Netflix | Release Date: February 14, 2020
3.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 21 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2
Mixed:
6
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
theredskyFeb 25, 2020
This joke has been made a thousand times but The Last Thing He Wanted perfectly resembles how I feel about this movie. It was the last thing I wanted to see. There is so much that is wrong with this film. Whenever I watch a movie for theThis joke has been made a thousand times but The Last Thing He Wanted perfectly resembles how I feel about this movie. It was the last thing I wanted to see. There is so much that is wrong with this film. Whenever I watch a movie for the first time, I pay full attention to it so that I don’t miss any details. After watching this, I thought, “What?”. I don’t understand what this movie was about or what happened. Its plot is so convoluted and confusing that I honestly can’t tell you what happened. The film has little to no structure to it. Scenes just happen and then they go on to another unrelated scene. Since I couldn’t understand what was happening, I was incredibly bored. This is one of the most boring films I have ever seen. None of the characters are interesting or developed in the slightest. I like Ben Affleck, Anne Hathaway, and Willem Dafoe but I hated their characters. They are all unlikeable and don’t have any motivation for what they do. Anne Hathway’s character doesn’t like her father at all and yet she decides to take over his job? It made no sense. Their performances weren’t that great either. Willem Dafoe was fine and his performance was the only aspect I found above average but Affleck and Hathaway were pretty bad. Hathaway sounded like a robot the entire film and Affleck who has top billing was only in the film for 15 minutes. He contributed almost nothing to the film. The other actors did a pretty poor job and were very forgettable. I honestly forgot that Toby Jones was in the film until I started writing this. The script they were given was particularly awful. The dialogue was poorly written and shallow which hampered everyone’s performance. The cinematography was fine. It wasn’t special but it wasn’t bad. The editing was particularly annoying though. It would cut randomly during scenes which threw off the focus of it. At other points, the editing would cut so rapidly and quickly that it was hard to tell what was going on. Overall, The Last Thing He Wanted is a convoluted, confusing, and boring film with a poor script, bad characters, and obnoxious editing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
bfoore90Mar 2, 2020
Great cast with a fantastic performance by Anne Hathaway is wasted on a poorly written and poorly directed "thriller"
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ZackMurphFeb 26, 2020
No.....just no.

There's so much talent amongst the movies cast but yet it still falls flat. The movie doesn't know what it is and even though it has such a huge story to tell. It forgets to really tell it. It feels as if the movie is just a
No.....just no.

There's so much talent amongst the movies cast but yet it still falls flat. The movie doesn't know what it is and even though it has such a huge story to tell. It forgets to really tell it. It feels as if the movie is just a large flip book filled with some background dialogue to keep you awake.

At no point in this film does it ever stop and really fill in the gaps or establish what it's message is. Nor does it even try to attempt helping the audience make a connection with what's going on. It's as if each one of the writers wrote a 5 minute segment and then the finished transcript was a random collection of those each segments. Making no sense or rhyme what so ever.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
superbatApr 23, 2020
This movie is lacking in every area except for casting and cinematography. The story reeks of incoherence and nonsense. As a result, we have a so-called "thriller" which is boring for the most part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Feb 27, 2020
Netflix picking up for their catalogue another film nobody wanted.

The whole thing is a **** mess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Iamcritical86Jul 25, 2020
I think watching Anne Hathaway trying to act was more entertaining than the film itself. And thank God Ben Affleck didn't get a huge part in this, cause he's another one that couldn't act his way out of a paper bag! The film was weak overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
NightfallRobMar 13, 2020
As others have said, this movie is a waste of talent and a disjointed mess. It could have been fantastic, hell it should have been fantastic, but instead it's manure. If they had taken the time to develop the plot, show how the scenes reallyAs others have said, this movie is a waste of talent and a disjointed mess. It could have been fantastic, hell it should have been fantastic, but instead it's manure. If they had taken the time to develop the plot, show how the scenes really connect, and hired a decent editorial team, this could have been a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
dcalMar 10, 2020
I've never seen a better example of wasted talent. There is nothing redeemable here. This movie is an incoherent mess. Period. I created this account just to warn you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ctsmwMar 19, 2020
This movie fundamentally fails. It fails in just about every regard except that it is shot well and the actors do a good job with the (horrible) material they're given. The cinematography is often great, surprising, given how incompetentlyThis movie fundamentally fails. It fails in just about every regard except that it is shot well and the actors do a good job with the (horrible) material they're given. The cinematography is often great, surprising, given how incompetently the script is. The first half remains the pretense of being a movie that is just boring; however, after the first hour it devolves into increasingly unbelievable nonsense. While some movies are enjoyably bad, this is not one of them. Even the most ridiculous twists will leave you more perplexed and frustrated than entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SanghelicMay 4, 2020
la actuacion de esta pelicula es muy buena, su produccion es tambien bastante buena, pero fuera de eso es increible, es increible que esta pelicula haya logrado hacer que me duerma temprano, es un desorden increible con un monton dela actuacion de esta pelicula es muy buena, su produccion es tambien bastante buena, pero fuera de eso es increible, es increible que esta pelicula haya logrado hacer que me duerma temprano, es un desorden increible con un monton de minitramas confusas que el tonto guion de la pelicula no se encarga de explicar ni conectar, a penas a la mitad de la pelicula se plantea el problema de la pelicula, en el momento en el que apenas entendi mas o menos lo que esta pendejada queria decirme ya era la mitad de la pelicula, afortunadamente esta mierda no estuvo en el cine, es de las poquisimas peliculas que he visto en toda mi vida que no termine de ver por aburrimiento, no estuve dispuesto a desperdiciar ni un minuto mas de mi vida viendo esta mierda, desafortunadamente el excelente cast que tiene no fue capaz de hacer que la pelicula fuera aguantable, en conclusion, no la vean, evitenla a toda costa como si de la peste bubonica se tratase, de verdad no vale la pena, si la van a ver, tengan a la mano un celular o algo que se pueda conectar a internet, porque esta pendejada muestra sucesos historicos que no explica ni nada, de verdad se esmeraron por hacerla mala, VAYA PUTA MIERDA Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DRAGOS3111Nov 19, 2020
Holy hell, how did Netflix have such poor quality control. This is honestly one of the worst movies of 2020. Poor acting, lackluster editing, awful script, dull characters and ugly cinematography. This is 2020, not the 80s. This movie is aHoly hell, how did Netflix have such poor quality control. This is honestly one of the worst movies of 2020. Poor acting, lackluster editing, awful script, dull characters and ugly cinematography. This is 2020, not the 80s. This movie is a flop, just like Artemis Fowl or even Cuties. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews