Newmarket Films | Release Date: February 25, 2004
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 477 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
310
Mixed:
53
Negative:
114
Watch Now
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
SEROJApr 30, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Too violent and bloody, but overall a good movie about the last 12 hours of Jesus and almost no scenes with the resurrection! I liked the few scenes with his students and Saint Mary more, and i think we needed more of that! Overall i give my respect for mr. Gibson, but it was unnecessary brutal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoDec 18, 2015
Perhaps, it is not to discredit Christ, but the good thing about the movie is the time of the crucifixion , really, even in the beginning to the same scene, bored a little, but this movie is world renowned in the world, and he explains thatPerhaps, it is not to discredit Christ, but the good thing about the movie is the time of the crucifixion , really, even in the beginning to the same scene, bored a little, but this movie is world renowned in the world, and he explains that Christ died for us sinners , keep it in mind !. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeFeb 15, 2016
It's stories like these that normally keep me entertaining and make me love it, but just fails to do so at around the ending. This is possibly the best Christian movie you can possibly see despite the R rating.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SheilaD.Feb 16, 2009
I have read quite a few of the comments. It's very much the case of you liked it or you didn't. I am a Christian but I found it left me slightly emotionless. But the boy tried his best. What I do find offensive is the crowd who I have read quite a few of the comments. It's very much the case of you liked it or you didn't. I am a Christian but I found it left me slightly emotionless. But the boy tried his best. What I do find offensive is the crowd who didn't enjoy it are very free with their opinions. They feel they need to denigrate anybody who did enjoy it as a moron and that they are uneducated, numbskulls etc etc. Personnally I don't give a dam what you think of Christians or any other religion for that matter, but don't try and make out we are stupid and you are they great informed of this world. Your are not. Every time you open your mouth you exhibit to the whole world what a pathetic numbskull you are. Keep the gob shut and maybe someone might think you have a brain. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful
4
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
Yo...my man got his ass whooped! For hours! Non-stop! But seriously this is a big steaming pile of unrealized potential.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
MovieLonely94Oct 26, 2010
this movie tells the life of Jesus Christ in the most gory way, but this isn't a bad movie. the score was good and the acting was decent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JessMan247Feb 22, 2012
Its Jesus getting tortured for 2 hours, but its a very intense movies. I loved the stares between people, acting is generally amazing, Which is really what carried this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
RedsebMay 25, 2015
The Passion of Christ is a Christian movie directed by Mel Gibson. The film depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus's life. Basically him carrying the cross. While the movie seemed to be focused too much on the blood and gore it was a good filmThe Passion of Christ is a Christian movie directed by Mel Gibson. The film depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus's life. Basically him carrying the cross. While the movie seemed to be focused too much on the blood and gore it was a good film none the less. The emotion and faith of the movie seemed to be drowned out by all of the blood and pain. One of the only clear moments of the movie was when Jesus (Jim Caviezel) had lost faith in his father. But he quickly regained his faith and was on his jolly way to continue being crucified. While I do believe that the actual crucifixion of Jesus must have been very gore filled, it had much more symbolism than what the film has portrayed. Perhaps Gibson used the blood and pain to keep the audience interested. Need less to say, I would have much more enjoyed a version of the movie that focused on Jesus's or his disciple's thoughts. At the end The Passion of Christ is an accurate representation of the last twelve hours of Jesus's life. But many important ideas and concepts have been silenced by all of the gore. I give this movie a 2.8/5. While it was interesting to watch, it was interesting to watch for the wrong reason. I came looking for a movie that would give me a better understanding of what the people who were at the crucifixion might have though, but instead I was greeted with gallons of blood. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SidW.Dec 3, 2006
This movie isn't as historically based as people are saying...Jesus himself is WAY off...Jesus Christ was middle eastern, not white. And unless you are clueless of the Faith, this movie is boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlexFFeb 19, 2009
I saw this movie when it came out on dvd i thought the film was okay in some areas it was amazing in others over the top. The actor playing Jesus and the other main characters (mary,peter,john etc.) did a great job in my opinion and the I saw this movie when it came out on dvd i thought the film was okay in some areas it was amazing in others over the top. The actor playing Jesus and the other main characters (mary,peter,john etc.) did a great job in my opinion and the music and picture setting was amazing however this not a film to watch multiple times. This movie just shows us that jesus went through a lot for us and died for our sins but i felt it was and one message film which was love. Mel Gibson just showed jesus's last 12 hours and that's it. I would not watch it multiple times though i'd say watch it once. Overall this movie is definitely something of a masterpiece and will never be forgotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JSFeb 25, 2004
How on earth this story got to be made into a film I will never know. The central character "Jesus" claims he is the "Son of God" and forms a cult with his followers named ?disciples'. Except that in this cult, all the members are How on earth this story got to be made into a film I will never know. The central character "Jesus" claims he is the "Son of God" and forms a cult with his followers named ?disciples'. Except that in this cult, all the members are already poor and the leader is the only one who dies. It's almost as if someone made a parody of modern cultism where the founder is made out as a victim instead. I would not be surprised if production was funded by The Way or the Cooneyites or Christian Scientists. Seriously, how else could such a preposterous plot make it into production?! There is plenty more in this film that appears to be there merely to insult your intellect rather than form a cohesive story. The mother of Jesus, Mary, is called ?The Virgin Mary?; that?s right, Jesus? BIRTH MOTHER is called VIRGIN Mary! Anyway, for some incomprehensible reason the powers that be in this ?Roman Empire? ? bizarre looking people with long beards and hats - decide that Jesus has to die for saying he is the son of God (no reason why I might add). Quite clearly this film portrays a time before any real understanding of mental illness and it is here if anywhere, that the film needed to be explored further. In modern times, such a person would be met not with a barbed cat-o-nine tails, but with compassion, understanding, lithium and electro-convulsive therapy. He would be assessed as to the likelihood of his being a danger to either himself or others and if need be housed in an appropriate facility for the remainder of his life. That the film-makers decided to subject the protagonist to a series of most horrific tortures before nailing him to a crucifix to die shows just how intolerant of the mentally ill the world of this time was. Even until the end, the mutilated Jesus maintains his delusions claiming that he will be reborn after his death. What I found most disturbing about this film is that the afore-mention Mary and another character called Mary (oh come on ? couldn?t the script writers have come up with a different name?!? Gertrude for instance ? there; it only took me two seconds to think that up?) along with the Disciples appear to completely believe what Jesus is saying, even when he is half-dead and evidently suffering from extreme blood loss. Film is the domain of realism ? even fantasy films must remain rooted within some confines of realism, but to expect the film-going audience to accept that these people willingly believe the words of this Jesus character stretches the realms of probability too far. But then maybe that is point? Perhaps what this film is trying to say is that even the most incredible and far-fetched ideas have a home within the minds of the impressionable? As Hitler said, ?the bigger the lie, the more people will believe it?. Or maybe what it is trying to say is that we should look back at our own history of hatred and persecution of those that are different from us or we deem not suitable for our society and learn the lessons from our past to resolve to be even more tolerant and understand of people like Jesus rather than treat them with hatred and fear? Or perhaps the person that made this film had his own agenda and a cynic such as myself could never even hope to comprehend the meaning of this film even if he sat me down and explained it to me. If I don?t understand this film, then perhaps it was not meant for me in the first place? It could be that he made this film purely for himself and people like him and that just because I didn?t understand a single part of it doesn?t mean I should get angry with him. Well, whatever; I still think it would have been better if Jesus had a pair of nunchucks, some throwing stars and an enchanted samurai sword. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisD.Apr 22, 2008
I saw this movie when it first came out on Easter 2004. I was deeply moved by it then, yet I left the theater very numb from the experience. It is the most violent movie I've ever seen, and I wondered even then if a huge display of gore I saw this movie when it first came out on Easter 2004. I was deeply moved by it then, yet I left the theater very numb from the experience. It is the most violent movie I've ever seen, and I wondered even then if a huge display of gore was really how to best present Jesus. It's the only movie I've ever seen that I probably will deliberately avoid watching again: not because I thought it was poorly directed or written. Rather, I found it too disturbing to be worth another watch again: I don't want to have that image of Jesus in my head. I don't think it's accurate and I can see why many have accused the film of being Anti-Semitic (but that goes back to the basic Christian belief that Jews were responsible for the crucifixion of Jesus...a whole other ball of wax) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FilmFlickCriticMay 5, 2021
This movie only gets as high of a rating as I have gave it because cinematicly its beautiful and very well done. As for the film itself its too much probably sits around a 4/5, overly drawn out and boring, very hard to get invested in unlessThis movie only gets as high of a rating as I have gave it because cinematicly its beautiful and very well done. As for the film itself its too much probably sits around a 4/5, overly drawn out and boring, very hard to get invested in unless you are a true believer I imagine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews