Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 16, 2006
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 310 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
243
Mixed:
25
Negative:
42
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
R.LopezAug 11, 2009
We see romance flicks so often today that sometimes we don't bother to look for the underlining layers that define them, bad romances just use cheap sex scenes and sexual dialogue to past the time so that you won't be lost in the We see romance flicks so often today that sometimes we don't bother to look for the underlining layers that define them, bad romances just use cheap sex scenes and sexual dialogue to past the time so that you won't be lost in the horrible script and bad acting. Good romances on the other hand have unshakable romantic stories that touch the heart and uplift he soul, they have acting that almost renders you speechless and an unimaginably great script and story that you just love. "The Lake House" has all the qualities of a great romantic drama and so much more. This supernatural love story is something of a stand alone in the modern romance genre it follows protocol down to almost every layer of Romance. But somewhere along the line it takes a really long detour down the path of unique and mind blowing. This film is nothing short of brilliant and remarkable I haven't enjoyed a good Romantic drama since "Titanic" and "Rome + Juliet", this film was extremely entertaining, very sweet and movingly touching to the point that your almost in tears. This movie has the makings of greatness but it's mired down by the people calling it clique, predictable, unoriginal and unmoving. But I'm sorry this film doesn't have cliques, it's unpredictable, it's very original, and it's extremely moving. It resonates with the heart and with the soul on a whole new level, it makes you feel great and gives you that sense of love and enjoyment that you've been searching for in a romantic drama. It's so beautiful and so touching that you just can't ignore the romantic freshness that resonates from this film as you watch the story unfold right in front of you, It's story and plot are so warm and gentle and I loved every single minute of it. And if your forgiving and open your mind and look past everything you see today and look at this film with fresh eyes and a born again sense of love and happiness, than I can promise you this film will conquer. All in all this film delivers a very romantic, very touching and very unique love story that just happens to transcend time itself. The Lake House delivers. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TerryM.Jun 24, 2006
Great Love story; must see it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CraigkOct 12, 2006
Great movie, my wife is going to love it, great themes, nice twist and good music. It's a remake from a Korean film that was also well done. Great casting too. I was surprised how far Keanu Reeves has come with his acting. I recommend Great movie, my wife is going to love it, great themes, nice twist and good music. It's a remake from a Korean film that was also well done. Great casting too. I was surprised how far Keanu Reeves has come with his acting. I recommend it, although I'm an action/comedy guy. Also, for those who like to learn something or take away something from movies, this one had me reflecting a lot on the value of live and love. Maybe it will do the same for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
toronto905Sep 28, 2015
What I really like about this film is that it reunites Keanu and Sandra for the first time since they starred in Speed. After 12 years, they're BACK! And their romantic chemistry is still there. This time, it's drama and romance whichWhat I really like about this film is that it reunites Keanu and Sandra for the first time since they starred in Speed. After 12 years, they're BACK! And their romantic chemistry is still there. This time, it's drama and romance which powerfully strengthens their chemistry and feelings. Ever since they did not reunite since Speed 2: Cruise Control, I thought they would never reunite. Also, the plot may seem a bit too convoluted for scientists because there's a science-fiction wrinkle time difference of two years. What you don't realize is that it's not time travel. If you actually believe in the magic of this story, this romance fantasy will come to life! It's about realizing that the best moment of your life (meeting or getting to know a friend, not just in person but by letter) can happen unexpectedly. It's truly heartwarming and powerfully. Without Sandy and Keanu reunited, this film would flop. And this adorable, romantic couple is the only thing that makes this film shine. It's a love story about two friends who live two years apart and "magically" reunite. It shows that they truly have feelings for each other and care for each other no matter what. This film is a must watch for the Keandra fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
tarcottiMar 20, 2012
Why are there so many idiots out there. You didn't like the movie, I get it....that is fine. But why are you saying its hard to follow/confusing?? For anyone looking for a short review, here it is. This isn't the best romantic film out there.Why are there so many idiots out there. You didn't like the movie, I get it....that is fine. But why are you saying its hard to follow/confusing?? For anyone looking for a short review, here it is. This isn't the best romantic film out there. But it is a little different than normal. Two lives unable to truly connect because they are separated by time. I wish they did things differently, but its not a film and is at least a 6/10. I'll do 7/10 because it is memorable, sweet, and you are rooting for the characters. Its drawn out on purpose...its called suspense people. If you want the couple to get together in the first 30 minutes what would be the point to the rest? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RipandreadOct 29, 2015
Okay the plot was, shall we say “quirky” but I still liked this movie so very much.
Bullock and Reeves make for a perfect movie match to the point that if one didn’t know they would think the couple were either dating or married in real life.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
BarbaraK.Jun 17, 2006
Take the two most boring people in the world. Now imagine that you're an observer to a romance between them. You observe every small talk word, every move, etc. That's pretty much what the movie is. Any reasonably intelligent Take the two most boring people in the world. Now imagine that you're an observer to a romance between them. You observe every small talk word, every move, etc. That's pretty much what the movie is. Any reasonably intelligent person can figure the movie plot out in the first few minutes of the film. Most of the film is just filler that serves to stretch a five minute story out to an hour and a half. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Jun 27, 2006
What a disapointment. The slow and predictable development of this story was painful. What a waste of 2 great names.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JasonS.Jun 29, 2006
This is possibly the worst movie ever made. Everyone involved should be taken outside and beaten with sticks :-) The people behind this steaming pile of poo have obviously never heard of causality.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BGJul 14, 2006
That anyone watched this movie and enjoyed it is beyond me. Most definitely the worst film that I have ever seen in my ENTIRE LIFE. And I usually like Sandra Bullock but she didn't have much to work with...awful dry script, a mailbox, That anyone watched this movie and enjoyed it is beyond me. Most definitely the worst film that I have ever seen in my ENTIRE LIFE. And I usually like Sandra Bullock but she didn't have much to work with...awful dry script, a mailbox, Keanu Reeves who hasn't changed facial expression since the Matrix, and a plotline that will make you either vomit or fall asleep. There literately is a line in the movie that goes as follows: Did you have clown for breakfast? Enough said. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BobJul 25, 2006
this is probably the worst movie i have ever seen. i dont know what the world is comming to when movies like this are produced.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TonyB.Dec 10, 2006
The dog is a female whose name is Jack...talk about confusion. Unfortunately, most of The Lake House doesn't make any more sense than this misnaming of a canine. I like films that play with time as long as they also play by the rules. The dog is a female whose name is Jack...talk about confusion. Unfortunately, most of The Lake House doesn't make any more sense than this misnaming of a canine. I like films that play with time as long as they also play by the rules. This one doesn't, and so comes to a conclusion that makes no sense and is quite dishonest. Had it ended several minutes earlier, it would have had some semblance of truth and believability. Sandra Bullock, Keanu Reeves and Christopher Plummer deserve much better than what they were saddled with here. Incidentally, "The Magic Mailbox" should have been considered as a title. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
The concept is here. It's actually quite clever in parts. But there is something about Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves that didn't seem to click for me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kittyJul 6, 2008
This was a very entertaining movie. and even if it hadn't been I would love Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves anywhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergioI.Dec 3, 2008
My girlfriend asked me to watch this movie and i did not. Then she got pissed so i watched it. This movie is great.! Everyone should watch this movie. Everyone! Time travel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayV.Jun 15, 2006
I actually thought The Lake House was a strong movie over-all. I'm surprised by how low the critics scored the movie. Yes, it may have seemed lost & confused at some points, especially in the first part. But, for me, it was all part of I actually thought The Lake House was a strong movie over-all. I'm surprised by how low the critics scored the movie. Yes, it may have seemed lost & confused at some points, especially in the first part. But, for me, it was all part of the whole scheme of things. All loose ends, i think, were successfully tied up in the end. In addition, Keanu and Sandra were both very good. My only beef is with the visual treatment. I think it could have been made better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerrenceN.Jun 16, 2006
i laughed, i cried, but mostly i recognized the attitude of the restaurant hostess. does she work at any other restaurants in town?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EddieM.Jun 16, 2006
boring, really boring--with phone it in acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrellF.Jun 16, 2006
Both my wife and I saw the movie this afternoon and loved it. For story condensation they did have them appear to be talking to each other across two years, but use your imagination. Don't you suppose they got the letters in the mail Both my wife and I saw the movie this afternoon and loved it. For story condensation they did have them appear to be talking to each other across two years, but use your imagination. Don't you suppose they got the letters in the mail box and used that "trick" to keep from showing multiple in and out of the letterbox? Go along with the story. It's romantic, mixed with a little sci-fi, and one hell of a lot better than most flics out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JudyT.Jun 16, 2006
This is the first movie this year that I will definitely see again. This is a beautiful romaance with great scenery and good dialog. I was pleasantly surprised that I loved it so much. Keanu and Sandra were good. I too, laughed and cried, This is the first movie this year that I will definitely see again. This is a beautiful romaance with great scenery and good dialog. I was pleasantly surprised that I loved it so much. Keanu and Sandra were good. I too, laughed and cried, but what surprised me the most was that the audience clapped at the end which is rare these days. Forget the cynical critics and see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HerryB.Jun 17, 2006
This is quite a disappointing remake--- much of the essence and charm of the original Korean movie ("Il Mare") is lost!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KellyL.Jun 17, 2006
If you never get chane to see the Orignal Korean Film , this is a very good chance to know this beautiful story. The story is wonderful even it is a little bit different than the orignal one. Perfect for your first date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmmeS.Jun 17, 2006
Good chick flick. Nice to see these two still have their (this time sweet) chemistry even when life doesn't involve a careening bus and a madman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeeF.Jun 18, 2006
My wife and I loved it! Sure there are some areas of the movie we couldn't figure out, but it's a time travel type movie! It's all in the imagination anyway! Just go and enjoy and don't try to figure out the holes in the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Dr.StrangeloveJun 18, 2006
I loved the stars, loved the premise and then settled into my seat in a packed theater. I was waiting for the fireworks to arrive. Midway through I foolishly held out hope for this boring tedious drawn out disaster of a movie. When it I loved the stars, loved the premise and then settled into my seat in a packed theater. I was waiting for the fireworks to arrive. Midway through I foolishly held out hope for this boring tedious drawn out disaster of a movie. When it finally ended an hour and a half later I could not believe how truly awful it was. Even the most hopeless romantic if they elect to tell you the truth, will have to say it was excruciating boring. Avoid at all costs. Sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BillyS.Jun 18, 2006
You gotta love Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves, God Bless'em. They are two great big bankable movie "Stars" that can get a great big Timeless romantic piece of dribble like this made!! Maybe they could re-team again in a movie set in a You gotta love Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves, God Bless'em. They are two great big bankable movie "Stars" that can get a great big Timeless romantic piece of dribble like this made!! Maybe they could re-team again in a movie set in a time far away in the future where both of them have finally learned to ACT! In the meantime, we have to settle for watching them both standing nervously in front of a mailbox, waiting for it to raise its little red flag with a letter that neither of them read: "This is crap. Don't make this movie. Meet me on a bus and we'll discuss it." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RedL.Jun 18, 2006
The couple has delightful chemistry, and if you can suspend a bit of your disbelief (and apparently cynicism...) it's a lovely little comedy where you do root for them to get together, and are given an old-fashioned happy ending. Not a The couple has delightful chemistry, and if you can suspend a bit of your disbelief (and apparently cynicism...) it's a lovely little comedy where you do root for them to get together, and are given an old-fashioned happy ending. Not a bad way to spend a summer afternoon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahI.Jun 19, 2006
Forget all critics. This movie is so great, so wunderful. best movie 2006 so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RobB.Jun 19, 2006
The combined IQ of the stars of this movie is equivalent to my rating. And I actually like Reeves. Can't say the same about Bullock. How has she managed such a long career?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FantasyJun 19, 2006
The one is for the star power of the movie. As for the script, directing and acting, it is so lame and totally boring. I love romantic movies as next as the next person. For this movie you need to check your brains at the door or have a The one is for the star power of the movie. As for the script, directing and acting, it is so lame and totally boring. I love romantic movies as next as the next person. For this movie you need to check your brains at the door or have a lobotomy. Are you people mad? Without a doubt this will be gone from the theaters in three weeks. Word of mouth will kill it. Avoid like the plague. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CatherineF.Jun 19, 2006
I think it's a little gem of a movie - I found it quite delightful. Surprisingly refreshing. There are so few of these films around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeemaJun 19, 2006
It started off slow, but picked up towards the middle. I really enjoyed this movie. Quite original. Reeves isn't the best actor for romance movies, but his intensity made the movie that much more enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrittanyJun 20, 2006
I think everyone has made this movie more complicated then it was meant to be. At the time yes, it is supposed to be a complicated relationship between two people, but you aren't supposed to be thinking so much. Everything is laid out I think everyone has made this movie more complicated then it was meant to be. At the time yes, it is supposed to be a complicated relationship between two people, but you aren't supposed to be thinking so much. Everything is laid out for you, its not a thriller movie its a romance.. the people are in love and they live in a different time. We aren't supposed to figure out why time has overlapped or why someone from the past can be in love with someone from the future merely because of letters. I think it is supposed to signify the typical love life, in a non-typical atmosphere. People can spend their lives lonely and when they meet someone the first thing they want to do is push them away, not purposely but because of the fact that life cannot be that wonderful, that they are not meant to witness romance first hand. Sandra and Keanu both have a calmness to them, in this movie. They both are easygoing about things yet heartbroken, so this movie tugs at your heart. If a movie cant do that then its not a chick flick or a Romance. There has to be some sort of pain felt for the characters. I liked this movie a lot despite the other peoples opinions. Maybe im not a good critic but i am human and this movie grabbed at my heart and showed me that love IS complicated, but somehow it will find a way. Also, that time does not change the feelings of the heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RalphieBoyJun 21, 2006
Simply attrocious. It takes forever to get there and has more holes than swiss cheese. When it finally comes to the mericful end you couldn't care less and feel lucky that the boredom is over. Absolutely no chemistry between these has Simply attrocious. It takes forever to get there and has more holes than swiss cheese. When it finally comes to the mericful end you couldn't care less and feel lucky that the boredom is over. Absolutely no chemistry between these has been stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LadyfingerJun 21, 2006
I almost gagged on how awful this was. As slow as molasses. A waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanJun 21, 2006
The Critics don't know a thing. This is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BienD.Jun 21, 2006
this is a very nice movie...the writer has a very creative mind too put all of this in fantacy with a twist of reality. This has a deeper meaning and the theme for it is "TRUE LOVE WAITS". i really love this movie...it strucks my heart. The this is a very nice movie...the writer has a very creative mind too put all of this in fantacy with a twist of reality. This has a deeper meaning and the theme for it is "TRUE LOVE WAITS". i really love this movie...it strucks my heart. The actors who plays the roles are also superb...there is really a chemistry between keanu and Sandra. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AliceJun 22, 2006
This is an insult to women. I love romantic films. This one is so slow it is like watching moss grow on a rock. When it finally ends it is so preposterous that you leave the theater disgusted. Hated it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcoP.Jun 22, 2006
Don`t hear to the critics... It`s a very cool film...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeremyJun 22, 2006
One of the longest most annoying movies of the year. Both stars are long past their prime and appear amateurish in delivering their lines at a snail's pace. Just a terrible production all the way around. Not worthy of your time or hard One of the longest most annoying movies of the year. Both stars are long past their prime and appear amateurish in delivering their lines at a snail's pace. Just a terrible production all the way around. Not worthy of your time or hard earned money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaniJun 22, 2006
This is a nice relaxing romance with a twist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LoveinCalgaryJun 22, 2006
Too many critics lack imagination and are way to cynical. Once you get pass paradox in the premise (time travel), this is a very enjoyable love story. I quite enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Jun 22, 2006
"The Lake House" is more chick-flick than sci-fi, which is to say this film feels like it was based on Nicholas Sparks' stab at speculative fiction. You'll be rolling your eyes at some of Keanu Reeves' purple-prosed "The Lake House" is more chick-flick than sci-fi, which is to say this film feels like it was based on Nicholas Sparks' stab at speculative fiction. You'll be rolling your eyes at some of Keanu Reeves' purple-prosed voiceovers. It's not him, it's what's coming out of his mouth. As for Bullock, this material isn't serious enough to bust out her post-"Crash" acting chops. She should've slummed as America's sweeheart one last time before she hangs those reliable dimples up. Her character isn't complex, just glum. And did anybody stop to consider that a mailbox isn't visually exciting? And what about the dog? Is he Kate's soulmate? "Fluke", anybody? That's one smart canine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AllenJun 23, 2006
This movie is a dog. And the dog and slow developing story near a mailbox is symbolic of just how boring this film truly is. Get to the point. Did these two ever hear of email, the Internet or Google?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GoffyJun 26, 2006
Oh my God this was awful. Two very likeable but bankable stars. But the truth is it's a movie for idiots or those who had a lobotomy. Nothing makes any sense. And despite being a hopeless romantic at heart it is so sloooooow developing. Oh my God this was awful. Two very likeable but bankable stars. But the truth is it's a movie for idiots or those who had a lobotomy. Nothing makes any sense. And despite being a hopeless romantic at heart it is so sloooooow developing. We know they will eventually get together in an hour and a half but once they do... Forgotten the minute you leave theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaitlinT.Jun 26, 2006
It took a while to get into but once it did it turned out to be a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
QueenL.Jun 27, 2006
There is no high point in this movie. It is as bland as you get...from beginning to end. I'm a chick flick fanatic; This movie is definately not a chick flick;; people stormed out of the theater in anger. others left half way through There is no high point in this movie. It is as bland as you get...from beginning to end. I'm a chick flick fanatic; This movie is definately not a chick flick;; people stormed out of the theater in anger. others left half way through it. It is extreeeemly boooring, a fairy tale with no interesting tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KurtB.Jun 28, 2006
One more snivle out of either actors ( and I use the term here losely) and I will toss...this movie is a poor remake of an excellent fim...a total miss.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DumboJun 29, 2006
A turkey cooking in the oven is the best way to describe this tedious boring flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WorstOfAllTimeJun 30, 2006
I love the two stars. As for the movie, there is no chemistry and is it ever so slow. Has more holes than swiss cheese and is forgotten as soon as you leave the theater. Terrible movie that even a hopeless romantic cannot appreciate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HenryM.Jun 30, 2006
Keanu and Sandra are a Hollywood pair that exhudes romance without even being romantic..this moviefits them well and the plot though sometimes ridiculous is somewhat extra-ordinaryly romantic...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkB.Jun 30, 2006
If you were one of the millions and millions of moviegoers who fell in love with both Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock in 1994's slam-bang Speed (the movie that made Sandy a star in the first place), and you weren't adequately If you were one of the millions and millions of moviegoers who fell in love with both Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock in 1994's slam-bang Speed (the movie that made Sandy a star in the first place), and you weren't adequately chastized for doing so by suffereing through the inept, Keanu-free Speed 2: Cruise Control 3 years later, this impossibly drippy, artificial, molasses-slow romantic reteaming will pretty much finish the job. Bullock and Reeves play star- and time-crossed potential lovers who share both the title dream home and a chess-playing dog (who, even in a film whose supporting cast boasts Christopher Plummer and Shohreh Agdashloo, is its liveliset performer by far). [***SPOILERS***] The catch is that, since he lived there in 2004 and she in the present, they can only communicate with one another by letters left in the house's magical mailbox, a gimmick that might have resulted in something remotely believable and affecting were the movie made in 1945, but it's ridiculously naive and unbelievable today, even by fantasy standards: he's an architect/ builder and she's a doctor, for the love of Pete! Have they never heard of cell phones, text messaging or e-mail?!? (Heck, I would've settled for a guest appearance by another Warner Bros. movie star...Harry Potter's postal owl Hedwig!) The fact that I was so quickly able to figure out early on WHY 2004 Guy and 2006 Gal were perpetually unable to get together and consummate their epistles in person (the tip-off for me was something that director Alejandro Agresti DIDN'T do in a key early scene) is no crime; the fact that these two don't write or speak English like any human being I've ever known is a major felony. (Even allowing that films that mostly consist of characters writing to one another are for obvious reasons difficult to pull off, and understandably aren't attempted very often doesn't make the task impossible; ever see the poignant 1987 Anne Bancroft/ Anthony Hopkins drama 84 Charing Cross Road?) Reeves is at his wooden worst; Bullock is acceptable but stuck with an impossibly glum role that totally and irresponsibly wastes her sparkling personality and luminous smile; I would have happily dashed off a $100. check to a charity of anyone's choice if once, just once, Bullock had broken into one of her trademarked Miss Congeniality giggle-snorts. (And anyway, why is it that an actress this attractive, who can grab almost any man she wants, keeps getting cast in lonely-wallflower roles such as While You Were Sleeping, The Net, Murder by Numbers and this?) I have a greater tolerance level in general for romantic dramas than most people of my gender; 2004's surprise summer smash The Notebook (which this obviously and desperately wants to be the 2006 equivalent of) wasn't one of my favorites, but compared to this, it's Casablanca. A genuinely lovely Paul McCartney soundtrack song to the contrary, The Lake House is exactly the kind of movie that if Everybody Loves Raymond's Debra Barone dragged hubby Ray off to, Ray would insist on three of HIS movie choices plus ten golf games and two bedroom adventures that he's a lot more interested in pursuing than she is as a tradeoff...and who can blame him? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DianneS.Jul 1, 2006
I love sappy movies! My husband guessed part of the ending in the beginning of the movie but it didn't take away from the ending =)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AgnesJul 2, 2006
Just awful. Two stars well pas the prime picking up a paycheck. The storyline is ridiculous and the acting even worse. REFUND.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CraigA.Jul 3, 2006
Not as good as the trailer makes out. Enjoyed looking at Sandra Bullock for ninety minutes though. Keanu begins his post-Matrix descent into Kevin Costner-ville.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CongoG.Jul 3, 2006
I was just dragged screaming to see this turkey. My date wanted to leave after a half hour. I pretended I was really into this stupidity and made her stick around for the entire snoozefest. Hey guys those of us who remained laughed last. I was just dragged screaming to see this turkey. My date wanted to leave after a half hour. I pretended I was really into this stupidity and made her stick around for the entire snoozefest. Hey guys those of us who remained laughed last. What a bomb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ElenaJul 6, 2006
Nodoze anyone? Is this how bad movies are these days? You have to be kidding to believe this junk.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeT.Jul 6, 2006
Movie was great until the end. They should have stopped it when she heard about his demise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FedUpJul 7, 2006
The worst of the worst now playing. If you want something that makes no sense and can put you to sleep to cure your insomnia then you came to the right movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChelseaW.Jul 7, 2006
I absolutely loved The Lake House. I think it deserves many awards, for someone to think this up and then put it on film with 2 amazing leads, is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmilyD.Jul 26, 2006
ok this movie was so sweet, & inspiring!...yes a little confusing, but it was excillent, maybe it was just a girl movie! i don't know but i loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LomaxH.Jul 27, 2006
Wow. Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock. I think that's all I have to write on this subject.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SarahP.Jul 29, 2006
I def. loved this movie even though i still am really really confused. it was so sweet and not like any other movie ive seen. it had a different story than most love movies. i guess it is just a girl thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SaraD.Aug 3, 2006
Definetely the worst movie I've ever seen! I saw it at the theatre, but halfway I just had to get out of there. It was predictable and unbelievable and the caracters weren't well developed. I didn't feel any connection to Definetely the worst movie I've ever seen! I saw it at the theatre, but halfway I just had to get out of there. It was predictable and unbelievable and the caracters weren't well developed. I didn't feel any connection to either of them. I still don't understand why 'big' stars as Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock wanted to play in such a bad production. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JakeB.Aug 9, 2006
To quote Maxwell Smart: "Missed it by that much." 'The Lake House' represents the newest entry into the category of films that show promise but ultimately let you down in the climax and far too many of the romantic scenes. The plot To quote Maxwell Smart: "Missed it by that much." 'The Lake House' represents the newest entry into the category of films that show promise but ultimately let you down in the climax and far too many of the romantic scenes. The plot in simplistic terms is this: A doctor (Bullock) living in 2006, manages to correspond and fall in love with, an architect (Reeves), by virtue of a magical mail box. None to promising, I know but the script nearly makes it work! Nearly. The problem is that there is always something to slow the momentum of the film. To drag it into the mud. That is not to say there aren't high points, I liked the supporting work from Plummer as Reeves' conceited father and Aghdashloo as Bullock's mentor. Sadly, they are slightly underdeveloped. Plus there's is one scene that I absolutely adored involving a McCartney song entitled: "This Never Happened Before". In the end 'The Lake House' congers up one thought on it being a truly successful film, "Missed it by that much." Overall: a high C+ (5.5 out of 10) P.S. This film also shows how Keanu Reeves is developing as an actor. He's not quite good but he's getting there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarenM.Sep 25, 2006
Beautiful and sensitive love story made all the better by Bullock's and Reeve's chemistry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaG.Sep 30, 2006
I love this movie, and the chemistry between the two stars is wonderful. All love should be as good as this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanielK.Oct 1, 2006
The Lake House is a unique idea to American cinema. From a monetary standpoint it attempts to attract both sides of the moviegoers, by blending the supernatural with the romantic. Nevertheless, what we have here is a transparent plot with The Lake House is a unique idea to American cinema. From a monetary standpoint it attempts to attract both sides of the moviegoers, by blending the supernatural with the romantic. Nevertheless, what we have here is a transparent plot with every so-called twist preceded by enough clues to tell you what would happen not only in this film, but subsequent sequels. Bullock delivers, but Reeves continues to fail to engage the audience as a true leading man. It is good that they are rarely seen in the same frame. The director makes several attempts to incorporate the supernatural elements while maintaining the love story, but instead rams them together into a sometimes-unrecognizable wreck. Though I do give him chops for using such mixed-frame shots (ala Annie Hall) to make Bullock Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CharmaineH.Oct 5, 2006
This movie was completely cliche, I had such high expectations that quickly came crashing to the floor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SoniaOct 9, 2006
Just didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TammyeG.Oct 11, 2006
Great movie. Non-traditional love story and compelling idea. There were clichés but what movie formula now does not have those? Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JenWOct 11, 2006
I thought this movie absolutely sucked, it didn't make and sense and it was the worst movie I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanSOct 13, 2006
I like the fact that this movie felt genuine. At no point did I roll my eyes and wish they could have done anything better. The plot was a little far fetched and I'm sure some people can't connect with it, but I think that's I like the fact that this movie felt genuine. At no point did I roll my eyes and wish they could have done anything better. The plot was a little far fetched and I'm sure some people can't connect with it, but I think that's what makes this movie so original and likeable. A must see and a great movie to own. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StellaL.Oct 14, 2006
I totally loved the movie, it was confusing in the beginning but Sandra and Keanu brought it to life, amazing chemistry. Love those two, hope to see them in another movie soon. Its actors like them that keep people going to the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
crOct 14, 2006
My head hurts from trying to figure out what the hell the is going on. I would have been easier trying to understand nuclear science.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NicolaD.Oct 17, 2006
It's not a highbrow film, but I found it very enjoyable, the user reviews are definitely more accurate than the critics reviews!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NatashaM.Nov 4, 2006
I anticipated the release of the Lake House more than of any other film. I fell in love with the trailer and I watched the movie twice on the day it came out. Everything about it is beautiful - the characters, the setting, and the plot. My I anticipated the release of the Lake House more than of any other film. I fell in love with the trailer and I watched the movie twice on the day it came out. Everything about it is beautiful - the characters, the setting, and the plot. My all-time favorite movie. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianeBDec 26, 2006
Wow! I rented and watched this movie tonight and then I watched it again. I was totally emersed in the love that grows between these two. And the fact that this all takes place between two parallel periods in time is what makes it that much Wow! I rented and watched this movie tonight and then I watched it again. I was totally emersed in the love that grows between these two. And the fact that this all takes place between two parallel periods in time is what makes it that much more captivating. It is no surprise that I love this movie since my all-time favorite movie has been, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NickS.Mar 20, 2007
I was actually looking forward to seeing this movie after catching the trailer a couple of times. Unfortunately, the finished product was a bit lacking. There is a spark of life in the movie, and I believe there is an enjoyable film to be I was actually looking forward to seeing this movie after catching the trailer a couple of times. Unfortunately, the finished product was a bit lacking. There is a spark of life in the movie, and I believe there is an enjoyable film to be found there. Unfortunately, the director was not the one to find it. This could have been a very good movie, if done by someone like Ron Howard or Steven Spielberg. As it stands, I am very disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FayB.Apr 16, 2007
I fell in love with this movie at the theatre. Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves created a great love story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
dierregiDec 15, 2014
If you want to enjoy “The lake house” you should know that it requires plenty of suspended disbelief and no rational approach.

Chronologically, the story “sort-of” starts in 2004, when Alex comes back to the Chicago area and settles in a
If you want to enjoy “The lake house” you should know that it requires plenty of suspended disbelief and no rational approach.

Chronologically, the story “sort-of” starts in 2004, when Alex comes back to the Chicago area and settles in a glass house built many years previously by his architect father. Alex and dad don’t get along, even if they share the same profession.

In the house Alex finds a note from alleged “lodger” Kate, who recently moved out with regret to central Chicago. However, Alex knows that the house was closed for years and writes back to Kate, basically asking what is wrong with her. A correspondence follows between the two, during which they discover that Kate rented the house after Alex, possibly in 2005 (the timeline is a bit confused) and she moved out at the beginning of 2006.

The two exchange letters using the mailbox outside the house, regular postal service clearly not being an option. Although I agree that writing letters is very romantic, one may wonder why they do not exchange photos, emails or phone calls…

They quickly discover to be soul mates and Alex tries several times to meet Kate. It should be remembered that in 2004 Kate is still unaware about his existence, so when they actually meet the experience is very different for them. To complicate things, Kate has a boyfriend in 2004 – but not in 2006.

Alex knows to be in love and want to be with Kate. At this stage, enters the plot twist, which feels highly contrived even in such an unlikely scenario. However, we are supposed to root for Alex and Kate, two people who can truly connect with very few around them and who are bound to be together against all odds. Will 2008 be the year when they can finally be happy together?

The time paradox is the most intriguing part and should be explored more in details, but the movie can still be considered a satisfactory, unusual romantic movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
5ToolsSep 9, 2015
I found this movie to be original, somewhat unbelievable but still captivating! Bullock and Reeves have
definite chemistry. It kept me in suspense until the end to see how it would end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilipeNetoJul 23, 2018
There are many movies about impossible loves but the reasons for the impossibility can vary. One of the rarest is used in this film: each element of the couple lives in a different temporal reality, despite both are living in the same place.There are many movies about impossible loves but the reasons for the impossibility can vary. One of the rarest is used in this film: each element of the couple lives in a different temporal reality, despite both are living in the same place. Its a challenging resource, which can easily fall in the danger of becoming implausible. Unfortunately, this has indeed happened here. If we start thinking hard about the movie, the magic of love disappears and we see clearly the fragility of the premises on which the whole story is based. Its really far-fetched.

The strong point of the film is the excellent chemistry of the two main actors, Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock. They are both very strong in romantic roles, and the way their characters value letters as form of contact brings a note of nostalgic romanticism that is very elegant. Its their performance, ultimately, that makes the film something we want to see again, because everything else is painful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews