AVCO Embassy Pictures | Release Date: June 7, 2002
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
5
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SlasherVoorheesAug 19, 2011
The Producers is one of the Best Comedies of All Time its a Comedy that Provides laughs the whole way through with great Comedic Performaces from Zero Mostel Dick Shawn and Gene Wilder it is a Movie that is one Clever Comedy
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ConnorJan 2, 2006
This is most certainly a classic comedy from Mel Brooks. It's different than many of Brooks' later films since he doesn't "hit you over the head" with the jokes, but allows some shards of subtlety to creep into the dialogue. This is most certainly a classic comedy from Mel Brooks. It's different than many of Brooks' later films since he doesn't "hit you over the head" with the jokes, but allows some shards of subtlety to creep into the dialogue. After seeing the Broadway show and the subsequent movie musical, parts may seem a bit slow or toned down, but if you step back and watch it as a stand-alone film, you can see the absurdity (and genius) of the plotline. Zero Mostel is brilliant as the original Max Bialystock; over-the-top at times and terrifically understated at others. Gene Wilder certainly is the best Leo Bloom in my opinion, better than any on the stage or Matthew Broderick on the screen. This film is, simply put, hilarious and brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CritiqueGirlMar 1, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another great funny, funny movie. The Campbells soup can necklace was a scream. The gay elevator ride was hysterical. I watched it many times and always has me laughing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JE61Sep 20, 2014
I give this film an 11. No, a 12! A solid 12. Side splitting, irreverent over the top insanity from start to finish. So many great comic lines. This is the Casablanca of comedy. Bring me another bowl of borscht! I cannot get enough ofI give this film an 11. No, a 12! A solid 12. Side splitting, irreverent over the top insanity from start to finish. So many great comic lines. This is the Casablanca of comedy. Bring me another bowl of borscht! I cannot get enough of Zero Mostel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticJul 25, 2014
One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Period. With every scene a satire of something, Mel Brooks made his masterpiece of comedy quite early. Gene Wilder and Zero Mostel are perhaps the funniest duo on screen, beating Murtaugh and Riggs,One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Period. With every scene a satire of something, Mel Brooks made his masterpiece of comedy quite early. Gene Wilder and Zero Mostel are perhaps the funniest duo on screen, beating Murtaugh and Riggs, Abbot and Costello, Thelma and Louise, and even the Blues Brothers. The script is funny from beginning to end. Nothing about this movie didn't want me to laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwNov 29, 2014
A hilarious stab both at the worlds of theatre and accounting. A high watermark achieved by Mel Brooks, Zero Mostel and Gene Wilder, in early work both for Mel and Gene. I haven't seen the remake yet, so I can't compare, but this version is aA hilarious stab both at the worlds of theatre and accounting. A high watermark achieved by Mel Brooks, Zero Mostel and Gene Wilder, in early work both for Mel and Gene. I haven't seen the remake yet, so I can't compare, but this version is a glorious hoot from start to finish! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwSep 10, 2015
The Producers was good. It had the usual Mel Brooks joke that had to do with Jews (like Seth Rogen inside jokes), and besides that, it had an amazing story and good acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Jul 8, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A goofy madcap satire on Broadway, its very shocking that this film made Mel Brooks and Gene Wilder major favorites for the entertainment industry.

the best of all the Brooks satires, The Producers is one of the most best of its kind in terms of laugh-worthy and cringe-worthy humor as well as the Nazis.

A clever show-stealing inside look, behind the back doors of Broadway that centers on Max Bialystock (Zero Mostel) a money thirsty down and out stage production manager who prostitutes himself to extremely old women, as a last resort to still get in the money making business. When Max's new accountant the nervously unstable Leo Bloom (Gene Wilder) points out that if he can acquire investors into producing a musical project that will totally bomb, the buyer will keep the extra money right off.

So thus Leo and Max embark on a provocative and controversially hilarious mission to get back in the limelight in the most awarkwardly whimsical scam ever devised yet, prepare to laugh harder as they decide to turn a long abandoned nazi propaganda play into Broadway's next biggest production ever in NY showbiz history! with hilarious moments such as Dick Shawn's memorable "Springtime for Hitler" stint and Ulla the Swedish Secretary doing her thing, a moving quirky black comedy classic, the film is a riot of madcap fun and entertainment for family only 15 and over, no children admitted.....

a film not to be missed, it will probably be named the best comedy ever made by your favorite celebrity!

"Don't be stupid, be a smarty. Come and join the Nazi party!"
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 18, 2016
Generosity doesn't get any better with the Producers on its way making me want more from this movie and it'll make us all laugh by how smart and silly it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews