A24 | Release Date: May 13, 2016
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 437 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
309
Mixed:
71
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
lgtaylor100Jul 3, 2016
This film is very bizarre, satirically funny, brutal and intensely thought provoking. The premise is that if someone becomes single they are sent to a resort for 45 days and if they do not find a partner they are turned into an animal ofThis film is very bizarre, satirically funny, brutal and intensely thought provoking. The premise is that if someone becomes single they are sent to a resort for 45 days and if they do not find a partner they are turned into an animal of their choosing. They are also given extra days at the resort for shooting someone from the loner community (people who have escaped from the resort) . In this dystopian society, both the resort and the loner society are highly regimented and violent if rules are not followed... The film is mainly a satire on relationships and although we so desire to connect we often fail because we often cannot empathize with the one we have chosen. .Also, In order to connect we sometimes attempt to make ourselves into copies of the other person, a tactic that often fails. The film portrayed how difficult it is to empathize with a partner unless we share some characteristic, and because that often is impossible the relationship is doomed.. The film makes big statements and smaller ones and all of them are profound, sometimes funny and sometimes very sad. It satirizes the current dating scene by portraying its superficiality, but also satirizes and makes a grim statement about relationships in general, and society which offers us opportunities to conform or rebel, neither of which is effective. Most people exiting the theatre expressed dissatisfaction. I think that those that go on to think about it will find that it will deeply impact their thoughts and beliefs. Expand
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
9
Roboman1723Jul 31, 2016
There is nothing shallow about this movie like some people seem to believe. The parallelisms on relationships made in this movie make for an emotional and existential roller coaster that will have you thinking one minute and tearing up theThere is nothing shallow about this movie like some people seem to believe. The parallelisms on relationships made in this movie make for an emotional and existential roller coaster that will have you thinking one minute and tearing up the next. The one thing all the reviewers can seem to agree on is that it is ragingly depressing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
JoanZMay 29, 2016
Incredibly imaginative dystopian setting that truly is best described as absurdist. What bothers me about the mixed and unfavorable reviews is the literal reactions of "disturbing" scenes and 'weirdness". Somehow they are not in on the wholeIncredibly imaginative dystopian setting that truly is best described as absurdist. What bothers me about the mixed and unfavorable reviews is the literal reactions of "disturbing" scenes and 'weirdness". Somehow they are not in on the whole absurd joke, and are instead simply put off by the appearance of blood. I imagine these individuals prefer their violence in neat clean packages delivered by automatic weapons and zombies. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
9
dinojay2Jun 21, 2016
Quirky and brilliant, and once again a terrific job by the vastly underrated Colin Farrell. So original, and completely enjoyable on both literal and metaphorical levels, whichever you happen to prefer.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
InglouriousAndyMay 17, 2016
"The Lobster" is wonderfully quirky and very funny. It has a ton of emotion and lots of style. It has a lot to say about the way society looks at relationships as well. A fantastic movie and one of the best films of the year.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
dolphindiddlerMay 27, 2016
As a dark comedy fan, this film more than satisfied my itch for absurdity. From beginning to end, I had absolutely no idea as to where the plot will take me. I'm sorry for anyone expecting a fun romp of a documentary about coruscations. ThatAs a dark comedy fan, this film more than satisfied my itch for absurdity. From beginning to end, I had absolutely no idea as to where the plot will take me. I'm sorry for anyone expecting a fun romp of a documentary about coruscations. That isn't to say that the title does not lend yet another branch of ambiguity.

Typically when it comes to this genre of film, the directors take a lot of creative liberty to the point that they're knocking you over the head with their idealism. This isn't the case for Yorgos Lanthimos, who has immense respect for the audience to come to their own conclusions on multiple aspects of the plot.

Yorgos also is brilliant at dropping you into this world with little explanation. I still have many questions as to how this world functions and why it is the way it is, but I think that way of thinking is pertinent when it comes to getting something out of a film (Sorry Michael Bay fans).

Colin Ferrell or as I called him "Fat Collin" is somber and soft spoken for the entirety of the film. The rest of the cast is delightfully quirky and intriguing. I got more out of the narrator than any other character in the film. This is an obvious nudge to the fact that this absurd world is the main character and the way its inhabitants interact with the circumstances is what defines its personality (if that makes any sense).

Although I won't suggest this film to most people, I highly implore giving it a watch if you enjoy confused belly laughs and absurd social commentary.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
foltsyMay 30, 2016
Strange, wonderful, and brutal, with sprinklings of dark humor. The Lobster speaks to the absurdities of human relationships and the molds that society drives them into. Much like The Road or Requiem for a Dream, this is a film you won't needStrange, wonderful, and brutal, with sprinklings of dark humor. The Lobster speaks to the absurdities of human relationships and the molds that society drives them into. Much like The Road or Requiem for a Dream, this is a film you won't need to see twice, nor would you want to. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
shoulderoforionMay 13, 2016
I liked this movie alot, thought it was going to be some way out there eurotrash but ended up feeling that it was great. Best movie I'd seen Colin Farrell in since In Bruges & Rachel Weisz and Olivia Coleman are always the best.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
9
guilhermefdiasMay 31, 2016
The movie has so many deep messages, about society and relationships.
All put in a strange way, but in a brilliant way too.
I'm not surprised a lot of people will not get these messages. But this movie is something else, much bigger than
The movie has so many deep messages, about society and relationships.
All put in a strange way, but in a brilliant way too.

I'm not surprised a lot of people will not get these messages. But this movie is something else, much bigger than what meets the eye.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 3, 2016
A film that tells the story of the importance of finding someone in your life in the most unique way I've seen. You really must experience this film at least once in your life. A totally original film a must see. A
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantMay 21, 2016
One of the most unusual -- and thought-provoking -- films to come along in quite a while. Its decidedly offbeat humor and wry symbolism work wonders in skewering everything from the current superficial state of courting rituals andOne of the most unusual -- and thought-provoking -- films to come along in quite a while. Its decidedly offbeat humor and wry symbolism work wonders in skewering everything from the current superficial state of courting rituals and relationship matters to the pressures of social conformity, regardless of which end of the polarized ideological spectrum one resides. The film admittedly becomes a little bogged down in the second hour, going off on tangents that could have easily been deleted, but, on balance, "The Lobster" represents a thoughtful, satirical look at where we stand as a society -- and, one hopes, where we'll resist the temptation to go. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
fond_of_filmJun 23, 2016
Several reviews I have seen speak negatively of the brutality of this film. Others argue that the stilted dialogue and emotionally distant (or emotionless) characters subtract from its quality. Quite to the contrary, I would argue theseSeveral reviews I have seen speak negatively of the brutality of this film. Others argue that the stilted dialogue and emotionally distant (or emotionless) characters subtract from its quality. Quite to the contrary, I would argue these factors, along with a shockingly dark and dry sense of humor, a unique score, and brilliant cinematography, combine to make The Lobster a satisfying and beautifully satirical dark comedy. Perhaps at times it is too much of a thinker or too hard-to-watch to be "enjoyable," and I don't think I would necessarily care to rewatch it, but I do believe it is a highly successful work of art. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
ScraperJul 6, 2016
Ok Ok, as all the bad reviews will tell you, this movie can be disturbing at times. That's not a reason to hate it. Alcoholic drinks taste bad to children. The Lobster is a wonderfully unique script that is also thrilling, funny, romantic,Ok Ok, as all the bad reviews will tell you, this movie can be disturbing at times. That's not a reason to hate it. Alcoholic drinks taste bad to children. The Lobster is a wonderfully unique script that is also thrilling, funny, romantic, and best of all thoughtful and thought-provoking. Person above me writes "maybe it makes some valid points about absurd societal norms..." Why, yes. Yes it does. And if you let the movie take you, you'd see it was quite profound. This is a movie for the advanced viewer and it hits the bullseye in everything that has been missing from mainstream film for years. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 13, 2016
The Lobster has laid immediate claim to being one of the weirdest films I have ever seen. Wowzers this one is an odd little flick, yet is certainly brilliant at times. Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz are phenomenal in both emotionally intimateThe Lobster has laid immediate claim to being one of the weirdest films I have ever seen. Wowzers this one is an odd little flick, yet is certainly brilliant at times. Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz are phenomenal in both emotionally intimate and distant roles (you have to see to understand), while the direction from Yorgos Lanthimos is assured and very good. Under the watch of a lesser talent, The Lobster would be a complete mess. Under Lanthimos, however, it is a fantastically enjoying film. From being a great look at romance in the modern era, being truly funny, and moving, The Lobster's only sin is the great amount of violence against animals. This is not really a cinematic critique, but I do not really appreciate that amount of violence against animals, particularly dogs. Call me a prude, but not my thing. Regardless, The Lobster is still a great film that is wildly entertaining and shows just how quirky and downright weird film can get. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
MixedMessageJun 11, 2016
Look, it's art. It talks about real life using allegory and allusion. It is funny and brutal, just like real life. And it is spot on in its observations. The first half flies by in a stream of clever and hilarious developments. The secondLook, it's art. It talks about real life using allegory and allusion. It is funny and brutal, just like real life. And it is spot on in its observations. The first half flies by in a stream of clever and hilarious developments. The second half drags a bit and the ending is intentionally ambiguous. It has a lot to say and consider. I'd put it in the vein of a film like Delicatessen. If you like things literal and your idea of imaginative is a superhero film you probably won't like it. Not trying to disparage that, too much, just saying it shouldn't be too hard to figure out if this is your kind of film or not. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsJun 7, 2016
An easy contender for Best Picture. I don't think I have ever seen a work of art tackle the quagmire that is love and relationships quite so effectively as The Lobster. If you are single, in a relationship, deeply in love, feel trapped in aAn easy contender for Best Picture. I don't think I have ever seen a work of art tackle the quagmire that is love and relationships quite so effectively as The Lobster. If you are single, in a relationship, deeply in love, feel trapped in a relationship, feel lonely, then you need to see this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewDec 13, 2016
If you go on the website for The Lobster, it has a wonderfully clever way of introducing you to the film, as well as what the film is all about. As soon as you enter the site, it will ask you a series of questions that will determine whatIf you go on the website for The Lobster, it has a wonderfully clever way of introducing you to the film, as well as what the film is all about. As soon as you enter the site, it will ask you a series of questions that will determine what second-chance animal you should pick if you do not find love. At the end of the brief quiz, you will be given three choices based on your answers. From there, you have to pick one, and that’s the animal you have to turn into if you do not find the right mate in forty-five days. From there, you can have a second-chance at love as a dog, cat, fish, flamingo, or whatever. My three animals I ended up with was a bison, gorilla, and horse. Of which one I decided to turn into, that is for you to find out.

This strange consideration of our sex life perfectly sums up everything talked about in the European satirical drama, The Lobster, with a call to revision on how an aristocratic society controls our path to satisfaction with a significant other.

What’s shocking is that this dystopian world does not look far off from where we are now. Considering our high expectations surrounding sexual preference and gender roles, filmmakers in Europe knew that it was time to make a psychodrama like this to depict how our revision of sexual stimulation will change in the next few years.

Within this future, we are put in the shoes of David, a loner abandoned by his wife who has become numb over time to light and noise. In fact, neither he nor anyone else in his life show any hint of feeling at all. A calming narration by a mystery woman tells about how he is left to live in a hospital with restricting rules: he can’t keep any of his personal belongings, he must wear one of their identical change of clothes, and within his forty-five day stay there, he must find love with another woman, or be turned into the animal of his choosing. In this case, he chose a lobster for its long lifespan. Whoever the narrator of this story is meant to be, by the film‘s final moments, the cruciality of the voice’s identity will become clear.

In this unsettling world, change for healthy relationships is initiated as they teach the men that they must be dependent on a lover, and the women are taught how their safety is dependent on a man. The staff even goes as far as punishing secret masturbators with a toaster to the hand. If there are any loners hiding out in the moss-infested woods nearby, they are captured by patients with tranquilizer darts and sent to the well-maintained seaside hospital.

The surreal nature of this motion picture feels complete with a disruptive baroque musical, creating a haunting beat you will never remove from your memory. It evokes the lack of apparent fear, making the peacocks and camels seen wandering the woods feel expectant. The only change of thought the characters ever express is when a brother-turned-dog meets an unfortunate fate, and a girl’s failed suicide attempt. It turns out though that creating a world without feeling generates all sorts of challenges for even the greatest of cinema artists.

While the characters certainly don’t feel much, neither does the audience. A motion picture like this one ought to show master over orchestrating the audience to feel what the character’s don’t, which The Lobster does not fully succeed at. It gets harder to keep up with everything as well with the second half, when everything becomes practically a different type of movie with new characters and a new setting.

But it doesn’t make The Lobster any less brilliant in its call to reconsideration of our own emotions. Director Yorgos Lanthimos makes it plainly clear how animals these days have a healthier concept of romance than we people do, as the turnaround of one man chained by unnecessary rules speaks to us.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
nutterjrDec 30, 2016
Admittedly I could hardly wait for the new collaboration between the director Yorgos Lanthimos and the screenwriter Efthimis Filippou in their first English speaking feature. And it was yet again a thoroughly stimulating absurd surrealisticAdmittedly I could hardly wait for the new collaboration between the director Yorgos Lanthimos and the screenwriter Efthimis Filippou in their first English speaking feature. And it was yet again a thoroughly stimulating absurd surrealistic dark comedy, unique to its core. Wrapped up with a violently emotive score unfolds a story about finding love against the clock in a concentration camp for loners or turned into a animal of choice. Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz are great leads and Olivia Colman is an excellent supporting act in a film you won't quickly forget. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeMay 14, 2016
Another peculiar dystopian tale set in the future.

From the director of the Oscars nominated movie 'Dogtooth'. If you are familiar with his signature movie, you will find it so good. This is not the best movie I had seen that set in the
Another peculiar dystopian tale set in the future.

From the director of the Oscars nominated movie 'Dogtooth'. If you are familiar with his signature movie, you will find it so good. This is not the best movie I had seen that set in the future, but like any other it was another dystopian tale. A black comedy-romance with a decent storyline, performances and overall a nice entertainer.

The pace was very depressing, but I kept hooked to it for its frequent unpredictable scenes. The first act took place in a hotel which is the introduction to the odd world and the situation where the plot opens. When it moved to the 2nd half, especially after Rachel Weisz come into the frame, the entire scenario changed to atypical romance mode and kept that way till the last with a simple twist in the finale.

Colin Ferrell's character was something like the one from the movie 'Her'. But not the same movie, or the theme, except the combination of the genres. It was a good movie, I enjoyed it, but not as much as others say they did. IMPO, it is a one time watch movie for its peculiarness.

7/10
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwAug 22, 2016
This was an odd experience, as I just recently ended a self-imposed 12-year moratorium on relationships, due to a couple of bad ones I had within a short period of time in the early 2000's. It was very intriguing to see a type of dystopiaThis was an odd experience, as I just recently ended a self-imposed 12-year moratorium on relationships, due to a couple of bad ones I had within a short period of time in the early 2000's. It was very intriguing to see a type of dystopia exist in which 'singledom' was so vilified to the point of actually being against the law. I would never have previously thought that such a state of events was possible, but recent trends in 'political correctedness' on the one hand and both religious and political radicalism on the other means that, sadly, nothing is impossible anymore. I thought it was a remarkable idea for a film, and both the soundtrack and cinematography were outstanding. The bizarre script and bold direction brought forth some of the best acting I have yet seen from Colin Ferrell, Rachel Weisz and John C. Reilly, as well.

I'm definitely looking forward to seeing other films by this brazenly original writer/director. Long may his almost-Bunuelian take on things go forth.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
donaldistJun 18, 2016
A dystopian satire in which a totalitarian society runs romance like an airless Kafkaesque nightmare that doesn't work even remotely on an allegorical level- the few pointed moments rest in side comments about the "removal of the bisexualA dystopian satire in which a totalitarian society runs romance like an airless Kafkaesque nightmare that doesn't work even remotely on an allegorical level- the few pointed moments rest in side comments about the "removal of the bisexual option" and "assigning children to fighting couples". Doesn't really matter too much, as the film is damned funny, and if a movie makes me laugh, problems about its grander ambitions seem less significant.
I think I would have really dug this movie if it had stuck to one element of its well-constructed world and really milked it for its worth. "Hapless man attempts to fake heartlessness in order to win over the Heartless Woman" is the best and funniest portion of the film, and really makes for a good logline for a film of its own.
Needlessly precise rating: 63/100, or B
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
AquaMorphAug 6, 2016
This is one of the most interesting and original movies I have seen in a while. It's the type of film that you enjoy while watching but then enjoy even more when you think about it afterwards. The symbolism with pairing is wonderful. The filmThis is one of the most interesting and original movies I have seen in a while. It's the type of film that you enjoy while watching but then enjoy even more when you think about it afterwards. The symbolism with pairing is wonderful. The film is hilarious in a distributing way befitting a great dark comedy. The film is nice to look out with a smart use of a muted color pallet which reflects the feel of the movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
meyersccaMay 13, 2016
Beautiful cinematography, almost felt a bit Wes Anderson-y. The dark humour was great. It slowed down quite a bit towards the end but still kept you intrigued nonetheless.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
phytonixJul 7, 2018
Perhaps one of the best movie ever. I loved it so much it reminds me of everything I love about movies. A must for anyone seriously love movies beyond pure entertainment. Nonetheless, it was quite entertaining to me.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonJun 11, 2017
After his wife leaves him for another man David (Colin Farrell) is sent to a hotel for single people. The “catch” is that everyone at the hotel has 45 days to find a partner or they’ll be transformed into an animal of their choosing, David’sAfter his wife leaves him for another man David (Colin Farrell) is sent to a hotel for single people. The “catch” is that everyone at the hotel has 45 days to find a partner or they’ll be transformed into an animal of their choosing, David’s choice is a lobster, hence the title.

I think it’s pretty safe to say that The Lobster is a rather strange film, and many people (understandably) just won’t connect with at all. Personally I found it to be an interesting, and often darkly comic, watch however and viewers looking for a movie that offers something completely different should certainly check it out. I know I won’t forget it in a hurry!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kman5473Mar 2, 2017
Very well-thought-out world, and I love that the characters so excellently abide by its rules. Performances by all are fantastic. This feels like the twisted and black sheep cousin to Wes Anderson films. There is such a fantastic use ofVery well-thought-out world, and I love that the characters so excellently abide by its rules. Performances by all are fantastic. This feels like the twisted and black sheep cousin to Wes Anderson films. There is such a fantastic use of absurdity in the film. Cinematography is fantastic, and the color correction is great. I really feel like I've been taken to a different world. I think my only issue with this, and most films that are this deadpan and dry, is there is an intense lack of excitement and connectivity. The angels lack intimacy, and though it is a stylistic choice to keep the audience from getting too close to any one character, it leaves me feeling cold. This choice is completely justified, I just don't know if "The Lobster," has much re-watchability factor in it. Again--it's irrelevant to what the director was going for, it's just personal taste. This film does exactly what it is setup to do though, so from a storytelling and technical standpoint, it lands and it lands gracefully. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choppyAug 3, 2016
Pretty good. You've got to be able to appreciate dark humor, which many of the negative reviewers clearly don't: if you hate dark humor, you will hate this movie.

It's a meditation on the difficulty of relationship, negative feelings about
Pretty good. You've got to be able to appreciate dark humor, which many of the negative reviewers clearly don't: if you hate dark humor, you will hate this movie.

It's a meditation on the difficulty of relationship, negative feelings about being single, etc. While the metaphors don't always make sense, enough of them land with enough force to make this one of the few movies that makes you actually think, and leave you with a strong impression for a long time afterward. And that's way more than most movies accomplish these days.

Yes, the third act drags and it would have benefited from a bit of editing, but overall better than 90% of what comes through theaters these days.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jack97Dec 22, 2016
The tone is kinda depressing but it fits the world and the characters of the story. The Lobster has a unique and original premise that engages you throughout, even if the last act drags a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksDec 18, 2016
I love a good dystopian film and though The Lobster reads like a 70s euro cult movie it is very well done. I didn't see this movie as a romantic-comedy, as it was marketed, but rather a drama dealing with societal pressures, with elements ofI love a good dystopian film and though The Lobster reads like a 70s euro cult movie it is very well done. I didn't see this movie as a romantic-comedy, as it was marketed, but rather a drama dealing with societal pressures, with elements of light Sci-Fi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Jun 4, 2016
If I was given only one word to describe this film, that word would be "different", VERY different. This is the kind of film that you absolutely must know what you're getting into before you see it. Thankfully I had viewed the trailer forIf I was given only one word to describe this film, that word would be "different", VERY different. This is the kind of film that you absolutely must know what you're getting into before you see it. Thankfully I had viewed the trailer for this film and heard early word from many critics and audiences alike about its weird and bizarre nature and therefore walked into this film highly open-minded and ready to see or expect anything out of it. Despite this, I can't even begin to say how unprepared I was for just how weird this film got at times. However, on the contrary to what I've said so far, this didn't hinder my overall enjoyment of the film at all. The story and premise was unique and it's dark humor and dialogue was extremely deadpan and straightforward (more so than in any other film I've ever seen) and it was off-putting at times, but other times I have to admit it worked really well. Colin Farrell gives a great lead performance and the rest of the cast, such as Rachel Weisz, John C. Reilly, Ben Whishaw, etc all had some worthwhile moments as well. Overall, this was undeniably bizarre, yet oddly enough it also proved to be the most unique and interesting film I've seen so far this year. However, like I said before it's also a very different film so please know what you're getting into before you pay to see this. One final note: It also has what I'd easily consider to be one of the most messed up, gut punch endings I've seen in a very long time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bholland2014Jul 13, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SPOILERS!!! Commentary on intolerance--an absurdist metaphor.

Imagine a partnership whose success hinged solely on the mutual enjoyment of vanilla ice-cream. And instead of feeling hopeful (or doubtful) of its longevity the pair simply agreed, emotionless, that this common trait would be enough to sustain them. That's The Lobster.

This is a world of extremes and intolerance. One in which independence (read: the single life) is punished by exile. However, the exiled, known as 'loners' are so dangerously independent that they are intolerant of partnership. The middle-ground is to be turned into an animal of choice if one doesn't find partnership within an alotted time limit--which can only be extended by capturing loners. I infer that this middle-ground is imposed by the enforcers who seek out and ask for lone people's 'papers' during the scene in the mall. This scene is the first glimpse (if little more than suggested) of a societal intolerance of independence. Up to this point it could have been argued that this middle-ground was self-imposed.

In this world, partnership is based on the shallowest of commonalities (only one is required for pairing), so "acquiring" children is considered a cure for the inevitable strains of incompatibility.

Though, there seems to be hope for true love between David and the shortsighted woman beyond both being shortsighted, however, their love is forbidden--therefore, secret--as they are both loners. Eventually, David's secret lover becomes blind, thus, they lose their shared trait of shortsightedness. To David's credit, he really does make an effort to find a new shared trait to overcome their need for a trivial common ground. After all, being different in this world is intolerable. We're left to answer these questions: Can he simply accept their differences and love her? Or is his love great enough that he's willing to blind himself to be with her? We don't know. What does this say about him?

"This relationship isn't going to work if you don't enjoy vanilla ice-cream."

What does it say about society?

"Settling for a partner, at any cost, is better than independence."

What does it say about the nearsighted woman that she is now blind and still able to love him? Love is blind. Literally.

*Speculation on the beginning of the movie: Who are the donkeys (asses)? Perhaps the ass is "the animal that nobody wants to be". Was the murder of the ass a mercy killing or an act of revenge? Is the ass who gets shot, David? If so, was it his ex-wife who shot him, perhaps, out of shame or pity? Was it the Loner Leader? Or was the Loner Leader the other ass? Were either of them the shortsighted woman? The introduction may have no connection to the plot but it leaves the open-ended question of what would motivate someone to kill the ass?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwNov 25, 2016
The Lobster has a very interesting concept, and it feels like a reboot of The Twilight Zone. The film sometimes suffers with acting though, as Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz don't seem to have the right chemistry for this type of film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJan 4, 2017
The movie started very well. In fact, the first half of the movie was very good. The second half, was, unfortunately, a lot more boring and uninteresting. The story was original, the acting was very good and the whole movie was well made.The movie started very well. In fact, the first half of the movie was very good. The second half, was, unfortunately, a lot more boring and uninteresting. The story was original, the acting was very good and the whole movie was well made. Even though the second half wasn't as good as the first, it was still a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vinicius01Jun 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. an unique movie. extremely relevant and satirical. go watch it! the cast just feels right, althought the nature of the movie needs them to be artificial, it´s really well acted... this movie needs some recognition for it´s premise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Nov 3, 2017
"We dance alone. That's why we only play electronic music."

The Lobster takes place in a dystopian near future, single people, according to the laws of The City, are taken to The Hotel, where they are obliged to find a romantic partner in
"We dance alone. That's why we only play electronic music."

The Lobster takes place in a dystopian near future, single people, according to the laws of The City, are taken to The Hotel, where they are obliged to find a romantic partner in forty-five days or are transformed into beasts and sent off into The Woods.

The Lobster is a film that's both strange and completely bizarre, but rather brilliant as well. It's one of those movies that's so different with it's story and visuals that it's quite intriguing to watch. The cinematography was tremendous and the movie isn't predicable, as many times it takes a different turn for the best. Yorgos Lanthimos knows what he's doing and I can tell what he was going for when it came to the self aware moments. Every choice Lanthimos made in this movie when it came to the acting was done on purpose, as it fitted well in this unusual world that these people lived in. The movie isn't not for everyone (or just like every movie I like), but hey, everyone is different.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
badgerryan19May 19, 2017
Good film. Superb acting, a very strange but thrilling idea. Def not for everyone but this is a gem that not a lot of people will see.Also Colin gives a fantastic performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
knowmoviesnoseAug 5, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have mixed feelings about this one. I chose it on a whim as the title intrigued me, and I really enjoy Rachel Weisz as an actress, and I wanted to see Colin Farrell in this sort of role, especially after watching some of his acting on "True Detective." One thing this movie is definitely not is boring because it keeps you continuously guessing upon the absurd deluge of dialogue and happenings. At times, it is very funny and odd; others, it really does use allegory or juxtaposition to sober the heart as to what it means to feel truly alone in the world, how "simple" love can seem, yet how far away it really can be to obtain (and even some of the desperate things those people do to be coupled up with not even the right person). The structured way in which the writer and directors set up these two extreme Utopian societies where in one: love is the only way out and in the other: love is the one way to self destruction, it forces the viewer to keep examining the delicate relationships between humans and even the need for both space and intimacy. I even found it impressive how awkward I felt at times, and at others, wondering why the "need" for these certain rules and shared "flaws" in order to be a match for each other, but it also helped me understand (in the same way that some other small examples stood out that left deeper imprints about bigger issues) that they were necessary in order for the viewer to feel what the director was trying to convey, which I will leave for you to figure out for yourself. I would recommend for a one time watch on a day that you might be in the mood for a dark comedy. Note: It is funny, but do not watch if you are wanting a big huge light hearted laugh. This movie is not that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
royledesma90Jan 13, 2017
Como sería un mundo donde todo lo sistemático fuese lo mas extremo que te podes imaginar? Cada decisión tiene una regla. En este film donde la realidad refleja, a través de toques de comedia, la absurdo que puede llegar a ser todo en la vida.Como sería un mundo donde todo lo sistemático fuese lo mas extremo que te podes imaginar? Cada decisión tiene una regla. En este film donde la realidad refleja, a través de toques de comedia, la absurdo que puede llegar a ser todo en la vida. Y que por mas cursi que suene, el amor es lo mas importante de todo. Lo mejor: la originalidad del guion. Muy recomendable Score: 8 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Cray-1Jul 11, 2016
I really enjoyed this film. Although be warned, it's a black comedy. A fairly British black comedy so if you don't gel with it, you won't like any of it. If you do however, it's amazingly thought provoking and very funny. If tricky to watchI really enjoyed this film. Although be warned, it's a black comedy. A fairly British black comedy so if you don't gel with it, you won't like any of it. If you do however, it's amazingly thought provoking and very funny. If tricky to watch at times.

People have criticised the acting, in the negative reviews without realising that the choices are deliberate and of course necessary. There's a great interview with Colin Farrell about it if you look for it.

The best way to watch this film is to know as little about it as you can. Realise it's about single people and couples. It's an almost Brazil (the film) like future. I didn't think Colin Farrell could do something like this, but he's perfect. Ben Whishaw knocks it out the park. And the interactions between Farrell, Whishaw and his 'daughter' was one of the funniest moments in the film. It's the cream of the crop in terms of affordable British cast. And the timing is spot on.

The film will stay with me for a good while so I'm not sure I can watch it again soon, but would certainly recommend it to others.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
tinkohAug 29, 2016
Don't look too deep into it. I see people giving poor reviews because they thought it was trying to hard to be "deep" with some of its more abstract themes, but I didn't get that vibe at all.

Honestly, it was just a fun movie to watch.
Don't look too deep into it. I see people giving poor reviews because they thought it was trying to hard to be "deep" with some of its more abstract themes, but I didn't get that vibe at all.

Honestly, it was just a fun movie to watch. Everyone I was with enjoyed it, and we didn't have any idea what we were getting in to.

Very good movie. Excellent directing, great acting, very unique and enjoyable storytelling. Highly recommend you watch it one evening. It won't change your life, but it's quite good.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Jan 20, 2019
A bizarre focusing for love stories. The idea of "what If" works so fine in the first hour, but in last minutes feels like were running out of gas. However, the end in ellipsis is functional as ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vesperizerFeb 24, 2019
Wonderfully bizarre and exceptionally thought provoking, "The Lobster" is a film that is so unique and, in its own way, beautiful, that it is hard to define or categorize amongst traditional filmmaking. The director conveys a focused visionWonderfully bizarre and exceptionally thought provoking, "The Lobster" is a film that is so unique and, in its own way, beautiful, that it is hard to define or categorize amongst traditional filmmaking. The director conveys a focused vision with precision and gravitas, yet allows enough room for breathing space. It is needed to digest the heavy philosophical content tackling existentialism and the role of romantic relationships in modern life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SomePersonaJan 29, 2017
Excellent satire on relationships and society. The story is very dystopian yet childish, and the actors, director, and editor create this very simple, child-like tone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tobisanJan 4, 2017
The weirdest movie I have seen in a long time, but weird in a good way. A very original story of a dystopian world with funny and disturbing scenes. Colin Farell did a great job, one of his bests performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mc042Nov 25, 2017
Very unusual and satirical. Enjoyed every minute of it. It made me watch the few other films made by the director. Great cast, great acting. Could watch it anytime. I understand the bad reviews as it isn't a movie for everyone and not whatVery unusual and satirical. Enjoyed every minute of it. It made me watch the few other films made by the director. Great cast, great acting. Could watch it anytime. I understand the bad reviews as it isn't a movie for everyone and not what one would expect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nielsnableJan 8, 2018
The Lobster exposes effectively the tragic yet humorous pitfalls of forced and timed relationships through its desperate characters, disturbing premise, and incredibly cinematic scenes. Fans of dystopian stories must watch this well-writtenThe Lobster exposes effectively the tragic yet humorous pitfalls of forced and timed relationships through its desperate characters, disturbing premise, and incredibly cinematic scenes. Fans of dystopian stories must watch this well-written and thought-provoking film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeJan 16, 2018
i think we are a match..

The Lobster

The narration, key points, comedy, plot and background score everything is dark here from head to toe and Yorgos still qualifies it to offer a message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Slovenly_MuseSep 1, 2018
The mounting absurdity of the premise is made all the sweeter by the film's deadpan delivery. It offers a refreshing and fascinating take on relationships and loneliness, but the film unfortunately plateaus in its final third and goes on aThe mounting absurdity of the premise is made all the sweeter by the film's deadpan delivery. It offers a refreshing and fascinating take on relationships and loneliness, but the film unfortunately plateaus in its final third and goes on a touch too long. If you like movies that need you to put in some brain power, give this one a shot! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ahmedaiman1999Mar 22, 2019
I can't think of any movie that has effortlessly explored the human relationships with such insight, profundity, authenticity, and accuracy. Lanthimos simply took some stereotypes and utilized them flawlessly, thus taking advantage of them inI can't think of any movie that has effortlessly explored the human relationships with such insight, profundity, authenticity, and accuracy. Lanthimos simply took some stereotypes and utilized them flawlessly, thus taking advantage of them in a most potent, effective, and cynical way. I don't the movie to be neither misanthropic nor nihilistic, since it displays both the good and the bad in humans. This is one of these movies that makes you wonder why it hasn't been made before.

The Lobster also has one of the most effective uses of voice-over narration in recent years. With a stiff and composed tone lacking emotional weight, the voice-over significantly enriches the film’s narrative, particularly for setting its gloomy and dreary tone that seems as if it came out of a dystopian novel, and it's definitely crucial to carry the film’s development from start to finish.

It's also impressive that both different halves of the movie have worked pretty well; the first half, with its sarcastic and dry sense of humor, and the second half, with its more serious, focused and extremely intelligent less-is-more storytelling. The movie almost scuppered by the major tonal shift between its two halves, and became very tepid, since its humor lost its bite almost completely. But it picked up almost instantly, and became as, if not more, intriguing and riveting as it was in its first hour.

An instant classic, The Lobster is a highly original dystopian black comedy that proves that Yorgos Lanthimos is one of the most talented and idiosyncratic filmmakers working today. I can't wait to see more of his films!

(9/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nacristofoliJun 20, 2019
The movie is a little bit weird and confusing, but in a good way. The aesthetic and color palette of the movie is very pretty, and the actors are extremely good too. At first you don't really understand what's going on, but after a while youThe movie is a little bit weird and confusing, but in a good way. The aesthetic and color palette of the movie is very pretty, and the actors are extremely good too. At first you don't really understand what's going on, but after a while you start to understand everything. It's a very nice movie to watch, even if you don't like this "style" of movies, and it gives you a lot of thoughts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MahmusAug 22, 2019
A darkly funny movie with something really important to say about relationships and societal pressure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews