Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 1, 2010
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2067 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,797
Mixed:
175
Negative:
95
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
jtatsiueOct 1, 2010
Amazing movie, riveting, fast-paced, like the thought processes/speech patterns of someone with Asperger's syndrome, who's also a genius, calling a girl he's infatuated with but barely knows and attempting to ask her out. The rest of theAmazing movie, riveting, fast-paced, like the thought processes/speech patterns of someone with Asperger's syndrome, who's also a genius, calling a girl he's infatuated with but barely knows and attempting to ask her out. The rest of the movie is about what happens when that girl says "no". Jesse Eisenberg should put some distance between himself and those unflattering comparisons to Michael Cera with this performance. Timberlake is pure cinematic charisma; it won't be long before he's offered a leading role. I came away believing that the twins didn't really have a case but you decide. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
cbreinerOct 11, 2010
Sorkin's script absolutely sizzles and there is no getting around that without it this film would not be what it is. Odds are at least two if not all three of the leading men will get an Oscar nominated (and deservedly so). Zuckerberg andSorkin's script absolutely sizzles and there is no getting around that without it this film would not be what it is. Odds are at least two if not all three of the leading men will get an Oscar nominated (and deservedly so). Zuckerberg and Parker may make one of the best teams of cinema villains we've seen in a long time. Paced by Fincher within an inch of it's life, this is an new school film done in an old school fashion, that proves you don't need 400 million dollars and an explosion every 5 seconds to keep audiences glued to the screen and on the edge of their seats. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
arnmanOct 6, 2010
It's an intellectual "head trip" of a film about the most unlikeable hero imaginable who is somehow a metaphor for the greed and alienation, that has gripped this country in the last decades. The writing, acting, and whole smart structure ofIt's an intellectual "head trip" of a film about the most unlikeable hero imaginable who is somehow a metaphor for the greed and alienation, that has gripped this country in the last decades. The writing, acting, and whole smart structure of this epoch makes it must for some Americans, who seek more from a movie than just distraction. I followed it by jumping to the next theatre in the cineplex and saw "Catfish", to round out a powerful duo. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
LiamOct 3, 2010
Upon my first viewing, I had some qualms with the fast pace of the movie and some of the lines that seemed a bit too thought out to be natural (this is why I hated Juno). However, after realizing that many such lines were actually taken fromUpon my first viewing, I had some qualms with the fast pace of the movie and some of the lines that seemed a bit too thought out to be natural (this is why I hated Juno). However, after realizing that many such lines were actually taken from the transcripts of the real court proceedings and seeing it a second time, I have to say I'm obsessed. The second viewing was even more amazing than the first. The story is compelling and interesting, the characters are all fully flushed out. Great acting, *amazing* score, and interesting and beautiful cinematography. It's just a perfect film. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
FonsalisOct 3, 2010
It's not often that you can come to this website and find such a unity in the reaction of critics and users alike. At time of writing, there are 42 positive user reviews, 4 mixed, and 2 negative. This removal from the typical 10, 0, 10, 0It's not often that you can come to this website and find such a unity in the reaction of critics and users alike. At time of writing, there are 42 positive user reviews, 4 mixed, and 2 negative. This removal from the typical 10, 0, 10, 0 user score pattern should give you an indication alone. This movie is incredible. A snapshot of the current social climate, the power of the digital age, and the experiences of those living in it. Put simply, this is our generation's Catcher In the Rye, and it is an absorbing, satisfying cinematic experience that should be watched by everyone. After all, in a way, it's about us. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
sonmanutdOct 4, 2010
The movie is amazingly scripted, directed and acted from a great story of friendship and betrayal. Love the fast pace of the film. One of the best drama ever.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
brewcrewprideOct 5, 2010
Flincher and Sorkin seriously made a great team here, Flincher provides great filming and takes a real focus on Zuckerberg's internal struggle on decision making. Sorkin went over expectations and brings a three-way point of view storyFlincher and Sorkin seriously made a great team here, Flincher provides great filming and takes a real focus on Zuckerberg's internal struggle on decision making. Sorkin went over expectations and brings a three-way point of view story telling making it all into one and at the same time making it flow as very smoothly. This film can easily draw audiences in by presenting a simple plot that people are familiar with and showing one of the greatest events that there is in story making. And that is the rise to power. Eisenberg does a great job of showing his struggle with power, backstabbing, and moral obligation. It runs a very intelligent course and provides the audience to make its own decisions between right and wrong. "The Facebook Movie" has a deep perspective into this complex story and is perhaps one of the greatest accounts on a true event story of our time. This will certainly be mentioned later in the year during the awards season, but I believe that even beyond the awards season, it will not be the last time we hear about the brilliant story telling of The Social Network. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
leonardshelbyOct 8, 2010
I was a bit skeptical at first, but this film definitely lived up to the reviews. It is a solid film all around, and it really defines this generation. It is a must see for everyone in this age.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
POPMasterGodOct 10, 2010
The best movie this year so far. It has an excellent story, believable characters, intense drama and a setting that a lot of people can relate to. A must see for every movie lover out there.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
danmarlerOct 10, 2010
In the last scene of The Social Network, an attractive attorney who is working on Mark Zuckerbergâ
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
AlexRigbyOct 21, 2010
Although unable to sustain the truly exilharating pace of the first hour, The Social Network, at no point, ceases to be an absolutely fascinating exploration into human creation.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
seansshackMar 7, 2011
Interesting film but unfortunately got too wrapped up and hyped up during award season and distracted from the film. Wrote a review here. http://seanryanmovies.blogspot.com/2011/02/social-network-2010-review.html
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
KastianOct 17, 2010
Well written, well acted, well shot. A surprisingly great movie about the invention of one of the most popular websites on the web today. It is paced well and the voice of the characters really sticks with you. Even after you've left theWell written, well acted, well shot. A surprisingly great movie about the invention of one of the most popular websites on the web today. It is paced well and the voice of the characters really sticks with you. Even after you've left the theater, you can perfectly envision each character's particular way of saying their lines. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
JK2010Oct 23, 2010
After being bombarded with trailers and various endorsements, I went into The Social Network with good expectations from what many critics have considered Oscar worthy. First up, the story. There's no point explaining, being that this is aAfter being bombarded with trailers and various endorsements, I went into The Social Network with good expectations from what many critics have considered Oscar worthy. First up, the story. There's no point explaining, being that this is a true story about the creation of Facebook. However, the story-TELLING is what really makes this makes this a masterpiece. This remarkable tale of greed, power and trust is what draws the viewer in and makes them want more. Acting is where it starts to fall flat. As far as I rememeber, there was only one character I found that was actually interesting and likable. Justin Timberlake. The dude seriously needs to do this more often, he portrayed a great example of the everyday **** (unsurprisingly the creator of Napster) and showed lots of energy and personality in him. Everyone else probably had 1% enthusiasm. Overall, a great movie if you can look past its casting flaws. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
MevansOct 26, 2010
This is a very good movie and i do reccomend that EVERYONE should see at one point in their life but, i found it hard to enjoy because i found the main character, mark zuchenburg, the creator of facebook to be such an unlikeable character!This is a very good movie and i do reccomend that EVERYONE should see at one point in their life but, i found it hard to enjoy because i found the main character, mark zuchenburg, the creator of facebook to be such an unlikeable character! And also i found it to get a bit boring about 3/4 of the way through and had a very abrupt ending. Some humour was injected every now and then by the brothers and mark which was amusing. But despite all the good points of this film which they are many which i havn't bothered to mention, I would not see it twice. It does not have a second appeal that can make certain movies that much better. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
cartmenez03Oct 30, 2010
A well-told account with a more than brilliant soundtrack. A movie well worth seeing. I really liked the acting, and I think that the real story is exactly like it was in the movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
kalesNov 9, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. People kept telling me this movie was overrated... Maybe they were right. It was great. It was entertaining, interesting, and full of attractive people. I think the trailer somewhat misrepresented the film by making it seem like their Mark Zuckerberg's life leading up to Facebook was a total party when in actuality, he has 2 drunk teenage girls over as a result of Sean Parker in one scene.

Besides the trailer, the performance by Andrew Garfield was phenomenal. Watching his attempts to deal with his best friend slowly screwing him over makes you want to jump out of your seat. His expressions were perfect. Did I mention that he's extremely attractive?

For that matter, all of the performances were great. The scenes were well played. Some of my favorite scenes in the movie (possibly my favorite scenes in a movie ever) are when Eduardo slams Mark's laptop down in the end and says, "You better lawyer up because I'm not coming back for 30%, I'm coming back for everything.", the look on their faces when they both get blow jobs in a public restroom, and Eduardo walking in from the rain to see Sean Parker making the Facebook crew into a drunken joke.

I enjoyed it. It was memorable. The use of montage was awesome.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
Phil_mOct 25, 2010
There are many reasons to love this film. Foremost, the smart and original dialogues by Aaron Sorkin. A close second is the level of acting, even for small one-liner roles. Fincher's directing is very subtle and never takes over the story.There are many reasons to love this film. Foremost, the smart and original dialogues by Aaron Sorkin. A close second is the level of acting, even for small one-liner roles. Fincher's directing is very subtle and never takes over the story. You might think it's uninspired, but in this restraint I see a lot of maturity. He understands that each story has to be told in an appropriate style, and he nailed this one. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
monkey89Oct 26, 2010
"The Social Network" is a great movie I saw the movie three times already. The cast was great, which I thought would be a big probably do to Justin but even he did great.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
soccer29Oct 28, 2010
â
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
sody2001Oct 29, 2010
I liked this film, it was good to see where the social networking phenomenon came from. The movie isn't exactly fast paced and is all dialogue, but it's well acted. Jesse Eisenburgh plays pretty much the same character as in Zombieland andI liked this film, it was good to see where the social networking phenomenon came from. The movie isn't exactly fast paced and is all dialogue, but it's well acted. Jesse Eisenburgh plays pretty much the same character as in Zombieland and Adventureland, a geeks awkward character, but it works and he's very very good at what he does. If you can get used to how the film jumps around then I think you would enjoy it. Certainly something I would watch again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
DukeNov 2, 2010
Fincher's "The Social Network" is just like the website it represents: enjoyable, clever and ultimately addicting. Full Review: www.dukeandthemovies.com
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
starmario123May 3, 2011
Some people see this as a true story about how facebook was started. This is in and around 40% facebook lore. This film is about the complexities of life itself, and the extroardinary lengths people will go to to be successful (betray a verySome people see this as a true story about how facebook was started. This is in and around 40% facebook lore. This film is about the complexities of life itself, and the extroardinary lengths people will go to to be successful (betray a very dear, long time friend perhaps). This isn't just a true story about the creation of "the social network", it's a true story about society and people and how our emotions DO own us. This film is a masterpiece. Filmed well, acted EXTREMELY well (Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield being the stand outs here), and has one of the greatest soundtracks in recent memory. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LPWNov 10, 2010
This was a great movie one of the best I've seen this year, I see a oscar nomination for Andrew Garfield. he did a wonderful job in this movie, Timberlake is starting to show growth as an actor. I don't see how a person could say this isn't aThis was a great movie one of the best I've seen this year, I see a oscar nomination for Andrew Garfield. he did a wonderful job in this movie, Timberlake is starting to show growth as an actor. I don't see how a person could say this isn't a great movie, but everyone has their own opinion. I give this movie a 10/10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
DoctorKillaNov 22, 2010
It was a hell of a move, the acting, writing, direction, and cinematography was close to perfect, but at times you do feel the creators are trying overly hard to achieve perfection, and now allowing imperfection to come naturally. TheyIt was a hell of a move, the acting, writing, direction, and cinematography was close to perfect, but at times you do feel the creators are trying overly hard to achieve perfection, and now allowing imperfection to come naturally. They cannot fully control the overall response to the movie, as hard as they may try. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
podunk411Nov 22, 2010
I have to agree with some others on here, maybe in comparison to other movies released in 2010, The Social Network shines--but that says more about 2010, than anything. It's a good solid film--not great, just pretty good.
I loved the West
I have to agree with some others on here, maybe in comparison to other movies released in 2010, The Social Network shines--but that says more about 2010, than anything. It's a good solid film--not great, just pretty good.
I loved the West Wing, and this was definitely an extended version of an episode. It did lack something, which is why I don't really think it's a 10 type movie (definitely not monumental except maybe for someone who hasn't seen a lot of movies?)---but it definitely tells a story that grabs you and keeps you there, even if you find the dialogue a little too precious/contrived--and some of the characters a little too over the top (which seems intended). But still, highly recommended given the dredge that's out there.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
XerxesNov 23, 2010
The best movie of the year for me, thoroughly enjoed not once but twice when i went to see it at the cinema, its me pick for best film at the oscars and the golden globes, i though andrew garfield was amazing and wouldnt be surprised if heThe best movie of the year for me, thoroughly enjoed not once but twice when i went to see it at the cinema, its me pick for best film at the oscars and the golden globes, i though andrew garfield was amazing and wouldnt be surprised if he gets mentioned around that time as well!!! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
iamtrent424Jan 5, 2011
One of the year best movie. One of the best screenplay and best cast. The director did an outstanding job with picking directing this movie. I would suggest this to everyone. 2010 top movie. Everybody did such a great job with their role. iOne of the year best movie. One of the best screenplay and best cast. The director did an outstanding job with picking directing this movie. I would suggest this to everyone. 2010 top movie. Everybody did such a great job with their role. i don't see how anybody can hate this movie. The film was just outstanding. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
vinceszJan 8, 2012
First off, this is a good movie. It's entertaining and the content, plot, pacing, and characters are done very well. All of the actors do their roles well, from the petulant Winkelvoss twins to the clipped tones of Eisenberg's Mark Z.

This
First off, this is a good movie. It's entertaining and the content, plot, pacing, and characters are done very well. All of the actors do their roles well, from the petulant Winkelvoss twins to the clipped tones of Eisenberg's Mark Z.

This said, this movie is pure fiction. I have worked in Silicon Valley, and yes, at Facebook as well. This is NOT how Mark Zuckerberg acts in real life. He is an extremely driven individual and he is focused entirely on changing the world.

The movie seems to make it seem bad that MZ gets annoyed at people that aren't as smart as he is, but honestly, this is the real world. If you're a CEO of any company that succeeds on a large scale, you have to manage your time INCREDIBLY judiciously. You do not have time to listen to whiners or complainers or people who just aren't going anywhere. It's harsh, but you don't get to the top by wasting time. Of course, the feel-good Hollywood types abhor this sort of reality, so they demonize Mark for it.

In short, the movie's good, but it's fiction.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
perfectdNov 26, 2010
Thought I would not like it but went an saw it because it had such a high score on metacritic. Loved it. Well very acted, very entertaining and provided a good story line to what I had thought would be a boring subject. Many awardThought I would not like it but went an saw it because it had such a high score on metacritic. Loved it. Well very acted, very entertaining and provided a good story line to what I had thought would be a boring subject. Many award nominations should be coming it's was including best actor. Go see it!!!, Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
consumerDec 15, 2010
Good film, it explains to you how Facebook was developed although Mark Zuckenberg said it's partly true. The actors did a great job, especially Justin Timberlake playing a **** Napster creator. People who likes Facebook but are not interestedGood film, it explains to you how Facebook was developed although Mark Zuckenberg said it's partly true. The actors did a great job, especially Justin Timberlake playing a **** Napster creator. People who likes Facebook but are not interested in its history should not watch. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
RaghuNathNov 29, 2010
Businesses thrive and flourish on the greed of its founders. However, this greed should be directed at the competition and not on the Co-Founders â
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
ReverzDec 20, 2010
I went to see this movie only because the movie I wanted to see that night was already sold out and there's was nothing else on I was really interested in. I most likely would not have gone and seen a "documentary about Facebook", or at leastI went to see this movie only because the movie I wanted to see that night was already sold out and there's was nothing else on I was really interested in. I most likely would not have gone and seen a "documentary about Facebook", or at least that's what I thought it was. Boy I don't think I've ever been that wrong. Great movie, 2 hours very well spent. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuSep 7, 2013
The Social Network is as good a movie as you could ever make about the creation of Facebook. Well acted, memorable and pleasingly lightweight. Great stuff all the way around from David Fincher.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ramalamafafafaDec 20, 2010
Highest recommendation. Fast-paced, intelligent, relevant, incisive. This'll be one of those movies that people will watch in years to come to understand what we and our lives were like at the beginning of the new millenium.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
FDT44Feb 25, 2011
Too smart for it's own good, "The Social Network" has all the tangibles of an Oscar-worthy bid, only it's brilliance is hindered by the delivery of such good writing. The first-rate dialogue is hawked out so robot-like that the viewer is leftToo smart for it's own good, "The Social Network" has all the tangibles of an Oscar-worthy bid, only it's brilliance is hindered by the delivery of such good writing. The first-rate dialogue is hawked out so robot-like that the viewer is left to listen intently, soley dependent on what is being said; not aided by any nonverbally generated nuances or suggestions. Besides the fleet of colloquy, the film shines by the creativity of Finscher and Sorkin who compensate and make up for the perpetual irksomeness that emanates from the stereotypical, hackneyed prepsters, who feel numb as they wallow under the guidance of cinematic grandeur. ----Verdict: Everything barring the characters themselves is abberantly special. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
D-SliceJan 15, 2011
"The Social Network" still has me reminiscing about how awesome it was. Jesse Eisenberg deserves an Oscar, Andrew Garfield, Justin Timberlake, and Rooney Mara all deserve nominations and this film itself deserves induction into the American"The Social Network" still has me reminiscing about how awesome it was. Jesse Eisenberg deserves an Oscar, Andrew Garfield, Justin Timberlake, and Rooney Mara all deserve nominations and this film itself deserves induction into the American Film Institute. The thing about The Social Network is that with all the garbage released in the theaters worldwide, this one has the same flare of a wide release film, but the pure awesomeness of a limited release film. The writing is perfect. It had absolutely no flaws anywhere. Writing this good doesn't come around often, so if you love amazing films, you cannot call yourself a movie lover if you do not see this film. Go, run as fast as you can to the nearest video store and GET THIS FILM. I cannot even describe it well enough. That is how awesome this movie is; it is so good that my mind cannot put it in words. David Fincher, you have your name and style written all over this movie and you should be proud: it is by far the greatest American film to come out this year, maybe the best of the decade and one of the best of all time. THINGS ARE GOING SO FAST THAT YOU DON'T WANT TO BE LEFT BEHIND. SEE THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Misslove14xxMar 18, 2011
This film was absolutely phenomenal. I'm not even sure where to begin. Each one of the actors played their part so perfectly I forgot they were even acting. The movie is delivered in such a perfect package you won't be able to resist. It isThis film was absolutely phenomenal. I'm not even sure where to begin. Each one of the actors played their part so perfectly I forgot they were even acting. The movie is delivered in such a perfect package you won't be able to resist. It is interesting, entertaining, funny, smart, and even dramatic. I can't stress enough how much everyone should see this movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
KhalilJAliDec 27, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As Published in The Bradley Scout

When you start a movie off with a White Stripes song, it tends to get my attention and high expectations follow. (I wonâ
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
kormac66Dec 31, 2010
Good but not great. The story itself doesn't really interest me very much. Who cares about these betrayals when even the betrayed walk away with ungodly fortunes? And who really cares about Facebook? That said, Fincher and Sorkin do deliverGood but not great. The story itself doesn't really interest me very much. Who cares about these betrayals when even the betrayed walk away with ungodly fortunes? And who really cares about Facebook? That said, Fincher and Sorkin do deliver the best possible film considering the banal subject-matter. And Eisenberg is quite good. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
allystewJan 6, 2011
A very good movie. However for me not brilliant. Yes the acting is great, yes the direction is great, yes the story is great, but it must have been my expectations that have let it down. The fact that it says so much about the world we liveA very good movie. However for me not brilliant. Yes the acting is great, yes the direction is great, yes the story is great, but it must have been my expectations that have let it down. The fact that it says so much about the world we live in today is both good and bad. For me it is must see, but not worth a metacritic 97 score. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
0102Jan 6, 2011
The contemporary world are summarized in this movie. The mastery of director David Fincher and cinematography is interesting and amazing. Wonderful and original screenplay with a fantastic cast , especially Jesse Eisenberg.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
blokJan 24, 2011
Here's another case of hyperventilating award-givers. I saw the movie a day after it won Best Picture, Director and Screenplay at the Golden Globes, and while I tried to be fair I have to admit that I was skeptical. At no point since itsHere's another case of hyperventilating award-givers. I saw the movie a day after it won Best Picture, Director and Screenplay at the Golden Globes, and while I tried to be fair I have to admit that I was skeptical. At no point since its release have I felt very compelled to see it. First, I don't care about Facebook and second, an uber-contemporary story about relatively mundane events that took place five or so years ago just seems like boring subject matter. Only after its appearance on year-end Top 10 lists and its Golden Globes run did my curiosity override my distaste.

The result is an entertaining and frequently funny recounting of the events and lawsuits surrounding Facebook's creation. It's a little too long and very much too Hollywood, but overall it was quite an enjoyable film. Jesse Eisenberg -- who severely annoyed me with his Michael Cera impersonation in "Zombieland" -- was much better here as Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg, and the dialogue was terrific.

But I'm still underwhelmed by the overall product. The fact that screenwriter Aaron Sorkin has admitted fabricating parts of the script in order to make it more interesting not only seems to contradict the entire point of a contemporary historical film, but it also corroborates my initial suspicion that the story was too boring to be made in the first place (major players in the history of Facebook have generally agreed with this opinion). A film cannot succeed on snappy conversations and glib cultural references alone. More confusing is the spate of comments I saw throughout the year-end lists talking about the importance of the movie as a documentation of the modern-day shift/revolution in social communication. I was certainly hoping to see some of this, as the social and moral/ethical implications of Facebook's emergence is a fascinating topic with a bottomless pit of opportunities for engaging exploration. Unfortunately, apart from highlighting the rapid explosion of popularity and the occasional scene-let of coeds emailing the link to their buddies, this theme was largely absent. The characters in the film talked a lot about how everyone wants to "connect" and how big this is going to be, but they spent very little time addressing the "why" of the matter. What explains Facebook's popularity? Why has it apparently filled this void of communication that nobody was aware existed? What does it say about us as a culture that this is the fastest-growing phenomenon since the Ipod? Are there any possible drawbacks? These are the questions that interest me and simultaneously did not seem to interest the filmmakers. Overall, I hoped for more from a director as talented as David Fincher ("The Game," "Se7en," "Fight Club"), but from the trailers and descriptions I didn't necessarily expect more. To be sure, the direction, editing and style are impeccable, and the choice of Trent Reznor to help score the film was a good touch too. I can only partly blame Fincher for the shallowness of the script, but I blame him wholly for not delving more deeply into what could have been a very thought-provoking topic.

24 January 2011
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
JonnyFendiJan 17, 2011
I just wished that nobody made a movie of me while I was alive, Mark Zuckerberg has ever said so. But it was unbearable, they made it anyway. The next question is: who on earth is Zuckerberg? The Movie based on the 2009 book by Ben MezrichI just wished that nobody made a movie of me while I was alive, Mark Zuckerberg has ever said so. But it was unbearable, they made it anyway. The next question is: who on earth is Zuckerberg? The Movie based on the 2009 book by Ben Mezrich THE ACCIDENTAL BILLIONAIRES: THE FOUNDING OF FACEBOOK, A TALE OF SEX, MONEY, GENIOUS AND BETRAYAL. Yup, the movie is about people behind the birth of Facebook, the most massive social network in our generation. In the first half of movie depicts how Zuckerberg is blogging and programming and finally ends up with launching The Facebook from his Harvard dormitory room. Someone told me, thiz movie was all about suing. Well, I think she is right. Substantively, the second half of movie is emphasizing who is the real creator of Facebook through some legal processes. Anyone can sue anyone, the question is whether he would win. There are three important characters in thiz movie. First, Jesse Eisenberg who has been in ZOMBIELAND (2010), now played as Zuckerberg, fully equipped with his slipper. Personally, I think Eisenberg sometimes talks too fast and delivers a stiff mien. His performance is just apparently adequate. The second, The Pop Star Justin Timberlake brings a precise adept and dominant charisma into his character as Napster founder, Sean Parker. The last but not the least, actually it is the best performance for overall, comes from our next Spider-Man (2012), Andrew Garfield. Garfield gives a complete emotional package for his character, a friend and new enemy as well, Edurado Saverin. Subjectively, the book ACCIDENTAL BILLIONAIRES was advised by Eduardo Saverin himself, without any involvement from Zuckerberg side. So the point of view is fittingly one-sided. The ending of the movie itself is stagnant and flat which I am kind of surprised. Thiz movie comes from one of my favorite Directors, David Fincher. Almost half of Fincher masterpieces have a smart and twist ending, just like what we found in SE7EN (1995), THE GAME (1997), and one of my favorite movies of all-time, FIGHT CLUB (1999). But on second though, I think it is already maximized anyway, considering thiz is a biography. In the end, if you asked me: why Zuckerberg and his Facebook? Why not Bill Gates? Or anyone else? I think I can see something here. One vital element that they did not get and Zuckerberg had it. It was controversy. Controversy makes things more attractive. In these days of technologies era, whoever has the ability to conquer the internet, it is simply being God himself. Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
MsrysnnobFeb 24, 2011
I had heard so many different things about this movie I had no real expectations going in..but after seeing it, I have to say I am still not sure how I feel about it. Yes, it is a good drama about the founding of Facebook, but what is moreI had heard so many different things about this movie I had no real expectations going in..but after seeing it, I have to say I am still not sure how I feel about it. Yes, it is a good drama about the founding of Facebook, but what is more important is what it says about today's culture of narcissism and self importance in our youth and that scares me. I immediately recognized Aaron Sorkin's writing style based on years of watching West Wing. It is the same here, very fast, witty at times, and with Fincher's direction the movie moves along at breakneck speed. Those things don't make a best picture nominee in my mind. I didn't care for Jesse Eisenberg's portrayal of Mark Zuckerbery, but not knowing the man, it might be spot on. He has the least dialogue of all and we are supposed to understand what he is thinking by the blank expression on his face through most of the movie. I did like Andrew Garfield's portrayal of co founder Eduardo Saverin and thought he did the best job in the film. The soundtrack annoyed me, sometimes so loud I couldn't hear what the cast was saying. I hope this film isn't a true representation of what really occurred, because if so, Mark Zuckerberg is one neurotic young man..It left me with too many questions at the end. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
GaltaJan 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Actually pretty good. Way better than expected. The concept seems pretty boring and don't seem interesting at all, but the way the movie unfolds is an accomplishment. I can see it would be hard to make this kind of movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
GoyankeesJan 11, 2011
Defintley one of the best movie's of the year. How can someone not like this movie is beyond me. The writing is aboustley terrfic, the directing is great, most of the performances are top-notch heck even Justin Timberlake is great in thisDefintley one of the best movie's of the year. How can someone not like this movie is beyond me. The writing is aboustley terrfic, the directing is great, most of the performances are top-notch heck even Justin Timberlake is great in this movie. I love how the adpoted a kind of boring story on to the screen and kind of expanded it. And i felt the characters were very likeable Mark i know was kind of a jerk at times but i still mange to feel for him and Eduardo was very likeable as we'll. This is probaly my second favorite film of the year behind Inception the cast is just terrfic. David Fincher is just the man. I truly love this movie it's a great great film. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewJan 8, 2012
The Social Network is one incredible movie. Thanks to an incredible screenplay with snappy and smart dialogue, unbelievable performances across the board, and solid humor and emotional elements, it is one fantastic movie that nobody shouldThe Social Network is one incredible movie. Thanks to an incredible screenplay with snappy and smart dialogue, unbelievable performances across the board, and solid humor and emotional elements, it is one fantastic movie that nobody should miss out on. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
YumnyMar 19, 2011
An excellent film displaying the spirit of the innovative 90s and 00s, or the whole era in which the internet was relatively new, for that matter. Outsmarting the smartest in unconventional ways - ways older people would have deemedAn excellent film displaying the spirit of the innovative 90s and 00s, or the whole era in which the internet was relatively new, for that matter. Outsmarting the smartest in unconventional ways - ways older people would have deemed ridiculous -, driving on the force of young people and their inventiveness - it's just a few of the things that make this thriller-like business film as brilliant as a film could be.
An unlikely protagonist offers unlikely and interesting plot twists, but the story remains completely believable. It starts off slowly and slightly unappealing by all its nerdiness and talk of technology, but quickly advances into a intriguing game of chess with some players highly skilled, some absolutely worthless, some pointless, some believing themselves to be the best. Sharp cutouts to the lawsuits being discussed were what kept the film refreshing and puzzling - right from the start, the viewer ponders over what may have caused the betrayal that triggered one of the lawsuits, and even at the end of the film, viewers are left puzzled over the protagonists' true feelings about it, as he had been hiding them under the sheets of a Big Bang Theory-esque mentalness for most of the film. Summing it all up, The Social Network is the brightest and best fitting movie if it comes to the subject of the 21st century, ever since the world entered the year 2000.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
ranbir_flameFeb 17, 2011
The Social Network is a movie on facebook. How can that go wrong? Well, it cant but there are a few areas where this movie falls short. Lets start of with the acting. The acting in this movie is passable. The actors arent given many scenes toThe Social Network is a movie on facebook. How can that go wrong? Well, it cant but there are a few areas where this movie falls short. Lets start of with the acting. The acting in this movie is passable. The actors arent given many scenes to shine but then again this movie is not about the acting, its about facebook. The story well, its true but there are many things that have been tweaked to make the story more movie like. Social Network is overall a better than average movie. A one to five time watch. If youre looking for brilliant performances or awesome storyline then you wont find it here but if you want a movie to see with friends and casually enjoy then its worth a watch. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
wiggipopMay 30, 2011
It is a real testament to the film-makers that a story about a total douche inventing a website can be so incredibly compelling. Watching it a second time feels like a whole new experience, each line, each look has a much deeper meaning. AllIt is a real testament to the film-makers that a story about a total douche inventing a website can be so incredibly compelling. Watching it a second time feels like a whole new experience, each line, each look has a much deeper meaning. All the performances are good, and even small bit part scenes sparkle, the script is so good. As to how much of it is true... it's irrelevant as far as I'm concerned, this film is all I need. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dlynch18Feb 27, 2011
Who knew Facebook had an amazing back story. Actors did a great job bringing to life the story, you felt like you were really in the story. I thought Justin Timberlake was going to wreak the film but he was great.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
GuiveraMar 1, 2011
How this movie has so many negative user reviews I will never understand. This film is an absolute gem and in my opinion should have taken the Oscar over The Kings Speech. With great acting (even from TIMBERLAKE) and an intriguing story toHow this movie has so many negative user reviews I will never understand. This film is an absolute gem and in my opinion should have taken the Oscar over The Kings Speech. With great acting (even from TIMBERLAKE) and an intriguing story to the world's biggest website, this movie is stunning. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Ridz43Mar 21, 2011
Anyone would clearly concur with the notion that this film is a masterpiece! The direction, script, soundtrack and acting is spell bounding! I can't put into words the evident hard work and diligence that made this film groundbreaking! It isAnyone would clearly concur with the notion that this film is a masterpiece! The direction, script, soundtrack and acting is spell bounding! I can't put into words the evident hard work and diligence that made this film groundbreaking! It is also genius to bring to the screen a movie about the rising megastar called FACEBOOK! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
RoscoMay 9, 2011
As a big fan of David Fincher's work, naturally The Social Network was an instant appeal. Firstly, I don't disagree that the Social Network is a fantastic film and more evidence if any where needed that Fincher is simply sensational in theAs a big fan of David Fincher's work, naturally The Social Network was an instant appeal. Firstly, I don't disagree that the Social Network is a fantastic film and more evidence if any where needed that Fincher is simply sensational in the art of storytelling and directing and in particular conveying his view on each story he brings to the big screen. However, I feel as though the film is overrated. The success it has for me is largely down to Fincher and deesrvedly so but I wouldn't say it was his best piece of work. The film tells the story of Mark Zuckerberg and how he went from beginning with an idea to building an empire in the face of Facebook and all the lawsuits that Zuckerberg was served with. This is shown through flashbacks. I'll grant you the film is engrossing and very well told and Jessie Eisenberg's portrayal of Zuckerberg is great but you would expect every last detail to be explained to the moon and back when Fincher is in town. But Eisenberg is upstaged by Andrew Garfield who is delivers a mezmerising performance as Zuckerberg's decieved best-friend its no surprise to see his stock continue to rise after his performance as Eduardo Saverin here. The surprise success of the film is Justin Timberlake. Ive seen some of the criticiscm of Timberlake and his depiction as Ben Parker but I thought he was shockingly awesome in the role. The film is a real eyeopener and without doubt a fine film which showcases Finchers unquestionable ability and although I couldn't disagree that it is one of the most hyped and critically acclaimed films I just feel that it failed to meet the expectations and was ultimately left wanting more from the film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
rotkuNov 16, 2011
Regardless of whether the story is an accurate portrayal of who Facebook came about or not this movie is still one of the better films in recent years with a great storyline, solid believable acting and great direction.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DuderothSep 26, 2011
Possibly the best movie I have seen since Children of Men (2006), The Social Network tells the tale of Mark Zuckerberg and the founding of Facebook (with quite a bit of poetic license). I don't want to make this review too long, but whilePossibly the best movie I have seen since Children of Men (2006), The Social Network tells the tale of Mark Zuckerberg and the founding of Facebook (with quite a bit of poetic license). I don't want to make this review too long, but while the cast is very talented, the soundtrack is very good, and the direction and editing are crisp and effective, what truly makes this film great has to be Aaron Sorkin's screenplay. The dialogue is fast and visceral, believable and generally funny, without making the movie comic. At the same time, the screenplay is written almost as a study of human nature, showing the consequences of arrogance and ego, and what one would be willing to sacrifice to reach incredible heights. Anyway, this movie is classic, and I think any frequent movie-goer should watch it. I can't really find anything to complain about so 10/10. It should have won more Oscars, though, but I don't really care that much. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lovemusicMay 12, 2011
GREAT MOVIE I TRULY LOVE THIS MOVIE. IT WAS THE MOVIE OF THE YEAR. THE SCRIPT AND THE ACTIGN WERE SUPERB. Andrew Garfield was the heart and soul of the film. Jesse Eisenberg did a great job as well. Justin timberlake did good too. thisGREAT MOVIE I TRULY LOVE THIS MOVIE. IT WAS THE MOVIE OF THE YEAR. THE SCRIPT AND THE ACTIGN WERE SUPERB. Andrew Garfield was the heart and soul of the film. Jesse Eisenberg did a great job as well. Justin timberlake did good too. this movie shows how our generation was built and raised. best movie of 2010 behind the king's speech Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
jrcvenMay 16, 2011
another masterpiece from maestro david fincher this film is definitely the best film of 2010 and was robbed of the best picture/director oscars not winning though it truly deserves does not make it a lesser film instead it just prove that theanother masterpiece from maestro david fincher this film is definitely the best film of 2010 and was robbed of the best picture/director oscars not winning though it truly deserves does not make it a lesser film instead it just prove that the oscars always choose the wrong best film most of the time if not every year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BonesMay 25, 2011
The opening scene literally invites you to a bumpy ride of a movie.
While the movie has some great actors in it & it's production is big; the movie seems (just like it's 'competitor'; "The King's Speech") - OVERRATED.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
itz_giologicalMay 23, 2011
While the the sharp dialogue, calm direction by David Fincher and edits from past to present and vice versa were expectedly impressive, nothing takes away the spotlight from Mr. Eiserberg whose bravura performance as the world's youngestWhile the the sharp dialogue, calm direction by David Fincher and edits from past to present and vice versa were expectedly impressive, nothing takes away the spotlight from Mr. Eiserberg whose bravura performance as the world's youngest billionaire is arguably the best movie performance of 2010. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BamaFalstaffMay 28, 2011
I'm pleasantly surprised that the movie did not peak too soon for Oscar season because it truly was the best adapted screenplay of the year. There were also some great performances.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MovieMadnessJun 5, 2011
Written and performed very well, however, you can't miss a beat or your gone, lost track of everything! A brilliant film that is very, very interesting! Loved this film, very well produced and acted! 10 OUT OF 10!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGeniusJun 17, 2011
I did not want to like this film. The birth of something as self-indulgent and unserious as social networking seemed like it would be itself extraordinary in its own self-indulgence and unseriousness. But it's not. It's really captivating,I did not want to like this film. The birth of something as self-indulgent and unserious as social networking seemed like it would be itself extraordinary in its own self-indulgence and unseriousness. But it's not. It's really captivating, cinematic filmmaking. I recommend all the making of materials too, but The Social Network truly displays great filmmaking. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RowsdowerJun 14, 2011
An extraordinary landmark film that admirably captures the zeitgeist of modern times and the age of the Internet. THE SOCIAL NETWORK is a movie of exhilarating qualities that impressively achieves the act of portraying an overblown phenomenonAn extraordinary landmark film that admirably captures the zeitgeist of modern times and the age of the Internet. THE SOCIAL NETWORK is a movie of exhilarating qualities that impressively achieves the act of portraying an overblown phenomenon like Facebook with excellent dramatic qualities. Fantastic acting, writing, and direction. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
PhoenixeuhouaiNov 29, 2011
Good but not great. It's like a "a bit more" clever american pie movie at the end. Even if the story helps to learn a bit more about Facebook, the line is more about a young adult getting rich.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
davenbettridgeNov 15, 2011
While I don't think that Facebooks creation is as genius as this movie claims,The Social Network is an excellently crafted film with great pacing, well directed scenes, excellent acting and has a story with substance. Zuckerberg is anWhile I don't think that Facebooks creation is as genius as this movie claims,The Social Network is an excellently crafted film with great pacing, well directed scenes, excellent acting and has a story with substance. Zuckerberg is an interesting and relatable character and his struggles and difficulties the film focuses on are interesting on many levels. We all get that the story is dramatized for a movie but it doesn't lessen how good this movie is. Highly Recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ConnJackSep 5, 2011
This movie was a terrific flick. It was a well-written film with brilliant acting, great direction, cinematography, and a great screenplay. "The Social Network" depicted the life of Facebook creator Mark Zuckerberg very well and had aThis movie was a terrific flick. It was a well-written film with brilliant acting, great direction, cinematography, and a great screenplay. "The Social Network" depicted the life of Facebook creator Mark Zuckerberg very well and had a terrific cast to put it forth. You got to see it because it is a very well-done movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Mathos22Jan 13, 2014
he year of 2010 ushered in a series of excellent films. From Toy Story 3 to Black Swan, there was truly a gold mine of brilliant movies to choose from. But there was one film that stood out from all others, a film that truly engulfed you inhe year of 2010 ushered in a series of excellent films. From Toy Story 3 to Black Swan, there was truly a gold mine of brilliant movies to choose from. But there was one film that stood out from all others, a film that truly engulfed you in the mind of a brilliant yet socially impaired Harvard undergraduate, as he works his way up to the top of the online social world. I speak, of course, of The Social Network.

David Fincher strikes gold with his latest entry, as he takes us into the world of Facebook founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg. Although the combination of Fincher and writer Aaron Sorkin (The West Wing, Malice, A Few Good Men) may seem like a mismatch, it is anything but. Sorkin excels in snappy, fast-paced dialogue, which finds its place well in the film. Fincher's trademark dark directing style also suits the film, and although it isn't nearly as dark as some of his other films (Fight Club, Se7en, Zodiac), it is glaringly apparent that Fincher is the man behind the camera.

The casting is completely flawless, with Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, Armie Hammer, and Justin Timberlake starring in what could be the best film that any of them will be a part of. Eisenberg portrays a smart, lonely, and somewhat overly confident Mark Zuckerberg, as he is in the process of creating the Facebook, a massive social networking site that will help to link friends around the world. Garfield plays Zuckerberg's best friend and co-founder of Facebook, Eduardo Saverin. Saverin is a smart, good-hearted student who attempts to stick with Mark through all his endeavors. Armie Hammer portrays the Winklevoss twins (with the excellent use of split-camera shots and body doubles), Tyler and Cameron, who are also Harvard students interested in building a social networking site alongside Zuckerberg. Timberlake plays Napster founder Sean Parker, a secretly malevolent business partner to Zuckerberg, who works to cut Saverin out of the picture and bring Facebook to the forefront of the social networking scene.

Opening with a breakup between Zuckerberg and his then (somewhat fictionalized) girlfriend, Erica Albright, the viewer sees that Mark is a socially inept, albeit brilliant, student who constantly feels the need to remind the world that he is indeed a genius. From there, Zuckerberg works to make a name for himself, in order to make it into a Harvard Final Club, which Saverin had recently been inducted into, much to the resentment and jealousy of Zuckerberg. Through a series of unflattering actions taken by Mark, he partners up with the Winklevoss twins, and promises to help them design their Harvard-exclusive dating site. Unbeknownst to the twins, Mark begins to design the Facebook with his roommates and Saverin. Upon growing immensely popular, two events unfold that change Facebook permanently: Mark is introduced to Sean Parker of Napster fame, and the Winklevoss twins sue Zuckerberg for intellectual property theft.

The interactions between characters is perfect, with Sorkin's writing truly shining throughout. Exchanges between Zuckerberg and any of the others in support of him are quick, witty, and contain a bitter undertone. Switching between two lawsuits against Mark, and the time of Facebook's inception. Done seamlessly, Fincher bridges each scene with confidence and aptitude. Eisenberg delivers a magnificent performance, and manages to achieve the seemingly impossible task of making the viewer sympathize for the seemingly cold and heartless Zuckerberg. Justin Timberlake's portrayal of Sean Parker is brilliant, as he takes advantage of Mark's tunnel vision to write Saverin out of the picture entirely. The score, written and performed by Trent Reznor (industrial rock band Nine Inch Nails) and Atticus Ross, adds a beautiful undertone to each scene, varying from slow-paced keyboard playing, to quick, upbeat techno-esque rhythms, all of which add to the emotion and feel of the film perfectly. There is no doubt that Sorkin, Ross, and Reznor earned their Academy Awards, as their contributions make the film truly shine.

The Social Network is director David Fincher's undoubted magnum opus. Take a witty, unrelentingly fast script, a handful of excellent performances, a dark, yet precise directing style, and a captivating score, and you have the grounds for a memorably brilliant film. The Social Network has all of said elements in abundance, and manages to never overstay its welcome. With a two hour run time, it keeps viewers completely riveted to see what will happen next. Whether or not The Social Network deserved the Best Picture Oscar for its year, it is undoubtedly a masterpiece that will not soon be forgotten.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
AVCITYJul 12, 2011
When it came out I felt like this movie was overpraised but then I actually saw it and as much as I hated it, I agree 100 percent. This is a sophisticated, entertaining, thrilling film. The camera at David Fincher's command takes us on a fastWhen it came out I felt like this movie was overpraised but then I actually saw it and as much as I hated it, I agree 100 percent. This is a sophisticated, entertaining, thrilling film. The camera at David Fincher's command takes us on a fast paced journey to the success and personal loss of the facebook creators. The performances are top notch especially by Eisenberg and Garfield, who really are at the emotional center of all the conspiracy and greed going on but the movie never lingers on the emotions for too long and it really balances all aspects really well. The editing may seem superficial and fast but what's brilliant is all the substance behind every character and scene that the editing actually enhances the feel of the story. I was not bored for one second and I have watched this so many times since it came out. A masterpiece. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AdrianLunaOct 17, 2011
"The Social Network" Is a perfect movie, the best movie of 2010 in my opinion, David Fincher shining here, but the better of this movie is the screenplay (Aron Sorkin) is a wonderfoul Screenplay! Amazing movie, Perfect Movie, A Great Movie,"The Social Network" Is a perfect movie, the best movie of 2010 in my opinion, David Fincher shining here, but the better of this movie is the screenplay (Aron Sorkin) is a wonderfoul Screenplay! Amazing movie, Perfect Movie, A Great Movie, is The Movie of the year. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
bencefica23Jul 21, 2011
I think it was the best movie in 2010 besides Black swan. First I thought its not the film which I will watch 2-3 times in a year, but still I have seen it 5 times in 3 months and imo it tells everything about the movie. The atmosphere justI think it was the best movie in 2010 besides Black swan. First I thought its not the film which I will watch 2-3 times in a year, but still I have seen it 5 times in 3 months and imo it tells everything about the movie. The atmosphere just can't let you go, thats what you wait from Sorkin and Fincher. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DanielaNovoAug 5, 2011
The Social Network : The 4th best movie of the year, behind Black Swan, Inception and The King's Speech. Maybe with some repetions, and some...how can i say, less interesting moments, but still with a good screenplay, a great performance byThe Social Network : The 4th best movie of the year, behind Black Swan, Inception and The King's Speech. Maybe with some repetions, and some...how can i say, less interesting moments, but still with a good screenplay, a great performance by the leading actor Jesse Eisenberg. With 3 Oscars, The Social Network is a must see movie, and it's important to remember that David should have won for best director... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
J-ShapAug 27, 2011
Perhaps one should call me a hypocrite for not penalizing The Social Network for evoking that feeling of non-reality that destroyed Frost/Nixon and A Beautiful Mind. But what Fincher succeeds to keep this from being an issue is keepingPerhaps one should call me a hypocrite for not penalizing The Social Network for evoking that feeling of non-reality that destroyed Frost/Nixon and A Beautiful Mind. But what Fincher succeeds to keep this from being an issue is keeping creating a story that, while it does indeed seem false in real life, it retains all of its power by upholding a central idea that speaks true to the real life story it emulates. Thus, The Social Network creates itself not as piece of real-life information feeding (like so many of the bland biopics we see today), but as a case that uses real life to create something that is a brilliant work of art. The richness of ideas and drama, all multi-layered and all fascinating, is simply too much to argue with. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 9, 2011
"The Social Network" makes a innovative approach to the capitalism system with incredible dialogues, good editing and featuring a cold-blooded performance by Eisenberg and David Fincher at his finest filmmaking.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
zizzoTAug 20, 2011
The best movie of 2010. The best movie for the past few years. One of my favorite movies ever. Jesse Eisenberg gives a brilliant, unbelievably masterful performance. Andrew Garfield is heartbreaking and absolutely phenomenal. JustinThe best movie of 2010. The best movie for the past few years. One of my favorite movies ever. Jesse Eisenberg gives a brilliant, unbelievably masterful performance. Andrew Garfield is heartbreaking and absolutely phenomenal. Justin Timberlake was frustratingly brilliant, I hated his character but his acting was fantastic. Same with Eiesnberg. Fincher couldn't have done it better, Sorkin couldn't have written it better. A soon to be classic movie and an absolutely revolutionary movie. A cinematic achievement for the ages. It deserved every oscar and was absolutely smart, funny, and devastating. Ladies and Gentlemen, a completely unforgettable film. "The Social Network." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheMudDoctorAug 26, 2011
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FIlmsareawesomeAug 31, 2011
This movie was awesome. A story about how the Facebook website was created and a lot of thing evolved in that process. I think it was so good, if you haven't seen it, go watch it. Some people may think it's boring, but i don't, i though itThis movie was awesome. A story about how the Facebook website was created and a lot of thing evolved in that process. I think it was so good, if you haven't seen it, go watch it. Some people may think it's boring, but i don't, i though it was amazing. David Fincher proved that he can do a movie about anything and in the end it's still a good movie, so no Tom Hooper in my opinion, David Fincher should have won the best achievement in Directing in 2011 (off course if Christopher Nolan was voted, the story would be completely different). The Acting, every single one of those young actors took me by surprised, especially Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield, very good performances. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
joe_mcfarlaneAug 31, 2011
This is a brilliant movie. Most will not be disappointed. Cleverly written , it grips you throughout, and has a good combination of clever jokes and drama in the courtroom. the metascore of 95 is well deserved.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
alexandergreenSep 14, 2011
Probably wildly inaccurate and exaggerated in places, as is with most Hollywood re-imaginings of real controversial timelines. But, Eisenberg is as brilliant as ever, and the rest of the cast are decently solid. A good mix of humour, dramaProbably wildly inaccurate and exaggerated in places, as is with most Hollywood re-imaginings of real controversial timelines. But, Eisenberg is as brilliant as ever, and the rest of the cast are decently solid. A good mix of humour, drama and interesting subject matter. A brilliantly made film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LetzTalkMoveezSep 15, 2011
This is David Fincher's electronica, for both the eyes and the years. If you don't like this movie, there's basically something wrong with your head.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
bram29Jan 7, 2013
the social network scores instant points by being a movie about nerds who conquer the world by being smarter than everyone. and that's what this movie is all about. it's trying to succeed where scott pilgrim failed, and that is the fact thatthe social network scores instant points by being a movie about nerds who conquer the world by being smarter than everyone. and that's what this movie is all about. it's trying to succeed where scott pilgrim failed, and that is the fact that there is simply not enough for normal-brained humans to see. but this movie immediately throws it in their faces that that what they consider to be probably the least nerdy thing of all is in fact the product of a mind of a very huge nerd. as you'll no doubt have guessed by now, i myself also conform to this subculture, and this how i like to see the world: run by competent nerds. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
moviekretikNov 4, 2011
A timeless story of friendship, loyalty, greed and betrayal. Truly, you won't find a better emotional core to build a drama around than the relationship between best friends Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg) and Eduardo Saverin (Andrew Garfield).A timeless story of friendship, loyalty, greed and betrayal. Truly, you won't find a better emotional core to build a drama around than the relationship between best friends Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg) and Eduardo Saverin (Andrew Garfield). That bromance is the heart of The Social Network and the film kept getting close to this emotional territory but then it would crash like an overloaded network and flit to other characters not important to the main story. The thing is this movie is a biography that makes the whole film so special though its a little mess story, if only this film made with some flavor of fiction it will be more nicer though I still prefer the real events of course. Overall excellent dialog. Superb directing job by Fincher and a very good score. And for the record I don't watch film that is purely dialogue parade, and here is the one entertains me well. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Nov 3, 2011
Another great piece of film. The Social Network is a modern story but deals with classical themes such as acceptance, loyalty, friendship, ambition, jealousy and betrayal. With an excellent cast and a terrific script The Social Network is oneAnother great piece of film. The Social Network is a modern story but deals with classical themes such as acceptance, loyalty, friendship, ambition, jealousy and betrayal. With an excellent cast and a terrific script The Social Network is one of the best films of 2010. 4/4 stars. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RenegadeNormanNov 18, 2011
One of the best films of 2010. I don't even know where to start. All of the cast gave spectacular performances. Aaron Sorkin's screenplay was wonderful (it's available on the film's website, and I can't stop reading it). David Fincher'sOne of the best films of 2010. I don't even know where to start. All of the cast gave spectacular performances. Aaron Sorkin's screenplay was wonderful (it's available on the film's website, and I can't stop reading it). David Fincher's direction was terrific as usual. The film had breathtaking and gorgeous cinematography. Really, if you want an example of a near perfect film, this is it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
maskinmaskNov 20, 2011
a film that good more than words can say,it's the best film for me.awesome awesome **** 150,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFFeb 8, 2013
It was a complex idea to develop, but this film portrays the idea of Facebook in such a simple and elegant matter that i deem The Social Network to be a flawless film.
Seriously.
The performances, the direction, but overall the writing
It was a complex idea to develop, but this film portrays the idea of Facebook in such a simple and elegant matter that i deem The Social Network to be a flawless film.
Seriously.
The performances, the direction, but overall the writing through the genius of Aaron Sorkin, has created a film which i doubt many would even have thrown a second glance to, and you would be silly not to.
Told pretty much as a flashback, this film picks up in 2003, and we see the the extremely talented Jessie Eisenberg portraying the young, silly, yet not popular, but computer wizard Mark Zuckerberg, as he is having a discussion with his soon-to-be ex-girlfriend, this was a wonderfully crafted and hilarious scene, Eisenberg effortlessly catches the persona of someone under the illusion that he is superior to everyone else, not so much through arrogance, but perhaps someone learning to fight for survival in a dog eat dog world.
Through drunken blogging in his Harvard dorm and a cash flow from his best friend Eduardo Saverin, (Andrew Garlfield) Facebook is born.
On the antagonistic side of things, you'll be seeing double with Armie hammer taking on a dual role of Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss, the two Harvard rowers who are believed to have asked Zuckerberg to set up a similar idea to Facebook, before Facebook had been founded.
These are all wonderful performances, also with the inclusion of the multi-talented Justin Timberlake, who plays Napster founder and Facebook advisor Shaun Parker.
The wonderful, crisp, clear direction of David Fincher is excellent to see, fast paced talking seen before in Fight Club, but it has to be the masterful dialogue of Aaron Sorkin's screenplay that will have you leaving with a smile on your face. Its so simple, yet Eisenberg's portrayal of Zuckerberg encourages you to 'keep up' with his fast-paced rambling, convincing everyone he knows exactly what he is talking about, because he probably does.
Andrew Garfield exceeds to new heights as co-founder Eduardo Saverin, and the ensuing court battles of the troubled friendship show the strain a business can put on a person.
One of the best written, acted, and fluidly brilliant pieces of cinema this decade, The Social Network will leave you wanting another dose of greatness from this sublime story, see at all costs
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Jedi_JettsonFeb 19, 2012
Not many biographies are as entertaining as The Social Network and the cast really grabs your attention when you consider the strong and funny performances. By the way people, don't assume this movie and/or its story is stupid because itsNot many biographies are as entertaining as The Social Network and the cast really grabs your attention when you consider the strong and funny performances. By the way people, don't assume this movie and/or its story is stupid because its about the creation of facebook and talking about college, its all great because its well acted and its depiction of facebook and Harvard is captivating and you know what, this movie is done with smarts, not stupidity. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
khajvahDec 1, 2011
Great movie. I enjoyed every minute of this movie and great play of actors. Obviously one of the best movie of 2011, actually second best(after inception). I don't understand why some people don't like this...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ACardboardBoxDec 17, 2011
A great movie. I can watch it over and over it again without getting bored of it. Jesse Eisenberg does great in a serious role and the movie does a great job of giving you the choice on who really invented Facebook.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CuchoDec 21, 2011
It's dynamite, I have seen many movies, you can count on Titanic, The King's Speech, STAR WARS and Forrest Gump.
But this movie takes every movie I have seen and makes them look like a piece of garbage (Even when they are great movies),
It's dynamite, I have seen many movies, you can count on Titanic, The King's Speech, STAR WARS and Forrest Gump.
But this movie takes every movie I have seen and makes them look like a piece of garbage (Even when they are great movies), everything in "The Social Network" is amazing: the screenplay, the direction, the performances, everything is amazing!.
If you don't believe me it may be because of 2 reasons:
- You haven't seen "The Social Network" because you think it's overrated or something like that.
- Your taste in movies just sucks! so... you suck.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
TTW107Dec 25, 2011
The reason this movie succeeded as well as it did and my 10/10 rating is not because of the story or the acting, it is because of the directing, editing and most of the all the music. Simply put this movie is BRILLIANTLY put together.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ibbsteJul 12, 2014
Before you see any image in the film, you hear the words of Aaron Sorkin. The film hits the ground running mid-contentious-conversation in a bar between our stoic protagonist, Mark Zuckerberg, and soon to be ex-girlfriend. The movie someBefore you see any image in the film, you hear the words of Aaron Sorkin. The film hits the ground running mid-contentious-conversation in a bar between our stoic protagonist, Mark Zuckerberg, and soon to be ex-girlfriend. The movie some might refer to as “the Facebook movie,” in reality, has very little to do with Facebook itself. To me, the freshest thing "The Social Network" says about a generation on the verge of the Facebook-era is that it’s actually not very different to what’s always been true to human nature. These are characters as susceptible to their own petty whims as anyone else; they are young people of varying degrees of ego, hubris, and needs that transcend shifting technologies.

The film’s first act breezes through with brazen lack of convention. After shooting off 10 pages of dialogue in a few minutes, a newly single Mark runs back to his Harvard dorm room to drunkenly angry-blog. In the most striking sequence in the first half of the film, a lewdly lavish party from the famous Phoenix Club is intercut with Mark hacking into his school’s network from the seclusion of his room. Like with many artists, Zuckerberg’s masterpiece was borne in the resentment of heartache.

Jesse Eisenberg as a performer takes to Sorkin’s intricate dialogue like a snug glove, hitting each beat without fail at bullet-speed. On one level, there are things he seems to understand people in enough of a deeply profound way to be uniquely qualified to bring Facebook into the world. On the other hand, his near total lack of self-awareness makes him perpetually alienated from the rest of the world. And, every now and then, Eisenberg allows us to glimpse inside Mark’s enigmatic mind through quick and calculated cracks in the veneer.

The first cut to one of Mark’s two legal battles occurring years later happens right after the Harvard network crashes. The cuts are jarring, at first — the world in which the depositions occur is very different from the world of the rest of the film. The characters are different people. The colors are brighter and crisper, and the soundscape is less cloudy. And, to obscure matters further, Zuckerberg immediately discredits his ex-girlfriend’s testimony of their bar conversation read out from transcripts that Sorkin himself used for research. At the end of the film, Rashida Jones, functioning as the film’s Greek chorus, confirms that 85% of emotional testimony is exaggerated and the rest is perjury. David Fincher’s camera is an unreliable narrator.

After this, the film’s most compelling plot line— the betrayal of Eduardo — starts to come crashing down in a series of scenes leading up to his final eruption. It’s in these scenes that Andrew Garfield flexes his acting muscles (robbed blind of the Oscar, let alone the nomination), as the stakes in each scene he appears in from this point on only gets more and more intense. It starts as the team Mark Zuckerberg had assembled for Facebook convenes in Eduardo’s house in Palo Alto, unaware that Sean Parker (Mark’s celebrity crush-turned-mentor) lived across the street. Justin Timberlake might strike some as a bit of stunt casting, but it has a brilliant payoff as his superstar presence does justice to the mythology the film builds to Sean Parker. It’s a mythology that Eduardo finds deeply suspect (not wanting the company associated with his history of underage girls and drug abuse), and personally threatening.

Eduardo Saverin is a deeply flawed character. He’s naïve, occasionally petty, and didn’t have the foresight to know the full potential of Facebook to arm it more innovative structure. But his fate is the only one in the film seemed disproportionately crueler than any of the others (until the settlement). Eduardo signs the papers, underestimating just how deep under Sean’s spell he is (illustrated in a scene where Sean gets Mark to flip off potential Case Equity investors in a robe for nothing more than personal revenge for having fired Sean). When Eduardo is invited back to celebrate one million users, he instead becomes informed of his diluted shares.

It’s the most shocking moment in the film, and the catalyst for his emotional explosion. The film stops dead in its tracks as a mesmerizing Garfield marches down to Mark’s desk, smashes his computer, and confronts his character’s now former best friend. Eisenberg allows Garfield his moment, but he’s equally good as you can see the belated shameful realization of what had just happened. When it becomes official that Facebook has reached a million viewers, he should be happy, but the personal cost of his success his immediately and devastatingly apparent.

He does get one final victory: his ex-girlfriend is on Facebook.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
jack977Jan 3, 2013
Sorkin's brilliant screenplay, Fincher's masterful direction and Reznor-Ross' edgy composition make TSN an undeniable pleasure to watch and also reveal the dirty secrets behind the century's biggest phenomenon.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 24, 2012
The Social is an intelligent piece of work with its wonderful editing and great dialogue. it presents a great look at how the one of the greatest inventions was born and the struggles to get there. one of the best films of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Nov 27, 2013
This movie was compelling. Let me start off by saying that this movie could have easily fallen apart if it wasn't for Fincher's great vision. The writing was incredible, and every detail of the film was executed wonderfully. Making a lessThis movie was compelling. Let me start off by saying that this movie could have easily fallen apart if it wasn't for Fincher's great vision. The writing was incredible, and every detail of the film was executed wonderfully. Making a less than interesting subject come to life with unbelievable drama is what making an excellent film is all about. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
seancriswellJan 4, 2013
I am reluctant to give any movie a 10 rating. I like to reserve these ratings for those rare movies that to me are perfect and stand the test of time. After viewing Social Network for the third time I firmly believe that it fits the bill.I am reluctant to give any movie a 10 rating. I like to reserve these ratings for those rare movies that to me are perfect and stand the test of time. After viewing Social Network for the third time I firmly believe that it fits the bill. This is my favorite movie of the last few years. This movie looks amazing, thank you Mr. Fincher, the acting is great across the board. What really sets this movie apart is Sorkin's rat a tat dialogue. From beginning to end the script is perfect and the star of the show. Don't be fooled by the name at it's core this movie is not about facebook. It is a pretty poignant social commentary on 20 somethings in this country. Not to be missed, I can't wait to see this again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
theahsanhaseebDec 18, 2012
Easily one of my top favorite drama films. Flawless direction, strongest screenplay and powerful performances. The Social Network is an absolute MASTERPIECE.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
charlieW24Feb 10, 2013
People ask what makes 'The Social Network' a modern masterpiece? Well, its a story that 1,000,000,000 people (or users) can relate to, it has skillful direction by Fincher to get across the said story, a screenplay by Sorkin that seems toPeople ask what makes 'The Social Network' a modern masterpiece? Well, its a story that 1,000,000,000 people (or users) can relate to, it has skillful direction by Fincher to get across the said story, a screenplay by Sorkin that seems to roll of the actors tongues, and overall a use of editing that is rarely present in modern day films. So, does all of that answer their question? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
iVaughtTVJul 17, 2012
Words cannot describe how great this film is. Every character is engaging and seems to have their own subtle agenda, and the dynamic between characters continuously drives the story forward. The genius dialogue builds up throughout the movieWords cannot describe how great this film is. Every character is engaging and seems to have their own subtle agenda, and the dynamic between characters continuously drives the story forward. The genius dialogue builds up throughout the movie until everything unfolds in spectacular fashion. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews