Warner Bros. | Release Date: December 14, 2018
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 46 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
12
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
DayveDec 14, 2018
Pretty good movie. Wife loved it, and it was better than we both thought it would be.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryDec 18, 2018
Director Clint Eastwood also stars as a kindly old man who haplessly ends up transporting drugs for a Mexican cartel. Be warned, this is a gentle drama and not a typical action-filled, guns-blazing drug flick. Eastwood creates a sweetDirector Clint Eastwood also stars as a kindly old man who haplessly ends up transporting drugs for a Mexican cartel. Be warned, this is a gentle drama and not a typical action-filled, guns-blazing drug flick. Eastwood creates a sweet character with flaws: he's prioritized his job over his family, he's headstrong and he's gently-racist. There's lots of footage of him driving and singing, interacting fearlessly with his new bosses and facing his domestic faults with sometimes tiresome dramatic moments. This will not be a big hit, but Eastwood's laid back performance is quietly charming and sometimes even amusing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Dec 16, 2018
Clint Eastwood is undoubtedly a legend, both on and off camera, but his films in which he both directs and stars (Unforgiven, Million Dollar Baby, and Gran Torino to name a few), are arguably his strongest works, so, of course I was veryClint Eastwood is undoubtedly a legend, both on and off camera, but his films in which he both directs and stars (Unforgiven, Million Dollar Baby, and Gran Torino to name a few), are arguably his strongest works, so, of course I was very interested to check this one out. In this film, he plays a WWII veteran operating as a drug mule for the Mexican cartel, all while trying to make amends with his family. And despite feeling pretty standard and predictable often times, the film still has that cool and gritty vibe to it that most Eastwood fans have come to expect, with Eastwood himself turning in a reliably solid performance like usual, along with an equally strong and confident performance from Bradley Cooper as the DEA agent in pursuit of him. Like I said, it did feel predictable, and despite having a pretty good feeling about how it would end, the acting and direction from Eastwood, along with great supporting performances from the rest of the cast, and the tight cinematography and atmosphere that's set by the film makes this a worthwhile addition to Eastwood's filmography, and is just good enough to make one wonder if this might be his final film as an actor for real this time (he said the same thing when Gran Torino came out a decade ago.) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantDec 23, 2018
With the exception of "Hereafter," I've never been an especially huge fan of Clint Eastwood, either as an actor or director. However, he has surprised the heck out of me on both counts in this latest offering, a surprisingly entertaining andWith the exception of "Hereafter," I've never been an especially huge fan of Clint Eastwood, either as an actor or director. However, he has surprised the heck out of me on both counts in this latest offering, a surprisingly entertaining and emotionally engaging release about an 80-something horticulturist-turned-drug mule who changes his life (and seeks redemption for past mistakes) when he signs on to this new venture. On screen, Eastwood shows a range that I didn't think he had in him, and his directorial work is, with the exception of a few sequences that go on a little too long, surprisingly sharp. The dramatic tension of this story is also punctuated with just the right amount of comic relief to make it fun as well. This one is a real surprise, and a pleasant one at that. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
moviecritic68Dec 20, 2018
It's a good thing Clint plays his own main character to pull off the success of this film to keep this rating in the positive zone. Very slow moving story which repeated scene after scene but for the love we have for Clint it keeps its headIt's a good thing Clint plays his own main character to pull off the success of this film to keep this rating in the positive zone. Very slow moving story which repeated scene after scene but for the love we have for Clint it keeps its head above water. I give it a 6.8 overall and suggest waiting for it to come out on DVD Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsDec 27, 2018
While it can occasionally come off as one old man's disjointed musings on family, race relations, and the world, The Mule provides an entertaining and at times emotional journey through America's heartland. Clint Eastwood does some of hisWhile it can occasionally come off as one old man's disjointed musings on family, race relations, and the world, The Mule provides an entertaining and at times emotional journey through America's heartland. Clint Eastwood does some of his best acting in years, and his direction is very well done as well. The supporting cast is very strong, but they definitely take a back seat to Eastwood's character. While Nick Schenk's script leaves a few too many loose ends and puzzling scenes, there is enough here to make this an enjoyable date night movie or movie night in. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Popcorn55Dec 25, 2018
This is a fantastic recruiting film for the drug courier industry! Makes me want to sign up right away! Just a nice road trip once a month, easy driving, listen to the radio -- see America! $30K waiting at the end... not bad at all, beatsThis is a fantastic recruiting film for the drug courier industry! Makes me want to sign up right away! Just a nice road trip once a month, easy driving, listen to the radio -- see America! $30K waiting at the end... not bad at all, beats Uber driving! Wonder if there's an app for it, LOL! Actually I suppose these days, the cartels probably *do* just call a few Ubers to get their loads along the road.

All kidding aside, though, I was pleasantly surprised by this very original and engrossing, well-acted film. As you know it's closely based on a true story, and truth is always both stranger and more interesting than fiction. Very entertaining, with wry humor along the way. Thought it might be hokey and corny, but it wasn't. Very VERY similar story to "American Made", which was also based on true events and characters.

Definitely see or rent this film!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
amheretojudgeDec 26, 2018
Risky Retirement Plans.

The Mule Eastwood busts an humble and hilarious in and out mission with melodious journey jazz music and household efficient impressive tricks. No matter how dark the theme is and how much ruggedness it appeals,
Risky Retirement Plans.

The Mule

Eastwood busts an humble and hilarious in and out mission with melodious journey jazz music and household efficient impressive tricks. No matter how dark the theme is and how much ruggedness it appeals, Eastwood's mellow walk and talk amidst the high stakes nail-biting circumstances balances the film on the brisk of mediocrity. The storytelling neither grows compelling nor dull, it is a flat line on a mapped graph that is persistently gullible in its own range. Starting from the scratch, the initiative motive is often projected as a requirement that grows it to sculpt the character as a victim, but this isn't your usual venture of good and evil, this is a unique Eastwood brand.

The protagonist isn't justified or attempted to humanize through extra sequences installed forcibly, all that is left to Eastwood's constant murmuring that draws in the laugh and emotions to connect with him. Almost split into two different tone, the road trips or the so called professional life of Eastwood wins over a large margin compared to his family drama. The road trip life that he enters with baby steps is explicitly written on papers and meticulously executed on screen. With an eye on each tiny detail, from humming to various songs to point out the difference between the subsequent generations, it is a packet of pure delight.

On the other hand, the family drama is left short handed due to the rush that it possesses, somehow. Unable to clarify the reason being, the makers are obliged to cover up a whole lot of time period of the conflicts especially concerning the equation of Eastwood between his daughter. And even though it circles back to a decent convincing symmetry in the end, the inceptive stages are a bit shaky and chalky.

On terms of performance, Eastwood at the driver's seat has a not-so- Eastwood-y role to portray. Rhyming on a sarcastic tone and a real smooth conversationalist, Eastwood has both impressive one liners and cheesy sense of humor that makes you root for him more. Surprisingly, not even for a single frame, does he attempts to ooze power over the opposite actor on screen, he is generous, honest and supportive to others with his old military tactics. Cooper, as the stereotypical cop pursuing the case leading to the illegal activities carried out by Eastwood, is offered very little to chew on.

Although there is a decent conversation in its last act between Cooper and Eastwood, Cooper's character still feels left untouched. Suffering from the similar disease are the victims Pena as Cooper's sidekick and Fishburne as the usual under-cooked narrow minded boss. Armed with an eerie adaptation, Eastwood's world is often dry, confined in its mechanical loop, as much as the procedure is gripping, there is no flamboyancy or grit to the narration. What is appreciative is the pace on the ladder that Eastwood keeps climbing on his new profession and the stillness between him and the road trips of his. The Mule is barely on our side, but what works for the film, is that it neither is against us.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JimiMackDec 15, 2018
Went into the theater not expecting much from this movie because I seen some of the bad reviews, but in the end, I really liked it. I don't go into any movie expecting Academy Award performances which are few and few between, but I keptWent into the theater not expecting much from this movie because I seen some of the bad reviews, but in the end, I really liked it. I don't go into any movie expecting Academy Award performances which are few and few between, but I kept reading about "bad acting" in "The Mule". Really? I think people just have a love or hate for Eastwood, and the bad reviews probably hate him. If you want to escape all the social media and political BS for a couple hours, go see it. It's a damn good movie. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
SamanMoradkhaniDec 17, 2018
Classic Eastwood. Can you name another figure in the history of cinema whose presence is as strong as Clint Eastwood in his own directed movie? No. This is Clint's best drama in years. Deep, simple, sometimes dark, sometimes light,Classic Eastwood. Can you name another figure in the history of cinema whose presence is as strong as Clint Eastwood in his own directed movie? No. This is Clint's best drama in years. Deep, simple, sometimes dark, sometimes light, masterfully crafted, photographed and edited to tell one of the strangest real-life stories ever. Clint still has it. Actually, he never lost his touch. He managed to remain one of the best storytellers of all-time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
BHBarryDec 16, 2018
“”The Mule” is a film written by Nick Schenk inspired by Sam Dolnick’s piece in the New York Times Magazine entitled “The Sinola Cartel’s 90 Year Old Drug Mule”. The film stars Clint Eastwood, Bradley Cooper, Michael Pena, Laurence Fishburne,“”The Mule” is a film written by Nick Schenk inspired by Sam Dolnick’s piece in the New York Times Magazine entitled “The Sinola Cartel’s 90 Year Old Drug Mule”. The film stars Clint Eastwood, Bradley Cooper, Michael Pena, Laurence Fishburne, Andy Garcia and Diane Wiest so, one would think with a stellar cast like that, the film just had to be good. It is not.
Mr. Eastwood plays the 90 year old subject too well for he’s lost the core of his image and one feels more sadness than respect for this aging icon who looks more like the grandfather of the star we once knew than the presence we were hoping to experience. Perhaps it’s the penalty of being too dynamic and great in the who we once were than the person we are now.
The script and story lack depth and, although never bored, the viewer is mindful that nothing significant is going on as the picture, like the mule’s truck, just travels forward without meaning or destination. I give the film a 6.0 rating proving that an aging star with support from many cameo players cannot necessarily guarantee a positive theatrical experience.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondDec 18, 2018
I was worried going into this one, given Clint's directing of the really god-awful 15:17 to Paris. I was pleasantly surprised! This is a really good movie. Not a TON of action or anything - it's essentially a parable of a life notI was worried going into this one, given Clint's directing of the really god-awful 15:17 to Paris. I was pleasantly surprised! This is a really good movie. Not a TON of action or anything - it's essentially a parable of a life not well-spent, and the opportunity of redemption in the end. Excellent cast, and just a great time at the theater. Not close to his best, but I'll absolutely take it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
twall3Dec 17, 2018
Really enjoyed this movie. Only occasionally stressful yet never boring. It seems to be a vehicle to raise the stakes to see if a man will finally do the right thing when it's far more difficult than previous opportunities where he failed. MyReally enjoyed this movie. Only occasionally stressful yet never boring. It seems to be a vehicle to raise the stakes to see if a man will finally do the right thing when it's far more difficult than previous opportunities where he failed. My wife and I sat in the theater for a while after to talk about what we had just seen. Continued talking about it all the home. Few movies prompt that. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
andydavis1Dec 30, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is either a Eastwood’s version of Rick Sanchez’s doctrine ”nothing matters!” (or trump) for target market audience of nursing home Aryan half dead Korean vets. Or It’s a generic slow version of Lord of War with Nicolas Cage with the same doctrine. Yuri Orlov: You know who's going to inherit the Earth? Arms dealers. Because everyone else is too busy killing each other. That's the secret to survival. Never go to war, especially with yourself. replace Arms dealers with drug dealers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AxeTDec 30, 2018
Clint at his best in a smart, poignant, funny tale of humanity and slow burn suspense deserving of Oscar nods. His character and the story are not racist (if you paid attention to such idiotic controversy) but generational colloquial ifClint at his best in a smart, poignant, funny tale of humanity and slow burn suspense deserving of Oscar nods. His character and the story are not racist (if you paid attention to such idiotic controversy) but generational colloquial if viewed correctly. Worthless critics pc herd jackasses, dumb diversity handout losers, sheep Academy hypocrites all be damned! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LatinCritic13Jan 8, 2019
Clint Eastwood's take on The Mule is rather satisfying to watch, especially if you are a fan of his work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
manningn15Dec 19, 2018
The plot and story were enjoyable. Clint Eastwood's direction was great. The performance from Clint Eastwood was fantastic. This movie was good but it was pretty slow for most of the movie and the ending was not that climatic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GrantD243Jan 22, 2019
This film is so incredibly bazar. The story is unbelievable and believable at the same time, and Clint Eastwood's overblown perception of himself (and his...odd sense of humor) definitely came through the screen and slapped me a few times asThis film is so incredibly bazar. The story is unbelievable and believable at the same time, and Clint Eastwood's overblown perception of himself (and his...odd sense of humor) definitely came through the screen and slapped me a few times as I watched it. It also drags on far longer than it needed to, and an unnecessary amount of time is spent just watching Clint drive down roads in his car. But, I also didn't walk out feeling entirely disappointed? Just....weird. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cameronhalmansJan 9, 2019
The Mule is pretty funny, but none of that humor fits in this story, and the characters are as bleak as bleak can get.

47/100
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
clarkaddisonJan 10, 2019
This film is boring and has a unlovable main character. A racist, florist, who delivers drugs and ignores his family. Only one bullet is shot for the purpose of harming someone. One scuffle off camera and that is it. Clint should be focusingThis film is boring and has a unlovable main character. A racist, florist, who delivers drugs and ignores his family. Only one bullet is shot for the purpose of harming someone. One scuffle off camera and that is it. Clint should be focusing on directing or acting. Not both at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews