A24 | Release Date: May 13, 2016
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 437 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
309
Mixed:
71
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
vinicius01Jun 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. an unique movie. extremely relevant and satirical. go watch it! the cast just feels right, althought the nature of the movie needs them to be artificial, it´s really well acted... this movie needs some recognition for it´s premise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsJun 7, 2016
An easy contender for Best Picture. I don't think I have ever seen a work of art tackle the quagmire that is love and relationships quite so effectively as The Lobster. If you are single, in a relationship, deeply in love, feel trapped in aAn easy contender for Best Picture. I don't think I have ever seen a work of art tackle the quagmire that is love and relationships quite so effectively as The Lobster. If you are single, in a relationship, deeply in love, feel trapped in a relationship, feel lonely, then you need to see this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
lgtaylor100Jul 3, 2016
This film is very bizarre, satirically funny, brutal and intensely thought provoking. The premise is that if someone becomes single they are sent to a resort for 45 days and if they do not find a partner they are turned into an animal ofThis film is very bizarre, satirically funny, brutal and intensely thought provoking. The premise is that if someone becomes single they are sent to a resort for 45 days and if they do not find a partner they are turned into an animal of their choosing. They are also given extra days at the resort for shooting someone from the loner community (people who have escaped from the resort) . In this dystopian society, both the resort and the loner society are highly regimented and violent if rules are not followed... The film is mainly a satire on relationships and although we so desire to connect we often fail because we often cannot empathize with the one we have chosen. .Also, In order to connect we sometimes attempt to make ourselves into copies of the other person, a tactic that often fails. The film portrayed how difficult it is to empathize with a partner unless we share some characteristic, and because that often is impossible the relationship is doomed.. The film makes big statements and smaller ones and all of them are profound, sometimes funny and sometimes very sad. It satirizes the current dating scene by portraying its superficiality, but also satirizes and makes a grim statement about relationships in general, and society which offers us opportunities to conform or rebel, neither of which is effective. Most people exiting the theatre expressed dissatisfaction. I think that those that go on to think about it will find that it will deeply impact their thoughts and beliefs. Expand
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
10
vesperizerFeb 24, 2019
Wonderfully bizarre and exceptionally thought provoking, "The Lobster" is a film that is so unique and, in its own way, beautiful, that it is hard to define or categorize amongst traditional filmmaking. The director conveys a focused visionWonderfully bizarre and exceptionally thought provoking, "The Lobster" is a film that is so unique and, in its own way, beautiful, that it is hard to define or categorize amongst traditional filmmaking. The director conveys a focused vision with precision and gravitas, yet allows enough room for breathing space. It is needed to digest the heavy philosophical content tackling existentialism and the role of romantic relationships in modern life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SomePersonaJan 29, 2017
Excellent satire on relationships and society. The story is very dystopian yet childish, and the actors, director, and editor create this very simple, child-like tone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nielsnableJan 8, 2018
The Lobster exposes effectively the tragic yet humorous pitfalls of forced and timed relationships through its desperate characters, disturbing premise, and incredibly cinematic scenes. Fans of dystopian stories must watch this well-writtenThe Lobster exposes effectively the tragic yet humorous pitfalls of forced and timed relationships through its desperate characters, disturbing premise, and incredibly cinematic scenes. Fans of dystopian stories must watch this well-written and thought-provoking film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
phytonixJul 7, 2018
Perhaps one of the best movie ever. I loved it so much it reminds me of everything I love about movies. A must for anyone seriously love movies beyond pure entertainment. Nonetheless, it was quite entertaining to me.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JoanZMay 29, 2016
Incredibly imaginative dystopian setting that truly is best described as absurdist. What bothers me about the mixed and unfavorable reviews is the literal reactions of "disturbing" scenes and 'weirdness". Somehow they are not in on the wholeIncredibly imaginative dystopian setting that truly is best described as absurdist. What bothers me about the mixed and unfavorable reviews is the literal reactions of "disturbing" scenes and 'weirdness". Somehow they are not in on the whole absurd joke, and are instead simply put off by the appearance of blood. I imagine these individuals prefer their violence in neat clean packages delivered by automatic weapons and zombies. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
9
nutterjrDec 30, 2016
Admittedly I could hardly wait for the new collaboration between the director Yorgos Lanthimos and the screenwriter Efthimis Filippou in their first English speaking feature. And it was yet again a thoroughly stimulating absurd surrealisticAdmittedly I could hardly wait for the new collaboration between the director Yorgos Lanthimos and the screenwriter Efthimis Filippou in their first English speaking feature. And it was yet again a thoroughly stimulating absurd surrealistic dark comedy, unique to its core. Wrapped up with a violently emotive score unfolds a story about finding love against the clock in a concentration camp for loners or turned into a animal of choice. Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz are great leads and Olivia Colman is an excellent supporting act in a film you won't quickly forget. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ScraperJul 6, 2016
Ok Ok, as all the bad reviews will tell you, this movie can be disturbing at times. That's not a reason to hate it. Alcoholic drinks taste bad to children. The Lobster is a wonderfully unique script that is also thrilling, funny, romantic,Ok Ok, as all the bad reviews will tell you, this movie can be disturbing at times. That's not a reason to hate it. Alcoholic drinks taste bad to children. The Lobster is a wonderfully unique script that is also thrilling, funny, romantic, and best of all thoughtful and thought-provoking. Person above me writes "maybe it makes some valid points about absurd societal norms..." Why, yes. Yes it does. And if you let the movie take you, you'd see it was quite profound. This is a movie for the advanced viewer and it hits the bullseye in everything that has been missing from mainstream film for years. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
dinojay2Jun 21, 2016
Quirky and brilliant, and once again a terrific job by the vastly underrated Colin Farrell. So original, and completely enjoyable on both literal and metaphorical levels, whichever you happen to prefer.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 3, 2016
A film that tells the story of the importance of finding someone in your life in the most unique way I've seen. You really must experience this film at least once in your life. A totally original film a must see. A
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Jun 4, 2016
If I was given only one word to describe this film, that word would be "different", VERY different. This is the kind of film that you absolutely must know what you're getting into before you see it. Thankfully I had viewed the trailer forIf I was given only one word to describe this film, that word would be "different", VERY different. This is the kind of film that you absolutely must know what you're getting into before you see it. Thankfully I had viewed the trailer for this film and heard early word from many critics and audiences alike about its weird and bizarre nature and therefore walked into this film highly open-minded and ready to see or expect anything out of it. Despite this, I can't even begin to say how unprepared I was for just how weird this film got at times. However, on the contrary to what I've said so far, this didn't hinder my overall enjoyment of the film at all. The story and premise was unique and it's dark humor and dialogue was extremely deadpan and straightforward (more so than in any other film I've ever seen) and it was off-putting at times, but other times I have to admit it worked really well. Colin Farrell gives a great lead performance and the rest of the cast, such as Rachel Weisz, John C. Reilly, Ben Whishaw, etc all had some worthwhile moments as well. Overall, this was undeniably bizarre, yet oddly enough it also proved to be the most unique and interesting film I've seen so far this year. However, like I said before it's also a very different film so please know what you're getting into before you pay to see this. One final note: It also has what I'd easily consider to be one of the most messed up, gut punch endings I've seen in a very long time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwAug 22, 2016
This was an odd experience, as I just recently ended a self-imposed 12-year moratorium on relationships, due to a couple of bad ones I had within a short period of time in the early 2000's. It was very intriguing to see a type of dystopiaThis was an odd experience, as I just recently ended a self-imposed 12-year moratorium on relationships, due to a couple of bad ones I had within a short period of time in the early 2000's. It was very intriguing to see a type of dystopia exist in which 'singledom' was so vilified to the point of actually being against the law. I would never have previously thought that such a state of events was possible, but recent trends in 'political correctedness' on the one hand and both religious and political radicalism on the other means that, sadly, nothing is impossible anymore. I thought it was a remarkable idea for a film, and both the soundtrack and cinematography were outstanding. The bizarre script and bold direction brought forth some of the best acting I have yet seen from Colin Ferrell, Rachel Weisz and John C. Reilly, as well.

I'm definitely looking forward to seeing other films by this brazenly original writer/director. Long may his almost-Bunuelian take on things go forth.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
Roboman1723Jul 31, 2016
There is nothing shallow about this movie like some people seem to believe. The parallelisms on relationships made in this movie make for an emotional and existential roller coaster that will have you thinking one minute and tearing up theThere is nothing shallow about this movie like some people seem to believe. The parallelisms on relationships made in this movie make for an emotional and existential roller coaster that will have you thinking one minute and tearing up the next. The one thing all the reviewers can seem to agree on is that it is ragingly depressing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Nov 3, 2017
"We dance alone. That's why we only play electronic music."

The Lobster takes place in a dystopian near future, single people, according to the laws of The City, are taken to The Hotel, where they are obliged to find a romantic partner in
"We dance alone. That's why we only play electronic music."

The Lobster takes place in a dystopian near future, single people, according to the laws of The City, are taken to The Hotel, where they are obliged to find a romantic partner in forty-five days or are transformed into beasts and sent off into The Woods.

The Lobster is a film that's both strange and completely bizarre, but rather brilliant as well. It's one of those movies that's so different with it's story and visuals that it's quite intriguing to watch. The cinematography was tremendous and the movie isn't predicable, as many times it takes a different turn for the best. Yorgos Lanthimos knows what he's doing and I can tell what he was going for when it came to the self aware moments. Every choice Lanthimos made in this movie when it came to the acting was done on purpose, as it fitted well in this unusual world that these people lived in. The movie isn't not for everyone (or just like every movie I like), but hey, everyone is different.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
guilhermefdiasMay 31, 2016
The movie has so many deep messages, about society and relationships.
All put in a strange way, but in a brilliant way too.
I'm not surprised a lot of people will not get these messages. But this movie is something else, much bigger than
The movie has so many deep messages, about society and relationships.
All put in a strange way, but in a brilliant way too.

I'm not surprised a lot of people will not get these messages. But this movie is something else, much bigger than what meets the eye.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
MixedMessageJun 11, 2016
Look, it's art. It talks about real life using allegory and allusion. It is funny and brutal, just like real life. And it is spot on in its observations. The first half flies by in a stream of clever and hilarious developments. The secondLook, it's art. It talks about real life using allegory and allusion. It is funny and brutal, just like real life. And it is spot on in its observations. The first half flies by in a stream of clever and hilarious developments. The second half drags a bit and the ending is intentionally ambiguous. It has a lot to say and consider. I'd put it in the vein of a film like Delicatessen. If you like things literal and your idea of imaginative is a superhero film you probably won't like it. Not trying to disparage that, too much, just saying it shouldn't be too hard to figure out if this is your kind of film or not. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
AquaMorphAug 6, 2016
This is one of the most interesting and original movies I have seen in a while. It's the type of film that you enjoy while watching but then enjoy even more when you think about it afterwards. The symbolism with pairing is wonderful. The filmThis is one of the most interesting and original movies I have seen in a while. It's the type of film that you enjoy while watching but then enjoy even more when you think about it afterwards. The symbolism with pairing is wonderful. The film is hilarious in a distributing way befitting a great dark comedy. The film is nice to look out with a smart use of a muted color pallet which reflects the feel of the movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
InglouriousAndyMay 17, 2016
"The Lobster" is wonderfully quirky and very funny. It has a ton of emotion and lots of style. It has a lot to say about the way society looks at relationships as well. A fantastic movie and one of the best films of the year.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
dolphindiddlerMay 27, 2016
As a dark comedy fan, this film more than satisfied my itch for absurdity. From beginning to end, I had absolutely no idea as to where the plot will take me. I'm sorry for anyone expecting a fun romp of a documentary about coruscations. ThatAs a dark comedy fan, this film more than satisfied my itch for absurdity. From beginning to end, I had absolutely no idea as to where the plot will take me. I'm sorry for anyone expecting a fun romp of a documentary about coruscations. That isn't to say that the title does not lend yet another branch of ambiguity.

Typically when it comes to this genre of film, the directors take a lot of creative liberty to the point that they're knocking you over the head with their idealism. This isn't the case for Yorgos Lanthimos, who has immense respect for the audience to come to their own conclusions on multiple aspects of the plot.

Yorgos also is brilliant at dropping you into this world with little explanation. I still have many questions as to how this world functions and why it is the way it is, but I think that way of thinking is pertinent when it comes to getting something out of a film (Sorry Michael Bay fans).

Colin Ferrell or as I called him "Fat Collin" is somber and soft spoken for the entirety of the film. The rest of the cast is delightfully quirky and intriguing. I got more out of the narrator than any other character in the film. This is an obvious nudge to the fact that this absurd world is the main character and the way its inhabitants interact with the circumstances is what defines its personality (if that makes any sense).

Although I won't suggest this film to most people, I highly implore giving it a watch if you enjoy confused belly laughs and absurd social commentary.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
foltsyMay 30, 2016
Strange, wonderful, and brutal, with sprinklings of dark humor. The Lobster speaks to the absurdities of human relationships and the molds that society drives them into. Much like The Road or Requiem for a Dream, this is a film you won't needStrange, wonderful, and brutal, with sprinklings of dark humor. The Lobster speaks to the absurdities of human relationships and the molds that society drives them into. Much like The Road or Requiem for a Dream, this is a film you won't need to see twice, nor would you want to. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
fond_of_filmJun 23, 2016
Several reviews I have seen speak negatively of the brutality of this film. Others argue that the stilted dialogue and emotionally distant (or emotionless) characters subtract from its quality. Quite to the contrary, I would argue theseSeveral reviews I have seen speak negatively of the brutality of this film. Others argue that the stilted dialogue and emotionally distant (or emotionless) characters subtract from its quality. Quite to the contrary, I would argue these factors, along with a shockingly dark and dry sense of humor, a unique score, and brilliant cinematography, combine to make The Lobster a satisfying and beautifully satirical dark comedy. Perhaps at times it is too much of a thinker or too hard-to-watch to be "enjoyable," and I don't think I would necessarily care to rewatch it, but I do believe it is a highly successful work of art. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
tinkohAug 29, 2016
Don't look too deep into it. I see people giving poor reviews because they thought it was trying to hard to be "deep" with some of its more abstract themes, but I didn't get that vibe at all.

Honestly, it was just a fun movie to watch.
Don't look too deep into it. I see people giving poor reviews because they thought it was trying to hard to be "deep" with some of its more abstract themes, but I didn't get that vibe at all.

Honestly, it was just a fun movie to watch. Everyone I was with enjoyed it, and we didn't have any idea what we were getting in to.

Very good movie. Excellent directing, great acting, very unique and enjoyable storytelling. Highly recommend you watch it one evening. It won't change your life, but it's quite good.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mc042Nov 25, 2017
Very unusual and satirical. Enjoyed every minute of it. It made me watch the few other films made by the director. Great cast, great acting. Could watch it anytime. I understand the bad reviews as it isn't a movie for everyone and not whatVery unusual and satirical. Enjoyed every minute of it. It made me watch the few other films made by the director. Great cast, great acting. Could watch it anytime. I understand the bad reviews as it isn't a movie for everyone and not what one would expect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ahmedaiman1999Mar 22, 2019
I can't think of any movie that has effortlessly explored the human relationships with such insight, profundity, authenticity, and accuracy. Lanthimos simply took some stereotypes and utilized them flawlessly, thus taking advantage of them inI can't think of any movie that has effortlessly explored the human relationships with such insight, profundity, authenticity, and accuracy. Lanthimos simply took some stereotypes and utilized them flawlessly, thus taking advantage of them in a most potent, effective, and cynical way. I don't the movie to be neither misanthropic nor nihilistic, since it displays both the good and the bad in humans. This is one of these movies that makes you wonder why it hasn't been made before.

The Lobster also has one of the most effective uses of voice-over narration in recent years. With a stiff and composed tone lacking emotional weight, the voice-over significantly enriches the film’s narrative, particularly for setting its gloomy and dreary tone that seems as if it came out of a dystopian novel, and it's definitely crucial to carry the film’s development from start to finish.

It's also impressive that both different halves of the movie have worked pretty well; the first half, with its sarcastic and dry sense of humor, and the second half, with its more serious, focused and extremely intelligent less-is-more storytelling. The movie almost scuppered by the major tonal shift between its two halves, and became very tepid, since its humor lost its bite almost completely. But it picked up almost instantly, and became as, if not more, intriguing and riveting as it was in its first hour.

An instant classic, The Lobster is a highly original dystopian black comedy that proves that Yorgos Lanthimos is one of the most talented and idiosyncratic filmmakers working today. I can't wait to see more of his films!

(9/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nacristofoliJun 20, 2019
The movie is a little bit weird and confusing, but in a good way. The aesthetic and color palette of the movie is very pretty, and the actors are extremely good too. At first you don't really understand what's going on, but after a while youThe movie is a little bit weird and confusing, but in a good way. The aesthetic and color palette of the movie is very pretty, and the actors are extremely good too. At first you don't really understand what's going on, but after a while you start to understand everything. It's a very nice movie to watch, even if you don't like this "style" of movies, and it gives you a lot of thoughts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MahmusAug 22, 2019
A darkly funny movie with something really important to say about relationships and societal pressure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonJun 11, 2017
After his wife leaves him for another man David (Colin Farrell) is sent to a hotel for single people. The “catch” is that everyone at the hotel has 45 days to find a partner or they’ll be transformed into an animal of their choosing, David’sAfter his wife leaves him for another man David (Colin Farrell) is sent to a hotel for single people. The “catch” is that everyone at the hotel has 45 days to find a partner or they’ll be transformed into an animal of their choosing, David’s choice is a lobster, hence the title.

I think it’s pretty safe to say that The Lobster is a rather strange film, and many people (understandably) just won’t connect with at all. Personally I found it to be an interesting, and often darkly comic, watch however and viewers looking for a movie that offers something completely different should certainly check it out. I know I won’t forget it in a hurry!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choppyAug 3, 2016
Pretty good. You've got to be able to appreciate dark humor, which many of the negative reviewers clearly don't: if you hate dark humor, you will hate this movie.

It's a meditation on the difficulty of relationship, negative feelings about
Pretty good. You've got to be able to appreciate dark humor, which many of the negative reviewers clearly don't: if you hate dark humor, you will hate this movie.

It's a meditation on the difficulty of relationship, negative feelings about being single, etc. While the metaphors don't always make sense, enough of them land with enough force to make this one of the few movies that makes you actually think, and leave you with a strong impression for a long time afterward. And that's way more than most movies accomplish these days.

Yes, the third act drags and it would have benefited from a bit of editing, but overall better than 90% of what comes through theaters these days.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksDec 18, 2016
I love a good dystopian film and though The Lobster reads like a 70s euro cult movie it is very well done. I didn't see this movie as a romantic-comedy, as it was marketed, but rather a drama dealing with societal pressures, with elements ofI love a good dystopian film and though The Lobster reads like a 70s euro cult movie it is very well done. I didn't see this movie as a romantic-comedy, as it was marketed, but rather a drama dealing with societal pressures, with elements of light Sci-Fi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bholland2014Jul 13, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SPOILERS!!! Commentary on intolerance--an absurdist metaphor.

Imagine a partnership whose success hinged solely on the mutual enjoyment of vanilla ice-cream. And instead of feeling hopeful (or doubtful) of its longevity the pair simply agreed, emotionless, that this common trait would be enough to sustain them. That's The Lobster.

This is a world of extremes and intolerance. One in which independence (read: the single life) is punished by exile. However, the exiled, known as 'loners' are so dangerously independent that they are intolerant of partnership. The middle-ground is to be turned into an animal of choice if one doesn't find partnership within an alotted time limit--which can only be extended by capturing loners. I infer that this middle-ground is imposed by the enforcers who seek out and ask for lone people's 'papers' during the scene in the mall. This scene is the first glimpse (if little more than suggested) of a societal intolerance of independence. Up to this point it could have been argued that this middle-ground was self-imposed.

In this world, partnership is based on the shallowest of commonalities (only one is required for pairing), so "acquiring" children is considered a cure for the inevitable strains of incompatibility.

Though, there seems to be hope for true love between David and the shortsighted woman beyond both being shortsighted, however, their love is forbidden--therefore, secret--as they are both loners. Eventually, David's secret lover becomes blind, thus, they lose their shared trait of shortsightedness. To David's credit, he really does make an effort to find a new shared trait to overcome their need for a trivial common ground. After all, being different in this world is intolerable. We're left to answer these questions: Can he simply accept their differences and love her? Or is his love great enough that he's willing to blind himself to be with her? We don't know. What does this say about him?

"This relationship isn't going to work if you don't enjoy vanilla ice-cream."

What does it say about society?

"Settling for a partner, at any cost, is better than independence."

What does it say about the nearsighted woman that she is now blind and still able to love him? Love is blind. Literally.

*Speculation on the beginning of the movie: Who are the donkeys (asses)? Perhaps the ass is "the animal that nobody wants to be". Was the murder of the ass a mercy killing or an act of revenge? Is the ass who gets shot, David? If so, was it his ex-wife who shot him, perhaps, out of shame or pity? Was it the Loner Leader? Or was the Loner Leader the other ass? Were either of them the shortsighted woman? The introduction may have no connection to the plot but it leaves the open-ended question of what would motivate someone to kill the ass?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwNov 25, 2016
The Lobster has a very interesting concept, and it feels like a reboot of The Twilight Zone. The film sometimes suffers with acting though, as Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz don't seem to have the right chemistry for this type of film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantMay 21, 2016
One of the most unusual -- and thought-provoking -- films to come along in quite a while. Its decidedly offbeat humor and wry symbolism work wonders in skewering everything from the current superficial state of courting rituals andOne of the most unusual -- and thought-provoking -- films to come along in quite a while. Its decidedly offbeat humor and wry symbolism work wonders in skewering everything from the current superficial state of courting rituals and relationship matters to the pressures of social conformity, regardless of which end of the polarized ideological spectrum one resides. The film admittedly becomes a little bogged down in the second hour, going off on tangents that could have easily been deleted, but, on balance, "The Lobster" represents a thoughtful, satirical look at where we stand as a society -- and, one hopes, where we'll resist the temptation to go. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
shoulderoforionMay 13, 2016
I liked this movie alot, thought it was going to be some way out there eurotrash but ended up feeling that it was great. Best movie I'd seen Colin Farrell in since In Bruges & Rachel Weisz and Olivia Coleman are always the best.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
8
royledesma90Jan 13, 2017
Como sería un mundo donde todo lo sistemático fuese lo mas extremo que te podes imaginar? Cada decisión tiene una regla. En este film donde la realidad refleja, a través de toques de comedia, la absurdo que puede llegar a ser todo en la vida.Como sería un mundo donde todo lo sistemático fuese lo mas extremo que te podes imaginar? Cada decisión tiene una regla. En este film donde la realidad refleja, a través de toques de comedia, la absurdo que puede llegar a ser todo en la vida. Y que por mas cursi que suene, el amor es lo mas importante de todo. Lo mejor: la originalidad del guion. Muy recomendable Score: 8 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
meyersccaMay 13, 2016
Beautiful cinematography, almost felt a bit Wes Anderson-y. The dark humour was great. It slowed down quite a bit towards the end but still kept you intrigued nonetheless.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Cray-1Jul 11, 2016
I really enjoyed this film. Although be warned, it's a black comedy. A fairly British black comedy so if you don't gel with it, you won't like any of it. If you do however, it's amazingly thought provoking and very funny. If tricky to watchI really enjoyed this film. Although be warned, it's a black comedy. A fairly British black comedy so if you don't gel with it, you won't like any of it. If you do however, it's amazingly thought provoking and very funny. If tricky to watch at times.

People have criticised the acting, in the negative reviews without realising that the choices are deliberate and of course necessary. There's a great interview with Colin Farrell about it if you look for it.

The best way to watch this film is to know as little about it as you can. Realise it's about single people and couples. It's an almost Brazil (the film) like future. I didn't think Colin Farrell could do something like this, but he's perfect. Ben Whishaw knocks it out the park. And the interactions between Farrell, Whishaw and his 'daughter' was one of the funniest moments in the film. It's the cream of the crop in terms of affordable British cast. And the timing is spot on.

The film will stay with me for a good while so I'm not sure I can watch it again soon, but would certainly recommend it to others.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Jan 20, 2019
A bizarre focusing for love stories. The idea of "what If" works so fine in the first hour, but in last minutes feels like were running out of gas. However, the end in ellipsis is functional as ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tobisanJan 4, 2017
The weirdest movie I have seen in a long time, but weird in a good way. A very original story of a dystopian world with funny and disturbing scenes. Colin Farell did a great job, one of his bests performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeJan 16, 2018
i think we are a match..

The Lobster

The narration, key points, comedy, plot and background score everything is dark here from head to toe and Yorgos still qualifies it to offer a message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kman5473Mar 2, 2017
Very well-thought-out world, and I love that the characters so excellently abide by its rules. Performances by all are fantastic. This feels like the twisted and black sheep cousin to Wes Anderson films. There is such a fantastic use ofVery well-thought-out world, and I love that the characters so excellently abide by its rules. Performances by all are fantastic. This feels like the twisted and black sheep cousin to Wes Anderson films. There is such a fantastic use of absurdity in the film. Cinematography is fantastic, and the color correction is great. I really feel like I've been taken to a different world. I think my only issue with this, and most films that are this deadpan and dry, is there is an intense lack of excitement and connectivity. The angels lack intimacy, and though it is a stylistic choice to keep the audience from getting too close to any one character, it leaves me feeling cold. This choice is completely justified, I just don't know if "The Lobster," has much re-watchability factor in it. Again--it's irrelevant to what the director was going for, it's just personal taste. This film does exactly what it is setup to do though, so from a storytelling and technical standpoint, it lands and it lands gracefully. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 13, 2016
The Lobster has laid immediate claim to being one of the weirdest films I have ever seen. Wowzers this one is an odd little flick, yet is certainly brilliant at times. Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz are phenomenal in both emotionally intimateThe Lobster has laid immediate claim to being one of the weirdest films I have ever seen. Wowzers this one is an odd little flick, yet is certainly brilliant at times. Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz are phenomenal in both emotionally intimate and distant roles (you have to see to understand), while the direction from Yorgos Lanthimos is assured and very good. Under the watch of a lesser talent, The Lobster would be a complete mess. Under Lanthimos, however, it is a fantastically enjoying film. From being a great look at romance in the modern era, being truly funny, and moving, The Lobster's only sin is the great amount of violence against animals. This is not really a cinematic critique, but I do not really appreciate that amount of violence against animals, particularly dogs. Call me a prude, but not my thing. Regardless, The Lobster is still a great film that is wildly entertaining and shows just how quirky and downright weird film can get. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
Jack97Dec 22, 2016
The tone is kinda depressing but it fits the world and the characters of the story. The Lobster has a unique and original premise that engages you throughout, even if the last act drags a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeMay 14, 2016
Another peculiar dystopian tale set in the future.

From the director of the Oscars nominated movie 'Dogtooth'. If you are familiar with his signature movie, you will find it so good. This is not the best movie I had seen that set in the
Another peculiar dystopian tale set in the future.

From the director of the Oscars nominated movie 'Dogtooth'. If you are familiar with his signature movie, you will find it so good. This is not the best movie I had seen that set in the future, but like any other it was another dystopian tale. A black comedy-romance with a decent storyline, performances and overall a nice entertainer.

The pace was very depressing, but I kept hooked to it for its frequent unpredictable scenes. The first act took place in a hotel which is the introduction to the odd world and the situation where the plot opens. When it moved to the 2nd half, especially after Rachel Weisz come into the frame, the entire scenario changed to atypical romance mode and kept that way till the last with a simple twist in the finale.

Colin Ferrell's character was something like the one from the movie 'Her'. But not the same movie, or the theme, except the combination of the genres. It was a good movie, I enjoyed it, but not as much as others say they did. IMPO, it is a one time watch movie for its peculiarness.

7/10
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJan 4, 2017
The movie started very well. In fact, the first half of the movie was very good. The second half, was, unfortunately, a lot more boring and uninteresting. The story was original, the acting was very good and the whole movie was well made.The movie started very well. In fact, the first half of the movie was very good. The second half, was, unfortunately, a lot more boring and uninteresting. The story was original, the acting was very good and the whole movie was well made. Even though the second half wasn't as good as the first, it was still a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
badgerryan19May 19, 2017
Good film. Superb acting, a very strange but thrilling idea. Def not for everyone but this is a gem that not a lot of people will see.Also Colin gives a fantastic performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
donaldistJun 18, 2016
A dystopian satire in which a totalitarian society runs romance like an airless Kafkaesque nightmare that doesn't work even remotely on an allegorical level- the few pointed moments rest in side comments about the "removal of the bisexualA dystopian satire in which a totalitarian society runs romance like an airless Kafkaesque nightmare that doesn't work even remotely on an allegorical level- the few pointed moments rest in side comments about the "removal of the bisexual option" and "assigning children to fighting couples". Doesn't really matter too much, as the film is damned funny, and if a movie makes me laugh, problems about its grander ambitions seem less significant.
I think I would have really dug this movie if it had stuck to one element of its well-constructed world and really milked it for its worth. "Hapless man attempts to fake heartlessness in order to win over the Heartless Woman" is the best and funniest portion of the film, and really makes for a good logline for a film of its own.
Needlessly precise rating: 63/100, or B
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
knowmoviesnoseAug 5, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have mixed feelings about this one. I chose it on a whim as the title intrigued me, and I really enjoy Rachel Weisz as an actress, and I wanted to see Colin Farrell in this sort of role, especially after watching some of his acting on "True Detective." One thing this movie is definitely not is boring because it keeps you continuously guessing upon the absurd deluge of dialogue and happenings. At times, it is very funny and odd; others, it really does use allegory or juxtaposition to sober the heart as to what it means to feel truly alone in the world, how "simple" love can seem, yet how far away it really can be to obtain (and even some of the desperate things those people do to be coupled up with not even the right person). The structured way in which the writer and directors set up these two extreme Utopian societies where in one: love is the only way out and in the other: love is the one way to self destruction, it forces the viewer to keep examining the delicate relationships between humans and even the need for both space and intimacy. I even found it impressive how awkward I felt at times, and at others, wondering why the "need" for these certain rules and shared "flaws" in order to be a match for each other, but it also helped me understand (in the same way that some other small examples stood out that left deeper imprints about bigger issues) that they were necessary in order for the viewer to feel what the director was trying to convey, which I will leave for you to figure out for yourself. I would recommend for a one time watch on a day that you might be in the mood for a dark comedy. Note: It is funny, but do not watch if you are wanting a big huge light hearted laugh. This movie is not that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewDec 13, 2016
If you go on the website for The Lobster, it has a wonderfully clever way of introducing you to the film, as well as what the film is all about. As soon as you enter the site, it will ask you a series of questions that will determine whatIf you go on the website for The Lobster, it has a wonderfully clever way of introducing you to the film, as well as what the film is all about. As soon as you enter the site, it will ask you a series of questions that will determine what second-chance animal you should pick if you do not find love. At the end of the brief quiz, you will be given three choices based on your answers. From there, you have to pick one, and that’s the animal you have to turn into if you do not find the right mate in forty-five days. From there, you can have a second-chance at love as a dog, cat, fish, flamingo, or whatever. My three animals I ended up with was a bison, gorilla, and horse. Of which one I decided to turn into, that is for you to find out.

This strange consideration of our sex life perfectly sums up everything talked about in the European satirical drama, The Lobster, with a call to revision on how an aristocratic society controls our path to satisfaction with a significant other.

What’s shocking is that this dystopian world does not look far off from where we are now. Considering our high expectations surrounding sexual preference and gender roles, filmmakers in Europe knew that it was time to make a psychodrama like this to depict how our revision of sexual stimulation will change in the next few years.

Within this future, we are put in the shoes of David, a loner abandoned by his wife who has become numb over time to light and noise. In fact, neither he nor anyone else in his life show any hint of feeling at all. A calming narration by a mystery woman tells about how he is left to live in a hospital with restricting rules: he can’t keep any of his personal belongings, he must wear one of their identical change of clothes, and within his forty-five day stay there, he must find love with another woman, or be turned into the animal of his choosing. In this case, he chose a lobster for its long lifespan. Whoever the narrator of this story is meant to be, by the film‘s final moments, the cruciality of the voice’s identity will become clear.

In this unsettling world, change for healthy relationships is initiated as they teach the men that they must be dependent on a lover, and the women are taught how their safety is dependent on a man. The staff even goes as far as punishing secret masturbators with a toaster to the hand. If there are any loners hiding out in the moss-infested woods nearby, they are captured by patients with tranquilizer darts and sent to the well-maintained seaside hospital.

The surreal nature of this motion picture feels complete with a disruptive baroque musical, creating a haunting beat you will never remove from your memory. It evokes the lack of apparent fear, making the peacocks and camels seen wandering the woods feel expectant. The only change of thought the characters ever express is when a brother-turned-dog meets an unfortunate fate, and a girl’s failed suicide attempt. It turns out though that creating a world without feeling generates all sorts of challenges for even the greatest of cinema artists.

While the characters certainly don’t feel much, neither does the audience. A motion picture like this one ought to show master over orchestrating the audience to feel what the character’s don’t, which The Lobster does not fully succeed at. It gets harder to keep up with everything as well with the second half, when everything becomes practically a different type of movie with new characters and a new setting.

But it doesn’t make The Lobster any less brilliant in its call to reconsideration of our own emotions. Director Yorgos Lanthimos makes it plainly clear how animals these days have a healthier concept of romance than we people do, as the turnaround of one man chained by unnecessary rules speaks to us.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
Slovenly_MuseSep 1, 2018
The mounting absurdity of the premise is made all the sweeter by the film's deadpan delivery. It offers a refreshing and fascinating take on relationships and loneliness, but the film unfortunately plateaus in its final third and goes on aThe mounting absurdity of the premise is made all the sweeter by the film's deadpan delivery. It offers a refreshing and fascinating take on relationships and loneliness, but the film unfortunately plateaus in its final third and goes on a touch too long. If you like movies that need you to put in some brain power, give this one a shot! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SchroederRockJun 13, 2016
The Lobster is odd, a bit foreign and sometimes genius. The cast is delightful if a bit strange for the setting and the movie is definitely going to have a hard time appealing to modern comedy fans. Still, while I wasn't overly amused by theThe Lobster is odd, a bit foreign and sometimes genius. The cast is delightful if a bit strange for the setting and the movie is definitely going to have a hard time appealing to modern comedy fans. Still, while I wasn't overly amused by the movie's strange premise, it does invite some fun moments. I'm not really going to recommend this to anyone I know because I have a wider comedic taste than most of my friends and, if I didn't get a big kick out of it, their chances of getting anything is even less. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
jgzegerMar 17, 2017
Although not without some entertainment value, strange is the operative word for this film, and you really have to be receptive to something very unusual in order to truly like it. As for me, it was a bit too odd for my liking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SnidelyWhiplashDec 17, 2016
People don't seem to understand that a movie being weird is not a reason to rate it badly. This film smartly presented its material in some ways, and in others was completely blunt and beat you over the head with its message. This was okay atPeople don't seem to understand that a movie being weird is not a reason to rate it badly. This film smartly presented its material in some ways, and in others was completely blunt and beat you over the head with its message. This was okay at first, but after a couple times it lost the effect. Which leads to the films main problem, it's to long and stretched to thin in the second half, which causes the film to become stale. Were this film to continue the main themes from the first half into the second it could proceed with a clearer and more entertaining narrative. But then tries to develop new ones half way through, which made the film drag on and end with an unfinished feeling. Were it not for the second half I would give this film an 8 or 9 but it fumbled greatly and left me with an impartial feeling. Give it a watch yourself, if you are not a film buff you probably wont like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
whatdafrakJun 2, 2016
This movie had me hooked from the beginning, but the tonal shifts and lack of empathy I had for the characters really put me off toward the end. A noble effort, and one day I may revisit and like it more, but not the homerun I was hoping forThis movie had me hooked from the beginning, but the tonal shifts and lack of empathy I had for the characters really put me off toward the end. A noble effort, and one day I may revisit and like it more, but not the homerun I was hoping for based on the trailer. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
Said01Aug 10, 2016
I give it a six for originallity. It changes from the rest of the movies and the actors were very good. But the story was too weird for me it was even disturbing and towards the end I got a little bored.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
MovieRiffingAug 2, 2019
Yorgos Lanthimos' The Lobster opens spectacularly, inviting your imagination to explore the grand dystopian future it presents. It proceeds to dole out sharp commentary on society's pressure to find and maintain a relationship at any cost,Yorgos Lanthimos' The Lobster opens spectacularly, inviting your imagination to explore the grand dystopian future it presents. It proceeds to dole out sharp commentary on society's pressure to find and maintain a relationship at any cost, even by introducing a child to the dysfunction. However, all this goes to waste as The Lobster overstays its welcome. Without much more to say, the film drags along, promising a grand revelation in its finale. Alas, the final scene was telegraphed long ago to anyone paying attention, and lingers in the air like rotting shellfish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lancekozJan 18, 2017
I rate it a five, there is about half a good movie in this. It has a funny opening premise, a gloomy satire of some unspoken aspects of society... but then runs out of imagination and humor. In the process, it becomes trivial. The oddlyI rate it a five, there is about half a good movie in this. It has a funny opening premise, a gloomy satire of some unspoken aspects of society... but then runs out of imagination and humor. In the process, it becomes trivial. The oddly robotic acting that most of the characters have becomes annoying after a bit, and everything wears out the original good impression. Could've been fun if much shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ClariseSamuelsOct 23, 2016
An attempt at a latter-day Theatre of the Absurd, this screenplay does not have the intellectual charm of a Samuel Beckett or Eugene Ionesco, or even for that matter, an Arthur Schnitzler. But with Colin Farrell, Rachel Weisz, Léa Seydoux,An attempt at a latter-day Theatre of the Absurd, this screenplay does not have the intellectual charm of a Samuel Beckett or Eugene Ionesco, or even for that matter, an Arthur Schnitzler. But with Colin Farrell, Rachel Weisz, Léa Seydoux, and Ben Whishaw on board, there is certainly no shortage of talent in this production. The basic premise is a dystopian state that does not allow people to be single. If you ever noted on a Saturday night that our society is a couples’ world, this film takes that observation over the top and into the realm of science fiction, where it may actually qualify for the mild horror genre.

At first the viewer will be intrigued by the drama of a basic dilemma—if you don’t find the perfect match at the hotel to which you are sent, then you will be transformed into the animal of your choice. The film’s protagonist David (Colin Farrell) says he wants to be a lobster if he doesn’t meet his match. A match entails finding someone with whom you share a salient characteristic such as nearsightedness, cold-heartedness, or even a medical condition such as constant nosebleeds. David fakes cold-heartedness to match up with someone he doesn’t care about and is found out. The punishment is severe, so he escapes this sick version of a honeymoon hotel and becomes a “loner,” part of a group of renegades who lives by their wits in the woods. Their leader (Léa Seydoux) is just as bizarre as the Fascist dictators she has rejected. Loners are prohibited from forming relationships with each other, and because they are constantly being hunted, they all have to dig their own grave so as not to inconvenience the others when they are killed.

For most of the film, there is a heavy emphasis on conversation rather than action. Because living in an emotionally suppressed society makes for insipid conversation, these people drone on relentlessly about uneventful trivia. The characters are robotic citizens who talk slowly, react slowly, and are too boring.

David finally finds some meaning in life when he falls in love with an equally nearsighted loner (Rachel Weisz). Thus, the second half of the film is about the dilemma of two loners illegally caught in a romance and the drastic measures to which they resort to escape their fate. The background music is a squeaky violin meant to underline the already unsubtle message of the film—romance has turned into something grim, tawdry, and unrecognizable in this fictional universe. Even true love, rare though it may be, in this context is merely another outlandish and depressing proposition. There is no redemption to be found here, no ray of hope, and the pervasive hopelessness unfortunately tries the viewer’s patience to its limits.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
VonSeuxMay 27, 2016
"The lobster" is weird for the sake of being weird... not a movie I can easily recommend. Maybe would be better as a 40 minutes episode of Black Mirror.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
5
SojumDec 25, 2016
Wes Anderson on downers and about 30 minutes too long. So much effort into making the characters unemotional makes them unrelatable, leaving only moments and situations the only place for the viewer to connect. Even the awkward narrativeWes Anderson on downers and about 30 minutes too long. So much effort into making the characters unemotional makes them unrelatable, leaving only moments and situations the only place for the viewer to connect. Even the awkward narrative strains for unpleasantness. That makes for some wry, observations and humor but is dreadfully hard to endure for the length of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jrodfilmsJun 4, 2016
the first half is better than the second. its good, but it could have been a lot better. still its worth checking out, i must admit the score can end up being annoying.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryJun 4, 2016
Colin Farrell gained 40 pounds to make him dowdy for his character, a single man checking into a special hotel. He has 45 days to find a new mate or he'll be turned into the animal of his choosing (guess what he chose?). Yes, this is anColin Farrell gained 40 pounds to make him dowdy for his character, a single man checking into a special hotel. He has 45 days to find a new mate or he'll be turned into the animal of his choosing (guess what he chose?). Yes, this is an alternate world (think Charlie Kaufman) with strict rules and weird procedures. The quiet wit and peculiar circumstances start with compelling imagination. By the 2nd hour, the narrative deteriorates into a slow-moving romance with more meanness and less humor. The actors speak with stilted stiffness and minimal emotion. While the absurdist setup is interesting and the payoff is equally weird, the film loses creative momentum. This must have been interesting for Farrell, but I hope he can lose that gut. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
GinaKMay 31, 2016
I read this was a very funny satire. It’s about as funny as the old 1984 film with John Hurt, except Hurt was not as lethargic as Colin Farrell’s David. Had anyone been laughing, I would have heard them. Not even a chuckle. But I am ratingI read this was a very funny satire. It’s about as funny as the old 1984 film with John Hurt, except Hurt was not as lethargic as Colin Farrell’s David. Had anyone been laughing, I would have heard them. Not even a chuckle. But I am rating this film low for one reason – it was much too long. Lanthimos is also not a very interesting director visually, which is probably why no one asks him to direct action films. Too many of the forest scenes, especially, were very “in your face,” although maybe it was so we could see the rabbits, who were all probably former humans, and which would then mean this was a joke about fecundity. Are you laughing? The performances were very good, and I guess we all got the point. After the screening, the theater invites you to leave a note about the film with a letter grade and a short comment. The funniest thing I saw all day was one of these notes, which read “Can’t wait for Lobster II.” Oh, God, no! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
GiappomanAug 26, 2018
The idea per se is very intriguing. The realization, though, is quite poor, especially in the second half of the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
tethysdustSep 27, 2016
The first part of the film was actually quite funny and satirizes attitudes about relationships in an absurd way. I think it would have worked much better for me as a short film. Once the first climax of the plot hit, the film lost myThe first part of the film was actually quite funny and satirizes attitudes about relationships in an absurd way. I think it would have worked much better for me as a short film. Once the first climax of the plot hit, the film lost my interest. I kept watching to the end, but it was just more boring and depressing story that wasn't really lightened anymore by the absurdity of the world. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Benkoko11Feb 23, 2017
One of the strangest films of the year, perhaps of all time. The Lobster is a highly sylized sci-fi subversion of sexuality, relationships, and the concept of the nuclear family that is at its best when it weilds its bizarre surrealism andOne of the strangest films of the year, perhaps of all time. The Lobster is a highly sylized sci-fi subversion of sexuality, relationships, and the concept of the nuclear family that is at its best when it weilds its bizarre surrealism and absurdist humor but it loses steam in the second act. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
NerdConsultantMay 13, 2016
The first english speaking film from Greek Director Yorgos Lanthimos and based on the reception i heard from my friends in Greece i was hyped for it, sadly it's not good, whilst this film did have some decent performances in it, it doesn’tThe first english speaking film from Greek Director Yorgos Lanthimos and based on the reception i heard from my friends in Greece i was hyped for it, sadly it's not good, whilst this film did have some decent performances in it, it doesn’t change the fact that this is one of the most pretentious pieces of twaddle that had everyone laughing in the cinema despite the fact that it was meant to be taken 100 percent seriously, the premise is the actors couple off or face being turned into animals, yes, seriously we have to take this 100% seriously , and they have to speak some horrifically awful dialogue. it's a movie that's thinks it's saying more than it really is. I just wanted out of the cinema! Expand
4 of 17 users found this helpful413
All this user's reviews
3
Truth_TellerMay 27, 2016
Don't waste your time! This movie is very bizarre, it feels a lot like a Wes Anderson. For some reason critics always love these very long and boring movies. Maybe they are giving points for "originality" however even though the plot isDon't waste your time! This movie is very bizarre, it feels a lot like a Wes Anderson. For some reason critics always love these very long and boring movies. Maybe they are giving points for "originality" however even though the plot is certainly unique, it is fantasy that is made to be taken seriously. The tone doesn't make sense, the movie doesn't make sense. I came away thinking someone on drugs had made it.

All in all, I gave it a 3/10 for uniqueness, acting, and because I chuckled during one scene.
Expand
4 of 18 users found this helpful414
All this user's reviews
3
RalfbergsDec 25, 2016
I just knew that the official critics instead the casual folk will give great scores for this - just because it's an art piece or whatever, while if you are an average movie watcher, then the movie is a bit too weird. Of course, that's theI just knew that the official critics instead the casual folk will give great scores for this - just because it's an art piece or whatever, while if you are an average movie watcher, then the movie is a bit too weird. Of course, that's the way mindf**k movies work and this is definitely something like it. It wasn't that bad at the beginning ,the idea of the movie is original - and somewhat reflects the actual society and everyone pushing us to find our significant other etc. Here they take it over the top a bit and show what would happen. But there were so many dumb things, especially towards the end, which did not make much sense. I mean if you like those artsy type movies you will enjoy this one, but I don't so I actually even wonder how I made it and watched the whole movie here. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
ILoveBF1Jul 6, 2019
Its story is a horrible mess and this is damaged further by the terrible pacing. Characters just come and go and you won't feel anything. Story has a good ring to it but the execution is so bad that it was wasted. It was rushed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
NoahCowardDec 10, 2016
I am giving "The Lobster" a 1 just to be charitable and because it's a pretty good cast. Otherwise, do yourself an enormous favor and skip this movie which critics love. If you watch movies to be entertained, probably not for you. If youI am giving "The Lobster" a 1 just to be charitable and because it's a pretty good cast. Otherwise, do yourself an enormous favor and skip this movie which critics love. If you watch movies to be entertained, probably not for you. If you watch movies to make time slow down, "The Lobster" will do very nicely.

Not necessarily worse than "45 years" but in that conversation.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
fungusgnatJun 17, 2016
Film opens with a close-up of a woman driving . . . and driving . . . and driving some more. After a long minute or so, she pulls over, walks to a nearby paddock where donkeys are grazing, pulls out a pistol and shoots one of them twice,Film opens with a close-up of a woman driving . . . and driving . . . and driving some more. After a long minute or so, she pulls over, walks to a nearby paddock where donkeys are grazing, pulls out a pistol and shoots one of them twice, then leaves. Like much else in this film, this may or may not be funny, depending on your perspective. But that is as good as it gets. The story involves a newly single man who is enrolled in a . . . let’s call it a matchmaking program, at a secluded hotel with other singles; those who fail to find a match are transformed into an animal of their choosing (our hero picks a lobster, thus the title). There is a lot of set-up, some adventure, occasional cruelty, a little romance, and a few laughs – although there is a black-comic undercurrent to the whole thing, as if Lanthimos was trying for a Jim Jarmusch mood. Recommended only for the serious cineaste or the aficionado of the offbeat. Major trigger warning for animal lovers (and the donkey isn’t the worst of it). Me, I checked my watch, something I rarely do in the theater. There were 20 minutes left. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
1
GreatMartinJun 3, 2016
At least 2-3 times a year I get suckered into seeing a movie from seeing a trailer or hearing that it got 5 star reviews, it has an Oscar nominated director, a solid cast lead by an A list actor, sounds and/or looks different or for manyAt least 2-3 times a year I get suckered into seeing a movie from seeing a trailer or hearing that it got 5 star reviews, it has an Oscar nominated director, a solid cast lead by an A list actor, sounds and/or looks different or for many various reasons. For some, if not all the reasons listed, I went, with Allen and Philippe to see "The Lobster".

Walking out of the movie the best part was overhearing the audience making comments and reading the cremarks they left on The Gateway Theatre audience comment board. Oh yes, and listening to what Philippe and Allen had to say. One of them hit it on the head when they said "It was weird!" Allen was trying to make it more or less a time of the world in the very far future but that didn't fit in with cars and trucks of today among other things.

The premise is that being coupled is better and safer than being single. A person who is single for any various reasons has 45 days to find a partner or be turned into an animal of their choice. After that you are on your own folks!

Should you be intolerant of animal cruelity stay away from this movie though human beings aren't spared either and most in the audience kept their eyes closed in the last scene.

(I'm blaming Allen for putting us through this 1 hour and 58 minutes movie as all he had to say was that we should see something else!)
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
1
DavidnbJun 5, 2016
I am perfectly willing to be challenges, even disturbed by a movie, but this disgusting, sadistic piece of garbage goes beyond the pall. For a dystopian vision of the future to work, the audience needs to be able to say, yes, that couldI am perfectly willing to be challenges, even disturbed by a movie, but this disgusting, sadistic piece of garbage goes beyond the pall. For a dystopian vision of the future to work, the audience needs to be able to say, yes, that could happen. I am not referring to the humans the metamorphoses, that is a matter of willing suspension of disbelief, and that's fine, I just don't see any basis to believe this vision of the future could ever happen. I cannot tell you how much I hated this movie. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
1
pdw123Jun 4, 2016
Wow! What a big big big big disappointment this was at my Utah film society today, after literally waiting weeks for it to come out, and looking at the rave critic scores. After reading the synopsis and watching part of the trailer, IWow! What a big big big big disappointment this was at my Utah film society today, after literally waiting weeks for it to come out, and looking at the rave critic scores. After reading the synopsis and watching part of the trailer, I thought it would be a relevant commentary on the newly repressed category of SINGLE folks in America, along with other minority and oppressed demographic groups that are having trouble at the voting polls these days, but discriminated against in other areas of life as well (thus the new portion of the identifier QIA or QUILTBAG, to the LGBT we've known for years now).

And for the original and classical piano soundtrack and about only 2 belly laughs that were antithetical to the total and miserable dreariness and snail's pace for the rest of the time, I'll give it only one point.

And, I'll say here pointedly to the producers and actors involved: WOW! What an incredibly missed opportunity here, with some new and incredible subject matter in today's world to build upon. But what happened instead was a devolving and true mess, trying to make several points about all sectors of society, and missing the main point about single vs. married stereotypes and thus some really great humor and irony, entirely. IN THE FUTURE, QUIT TRYING TO MARKET TO SO MANY GROUPS AT ONCE, AND FOCUSING ON EVERYTHING, and THUS LOSING THE FOCUS !!! JEEEZZZ!! This was an extraordinary mess, plus waste of money, plus waste of time traveling hours on the bus to see it. And if you want me to see future independent films in theaters anymore, you'll finally quit it with this careless schlock and make real films again along with the money which will follow great art, which this wasn't by any stretch whatsoever. LATER!!
Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
1
clarifiedJun 7, 2016
Spare yourself - In my opinion this film is a complete waste of time and money. Crude, strange, dystopian fantasy. Some scenes were so repellent that I had to avert my gaze.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
1
granetoAug 15, 2016
The film is smug and deliberately off putting. The sadomasochistic violence is all in fun, but it is very difficult to tell that this is satire. A very unpleasant experience.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
drone41Feb 9, 2018
Another hippie movie from Yorgos Lanthimos. Don't understand point, and i want to never understand it. Grotesque.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
bradovskyFeb 19, 2019
I am all for being challenged and taken to new places by independent cinema but this is just pretentious twaddle with no substance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
gfnyJun 14, 2016
Rarely is there a film so devoid of any meaningful content that it rates a zero. This film is one of them. There is nothing but nonsense. Some of the newspaper critics may think it's trendy to give it a 100, but I don't understand howRarely is there a film so devoid of any meaningful content that it rates a zero. This film is one of them. There is nothing but nonsense. Some of the newspaper critics may think it's trendy to give it a 100, but I don't understand how anyone can see this film and see anything entertaining. Save your popcorn for another film. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
SSH83Oct 29, 2016
Imagine a blind teenage boy, exceptionally blood thirsty and ignorant. Pump him full of drug... then give him pen and paper and ask him write a cinematic masterpiece. This is what would come out of it. The Lobster's attempts at literatureImagine a blind teenage boy, exceptionally blood thirsty and ignorant. Pump him full of drug... then give him pen and paper and ask him write a cinematic masterpiece. This is what would come out of it. The Lobster's attempts at literature is as immature as they are moronic. The only way to like this movie is if you smoke a pound of weed before, during and after it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
CzarKingKaiserAug 29, 2016
Man, this movie is AWFUL. Both my wife and I, without telling each other, checked the running time of this movie in the middle of it. I was *this* close to walking out. People laughed when the movie was over. The theater's disappointment wasMan, this movie is AWFUL. Both my wife and I, without telling each other, checked the running time of this movie in the middle of it. I was *this* close to walking out. People laughed when the movie was over. The theater's disappointment was palpable.

We went to see it based on the reviews here, and afterwards, I felt compelled to come back here and take another look at them. I was thinking that maybe I'd missed something? Nope, nothing about this movie makes sense. The whole movie seemed so pointless. There's no denying that it's "artsy" and "risky", but the risks don't pay off. Avoid this movie unless you're trying to punish yourself.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
urbanmagicMay 15, 2016
This film is dreadful! Ponderous and pretentious beyond measure. The exodus from the screening I attended began at around 30 minutes in. If we'd been wise, we'd have left then. As it is, we stayed another torturous 30 minutes until it wasThis film is dreadful! Ponderous and pretentious beyond measure. The exodus from the screening I attended began at around 30 minutes in. If we'd been wise, we'd have left then. As it is, we stayed another torturous 30 minutes until it was utterly clear just how insufferable this poor excuse for a movie was. I can only assume that the critics all got together and smoked a huge quantity of crack before they saw this thing and wrote a good review of it. Nothing else can explain their confusing film student shocks as profundity. This rates as one of the worst films I have ever seen. I urge you to not even enter a theatre where it's playing. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
0
MiklJun 23, 2016
One of the worst movies I've seen in this century. They took a great premise and drove it into the ground with crappy acting (although the script ensured that) and an intrusively bad score. One reviewer commented that this is a Best PictureOne of the worst movies I've seen in this century. They took a great premise and drove it into the ground with crappy acting (although the script ensured that) and an intrusively bad score. One reviewer commented that this is a Best Picture contender, but I'm not sure on which planet those awards will be given out. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
shermyJun 22, 2016
Just saw it This movie may have a humorous premise but in my view the movies is about cruelty Who will remember a funny line from a movie filled with misery and gratuitous savagery. All the Comedy Central standups couldn't jovialize aJust saw it This movie may have a humorous premise but in my view the movies is about cruelty Who will remember a funny line from a movie filled with misery and gratuitous savagery. All the Comedy Central standups couldn't jovialize a scene where a nice pet dog's body is found lying a in pool of blood and guts. But, in all fairness, the nearly robotic (think dog on dog) sex scenes may be remembered simply because they are sex scenes,

The cruelty is not novel to the plot. Cold, viscous, amoral characters are a dime a dozen in the movies. Come to think of it, a live lobster being boiled to death is a decent metaphor for this movie.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
0
SweaterGuyOct 24, 2016
The worst movie of all time? Do not waste you time. Looking for a good ending? No way, it just gets worse and worse and worse and worse.Torture, without question.. It's like putting your hand in a toaster. You'll stop watching as I did, theThe worst movie of all time? Do not waste you time. Looking for a good ending? No way, it just gets worse and worse and worse and worse.Torture, without question.. It's like putting your hand in a toaster. You'll stop watching as I did, the annoying music, the pointless characters and plot, the depressing weather - this film is one big pile of you know what. Do yourself a favor and watch anything else. This movie is horrible. The only satisfying thing about it - is turing it off. Like I just did. 90 minutes plus of my life, gone forever. The joke is on anyone who wastes there time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
VagueShapeJan 8, 2019
Easily one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The whole thing is a pretentious dung heap for pseudo-intellectuals. If anything could be said in its favor it is that the initial plot is interesting as a concept. However it quickly exhaustsEasily one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The whole thing is a pretentious dung heap for pseudo-intellectuals. If anything could be said in its favor it is that the initial plot is interesting as a concept. However it quickly exhausts itself as an intellectual property by focusing on petty vulgarity and injecting a violence angle. Lost in a sea of its own decadence it then sloppily ends with a completely unlikely turn of events as established by the rest of the film that was allegedly "intelligent." It doesn't leave you with a feeling of something profound, it leaves you wondering how a film that pretended to be intelligent for so long could actually be as stupid as it really is by the end. Don't waste your time on it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ChigalabagalaMay 27, 2016
I stayed until the end of the film and agree with Urbanmagic: dreadful. Also disturbing. I don't mind being disturbed if there is a worthwhile point made and one can get invested in the characters (eg. Frank). But not here where theI stayed until the end of the film and agree with Urbanmagic: dreadful. Also disturbing. I don't mind being disturbed if there is a worthwhile point made and one can get invested in the characters (eg. Frank). But not here where the dialogue and characters are stylized and wooden. If the intent was to say that people are sheep and look for superficial similarities to establish a relationship, that was accomplished in the first 25 minutes. There is no need to see this film. She Her instead, if you haven't. It has much more to say about people and relationships. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
0
tennisman342May 29, 2016
This movie is absolutely horrible and very disturbing!!! I like quirky independent films, but there is no story here worth telling. It seems to try to come across as a dark drama/comedy set in the future where single people are looked downThis movie is absolutely horrible and very disturbing!!! I like quirky independent films, but there is no story here worth telling. It seems to try to come across as a dark drama/comedy set in the future where single people are looked down upon and must be coupled within 45 days, or be transformed into an animal of their choice. At first you think the movie is trying to point out the ridiculousness of this scenario, and society has gone so far astray to even allow this, with some sympathy directed to how single people may feel from time to time. The problem with this movie is that the humor is so dark and disturbing that it ceases to be funny. Once the movie is not funny, where it is supposed to be, you then try to figure out what it is going for. The story is not that interesting as a drama, the acting is very cardboard, and none of the characters you care about. As the movie progresses, you start itching more for a payoff to the sickening feeling you get from watching the dynamic among each of the characters unfold. After about an hour into the movie, it seems like these go on auto repeat in that the story to be told has been told, and now it is just going through variations of the same thing. I sat through it till around the end. I think it had maybe 10 to 15 minutes more to go, and I just could not take it anymore and me and my wife left. I did not care to see how it ended up. Typically, when I walk out of movies (and do this from time to time), I leave within the first hour. With this move, I kept thinking the end was near, as the running time is reported to be only 119 minutes, but when as things got worse the longer this move went on, I bailed out when it seemed it should have been over a long time ago (or I guess I wanted it to be over a long time ago). Again, one of the worst movies I have ever seen with no re-deeming value. Please save your money and avoid this one. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
0
gcdanaJun 3, 2016
Total Zero...this quirky film only got worse as it went along. I wish I were drunk or on drugs...so that maybe I could relate to it better. I'm glad I had sex with my girlfriend prior to the movie, because she was so pissed after that weTotal Zero...this quirky film only got worse as it went along. I wish I were drunk or on drugs...so that maybe I could relate to it better. I'm glad I had sex with my girlfriend prior to the movie, because she was so pissed after that we didn't walk out. We unfortunately stayed to the end. So bad, you'll want to poke your damn eyes out too. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
roadlawyerJun 6, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a pretentious vile piece of animal torture porn. The lowlight is when a sociopath kicks an innocent dog to death. The director has already established the killer as a psycho. The camera focuses on her bloody shoe. Then the camera cuts to a shot of the dog lying in a pool of its own blood. What a disgusting, pointless exercise in nausea. The shot was utterly gratuitous, inhumane and redundant. I walked out and got a refund. Save your money and make a donation to PETA instead. I will never watch another movie from this perverted lowlife of a director. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
0
idelloJun 8, 2016
This movie is only for those who like absurd, sadistically disturbing humor. It kind of reminded me of a skit written by troubled 8th graders. Okay, maybe this movie makes some valid points about absurd societal norms, but I did not find itThis movie is only for those who like absurd, sadistically disturbing humor. It kind of reminded me of a skit written by troubled 8th graders. Okay, maybe this movie makes some valid points about absurd societal norms, but I did not find it to be particularly entertaining or clever. I find it disturbing that for some people "disturbing" is all it takes to impress. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
0
FrogmanSmithJun 12, 2016
Until now "Sid and Nancy" was the worst, most depressing movie I had ever seen. Not anymore! This movie is horrible. Based on the reviews I toughed it out the first hour. Then I had to see how it ended. It ended with me wanting my $15 and 2Until now "Sid and Nancy" was the worst, most depressing movie I had ever seen. Not anymore! This movie is horrible. Based on the reviews I toughed it out the first hour. Then I had to see how it ended. It ended with me wanting my $15 and 2 hours of my life back. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
0
CGTaylorJun 12, 2016
I went out to see this movie with my roommate and her boyfriend. Their friends had highly suggested the movie, so we made an outing of it. I’m not especially fond of R rated movies, and the plot seemed thin, but perhaps humorous, and II went out to see this movie with my roommate and her boyfriend. Their friends had highly suggested the movie, so we made an outing of it. I’m not especially fond of R rated movies, and the plot seemed thin, but perhaps humorous, and I convinced myself to have an open mind, and try something new.
We all regretted watching this movie and afterwards agreed: if we had been watching this at home we would have stopped after twenty minutes. I knew very little about this movie coming in, but if it was meant to be science-fiction, I saw no science; if romantic, these themes were lost in its bizarre mood similar to how pungent, rancid flavors destroy delicate ones – and if comedic, then only to those who can purge themselves of compassion and empathy.
This movie is at best a bitter, twisted satire. I pity the people who saw marriage in such a dystopian light that they could conceive such a story. While I agree that there are many things amiss with today’s standards for marriage and relationships, this movie went too far. For example, in this movie:
• Even in their desperation, people relied on insignificant, superficial similarities to find ‘mates’:
A limp, frequent nosebleeds, perfect hair, emotions or lack thereof, shortsightedness, and finally blindness – criteria that lead to the pursuit of hollow, shallow, and altogether meaningless relationships, save one near the end; but even that one was plagued by this practice.
• Single people where adamantly reminded of their ‘misery’ and given lessons in the ‘importance,’ or rather, the ‘benefits’ of being in a relationship while at the hotel, which also made it its business to encourage and engage its occupant in sexual habits that they deemed beneficial and prohibit and punish those they considered damaging to ‘relationships’.
• Brutality, however, is apparently under standard trade laws and thus monopolies are prohibited. The Loners, the alternative to society, make many allowances that the hotel and society at large prohibit whilst they live in exile. In stark contrast to the rest of the society, Loners are expected to be alone permanently: you can talk, you can come, you can go, but any sign of sexuality, of attachment, even something as fleeting as flirting, will be severely and mercilessly punished, and their leader is the typical sadistic, manipulating, power hungry psychopath that these types of movies seem to breed.
Are we superficial? Yes, we are. Do we feel pressure to be in a relationship? To have a ‘significant other’? All the time. Is the world cruel? It goes without saying. Are we all flawed? Of course we are. Do we really need a movie to tell us this in some bizarre, twisted fashion? The fact that these types of movies are on the rise is itself a satire against society. But does exacerbating the issue like this do anything? Would a doctor ever suggest rubbing filth and excrement into a wound as part of a treatment? – it would only make matters worse, and satires like this have the same effect.
If you want to help society, if you want to see it healed, you have to teach people what it means to be good, not chastise and mock them for what they didn’t know was wrong. And to do that you need to show them what it means to be good, to be wholly loved. As Antione de Saint-Exupery said, if you want to build a ship, don’t drum up people to collect wood and assign them tasks and work; teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea. Likewise, we need to teach people to long for a love that is kind, a love that is patient, loyal, humble, noble, and most of all forgiving. A love that protects, hopes, and always perseveres, not one that pretends, harms and falters.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
0
MarioGreeceJul 3, 2016
Terribly AWFUL!
Its possibly the all time worst 'serious' / 'quality' film I have ever seen in my life!
Has really pessimistic miserable atmosphere that only makes you feel utterly depressed. So messed up plot. I really can't understand
Terribly AWFUL!
Its possibly the all time worst 'serious' / 'quality' film I have ever seen in my life!
Has really pessimistic miserable atmosphere that only makes you feel utterly depressed.
So messed up plot. I really can't understand WHY this terrible movie has so high grade
& such exceptional reviews from the critics!!
Even all these great actors could not save it!
I was only dragged to rent the dvd of this film only because of the great reviews it got from the critics!
Of course afterwards I regretted big time renting this **** movie!!
This talent-LESS director makes pretty bad hella overrated films!
(Including his other trashy movie ''Dogtooth'' as well that was even nominated
for an oscar award for best language film!! I rest my case on that!)
I just don't get at all why he receives all this NON worthy high praise for his horrendous ''films''!
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
0
Keeper13Jul 10, 2016
Sometimes funny, mostly not. Sometimes brutal, mostly boring above all else. Another "artsy" film where critics pretend they like it because it's an alternative film and everyone wants to "get it.". There isn't anything deep about this film -Sometimes funny, mostly not. Sometimes brutal, mostly boring above all else. Another "artsy" film where critics pretend they like it because it's an alternative film and everyone wants to "get it.". There isn't anything deep about this film - it's silly and shallow and random, and way too long. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
0
stevenkJul 16, 2016
The Lobster. I am writing this review as a public service, for all those that do not need or want to spend their 10 dollars and 2 hours of their time being totally depressed by a meaningless piece of trash.
There are spoilers in this
The Lobster. I am writing this review as a public service, for all those that do not need or want to spend their 10 dollars and 2 hours of their time being totally depressed by a meaningless piece of trash.
There are spoilers in this review, so be aware. The idea that a pair of people, who, due to a dystopian world and a sadistic, "leader" end up having to become blind to find "true love" is just utterly ridiculous. This dystopia, where being single is illegal, going into relationship "rehab" places you in a joyless relationship, with your only other two options being made into a mutant animal, (ala the islnd of Dr Moreau), or living in the woods with a manipulative, sickening, cowardly, murderous woman, who could not evenn do battle with a woman she blinded, is just beyond depressing. Its sadistic and indescribable, at least to me. It was long, boring, depressing, with no redemptive features, whatsoever. If, perhaps, the couple had things to atone for, in their previous relationships, then, at least, their would be a story here.
I felt that there was probably an alternate ending, or endings filmed, in which you would see Farrell's character, walking away from Weisz's character, in the restaurant background, might have been interesting, but even more depressing. I will say , that the filmmaker did a great job of even making a beautiful area of either scotland or Ireland look depressing, was ann accomplishment(LOL).
Just pitiful, pitiful, pitiful.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
0
rauramrodAug 23, 2016
All I want to say about this movie is: what a piece of crap! I was left with the feeling that it was going to get better next scene, but it didn't. It's just flat.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
MarioGRSep 30, 2016
From the all time WORST ever movies I have seen in my whole life!
Really pity because some great famous actors are playing in this horrendous film though..
I really regret the time i wasted watching this torturous & deadly depressing excuse
From the all time WORST ever movies I have seen in my whole life!
Really pity because some great famous actors are playing in this horrendous film though..
I really regret the time i wasted watching this torturous & deadly depressing excuse of a film!
I was only fooled by the exceptional reviews it got from the critics shamefully!
Like the same happened with all the rest people that were also tricked to watch it as me!
Expand
1 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews