Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 2010
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 447 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
295
Mixed:
109
Negative:
43
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
grandpajoe6191Oct 1, 2011
"The Other Guys" doesn't try to be funny or sarcastic. It's just funny the way it is.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
8
Longbottom94Apr 29, 2013
Ferrell and Wahlberg work surprising well off each, the action is appropriately over the top and funny at the same time, the improved scenes work well and Mark Wahlberg delivers his funniest performance by far ("I'm a you gotta let me fly").Ferrell and Wahlberg work surprising well off each, the action is appropriately over the top and funny at the same time, the improved scenes work well and Mark Wahlberg delivers his funniest performance by far ("I'm a you gotta let me fly"). Although some of the jokes don't always work and I didn't find the reoccurring joke that Will Ferrell's character is irresistible very funny, by the end I felt thoroughly entertained. Another great addition to the Will Ferrell comedy collection. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleAug 11, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not the best comedy of late (I'd give that to The Hangover), but I laughed consistently through the whole thing. It's Will Ferrel's funniest movie since Old School. And though The Rock & Sam Jackson aren't in the final act, they are hilarious. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 31, 2016
Here because of Daddy's Home being in theaters. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg surprised this as this was their first film together. You'll find eye-popping laughter in this one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
plus44boyAug 11, 2010
Definitely not McKay and Ferrel's best, but it kept a smile on my face the whole time. Marky mark also did a fine job but i don't think this is his comeback. I went to a bad screening because no one was laughing but me, but it didn't matter.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
DiezmartinezOct 25, 2010
Este vehiculo de lucimiento de Will Ferrell tiene unos cuantos buenos gags diseminados a lo largo de casi dos horas de duracion. No es un buen porcentaje de bateo, la verdad sea dicha. Ademas, Mark Whalberg, como patiño deEste vehiculo de lucimiento de Will Ferrell tiene unos cuantos buenos gags diseminados a lo largo de casi dos horas de duracion. No es un buen porcentaje de bateo, la verdad sea dicha. Ademas, Mark Whalberg, como patiño de Ferrell, no resulta particularmente gracioso. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
dubmcAug 16, 2010
When I first saw the trailers for The Other Guys, almost every single cinema cell within me screamed "that movie will be terrible!" Granted I'd just recently suffered through the injustice that was Cop Out, and you know what they say about aWhen I first saw the trailers for The Other Guys, almost every single cinema cell within me screamed "that movie will be terrible!" Granted I'd just recently suffered through the injustice that was Cop Out, and you know what they say about a movie-lover scorned, but nothing about this movie looked good to me. Then the reviews started sneaking out, and they were trending surprisingly positive. Not just "this is okay for a summer yukfest" positive but "this is one of Will Ferrell's best movies ever!" positive. On opening night, it was certified fresh on Rotten Tomatoes, with a score in the low 80s. Second only to Elf (2003). That's a better score than Talladega Nights (2006), Stranger than Fiction (2006), Wedding Crashers (2005), Anchorman (2004) and Old School (2003). Take a look at that list again. "Wow," you might be thinking, as I did the other night. "I must have got it all wrong. This movie must be pretty awesome!" Nope. Nope it isn't. I mean yeah, it's alright. But I'd say it's worse than every one of the Ferrell flicks listed above, save Talladega Nights, which is equally hit or miss. More: http://cinewise.blogspot.com/2010/08/other-guys-2010.html Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JobadkinsJun 13, 2011
What a movie,there is no movie that throws you off from the beginning with Samuel Jackson and the Rock then flips the scipt.I've seen this movie over 10 times and It just gets funnier every time.Will Ferrel just is out of this world funnyWhat a movie,there is no movie that throws you off from the beginning with Samuel Jackson and the Rock then flips the scipt.I've seen this movie over 10 times and It just gets funnier every time.Will Ferrel just is out of this world funny with Mark Wahlberg.The Acting,expressions,movements, everything is spot on and a different kind of funny.It's smart without going over the top,great movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
moviefanSep 5, 2010
This movie was a little different from the average cop-buddy film and that is good. There were some funny parts but much of the funny stuff was just kind of stupid and only mildly funny . Most of the funny jokes were way over played andThis movie was a little different from the average cop-buddy film and that is good. There were some funny parts but much of the funny stuff was just kind of stupid and only mildly funny . Most of the funny jokes were way over played and repeated several times throughout the film, they were funny once but after two, three, or more times they were a snooze. The characters were somehat odd, Michael Keaton played a soft spoken chief and just was not funny, Mark W's character was even more odd at time. I would definitely wait for the dvd Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ste88883Mar 27, 2011
There aren't that many jokes in this film, it tries to be one long joke but it doesn't work for me. I'm a fan of Will Ferrell since Anchorman and Mark Wahlberg tries his best to make this film work (he's the funniest thing in it I think), itThere aren't that many jokes in this film, it tries to be one long joke but it doesn't work for me. I'm a fan of Will Ferrell since Anchorman and Mark Wahlberg tries his best to make this film work (he's the funniest thing in it I think), it just doesn't quite pop thats all. Not bad, not a classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MPVahalikSep 4, 2010
Didn't really do it for me. I'm a big Ferrell and Wahlberg but them together didn't seem right. Mark is really talented but not very funny. Will Ferrell is Will Ferrell. I enjoy his parts in the movie but the movie as a whole wasn't all thatDidn't really do it for me. I'm a big Ferrell and Wahlberg but them together didn't seem right. Mark is really talented but not very funny. Will Ferrell is Will Ferrell. I enjoy his parts in the movie but the movie as a whole wasn't all that great. It had some good quotable lines but that's about it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JacobJul 14, 2013
While I do not think this is a great comedy by any means, I still think it is an enjoyable film with good humor and good acting, which makes it worth a watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
roddersj04May 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Other Guys tells the story of Officers Terry Hoitz (Mark Whalberg) and Allen Gamble (Will Ferrell) who aren't the hero cops that the police department idolize, they're merely the Other Guys. The main guys, Danson (The Rock/Dwayne Johnson) and Highsmith (SAMUEL L JACKSON!) set the film alight with their testosterone fuelled opening sequence of brilliance, complete with brilliant lines such as "Did somebody call 91-Holy **** and "You have the right to remain silent, but I wanna hear you scream!". Using a bus to slingshot a car into druggie bad guys and into a store, causing an explosion, now THATS an opening sequence. Martin and Fosse are the rivals of Hoitz and Gamble, leading to a silent fight at a wake with characters whispering insults and momentarily stopping to pay condolences. They also get some killer dialogue, whether its cornering a villian ("I hope you like the taste of prison food...and penis") or talking about their weekend. "So then what happened?" "What do you think happened? I woke up, I took the belt off my neck, got in my car, and got out of there." "Talk about a wild weekend" "I thought I was going to have to shoot my way out, hahahaha ...what are you going to do though, you know ...bar mitzvah's" They have an especially funny scene in a classroom of 10 year olds, which is probably my favourite scene in the film, and their retorts about the coke-covered car were especially funny. Of course, the two main characters get their share of funny dialogue also, whether its Will Ferrells quote about how a tuna would beat a lion in a fight or groaning about how walking away from explosions are BS. Its not just the quotes which are funny about them, as Gamble is revealed to have shot Derek Jeter in a flashback ("He's a bi-racial angel") and Terry gets his gun taken away and given a wooden gun, only to have the wooden gun taken and given a rape whistle. All of the actors play their roles well, (after Planet of the Apes and The Happening, you'll be surprised Mark Whalberg plays a role well) and Steve Coogan definatley does well as the troubled business man. Even the one scene characters like Christinith and her hairy (or not) husband do well when they are showed, even if they provide nothing to the plot but comedic foil. As you can see, I loved a lot about this film. But not everything worked. Bits that didn't work for me? The relationship between Terry and his wife (Eva Mendez) wasn't really funny, it was essentially him saying his hot wife was plain and treated her unspectacularly. Granted, I liked their last scene where he made amends with her and admitted he couldn't believe she was with him, and sending the granny out to relay their dirty messages had me laughing, but the bits before didn't make me laugh. Making Terry a pimp back in college seems to be an idea which is great when you say it out loud, but when executed you seem a little dissapointed. Also, Will Ferrell didn't even convince as a college guy, he just looked like a 40 something man retaking college, but thats a minor niggle. Also, the scene where Allen is jealous over his wife taking ballet with another guy (I assume that was her instructor). Will Ferrell livened up that scene, and Allens good ballet dancing was a laughable surprise, but the rest of the scene just didn't work for me. All in all, this film isn't as good as Anchorman, but it certainly beats the dire Cop-Out. Definately a brilliant action comedy Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jdrandall38Jul 22, 2011
WOW! This movie is laugh out loud funny throughout. I have seen comedies go dull after the opening 20 minutes but not this one. First off, the funniest character in this movie is the one you wouldn't expect. Mark Wahlberg creates a newWOW! This movie is laugh out loud funny throughout. I have seen comedies go dull after the opening 20 minutes but not this one. First off, the funniest character in this movie is the one you wouldn't expect. Mark Wahlberg creates a new image for himself with "The Other Guys." We have all seen his movies and without a doubt, he has the acting skill, but who knew he was so funny! He will have more comedy roles due to this one, and I am looking forward to seeing them. The story behind "The Other Guys" is kind of dark. How big-time business men rob hard-working americans of their lifetime services just to cover losses. Wahlberg and Farrell are the cops behind-the-scenes who protect us from them, and they are just hilarious while they do so. The Captain's TLC references had me laughing for days and have become punch-lines to almost any joke you can think of. Priceless movie and an instant classic. 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LondonTrueloveNov 10, 2010
Very funny flick. Pretty much what you'd expect out of a cop comedy. Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg deliver. One of the films you can watch over and over.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Eddie0Nov 29, 2010
I must say i was disapointed by the movie. It wasn't that fun, yes it was fun at some points, but for me it just missed the complete plot. It was very confusing, and moved a lot. It seemed like they took an actionmovie, and tried to make itI must say i was disapointed by the movie. It wasn't that fun, yes it was fun at some points, but for me it just missed the complete plot. It was very confusing, and moved a lot. It seemed like they took an actionmovie, and tried to make it as funny as possible. But failed, and there for ended up with a bad action movie with tasteless humour. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
madinpaJan 12, 2011
I'll forgo some synopsis of an obvious light-hearted comedy. Ferrell and Wahlberg are very good throughout and Mendez is wonderful eye candy. All I can say is "desk-pop"!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TargetF209Feb 28, 2011
McKay and Ferrell have created another comedic treat and whilst it may not be on quite the same level as some previous hits, it's definitely an entertaining and hilarious ride that should be high up the "to-view" list.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheCritic1Feb 11, 2012
This film wasn't hilarious, but it was still pretty funny. Will Ferrell is great as the "good cop" and Mark Wahlberg is also great as the jack-ass "bad cop". This film has a good few laugh- out loud moments and its even funny now, and I'veThis film wasn't hilarious, but it was still pretty funny. Will Ferrell is great as the "good cop" and Mark Wahlberg is also great as the jack-ass "bad cop". This film has a good few laugh- out loud moments and its even funny now, and I've seen it three times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RFCxDaViDxRFCApr 17, 2011
This movie is an all time classic. I was absoutely hysterical and left in tears by the hilarity of this movie. The combination of the toughness of Mark Wahlberg and the wimpyness and funnyness of Will Ferrell means that this film was aThis movie is an all time classic. I was absoutely hysterical and left in tears by the hilarity of this movie. The combination of the toughness of Mark Wahlberg and the wimpyness and funnyness of Will Ferrell means that this film was a classic from the start. The Other Guys is an absolute gem of a film and should go down in history as one of the funniest films ever created. Well Done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
survivorfan989Jan 12, 2013
Thought it might be an OK comedy but there is very little to like about this film. From the unlikable characters to even the unlikable actors (who are usually much better) and a rather silly storyline that got confusing. It has some goodThought it might be an OK comedy but there is very little to like about this film. From the unlikable characters to even the unlikable actors (who are usually much better) and a rather silly storyline that got confusing. It has some good laughs and that's where most of the rating will come from, but as a whole it's a fairly messy movie with overdone jokes and bad performances from both Will Ferrell & Mark Wahlberg. Overall it's OK but certainly not one worth rushing out to go and see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Island7Aug 22, 2010
The Other Guys was pretty funny but I had higher expectations. It was good but it could have been much better also.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
Campea16Aug 20, 2010
Hands down one of the funniest movies of the summer, if not the year! Ferrell and Wahlberg are a match made in heaven, for their chemistry is spectacular. One of Will Ferrell's funniest movies ever, its up there with Anchorman and TalladegaHands down one of the funniest movies of the summer, if not the year! Ferrell and Wahlberg are a match made in heaven, for their chemistry is spectacular. One of Will Ferrell's funniest movies ever, its up there with Anchorman and Talladega Nights. This movie was so funny that you often miss some of the jokes from laughing at previous ones! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
SportJesterAug 9, 2010
Didn't turn out as great as I was hoping having loved some of Will Ferrell's classics (Elf, Anchorman and Talledega Nights). Went to see this movie Sat 8/7/10 around 7pm and it was showing on 3 screens in a 20-screen complex. Next twoDidn't turn out as great as I was hoping having loved some of Will Ferrell's classics (Elf, Anchorman and Talledega Nights). Went to see this movie Sat 8/7/10 around 7pm and it was showing on 3 screens in a 20-screen complex. Next two showings of the movie were sold out so we (wife and 3 sons) skipped it but had high hopes given its popularity. Returned Sunday evening again at 7pm and the showing was half-full; important because great comedies are even better when a big audience is howling. While the movie was ok, it never had that bust-a-gut scene that Ferrell is capable of. That said, Ferrell was much better than Wahlberg, who's character range was close to zero. You can wait for DVD on this one. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticAug 6, 2010
The Other Guys is the best buddy-cop film of the year and I really like this movie! Will Ferrell & Mark Wahlberg did the best characters that they work each other playing as dectitives that they work terrible with their jobs and they both The Other Guys is the best buddy-cop film of the year and I really like this movie! Will Ferrell & Mark Wahlberg did the best characters that they work each other playing as dectitives that they work terrible with their jobs and they both are hilarious in many ways and they both their own perspective way which they work as their own personalities,like most cops do. This movie will make you laugh and you will enjoy this action comedy film for entire summer! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
GlennPAug 8, 2010
This was a VERY funny movie. The problem is that it is so intelligently written that it goes over the heads of a lot of the audience. Trust me, if you like intelligent humor, you'll REALLY enjoy this movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
MilesRAug 8, 2010
I was concerned about the wide variation in ratings, which made me wonder whether this movie would even be worth the price of a matinee ticket. Rest assured, the exciting and creative action sequences end within the first 15 minutes of the I was concerned about the wide variation in ratings, which made me wonder whether this movie would even be worth the price of a matinee ticket. Rest assured, the exciting and creative action sequences end within the first 15 minutes of the film. Overall, the plot of the film is lukewarm and uncreative. Of course, the major concern with a film such as this one is the comedy. There were a handful of funny scenes, but nothing that will cause you to have a sore abdomen in the morning. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
4
DougAug 11, 2010
Ferrell is capable of huge comic performances, however The Other Guys was not that performance. There were not enough funny lines in this film by either Ferrell or Wahlberg, and I found my self waiting for the funny stuff in between the movieFerrell is capable of huge comic performances, however The Other Guys was not that performance. There were not enough funny lines in this film by either Ferrell or Wahlberg, and I found my self waiting for the funny stuff in between the movie itself. It felt like there was a sub-par story that took way too long to tell, and inside the telling of this story I waited impatiently for the next bout of comic relief (which happened way to infrequently). My expectations of Ferrell are set based on the antics in Talladega Nights, Anchorman, and Step Brothers, but at no point within this movie was Ferrell able to take over and put his hilarious signature on it. Eva Longorio was the best part of this movie, while the "hot girls love Ferrell's character" joke was just not that funny after the Eva Longorio dinner scene. I don't recommend this film, nor will I likely watch it again on DVD.

Waiting for Anchorman 2 instead.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
JularaAug 11, 2010
Adam McKay and Will Ferrell are back with this wacky cop film. They really found magic with Mark Whalberg and Will Ferrell partnering up to take down NYC's baddest and sneakiest criminals. One of the best summer movies this year. I hadAdam McKay and Will Ferrell are back with this wacky cop film. They really found magic with Mark Whalberg and Will Ferrell partnering up to take down NYC's baddest and sneakiest criminals. One of the best summer movies this year. I had such a good time laughing the entire time. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
allanjswanAug 11, 2010
It's got some genuine LOL moments, and yes, the last 25 minutes seems rushed and facilitates little more than an end to the fun, but this is probably the first movie starring Ferrell that will make it past a couple of viewings. A good funIt's got some genuine LOL moments, and yes, the last 25 minutes seems rushed and facilitates little more than an end to the fun, but this is probably the first movie starring Ferrell that will make it past a couple of viewings. A good fun romp, and well worth checking out. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
walrusgodAug 25, 2010
Definitely exceeded my somewhat meager expectations, The Other Guys manages to be a mostly entertaining movie. The jokes are funny more often than not, and the action is at least decent, if somewhat muddled due to the fast-paced ADD editingDefinitely exceeded my somewhat meager expectations, The Other Guys manages to be a mostly entertaining movie. The jokes are funny more often than not, and the action is at least decent, if somewhat muddled due to the fast-paced ADD editing that makes many modern action movies almost indecipherable. Ferrell and Wahlberg do a good job in the lead roles, although it seemed that most of the entertaining lines actually went to Wahlberg, who might want to stick to comedy after the somewhat dull response that's greeted his recent dramatic work. Overall, a huge step up from recent Ferrell comedies like Semi-Pro, but doesn't break any boundaries and is destined to be remembered as simply "entertaining" and nothing more. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
GeneAug 19, 2010
The main comedic style of this movie is to set up standard cop movie stereotypes and situations, and then resolve them in utterly unexpected and/or out of character ways. It may not always make sense, but it's always hilarious.

Also much
The main comedic style of this movie is to set up standard cop movie stereotypes and situations, and then resolve them in utterly unexpected and/or out of character ways. It may not always make sense, but it's always hilarious.

Also much more comedy dense than recent movies, there aren't that many 'slow' parts, and the ones that were there didn't last long. Definitely held interest the entire running time.

-1pt for an incomplete plot. The Wahlberg character just isn't given much of a back story outside of a single high-profile screwup, and too much of the main villain's plot happens offscreen.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Review9Aug 22, 2010
The other guys is a very funny movie. Maybe not will ferell's best but still very funny. It does not have a great story and some parts were just added in for laughs but it was still a very funny movie and personaly i like it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
valkurySep 22, 2010
O wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of opposite actor cast type thing that this movie did(i don't know wat you wana call it). For example, i saw aO wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of opposite actor cast type thing that this movie did(i don't know wat you wana call it). For example, i saw a preview of a movie when i went to see the other guys, and it was staring robert downy jr. And the bearded guy from the hangover. So i think were going to see alot more movies like this one. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
swisswatchingSep 26, 2010
Truly an awful film. I can't understand why people are raving about. Not clever, not funny. Felt like asking for my money back when I left the cinema. Maybe you have to be a teenage male American to enjoy it. Or just have no brain.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
rucknrunAug 31, 2010
This movie was not good. I am not sure what everyone else was watching. I really did not get it. The movie was so tired. Marky Mark yelling all the time was so tiresome.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
JasonKAug 7, 2010
Had high expectations for The Other Guys. They were not met.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SeanSAug 8, 2010
Oh god, I laughed so hard watching this with a few friends. Everyone else in the theatre seemed to enjoy it as well, and there were even a few surprising bits of intelligent humour. If you like comedies, go for it--this was fantastic.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JendoS.Aug 6, 2010
Two words to describe this movie: Wasted Cast. Michael Keaton, Dwayne Johnson and Sam Jackson saved it, but it wasn't enough. It didn't feel like Classic Ferrall comedy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
NathanP.Aug 7, 2010
I'm not going to sit here and say The Other Guys is the best movie of the year, but it may very well be the best comedy of this summer. Will Ferrell makes a great comeback after a few bad roles and production choices (The Goods, Land of I'm not going to sit here and say The Other Guys is the best movie of the year, but it may very well be the best comedy of this summer. Will Ferrell makes a great comeback after a few bad roles and production choices (The Goods, Land of the Lost). Mark Wahlberg finds new life as a comedic actor and the summer of surprise funny men continues as Michael Keaton gives a solid supporting performance. My two complaints would be that 1) The 1st half was funnier than the 2nd 2) This movie could've done with some more editing, clocking in just at 2 hours in length Overall though, hilarious from start to finish, if Cop Out left a bad taste in your mouth for buddy cop comedies, The Other Guys will surely help you rinse that right out. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
WallyHAug 8, 2010
very funny my son and I were laughing al the way home!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobPAug 8, 2010
Another classic comedic film starring Will Ferrell. Mark Wahlberg, known for starring in dramas, shows that serious actors can also be hilarious. The supporting cast is excellent as well, including Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, and The Another classic comedic film starring Will Ferrell. Mark Wahlberg, known for starring in dramas, shows that serious actors can also be hilarious. The supporting cast is excellent as well, including Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, and The Rock. A must see film for the summer. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
FantasyAug 6, 2010
If you saw the coming attractions you saw the movie. Just disintegrates before your very eyes. Not very good despite an all star cast.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
PeterBAug 6, 2010
This movie was terrible. The plot line was incoherent. Will Ferrell went from quiet paper pusher who, "was a good kid who made his bed and went to school" to a man with a past as a pimp and an alter ego named gator. Mark Whalberg was just This movie was terrible. The plot line was incoherent. Will Ferrell went from quiet paper pusher who, "was a good kid who made his bed and went to school" to a man with a past as a pimp and an alter ego named gator. Mark Whalberg was just plain awful. His lines came across as forced and his reason for learning to dance as well as play the harp (to make fun of the gay kids who did it?) was just stupid. I understand that these days that non sequiturs are often a good comedic tool, e.g. "Aqua Teen Hunger Force". But, in a major summer Hollywood film it just doesn't work. Do not see this film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JamesHAug 7, 2010
Lots of laughs, some really hilarious asides. A little uneven in the second half but some great stuff.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
NoahF.Aug 7, 2010
I think this show is great, and has even more potential. Although I can see why the market is less infatuated, for example my wife usually has the same tastes as me but didn't for this series. It seems to be a guy thing but I love it. I think this show is great, and has even more potential. Although I can see why the market is less infatuated, for example my wife usually has the same tastes as me but didn't for this series. It seems to be a guy thing but I love it. It's a very fresh, raw, and fun time for me that isn't too light (like Psych, or Eureka might be). That's why I enjoy this. It's tough, and at the same time fun. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
FrankV.Aug 7, 2010
I went to see this movie because the coming attractions made this movie look funny. Nothing could be farther from the truth. Idiotic banter, and strained plots twists, spelled the end for me. Maybe I'm getting too old for this kind of I went to see this movie because the coming attractions made this movie look funny. Nothing could be farther from the truth. Idiotic banter, and strained plots twists, spelled the end for me. Maybe I'm getting too old for this kind of humor. I liked the action scenes, which accounts for my 2 rating. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
RickWAug 7, 2010
If you like persistent four letter words, constant disgusting sexual remarks, and a fascination with talk about perversions then this is the movie for you...if not stay away....yuk.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JBAug 8, 2010
Wow, stop bitching. For the people who gave this a bad review, seriously, they probably went in saying "Im going to go out of my way here to go into a movie with an actor i do not like, just so i can complain to everyone else afterward how I Wow, stop bitching. For the people who gave this a bad review, seriously, they probably went in saying "Im going to go out of my way here to go into a movie with an actor i do not like, just so i can complain to everyone else afterward how I hated it." You knew what you were going to get, and if you don't like his movies, then please do us a favour and don't see them. Also, giving it a zero makes no sense at all. If you're going to give it a zero, then you should give the dozens of movies released this summer that were worse a score in the negatives. Otherwise this was a funny movie, and I recommend it if you enjoyed Talledega Nights or Anchorman. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
BillC.Aug 8, 2010
The jokes are the kind that you have to force yourself to laugh at , and the stunts are too over the top to be believed. O.K. , it had a few good laughs , but my expectations were much higher. The talent was up there , but the story was just lame.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
AaronGAug 9, 2010
It's not amazing, but it's definitely a fun movie. Plot is dumb,but the jokes deliver.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
CirticsarewaytoocriticalAug 9, 2010
You know what? There is one twist in this movie that will kick your ass! It is so hilarious, crazy, silly and awesome that you won't believe what happened. Fairly funny all the way through, The whole theater I was in, laughing through You know what? There is one twist in this movie that will kick your ass! It is so hilarious, crazy, silly and awesome that you won't believe what happened. Fairly funny all the way through, The whole theater I was in, laughing through the whole movie. Whalburgs anger, and Farrels straight guy pimp turn really add a little something missing in these movies. The best treat though, Micheal Keaton. Soooo funny. Woulda given the movie a 9 but it beats you to death with an ignorant and irrelevant "lets all hate wall street" vibe that gets annoying, especially at the end. Gonna be a great movie to have around on Blu ray, kind of like Taladega nights, anchorman, dumb and dumber, etc for those sick, or rainy days. I gotta admit, I think I am over Farrels Shtick, I find he is quite a bit better when he reduces his persona... but he redeemed himself in this one. Maybe we can get a sequel with Andy Samburg as Marky Marks evil twin, that would be epic. "... hey dog, you're a dog, what's that about? Say Hi to your mother for me!" bahahaha awesome. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
Lopez17Dec 13, 2010
I have never been a huge fan of Will Ferrell for all intensive purposes I actually loathe him(as an actor), you see Ferrell is like a dog who got out of his back yard and now has no idea where to go or what to do. All he knows is that he isI have never been a huge fan of Will Ferrell for all intensive purposes I actually loathe him(as an actor), you see Ferrell is like a dog who got out of his back yard and now has no idea where to go or what to do. All he knows is that he is free, free to roam around, free to chase cars. Just like a dog chasing a car, Ferrell never really learns when enough is enough. In "Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby" Ferrell plays an idiotic simpleton with one dream to go fast!!! So does Ricky Bobby. The main problem with "Talladega Nights" is that it relies on idiotic antics to induce laughter when there is no laughter to give. Adam McKay's "The Other Guys" is in some ways like "Talladega Nights" it follows two bungling New York City detectives Detective Allen Gamble(Will Ferrell) and his volatile partner Detective Terry Hoitz(a funnier than expected Mark Wahlberg) are two mismatched cops hot on the trail of a corporate conspiracy. That essentially is the plot of the entire film in a nutshell, through out most of the picture Gamble and Hoitz are running around aimlessly trying to piece together a conspiracy that to a normal person would seem paper-thin but too gamble and Hoitz itâ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
theangryslothAug 11, 2010
Will Ferrell, with his stock (semi retarded?) character is turning into an American 'Mister Bean.' Have you seen one of his other movies? Then you've seen this one, except this one gets 'preachy' at the end, a sure sign a Hollywood actor isWill Ferrell, with his stock (semi retarded?) character is turning into an American 'Mister Bean.' Have you seen one of his other movies? Then you've seen this one, except this one gets 'preachy' at the end, a sure sign a Hollywood actor is getting too comfortable and stale. Unfortunately, Mark Wahlberg is along for the ride and can't get the seatbelt to unfasten. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
shepardnDec 20, 2010
I didnâ
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MarkStringer96Oct 16, 2010
I went to see this film with low expectations but from the off there are just laughs after laughs after laughs. This film is a truly good film which you will remember for years to come.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LeoTs3181983Sep 4, 2010
The Other Guys is a great movie. However it resembles the TV police reality show COPS more than a TV mystery series or a detective movie. See it at your own risk.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
PSardinasSep 4, 2010
Ferrell and Wahlberg do the best they can with the material they've been given but it's never enough to really hold your attention and it's never enough to really make this film worth the price of admission alone.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
AcropolisSep 15, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty funny. Some parts had my girlfriend and I cracking up, which is noteworthy, since she doesn't find stupidity funny. In other words, the movie was not stupid. It was mostly pretty funny (although a joke or two can be ruined by the seriousness of the situation). The Other Guys served its purpose well. There was just one misstep. We didn't understand the story. And we are both highly intelligent. I know I'm putting that assertion on the line, when I admit this, but I don't know HOW a company can cover their losses using the state lottery. And I have no idea how someone can steal a cop's pension. So we were in the dark when it came to a majority of the story, which is honestly pretty irritating. Regardless, It's funny. The characters work well together and some funny dialogue happens. See this movie if you have a desire to laugh (and preferably extensive knowledge of finances.) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"The Other Guys is a rambunctious comedy that shows us the buddy-cop genre is not dead. I feel the talents here were wasted at times , Also that it did drag on , I did laugh here and there at this PG13 rated satire so i enjoyed the film in"The Other Guys is a rambunctious comedy that shows us the buddy-cop genre is not dead. I feel the talents here were wasted at times , Also that it did drag on , I did laugh here and there at this PG13 rated satire so i enjoyed the film in moderation" .. B Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrJan 18, 2011
Even though the last part seemed to run out of steam, there was enough positive energy in most of the film that it leaves you with a sweet taste in your mouth.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
haychrisJan 1, 2011
I have never been compelled to write a review before."the other guys" movie review is on true emotion. This movie from the first 5 minutes made me physically sick. I felt like literally vomiting and just sitting in it completely shocked atI have never been compelled to write a review before."the other guys" movie review is on true emotion. This movie from the first 5 minutes made me physically sick. I felt like literally vomiting and just sitting in it completely shocked at what I had to just edure. the other guys was by far the most tragic piece of rotting garbage ever able to weasal its way to the big screen. I have never felt the urge to 100% despise whoever is allowed to have authority to direct something this shockingly apauling and revolting.

For those of you who did not make it through highschool i understand how you can rate this above a 0, for the other guys, lol, who gave reviews above 5, I am seriously concerned and scared for the phisical well being of your brains. I honestly may start going to church now just to pray for the sickness you must be going through everyday of your lives. Please ask for help, thats what its there for .

When actors of this magnitude are allowed to "join forces" to co-create a "masterpiece" such as this , we as a society need to be ashamed we fund hideous movies that make us all a little "or alot" dumber.

Let me save you the 2 hours you may actually make it through this disaster and realize when you come out of your stupidity induced coma that you are still alive and breathing. I hope this helps and I wish everyone a great new year!

ps. I am writing this review 20 minutes into the movie in a horrific and vengeful rage. Please understand I only rented this as there was nothing left in redbox and I am ashamed and embarassed I did. Please dont waste your 99cents at the redbox a you are better off getting a mcdouble, you will get more meaning out of that!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
The film is hilarious through out and its definently one of the better comedies to come out in 2010. Ferrell and Wahlberg make a great team and I hope they make a sequel to this.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
aggiefanatic95Feb 6, 2012
This is my favorite movie of all time. I liked shows like Psych and the Good Guys which are like this. There are so many quotes from this movie which makes it great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
tomsAug 8, 2010
I was hoping for Anchorman but got Anchored Men. It's got a good wacky set up, but like a potentially great joke with a lousy punchline, it fails. The writing/improv was outrageous and different, but more silly than humorous or I was hoping for Anchorman but got Anchored Men. It's got a good wacky set up, but like a potentially great joke with a lousy punchline, it fails. The writing/improv was outrageous and different, but more silly than humorous or insightful. I laughed some, but I realized I was forcing some of the laughs because I wanted to enjoy this movie more than I did. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AlanGAug 6, 2010
Frigggin hilarious!! I love it!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
MMulcahyAug 7, 2010
If you've seen it, you know the best part of the movie is over less than half an hour in. Will Ferrell brings nothing new to the table and all the one liners feel totally forced. Avoid at all costs.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
6
AndyAug 16, 2010
Agree with Los Angeles Times
Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
Here the filmmakers are in fine fettle, which goes a long way to make much of the low-brow silliness and slapstick infectious.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
aabender002Aug 11, 2010
This is the funniest and most creative film that Adam McKay has put out since 'Anchorman', and I don't mean that as a bash to all the films in between them.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
ShiiraAug 12, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just like Thelma and Louise, who drove their 1964 Ford Convertible into the Grand Canyon, Highsmith(Samuel L. Jackson) and Danson(Dwayne Johnson) commit suicide, when the former says, "Aim for the bushes," just before they plunge to their deaths from a high building. It's an inside joke; they can't aim for the "bushes" anymore. It's Highsmith who says, "All the sex we don't have with women but we have to," at a press conference celebrating their latest heroics. Highsmith's bragging, a self-homage to he and his partner's legendary cocksmanship with the ladies, also has a double meaning, which becomes self-evident after their shocking demise. The reckless abandon that both men had brought to their pursuing of the drug dealers at the film's outset, now looks less like bravery, and more like a death wish. Homoeroticism, after all, is an open secret when "buddy movies" are concerned, but normally, such bromance innuendos are relegated to the subtext, a laughing matter. But the machismo of Highsmith and Danson seems so excessive, so flamboyantly straight, their virility quickly turns into burlesque. Played for laughs, "The Other Guys", on one level, satirizes every action film in which the hero seems impervious to bodily harm, regardless of the circumstances. Highsmith and Danson, surely, will land on their feet, like cats with nine lives, no matter what they do. On another level, "The Other Guys" has a subtextual level that rises(the very instant when both cops jump and have no place to land) and intertwines itself with the surface of the official narrative, in which the fall then transforms itself into a lovers' leap, so the tragedy of closeted ladies' men who live up to the "Shaft" myth stealthily exists alongside the parodic intent to lampoon the hyper-masculinity of heterosexual men with guns. On the other hand, the other guys, in particular, Allen(Will Ferrell), is straight, even though he pushes paper and carries around a wooden gun. When his partner Terry(Mark Wahlberg) doubts his heterosexuality, Allen pistol-whips him on the nose. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
dijavantewowOct 17, 2010
I don't know what it was, but I was just bored in theaters when I saw this. I like Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell, but this one just didn't do it for me. Maybe I should take a second look at it, but right now I don't think this one had muchI don't know what it was, but I was just bored in theaters when I saw this. I like Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell, but this one just didn't do it for me. Maybe I should take a second look at it, but right now I don't think this one had much of anything funny. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
LoganMAug 21, 2010
This is the funniest movie hands down. Adam Mckay did a fantastic job on directing. Will and Mark were so funny together, and the screenplay was great. By far the best film of the year.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
SPINEYSep 11, 2010
This is another case of an average movie being over-hyped via advertising. You do laugh in a few spots, but the rest of the humour is rather crude. In some points you wonder how that makes sense and others are just completely random, only putThis is another case of an average movie being over-hyped via advertising. You do laugh in a few spots, but the rest of the humour is rather crude. In some points you wonder how that makes sense and others are just completely random, only put in to try and wench a laugh out of you. Will Ferrell doesn't play his character believably and Mark Wahlberg doesn't do well either and ends up stale an boring. The action seems to be purposely Hollywood and completely unbelievable. If you want a good laugh and don't mind losing two hours of your life then you may as well see Despicable Me. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
JimBAug 6, 2010
Will Ferrell, with his stock (semi retarded?) character is turning into an American 'Mister Bean.' Have you seen one of his other movies? Then you've seen this one, except this one gets 'preachy' at the end, a sure Will Ferrell, with his stock (semi retarded?) character is turning into an American 'Mister Bean.' Have you seen one of his other movies? Then you've seen this one, except this one gets 'preachy' at the end, a sure sign a Hollywood actor is getting too comfortable and stale. Unfortunately, Mark Wahlberg is along for the ride and can't get the seatbelt to unfasten. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
JoeyTAug 7, 2010
With an all star cast this movie is one of the worst written, poorest acted, with very few forced laughs. It drags. In about 20 minutes it reminds you of PT Barnum's a sucker is born every minute. Don't waste your hard earned With an all star cast this movie is one of the worst written, poorest acted, with very few forced laughs. It drags. In about 20 minutes it reminds you of PT Barnum's a sucker is born every minute. Don't waste your hard earned dollars on this trash. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
BruceB.Aug 6, 2010
Probably the worst movie I have seen in the last ten years. horribly written, and not funny. wish i could get my time back wasted watching this garbage
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
PayupSep 28, 2010
It is true that some parts are laugh out loud funny, but the majority of the movie is just stupid and even, at times, boring. Mark Wahlberg was horrible, but Will Ferrell gave one of his better performances, in a movie that was one of hisIt is true that some parts are laugh out loud funny, but the majority of the movie is just stupid and even, at times, boring. Mark Wahlberg was horrible, but Will Ferrell gave one of his better performances, in a movie that was one of his best. But that doesn't mean "The Other Guys" was a good movie by any means. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
Nick1946Aug 21, 2010
This is a plodding, not funny movie. You will have to be a strong Wil Ferrell fan to get any enjoyment out of this movie. It is so tedious that I regretted not going with my wife to see Eat,Pray, Love. Wahlberg is normally pretty good but hasThis is a plodding, not funny movie. You will have to be a strong Wil Ferrell fan to get any enjoyment out of this movie. It is so tedious that I regretted not going with my wife to see Eat,Pray, Love. Wahlberg is normally pretty good but has to overact way too much in this movie as if we will not believe how bad it is. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
PeterAAug 7, 2010
Kind of stupid in its humor, but funny none the less.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
frankMAug 8, 2010
"Bold, brightly colored charts and graphs fill the screen with enraging data about bloated chief-executive bonuses, billion-dollar bank bailouts, Ponzi schemes and other entries in the encyclopedia of modern financial infamy. Looking at "Bold, brightly colored charts and graphs fill the screen with enraging data about bloated chief-executive bonuses, billion-dollar bank bailouts, Ponzi schemes and other entries in the encyclopedia of modern financial infamy. Looking at these shocking numbers in isolation, you might be tempted to think that you had just watched an angry populist satire skewering the powerful and the privileged. But such topical provocation has been missing from commercial American comedy for a very long time, and Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
kenDAug 9, 2010
I laughed along with the rest of the audience. A great team up putting Will Ferell and to my surprise Mark Whlberg. I didn't think it was going as good as it was. It's on of my "To buy" when it hits DVD list!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 7, 2010
Just like Thelma and Louise, who drove their 1964 Ford convertible into the Grand Canyon, Highsmith(Samuel L. Jackson) and Danson(Dwayne Johnson), arguably, commit suicide, when the black half of the ambiguously gay duo says, "Aim for the Just like Thelma and Louise, who drove their 1964 Ford convertible into the Grand Canyon, Highsmith(Samuel L. Jackson) and Danson(Dwayne Johnson), arguably, commit suicide, when the black half of the ambiguously gay duo says, "Aim for the bushes," before they plunge to their deaths from a high building. It's an inside joke; they can't aim for the "bushes" anymore. It's Highsmith who says, "All the sex we don't want to have with women but we have to," at a press conference celebrating their latest heroics, in which the supercops had pursued drug dealers with a reckless abandon that could be deciphered as both men having serious death wishes. Highsmith's comment has a double meaning; it hints at a secret. Homoeroticism, after all. is an open secret when "buddy movies" are concerned, but normally, such bromance innuendos are relegated to the subtext, a laughing matter. The machismo of the "guys", however, in this case, seems so excessive, their virility turns into burlesque. Played for laughs, the pivotal moment in "The Other Guys", on one level, satirizes every action movie where the hero seems impervious to bodily harm, regardless of the circumstances, usually dangerous; but on another level, this second-tier narrative suddenly becomes intertwined with the filmic surface, the very instant when Highsmith and Danson meet their untimely demise. The fall transforms itself into a lovers' leap and surpasses the film's parodic intent to lampoon the hyper-masculinity of men with guns. On the other hand, Allen(Will Ferrell), the wimp, the wuss, is ironically straight, even though he pushes paper and carries a wooden gun. When his partner Terry(Mark Wahlberg) doubts his manhood, Allen pistol-whips him on the nose. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
brianAug 8, 2010
Great chemistry between Ferrell and Wahlberg. And Ferrell is on top of his game!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
corrodedNov 17, 2010
The most entertaining thing about this film was the Rage Against the Machine song in the end credits, for that it gains a solitary point, it is so without merit. Who reviewed this film?! How is it positive?

-edit- I know know... you
The most entertaining thing about this film was the Rage Against the Machine song in the end credits, for that it gains a solitary point, it is so without merit. Who reviewed this film?! How is it positive?

-edit- I know know... you accidentally press submit on 10.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMar 12, 2011
Words are wasted on this one...truly awful. A fat Samuel Jackson, the worst performance of Mark Wahlberg's career, as a matter of fact, you need to only watch the first five minutes of this nonsense to get a sense for how bad it is, becauseWords are wasted on this one...truly awful. A fat Samuel Jackson, the worst performance of Mark Wahlberg's career, as a matter of fact, you need to only watch the first five minutes of this nonsense to get a sense for how bad it is, because it sure never gets any better... Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
6
eliteco3Jan 16, 2011
Ferrell saves this film with his uptight accountant character antagonizing the mean aggressive character of Wahlberg. Ferrell and Wahlberg bring laughs with the sillyness and stupidity of the plot. A film that will hit home for the casualFerrell saves this film with his uptight accountant character antagonizing the mean aggressive character of Wahlberg. Ferrell and Wahlberg bring laughs with the sillyness and stupidity of the plot. A film that will hit home for the casual pothead and make the avid movie watcher bored and tired. A mixed effort that works if you have 120 minutes of time you have to waste. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
bethesdabobJan 26, 2011
This is a terrible movie. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time. It gets mediocre reviews only because Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg are in it, but they're pretty lousy too.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
JonDocFeb 8, 2011
I love Will Ferrell but this movie was awful. Full of painfully unfunny ad libbing, it reminded me of the truly terrible Semi-Pro . I really do like Ferrell's ad-libs normally - it's what makes him so great, but this movie seemed to have noI love Will Ferrell but this movie was awful. Full of painfully unfunny ad libbing, it reminded me of the truly terrible Semi-Pro . I really do like Ferrell's ad-libs normally - it's what makes him so great, but this movie seemed to have no structured script whatsoever. I am amazed none of the critics gave negative reviews. The sizable number of mixed and negative user reviews tell a truer story. Oh, and Steve Coogan's ticket joke was nicked out of Smack The Pony. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
j30Sep 22, 2011
It has it's really funny moments, but it's too far and in between.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
epf1961Mar 5, 2012
Maybe I have a strange sense of what's funny and what's not, but aside from 1 or 2 chuckles, I sat thru this film stoney-faced. Rather than sophisticated humor and wit, the film tries to survive on slapstick and just plainMaybe I have a strange sense of what's funny and what's not, but aside from 1 or 2 chuckles, I sat thru this film stoney-faced. Rather than sophisticated humor and wit, the film tries to survive on slapstick and just plain stupidity/silliness, most of which was so un-funny, it actually made me squirm uncomfortably in my chair, bored and actually embarrassed for the people that spent time and money making this movie. Best example: The "FBI Mug" scene in the car... Ferrell keeps repeating the "Female Body Inspector" thing over and over-- It wasn't even funny the 1st time. When Wahlberg throws the mug out the window, I realized that somehow, that was meant to be the rib-splitting climax of the scene, and I just sat there staring, thinking "Omigod"! To me, I hesitate to rent comedies, because they're either truly funny, or (more often than not) simply painful. "The Other Guys" is a glaring example of the second category. Personally, I'd rather watch "Seinfeld" reruns.. now THAT is actually the kind of humor I can laugh out loud to! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Bullet97Mar 20, 2011
The Other Guys is a very funny, very well-acted, well-directed, and action-packed comedy that redeems Will Ferrell for Step Brothers. And it also redeems Marky Mark for Max Payne and the Happening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ESS180Nov 14, 2010
I liked it, it was actually a refreshing film.
There were some funny moments in the movie, Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell did a hilarious job.
SPOILERS!!!! The part that made me laugh my head off is when they do good cop bad cop but
I liked it, it was actually a refreshing film.
There were some funny moments in the movie, Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell did a hilarious job.

SPOILERS!!!!

The part that made me laugh my head off is when they do good cop bad cop but Will does bad cop bad cop I was laughing so hard I was like crying! Great movie
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
The two leads (Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell) have a dynamism and a rare genuine chemistry that is so rare in the movies today, and they are funny in clever ways too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
scrieciuNov 10, 2010
The Other Guys wasn't that funny. I mean, I had a few chuckles, but still. I didn't felt that it was a comedy, it was more like just two guys investigating, with some jokes added in the film, witch confused me. The movie was boring and IThe Other Guys wasn't that funny. I mean, I had a few chuckles, but still. I didn't felt that it was a comedy, it was more like just two guys investigating, with some jokes added in the film, witch confused me. The movie was boring and I didn't remember much after seeing it. Is not worth to watch. The trailer made the film seemed awesome, but really, this movie wasn't so great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OscarPicks2010Dec 4, 2010
While the movie contains cheap laughs and ridiculous jokes, it has a surprisingly nice collaboration between Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg. Usually a cop buddy comedy falls short on comedy and fall out on gags, but this is actually a niceWhile the movie contains cheap laughs and ridiculous jokes, it has a surprisingly nice collaboration between Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg. Usually a cop buddy comedy falls short on comedy and fall out on gags, but this is actually a nice movie that you can enjoy your evening with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
This isn't your basic buddy cop movie, with a surprisingly deep plot, and moments that will have you rolling on the floor, of course we expected Will Farrel to be a socially awkward person, but his partner really compliments him not becauseThis isn't your basic buddy cop movie, with a surprisingly deep plot, and moments that will have you rolling on the floor, of course we expected Will Farrel to be a socially awkward person, but his partner really compliments him not because he's a complete opposite, but because he's not the most mentally stable person either, in my eyes Will Farrel has finally redeemed himself in my eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelDAug 13, 2011
I watched this movie with high expectations but I was let down to be honest. It started out with a bang but then it slowed down a little. There were some bits that got me laughing but overall this movie was mediocre at worst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Mowgli1114Jan 28, 2011
This movie was horrible! It seems like they had no script and Will Farell is just making it up as he goes along. And what he makes up isn't funny and doesn't even make sense. Mark Wahlberg's acting is atrocious! He is not funny at all! IThis movie was horrible! It seems like they had no script and Will Farell is just making it up as he goes along. And what he makes up isn't funny and doesn't even make sense. Mark Wahlberg's acting is atrocious! He is not funny at all! I was so bored and couldn't even get through it. Save your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MrC3030Feb 2, 2011
I was very disappointed with this film!!! It was surprisingly dry for a comedy!!! Their must have been a lot of inside jokes or I just identify with some the "humor"(and I say that likely) in this film. At one point I think I actually yawnedI was very disappointed with this film!!! It was surprisingly dry for a comedy!!! Their must have been a lot of inside jokes or I just identify with some the "humor"(and I say that likely) in this film. At one point I think I actually yawned a little bit. Bottom line, this film was a snoozer, so WATCH AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

Acting: Blah
Storyline: Stupid
Characters: Forgettable
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuAug 12, 2011
Cliche ridden romp yet enjoyable movie. Wahlberg, Coogan, Keaton and Ferrell are funny but the rest of the cast is a bit of a let down and if you're expecting the usual Ferrell comedy like Anchorman or Step Brothers then you may be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews