Screen Gems | Release Date: October 16, 2009
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
21
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
DollisNov 27, 2012
The worst remake movies i seen is The Stepfather (2009). and Psycho (1998). Planet of the Apes (2001). The Wicker Man (2006). Red Dawn (2012) , And wait for more bad remakes movies Carrie 2013 and . Robocop 2013.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
solutions10Oct 13, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay, so I first saw this on blu-ray, which is unrated. I did not know the theatrical was PG-13. I sort of looking for a bloody slasher film with a psychopathic stepfather, you know, something that excites me on a boring evening. I'm not sure what the differences were between the unrated and PG-13 versions, but no matter how you look at it, this film really doesn't work, despite its great premise (I wasn't aware it was a remake until later). He's supposed to be the guy everybody trusts, your classic closet serial killer who's otherwise normal...well, almost otherwise normal. For a guy who's supposed to be a step ahead of everyone else, it's pretty clear he's not one of the brighter killers to exist. It's like he's asking to be caught, with how he suddenly quits his job because he has to provide identification, murders people who think he's suspicious, and even keeps his **** browser history intact on his computer. Seriously? He doesn't even manage to clear his browser history? Couldn't he have at least made a separate user account on Windows so no one else could see it? But no, he decides to leave his entire web activity available for public eye, which, big surprise, helps a lot in his eventual discovery. The "cell phone with low battery" trick is actually used here, which hasn't been suspenseful for at least a decade. He somehow loses a fight to a teenager who is clearly a worse fighter, tries to cover up his evidence with a lock that someone simply forces open, and lives an open lie that you can't imagine anyone in the movie possibly believes, sans the desperate person he's scheduled to marry. There's really nothing special at all about this film, and its nonsensical premise isn't lived up to in the execution (no pun intended). Plot holes are everywhere, believability is kept to a minimum, the characters aren't anything special, we never learn the bad guy's true motives, everyone in the movie seems to have a serious association problem (considering they dismiss his picture on America's Most Wanted as nothing to worry about, or that he never allows himself to be photographed, or that he refuses to provide proper identification when asked, etc.), and really, the bad guy is just not very smart. Yeah, he tries to be charming like a typical psychopath, but he's not exactly calculated in any way whatsoever. His smarts as a killer end at his ability to fake a smile. Pretty weak film, especially with an antagonist who is an idiot and is wearing a sign on his forehead the whole time saying he's the killer on America's Most Wanted, which is naturally dismissed by every single person except the main protagonist. Yeah, that's weak. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
RumblebeeloveJan 7, 2011
While I have not seen the original, this movie on its own is not scary, not even very suspenseful. A few scenes showed promise, but everything here seems so cliche'. The acting is solid, and there are a few nice shots, but not enough to pushWhile I have not seen the original, this movie on its own is not scary, not even very suspenseful. A few scenes showed promise, but everything here seems so cliche'. The acting is solid, and there are a few nice shots, but not enough to push it over being a polished bland film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJun 24, 2016
It's not that bad acted, it's entertaining and it's just some mindless fun. I mean the situations the characters were in were pretty unbelievable and the ending was just too much over the top but it's a mindless popcorn entertainment likeIt's not that bad acted, it's entertaining and it's just some mindless fun. I mean the situations the characters were in were pretty unbelievable and the ending was just too much over the top but it's a mindless popcorn entertainment like most PG-13 horror movies these days. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
SeanismynameNov 1, 2009
RULES for 21st CENTURY CINEMA: Any movie that relies on "Low Battery" displays on a cellular phone to create tension just shouldn't be made. This film takes a pedantic approach to suspense and offers nothing new. Nice production values. RULES for 21st CENTURY CINEMA: Any movie that relies on "Low Battery" displays on a cellular phone to create tension just shouldn't be made. This film takes a pedantic approach to suspense and offers nothing new. Nice production values. Dylan Walsh is disturbingly hot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Oct 18, 2009
Five years after "The Stepfather" was released, Vice President Dan Quayle delivered a speech that codified the term "family values" as a demagogic catchphrase for self-righteous conservatives, in which the spelling-challenged former senator Five years after "The Stepfather" was released, Vice President Dan Quayle delivered a speech that codified the term "family values" as a demagogic catchphrase for self-righteous conservatives, in which the spelling-challenged former senator from the Hoosier State, famously criticized a television character's choice to raise a child on her own. While this remake of the Joseph Ruben original is too diffuse, too preoccupied with its teen-centric focus on young love, the satirical possibilities of a man with with a double life who hypocritically promotes the two-parent household, is still there, albeit such ideological strands are never properly developed. Susan Harding(the transcending beauty Sela Ward), a recent divorcee and mother of two, has lesbian friends, a couple played by, incidentally enough, television stalwarts Sherry Stringfield("ER") and Paige Turico("NYPD Blue"). Since David Harris(Dylan Harris), a traditionalist with high moral standards, clearly disapproves of pre-marital sex(the stepfather keeps an eagle-eye on Michael and his girlfriend), the moviegoer would be inclined to think that Susan's friends are sinners in his book, as well. In order to bypass any overt, or even subtle political(and more importantly, religious) undertones, it's never made clear as to how David feels about their "alternative lifestyle". [***SPOILER ALERT***] On the surface, David has to murder one of the lesbians because she knows too much, but in a film conspicuously absent of religion, a baptismal subtext persists itself on the, otherwise, apolitical(and secularized) diegesis, as the woman is drowned by the morally superior father, in a swimming pool. It looks like he's "saving" her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
dang.Oct 20, 2009
Ok, 6 is a tad generous. the thing that really blew me away is dr. house's ex and forever love getting married AGAIN to that stepfather guy. what a hussy. don't tell greggie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
sandynJun 17, 2010
I didn't see the 1987 original, but this version of The Stepfather, although professional in its production, is just another by-the-numbers thriller. (Spoiler Alert coming...) The end leaves you dissatisfied and frustrated too, as the I didn't see the 1987 original, but this version of The Stepfather, although professional in its production, is just another by-the-numbers thriller. (Spoiler Alert coming...) The end leaves you dissatisfied and frustrated too, as the evil protagonist never gets his comeuppance! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferOct 24, 2009
What a rush!!!!! Ths movie was so good! I was jumping out of my seat. The buildup to each suspensful moment is perfect. By now, I think we have seen it all as far as predictable plots but this movies does a very good job of surprising you What a rush!!!!! Ths movie was so good! I was jumping out of my seat. The buildup to each suspensful moment is perfect. By now, I think we have seen it all as far as predictable plots but this movies does a very good job of surprising you despite having a pretty good idea about what is going on. I give it a 9 because this movie was a thrill ride. Really got my blood pumping for what I thought was going to be another okay movie on a dull Friday night. Definitely worth the $10 bucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rickymOct 19, 2009
The Stepfather is freakin awesome! this movie is a thrill a minute suspense ride from the opening scene up to the final one Dylan Walsh is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
csw12Apr 11, 2014
Generic is the perfect adjective for this horrible so called horror movie. You'll be bored until the last 5 minutes of the movie and then boredom becomes stupidity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
mds03Apr 21, 2013
It was pretty good. It could have been way better though. It was entertaining and very intense most of the time but unfortunately the suspense was limited. I really hope there is a second one because it will out do this one big time since theIt was pretty good. It could have been way better though. It was entertaining and very intense most of the time but unfortunately the suspense was limited. I really hope there is a second one because it will out do this one big time since the writers know what the flaws are in this one now. Plus, the second one should really be rated R. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxOct 28, 2020
C’est une sorte de nanar qui n’en a pas l’air a priori mais qui en a tous les attributs : un téléfilm de luxe si l’on peut dire et un thriller de pacotille… C’est plat, c’est fade, c’est téléphoné et en plus, ça rame ! Que des inconnusC’est une sorte de nanar qui n’en a pas l’air a priori mais qui en a tous les attributs : un téléfilm de luxe si l’on peut dire et un thriller de pacotille… C’est plat, c’est fade, c’est téléphoné et en plus, ça rame ! Que des inconnus là-dedans de toute façon, des comédiens qui jouent comme des pieds si ce n’est une certaine Amber Heard dont vous avez sans doute entendu parler…

Et ça tombe bien, car on la voit de temps en temps dans la piscine…. très jolie ma foi mais contre toute attente elle n’a pas de cul, cette petite, hélas ! rien à redire sur le reste mais bon, est-ce que ça va suffire ? il suffirait justement qu’elle couine quelques chansons à la mode en tortillant du boule pour qu’elle connaisse un franc succès international…! mais pas de bol, pas de cul, pas de chocolat pour cette gentille pétasse qui a d’ailleurs disparu des écrans après quelques rôles ici et là.

Quoi qu’il en soit, ce pseudo-thriller qui n’avance pas est aussi soporifique qu’un épisode de feulleton français éventé et rediffusé pour la 1457ème fois… putain, bonjour les dégâts !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilipeNetoOct 4, 2020
When I decided to see this film I didn't know it was a remake of an older one, but now I'm willing to see it too. And it should not be the first one to explore the normal discomfort that everyone feels when they start having a stepfather. InWhen I decided to see this film I didn't know it was a remake of an older one, but now I'm willing to see it too. And it should not be the first one to explore the normal discomfort that everyone feels when they start having a stepfather. In this film, however, that stepfather is a dangerous killer who attacks young widows or divorces. However, I would not consider it a horror film because it is so light that it does not scare. It involves, it creates suspense, but not enough to become scary.

In the film, the script shows Michael's difficult adaptation to his mother's new boyfriend, David. At first, things seem to be going smoothly, but the behavior of this new member of the family begins to raise suspicions, as he avoids any photograph and any mention of his own past. The film, however, never hides what he really is: right from the start, the perverse personality of this stepfather is evident when we see the way he kills an entire family. I think that was one less point for the film, which loses any mystery. The film succeeds in creating a good tense atmosphere as we get to know the characters and establish empathic bonds with them.

The cast has some familiar names, but it is not a film that adds much to the career of any of those involved, I think. Dylan Walsh was quite good in the role of the wicked stepfather, and his performance evolved in quality as the character became increasingly neurotic and mentally unstable. Sela Ward has also done an excellent job and is absolutely perfect in the role of a middle-aged woman, recently divorced and trying to give love a new chance while trying to remain a good mother. Penn Badgley was good in the role of Michael, although he doesn't always behave in a way that I find credible and logical. In the negative, I would mention the poor performance of Amber Heard, who seems to believe that it is enough to appear almost naked or in a bikini to play a character. Let's face it, it's not just her fault, director Nelson McCormick and screenwriter J.S. Cardone explored her physical attributes a lot, forgetting to develop her character. The film also features good appearances by Jon Tenney, Paige Turco and Sherry Stringfield in secondary characters.

Not being a film that stands out in technical aspects, it knows how to maintain a good quality standard within what we are expecting to find in an average film: we have good cinematography, a regular use of light and color to create an atmosphere, satisfactory effects and good sets and costumes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MrScallopsJun 19, 2019
Nicely acted remake of a classic thriller, but the promising beginning turns into dragged out and predictable plot. The script suffers from major illogicalities and the pacing is off until the very end. An average attempt at a thriller mostlyNicely acted remake of a classic thriller, but the promising beginning turns into dragged out and predictable plot. The script suffers from major illogicalities and the pacing is off until the very end. An average attempt at a thriller mostly relying on cheap jump scares. Skip this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews