjoyable, IThe first thing I have to point out about this film is how incredible the acting is. Bening in particular stands out, and should be a lock for an Oscar nomination. While the acting in this film is great, and most of the film is enjoyable, I was seriously bothered by the film's ending. The film's ending does not seem believable with the rest of the film, and makes everything that we have seen seem irrelevant. I wasn't expecting a Hollywood ending, but I feel that Mark Ruffalo's character should have been dealt with in a much different manner. Regardless, the acting alone is reason enough to view this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
kabloomSep 3, 2010
Here's a film that is brilliant in examining the trees but misses the boat completely when it comes to the forest. The entire cast is excellent with Annette Benning giving a brilliant performance. There's lots to love in the little momentsHere's a film that is brilliant in examining the trees but misses the boat completely when it comes to the forest. The entire cast is excellent with Annette Benning giving a brilliant performance. There's lots to love in the little moments but the ending is completely ridiculous and unfair to one of the major characters. That ending lost the movie most of its points. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ScraperAug 28, 2018
An interesting slice of life about growing pains in an alternative family. Gave it a low score because I thought the two main characters had such grating personalities. Emotional deluges around every corner. Just wasn't for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sailoraideJan 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is a saying in sports: "that's why they play the game." The same could be said for film because every viewer's opinion is going to be different. That is what makes discussion about movies so engaging. Occasionally, I find myself going against the grain of the majority, and this film is one such example. Thought it has received rave reviews from critics and done well at the awards ceremonies, I was left feeling strangely unsatisfied.

The Kids Are All Right centers around a lesbian couple and their two children, 18 year-old Joni and 15-year old Laser (have you ever met anyone named Laser?). Both children are the product of the same sperm donor whose donation impregnated each of the Moms once. Now that Joni has turned 18, she can legally contact the sperm donor and Laser pushes her into doing so. The film really comes off as a coming-of-age tale. Everyone seems to be growing up and the introduction of Mark Ruffalo's character into the family acts as a sort of catalyst for all kinds of issues to surface. There are some touching moments as the kids get to know their biological "Dad" and develop a relationship with him. Overall, there is more drama than comedy, and I think I would have liked to see a better balance of the two.

The acting is well done. Mark Ruffalo, in particular, is excellent and portrays his character exactly as I would expect a real life sperm donor to act. A little bit surprised, nervous, confused, but curious, and ultimately swept away by the fact that he has helped create these two amazing children (or at least his bodily fluids have). Both the lesbian Moms (Annette Benning and Julianne Moore) are believable in their roles, as well. The story moves at a slower pace than I would have liked, gaining steam as it moves along. Directing is nothing special, in my opinion. I would have liked to see less focus on the lesbian Moms and more on the biological father's relationship with the kids, but I'm mostly splitting hairs.

The problem I have with The Kids Are All Right is that it seems to consider certain family problems as just normal, run of the mill issues. Things like drug use and infidelity are dealt with here, as is teenage sexuality. There were a few sex scenes, most of which I felt were pretty unnecessary and added nothing to the plot. And overall I just wasn't blown away. I found it to be a slightly above average drama with some pretty good acting and an uninspired story.

But as I mentioned in the beginning of this review, my thoughts differ from the vast majority of "experts" and in sports terminology "that's why they play the game." So give it a shot and see what you think. Just don't set your expectations as highly as I did and maybe you'll enjoy it more.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrC3030Feb 2, 2011
Overall this was a good film. I know that some people are uncomfortable watching a film dominated by a homosexual theme, but for the sake of the Oscars I tried to be as noon biased as I could. Bottom line this wasn't a great movie but itOverall this was a good film. I know that some people are uncomfortable watching a film dominated by a homosexual theme, but for the sake of the Oscars I tried to be as noon biased as I could. Bottom line this wasn't a great movie but it wasn't a bad one either.

Acting: Good
Storyline: Good
Characters: Good
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JasonGApr 10, 2011
The Kids Are All Right tries hard to be a genuine, quality, art-house type film and almost makes it. It ticks boxes in all categories but the storyline, which makes a point to seem as oddly normal as possible. For the majority, it just seemsThe Kids Are All Right tries hard to be a genuine, quality, art-house type film and almost makes it. It ticks boxes in all categories but the storyline, which makes a point to seem as oddly normal as possible. For the majority, it just seems like one long ride that doesn't really lead anywhere. Character development is great but when there is only four or five characters to develop, it can't really be called an achievement. Ruffalo, as ever, mumbles. The children impress but don't dazzle. The highlight is Bening singing Joni Mitchell at the dinner table, the emotion spilling out from all that is happening around her. Her acting alone lifts the film from good to impressive Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ShahmeerMay 7, 2011
The Kids Are All Right has a fairly simple plot. A lesbian couple have 2 children. The two children meet there sperm donor. Easy, right? Yup, it is. The Kids Are All Right is one of the finest dramedies that I have ever seen. The acting formThe Kids Are All Right has a fairly simple plot. A lesbian couple have 2 children. The two children meet there sperm donor. Easy, right? Yup, it is. The Kids Are All Right is one of the finest dramedies that I have ever seen. The acting form the cast is spectacular, riveting, and memorable. The way the film makes one character seem like the bad guy or good guy in the film, suddenly changing them to good guys or bad guys, is fascinating. The supporing actors in this films were the very best. Nothing can beat the laughs they brought ot the film or the drama they did as well. The sublte humor was amazing, for it is what I liked the most in the film. The obvious humor was also hillarious, but not as good as the subtle. They also made very crude sexual jokes most of the time, which I personally enjoyed the least. But on the comedy side of the film, it deserves excellent marks. Next, on the drama side, this film is just full of it. Tense, exciting, relationships, all that a drama needs. At one point, a lesbian couple is cheating on her wife, and when you notice its kinda strange that a lesbian is cheating on her wife with a MAN, you might think its comedy. But not at all. It's very true drama if it happened in real life, because it doesnt happen very often. The fast paced drama, although there wasn't much, was good. When the characters are in arguments, you notice the tension in the room, and you cant help but root for one character oover another. Lisa Cholodenko knows how to add drama factor, to the lauch factor. I aslo have to give alot of credit to the amazing acting. Annete Benning, Julianne Moore, Mia Wasikowski, Josh Hutcherson, and Mark Ruffalo all starred in this film. And they made the film a star. The ensemble cast are all perfect with each other. The casting director, who ever he/she might be, should be given an Oscar. They all seemed to love each other like family in real life, just the same way they did in the film. You could literally feel passion coming out of the screen from each individual, as if you were part of the family, too. The acting nominations for Annete Benning and Mark Ruffalo were truly deserved. In the beggining, you thought Benning's character was going to be the villian in the story, and you also thoguth that Mark's character would be the good guy. But as the story continued on, you realized everything was not as it seemed. I personally thought Mark Ruffalo was the best actor out of all of them. He brougth so much joy and despair to every one of the characters, and you think about how he did it, but you really cant figure it out. I had mixed feelings about his character in the end, unlike any of the other characters. As you watch the film, you really have sympathy toward his character more than anyone else, and that's what made him stand out the most. So, the acting was great. But then comes the negatives. Lets narrow it down to four. (1) The crude sexual jokes. I shouldnt have expected less from a rated R film, but if you make a dramedy and most of the laughs come from sex jokes, then I would call it more of a perv dilm than anything else (but gladly most of the laughs weren't perverted).(2) The score. It was so boring and dull and was repeated so many times. Only a few times did the score fit a scene. I hope to never listen to it again. (3) Not a film to see again. Maybe one day if their were 50 films at Blockbuster, and this one was the best, then I would watch it again, otherwise the film was memorable, but I wouln't really watch it again any time soon. (4) Last but not least, the slow moving pace. At times (as I've said previouslly), the fim was fast, but sometimes it REALLY lagged. You'd see there expressions and be so bored that you might turn off the film, but then a sudden burst of comedy or dram saves you, and your back in. And that's really all the negatives in the film. Other than that, the film was excellent. The film also had a recurring message. No matter how hard you try, you can never lose family, and they will never lose you. Check back at my page for a new review every week. Thanks and enjoy the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Mar 27, 2012
The Kid's are alright wasn't really alright. Another predictable film with parts here and there that were good and sort of funny. Why was it up for best picture? That question boggles my mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Feb 1, 2013
Even with its unique storyline, it is still rather bland. However, the movie manages to pull off great performances by Annette and Julianne. The script for the most part is humorous and sentimental.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
I liked the film. The performances are great (Annette Bening especially) and the pacing was good, but I think this film is very overrated. This was not the cutting-edge family drama I was expecting. Bening completely deserved her OscarI liked the film. The performances are great (Annette Bening especially) and the pacing was good, but I think this film is very overrated. This was not the cutting-edge family drama I was expecting. Bening completely deserved her Oscar nomination, but that should have been the film's only nomination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MrScallopsJun 19, 2019
This stripped down drama features a mundane, down-to-earth story and a wholly brilliant cast. The relatable plot is positive in spirit, but it never dares to leave the shallow waters. The slow beginning takes an interesting turn, but itThis stripped down drama features a mundane, down-to-earth story and a wholly brilliant cast. The relatable plot is positive in spirit, but it never dares to leave the shallow waters. The slow beginning takes an interesting turn, but it suffers from the lack of true movie magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews