Focus Features | Release Date: June 13, 2014
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 100 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
40
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
RaygirlSep 25, 2014
The final concept of this movie seemed totally ripped off from Dark City (which is a MUCH better movie I might add). The first and second halves of the movie felt totally different, the first being like a mediocre horror film ("college kidsThe final concept of this movie seemed totally ripped off from Dark City (which is a MUCH better movie I might add). The first and second halves of the movie felt totally different, the first being like a mediocre horror film ("college kids on a roadtrip") and the second part being more of a what is going on here (similar to Cube). Being a Sci Fi fan, I obviously enjoyed the second half much more (after suffering through the slow and cheesy first half) but even so, this movie wasn't all that great. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SolerionMar 6, 2015
Le scénario est pas mauvais, les acteurs assez bien, mais il manque de l'action, des scènes qui bougent bien car au bout d'1 h de film on se fait un peu chier et on sleeping devant le film, dommage good idea but more more actions ! GoodLe scénario est pas mauvais, les acteurs assez bien, mais il manque de l'action, des scènes qui bougent bien car au bout d'1 h de film on se fait un peu chier et on sleeping devant le film, dommage good idea but more more actions ! Good story lines but boring Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
BikerjamesDec 14, 2015
First, I enjoyed the performances. After the kids wake up mysteriously in some kind of hospital environment, it has a nice creepiness where you're trying to figure out what's going on. Unfortunately, due to Fishburne's weird personality IFirst, I enjoyed the performances. After the kids wake up mysteriously in some kind of hospital environment, it has a nice creepiness where you're trying to figure out what's going on. Unfortunately, due to Fishburne's weird personality I guessed what was going on too soon, and the ending shocked me because it was completely stolen from one of my all time favorite movies (Dark City), which is a far superior film. Not a horrible film, but unoriginal. I recommend you rent Dark City and watch it instead. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
S1r-R34lMar 9, 2017
This is a pretty sound and decent science fiction movie. I thought that the beginning was a little slow and the music depressing, saying that they were friends on a road trip. Though after twenty minutes of character building you couldThis is a pretty sound and decent science fiction movie. I thought that the beginning was a little slow and the music depressing, saying that they were friends on a road trip. Though after twenty minutes of character building you could relate and empathise with the lead roles, could have been done with a bit more oompf though. The rest of the film is solid and Fishburne does an excellent portrayal of a man who lets absolutely nothing crack his calm and cool exterior. If you Like Sci-Fi then this is worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Sep 7, 2017
Interesting to some extent, but not so far as inventive as it may had ambitioned, I applaud the attempt, because at least I did not get bored, and in movies of this kind that try to hide their elements most audiences tend to feel pressured toInteresting to some extent, but not so far as inventive as it may had ambitioned, I applaud the attempt, because at least I did not get bored, and in movies of this kind that try to hide their elements most audiences tend to feel pressured to think, which is not something that many appreciate but here the less you know, the more you will be intrigued by the story and its not entirely predictable with its twists and turns.
But unfortunately good part of the fun and some of the best visual surprises are compromised in order to make it more accessible for people who do not like to inquire too much.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Tss5078Jul 23, 2018
By it's very nature, science fiction is going to be unusual, confusing, and sometimes just plain weird. When it's done correctly, that can be a very good thing, but when it's not done the right way, audiences are left confused and annoyed. InBy it's very nature, science fiction is going to be unusual, confusing, and sometimes just plain weird. When it's done correctly, that can be a very good thing, but when it's not done the right way, audiences are left confused and annoyed. In 2014's The Signal, three friends are on a road trip, headed back to school for another semester of higher education. To their disbelief, a hacker who had been bothering them for months is still at it and is making things personal. Nic, Haley, and Jonah have some tricks of their own and ultimately track down the hackers address. To no ones surprise, it's on their way to school and they decide to pay them a visit. What should have been a fun moment, turned into something more sinister, when a deadly scream leads to darkness, and Nic (Brenton Thwaits) winds up in a quarantined hospital with no memory of what happened that night. I enjoyed the premise of this movie and as far as story goes, the idea wasn't all that terrible, what was terrible was the way in which it was presented. This buddy road trip film ends up in a hospital, where the friends are held for way too long. The hospital scenes are just strange, unexplained, and kill the movies momentum. Towards the end there are some better scenes, hinting that the film may be building up to an epic conclusion, but it's just more of the same, as things take an even stranger turn, and an anti-climatic one at that. As for the stars of the film, Laurence Fishburn gives yet another flat robotic performance. Morpheus was the perfect character for this guy, but he never seemed to be able to leave him behind, and now plays this same role in every film. On the other side, Brenton Thwaites, somewhat known for his breakout performance in The Giver, made this film for me. He was enigmatic, on target, and just fun to watch. I said it in my review of the Giver and I'll say it agin, this kid is going places. The Signal had all the ingredients for a great science fiction film, but when the cake was done it didn't taste so good. Most of the acting was flat, the story went off in too many different directions, and it was frequently anti-climatic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JiricekisbestAug 31, 2019
Interesting ending and atmosphere of the film, but that's the only thing I liked about the film. Even if the movie about an hour and a half, you still will say when it will end. It doesn't mean the movie is bad, but it doesn't belong amongInteresting ending and atmosphere of the film, but that's the only thing I liked about the film. Even if the movie about an hour and a half, you still will say when it will end. It doesn't mean the movie is bad, but it doesn't belong among the elite either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews