Aviron Pictures | Release Date: March 9, 2018
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 167 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
117
Mixed:
32
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
robbywarren93Mar 10, 2018
How in the world does this have a 50 on here??? Terrible movie. The characters were SO dumb, like the dumbest characters I've seen in a movie in a while. Just such a cheap, conventional straight to DVD cash grab.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
MattBrady99Sep 20, 2018
I've got more questions than critiques.

1. It's been 10 years since the first movie came out and this is what we got? 2. There's been so many slasher movies, what makes this different? 3. Why even make a sequel when your ideas are dry? 4.
I've got more questions than critiques.

1. It's been 10 years since the first movie came out and this is what we got?

2. There's been so many slasher movies, what makes this different?

3. Why even make a sequel when your ideas are dry?

4. Why dose it have an 80's-like style to it? None of it adds anything to the overall quality of the film. It's not even set in the 80's, by the way. For style purpose I guess.

5. Why is the only good scene in the whole movie takes place at a swimming pool?

And finally..."Oh My God There's a Bang at the Door"
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
sigamabondMar 18, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the sort of movie you should walk out on. I wished was over once I reach the climax of the film. The plot was ridiculous for a number of reasons, one of them being that certain things don't make sense. Although based off a true story, there are too many physical elements to the movie that are impossible/unlikely in real life. There were so bad elements that you may end up laughing at how bad the realism is. If you happen to see the movie (albeit a bad choice) you'll notice the antagonists draw out their actions. It is irritating. Don't waste your time with this film, as there's a strong chance you'll regret your choice. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
0
SnodogDec 26, 2021
This has got to be the laziest, brain dead, idiotic "horror" movie I have ever had the displeasure of experiencing. I'm surprised the main characters lived long enough to make it to these events as they are so stupid, you would have expectedThis has got to be the laziest, brain dead, idiotic "horror" movie I have ever had the displeasure of experiencing. I'm surprised the main characters lived long enough to make it to these events as they are so stupid, you would have expected them to forget how to breathe long before. Not only do they make decisions no rational human would make, they essentially stand there and wait to be killed. There is nothing scary about the antagonists other than they seem to be able to teleport and mystically sense where the protagonists are at all times. At one point the protagonists have a gun... A GUN!.. and their persuers have only used knives or sharp objects. So... the movie is over right? They have an extreme tactical advantage over their opponent. Surely there is no possible way they can combat a gun with a few knives. Except, the gun dissappears a few scenes later! It's never fired, despite having one of the people who murdered their mother and father dead to rights in point blank range, it's never shown to be taken or dropped or even holstered. It's just magically gone so the rest of the movie can happen. The creators of this film believe that if someone's throat is slit, they die immediately. Do they believe that your heart is in your throat? You have to bleed to death! Many people have survived getting their throats slit. This movie was made by braindead people for braindead people. You have to be dumber than a rock to think this movie is plausible in any reality. People are not dumb enough to just sit there while a psychopath stabs you. Arms are a thing, and it's instinct to move them in front of things that could hurt you. Yes, the people in this movie had to fight their instincts in order to be complacent in their own murder! Watching stupid people make decisions bound to lead directly to their deaths is not scary, or fun to watch in any way. This "movie" is garbage through and through. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Rebecca31May 9, 2018
The Strangers: Prey At Night, a sequel to a movie that no one even remembers let alone wanted. Remember that movie from 2008 where these crazy people broke into a house, killed some people and then left? No? Well here’s the sequel anywayThe Strangers: Prey At Night, a sequel to a movie that no one even remembers let alone wanted. Remember that movie from 2008 where these crazy people broke into a house, killed some people and then left? No? Well here’s the sequel anyway cause why not? Everything is worthy of a sequel these days so let’s join The Strangers on their quest to terrorize and brutally murder more people for an hour and a half. They’re crazy, they wear creepy masks and they kill people. Not much to it so if you’re expecting The Strangers 2 to build enough atmosphere and tension to keep you entertained well don’t.

A family of four are staying in a super creepy secluded mobile home park and are stalked by everyone’s favourite masked psychopaths, The Strangers. After a ten year break it doesn’t seem like the Strangers have learned anything from its previous film. Yet another completely unnecessary sequel that you can throw into the “never gonna watch it again pile.” Yes, The Strangers: Prey at Night really does have it all. Everything from “based on true events” drifting across the screen in the hope of creating a spooky atmosphere, the main character falling while running away from the bad guys and characters dying but not really. It’s got a couple of interesting scenes and at one point it looked like it was paying homage to classic 80s horror flicks but The Strangers 2 did not pull itself together and brings absolutely nothing new to this genre. The mind dulling horror movie clichés are forced into every scene which builds into a bitterly brutal ending that only leaves the audience unsatisfied. Not recommended, I don’t care if you’ve already seen Infinity War twice and looking for something new, go see Infinity War again because The Strangers 2 is not worth it.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
PanchogulJun 10, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Es casi lo mismo de la primera película, sinceramente no vale la pena una película tan mala, o sea, se tardaron 10 años en traer esto al cine??? hubiese quedado mejor si la hubiesen estrenado directamente a video, ojalá no se les ocurra sacar una tercera parte, ya que si van a hacer de nuevo lo mismo no valdrá la pena, a menos que desarrollen aunque sea un poco, la historia de los villanos, estoy seguro que mas de alguno se pregunta ¿Quienes son? ¿Por qué se dedican a matar? ¿Serán enfermos mentales o simplemente asesinos psicópatas/en masa? Expand
0 of 47 users found this helpful047
All this user's reviews
1
cameronhalmansOct 3, 2018
The Strangers: Prey at Night is the worst movie I've seen so far this year and that's including Summer of 84. With atrocious character writing, worse than the first strangers film, this movie has no idea who to focus on. You don't really getThe Strangers: Prey at Night is the worst movie I've seen so far this year and that's including Summer of 84. With atrocious character writing, worse than the first strangers film, this movie has no idea who to focus on. You don't really get a glimpse as to who the main character is really at all. Not to mention, the characters aren't interesting in the slightest. The film gives you nothing to cheer for. The family drama in the first 20 minutes is rushed and forced upon the audience and doesn't pan out well throughout the film. The first strangers film was memorable for its suspense, yes the character writing in that film was bad as well, but at least I was on the edge of my seat throughout certain scenes in that film. In Prey at Night, there's no suspense. Absolutely zero elements of horror. It's like stalker porn on crack. I'm not exactly sure why there's an 80's style score in this film either. Prey at Night adds nothing new. Its ideas are dull and dry and it produces honestly the worst ending to a film I think I've ever seen. I would have liked to see some connection to the first film, or at least give us some sort of motive for the actions of the killers. At least make the film of interest and let us know about the attackers, but we get none of that. They just kill because "why not" and to me that's lazy writing and extremely boring to watch. The one redeeming quality to this film was the 5 minutes pool scene, that's it. The rest is utter nonsense.

10/100
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
3
tellmikeyyJan 25, 2022
Although the first one left me bored, it still felt watchable. This one had it all with an edgy teenager, brother who teases, dad trying to make everyone happy, mom who tries to relate but feels oddly suspicious, horror movie logic whereAlthough the first one left me bored, it still felt watchable. This one had it all with an edgy teenager, brother who teases, dad trying to make everyone happy, mom who tries to relate but feels oddly suspicious, horror movie logic where things make sense one second and absolutely no sense the very next. I wouldn’t call this a horror movie or even a suspense movie, thriller at best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews