Amazon Studios | Release Date: April 14, 2017
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 246 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
161
Mixed:
67
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
lghulmJul 2, 2017
An otherwise interesting film let down by modern hollywood's obsession with political correctness. Acting ok, cinematography ok - overall could have been a lot better. As others have said there might be an ok film in there if at least 45An otherwise interesting film let down by modern hollywood's obsession with political correctness. Acting ok, cinematography ok - overall could have been a lot better. As others have said there might be an ok film in there if at least 45 minutes were cut and it didn't run overlong. A 6 if you like every possible story reflecting PC tropes, 3 otherwise. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
imthenoobJul 22, 2017
Whoever edited this movie should never edit a film again. There's too much filler. The needless 10 minute hunting scene in the beginning of the film has absolutely nothing to do with the movie at all. In fact, They time jump ahead a yearWhoever edited this movie should never edit a film again. There's too much filler. The needless 10 minute hunting scene in the beginning of the film has absolutely nothing to do with the movie at all. In fact, They time jump ahead a year immediately after it so props on that one.

The cast seems barely interested in the stuff they are doing on screen and their performances suffer. The biggest disappointment would be Hunnam. He constantly drops his accent and he really does come off as the odd man out through out the movie, It's pretty hard to watch. There were plenty of times I actually broke out laughing because he was so bad.

All in all, Don't watch it. There's not a single redeeming thing about this movie. You are better off putting 2 hours into staring at a wall or watching paint dry. Any of those things would be better than watching this.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
HairyTwotterJun 7, 2017
A "3" is generous, I think. I can sum this movie up right here: Man ruins his wife's life and squashes her dreams, while chasing his own dream. It's also a lot of white men congratulating each other. Possibly the most boring movie I've everA "3" is generous, I think. I can sum this movie up right here: Man ruins his wife's life and squashes her dreams, while chasing his own dream. It's also a lot of white men congratulating each other. Possibly the most boring movie I've ever seen. I never sleep during movies, and actually tried to do so in this one after 1.5 hours. Too effing long. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
raporgiJun 29, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. He DIES!! there I saved you a couple of hours. movie is too long and accomplishes nothing. There's no real conflict or drama. No interesting jungle action. Just a series of false starts that gets derailed by various little stupid incidents. Its just a plodding meaningless movie. Expand
1 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
2
zedzdedJul 20, 2017
Can a movie just be a movie anymore? Do writers and directors feel obliged to have to shoehorn a narrative about contemporary societal issues into every story? It's an interesting story to start with. Did we need to be hammered over the headCan a movie just be a movie anymore? Do writers and directors feel obliged to have to shoehorn a narrative about contemporary societal issues into every story? It's an interesting story to start with. Did we need to be hammered over the head with a feminist lecture about equality of the sexes (which I'm all for, by the way)? Tiresome, as if any misogynist was suddenly going to have an epiphany watching this heavy handed schtick anyway.

Also the lead actor's diction is painful and he's got the charisma of a wet sock.

Also: awful title
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
CaldersJan 5, 2018
It seems our films are currently plagued with the need to insert politics into them, instead of just telling the story the writers couldn't help themselves by inserting feminism and racism into the films. Most of the men in the film areIt seems our films are currently plagued with the need to insert politics into them, instead of just telling the story the writers couldn't help themselves by inserting feminism and racism into the films. Most of the men in the film are depicted as a caricature of boarish racist idiots. This distracts for showing the film in a realistic way. The other problem that ruins this film is the mumbling... its hard to enjoy a film when you can't understand what the characters are saying half the time (I actually turned the subtitles on). The film seems to fail to explain the main characters motivations correctly leaving them paper thin and the film becomes utterly ridiculous when they travel upstream on a river without propulsion... which way do rivers run. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
sanchopanchoJul 8, 2017
Overrated. Nothing happens. Poor writing. Way too long. As a viewer you never feel connected to the story. There's no sense of awe or mystery. There's no payoff. It's the Lost City of Zzzzzzz.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews