IFC Films | Release Date: April 29, 2016
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
19
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BeeceeMay 10, 2016
Jeremy Irons and Dev Patel do a good job of portraying a relatively uneducated math genius from India and his mentor at Cambridge during World War I. Although the math is hard to understand, the passion is clearly conveyed. So is theJeremy Irons and Dev Patel do a good job of portraying a relatively uneducated math genius from India and his mentor at Cambridge during World War I. Although the math is hard to understand, the passion is clearly conveyed. So is the racism the Indian mathematician encounters in England. Although the ending is predictable and the movie drags a bit towards the end, this movie is still well worth seeing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
enzogiovanniMay 16, 2016
More movies about scientists! I've been "introduced" to Ramanujan some 25 years ago and immediately fell in love with the story and unique character. 25 years later I have the opportunity to rediscover Ramanujan's story once again, this timeMore movies about scientists! I've been "introduced" to Ramanujan some 25 years ago and immediately fell in love with the story and unique character. 25 years later I have the opportunity to rediscover Ramanujan's story once again, this time on screen.

Note: I haven't yet seen the movie, am going to on Friday, at the moment can't comment on the movie itself, I'm just excited someone made a movie about one of the great mathematicians of all time.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
shash369May 15, 2016
This is a a real story movie! Its about a fellow genius mathematician from india and the hardship & prejudice he faces by British folks in England. Fantastic Movie!

Dev Patel has done a incredible job!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
jhepJun 7, 2016
The Man Who Knew Infinity
… is a remarkable film that is hard to “see“..... It is based on the true story of the mathematical genius Srinivasa Ramanujan whose extraordinary gifts catapulted him from obscurity to being elected a Fellow of the
The Man Who Knew Infinity
… is a remarkable film that is hard to “see“..... It is based on the true story of the mathematical genius Srinivasa Ramanujan whose extraordinary gifts catapulted him from obscurity to being elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in Great Britain and to becoming the youngest person ever to become a Fellow of Trinity College at Cambridge. ….These developments occurred in the year 1918 when Ramanujan was just 31...…The reason I say “The Man Who Knew Infinity” is “hard to see” is because it's about the culture shock which occurs when East meets West….or more exactly when WEST meets EAST; in effect film is basically dealing with the waning of a Euro-centric society addicted to the fantasy and hubris of limitless progress through science and technology (and the Cartesian rationalism-on-steroids that drives it) and what happens when such a society abruptly encounters a more comprehensive, more wholistic culture in which intuition, poetic inspiration and mysticism haven’t yet lost their influence on the human imagination: viz. West meets East…..The film stars Jeremy Irons and Dev Patel (the star of Danny Boyle‘s superb “Slumdog Millionaire”) and both are truly excellent here…..In today’s world of accelerating climate change and the out-of-control technology that powers it “The Man Who Knew Infinity” contains a message- indeed a warning- that definitely needs to be heeded.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ThomassSep 25, 2016
Simply excellent. Dev Patel provides his best work here and Jeremy Irons is excellent. This is a very tough subject to bring to the screen I mean mathematics! But done here with pathos and kept me in it all the way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
JoeCoolJun 8, 2019
A movie about, S. Ramanujan, one of the greatest mathematical geniuses to have ever lived. As a man without formal education he has a hard time understanding why the professors need to have everything proven to them and can't simply see thatA movie about, S. Ramanujan, one of the greatest mathematical geniuses to have ever lived. As a man without formal education he has a hard time understanding why the professors need to have everything proven to them and can't simply see that what he writes is true. Situated in Cambridge right before and during WW I and Ramanujan being from Indian descent pose its share of problems. While not a spectacular movie, it is well made and should move you, especially if you've studied exact sciences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlexanderLuthorDec 20, 2016
This was a truly enjoyable film on par with the Imitation Game in both quality of acting and storytelling. This film is one of this years hidden gems.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CraigEcholsOct 4, 2018
You can watch this movie two ways. You can try to immerse yourself into it and try to judge it all around. If you do this, then you won't like this movie. It is pretty vapid and while there is something there, it more filler than anything.You can watch this movie two ways. You can try to immerse yourself into it and try to judge it all around. If you do this, then you won't like this movie. It is pretty vapid and while there is something there, it more filler than anything. However, if you watch this movie with specific focus on Irons and Patel, you will be very happy. Both of those two give remarkable performances and the chemistry makes this movie (not to mention Toby Jones isn't bad either). Scenes that don't feature them don't have as much life which is a shame. It can appear convoluted and in some cases a bit esoteric in others. It does an average job of delving into the discrimination that Ramanujan faced during his time at Cambridge as well as the hardships of being away from his family. But, as mentioned earlier, it comes off as not much more than filler. This movie is worth watching and watching again based simply off the strength of Irons and Patel and I actually did enjoy it. If you can make it through the tiresome down times of the movies, there are more highs than there are lows. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smiyamotNov 21, 2016
Another movie exploring the mind of a genius and how he relates to the world around him. In this story, the genius is an Indian during British occupation so we have a racial stigma as well. Without formal education, he really doesn'tAnother movie exploring the mind of a genius and how he relates to the world around him. In this story, the genius is an Indian during British occupation so we have a racial stigma as well. Without formal education, he really doesn't understand why his formulas cannot be accepted without proving them. Hard to know genius from crackpot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews