Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): March 20, 2020
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 128 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
92
Mixed:
22
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ExtrimemanMar 23, 2020
The obviousness of the messaging while lacking a talanted direction is painfully shameless. And what is even more shamelss are the biblical references that are used to add more fake depth. The ending is downright lazy. There is absolutelyThe obviousness of the messaging while lacking a talanted direction is painfully shameless. And what is even more shamelss are the biblical references that are used to add more fake depth. The ending is downright lazy. There is absolutely nothing remarkable in here, and the film is especially pathetic in comparsion to Parasite - another film that deals with the themes of social hierarchy. Except Parasite (while not especially subtle), has talanted and inspired direction, and does more with it's concept than just repeating the same metaphor over and over again. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
7
BulgarianCriticMar 23, 2020
This was actually a pretty decent movie.The twists were kinda expected but the acting was supreme and I enjoyed the idea and characters in it.If you are in the mood for a decent movie watch this one it won't disappoint just don't expect aThis was actually a pretty decent movie.The twists were kinda expected but the acting was supreme and I enjoyed the idea and characters in it.If you are in the mood for a decent movie watch this one it won't disappoint just don't expect a masterpiece with amazing twists like Saw. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
LebongJamesMar 22, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This one came out of left field for me. It has some similarities to the cult classic cube, but makes it's own identity for sure. It's about a prison tower stacked hundreds of stories tall, with one room with two people on each level. There is a hole in the center of the entire tower, where prisoners, some voluntary but most there by punishment, can see the levels below and above. There is a platform of lots of food that starts at the top of the tower, stopping at each level for a short time for the prisoners to eat before it moves down the tower. The further the platform goes down the tower, the less food and more trashed the food gets, and the people at the bottom get barely if any half eaten, leftover food. It is an allegory in ways about respecting the less fortunate and things like that. For me it was pretty gripping, if at times disturbing for sure, but I definitely recommend it if you can handle some mature themes. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
3
svoychikMar 26, 2020
The plot is really straightforward. Complete story has no explanation. Another one film to show how "bad" society is
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
DMLYxCriticMar 24, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Galder Gaztelu-Urrutia's The Platform is a thrilling, riveting, disgusting, and fantastic horror film. Think of The Cube, but more disgusting and layered. The cinematography was handled exceptionally well, as well as the actors' performances. The production design was great, too. The plot, however, needs to be worked on. There were a lot of gaps or plot holes, especially the part as to why they emphasize preparing the food that much when the administration could just give them anything. But, overall, this film is a fresh addition to the claustrophobic horror genre, where audiences are treated as the same as the characters; being put in a dangerous position without knowing that much of the environment they are in—an obvious must-watch for horror fans who are looking for something new. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
AntoniocpoMar 23, 2020
A film with an open ending ... Great social criticism of human selfishness. just scary.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
gameplayer911Mar 27, 2020
The premise of the movie is really stupid and makes no sense. The second act is not that bad but then the ending is terrible. In short: great image but stupid plot and no sense ending. stay away
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
FIghtDucksFIghtMar 27, 2020
Relative to the majority of films deemed to be good; I consider this to be deserving of a much higher score than a six or seven. The performances are great despite the setting being almost entirely restricted. The theme(s) has been addressedRelative to the majority of films deemed to be good; I consider this to be deserving of a much higher score than a six or seven. The performances are great despite the setting being almost entirely restricted. The theme(s) has been addressed many times before, 2015‘s high-rise comes to mind. High-rise is the significantly bigger film but resembles the platform in that class hierarchy is addressed in a manner that leaves a lot of room for interpretation. There are enough tangential story arcs going on that the film doesn’t ever feel like it’s talking down to the audience. It’s not David Lynch level open to interpretation or Parasite level excellence; but it’s a damn mother friggin nine. Nine I say! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
matheus_luquiniMar 27, 2020
The Plataform is a raw, sharp and realistic portrait of the human nature. Simply, outstanding.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
ScreenKeemMar 28, 2020
Granted, I was high when I watched it, but this film was a masterpiece. Felt like a 5 dimensional helldive into game theory’s coordination problem with an overlay of commentary on trust, faith, classism, and the human condition. Some of theGranted, I was high when I watched it, but this film was a masterpiece. Felt like a 5 dimensional helldive into game theory’s coordination problem with an overlay of commentary on trust, faith, classism, and the human condition. Some of the shots were insane. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
zNeverSleepingMar 22, 2020
Obra de arte!

Fico muito feliz em ver um filme da Netflix que é uma joia bruta dentro dos enormes equívocos que há nesta plataforma. Além de ter uma premissa chamativa, vai além de uma historia base e se aprofunda no significado e na
Obra de arte!

Fico muito feliz em ver um filme da Netflix que é uma joia bruta dentro dos enormes equívocos que há nesta plataforma. Além de ter uma premissa chamativa, vai além de uma historia base e se aprofunda no significado e na interpretação do telespectador - motivo pelo qual muita gente não vai entender o filme.

Um ponto acertadíssimo foi a atitude de criticar pessoas, e não sistemas econômicos, assim evitando muito discussões de carácter fechado. Aqui o que há em questão somos nós! A escolha de cores funciona muito bem, principalmente no que se diz ao tom vermelho, que casa muito bem com o suspense e a crueldade apresentada. A trilha sonora é peculiar e positivamente incomodante. Os personagens são muito bem situados, tendo um bom espaço de tela para cada um, fazendo com que os mesmos parecessem reais, casassem muito bem com o contexto e nos trouxessem empatia. A fotografia faz bem em focar em aspectos que aumentam a imersão na trama, como um cigarro ou um prato especifico de comida. A cenografia poderia ser melhor, pois não há muito uma sensação de isolamento - ou talvez seja apenas um efeito da lente utilizada, e ai eu já não sei se posso aplicar esse demérito no cenário. Ademais, esse é mais um daqueles filmes que ficam na sua cabeça por um tempo e exigem pesquisa e comprometimento para que se entenda todas as mensagens - ao menos aquelas claras pelo diretor. Nota 9.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
BrunoVn00Mar 27, 2020
I think I like the concept, it has potential. It's well shot, it's well lit, the pacing is good, the character interactions feel natural, the dialogue is really good, well thought-out and thought provoking. At times it had some questionableI think I like the concept, it has potential. It's well shot, it's well lit, the pacing is good, the character interactions feel natural, the dialogue is really good, well thought-out and thought provoking. At times it had some questionable editing and most of the characters are forgettable and there's nothing too special about them. Also the movie doesn't really bother to explain what's the whole point of "El Hoyo" (the setting), like, who made it and for what purpose or something like that. Nevertheless, the movie is pretty good. I guess all its disturbing moments and gore feel with a purpose and not just gratuitous. It has some symbolism and allegories that I guess communicate the underlying messages pretty well. Many of the messages are nothing new but this movie has a lot to say and I guess it said it well. It's a competitively made good movie and really nothing too outstanding about it. It could've fleshed out some story elements and world building but as it is, it's pretty good. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
Chrisboyd9Mar 26, 2020
Ending was weak. But overall good movie. I recommend all too watch. The whole movie it's a subliminal message.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
ValeromangelApr 5, 2020
Cliche, this movie its really boring. I cant watch for 5 minutes... Was confused and kinda weird
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingMar 27, 2020
The Platform (or El hoyo) carves out a sharp political and social allegory from its simple premise, while being a lean and gory horror-thriller.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
chestergMar 22, 2020
For me The Platform was something completely new. The film left me sitting in my chair after the credits started to roll just trying to comprehend what just happened. If you can, and have the stomach for it, watch The Platform.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
ozzsoffyMar 25, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The cube meets Snowpiercer This is a kind of movie that has a bit of philosophy, a bit of drama, and a bit of mysterious, and it do all that with minimum number of characters Snowpiercer Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
rodrigosoaresamMar 30, 2020
If you watched parasite and like it, you must see The Plattform. The best movie that I have watched this year. Make you think about the rude things that happen in the capitalism. You are not inside the movie, but the movie is inside you!
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
oguzhanoguzMar 28, 2020
Yaşanan toplumsal süreci bir ayna gibi yansıtma işlevini başarıyla yapmasının dışında muazzam bir yenilik getirmiyor. Platform fikri ve metaforu güzel kullanılmış ve dramaturgik açıdan bakıldığında işlevsellik son derece yüksek. Senaryo ritmiYaşanan toplumsal süreci bir ayna gibi yansıtma işlevini başarıyla yapmasının dışında muazzam bir yenilik getirmiyor. Platform fikri ve metaforu güzel kullanılmış ve dramaturgik açıdan bakıldığında işlevsellik son derece yüksek. Senaryo ritmi de oldukça verimli ancak şimdiye kadar yapılmış bu tarz filmlere bakıldığında onların üzerine çok bir şey koyduğu söylenemez. Yine de kesinlikle izlenmesi gereken bir film. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
hnestlyontheslyMar 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unlike its predecessors, The Platform is not really interested in high budget cinematography: the sets are simple, unadorned, poorly lit cells steeped in shadow and drab prison garb, which makes the momentary presence of the platform’s feast all the more impressive and visually striking. And though our protagonist’s disgust with the feast and all it represents is a point of annoyance for the survivalists in the audience–Friend kept pausing to complain about how little Ivan Massague’s character Goreng eats–it’s a point of fun for me to be able to think about what a boon it must’ve been for these actors to be able to react honestly to the spread (or lackthereof) as it arrived on set from the ceiling. It’s also a point of genius for the director to be able to portray his protagonist’s abstinent liberalism as a kind of stupidity, an echo of that adage my grandfather used to say, “Democrats want to give away the store.”

So, if The Platform‘s plot isn’t extraordinarily complex or even that original–a Stanley Milgram experiment with food–what makes the film exceptional are the ways that its structure feeds into our anticipation of events in future scenes: the suspense of discovering each new cell’s number and the way that this forms our expectations about will happen; the achronological cut scenes of food being prepared in a restaurant with care and precision; the Easter egg of discovering each of Goreng’s new roommates’ totems and the totems of the other inmates; the way that his roommates hover over his shoulder like malign Jiminy Crickets; the motif of snails; the way that Goreng assimilates the language of his compatriots, “obvio.”

The totems especially feel like they deserve a shoutout, since Goreng’s choice seems so patently reasonable at the start, until we see how innocent and useless his choice was and how revelatory it is of his character. The totems give this extraordinarily crisp descriptor of each inmate from a single visual image: the sense of threat and foreboding when Trimagasi pulls out his As Seen On TV knife; the disarming frivolity of bringing your pet into isolation; the ingenious and risky optimism of a rope.

Which is all to say, The Platform is filled with these brilliant moments of insight about bleeding hearts and craven conservatism and wide-eyed religiosity in the face of cruelty and selfishness. And though the film ultimately aligns itself with a kind of cold utilitarian pragmatism, it’s not at all stuffy or high-brow, but rather explosive and violent and surprising. That political evolution that starts as a simmer and reaches a boil is at the center of this film.

Some questions that I’m still trying to untangle a few days out from this film, that I’m not entirely sure I’m happy with the film for posing are: I understand why the panna cotta is the message, but I don’t understand why anyone in charge of this facility is going to be phased by the appearance of a child. I get that future generations and the cruelty we’re inflicting on our children is supposed to be a greater motivator than the spiteful displeasure of the people, but in the specifics of this film, it doesn’t feel like the allegory fits, or explains why Goreng’s absence on the top floor will make that new message any more impactful or protect the child from danger. On this point, I’m not entirely sure of the significance of the Korean Marilyn Monroe’s search for her imaginary son and the subsequent discovery of a young girl instead. Is her child actually imaginary as Imoguiri claims? We don’t have any reason to believe that Imoguiri would lie to us about this, except that she seems unaware of the size of the facility or the extent of its cruelty. When she kills herself before Goreng can wake up in their second month together, it’s in part so that they don’t have to argue about food or lack thereof, but also because she never imagined there were so many more cells. And, after all, she’s wrong about the fact that there are no children in the facility.

This question about Korean Marilyn Monroe’s motivation cascades into other questions about why she never found her son, or if her son was fictional, why she never found the child, if her strategy for finding him was essentially the same as Goreng’s. And if the answer is simply that she’s murderous and mentally ill, that seems unsatisfying. But more than that particular question about Marilyn, why has no one previously attempted this plan? Why doesn’t Marilyn end up doing this exact thing every time she goes in search of her child? Why are we to believe that she descends the Platform and then stays on a lower level for the remainder of her month?

The question of the originality of Goreng’s plan doesn’t take away from the fact that it’s pretty badass and entertaining as hell.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
AbdomohamedApr 1, 2020
Very impressive mysterious content , All world must watch this movie for humanity being
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
theredskyMar 31, 2020
The Platform came out of nowhere on Netflix last week and I decided to watch it. I thought it was good. It wasn’t great but it’s better than most films being released on Digital or on Netflix. If you have seen the 2013 film Snowpiercer, thenThe Platform came out of nowhere on Netflix last week and I decided to watch it. I thought it was good. It wasn’t great but it’s better than most films being released on Digital or on Netflix. If you have seen the 2013 film Snowpiercer, then you might detect some similarities between the two. I thought this would be an issue at first but by the end of it, I realized it wasn’t too similar to Snowpiercer. Their themes about class and wealth are similar but each film does their own separate thing with those ideas. The Platform takes the themes of class and wealth and says that everyone has a shot at being at the top while Snowpiercer uses those themes for the poor in the back and wealthy at the front. As the film progresses, the similarities start to disappear and its originality starts to shine. The characters are interesting to watch develop and learn about this prison. The performances, for the most part, were decent. We are only introduced to about 4 other characters that interact with the lead and they all did fine. The lead actor, Iván Massagué, did a great job though. He successfully manages to portray someone who doesn’t understand what he put himself through with this prison. There are certain points where the main character is in severe pain and his reaction to it is very disturbing. That’s also something I like about the film, it’s very disturbing. There is a lot of blood and very gruesome moments that could be hard to watch for some. I highly recommend not eating food during this. The film excels in some of its technical aspects but falls below average in others. The score was good although repetitive and sometimes overbearing and the editing was not great. It was choppy and rushed and took away tension from certain scenes but the cinematography and visuals are great. This prison has multiple levels with a hole just in the middle so the food cart can come down. Whenever characters peer down the hole, it looks very really as if this place actually exists. There are points in the film where we do see dead bodies and they also look horrifyingly real. Overall, The Platform is a brutal story with decent/good performances, great visuals and cinematography even if it can be a little confusing with choppy editing and overbearing music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
markwilliamsApr 5, 2020
Sure, the metaphor is a little heavy-handed at times but it’s brilliantly well acted and hugely entertaining. Claustrophobic, shocking and well worth your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
raviga747Apr 3, 2020
This film will show you how really social problems look like and the relation between rich and pure and maybe you will teach some lessons as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Stream2BigScreeApr 5, 2020
Welcome back quarantine-mates! I hope you all are staying safe out there and staying home. We'll continue to review some interesting flicks for you. This weekend we have for you Platform. It's from 2019, but it is just now hitting theWelcome back quarantine-mates! I hope you all are staying safe out there and staying home. We'll continue to review some interesting flicks for you. This weekend we have for you Platform. It's from 2019, but it is just now hitting the pinnacle of Netflix lore in March of 2020. The idea behind Platform is that we follow Ivan Massague, as Goreng, as he's stuck in a "vertical prison" with one cell per level, 2 people per cell, and the only food provided to the cells comes down on a platform in the middle of the cell and two minutes per day to feed all of the levels. Let's see how Goreng's experience turns out.

First things first, I papa freaks all the hunnies.... bunnies. Wrong first thing. I digress. First, this movie is in Spanish, originally. I chose to watch with the dubbed English. I understand that creates a difficulty for some people. I suggest, if you watch this, put on the dubbed version and keep it pushing. The voices are annoying and the writing is tragic. If I hear the word "obviously" again in the next couple of days, I'm slapping that person on site! Those of you who watched know exactly what I mean.

Second, the idea of the movie is intriguing. For those horror/thriller cinephiles out there, picture a combination of the Cube series mixed with The Belko Experiment and Saw or Escape Room (minus games). Stating that, I've said too much but maybe I've also peaked your interest. If I take all the great points of those movies, then we'd be on the right track. Platform is not on that track. In the gory and gross categories, Platform can stand a slight chance. Otherwise, this movie lacks depth. Sure, the concept is interesting until you realize you're just watching a different version of the Cube with food (because how did those people in Cube survive without food?!... neither here nor there). It's ironic to say the movie lacks depth when the whole movie harps on how deep/far the platform goes down! The writers were on to something, but it feels like they just gave up half-way through and said, "Yeah this is too stupid even for us. Let's just get Netflix to pay us for content."

Finally, this movie lacks resolution and any real explanation. Even though my description states that it's a prison, Platform never explicitly acknowledges whether it really is a prison. Oh, these idiots are locked in alright but what country started this prison system. Shoot! This might be a more effective deterrent to crime than our actual system, but alas we'll never find out. Social experiment vs. Prison reform? You'll never find out.

Needless to say, thank God this movie came to streaming only. Forget that the movie has subtitles or poor dubbing, Platform has no direction. That’s difficult to say for a movie that literally just goes up and down for an hour and half. For my horror/thriller fans out there… you’ll get your handful of popcorn out of this but everyone else this is a single popped kernel that if you’re desperate and not squeamish I’d say pop in.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
imconorirlApr 4, 2020
The Platform is basically a midnight gore film like 'The Cube' if it was merged with a metaphorical movie. The brutalist design is brilliant and effective to push the principles of the feature, but it tends to feel quite shallow by the timeThe Platform is basically a midnight gore film like 'The Cube' if it was merged with a metaphorical movie. The brutalist design is brilliant and effective to push the principles of the feature, but it tends to feel quite shallow by the time that you make it to the the lacklustre ending. Also, if you do intend to watch this film, then go for the Spanish version with subtitles as the English dub is absolutely awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
wabisabiMar 31, 2020
Cliche and predictable, despite the Platform's 250 levels it's about as deep as a puddle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FicoApr 1, 2020
Film chisto an Odin raz, film o social lesnice, ojidal drugogo koncha. Stably 7
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Sputnik-IApr 2, 2020
I have watched a lot of dark films (Guinea Pig 2 anyone?) so I am no stranger to films that border on snuff. But by the end of this film, even I felt degraded and defiled. While the eponymous platform is an innovative basis on which the plotI have watched a lot of dark films (Guinea Pig 2 anyone?) so I am no stranger to films that border on snuff. But by the end of this film, even I felt degraded and defiled. While the eponymous platform is an innovative basis on which the plot unfolds, gratuitous levels of violence and disturbing imagery still need to be justified by a satisfactory denouement. Do not expect to find that here. Rather, watch the first half and make up your own ending. It will probably be better than the real one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BelzApr 4, 2020
The movie portrays the social hierarchy well and depicts the cruelty of human nature. They did a great job emphasising the greed of humans. However, I can’t eat properly because of this movie. I’ve lost all my appetite for everything that’sThe movie portrays the social hierarchy well and depicts the cruelty of human nature. They did a great job emphasising the greed of humans. However, I can’t eat properly because of this movie. I’ve lost all my appetite for everything that’s meat. Additionally, the hallucinations felt oddly weird and seemed fake in a sense. The movie would have been better if not for the ending, he could have been shown to go up as well instead of staying at the bottom with his first roommate. Overall, the cannibalism was the worst thing about the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
carson733Apr 5, 2020
a must watch. it really makes you think and has lots of metaphors and underlying meanings. 10/10 highly recommend
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThomastreisabApr 6, 2020
Filme insconsistente e fraco. Roteiro ruim, dialogos pessimos, nao passa de um trabalho de colegial anticapitalista.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kira7xApr 6, 2020
It's a pretty interesting movie about how humans behave in extreme conditions, it shows how gruesome and nasty we can actually be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews