Netflix | Release Date: November 17, 2021
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 363 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
222
Mixed:
66
Negative:
75
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
eberman123Jan 11, 2022
I wanted to really like this film. I found it boring and without much plot. On a plus note, the acting and scenery were great.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
LittlegizmoJan 10, 2022
well this movie isnt really good... yes the actors are very talented and its a very beautiful movie ....but i have seen much better movies
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
bnbianchiMar 19, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i hated this movie!... i was waiting for it to get interesting considering the reviews...it's slow, couldn't connect w/ the characters, didnt give a damn abt Cumberbunch's homosexuality... the acting was "meh" at best... sigh... it will win the Academy Award for Everything!... movie, director, writing, acting, location, on and on... i guess im not sophisticated enough... i give it a -0... if u want to c a great film abt the west watch "First Cow"... absolutely the best! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
DrLAVMar 20, 2022
I'm with Sam Elliott--what a POS! Like so many, this film just drug along, and I kept waiting for it to get better, but, well....that's 2+ hours of my life I'll never get back.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
RMckayMar 6, 2022
Easily the most overrated film of the year, and I do consider myself a Campion fan. Loved the Piano and other works, but this film is a predictable tired display of modern PC culture to which professional critics feel obliged to herald,Easily the most overrated film of the year, and I do consider myself a Campion fan. Loved the Piano and other works, but this film is a predictable tired display of modern PC culture to which professional critics feel obliged to herald, because of it's fleeting importance of subject matter. This film has been made many times within the last few years. It's extremely cookie-cutter and a low point for Campion. As one can see the user reviews are way lower than the obligatory handouts pro-critics have been giving it. That is not a mistake by viewers, and you're not missing anything that these pro critics are seeing. I also cannot take Cummerbatch as a cowboy. It just doesn't work for him. A shame too, as Plemons and Dunst truly shined bright. The only two beams of light to be emitted from this bland attempt at Campion staying relevant. Bummer for sure. And painfully snoozy. Throw some award noms at Plemons and Dunst, and just walk away, as those two performances are the most redeemable portions of this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
marklaing1Feb 16, 2022
I watched a DVD screener so I was bombarded during the opening credits by "New Zealand Film Commission." plugs. It was almost like a tourism showreel. We get it, it's not Montana (where the film is set), it's Lord of the Rings again butI watched a DVD screener so I was bombarded during the opening credits by "New Zealand Film Commission." plugs. It was almost like a tourism showreel. We get it, it's not Montana (where the film is set), it's Lord of the Rings again but couldn't you at least wait until the closing credits before breaking the fourth wall? I found the movie incredibly gloomy for these covid times. The acting was great, especially Kirsten Dunst, Benedict was perhaps miscast, the music was grating, overdone, and the cinematography was great. Take away the soundtrack and there seemed to be very little "there" there. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
JoshTurkeyDec 1, 2021
Really intelligent plot. Distorts expectations by a mile, playing on obvious tropes, only in the end to turn it all on its head. Movie of the year!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
EsotericEricFeb 14, 2022
This movie tells you its more important than it is, and the critics believed it.

Absolutely nothing happens, just grunting and nodding while the score makes you believe something epic is moments away. Spoiler: It isn't.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
2
RoisinMJan 17, 2022
Tries to be subtle but ends up boring and confusing. The entire plot is just hints and subtext, with hardly any dialogue. Music and cinematography make it seem like something tense is brewing, but no plot developments happen until the last 10Tries to be subtle but ends up boring and confusing. The entire plot is just hints and subtext, with hardly any dialogue. Music and cinematography make it seem like something tense is brewing, but no plot developments happen until the last 10 minutes. The only female character (though well acted by Dunst) is so undeveloped she is just a wilting flower - we're led to believe she is so weak that her brother in law playing mandolin a bit loudly and not coming to her dinner party was enough to torment her into alcoholism, despite the fact she apparently already survived one husband's suicide and ran her own business just fine. We are given no insight into the inner worlds of any characters and are instead left guessing at the meaning of it all. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
Dsnuts209Jan 27, 2022
Very very slow and boring. I kept thinking something was going to happen to make the movie interesting but it didn’t. Now I’m disappointed two hours later.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
2
vgreenwevFeb 11, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Power of the dog was not Oscar worthy. First of all, its filmed in New Zealand that is very clear, the two brothers are still sleeping in their childhood room, but their mother and father have moved out of the house (why) never explained. The movie moves from the marriage, to being a drunk to her son in medical school in 10 minutes. Phil went to Yale really since he was having an affair with Brono Bill when did he have time to do this? And how did her son know that he would find a cow dead from Anthrax lucky find. There were HUGE holes in the story line, and I could not figure out why this movie would get any nods. If you want to watch a great western in the early 1900's watch Legend of the Falls so much better. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
mgrandellFeb 14, 2022
I found it to be abusive to animals and stopped watching at 32 minutes when Benedict, the fake vegan, started swatting the horse in the face repeatedly while shouting **** at it. Seeing the fear in that horse's eyes was heartbreaking. II found it to be abusive to animals and stopped watching at 32 minutes when Benedict, the fake vegan, started swatting the horse in the face repeatedly while shouting **** at it. Seeing the fear in that horse's eyes was heartbreaking. I researched the animal abuse, and it is real. Further along in the movie, I read that Benedict also castrates a bull. Why is this abuse necessary and tolerated? I will no longer watch a movie with Benedict Cumberbatch or a movie directed by Jane Campion. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
3
Miles_LongFeb 27, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a joke right? The dialogue and homoerotic scenes feel like they were written by Jackie Treehorn. Seriously, this was the satire trailer “Satan‘s Alley” brought to the big screen. We where laughing hysterically at the grooming scenes because the homoeroticism and gay juxtaposition was so blatantly obvious that it in came off as a SNL skit.

Me and the boys did not know we were going to watch a gay grooming movie, so when the grooming started we were sideswiped with laughter and eye rolls.

The first hour meandered around while Phil (Cumberbatch) was being a overwrought one dimensional bully. The movie never really got engaging till the twink got home from college and the hilarity ensued.

This is up for best picture, but at its core it’s a badly written gay porno without the porn.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
EgrobinsFeb 16, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was really bad from start to finish. I kept waiting for the movie to get better. Don't waste your time. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
3
ElarturFeb 23, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is really boring, it tries to generate moments of tension but it doesn't make it, the events doesn't mean anything and the end is anticlimactic as no other Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
bartsniderMar 3, 2022
Boring is about the best thing that can be said for this movie. It reminded me of the old saying, "As exciting as watching chrome rust" or "watching grass grow." The good reviews of this film must have been done by Hollywood elitists whoBoring is about the best thing that can be said for this movie. It reminded me of the old saying, "As exciting as watching chrome rust" or "watching grass grow." The good reviews of this film must have been done by Hollywood elitists who think they know more about what's good than the rest of us. Giving it an Oscar would be a major disservice to moviegoers and the film industry. Much better for everyone to rename the film "Hair of the Dog" and just let it go off and be forgotten. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
2
FATMANGOBOOMJan 28, 2022
One of the worst movies I have ever seen… no one acts likes this and it is just bad… you find yourself waiting and waiting for it to get better but it does not it just gets worst…

Put it this way, I would rather piss on an electric fence
One of the worst movies I have ever seen… no one acts likes this and it is just bad… you find yourself waiting and waiting for it to get better but it does not it just gets worst…

Put it this way, I would rather piss on an electric fence then suffer watching this movie again…
Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
1
aaronmasserFeb 7, 2022
This movie seems to be intentionally irritating and the big ending was not that surprising or interesting. It is boring.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
6
disobedientlibDec 13, 2021
I don't really understand the critic love for this movie. The ending seemed so obvious to me; almost ham-fisted in the hints given along the way. It is set at a turtle's pace. There is great cinematography and set design and good acting here,I don't really understand the critic love for this movie. The ending seemed so obvious to me; almost ham-fisted in the hints given along the way. It is set at a turtle's pace. There is great cinematography and set design and good acting here, but hardly worth critics falling over themselves to praise it so much. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
twpolkFeb 8, 2022
Badly acted, boring, slow, in love with itself.

But it’s beautiful to look at.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantDec 10, 2021
Cinematic artistry is indeed inspiring, but, if a film doesn't have a comparably impressive narrative, that celluloid mastery generally all goes for naught. Such is the case with writer-director Jane Campion's latest, a disappointinglyCinematic artistry is indeed inspiring, but, if a film doesn't have a comparably impressive narrative, that celluloid mastery generally all goes for naught. Such is the case with writer-director Jane Campion's latest, a disappointingly underwhelming effort from an ordinarily reliable auteur. The chief problem here is an often-thin, sometimes-obvious, frequently unfocused story (with a script to match), one that's principally an essay on the dangers of toxic masculinity as explored through life on a 1920s Montana cattle ranch. The film seeks to examine this issue through a variety of story threads, most of which are far from fully developed and lack coherent correlation save for the behavior of a somewhat cliched, mostly monodimensional protagonist. To its credit, "The Power of the Dog" features gorgeous cinematography, strong character development, a fine period piece production design, a captivating original score, and excellent performances, especially from Benedict Cumberbatch and Kodi Smit-McPhee. Yet, even though these strengths come close in capably covering the material's inherent weaknesses, they're not enough to elevate the film to the level of greatness or to live up to much of the undeserved hype many critics have heaped upon it. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
Mauro_LanariDec 3, 2021
(Mauro Lanari)
Jane Campion gets back to make a film after 12 years: allusive and not suggestive. It is the viewer's task to fill in the gaps in the story, but anyway, while trying to understand the motivations of the protagonists, one
(Mauro Lanari)
Jane Campion gets back to make a film after 12 years: allusive and not suggestive. It is the viewer's task to fill in the gaps in the story, but anyway, while trying to understand the motivations of the protagonists, one realizes that they are not charming enough to be worth it. "The Power of the Dog" falls into the traps of that smug aestheticism that has marked a part of the New Zealand director's cinema, so "it's like 'Brokeback Mountain' but even more boring".
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
InMyDayFeb 24, 2022
OMG soooo boring. The first two times I tried to watch it I fell asleep. Had to drink a Red Bull on the third attempt just to stay awake. If a movie is just about pretty cinematography we don't need directors. The cinematography is great, andOMG soooo boring. The first two times I tried to watch it I fell asleep. Had to drink a Red Bull on the third attempt just to stay awake. If a movie is just about pretty cinematography we don't need directors. The cinematography is great, and it makes for a good trailer, but there is nothing here. And Benedict Cumberbatch is so miscast. He looks like he only weighs 110lbs soaking wet. Not a very ominous threatening figure at all. The plot drags on like a broken cart being pushed uphill. Jane Campion hasn't directed a good movie since 1993's The Piano. Who keeps hiring her? I have no idea what the Oscars was thinking with all the nominations. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
robomartionDec 21, 2021
Rubbish, worthless junk. Totally boring nothingness. Will be buried and forgotten along with the growing graveyard of Netflix originals in a few weeks. Don't watch.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
3
TomMondayDec 27, 2021
Power of the yaaaaawn. Nothing happens for a looooooong time. Cumberbatch is totally miscast as a roughneck American. Portentous music telegraphs tension that the film totally lacks. Pass!
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
0
LephtyDec 2, 2021
I had high hopes for this film being that I am somewhat familiar with the director and wanted to see a female take on the western genre. I read the book it’s based on more than twenty years ago but I have to say the film was a disappointment.I had high hopes for this film being that I am somewhat familiar with the director and wanted to see a female take on the western genre. I read the book it’s based on more than twenty years ago but I have to say the film was a disappointment. It all starts with cowboy rancher Phil not taking off his chaps or hat indoors which no self respecting cowboy would do, he wears spurs all day everyday and speaks with a horrible American accent. I could forgive this since Benedict was pretty good but the whole movie is a There Will Be Blood ripoff. From the cinematography to the soundtrack to the shots it seems to be a film students take on the source material who hasn’t found her own voice. I am appalled at the critical acclaim and the fact that no “professional” critics noticed the similarities with There Will Be Blood. I guess as long as you’re a woman making a gay cowboy movie your lack of originality can be overlooked. Expand
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
1
LsarDec 1, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Look, in short this movie has a queer coded and violent antagonist who is killed by a neurodivergent young adult. Even if you excuse these blatant and outdated tropes, this movies legit sucks. It is not tense, it is boring. The cinematography is ruined by the horrible script and one note acting by Jesse Plemons and Kirsten Dunst (I’m sorry Queen I think you can do better). If you need to rely on queer coded villains in the year 2021 well then you’re just a horrible writer. Get off your Hays code era bs and write some actual drama. This movie was lifeless and dull. Beyond relying on horrible tropes, this movie just has no inspiration. You want the fall of the Wild West personified? Go play Red Dead Redemption 2. Go read All The Pretty Horses. Go drink half a bottle of Makers and slam your head against a wall. You will gain a greater understanding of the west by doing any of these compared to watching this slow rotting corpse. Legit 0/10 I will scream about how bad this movie is I cannot believe it is a Metacritic must see. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
4
unctheelsDec 29, 2021
im sorry, but i dont understand the critical acclaim of this movie. it is one of the most boring movies ive ever seen. the actors themselves performed brilliantly, but the story was sleep inducing. i give it a hard pass.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
4
icotzabbDec 5, 2021
Despite some impressive visuals the script is just terrible and fractured. At times the score is just confusing and not congruent with scenes.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
4
PikmanDec 27, 2021
I had high expectations going in and was totally disappointed.
Nothing happens. I’m all for slow films or those that focus on character development. This felt like such a thin slice of this group’s lives that it wasn’t worth it.
It is very
I had high expectations going in and was totally disappointed.
Nothing happens. I’m all for slow films or those that focus on character development. This felt like such a thin slice of this group’s lives that it wasn’t worth it.
It is very pretty to look at, lots of beautiful scenery. You could just Google some landscape shots though
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
1
PisoFeb 21, 2022
Jane Campion is no Christian. Anyone who knows the first thing about Psalm 22 knows it's a prophecy foretelling Jesus's suffering on the cross. The interpretation in which Cumberbatch is the "dog" and Dunst is the "darling" is anti-textualJane Campion is no Christian. Anyone who knows the first thing about Psalm 22 knows it's a prophecy foretelling Jesus's suffering on the cross. The interpretation in which Cumberbatch is the "dog" and Dunst is the "darling" is anti-textual nonsense. Also, the movie is boring, passive-aggressive drivel. The whole plot hinges on some nonsense about burning piles of extremely valuable cured animal hides, which no one would ever do. If you think this is a film about cowboys doing cowboy things, it's not. If you think it's about characters making logical choices based on competing interests, it's not. If you think it's Jane Campion jumping in a time machine to complain about how awful she thinks our great-grandfathers were, taking whinging pot shots at "toxic masculinity" through a post-modern lens but with cowboy hats on, you're right on the money. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
AdamEnDetailJan 5, 2022
I do not get what the fuss is about. I once heard or read a saying about ambiguity not being profoundness - and this movie is bang-on ambiguous. I can only imagine that it is its ambiguity that's been taken as profoundness.

Two brothers -
I do not get what the fuss is about. I once heard or read a saying about ambiguity not being profoundness - and this movie is bang-on ambiguous. I can only imagine that it is its ambiguity that's been taken as profoundness.

Two brothers - both weird, one's a bully and then stuff happens. All this set in the old west, so the movie is a western - it does not have a reason to be but it is. To its credit, the movie holds your attention and lingers on and on - as if something is going to happen, but nothing especially does and then the movie ends.

It definitely has some talent and quality - but for some reason the not-main-actors (i.e. The extras/bit part) were its most interesting bit. The Power of the Dog is a ridiculously unexceptional and unnecessarily abstract movie lacking in anything particularly noteworthy. Again, I do not get what the fuss is about.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
DashingDexterMar 13, 2022
Too bad I chose to watch this mess... satisfaction may have brought the cat back...but in this case...
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
KeepzepackDec 9, 2021
Slow, tedious, boring movie, where the camera lingers on flat earth and the movie lingers on long, long silences between grunts by the actors. As if this weren't bad enough, there is Director Jane Campion's fixation with pianos, ever sinceSlow, tedious, boring movie, where the camera lingers on flat earth and the movie lingers on long, long silences between grunts by the actors. As if this weren't bad enough, there is Director Jane Campion's fixation with pianos, ever since she won sone underserved award for her previous film, The Piano. In this film, she has dusty cowboys dragging a grand piano onto the Wyoming deserts for unimaginable reasons. I could only take 45 minutes of this awful film, then turned it off. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
4
RatedRexDec 4, 2021
There is tension. There is suspense. There is looming doom from start to finish. But when it's all said and done, there is much to do about nothing. And I didn't think the performances were all that great, either. I hope the AcademyThere is tension. There is suspense. There is looming doom from start to finish. But when it's all said and done, there is much to do about nothing. And I didn't think the performances were all that great, either. I hope the Academy doesn't reward another one of these overrated, slow-moving art movies. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
4
SupersoupDec 3, 2021
One of those movies that feels like something big will happen at any time but never really does. It’s dramatic and does a good job of holding your attention but in the end I looked back and thought much of it was pointless.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
KotareNov 21, 2021
This film just blew me away. Can't stop thinking about it; it's one of those films that you need a repeat reviewing which I think is the greatest praise.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
NadineElizabethNov 19, 2021
Stunning. Raw. Complex. Challenging. Heartbreaking. Iconoclastic. Innovative. Reverential. Sensual. I could go on foerver. Favorite movie of the year. Dunst and Cumberbatch are supreme. Jane Campion has done it again
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
2
RobhussleJan 13, 2022
I’ve never been less entertained my a movie. The story line is the equivalent to eating cardboard. It’s just nothingness.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
Ma6499294Nov 17, 2021
Wow I'm speechless. The Power Of The Dog is a masterpiece! One of the very best films of the year, I can see not everyone liking it but with patience and paying attention to the details you will freak out at the end. Benedict Cumberbatch’s Best.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
1
Seth937Jan 1, 2022
Benedict’s acting is top notch. There’s some really beautiful shots in this movie, but at the end of the end this movie sucks. Like a lot. The “music” which is just a three year old playing the piano really poorly, is really bad and annoying.Benedict’s acting is top notch. There’s some really beautiful shots in this movie, but at the end of the end this movie sucks. Like a lot. The “music” which is just a three year old playing the piano really poorly, is really bad and annoying. There’s no real development of the story telling you who is who and what is going on. You’re almost all the way through the movie before you finally see what you think they’ve been trying to tell you only for it to leave you going what the F was that? Save your two hours and thank me later. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
1
ishurikDec 10, 2021
I barely finished watching to the middle. It is one of the most boring movies I've seen in my life.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
DavoZedDec 10, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a dreadful movie. I couldn't sit through it to the end.

Cumberbatch has 2 speeds- getting dirtier (by bathing in mud, for example) and glowering. That's it. He's charismatic? How?

Jesse Plemens role could have been played by a store mannequin, that's the level of the character's physicality and emotion. Kirsten Dunst is ditzy squared but it gets tiring pretty quick. Her Pee Wee Herman wannabe son is laughable and wouldn't have survived in 1920's Montana for 10 minutes. If you need a list of a hundred movies released this year, to see ahead of this one, drop a me line and I will send it to you.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
1
MoutamineDec 5, 2021
Worst movie I watched all year. I want my 2-hours back. The movie is filmed like an horror movie (constant tension) and yet nothing ever happens. It's absolute garbage.
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
3
MetacriticOnurDec 2, 2021
bad
[ bad ]

adjective, worse, worst;(Slang) bad·der, bad·dest for 36.
not good in any manner or degree.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
4
UncleWillardDec 20, 2021
Misses the mark for me. While beautifully shot, it tries to be too many things, and fails at all. Phil is not the villain we're led to believe, nor Rose the saint. George is practically absent, as is any kind of weight to any of theMisses the mark for me. While beautifully shot, it tries to be too many things, and fails at all. Phil is not the villain we're led to believe, nor Rose the saint. George is practically absent, as is any kind of weight to any of the characters. Their motivations are entirely mysterious to us and never resolved in any meaningful way. If this is about toxic masculinity, as Cumberbatch recently lectured all us menfolk on, where is it in this film? Is Phil toxic? Or a product of his times? Is Rose noble because she, lost her first husband? Has a gay son? Married George? Or are we seriously supposed to believe that Phil picking on her was the source of all that suffering? In the end, Phil is the only one who tries to make a meaningful connection to Peter.

If this is some diatribe against toxic masculinity, the only thing we learn is that Campion has no idea what that is.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
All_ButTrU4Jan 10, 2022
Unnerving stuff. I'm not one for westerns so getting convinced to watch this was a challenge but im so glad i did cause what this western has surpasses those Americana cliché's. A deliciously slowburn masterpiece that confronts masculinity,Unnerving stuff. I'm not one for westerns so getting convinced to watch this was a challenge but im so glad i did cause what this western has surpasses those Americana cliché's. A deliciously slowburn masterpiece that confronts masculinity, perception and relationships. Benedict is a powerhouse as the conflicted Phil who's repulsive vulnerability pulls you in whilst leaving you feeling as if you're walking on a tightrope. Fresh of its golden globe win i am satisfied with the choice. Kristen Dunst is a weary mess that unravels like a wilting flower beneath the predatory Phil,truly a sigth to witness. And the final twist ending is an unanswered marvel. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
nostalgia283Dec 18, 2021
A boring story. I really can't understand the behavior of the mother, who seems to be making a good wife from the beginning but ends up being a alcoholic.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
FilmFlickCriticDec 27, 2021
While I cant necessarily give this movie a bad review I can in no way shape or form give it a good one. While the actors all seem to do there part and the cinematography is pretty good, The movie is plain and simply boring. By the time IWhile I cant necessarily give this movie a bad review I can in no way shape or form give it a good one. While the actors all seem to do there part and the cinematography is pretty good, The movie is plain and simply boring. By the time I thought the movie was about to go somewhere it was the end of the film. Alot of drama over mediocre problems. This will definitely be a blip in the memory bank. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
GemsicleMar 13, 2022
I liked it, but I did not love it because it feels like a mix of "Brokeback Mountain" with the herd of mammals and "There Will be Blood" with identical cinematography, set design, costumes, and a supernatural music score by the selfsame JonnyI liked it, but I did not love it because it feels like a mix of "Brokeback Mountain" with the herd of mammals and "There Will be Blood" with identical cinematography, set design, costumes, and a supernatural music score by the selfsame Jonny Greenwood. My thoughts on the amount of art produced in the movie weighed a smidge more than the narrative structure that has a bit of nil, but is able to be accompanied all the way to the end credits. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
AriesrainMar 22, 2022
One of the most boring movies. Not a true western. You can tell it is not Montana. Not anything I would recommend.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
KvncvsMar 23, 2022
Really underwhelming, uninteresting story and difficult to empathize with. Lame experience and I don’t understand why it is being acclaimed as excellent.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
JudgeSmailsNov 28, 2021
The best thing about the movie was the style of it- sort of a There Will Be Blood atmosphere to it. However, it digressed into some heavy handed messaging and overwrought acting that was hard to take seriously.
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
0
Sqarni13Dec 2, 2021
worst movie ever made there is nothing interesting about this movie I didn’t enjoy watching it
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
0
Riles2000Dec 14, 2021
Boring and pathetic storyline and script. The story development was lazy. Some cinematography was great
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
Alex997Nov 17, 2021
It took Campion 11 years to return to feature films but the waiting was worth it because she came back bearing something frightening, powerful and breathtakingly beautiful. The main character’s cruelty seems to come from a dark place brimmingIt took Campion 11 years to return to feature films but the waiting was worth it because she came back bearing something frightening, powerful and breathtakingly beautiful. The main character’s cruelty seems to come from a dark place brimming with self-loathing and loneliness. Despite his brutality I don’t think Phil was a monster but a deeply sad, fragile and tortured human being. Excellently directed and with brilliant performances from its ensemble cast The Power of the Dog is a scorching tale of sinister passion and fury. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
DuskybatfishgrlNov 17, 2021
This film is an epic masterpiece shredding the trope of the macho cowboy & the genre from inside out. Stunningly shot by Ari Wegner, Greenwood’s
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
9
ismacinefiloNov 23, 2021
Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
deemoorahNov 29, 2021
"Deliver me from the sword, my previous life from the power of the dogs"

Not going to spoil anything, let's just say
The plot? Amazing!
The acting? Phenomenal!
The twist? Holy ****
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
KellyGaudreauDec 12, 2021
A beautifully crafted film by Campion. Benedict Cumberbatch once again shows us the range he carries as an actor.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
theredskyDec 14, 2021
Definitely a very slow burn but an engaging and character driven slow burn which I love. The film doesn’t really have an overarching story but instead focuses on small character journeys instead. The main focus of this story is on BenedictDefinitely a very slow burn but an engaging and character driven slow burn which I love. The film doesn’t really have an overarching story but instead focuses on small character journeys instead. The main focus of this story is on Benedict Cumberbatch’s character with the other characters contributing to it without really having a major story of their own. I would take a bigger issue with that if the performances from the supporting cast wasn’t great but they are. Jesse Plemmons and Kirsten Dunst give amazing performances. It’s fascinating seeing them contribute to Cumberbatch’s arc with both of them showing his character what love is even if Dunst’s character goes about it the wrong way. Jodi Smit-McPhee gives a good performance as well but he’s usual overshadowed by Benedict Cumberbatch. Speaking of him, Cumberbatch gives the best performance in the entire film. His character goes through this arc of learning to be more open to others about who he is. He mascaradas around as a tough cowboy but he isn’t like that at all on the inside. He has a more feminine side in him that he doesn’t want to come out but learns by the end that that’s okay. It’s a very compelling arc even if the story does it very slowly and subtly. The writing and directing here are top notch. Jane Campion has a great eye for what she wants to show and her style for slow burns works great for a western. The music and cinematography are some of the best aspects of the film. The film just looks and sounds absolutely beautiful and I loved how it looked. It’s amazing what you can show if you film a western on location. This is a film I would definitely recommend checking out when you can. It’s a great performance piece for Benedict Cumberbatch. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
livinmediocreNov 17, 2021
I need to watch more movies by Jane Campion. That was my biggest takeaway from watching “The Power of the Dog,” one of a few westerns coming out this year, and even one of a few films set in Montana, something that is greatly appreciated byI need to watch more movies by Jane Campion. That was my biggest takeaway from watching “The Power of the Dog,” one of a few westerns coming out this year, and even one of a few films set in Montana, something that is greatly appreciated by somebody who loves the landscape. It’s Campion’s first film since 2009’s “Bright Star.” The film is so gently told, which is a surprising contrast to the callous personality of its protagonist. Adapted from a 1967 novel of the same name by Thomas Savage, we see Benedict Cumberbatch, Jesse Plemons, and Kirsten Dunst give some of their best performances, alongside the film’s shining player Kodi Smit-McPhee.

Benedict Cumberbatch has always been an incredibly interesting on-screen force. And when put to the task of playing a shady, cold, and damaged man, he puts his incredibly charming characteristics to work to help you see him in the role even more. Kirsten Dunst portrays Rose as an incredibly delicate woman, playing into the roles set for the time; cleaning and helping around while the men work, but also showing the effects of such roles with her spiral into alcoholism and fear of the environment surrounding. And Jesse Plemons plays a similar role to what we might be used to. His quietness and neutrality deceive, making him seem like he might just be a victim to Phil’s toxicity, but he does hold firm in his positions. Among the principal cast, Thomas McKenzie plays a young maid, with an incredibly limited screen presence, and Genevieve Lemon plays a role as the housekeeper for the Burbank ranch, a return collaborator for Jane Campion. Overall, the cast was really great, yet did feel somewhat limited by their screen time in comparison to Benedict and Kodi.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
HabibiehakimDec 2, 2021
I just wish they had more story with Phil and Peter because both of them was truly the real Power Of The Dog, Benedict Cumberbatch performance was an award deserve, he was so good, though it might takes a little bit of time, overall he wasI just wish they had more story with Phil and Peter because both of them was truly the real Power Of The Dog, Benedict Cumberbatch performance was an award deserve, he was so good, though it might takes a little bit of time, overall he was amazing, so do Kodi Smit-McPhee, while Kirsten Dunst and Jesse Plemons was kinda just there, Kirsten Dunst did have a great moments and she was great, Jesse Plemons though not only he have a pretty little role, he was the least in terms of performance, he was just alright, again i just wish they have something more with Phil and Peter but overall The Power Of The Dog is still have a lot of great moments and it still a great movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
ExceladeogunDec 3, 2021
The power of the dog

Stunning, daring and beautifully styled. A sure best picture nominee
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
Jacko16Nov 20, 2021
This is my #1 worst movie of all time, some movies are so bad they become funny how bad they are like "The Room", this is sitting at the perfect level where it's just terrible. It thinks it's so much smarter than it is, trying to be aThis is my #1 worst movie of all time, some movies are so bad they become funny how bad they are like "The Room", this is sitting at the perfect level where it's just terrible. It thinks it's so much smarter than it is, trying to be a masterpiece like "There Will Be Blood" or "No Country For Old Men" but with zero substance, resulting in a self-important pile of garbage. Benedict Cumberbatch overacts and puts on a terrible American accent, it looks like some tacky theatre performance. Nothing to say that's positive for this whole mess, I watched it for the high review score which is very suspect because it's literally the worst film I've ever seen. Expand
11 of 31 users found this helpful1120
All this user's reviews
10
ayatay1995Nov 19, 2021
This movie won't leave you alone! I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since I watched it 2 months ago.
Benedict Cumberbatch is mesmerizing and his performance is Daniel Day-Lewis level.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
NorgliostroNov 17, 2021
talented, brilliant, incredible, amazing, show stopping, spectacular, never the same, totally unique, completely not ever been done before, unafraid to reference or not reference, put it in a blender, **** on it, vomit on it, eat it, givetalented, brilliant, incredible, amazing, show stopping, spectacular, never the same, totally unique, completely not ever been done before, unafraid to reference or not reference, put it in a blender, **** on it, vomit on it, eat it, give birth to it. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeNov 29, 2021
Tension from beginning to end. Jane Campion does another fascinating psychological movie. Benedict Cumberbatch gives an excellent performance and in a very other worldly performance Kodi Smit-McPhee steels the show.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
aceshop3Nov 26, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. TL;DR: Jane Campion made another masterpiece, perhaps her greatest, and this from someone who didn't think Angel At My Table or The Piano could be topped. A sweltering, puzzle-box, jewel of a film. Some say it is a "slow-burn", but when there's a piano-banjo duel that feels as tense as a high-wire act between two skyscrapers, I think it's fair to say that this doesn't feel slow even if it might technically be. The astonishing cinematography by Ari Wegner and an unsettling score by Jonny Greenwood, and four stunning performances, keep this going till the credits, when you realize the only flaw is that it isn't far longer. Awards bodies should probably create new accolades for Kirsten Dunst for her masterstroke of a performance that is the film's crown jewel, as well as Benedict Cumberbatch for whom this is hands-down a career-best, one that will make you rethink everything you know about him: both deliver imperceptibly shapeshifting characters. For those revisiting this after your first watch: after you've worked out the "how", you might want to rewatch Rose's monologue to Peter, her distress and his blithe assumption that that is what she wants.

On a meta level, the film is a deep-dive into what "masculinity" is: is it a performance? Is it fundamentally misogynistic, classist, and homophobic? Who claims "masculinity"? On a basic plot level, it's a story about alliances and rivalries within a family and along the class divide in 1920s Montana.

We get a rich character study of four central players. There's Phil Burbank (Cumberbatch) & his brother George Burbank (Jesse Plemons, stunningly naturalistic), rich ranch-owners. Phil is spiteful, whipsmart, and nostalgic for the "real men" of the past. George is his soft-spoken foil who harbors a secret desire to move into society. Phil and George visit an inn, owned by a widow Rose Gordon (Kirsten Dunst) and her effete son, Peter Gordon (a career-breakout for Kodi Smit-McPhee). Peter, the put-upon "sissy" may be the one character not trying to put on a "face". But what we assume about him comes into scrutiny.

Based on the Thomas Savage novel, the story shifts into gear when George marries the working-class Rose, who moves onto the ranch, setting off an epic Phil-Rose battle of wills. Why? Would Phil torture any woman George would've married? Is it because Rose is working-class, because she's a woman, or because she's Rose? Here's where things get subversive: Rose is exactly like and nothing like any leading female character Campion's shown on-screen. In the way she careens into alcoholism, abandoned by George in an isolated mansion, Dunst grabs the audience's sympathy and never lets go. But in the way she plays every scene with multiple interpretations, she's not the paranoid drunk one might assume. A powerful monologue delivered while drunk to Peter in the final act, with Dunst careening between laughter, tears, amidst a shocking realization about her son, we realize what makes Rose tick.

Meanwhile, Phil has sunk his teeth into Peter. What does Phil mean to do? What ulterior motives does he have? What has he hidden about himself? His psychological torture of Rose may have revealed much of it already, but it's when Phil is alone, and later with Peter that you get to see how truly universal and beautiful this twisted character is. The trick, perhaps, is in realizing this isn't just about Phil's masculinity, but Peter's and George's too. Or maybe it's about goodness and kindness, things upon which all of Rose's words depend. What the patronized, gaslit Rose knows, tries and fails to communicate versus what the savant Phil knows and communicates, how that shifts and inverts through the story, what it says about humans—that represents the real tragedy. Campion has outdone herself.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
benjanzenNov 25, 2021
The Power Of The Dog is a beautifully crafted and technically brilliant film. The cinematography, direction, score and performances are all excellent. I appreciated its subtle and patient exploration of masculinity, though it often feltThe Power Of The Dog is a beautifully crafted and technically brilliant film. The cinematography, direction, score and performances are all excellent. I appreciated its subtle and patient exploration of masculinity, though it often felt distant and never quite came together for me. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryDec 2, 2021
Benedict Cumberbatch takes on another distinctly different character as a gruff, but respected ranch owner in 1800s Montana. He becomes more sullen when his brother (Jesse Plemons) brings home a new wife and her son (Kirsten Dunst and KodiBenedict Cumberbatch takes on another distinctly different character as a gruff, but respected ranch owner in 1800s Montana. He becomes more sullen when his brother (Jesse Plemons) brings home a new wife and her son (Kirsten Dunst and Kodi Smit-McPhee), so he subtlety sets out to harass them. Director Jane Campion has created a dark story full of slow burn tension (sometimes too slow). Cumberbatch relishes his character’s obscure secrets with intensity and the rest of the cast rises to his challenge. In Campion’s style, the quietly-observed environment (from mountains to bugs) adds to the menacing mood, but her penchant for unusual understated characters and interactions makes the film an interesting psychological drama. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
BrettLDec 13, 2021
Powerful performances by Benedict Cumberbatch and Kirsten Dunst paired with a unique western tale and gorgeous cinematography featuring the vast western landscape make for an incredible new take on a classic genre. The slow-burn plot demandsPowerful performances by Benedict Cumberbatch and Kirsten Dunst paired with a unique western tale and gorgeous cinematography featuring the vast western landscape make for an incredible new take on a classic genre. The slow-burn plot demands a second viewing. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MoviesAtSunsetNov 17, 2021
Just astounding. It’s a slow burn yes but the denouement is astonishing and gets under your skin well, forever! A good film changes your mood, a masterpiece changes your perspective. See it on a big screen if you can and see if more than once
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Nov 25, 2021
In 1925 Montana, a grouchy and irritable rancher (Benedict Cumberbatch) shows hostility and resentment towards his brother's (Jesse Plemons) new wife (Kirsten Dunst), until he appears to have a change of heart and decides to take her youngIn 1925 Montana, a grouchy and irritable rancher (Benedict Cumberbatch) shows hostility and resentment towards his brother's (Jesse Plemons) new wife (Kirsten Dunst), until he appears to have a change of heart and decides to take her young son (Kodi Smit-McPhee) under his wing. Directed by Jane Campion and based off a novel of the same name, this slow-burn western has a lot going for it. Noteworthy performances, especially from Cumberbatch and Dunst really elevate the film. Cumberbatch is equal parts sadistic and oddly intriguing. You never really know what his character will say or do next, while Dunst on the other hand gives one her most raw and vulnerable performances to date. Plemons is also in top form here. Another highlight is the beautiful landscape and cinematography used here. The film is beautifully photographed. However, the film also felt a bit lost and aimless often times to me, something not even the acting and camera-work could quite explain or compensate for. This also culminated in a rather anti-climatic ending, and I was left feeling a bit underwhelmed by the end. Overall, fantastic performances from the cast and pretty photography couldn't quite make up for or explain why the film just seems to wander rather aimlessly and end with a shrug. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Dec 3, 2021
“I want to say how nice it is not to be alone.”

‘The Power of the Dog’ is a triumph return for director Jane Campion after a 12-year absence from cinema. The movies pace is steady and patient, so some people will take issue with that and
“I want to say how nice it is not to be alone.”

‘The Power of the Dog’ is a triumph return for director Jane Campion after a 12-year absence from cinema. The movies pace is steady and patient, so some people will take issue with that and find the movie too slow and uneventful, but for me, I was never bored by it. Instead, I was captivated by its eeriness and complexity. It’s a movie that never explains itself and nothing is articulated, but you can pinpoint the long-troubled history just from reading the characters faces and actions. This is one of Benedict Cumberbatch’s best performance of his career and it’s my favourite role from him. He plays Phil Burbank, a repulsive and cruel human being, who deep down has this boiling rage inside of him that he unleashes by abusing animals such as horses. However, I also found the character fascinating, because you never really know why he does the things he does. The expression throughout the movie was irritation, as if the western wind said something that got under his skin. His got the personality of a misbehaved child, sometimes mimicking and mocking those around him. Sulky and strange, with a thousand-yard stare. But man, Jesse ‘mother **** Plemons, who plays George Burbank, the brother of Phil Burbank. I mean, holy **** what a natural and gifted performer. His relationship with his brother is complicated to say the least, and George is powerless to Phil’s constant insults towards his weight, appearance, and his new love for a female hotel keeper. Even then, the two brothers would still share a bed together. As I said before, it's complicated. Kirsten Dunst plays Rose, a local hotel keeper who romantically falls for Jesse Plemons and gets thrown into the ranch life, something she and her son are not suited for, which sets the story into motion. Her son is played by Kodi Smit-McPhee, an awkward kid who stands out for the wrong reasons. Dunst and McPhee, both child stars who grew up into maturity on film and both deliver effective performances. Just from the facial expressions alone they manage to convey some much hurt and curiosity that the characters experience when in the presence of Phil Burbank. It’s one of the finest roles. The use of music here isn’t something you will remember after the movie ends, but I feel that when re-watching it, the score, along with the scenes playing out, makes the experience more hypnotizing and oddly mystical. The movie was filmed in New Zealand, and it never looked more beautiful until Jane Campion is behind the camera. Even with the muted colours and harsh quality to it, it still felt dreamy. Although, if you’re a massive lover of animals, then beware because there’s a couple of scenes in this movie of animal abuse that may upset you. It’s not on screen for long, like a few seconds, but man those few seconds are rough. Or just cover your eyes. Overall rating: *whistles menacingly*
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
LisaLR1Dec 13, 2021
"The Power of the Dog," is the latest film from director Jane Campion ("Bright Star," "The Piano"), based on the 1967 novel of the same name by Thomas Savage. The movie features a masterful, intense lead performance by actor Benedict"The Power of the Dog," is the latest film from director Jane Campion ("Bright Star," "The Piano"), based on the 1967 novel of the same name by Thomas Savage. The movie features a masterful, intense lead performance by actor Benedict Cumberbatch ("The Courier," "The Imitation Game," TV's "Sherlock") who plays Phil Burbank, 1 of 2 brothers, the other brother, George Burbank played by Jesse Plemons, who own and run a ranch in 1925 Montana. Phil is an intimadating, bullying and manipulative character, while brother, George is more timid, gentle and soft spoken. When George meets widow, marries and brings home new wife, Rose Gordon (Kirsten Dunst) & her son, Peter Gordon (Kodi Smit-McPhee), Phil proceeds to taunt and torment his new in-laws, until he discovers the possibility of new found love. Phil takes the quiet-natured, awkward young Peter under his wings, with a twist to the plot that features an ending you may, or may not, have seen coming. Rural New Zealand replaces Montana and is beautifully photographed by Cinematographer Ari Wegner, with a brilliantly crafted, haunting score by Jonny Greenwood. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
EFRAMDec 3, 2021
Once again Jane Campion proves that she is a master director, one with stunning vision, well worn patience, an incredibly complex detailed eye, and a smoldering heart to match her immense talents. The Power of the Dog is an exercise in ClassOnce again Jane Campion proves that she is a master director, one with stunning vision, well worn patience, an incredibly complex detailed eye, and a smoldering heart to match her immense talents. The Power of the Dog is an exercise in Class A filmmaking. From Johnny Greenwoods tremulous and heartbreaking score to Ari Wegners mesmerizing landscapes and hard-edged Close-ups, the film defies description except to say that each performance, from Benedict Cumberbatch's slow-boiling antagonist to Kirsten Dunst's out of emotional control damsel in psychological distress, to Jesse Plemons, kind, weak, gorgeously empathic, imperfect sidekick/foil to Kodi Smit Mc Phees deadpan secretly sinister dreaded cipher, TPOTD manages to keep you glued to the screen even when you wonder where its all going, with a payoff you see coming but never in the way you thought it would come. A master class in how to create mood, intent, passion, danger and finally catharsis, earning it the best film of the year in my world. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
Luke2Dec 6, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A beautiful, thought provoking film with timely themes. One of the year's best. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
AJ_13Dec 14, 2021
Slow-burned (maybe a bit too much), but so rewarding once ended. One of those films you want to rewatch inmediately after ending it. The lead quartet is amazing (specially liked Kodi Smit-McPhee), but what's most enjoyable is theSlow-burned (maybe a bit too much), but so rewarding once ended. One of those films you want to rewatch inmediately after ending it. The lead quartet is amazing (specially liked Kodi Smit-McPhee), but what's most enjoyable is the psichological, gazing game going between them. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
RiseofPalpatineDec 6, 2021
Great performances, great cinematography, great score, decent characters, boring plot.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
davemelbourne58Dec 7, 2021
The first time I watched it---I said been there/done that and I was kind of "meh". Then I read some reviews and rewatched the last half hour. I missed quite a bit it seems. Great performances. Gotta pay attention. Good movie, but is it BESTThe first time I watched it---I said been there/done that and I was kind of "meh". Then I read some reviews and rewatched the last half hour. I missed quite a bit it seems. Great performances. Gotta pay attention. Good movie, but is it BEST movie of 2021? I hope not Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
LeonVitaliDec 4, 2021
Jane Campion returns to the big screen with sensational pretensions: a western set in Montana in 1925 (which echoes in some respects to "Brokeback Mountain", Ang Lee's masterpiece), starring Benedict Cumberbatch, Kirsten Dunst and JesseJane Campion returns to the big screen with sensational pretensions: a western set in Montana in 1925 (which echoes in some respects to "Brokeback Mountain", Ang Lee's masterpiece), starring Benedict Cumberbatch, Kirsten Dunst and Jesse Plemons. A woman, Rose, together with her son Peter (with over-sensitive but sometimes brutally irreverent traits), move to the Ranch of her husband George Burbank, after the two are married: it will be the brother, Phil Burbank, played by a masterful Benedict Cumberbatch, to disturb the sweet and superficial family quiet. A direction that through its discretion, its close-ups, facial details and long shots, manages to involve us fully within this story that basically speaks of communicability, management of emotions and tolerance. The enormous abilities of the cult director are to express, through every precise movement of his characters, a characterization so deep that it takes a few viewings to catch every fleeting moment, which makes us discover something more each time to the story and the character itself. Benedict Cumberbatch is monstrous in his acting, and Kirsten Dunst goes after her which is truly a marvel; he is a curmudgeon, a gruff who takes it out on everyone and who with his brother can only talk about sex almost, ( then in reality it is not so, and here Campion reveals her great skill in blurring her characters, which so skillfully are directed ), she, the mother of the little feminine boy (but virile in her intelligence), grieved to the core for the family situation, manages, with just her gaze (reminiscent of the way she acted in Lars von Trier's "Melancholia"), to say it all, painting a woman devoid of any vital stimulus, if not just for her son. Jane Campion manages to create tension in every scene, even if superficially the action is superfluous, such as playing a piano: skillfully using the direction and dosing camera movements composed of slow carrellate alternating in montage; just as in the scene in which Rose tries to play the new piano given to her by her husband, for an impending party with high-level figures, but she does not get a musical tune, and begins to get nervous; as if that were not enough enters the scene without being heard, the fateful Phil, who climbed to the second floor, begins to " play " with the inability of the woman in playing, alternating the sound of his instrument with that of Rose, downstairs: close-up from the bottom of the absolute Benedict Cumberbatch and alternating with slow tracking shots to Kirsten Dunst, annoyed beyond words, in an ambiguous game between provocation, arrogance and the desire to dominate. Spoiler Part: Taking in the whole film, we understand many things towards the end: the boy, Peter, has been skilled in killing Phil; and this is understood from several very subtle actions, which in a regally explicit way are confirmed. The boy sees in Phil all the evil of his mother, but waits, cunning and firm in his actions; the skins of the gruff man are sold by Rose, and the son, as it happens, in a few scenes before had cut off some pieces of skin from the animal that died of the same disease of Phil, anthrax, as we notice from the blood that comes out of the organ of expulsion dripping. The fateful evening we understand through a directing game, which shows us an action carried out underwater, that the rope obtained from the skin, still virgin, is touched by Phil, and Campion seems to emphasize it with this shot, as if to emphasize the murder, which is already taking place: in fact it will be the evening of the premeditated murder of the young man, just like a villain, the boy offers him a cigarette, ruthless, as if he offered him the last dinner, the last gift. The next day, the same boy touches the ready-made rope, finished by Phil, with gloves, precisely because he knows that it still has traces of the disease used for the murder the night before. Why did Peter kill Phil? Because he saw in him every one of his mother's sufferings, from her alcoholism to her relationship problems. Is he happy about the murder? We can't say for sure, but probably yes: in the last scene, the son sees his mother Rose arriving with her husband George from his brother's funeral; however, they seem to be returning from a party, as the mother passionately kisses her husband: a slow backwards tracking shot, showing the son Peter, who smiles, exits the shot on the left, and the film ends; he got what he wanted, they got rid of the stone in their shoe, and everything settled down for the best.A very skilled game, which fits everything perfectly at the end of the film: its power lies precisely in the details, extremely studied and meticulous. A proof of the director's mastery, who expertly weaves the canvas for this small modern jewel. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
ItIsIDec 2, 2021
A very quiet and subtle revenge story full of beautiful visuals and great performances. Not for the impatient
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
TartineMyAxeDec 11, 2021
Very good western movie! Benedict Cumberbatch phenomenal acting. The plot amazing. Nice twist.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
ChanekeCholoDec 13, 2021
When I finished it, I was a little bit lose regarding that end, so I watched an explanation about it and my idea with respect to the film was right, but in that moment I didn't realize why. You can do that or watch the film twice andWhen I finished it, I was a little bit lose regarding that end, so I watched an explanation about it and my idea with respect to the film was right, but in that moment I didn't realize why. You can do that or watch the film twice and understand the great value of The Power Of The Dog.
The performances were excellent, everyone steal your attention in every moment. The cinematography in some way it transform to interesting character to take notice.
In general, it's a perfect film in every way but with a nothing new script.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
bertobellamyDec 2, 2021
"...A man was made by patience and the odds against him."

"My father said... Obstacles. And you had to try and remove them." Jane Campion's latest is a slow-burning western that will crawl up your skin, paving up the way for an unavoidable
"...A man was made by patience and the odds against him."

"My father said... Obstacles. And you had to try and remove them."

Jane Campion's latest is a slow-burning western that will crawl up your skin, paving up the way for an unavoidable and very human resolution.

The film follows the Burbanks, two brothers that oversee a big ranch in Montana. When the mild-mannered George marries a local widow, Phil, his cruel and manly brother, makes everything at his hand to make her life impossible. Benedict Cumberbatch shines as the evil Phil. The actor makes it easy to hate him from the beginning, showcasing toxic masculinity that, in appearance, defines his character. Also, Kodi Smit-McPhee, as the child of the widow — played by a melancholic Kirsten Dunst —, delivers a masterful performance. As a young man trying to overcome past traumas and making up his way to be someone of value, it is he who, in the end, gives the initial phrase here a whole new meaning.

And can we talk about Jonny Greenwood's score? It would be a crime not to give that man an Oscar. And just wait to listen to the one he made for 'Spencer.'

All in all, 'The Power of the Dog' is a solid film, and I bet it will be fighting in plenty of categories in next year's Academy Awards.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
MaxPayneIsGodDec 12, 2021
A quintessential slow burn that oozes unease.
Expertly acted and shot, The Power of the Dog is never really what you think it is.
Its a smart and cunning movie and probably the best of the year.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
crbDec 19, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Visually astonishing, with a soundtrack that gives an uneasiness that puts you in a state of constant expectation of the dread to come, "Power of the dog" is a western where death comes not from a bullet but from a cold calculated mind. It start with on of the main characters saying he need to protect his mother and ends a perfect loop with him doing jus so. The best scene of the movie shows Pete and Phill in the bard, Phill working on the rope he was crafting for Pete, and Pete subtly gaining the upper hand though crafted small gestures and at first innocents questions and becoming the tormentor after so long being the one tormented in the relationship between the two. While the movie does not have a plot filled with events, it's strength lies in the character development and arch. What happens is mostly in their minds and souls and is perfectly portrayed by the acting and the camera that at times seems to put you right in the midst of their angst. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
Paper_KayDec 12, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Didn't expect it to be this good, but it was really, really good. And extra points for a female director not trying to be a male director. There are scenes here only a woman could have pulled off - you will never see a man make love to a hankie this beautifully. Or forgive a murderer this easily. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
atifkaDec 2, 2021
you enjoy discovering meaning in details? This movie would give you the chance of it. What a masterpiece!
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
Ghazale77Dec 2, 2021
من عاشق این فیلم شدم. واقعا هنرمندانه هست و بندیکت کامبربچ واقعا خوش درخشیده.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
NicAustinDec 2, 2021
Deliver My Soul from the Sword of Masculinity

Psalm 22:20, as read towards the end of THE POWER OF THE DOG, states: “Deliver my soul from the sword; my darling from the power of the dog.” But who is the dog in this situation? Depending on
Deliver My Soul from the Sword of Masculinity

Psalm 22:20, as read towards the end of THE POWER OF THE DOG, states: “Deliver my soul from the sword; my darling from the power of the dog.” But who is the dog in this situation? Depending on how you interpret Bible verses, it could be one of two people. Or it could be both; I’m sure Jane Campion would argue that. And who am I to argue against Campion? After all, she did just create a masterpiece. A masterpiece that interrogates masculinity and femininity in the brutal rolling plains of Montana.

Every frame of Campion’s Western she wrote and directed has some type of phallic or feminine imagery, from coarse bullwhips and wood logs to beautifully shot deep valleys and mountain peaks. Sometimes those images are used violently and sometimes sexually, which is no surprise. Campion works best when interrogating the vacillating themes of violence and sexuality. THE POWER OF THE DOG stars Benedict Cumberbatch and Jesse Plemons as brothers Phil and George Burbank. While George is patient and soft, Phil is cruel and callous. George allows Phil to continuously call him “fatso” if it keeps the peace, and in one memorable scene, Phil whips a horse for no reason because of an annoyance. They have a “tenuous peace” on their ranch, one that is disrupted by the arrival of George’s new wife, Rose (Kirsten Dunst), and later, her son Peter (Kodi Smit-McPhee). Rose is visually perturbed by Phil, their relationship plays like a horror film, but she is more concerned about her teenage son and the ridicule he endures at the hands of Cumberbatch’s rancher.

From the very beginning, when Phil laughs off Peter’s craftsmanship at creating paper flowers that causes Rose to weep, to a tense scene where Rose is ridiculed when trying to play on her new piano — each time she tries to play results with Phil outplaying her with his banjo — Rose is keenly aware of just how cruel Phil can be, untethering her from a fragile disposition.

But it’s the relationship between Phil and Peter that surprises, one that questions the nature of masculinity and femininity without a firm resolution (which we have to admit makes the best films). Although the true nature of Phil and Peter may elude most viewers, what I can say is that Phil has a capacity to love that most won’t understand other than many repressed, closeted men. And Peter? I’ll just say the Zodiac Killer would’ve served well under his tutelage. Perhaps I give too much away, but a film is supported by how its characters leave one contemplative. Cumberbatch and Smit-McPhee do an incredible job at conveying the warring emotions within each of them. Cumberbatch plays against type (even though he brings a longing for something to all his roles). Smit-McPhee is the true breakout, bringing a quiet snakiness layered upon shed skins. Plemons was perfectly cast as the even-tempered George, not stunt casting for natural chemistry with Dunst, whose work encompasses her entire filmography. From the naivety and silliness portrayed in her younger roles, to, well, the melancholia of MELANCHOLIA and nervous mania on display in FARGO, Dunst plays her role with full range.

What’s at the heart of THE POWER OF THE DOG? Betrayal? Cruelty? Writer Annie Proulx of “Brokeback Mountain” described the novel by Thomas Savage Campion based her film off of as “gripping and powerful”. Both her novel’s adaptation and Campion’s work have those attributes in common. Both present masculinity as both a hindrance and a conduit to one’s desires. Masculinity is a double-edged sword and one must wield it at their peril.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
AdrianaCaceresDec 4, 2021
A great movie. A great performance by the entire cast but the one that is fantastic and wonderful is that of Benedict Cumberbatch. Jane Campion's direction is smooth and deep. Perhaps for many lrs the development of the story seems boring,A great movie. A great performance by the entire cast but the one that is fantastic and wonderful is that of Benedict Cumberbatch. Jane Campion's direction is smooth and deep. Perhaps for many lrs the development of the story seems boring, but ladies and gentlemen, this is real cinema. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
PriceOfVincentDec 10, 2021
Incredible. The masterpiece of this year. I cannot stop thinking about this movie and honestly I don't think I want to
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
Treasure188Dec 12, 2021
How can Jane Campion top The Piano? By making The Power of the Dog. It's her best work to date. The cast delivers their career best performances and Jane Campion is magnificent.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
AH6499Nov 30, 2021
The Only thing I can say is this film is probably one of the very best movies which I have seen in recent years!
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
toddandersonDec 12, 2021
The Power of the Dog is beautiful, brilliant, incredible. A masterwork. Jane Campion's direction is this year's best.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
SamimacedoNov 20, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Filme incrivel, gostei demaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaais.atuacoes impecáveis, cinematografia linda. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
9
Rebecca31Feb 6, 2022
It took a while for me to get invested in The Power of the Dog, it’s a slow burner and may not be to everyone’s tastes. If you’re expecting a shoot-’em-up kind of western then you may be disappointed.

A charismatic rancher Phil Burbank
It took a while for me to get invested in The Power of the Dog, it’s a slow burner and may not be to everyone’s tastes. If you’re expecting a shoot-’em-up kind of western then you may be disappointed.

A charismatic rancher Phil Burbank (Benedict Cumberbatch) is feared and awed by those around him. His brother, George (Jesse Plemons) brings home a new wife Rose (Kirsten Dunst) and her son Peter (Kodi Smit-McPhee). Upset by their arrival, Phil torments them at every opportunity until he finds himself unexpectedly exposed to the possibility of love.

Regardless of your preconceptions The Power of the Dog was not the film I thought it would be. You’re not sure what to expect when it introduces the characters and gradually develops them to a point where you become totally invested in what happens next. That’s really how I felt watching this, the more I watched it the more I liked it and by the end I absolutely loved it. It tackles many different themes at once such as grief, loss and toxic masculinity which honestly was the last thing I was expecting from a western. It creatively blends a few genres together and is more on the psychological drama side with a truly haunting finale. It’s a strongly character driven story and the entire cast are absolutely brilliant, particularly Benedict Cumberbatch and Kodi Smit-McPhee. I’d expect some awards buzz around The Power of the Dog.

Director Jane Campion really has created a stunningly picturesque masterclass in filmmaking. I love a good western and honestly it seems to be a neglected genre nowadays. I haven’t seen one this good since Hostiles, more westerns please. Film fans if you haven’t already taken the time to see The Power of the Dog be sure to check it out. Highly recommended.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulMar 18, 2022
La película del 2021 es definitivamente El Poder del Perro, de entrada no parece la gran cosa hasta que más temprano que tarde las cosas se vuelven muy interesantes, las actuaciones son geniales pero lo es aún más el contraste que cadaLa película del 2021 es definitivamente El Poder del Perro, de entrada no parece la gran cosa hasta que más temprano que tarde las cosas se vuelven muy interesantes, las actuaciones son geniales pero lo es aún más el contraste que cada personaje tiene el uno con el otro, pero hay situaciones que no son visibles a simple vista y que podrían requerir un revisionado posterior, en general es una grandiosa película. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews