Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): March 20, 2020
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 131 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
94
Mixed:
22
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BulgarianCriticMar 23, 2020
This was actually a pretty decent movie.The twists were kinda expected but the acting was supreme and I enjoyed the idea and characters in it.If you are in the mood for a decent movie watch this one it won't disappoint just don't expect aThis was actually a pretty decent movie.The twists were kinda expected but the acting was supreme and I enjoyed the idea and characters in it.If you are in the mood for a decent movie watch this one it won't disappoint just don't expect a masterpiece with amazing twists like Saw. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
LebongJamesMar 22, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This one came out of left field for me. It has some similarities to the cult classic cube, but makes it's own identity for sure. It's about a prison tower stacked hundreds of stories tall, with one room with two people on each level. There is a hole in the center of the entire tower, where prisoners, some voluntary but most there by punishment, can see the levels below and above. There is a platform of lots of food that starts at the top of the tower, stopping at each level for a short time for the prisoners to eat before it moves down the tower. The further the platform goes down the tower, the less food and more trashed the food gets, and the people at the bottom get barely if any half eaten, leftover food. It is an allegory in ways about respecting the less fortunate and things like that. For me it was pretty gripping, if at times disturbing for sure, but I definitely recommend it if you can handle some mature themes. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
8
DMLYxCriticMar 24, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Galder Gaztelu-Urrutia's The Platform is a thrilling, riveting, disgusting, and fantastic horror film. Think of The Cube, but more disgusting and layered. The cinematography was handled exceptionally well, as well as the actors' performances. The production design was great, too. The plot, however, needs to be worked on. There were a lot of gaps or plot holes, especially the part as to why they emphasize preparing the food that much when the administration could just give them anything. But, overall, this film is a fresh addition to the claustrophobic horror genre, where audiences are treated as the same as the characters; being put in a dangerous position without knowing that much of the environment they are in—an obvious must-watch for horror fans who are looking for something new. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
AntoniocpoMar 23, 2020
A film with an open ending ... Great social criticism of human selfishness. just scary.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
FIghtDucksFIghtMar 27, 2020
Relative to the majority of films deemed to be good; I consider this to be deserving of a much higher score than a six or seven. The performances are great despite the setting being almost entirely restricted. The theme(s) has been addressedRelative to the majority of films deemed to be good; I consider this to be deserving of a much higher score than a six or seven. The performances are great despite the setting being almost entirely restricted. The theme(s) has been addressed many times before, 2015‘s high-rise comes to mind. High-rise is the significantly bigger film but resembles the platform in that class hierarchy is addressed in a manner that leaves a lot of room for interpretation. There are enough tangential story arcs going on that the film doesn’t ever feel like it’s talking down to the audience. It’s not David Lynch level open to interpretation or Parasite level excellence; but it’s a damn mother friggin nine. Nine I say! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
matheus_luquiniMar 27, 2020
The Plataform is a raw, sharp and realistic portrait of the human nature. Simply, outstanding.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
ScreenKeemMar 28, 2020
Granted, I was high when I watched it, but this film was a masterpiece. Felt like a 5 dimensional helldive into game theory’s coordination problem with an overlay of commentary on trust, faith, classism, and the human condition. Some of theGranted, I was high when I watched it, but this film was a masterpiece. Felt like a 5 dimensional helldive into game theory’s coordination problem with an overlay of commentary on trust, faith, classism, and the human condition. Some of the shots were insane. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
zNeverSleepingMar 22, 2020
Obra de arte!

Fico muito feliz em ver um filme da Netflix que é uma joia bruta dentro dos enormes equívocos que há nesta plataforma. Além de ter uma premissa chamativa, vai além de uma historia base e se aprofunda no significado e na
Obra de arte!

Fico muito feliz em ver um filme da Netflix que é uma joia bruta dentro dos enormes equívocos que há nesta plataforma. Além de ter uma premissa chamativa, vai além de uma historia base e se aprofunda no significado e na interpretação do telespectador - motivo pelo qual muita gente não vai entender o filme.

Um ponto acertadíssimo foi a atitude de criticar pessoas, e não sistemas econômicos, assim evitando muito discussões de carácter fechado. Aqui o que há em questão somos nós! A escolha de cores funciona muito bem, principalmente no que se diz ao tom vermelho, que casa muito bem com o suspense e a crueldade apresentada. A trilha sonora é peculiar e positivamente incomodante. Os personagens são muito bem situados, tendo um bom espaço de tela para cada um, fazendo com que os mesmos parecessem reais, casassem muito bem com o contexto e nos trouxessem empatia. A fotografia faz bem em focar em aspectos que aumentam a imersão na trama, como um cigarro ou um prato especifico de comida. A cenografia poderia ser melhor, pois não há muito uma sensação de isolamento - ou talvez seja apenas um efeito da lente utilizada, e ai eu já não sei se posso aplicar esse demérito no cenário. Ademais, esse é mais um daqueles filmes que ficam na sua cabeça por um tempo e exigem pesquisa e comprometimento para que se entenda todas as mensagens - ao menos aquelas claras pelo diretor. Nota 9.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
BrunoVn00Mar 27, 2020
I think I like the concept, it has potential. It's well shot, it's well lit, the pacing is good, the character interactions feel natural, the dialogue is really good, well thought-out and thought provoking. At times it had some questionableI think I like the concept, it has potential. It's well shot, it's well lit, the pacing is good, the character interactions feel natural, the dialogue is really good, well thought-out and thought provoking. At times it had some questionable editing and most of the characters are forgettable and there's nothing too special about them. Also the movie doesn't really bother to explain what's the whole point of "El Hoyo" (the setting), like, who made it and for what purpose or something like that. Nevertheless, the movie is pretty good. I guess all its disturbing moments and gore feel with a purpose and not just gratuitous. It has some symbolism and allegories that I guess communicate the underlying messages pretty well. Many of the messages are nothing new but this movie has a lot to say and I guess it said it well. It's a competitively made good movie and really nothing too outstanding about it. It could've fleshed out some story elements and world building but as it is, it's pretty good. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
Chrisboyd9Mar 26, 2020
Ending was weak. But overall good movie. I recommend all too watch. The whole movie it's a subliminal message.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingMar 27, 2020
The Platform (or El hoyo) carves out a sharp political and social allegory from its simple premise, while being a lean and gory horror-thriller.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
chestergMar 22, 2020
For me The Platform was something completely new. The film left me sitting in my chair after the credits started to roll just trying to comprehend what just happened. If you can, and have the stomach for it, watch The Platform.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
rodrigosoaresamMar 30, 2020
If you watched parasite and like it, you must see The Plattform. The best movie that I have watched this year. Make you think about the rude things that happen in the capitalism. You are not inside the movie, but the movie is inside you!
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
AbdomohamedApr 1, 2020
Very impressive mysterious content , All world must watch this movie for humanity being
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
theredskyMar 31, 2020
The Platform came out of nowhere on Netflix last week and I decided to watch it. I thought it was good. It wasn’t great but it’s better than most films being released on Digital or on Netflix. If you have seen the 2013 film Snowpiercer, thenThe Platform came out of nowhere on Netflix last week and I decided to watch it. I thought it was good. It wasn’t great but it’s better than most films being released on Digital or on Netflix. If you have seen the 2013 film Snowpiercer, then you might detect some similarities between the two. I thought this would be an issue at first but by the end of it, I realized it wasn’t too similar to Snowpiercer. Their themes about class and wealth are similar but each film does their own separate thing with those ideas. The Platform takes the themes of class and wealth and says that everyone has a shot at being at the top while Snowpiercer uses those themes for the poor in the back and wealthy at the front. As the film progresses, the similarities start to disappear and its originality starts to shine. The characters are interesting to watch develop and learn about this prison. The performances, for the most part, were decent. We are only introduced to about 4 other characters that interact with the lead and they all did fine. The lead actor, Iván Massagué, did a great job though. He successfully manages to portray someone who doesn’t understand what he put himself through with this prison. There are certain points where the main character is in severe pain and his reaction to it is very disturbing. That’s also something I like about the film, it’s very disturbing. There is a lot of blood and very gruesome moments that could be hard to watch for some. I highly recommend not eating food during this. The film excels in some of its technical aspects but falls below average in others. The score was good although repetitive and sometimes overbearing and the editing was not great. It was choppy and rushed and took away tension from certain scenes but the cinematography and visuals are great. This prison has multiple levels with a hole just in the middle so the food cart can come down. Whenever characters peer down the hole, it looks very really as if this place actually exists. There are points in the film where we do see dead bodies and they also look horrifyingly real. Overall, The Platform is a brutal story with decent/good performances, great visuals and cinematography even if it can be a little confusing with choppy editing and overbearing music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
markwilliamsApr 5, 2020
Sure, the metaphor is a little heavy-handed at times but it’s brilliantly well acted and hugely entertaining. Claustrophobic, shocking and well worth your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
raviga747Apr 3, 2020
This film will show you how really social problems look like and the relation between rich and pure and maybe you will teach some lessons as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FicoApr 1, 2020
Film chisto an Odin raz, film o social lesnice, ojidal drugogo koncha. Stably 7
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
carson733Apr 5, 2020
a must watch. it really makes you think and has lots of metaphors and underlying meanings. 10/10 highly recommend
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kira7xApr 6, 2020
It's a pretty interesting movie about how humans behave in extreme conditions, it shows how gruesome and nasty we can actually be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews