Focus Features | Release Date: June 13, 2014
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 100 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
40
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
horcrux2007Sep 27, 2014
"The Signal" definitely is not for everyone. It's a movie that really isn't *about* anything. It has a premise, but there's really not much of an organize plot. Think "Eraserhead", for example. The acting, for the most part, is top-notch."The Signal" definitely is not for everyone. It's a movie that really isn't *about* anything. It has a premise, but there's really not much of an organize plot. Think "Eraserhead", for example. The acting, for the most part, is top-notch. Brenton Thwaites, hot off the set of "Oculus", gives a very compelling performance, and Laurence Fishburne puts on his best Morpheus impression to unsettling results. The film starts out as a road-trip movie until it's turned upside-down into a sort of jail-break type movie. The first half of the film is very mysterious and intriguing while the second half is more intense. The special effects and cinematography look amazing; you wouldn't tell that its budget is a meager 4 million dollars. Some ideas become as lost as our main characters at points, however, and the ending isn't as mind-blowing as the film let on. If you're used to big-budget action-packed sci-fi films, stay far away from this film. However, if you enjoy slow-burners with interesting ideas, don't miss this one. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
hapycampr2002Dec 26, 2014
What do I say about this movie that will make any sense at all? I've read a review that it is easy to correctly guess the ending before actually coming to it, but I did not find that to be the case. Perhaps it's because I didn't want toWhat do I say about this movie that will make any sense at all? I've read a review that it is easy to correctly guess the ending before actually coming to it, but I did not find that to be the case. Perhaps it's because I didn't want to look to closely for fear that it would ruin my enjoyment of the film. Despite myself, I was entertained watching it. It's pace is a bit methodical, deliberate...I'm trying not to use the word "slow." I can respond to a slow movies if there is enough to keep me interested, and there was enough to seduce me. I feel like, upon retrospection, the director was toying with how far he could take this movie out of the realm of reality or possibility and still hold the audience. He held me to the end. Hallelujah. But he didn't hold my attention on the strength of the "plot" or narrative. He took me there on the shoulders of good acting, (spotty) suspense. and beautiful cinematography. I'd have to be selective to whom I would recommend this movie. To those who don't need things blowing up or women and children in jeopardy every 5 minutes, or those who feel that Keanu Reeves, Arnold Schwarzenegger or Robert Pattinson are not actually ACTING, I would recommend it. Postscript: I actually have liked quite a few of the movies that 2 out of the aforementioned "actors" have starred in. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
analogkid280Jun 24, 2014
Somewhat nonsensical with nothing revealed till the last little bit of the movie. It has some good ideas in it though they are hidden in this art house movie like little gems in a winding trail. Being an old Matrix fan I have a soft spot inSomewhat nonsensical with nothing revealed till the last little bit of the movie. It has some good ideas in it though they are hidden in this art house movie like little gems in a winding trail. Being an old Matrix fan I have a soft spot in me certainly for Fishburne doing his best Morpheus impersonation for a good hour or so of this movie. It is something different that is for sure, and in the middle of summer releases it is pleasant to have something with a different flavor. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Patrick94Jan 26, 2015
I don't understand the negativity towards this movie. Maybe people are just too dumb to appreciate it? Maybe they think William Eubank had 200 million dollars at his disposal and thought he could have done more with it? (BTW he only had 4I don't understand the negativity towards this movie. Maybe people are just too dumb to appreciate it? Maybe they think William Eubank had 200 million dollars at his disposal and thought he could have done more with it? (BTW he only had 4 million. Yes, he made this amazing film with just 4 million dollars, while people like Marc Webb and Shane Black are shoving piles of crap down our throats that took them 200 million to make). So bravo to you William Eubank, you are a true artist, and I appreciate your work. Hopefully we can see a sequel to this in the near future. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
8
Benzilla08Mar 28, 2015
Surprisingly a decent movie. The pace was rather slow, but I didn't really notice. The whole movie was shrouded in mystery and kept you guessing what was going on. Aliens? Government? Secret project? Just watch it, you won't be disappointed.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
HaithamBJul 23, 2014
The Signal is an entertaining movie, its exceptional and imposing style of filmmaking makes it almost impossible for the viewer to not enjoy this film. On the other hand, I was disappointed with the thin storyline, but I am pleased with theThe Signal is an entertaining movie, its exceptional and imposing style of filmmaking makes it almost impossible for the viewer to not enjoy this film. On the other hand, I was disappointed with the thin storyline, but I am pleased with the mystery behind everything in this movie, sometimes these questions are better left unanswered; it makes the film more intriguing, others are a must, both sides are left unanswered with poor character development. However, The Signal has an impressive style to it, a twisted ending and some tension, its not all that bad. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticSep 24, 2014
The Signal is a sci-fi film that while slow in some parts kept my attention throughout and was a solid surprise. The acting is all well done and the big reveals pretty much worked for me. B
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NShep53Apr 12, 2015
A totally underrated film and destined to be a sci-fi classic. If you aren't into slow moving movies however, then this movie isn't for you. Be if you like to think while watching a movie, and like mysteries, then it is a must watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
James1vs4Dec 27, 2015
I'm not familiar with all the characters in the film so I almost turned it off. I did recognize Fishburne so I let it play on. You will be glad you did. Very good ending, please don't make a sequel you will ruin it; 7/10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JoellemmAug 24, 2016
I like a film that barely has plot. It leaves a film shrouded in mystery, and avoids the typical clichés I am sick of rolling my eyes at. Also, it feels different from the modern, big-budget sci-fi movies that keep being rolled out, which allI like a film that barely has plot. It leaves a film shrouded in mystery, and avoids the typical clichés I am sick of rolling my eyes at. Also, it feels different from the modern, big-budget sci-fi movies that keep being rolled out, which all seem as generic, and unimaginative, as the last. The film is almost agonisingly slow-paced. However, so was The Martian; at least this film gives you some revelations to look forward to (ps. I hated The Martian). A few plot points seemed ignored, a few scenes were noticeably over-the-top relative to the rest of the film, and the final third could of been done better. Nevertheless, its interesting throughout, well directed, and provides something different in the increasingly bland sci-fi genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews