Focus Features | Release Date: June 13, 2014
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 100 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
40
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
TheBitiqueNov 24, 2014
After watching this I had a new least favorite movie. This movie is one of those that is so confusing it makes you get a brain tumor that lies dormant for 30 years until you discover it too late. This brain tumor will kill the person andAfter watching this I had a new least favorite movie. This movie is one of those that is so confusing it makes you get a brain tumor that lies dormant for 30 years until you discover it too late. This brain tumor will kill the person and leave behind mourning family and friends. In the end you figure out what has been going on, but it's just not an ending that brings any closure at all. The ending in my opinion is just a cheap way of ending the movie to close plot holes but carelessly open new ones. This movie is worst than holding a cat that was just fed pure caffeine up to a black chalk board while poking it with a needle. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
Brent_MarchantJun 14, 2014
An overly cryptic, snail's-paced sci-fi offering that fails to deliver, even with its biggest disclosures. Truly unfortunate, too, since there was definitely some potential here. However, underdeveloped writing and a directorial sense in needAn overly cryptic, snail's-paced sci-fi offering that fails to deliver, even with its biggest disclosures. Truly unfortunate, too, since there was definitely some potential here. However, underdeveloped writing and a directorial sense in need of further maturity keep this release from being all it could have been. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
1
omonriseJul 2, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So you see Morpheus and think "dude, he is not human". You see that ridiculously outdated lab together with the high-tech "legs" and you think "ok, the aliens have them". The movie sacrifices any realism to create some cheap comic book moments (e.g. when the dude slams the ground, wtf, his arms should have been destroyed).

On a more general note, the pacing utterly sucks, there is no logic whatsoever behind the characters' actions, and neither is there any behind the actions of the antagonists / aliens. The protagonist is cliché hacker genius of the 21st century, his gf is cliché emotionally unstable supporting female character, his illness is presented in such a way that you get the feeling someone just decided to include this "perk" during character creation. There is no emotional struggle apart from "OMG MY GF IS IN COMA Q_Q", the characters don't reflect at all, (for example, you are in a supposedly high-sec facility and you are intelligent enough to draw a comprehensive plan of how it's build etc., but it never occurs to you that it's mightily strange that they didn't include any entropy in their patrolling patterns? COME ON.)

But be it as it may, plot holes, ignoring physics, shallow characters - you can compensate all that with a good story and good visuals. The movie does deliver on the visuals, but everything that happens in it just has no point. Absolutely none. There is not a single logical reason for ANYTHING in the storyline to happen. You find yourself thinking "ok, so that just happened. cool." ALL THE TIME. It's like the director / producer wrote literally 1 paragraph, then drugged someone to lend them money. And the visuals? sure, they are astoundingly beautiful, but in the end this just makes you sad because so many talented CGI artists / filmmakers are wasting their careers working on such mindless junk when they could be creating inspiring and beautiful movies.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
gvnnmthmsOct 12, 2014
the storyline was a tad boring.the dryness of the character played by lawrence fishburn(btw i love this guys work). i hated this movie.it sucked sci-fi balls. font buy dont buy dont watch. this movie took so long to get to the point,not onlythe storyline was a tad boring.the dryness of the character played by lawrence fishburn(btw i love this guys work). i hated this movie.it sucked sci-fi balls. font buy dont buy dont watch. this movie took so long to get to the point,not only was the story extremely cryptic. but it didnt explain why they where taken,why they wher given alien technology,how did they end up on a ship, and who the **** where the people in the supposed area 51?. who ever created this film deserves a acorn shoved up their "you know what". **** this movie Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
ozymandias79Nov 28, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good movies don't need a point but bad movies without a point are f****** pointless. Morpheus...ahhh...I mean Laurence Fishburne plays a face attached to some wires in a movie that is supposed to have a shock ending but was so completely nonsensical that it almost makes you laugh. It gets a 2 for Olivia Cooke and a 1 for almost passable special effects. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
AnonJJun 15, 2014
Ridiculous movie in all aspects: theme, writing and organization. This pathetic theme of "emotion over rationality" is so cliche and lame that I almost want to vomit whenever I see this kind of gross generalization, especially presented inRidiculous movie in all aspects: theme, writing and organization. This pathetic theme of "emotion over rationality" is so cliche and lame that I almost want to vomit whenever I see this kind of gross generalization, especially presented in such a lame way. If people keep being inculcated in this way no wonder why irrationality runs so amok in our daily lives. Come on! What human beings lack is more basic rationality, not ridiculous acts based on primordial instincts, which should long have been phased out during such a long evolutional process. Unfortunate there will always be movies which cater to people's laziness to ration, it just plain sucks.

On the writing the plot is basically without any sense. How could a "person who lives on rationality and logic" be "living a traditional and secure life" and be "the pride of family"? I can't imagine any person who lives rationality who claims himself to be a conservative, as conservative social norms are rife with irrational nonsense which is out of sync with our reality and against human nature, and which only serves to bring disasters and misfortunes. On this very basis the movie commits a terrible error. Not to mention the behaviors of the figures and the progression of the story are both laughably inexplicable. So this is the "emotion side" the director is trying to tell? Terrible.

Definitely not recommended.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
GinaKJun 22, 2014
This film was incredibly boring at times, possibly because the director and screenwriter were narratively challenged and didn’t know how to tell what story (if there was one, which is questionable) they had in mind. On the other hand, I wasThis film was incredibly boring at times, possibly because the director and screenwriter were narratively challenged and didn’t know how to tell what story (if there was one, which is questionable) they had in mind. On the other hand, I was sometimes arrested by some of the wonderful images in the film. What this director needs to do is sit down and suffer like the rest of us (but multiple times) and figure out with brutal honesty what he did right and what he did wrong. There is obvious talent here, but sometimes this film is so dull that you never want to see another movie (at least by this person and with these actors) for the rest of your life. But I guess this is how people learn? Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
voidersJun 18, 2016
Horrible movie. The sctipt is awlful and pointless. Bad from beginning to the end. First of all, IP doesn't show where prople are with precision of meters. It's a offense to us. Second, has bad sountrack all the time. And to finish,Horrible movie. The sctipt is awlful and pointless. Bad from beginning to the end. First of all, IP doesn't show where prople are with precision of meters. It's a offense to us. Second, has bad sountrack all the time. And to finish, horrible end, horrible actors, alot of drama with no point. The "punch" at the end and all drama of the boy running make me laugh. One of the worst movie that I ever seen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
DickPainJul 4, 2016
Pretty rubbish. Akira/Truman Show/Matrix. Silly story, Fishbourne playing another Morpheus-like character. Everything that happens is meaningless until the final 30 second twist at the end, which doesn't redeem the movie,
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews