Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 1, 2010
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2065 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,796
Mixed:
175
Negative:
94
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
whitOct 5, 2010
The movie basically consists of nothing but scene after scene of people sitting in a room talking-- and it is absolutely fascinating. My only complaint is that I wish it had gone on for another hour.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
RelaxingKyleOct 3, 2010
I may be a bit enthusiastic in saying this, but this movie is the best movie I have ever seen. No, not in recent years as most people are saying, but of all time. The dialogue is absolutely perfect, but the delivery is what really makes this.I may be a bit enthusiastic in saying this, but this movie is the best movie I have ever seen. No, not in recent years as most people are saying, but of all time. The dialogue is absolutely perfect, but the delivery is what really makes this. It's a movie about dialogue that keeps you on the edge of your seat in the way a movie like Inception would. Each line is said in a snap, but not in a way that makes you lose track though. It also helps that the movie has a fantastic premise, fantastic cast and fantastic soundtrack made by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, which I highly recommend you download. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
10
Bullet97Oct 1, 2010
This movie is amazing! David Fincher selivers yet another masterpiece! The story of facebook is perfectly told by fabulous writing, great directing, and captivating performances!! See this movie now!!
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
10
FrozenStar90Oct 2, 2010
"The Social Network" flawlessly captures the essence of what a film should be. A smart screenplay, brilliant direction, and absolutely stunning performances from the cast come together to form the best film in a long time. I seriously cannot"The Social Network" flawlessly captures the essence of what a film should be. A smart screenplay, brilliant direction, and absolutely stunning performances from the cast come together to form the best film in a long time. I seriously cannot get over how amazing the cast is. It's like nothing you've ever seen before. A tragedy of the highest order. Go see this movie. Now. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
10
TheBigBadBURTNov 19, 2010
A fantastic movie. Brilliantly written with a good mixture of drama and comedy that never gets boring. Jesse Eisenberg does a great job in the role of Mark Zuckerberg. A definite must see.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
smijatovFeb 27, 2011
"The Social Network" is the most surprising good film of the year for me - who would have thought that the story about the guy who created Facebook would be so interesting and captivating? Wow. Simply great film! The directing is very smooth"The Social Network" is the most surprising good film of the year for me - who would have thought that the story about the guy who created Facebook would be so interesting and captivating? Wow. Simply great film! The directing is very smooth and Fincher just does excellent work (once again) and proves to be one of the most talented directors currently. Obviously, working with such a young cast must have been challenging, and they all did a splendid job, especially Eisenberg, whose fan I never was until now (well, I'm still not a 'fan fan'). The rather captivating and interesting story was well crafted by Aaron Sorkin and excellently edited, in film editing that has not been so good in years, really. All around, The Social Network is definitely an excellent film and provides us insights into the importance of friendship, morals and the drive to succeed and what all can come out of it - excellence in reality as well as on screen. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
ChonquistOct 10, 2010
Easily one of the greatest films of our generation. This film chronicles the rise of social networking site Facebook, and the legal battles among its founders that followed. This movie takes the amazing script by Aaron Sorkin and turns itEasily one of the greatest films of our generation. This film chronicles the rise of social networking site Facebook, and the legal battles among its founders that followed. This movie takes the amazing script by Aaron Sorkin and turns it into a masterpiece with beautiful direction by David Fincher (Fight Club, Se7en). The performances by principle actors Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield amazed as well. Eisenberg plays the awkward facebook founder Mark Zuckerbeg, who is easily swayed by the idea of power and money, but always has a certain girl on his mind. Garfield stuns as Eduardo Saverin, his jilted best friend going through problems of his own as Zuckerberg slowly muscles him out with the help of Sean Parker (justin Timberlake). Overall, the films magnificent direction, screenplay, and performances let it shine above the many contenders in this years oscar race. This movie is one of the greatest achievements of modern cinema, and a shoe -in for many major awards at this years oscars. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
ShiiraOct 7, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's not the eighties anymore, that's resoundingly clear, because if it was, Mark Zuckerberg(Jesse Eisenberg) would have to turn off his computer and row crew just like the Winklevoss twins, then somehow beat them; he and Eduardo Saverin(Andrew Garfield), his best friend, along with a bunch of other social misfits at the Henley Royal Regatta. This was the old template for the nerd redemption storyline; this was the dark ages, way back before computers were cool, so in order for the nerds to change their fortunes, they'd have to win some sort of competition against their adversaries. In Jeff Canew's "Revenge of the Nerds", starring Robert Carradine and Anthony Edwards(as Lewis Skolnick and Gilbert Lowe, respectively), the charter members of Lambda Lambda Lambda took first place at the Adams College Greek Games by defeating the other campus fraternities, most importantly, their arch-nemesis, the Alpha-Betas, and needless to say, writing code while intermittently taking shots is not one of the compulsory events. When Lewis and Gilbert first arrive at the prestigious(but fictional) school, they hang a poster of a computer on their dorm wall that reads, "The sky's the limit," words that are so unerring in its propheticness, they practically build a bridge to what could be considered its sister film, a pretty sister named "The Social Network", a film that documents the moment when "the meek," indeed does "inherit the earth". Case and point: the Crimson Red is facing the Dutch, not rowers captained by Mark, because now it's the jocks, in a cruel twist of faith, who have to play by the nerds' terms. The athletically ungifted never have to "man up" again. Nerds have come a long way since Ivan Reitman's "Meatballs", the Canadian indie with the original Rudy(played by Chris Makepeace), who runs a four-mile cross-country race that helps North Star defeat Mohawk in the camp's version of the Olympiad. Nerds can be ogres, too. When Mark steals the idea for Facebook from the Winklevoss twins, his kind loses the distinction of being underdogs. Nobody ever roots for the privileged white kids born with silver spoons in their mouths, but that's the subversive truth about "The Social Network"; the moviegoer roots for old money, the Harvard tradition, and WASPS. Whereas the moviegoer feels pity for Lewis and Gilbert as the Alpha Betas chant, "Nerds...nerds...nerds...," while the two computer enthusiasts file past the house for "jocks," and ironically enough, "...facemen," Mark Zuckerberg's comeuppance is anticipated with glee, once Cameron(Armie Hammer) decides to "gut the freakin' nerd," after they lose the regatta and learn that their intellectual property has gone on-line in England. "The Social Network" changes the underlying intimation of the moniker "nerd" when Erica(Rooney Mara) calls Mark an "a**hole," in which the nerd is no longer exclusive to the receiving end of the victimization cycle, since the nerd, now empowered by their consummate fluency in the cyberspace language, can buttress the giving end, as well. Mark Zuckerberg is not your father's, or grandfather's nerd. The youngest billionaire is nothing like Lewis, who can't believe his luck in landing a cheerleader(Betty Childs, as played by Julia Montgomrey), since the Facebook co-founder treats Erica horribly for attending an inferior school. He's no dogcatcher: ugly women and BU undergrads(the Terriers), need not apply. Lewis always has Gilbert's back, especially when his best friend gives a speech, albeit hamfisted, about "nerd persecution" in front of the student body. Earlier in "Revenge of the Nerds", Lewis and Gilbert watch in silence through an open window at the emblazoned letters that spell out "nerds" on their lawn, after the fraternity toasts Lambda Lambda Lambda's successful completion of its provisionary period. Conversely, Mark has a knife at Eduardo's back, but he doesn't know it yet, while a silk scarf that the CFO bought for his girlfriend, burns in a trashcan, in effigy, just like the KKK-style threat made by the Alpha Betas in the Kanew film. It reduces Eduardo to nerd status, a nerd with all the old associations connected to the appellation. A loser. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
Amnesiac2389Nov 9, 2010
This is the best movie I have seen in a long while. David Fincher is amazing as always with his dark, serious, and moody directing. Clearly this is not an accurate portrayal of events, but instead a dramatic interpretation of what we like toThis is the best movie I have seen in a long while. David Fincher is amazing as always with his dark, serious, and moody directing. Clearly this is not an accurate portrayal of events, but instead a dramatic interpretation of what we like to think happened behind the scenes. The actors are witty, intellectual, and most of the time believable. This is what going to the movies is supposed to be like and should not be missed. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
NeilieoOct 11, 2010
It captures the essence of our time flawlessly. The part that was strongest for me was that even for Zuckerburg, who is somewhat of an enigma, the movie shows that he like everyone else is human and that the most popular website today wasIt captures the essence of our time flawlessly. The part that was strongest for me was that even for Zuckerburg, who is somewhat of an enigma, the movie shows that he like everyone else is human and that the most popular website today was founded off the simplest human emotions. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
DarkCriticOct 3, 2010
The most dramatic movie of all time! The Social Network tells the story about a young college student from Harvard named,Mark Zuckerberg who wanted to create a website for socialize people around the world called Facebook. This is the perfectThe most dramatic movie of all time! The Social Network tells the story about a young college student from Harvard named,Mark Zuckerberg who wanted to create a website for socialize people around the world called Facebook. This is the perfect film for having some great lines and great dialog,and it has a cool dark setting like a Fincher's groundbreaking scenes,like Se7en,Fight Club,and my personally favorite film of all time,The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Jesse Eisenberg did marvelous job as the character who created Facebook,he's mysterious,fast talking,and smart at the same time. Andrew Garfield did really good in the role,he's charming and he's smooth personality like the other actors. Justin Timberlake did a marvelously supportive job as Sean Parker and that's saying alot for the pop singer. The cast did good roles for the story and it has talking lines between the story and how they focus really clever about they explain how the people who created Facebook and we need show how Facebook became so popular for the website. This is the winner of the best filmaking film about how actors did marvelously job and how they had beautifully chemistry for this movie. It's a nice movie and for all the users in Facebook must love this movie and we wanted to thank the creators who invented the Facebook to socialize and have friends in the same time. Enjoy! Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Oct 1, 2010
The best film of 2010 so far. Sorkin's dialogue is terrific and pretty hilarious, and Fincher directs with such clarity so that we are never confused as to what's going on even as the film jumps in and out of flashbacks, often for comicThe best film of 2010 so far. Sorkin's dialogue is terrific and pretty hilarious, and Fincher directs with such clarity so that we are never confused as to what's going on even as the film jumps in and out of flashbacks, often for comic effect. The ending is surprisingly emotional, and it's easy the Shakespearean style tragedy installed in Eisenberg's Zuckerberg. Eisenberg and Timberlake both deserve Oscar nominations, and it's almost assured that you will hear this film's name multiple times when the award nominations come rolling around in early 2011. Go see this film whether you have a Facebook or not; it's that exciting and terrific. Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
10
SamdmanOct 1, 2010
Great direction and cinematography, with a great screenplay, this film is definitely going to be in the Oscar race. All of the actors are great and despite the somewhat exaggerated party scenes, this movie feels very realistic. Just becauseGreat direction and cinematography, with a great screenplay, this film is definitely going to be in the Oscar race. All of the actors are great and despite the somewhat exaggerated party scenes, this movie feels very realistic. Just because it's a movie about Facebook, doesn't mean its corny or aimed only at young people. You should see this film no matter how old you are, even if you don't use Facebook. Overall a 10/10 and the second best movie of the year after Inception. Expand
9 of 19 users found this helpful910
All this user's reviews
10
dannyboy057Oct 12, 2010
This movie has got to be one of the smartest, most clever movies that I have seen all year. I was actually really surprised about how well done The Social Network really was. A good 2 hours long, it didn't feel like it was endless, but itThis movie has got to be one of the smartest, most clever movies that I have seen all year. I was actually really surprised about how well done The Social Network really was. A good 2 hours long, it didn't feel like it was endless, but it left me wanting more. The acting was generally good, but the movie's strength comes from its incredible screenplay and it's brilliant direction. From Alien 3 and Fight club to Zodiac and Benjamin Button, David Fincher has come a long way, and all of that hard work has paid off with a near-flawless film. The shots in The Social Network are just beautiful, and the cleverly ingenious writer should be commended. I can definitely say that this year's Oscar's ceremony will be a no-brainer! Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
kk10Jun 10, 2011
One of my favourite films of all time. David Fincher being one of my favourite directors has made his best film yet. The film itself is thoroughly entertaining on the surface and its two hours pass by like running water. But deeper in itsOne of my favourite films of all time. David Fincher being one of my favourite directors has made his best film yet. The film itself is thoroughly entertaining on the surface and its two hours pass by like running water. But deeper in its fast mesmerizing dialogue is a character study of a man who revolutionized the 21st century and the irony that comes at the end of the film is self explanatory. it is a perfect film and very few films deserve that term. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ComasiJan 17, 2011
This movie was absolutely amazing and I was very interested in it from start to finish. To most people, the dialogue were snarky comments. I have no idea what movie they were watching. Anyways the performances by Jesse Eisenberg and AndrewThis movie was absolutely amazing and I was very interested in it from start to finish. To most people, the dialogue were snarky comments. I have no idea what movie they were watching. Anyways the performances by Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield are very good. This movie, I think, will win an Oscar. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
JammerjointOct 2, 2010
Extraordinary. Charging forward with a relentless pace, this film is one of few that can be witty, evocative, thrilling, and unpredictable all at once. Fincher unveils his masterpiece: a film to immortalize the dynamism of the coming 21stExtraordinary. Charging forward with a relentless pace, this film is one of few that can be witty, evocative, thrilling, and unpredictable all at once. Fincher unveils his masterpiece: a film to immortalize the dynamism of the coming 21st century. The dialogue is too perfect, without being too pretentious. For once the protagonist is reprehensible and not unrealistically detached. The choice opening and ending tie up the piece flawlessly, remarking on the small things that motivate us to do do the big things. This is an exhilarating exploration of ambition and its consequences. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
10
joreganoMar 18, 2011
The social network, on having known that the movie was of facebook, I thought that serious as any other movie of teenagers that was stupid, but to it began to see her realized that it is inevitable (for those of high place IQ) to be hooked byThe social network, on having known that the movie was of facebook, I thought that serious as any other movie of teenagers that was stupid, but to it began to see her realized that it is inevitable (for those of high place IQ) to be hooked by this so brilliant script, endorsed with a music that canalizes this simplicity that has with the intelligence. " A movie of a generation " Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MPVahalikNov 7, 2010
I feel like a I give a lot of movies 10s but this one definitely deserves it. Jesse Eisenberg will be nominated for an Oscar. An Aaron Sorkin might be as well.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Trunks378Oct 1, 2010
The writing in the movies is absolutely f***ing ridiculous. I remember sending my friend a message right after I saw it that if it didn't win the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay I'd never watch the Oscars again, I'm sticking with thatThe writing in the movies is absolutely f***ing ridiculous. I remember sending my friend a message right after I saw it that if it didn't win the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay I'd never watch the Oscars again, I'm sticking with that :smileyvery-happy:

Seriously every bit of dialogue just flows so incredible back and forth, it has a rhythm to it not that uncommon of the best classic film noirs, this is Sorkin taken to the next level, there's not a second dumbed down and the man will pack exchanges with as much humor as venom that helps sketch an early idea of who Zuckerberg will become. I never even realized also until the second time seeing it how perfectly Sorkin bookended the narrative. The film's writing is just, :smileyvery-happy: ..it's ridiculous. The man is able to make scenes in what for the most part is a drama more funny and amusing than most comedies this year while being able to flip a switch and creating tension and action on screen through exchanges that most thrillers this year couldn't even dream to approach. I just can't stress enough how much I love the screenplay for this film.
Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
10
SmellyCatOct 8, 2010
I saw "The Social Network" nearly a week ago, and find myself struggling to put together my thoughts on the film together for a review, not because the film was bad, but rather because I just needed the time to process the entire film andI saw "The Social Network" nearly a week ago, and find myself struggling to put together my thoughts on the film together for a review, not because the film was bad, but rather because I just needed the time to process the entire film and ruminate on the different levels of complexities the film has. And it really is a movie that you just need to see to understand the appeal, because on paper it sounds somewhat standard and less than spectacular. However, one thing that stands out in the film as something I feel good enough commenting on are the performances. Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, and Justin Timberlake are almost equally amazing in their respective roles, and all deserving of Oscar nominations. Just go see the movie, and then you will understand my inability to formulate thoughts. Its just that good. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
ThorOct 4, 2010
Everything about this film is phenomenal. The writing, the acting, the cinematography, and literally anything else you can think of. I actually cannot think of anything I didn't love about this movie. This is the most satisfied I've everEverything about this film is phenomenal. The writing, the acting, the cinematography, and literally anything else you can think of. I actually cannot think of anything I didn't love about this movie. This is the most satisfied I've ever been after seeing a movie in theaters, and I highly recommend it to anyone. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
muzztmtJan 30, 2011
This movie is about human emotion. The way they project their feelings onto each other were very realistic. The facial expressions of its main cast in the movie were the key to its acclaim. I believed every second of it. Thats what dragged meThis movie is about human emotion. The way they project their feelings onto each other were very realistic. The facial expressions of its main cast in the movie were the key to its acclaim. I believed every second of it. Thats what dragged me into it. I've seen not many movies like this. That makes me privileged. Very good movie. Oscar winning fo' sho. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
PopcornNRosesNov 8, 2010
I totally underestimated this film on our podcast's fall preview. Jesse Eisenberg is electric as the self-obsessed college student who turns a passion for wanting to be successful into the huge company that is Facebook. Oscar-worthyI totally underestimated this film on our podcast's fall preview. Jesse Eisenberg is electric as the self-obsessed college student who turns a passion for wanting to be successful into the huge company that is Facebook. Oscar-worthy performances from Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield as Eduardo, Mark Zukerberg's best friend and moneyman, and especially Justin Timberlake as Sean Parker, creator of Napster and Zuckerberg's most staunch mentor, who just oozes "creepy". I was honestly surprised at how good this movie is, and how much I enjoyed it. Definitely a "must-see" on my list this year. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
MahonerOct 5, 2010
The Social Network feels so real it's almost scary. Just the quick, smart dialogue that I thoroughly enjoyed. The believeable characters that aren't dumbed down or made to be cookie cut cliches. It really was a refreshing picture that IThe Social Network feels so real it's almost scary. Just the quick, smart dialogue that I thoroughly enjoyed. The believeable characters that aren't dumbed down or made to be cookie cut cliches. It really was a refreshing picture that I believe stands as one of the best for 2010, and possibly the decade. To think of having great movies like this and Inception in the same calendar year shows that Hollywood is actually churning out some decent pictures for the film going audience that demand more than the typical summer blockbusters. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
ZeusOct 2, 2010
"The Social Network" deserves every bit of praise that it is receiving! Everything about this movie of absolutely solid - the first great movie of the year. A story about Facebook shouldn't keep anyone from seeing this film. If you hate"The Social Network" deserves every bit of praise that it is receiving! Everything about this movie of absolutely solid - the first great movie of the year. A story about Facebook shouldn't keep anyone from seeing this film. If you hate Facebook replace it with "Company X" or something. The point is...I am not going to see this movie again just because I have an account. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
10
god-amaterasuApr 15, 2011
"The Social Network" is simply one of the best movie I ever seen, and one of my favourite. David Fincher has directed another wonderful movie. A movie to see, absolutely.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
txrangersfan72Jan 17, 2011
Being an intense hater of Facebook, my initial instincts were to avoid The Social Network like the plague. However, too much positive buzz and Aaron Sorkin's involvement made me finally see it. WOW, I'm GLAD I did! The direction, dialogue,Being an intense hater of Facebook, my initial instincts were to avoid The Social Network like the plague. However, too much positive buzz and Aaron Sorkin's involvement made me finally see it. WOW, I'm GLAD I did! The direction, dialogue, acting and story were flawless. This is what modern movie making is all about. Perfect execution! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
hypnowheelOct 3, 2010
Another Fincher classic. Every technical aspect is perfect. Two hours zips by like two minutes. All characters come across as believable and flawed. A word that's often overused - captivating - actually applies here.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
TheCylonOct 4, 2010
Aaron Sorkin is the king of writing. David Fincher properly sets the tone from "The Accidental Billionaires". Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield do a wonderful job conveying their emotions. The scene when Facebook is approaching 1 millionAaron Sorkin is the king of writing. David Fincher properly sets the tone from "The Accidental Billionaires". Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield do a wonderful job conveying their emotions. The scene when Facebook is approaching 1 million users is absolutely heart breaking. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
TomdupOct 1, 2010
On the cab ride home, Linda uttered heresy by wondering aloud whether Facebook would still be king of the hill, or even around at all, in, say, ten years. Or, she got me to thinking, would it just twitter away in time, leaving nothing but,On the cab ride home, Linda uttered heresy by wondering aloud whether Facebook would still be king of the hill, or even around at all, in, say, ten years. Or, she got me to thinking, would it just twitter away in time, leaving nothing but, mm, lipstick traces, the wispy remains of once-mighty passing trends like CompuServe, MySpace, Blockbuster, or Barnes & Noble? All we know is this one is a hi-def snapshot of right now. Don't worry. This is greatness. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
Justinavery7074Mar 28, 2011
Why can't people love this over Inception? It's easily a far better movie in so many ways. It may even be countless. I don't care or ever cared if a movie was inaccurate. Do you think that Star Wars actually happened a long time ago? JesseWhy can't people love this over Inception? It's easily a far better movie in so many ways. It may even be countless. I don't care or ever cared if a movie was inaccurate. Do you think that Star Wars actually happened a long time ago? Jesse Eisenberg is so goddamn awesome and everything about this is completely amazing. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
KingmushOct 3, 2010
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/social-network.html

Obviously I was going to write a review on this movie (as well a lot of people probably). But anyway, I went in knowing this was going to be a great movie, as Metacritic had it as
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/social-network.html

Obviously I was going to write a review on this movie (as well a lot of people probably). But anyway, I went in knowing this was going to be a great movie, as Metacritic had it as a 98 out of 100 after 40 critic reviews. That's amazing. So I go in sort of wanting to find something wrong with it and prove them wrong or something of the sort. Well boy was I wrong. This movie was absolutely amazing. The acting was spot on, Timberlake did a wonderful job much to my surprise and I just love Jesse Eisenburg. The story itself was very captivating and I liked how it had past and present scenes sort of like flash backs to the actual events. If you were going to go see this movie anyway, go see it! If for some stupid reason you weren't because "lawl facebook movie lulz" then quit trying to be pretentious and see it as well. Easily a 5 out of 5.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
cockaigneOct 9, 2010
This movie was completely enjoyable. It is a must see - my favorite of the year. All aspects of the film were well done: writing, dialogue, character development, acting, plot, production. I found myself envying and despising Mark at the endThis movie was completely enjoyable. It is a must see - my favorite of the year. All aspects of the film were well done: writing, dialogue, character development, acting, plot, production. I found myself envying and despising Mark at the end of the film - a testament to the skill of writers and director. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
Stephchan1901Nov 1, 2010
The Social Network, is a well-oiled machine, its on point and is a very neat monster. It doesn't shy away from the point and it is very well paced, I mean i couldn't believe that this movie was two hours long. Witty, Smart, and veryThe Social Network, is a well-oiled machine, its on point and is a very neat monster. It doesn't shy away from the point and it is very well paced, I mean i couldn't believe that this movie was two hours long. Witty, Smart, and very fascinating to watch the story of how one simple idea can turn into a multi-billion dollar corporation. And i wonder if the Winklevosses have facebook pages. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
moviegOct 1, 2010
David Fincher's movies are either interesting or beautiful, and this one is no exception. The story is well written, and the ensemble is just amazing in their acting. Jesse Eisenberg really surprised me with his portrayal of Zuckerberg;David Fincher's movies are either interesting or beautiful, and this one is no exception. The story is well written, and the ensemble is just amazing in their acting. Jesse Eisenberg really surprised me with his portrayal of Zuckerberg; remembering him from Zombieland, I didn't think he could pull it off. I was wrong because he could. Justin Timberlake has proven himself to be an all-around talented guy, an entertainer of the 21st century. The cinematography was stunning, the scenes are funny when they need to be, and it's just all around a movie that people must see before the year ends if not ever. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
vernOct 1, 2010
This movie was all-around exceptional and it DOES deserve the hype it's being given. It was so close to a perfect movie that it literally missed it by a hair, but it still deserves the 10 (because it deserves more of a 9.5). The acting wasThis movie was all-around exceptional and it DOES deserve the hype it's being given. It was so close to a perfect movie that it literally missed it by a hair, but it still deserves the 10 (because it deserves more of a 9.5). The acting was great across the board, and other than Justin Timberlake (casting him was one of the film's minor flaws) there were no over the top performances and that made the whole situation more reality based. It's depiction of today's culture was spot-on and its themes of greed, friendship, and betrayal were perfectly realized within the storyline. The direction and cinematography were fantastic as well. It is definitely worth seeing. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
BlobDudeOct 1, 2010
David Fincher and Aaron Sorkin don't disappoint. This movie tells an(maybe not the) amazing story of friendship and betrayal. Don't think that this movie is really directed at the "Facebook generation." The story is one that's been sinceDavid Fincher and Aaron Sorkin don't disappoint. This movie tells an(maybe not the) amazing story of friendship and betrayal. Don't think that this movie is really directed at the "Facebook generation." The story is one that's been since the beginning of storytelling itself. Jesse Eisenberg shines as Mark Zuckerberg. I was pleasantly surprised with how well he was able to portray this kind of character, given what I've seen of his roles in Adventureland and Zombieland (though, to be fair, I haven't seen either of those in their entirety). Andrew Garfield is great as Eduardo, Armie Hammer delivers a really well done, believable performance as the Winklevoss twins, and Justin Timberlake was strong portraying Sean Taylor, the young founder of Napster who manages to worm his way into the Facebook empire.

On top of the great acting, Fincher's expected great directed, and the well-written dialogue from Aaron Sorkin, this movie's score really shines. I have a bit of bias here, as I'm a huge Trent Reznor/Nine Inch Nails fan, but I feel that he and Atticus Ross really portrayed the feel of everything that was happening, while still maintaining the trademark sound they've been known to produce when collaborating.
Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
10
matthewkrandOct 1, 2010
"The Social Network" was so good I don't even know where to begin. I can't, for the life of me, think of another film in recent years that's left me so wholeheartedly satisfied by the time the credits started rolling. This is some amazing,"The Social Network" was so good I don't even know where to begin. I can't, for the life of me, think of another film in recent years that's left me so wholeheartedly satisfied by the time the credits started rolling. This is some amazing, amazing stuff we've got here folks: don't miss it for the world. Expand
51 of 76 users found this helpful5125
All this user's reviews
10
jtatsiueOct 1, 2010
Amazing movie, riveting, fast-paced, like the thought processes/speech patterns of someone with Asperger's syndrome, who's also a genius, calling a girl he's infatuated with but barely knows and attempting to ask her out. The rest of theAmazing movie, riveting, fast-paced, like the thought processes/speech patterns of someone with Asperger's syndrome, who's also a genius, calling a girl he's infatuated with but barely knows and attempting to ask her out. The rest of the movie is about what happens when that girl says "no". Jesse Eisenberg should put some distance between himself and those unflattering comparisons to Michael Cera with this performance. Timberlake is pure cinematic charisma; it won't be long before he's offered a leading role. I came away believing that the twins didn't really have a case but you decide. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
cbreinerOct 11, 2010
Sorkin's script absolutely sizzles and there is no getting around that without it this film would not be what it is. Odds are at least two if not all three of the leading men will get an Oscar nominated (and deservedly so). Zuckerberg andSorkin's script absolutely sizzles and there is no getting around that without it this film would not be what it is. Odds are at least two if not all three of the leading men will get an Oscar nominated (and deservedly so). Zuckerberg and Parker may make one of the best teams of cinema villains we've seen in a long time. Paced by Fincher within an inch of it's life, this is an new school film done in an old school fashion, that proves you don't need 400 million dollars and an explosion every 5 seconds to keep audiences glued to the screen and on the edge of their seats. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
LCWOct 2, 2010
Finally a movie that lived up to the hype. The whole deal - story, script, acting, directing (especially the intensity of the pace) and music were amazing. Do yourself a favor and don't miss this one.

LCW
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
10
arnmanOct 6, 2010
It's an intellectual "head trip" of a film about the most unlikeable hero imaginable who is somehow a metaphor for the greed and alienation, that has gripped this country in the last decades. The writing, acting, and whole smart structure ofIt's an intellectual "head trip" of a film about the most unlikeable hero imaginable who is somehow a metaphor for the greed and alienation, that has gripped this country in the last decades. The writing, acting, and whole smart structure of this epoch makes it must for some Americans, who seek more from a movie than just distraction. I followed it by jumping to the next theatre in the cineplex and saw "Catfish", to round out a powerful duo. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
LiamOct 3, 2010
Upon my first viewing, I had some qualms with the fast pace of the movie and some of the lines that seemed a bit too thought out to be natural (this is why I hated Juno). However, after realizing that many such lines were actually taken fromUpon my first viewing, I had some qualms with the fast pace of the movie and some of the lines that seemed a bit too thought out to be natural (this is why I hated Juno). However, after realizing that many such lines were actually taken from the transcripts of the real court proceedings and seeing it a second time, I have to say I'm obsessed. The second viewing was even more amazing than the first. The story is compelling and interesting, the characters are all fully flushed out. Great acting, *amazing* score, and interesting and beautiful cinematography. It's just a perfect film. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryOct 6, 2010
If you're going to have a movie that's primarily people talking, you'd better have a good writer. That's certainly the case here: Aaron Sorkin has crafted a witty, snappy and poignant story of Facebook's creation and the subsequent lawsuitsIf you're going to have a movie that's primarily people talking, you'd better have a good writer. That's certainly the case here: Aaron Sorkin has crafted a witty, snappy and poignant story of Facebook's creation and the subsequent lawsuits among its creators. Add the assured direction of David Fincher and solid performances from every actor. The result is a an enthralling examination of computer nerds, social jealousy and greed. A simply brilliant take on a remarkable phenomenon. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
FonsalisOct 3, 2010
It's not often that you can come to this website and find such a unity in the reaction of critics and users alike. At time of writing, there are 42 positive user reviews, 4 mixed, and 2 negative. This removal from the typical 10, 0, 10, 0It's not often that you can come to this website and find such a unity in the reaction of critics and users alike. At time of writing, there are 42 positive user reviews, 4 mixed, and 2 negative. This removal from the typical 10, 0, 10, 0 user score pattern should give you an indication alone. This movie is incredible. A snapshot of the current social climate, the power of the digital age, and the experiences of those living in it. Put simply, this is our generation's Catcher In the Rye, and it is an absorbing, satisfying cinematic experience that should be watched by everyone. After all, in a way, it's about us. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
zxcvbnm022Oct 3, 2010
absolutly loved the social network, great cast great writing and a great story being told. i would recomend seeing it to anyone. one of few movies i would give 10/10
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
sonmanutdOct 4, 2010
The movie is amazingly scripted, directed and acted from a great story of friendship and betrayal. Love the fast pace of the film. One of the best drama ever.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
danjakubikOct 5, 2010
I liked this, almost masterpiece of a film, very much indeed. It's very timely, intelligent and absorbing.
The intelligent screenplay has wit and scathing humor. Award nominations are due, for picture, director, screenplay, cinematography,
I liked this, almost masterpiece of a film, very much indeed. It's very timely, intelligent and absorbing.
The intelligent screenplay has wit and scathing humor. Award nominations are due, for picture, director, screenplay, cinematography, film editing and Jesse Eisenberg's lead acting performance as billionaire facebook.com founder Mark Zuckerberg.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
ThebangtrainOct 5, 2010
As far as I should not go to say I would give this film the title of "Movie of the Year", it has to be done. In my mind, "The Social Network" went further than "Inception" not in depth, but in pure talent, excitement, wit, and captivation.As far as I should not go to say I would give this film the title of "Movie of the Year", it has to be done. In my mind, "The Social Network" went further than "Inception" not in depth, but in pure talent, excitement, wit, and captivation. These weren't characters that were liked or disliked, it was characters that you could relate to off the bat. Eisenberg (Whom we all know from the acclaimed "Zombieland") rightfully deserves an Oscar for the portrayal of a genius who is as temperamental as he is flamboyant. Garfield could as well receive an Oscar for his supporting role, the business-savvy, intelligent, Eduardo Saverin, who without the character, the movie is not. He brings an attitude the movie that would be unforeseen beforehand. With great supporting characters such as the "Winklevi", Tyler and Cameron Winklevoss (Hammer), Sean Parker (Timberlake), and other programmers and friends that surround Zuckerberg in his daily ventures, this movie bring the new decade of the internet full circle, and greatly explains the hottest fad online over the past few years. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
MoViEgUyOct 5, 2010
I watched "The Social Network" the first day it came out and again the very next day because it was so amazingly good. Listen, I consider myself a pretty critical person when it comes to movies. I'm not going to invest 2 hours of my time onI watched "The Social Network" the first day it came out and again the very next day because it was so amazingly good. Listen, I consider myself a pretty critical person when it comes to movies. I'm not going to invest 2 hours of my time on a movie unless its nothing short of spectacular and most of the reviews I've read are very good. Well, "The Social Network" is in a league of its own! It's been four days since I've seen it and I CAN'T GET THE MOVIE OUT OF MY HEAD! I've never watched something where I was so satisfied from beginning to end. The acting, directing, screenplay, cinematography, score are all flawless. Jesse Eisenberg delivers the performance of a lifetime. He IS Mark Zuckerberg. And even though he comes across as a genius prick, part of you can't help but root for him. The rest of the cast are all fantastic, but its Eisenberg who makes the movie what it is. The dialogue in the movie is the best I seen since "Good Will Hunting", but I would have to say its even better. There aren't any dull moments. The pacing is incredible. I've never bought a soundtrack for a movie but Trent Reznor (score composer) convinced me otherwise. His music in the movie is haunting and genius. I can't recommend this movie enough! And btw, the fact that it is about Facebook is irrelevant. The themes concepts, and relationships make the movie what it is. So do yourself a favor and go see it NOW! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
ZombieFan281Oct 8, 2010
Very good movie; great cast. Highly Recommended. one of the few films that my ADD did not make me wounder else where. Great job to the JT and Jesse. Well done
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
bubbaOct 8, 2010
great movie! outstanding acting on Jesse's part and a great and intriguing story with good characters and scripting, go see this one, if your willing to pay attention and have the attention span of someone more than a 6-year old you will love it.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewUltimateOct 20, 2010
Let me just start by saying that just about everything about this movie is mind-blowing and incredible. With a strong soundtrack by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, the music goes perfectly with the concept of the picture. The screenplay andLet me just start by saying that just about everything about this movie is mind-blowing and incredible. With a strong soundtrack by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, the music goes perfectly with the concept of the picture. The screenplay and dialogue are excellent, and Mark & Eduardo both are played by good actors. Based on this movie, you could say that Mark Zuckerberg is a punk-genius-traitor-prophet-billionaire. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
AlxanderrOct 9, 2010
A movie that truly helps define the ambitions of a new generation, and the conflicting ideals we as human beings have. After the movie is over, you are aware that it is dramatized, but the the sudden abstraction of what defines a humanA movie that truly helps define the ambitions of a new generation, and the conflicting ideals we as human beings have. After the movie is over, you are aware that it is dramatized, but the the sudden abstraction of what defines a human eliminates any criticism of its fantasy. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
JohnQPublicDec 27, 2010
This movie on paper should be a pessimistic disaster but somehow is handled perfectly. It had the light writing/director touch that made a movie like American Beauty work so well. See it.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
FromTheMiddleNov 13, 2010
"The Social Network" introduces the audience to the main character -- and the speed and originality of the dialog reflecting the speed and originality of the changes portrayed -- in the opening exchange and never looks back...while"The Social Network" introduces the audience to the main character -- and the speed and originality of the dialog reflecting the speed and originality of the changes portrayed -- in the opening exchange and never looks back...while constantly looking back. Just go along for the high-speed ride and a fascinating portrayal of today's brilliant young entrepreneurs and a slice of today's business world. The casting is excellent, the dialog is highly entertaining, and the story feels as real as it maybe is. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
JasonGoalieOct 10, 2010
Let's face it: the invention of a website does not naturally translate into exciting movie material. But the way this movie is presented - storytelling from multiple perspectives, present day-flashback devices etc. - turn it into a genuinelyLet's face it: the invention of a website does not naturally translate into exciting movie material. But the way this movie is presented - storytelling from multiple perspectives, present day-flashback devices etc. - turn it into a genuinely interesting, enormously entertaining experience from start to finish. I can't quite give it a 10 though becuase of a few nit-picks. The major problem appears to be the way the script translated to the screen. While the script was indeed brilliantly written, a ideal script should have the feel of a cast of different characters speaking for themselves. Unfortunately, when this script plays out, it sort of feels like a cast of characters speaking for the script-writer. I know, it's a minor detail, but this excellent movie could have been positively LEGENDARY with a bit more uniqueness in the characters, and character development. Also, when your protagonist is a billionaire, you really have to try harder to get your audience to feel sorry for him/her. Whether or not 'The Social Network' is fact or fiction, I didn't leave that theater feeling any empathy for Mark Zuckerberg. I know, it sounds like i hated this movie, but I assure you I really liked it. You will undoubtedly be entertained. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
imhoOct 16, 2010
Amazingly satisfying film in every aspect. Acting, writing, directing, and production. The first scene will go down as a classic scene. Lots of very satisfying scenes. A fascinating main character.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
JamesNWAFeb 6, 2011
Credit where credit is due for David Fincher and all that were involved in this film. What essentially is a film where people sit around talking about the development of social networking side has turned out to be one of the best films of theCredit where credit is due for David Fincher and all that were involved in this film. What essentially is a film where people sit around talking about the development of social networking side has turned out to be one of the best films of the decade. I approached the film with skepticism and doubt that this would be any more than a boring film. I even questioned David Fincher's judgement when he decided to adapt Mark Zuckerberg's journey from his dorm to CEO of the biggest social networking site in Europe. People have critiqued the decision to cast Justin Timberlake but I felt he played his part perfectly. Jesse Eisenberg impressed me too. His portrayal of Mark Zuckerberg was amazing.

Overall, this is one of those films that by the end credits, you feel a little disappointed that it wasn't on for longer but 2 hours is long enough. A fantastic film and one in which I will recommend highly to all my friends and family.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
scottmgOct 11, 2010
Blown away. I was skeptical about this movie from the very beginning, ever since I saw the trailer with "creep" playing in the background. I guess I was asking myself what many people were thinking. "How good can a movie about the creation ofBlown away. I was skeptical about this movie from the very beginning, ever since I saw the trailer with "creep" playing in the background. I guess I was asking myself what many people were thinking. "How good can a movie about the creation of Facebook be?" Snore...

However, if this turns you off, don't think of it as a movie about the creation of facebook, think of it as a movie contemplating what is right and wrong. Aaron Sorkin's script is masterfully written, the dialogue flows at an incredible speed (don't listen to David Eckstein, the guy is a dimwit and probably couldn't follow along), and the actors give an outstanding performance. Justin Timberlake...who knew? Bravo good sir, you do not need to make another record, I believe you have found your calling.

This film had me sucked in for the two hours, and it didn't even feel like that long, and I am really finding it hard to stop raving about this movie to friends who have not seen it yet. I can quite honestly say it is one of, if not THE best movie I have ever seen. 10/10 and Oscar nominations to follow. If you haven't yet, go see it.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
TonyOct 11, 2010
A perfect film. Sharp writing and directing. Great performances. Haunting score. I can't say enough positive things about this. It is, at least so far, the movie of the year.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
jim94028Oct 18, 2010
Very entertaining and interesting. Certainly doesn't let the facts get in the way of the story, but shows all sides of the inception of Facebook. The only movie that I remember ever to depict programming as anything vaguely related to actualVery entertaining and interesting. Certainly doesn't let the facts get in the way of the story, but shows all sides of the inception of Facebook. The only movie that I remember ever to depict programming as anything vaguely related to actual practice. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
SeesFineFilmsNov 24, 2010
@peopleofearth

This is quite simply, and quite easily, the best and most quintessentially [and simultaneously] sociable and isolable film of twentyten. Ben Mezrich beams! Aaron Sorkin soars! David Fincher ad-ministers! And Jesse Eisenberg,
@peopleofearth

This is quite simply, and quite easily, the best and most quintessentially [and simultaneously] sociable and isolable film of twentyten. Ben Mezrich beams! Aaron Sorkin soars! David Fincher ad-ministers! And Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield and Justin Timberlake each deserve the Red Carpet treatment for their socially infectious performances! Jeff Cronenweth writes with the camera so impressively. The stunningly interesting score from Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross is cerebrally viral and adds new grammar to cinema in the Age of Social Networking. The Social Network does two things beautifully: it boldly reflects all facets of our increasingly digital society and smugly, knowingly, provides the very sort slick social commentary required for pursuits of the modern, ever more global, social milieu. Don't miss it and plan to see it more than once. *wink!
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
Aidoneus1Oct 22, 2010
The Social Network completely deserves its excellent Metascore. Everything about this movie was just done so well, it still gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. The acting was top-notch, the direction was superb, and the interweavingThe Social Network completely deserves its excellent Metascore. Everything about this movie was just done so well, it still gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. The acting was top-notch, the direction was superb, and the interweaving of scenes from the hearings with the often-gritty founding of Facebook serves the movie very well.

I honestly can't think of anything that could have been done better. I was a bit iffy when I saw that Justin Timberlake had a somewhat important role in the movie, but I'm pleased to say that he pulled off his part remarkably well, and his character adds a fun though naughty edge and hilarity to the movie.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
monkey89Oct 26, 2010
"The Social Network" is a great movie I saw the movie three times already. The cast was great, which I thought would be a big probably do to Justin but even he did great.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
DukeNov 2, 2010
Fincher's "The Social Network" is just like the website it represents: enjoyable, clever and ultimately addicting. Full Review: www.dukeandthemovies.com
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
starmario123May 3, 2011
Some people see this as a true story about how facebook was started. This is in and around 40% facebook lore. This film is about the complexities of life itself, and the extroardinary lengths people will go to to be successful (betray a verySome people see this as a true story about how facebook was started. This is in and around 40% facebook lore. This film is about the complexities of life itself, and the extroardinary lengths people will go to to be successful (betray a very dear, long time friend perhaps). This isn't just a true story about the creation of "the social network", it's a true story about society and people and how our emotions DO own us. This film is a masterpiece. Filmed well, acted EXTREMELY well (Jesse Eisenberg and Andrew Garfield being the stand outs here), and has one of the greatest soundtracks in recent memory. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mjichaelNov 4, 2010
This movie is fantastically entertaining and captivating. I was totally swept away and forgot I was even watching a movie! My favorite movie of the year. It has been a long time since I walked out of a cinema feeling this satisfied.This movie is fantastically entertaining and captivating. I was totally swept away and forgot I was even watching a movie! My favorite movie of the year. It has been a long time since I walked out of a cinema feeling this satisfied. Technically brilliant, interesting characters and popular culture. Could one ask for any more? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
filmgradNov 8, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not a film about facebook. Nor is it a film about Mark Zuckerberg or a court case. It is a film about what friendship means today, and how the internet harnesses people's base inclination to objectify others, as well as utilize their assets for personal gain, especially in the area of artificial social reputation.
Zuckerberg never understood what it really meant to be friends. Being friends means others use you to get where they want. As he tells Erica Albright in the opening scene, if she is his girlfriend, she would get to meet people she wouldn't normally get to meet, and he would attain reputations he would not be able to reach, since he can't row crew, and since he isn't part of a fraternity.
Obviously she is offended by his robotic approach to "friendship", and breaks up with him, delivering a key like that sets up the rest of the film: "You will probably be a very successful computer person. But if girls hate you, don't think it's because you're a nerd. It'll be because you're an asshole."

In an intoxicated, vengeful rage, Zuckerberg launches a site that allows people to rate girls based on their looks. Immediately he appeals to young mens' tendencies to objectify women, and makes it easy and even fun for them to do so. And breaking up with a girl was all it took to change the history of friendship.

The Social Network is a depressing revelation of the state our society is in, and the way we relate to each other in the informal, impersonal way that is the internet and texting. (When offered a chance to make friends who row crew, he instead took their idea and texted them to keep them in the dark long enough for him to pull ahead and make the idea his own.)

But it is a good film. It is entertaining (thank you, Justin Timberlake), it is witty, well-written, and it feels appropriate to each of the realms into which it delves: modern campus life (not the National Lampoon caricature), modern court cases, and facebook. It's a timeless film that uses the mold of our generation's norms to tell a harsh story that has always been true.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
LPWNov 10, 2010
This was a great movie one of the best I've seen this year, I see a oscar nomination for Andrew Garfield. he did a wonderful job in this movie, Timberlake is starting to show growth as an actor. I don't see how a person could say this isn't aThis was a great movie one of the best I've seen this year, I see a oscar nomination for Andrew Garfield. he did a wonderful job in this movie, Timberlake is starting to show growth as an actor. I don't see how a person could say this isn't a great movie, but everyone has their own opinion. I give this movie a 10/10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
istroller2010Nov 15, 2010
It is a place that we lovingly look over, from within the glass-walled offices or the comforts of home or amid the hustle-bustle of an eatery, or in a vehicle on the move. It straddles bits of a social life within â
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
littlemanp32Nov 17, 2010
Great Movie... sorkin's style is genius, and i feel that anyone who didn't like the dialogue just had a hard time keeping up or didn't get the jokes.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
boneMay 10, 2011
The best movie of 2010. It's a great story. Both funny and dramatic. Well shot. Well cast. Great music.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
The film's premise as a movie about the world's most popular social networking site can quickly leave many people astray. But it just comes to show that writing about a website, something that hasn't really been done before, can actuallyThe film's premise as a movie about the world's most popular social networking site can quickly leave many people astray. But it just comes to show that writing about a website, something that hasn't really been done before, can actually become one of the most dramatic, funniest, and intelligent stories ever told. David Fincher takes the rising star Jesse Eisenberg, and the platinum selling artist Justin Timberlake, a team of not well known actors, and an intelligent script. What does this equal? Ultimate Perfection. The script is what drives this film into the best movie of the year, with the cast as a bonus. David Fincher keeps all the drama extremely factual. It takes you on a journey from Facebook's roots, to what it's become today. Mark Zuckerberg is shown as the #1 betraying asset in this film. By the end, it's not clear whether you should feel sorry for Zuckerberg, or forget him and just admire his interactive creation which 500 million people use on a regular basis. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
XerxesNov 23, 2010
The best movie of the year for me, thoroughly enjoed not once but twice when i went to see it at the cinema, its me pick for best film at the oscars and the golden globes, i though andrew garfield was amazing and wouldnt be surprised if heThe best movie of the year for me, thoroughly enjoed not once but twice when i went to see it at the cinema, its me pick for best film at the oscars and the golden globes, i though andrew garfield was amazing and wouldnt be surprised if he gets mentioned around that time as well!!! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
perfectdNov 26, 2010
Thought I would not like it but went an saw it because it had such a high score on metacritic. Loved it. Well very acted, very entertaining and provided a good story line to what I had thought would be a boring subject. Many awardThought I would not like it but went an saw it because it had such a high score on metacritic. Loved it. Well very acted, very entertaining and provided a good story line to what I had thought would be a boring subject. Many award nominations should be coming it's was including best actor. Go see it!!!, Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
RaghuNathNov 29, 2010
Businesses thrive and flourish on the greed of its founders. However, this greed should be directed at the competition and not on the Co-Founders â
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
OscarPicks2010Nov 29, 2010
Interestingly enough, Hollywood had decided to make a movie about a boring subject, the making of Facebook. The story was supposed to be just a mess with lawsuits and betrayal of friends. But writer Aaron Sorkin turned the story into aInterestingly enough, Hollywood had decided to make a movie about a boring subject, the making of Facebook. The story was supposed to be just a mess with lawsuits and betrayal of friends. But writer Aaron Sorkin turned the story into a must-see of the decade. He turned it into a witty, fast-paced, thrilling, and an Oscar-winning script. Luckily, The Social Network got David Fincher (Curious Case of Benjamin Button) as a director, which makes it even better. David Fincher's achievement in this film is going to score him another Oscar nod. (Fincher is directing The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, English version, my favorite book). The actual Facebook story is about Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg), a Harvard undergraduate (computer genius), who wrote the code for the Facebook website. Teaming up with him was him roomate Eduardo Saverin, whom later sued him for... well lots of **** Mark ran into playboy Sean Parker who convinced Mark to "betray" his partner (Eduardo), that's what lead to the law suit. Though people say Aaron Sorkin's script is an inaccurate potray of Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg, who in real life is down to Earth and not an **** like in the story, I say he was just trying to make the story A LITTLE more interesting than it already is (sarcasm). Aaron Sorkin not only made the story more interesting, he made it smarter and more thrilling. Performance wise? I will have to admit that I think The Social Network will dominate the Oscars in the acting categories. Jesse Eisenberg gave one hell of a performance! Since he had been playing a loser-with-no-girlfriend kind of guy, this is really typical for him. His fast talking and annoying ass attitude really stole every scene that the camera sets on him. Andrew Garfield and Justin Timberlake also gave fine, dramatic performances which MIGHT earn them an Oscar nod. But in terms of Jesse Eisenberg, he is guaranteed an Oscar nomination (he might even win considering there is no other good movies this time of year). Directing, writing, and acting all great in one movie is rare (to say the least). The Social Network succeeds in every assets that the film was trying to achieve. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
lherman22Jan 3, 2012
I enjoyed this. Didn't want to at first, but I liked it. The subject matter didn't seem like it would be interesting, but the angle they took on Zuckerberg made it so.
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
10
JulverDec 15, 2010
The Social Network is a masterpiece, it's the Citizen Kane of 2st century. The film has dialogues so intelligent and deep, actors are perfect in their roles. Perfect Direction, Screenplay, Cinematography and Edition.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
arziankorpenDec 19, 2010
It's a perfect movie. The characters have been developed fully to a point where all are human, no good and evil, only gray areas. The screenplay is just so incredible and fun, and the way the movie is done fits perfectly with the way theIt's a perfect movie. The characters have been developed fully to a point where all are human, no good and evil, only gray areas. The screenplay is just so incredible and fun, and the way the movie is done fits perfectly with the way the speak, everything fast and smart not a moment wasted. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
ReverzDec 20, 2010
I went to see this movie only because the movie I wanted to see that night was already sold out and there's was nothing else on I was really interested in. I most likely would not have gone and seen a "documentary about Facebook", or at leastI went to see this movie only because the movie I wanted to see that night was already sold out and there's was nothing else on I was really interested in. I most likely would not have gone and seen a "documentary about Facebook", or at least that's what I thought it was. Boy I don't think I've ever been that wrong. Great movie, 2 hours very well spent. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ramalamafafafaDec 20, 2010
Highest recommendation. Fast-paced, intelligent, relevant, incisive. This'll be one of those movies that people will watch in years to come to understand what we and our lives were like at the beginning of the new millenium.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
D-SliceJan 15, 2011
"The Social Network" still has me reminiscing about how awesome it was. Jesse Eisenberg deserves an Oscar, Andrew Garfield, Justin Timberlake, and Rooney Mara all deserve nominations and this film itself deserves induction into the American"The Social Network" still has me reminiscing about how awesome it was. Jesse Eisenberg deserves an Oscar, Andrew Garfield, Justin Timberlake, and Rooney Mara all deserve nominations and this film itself deserves induction into the American Film Institute. The thing about The Social Network is that with all the garbage released in the theaters worldwide, this one has the same flare of a wide release film, but the pure awesomeness of a limited release film. The writing is perfect. It had absolutely no flaws anywhere. Writing this good doesn't come around often, so if you love amazing films, you cannot call yourself a movie lover if you do not see this film. Go, run as fast as you can to the nearest video store and GET THIS FILM. I cannot even describe it well enough. That is how awesome this movie is; it is so good that my mind cannot put it in words. David Fincher, you have your name and style written all over this movie and you should be proud: it is by far the greatest American film to come out this year, maybe the best of the decade and one of the best of all time. THINGS ARE GOING SO FAST THAT YOU DON'T WANT TO BE LEFT BEHIND. SEE THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Misslove14xxMar 18, 2011
This film was absolutely phenomenal. I'm not even sure where to begin. Each one of the actors played their part so perfectly I forgot they were even acting. The movie is delivered in such a perfect package you won't be able to resist. It isThis film was absolutely phenomenal. I'm not even sure where to begin. Each one of the actors played their part so perfectly I forgot they were even acting. The movie is delivered in such a perfect package you won't be able to resist. It is interesting, entertaining, funny, smart, and even dramatic. I can't stress enough how much everyone should see this movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
0102Jan 6, 2011
The contemporary world are summarized in this movie. The mastery of director David Fincher and cinematography is interesting and amazing. Wonderful and original screenplay with a fantastic cast , especially Jesse Eisenberg.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
dubbleqJan 14, 2011
The social newtwork is without a doubt the best movie i have ever seen in my whole life. Eisenberg has an oscar winning performance, justin timberlake is fantastic, and the overall movie is by far the best movie of the year
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
GoyankeesJan 11, 2011
Defintley one of the best movie's of the year. How can someone not like this movie is beyond me. The writing is aboustley terrfic, the directing is great, most of the performances are top-notch heck even Justin Timberlake is great in thisDefintley one of the best movie's of the year. How can someone not like this movie is beyond me. The writing is aboustley terrfic, the directing is great, most of the performances are top-notch heck even Justin Timberlake is great in this movie. I love how the adpoted a kind of boring story on to the screen and kind of expanded it. And i felt the characters were very likeable Mark i know was kind of a jerk at times but i still mange to feel for him and Eduardo was very likeable as we'll. This is probaly my second favorite film of the year behind Inception the cast is just terrfic. David Fincher is just the man. I truly love this movie it's a great great film. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
ZorglyJan 12, 2011
One of the most entertaining true stories ever put in theaters. It's Intelligent funny, and with some surprisingly powerful moments. Jesse Eisenberg is sure to receive an Oscar nomination. David Fincher ads another classic to his alreadyOne of the most entertaining true stories ever put in theaters. It's Intelligent funny, and with some surprisingly powerful moments. Jesse Eisenberg is sure to receive an Oscar nomination. David Fincher ads another classic to his already impressive repertoire. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
iluvmoviesJan 14, 2011
This movie is the bomb. A true inspirational movie that shows how life can be in college if you are someone special. A flawless movie and a great drama. A must watch.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
1111Jan 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. quality film one of the best ive seen , i do understand why i tiny majority dont like it, this fil is about patience and understanding but obviously some people are 'Tards' , the main character may be protentious and a bit of a show off but who wouldnt be if they can make a social network when drunk. i found it entertaining in every aspect when the film unraveled and i found it funny is some parts. but its my opinion that its good (and 95 out of 100 speaks for itself) Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewJan 8, 2012
The Social Network is one incredible movie. Thanks to an incredible screenplay with snappy and smart dialogue, unbelievable performances across the board, and solid humor and emotional elements, it is one fantastic movie that nobody shouldThe Social Network is one incredible movie. Thanks to an incredible screenplay with snappy and smart dialogue, unbelievable performances across the board, and solid humor and emotional elements, it is one fantastic movie that nobody should miss out on. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
L0stR3negadeMar 26, 2011
I can't remember the last time i have seen a good "based on a true story" movie. This is great and i can just watch it over and over again!!! The critics did not lie
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
EinardurJan 26, 2011
THE SOCIAL NETWORK, the new film about Mark Zuckenberg and his co-founders of Facebook, has amounted great reviews and been hailed by many as the film of 2010, and even I, as a skeptic from the start, have to say that it is a brilliant movie.THE SOCIAL NETWORK, the new film about Mark Zuckenberg and his co-founders of Facebook, has amounted great reviews and been hailed by many as the film of 2010, and even I, as a skeptic from the start, have to say that it is a brilliant movie. This not only out of its mastery of film craft such as use of music, editing, cinematography, acting, story and dialog - but also because of its timing. It's released at a time when everybody everywhere knows exactly what it's about; people watching the film are those in reality involved in the film's plot. The screenplay written by Aaron Sorkin is great, and this albeit it revolves around a story that would be fairly difficult if it hadn't been so entertainingly and intelligently written. As a viewer one watches a computer-programmer work out his mind to become the number one internet phenomena of this century, and as fore-mentioned writer Sorkin moves fast, and one has to stay focused throughout to get the entire momentum. The film feels cold, cynical and detached, much like Zuckenberg acts (greatly by Jesse Eisenberg), but it's singularly about something that gathers, interests and matters - Facebook. So there is naturally something very emotional and very human about the entire personification of numbers, codes and data as it has our name, picture and bio in it. The irony of the story is bleak and sad; it opens with Zuckerberg seated in a crowded university bar chatting intensely (to say the least) with a girl, and ends with him alone, almost blankly introspective, tapping nocturnally on the page he created - it's the man who owns the world, but sold his soul. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
MrC3030Jan 31, 2011
By far the best film I saw this year!!! Great storyline, great acting, and well written. Excellent performance by Jesse Eisenberg, who is my picked for best actor this year! Out of the 10 up for Best Picture, Social Network was the one movieBy far the best film I saw this year!!! Great storyline, great acting, and well written. Excellent performance by Jesse Eisenberg, who is my picked for best actor this year! Out of the 10 up for Best Picture, Social Network was the one movie that delivery and all fronts!!! Excellent film!!! A must see!!! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
HEI5ENBERGFeb 13, 2011
Okay I thought The Social Network was a really great movie! This is the only movie in years I've seen twice in a week, so that tells me something! I found it better the second time round! I love movies that have great dialogue. JesseOkay I thought The Social Network was a really great movie! This is the only movie in years I've seen twice in a week, so that tells me something! I found it better the second time round! I love movies that have great dialogue. Jesse Eisenberg was excellent at playing Mark Zuckerberg he made the techno jargon, that I don't understand, sound good! You don't have to be a member of Facebook to enjoy this movie! The way the movie is edited is excellent! I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
TheCritic1Aug 9, 2011
Wow! What a film. My favourite since Avatar. Eissenberg is great, and Andrew Garfield is also great as Eduardo. I would recommend it to anyone. A must see!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
dlynch18Feb 27, 2011
Who knew Facebook had an amazing back story. Actors did a great job bringing to life the story, you felt like you were really in the story. I thought Justin Timberlake was going to wreak the film but he was great.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
GuiveraMar 1, 2011
How this movie has so many negative user reviews I will never understand. This film is an absolute gem and in my opinion should have taken the Oscar over The Kings Speech. With great acting (even from TIMBERLAKE) and an intriguing story toHow this movie has so many negative user reviews I will never understand. This film is an absolute gem and in my opinion should have taken the Oscar over The Kings Speech. With great acting (even from TIMBERLAKE) and an intriguing story to the world's biggest website, this movie is stunning. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews