Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 25, 1982
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 172 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
163
Mixed:
6
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
spacebear1Jan 2, 2018
John Carpenter's The Thing is probably my second favorite horror film of all time. I loved all of the characters and the suspense. I thought the cinematography as well. I absolutely loved the use of practical effects in this film. In the end,John Carpenter's The Thing is probably my second favorite horror film of all time. I loved all of the characters and the suspense. I thought the cinematography as well. I absolutely loved the use of practical effects in this film. In the end, this is an amazing film and one of the best horror films. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
RagnamaximaNov 11, 2017
John Carpenter´s "The Thing" is an absolute horror classic that everyone should watch, with flawed yet relatable characters, genuinally terrifying monsters designs and a brillaint and creepy atmosphere.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
greenisgoodDec 30, 2019
A near flawless film on all technical levels as well as story and acting. It is sad to see that this was one of the film's that caused John Carpenter to become disillusioned with art of film making due to it's reception. But I am also glad toA near flawless film on all technical levels as well as story and acting. It is sad to see that this was one of the film's that caused John Carpenter to become disillusioned with art of film making due to it's reception. But I am also glad to see that this is one such work of Art that will undoubtedly stand the test of time considering the Legendary status this film holds for Horror and Movie fans alike. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Nikop0lOct 3, 2018
Yet another proof that "professional critics" are completely clueless. The Thing is best Carpenter movie and simply absolute horror classic that every even semi-fan of genre must see without any question. Absolute-zero surrounding ofYet another proof that "professional critics" are completely clueless. The Thing is best Carpenter movie and simply absolute horror classic that every even semi-fan of genre must see without any question. Absolute-zero surrounding of Antarctica with main protagonists running rampant in justified paranoia. Bottin special effects stand the test of time and are as unnerving and creepy as they have been decades ago. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyAug 6, 2018
The Thing is a really great horror movie, with a fantastic sense of mystery that keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. The whole cast is great and the setting of Antarctica perfectly illustrates how alone the characters are andThe Thing is a really great horror movie, with a fantastic sense of mystery that keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. The whole cast is great and the setting of Antarctica perfectly illustrates how alone the characters are and that they have nowhere to run. The practical effects used to create the monsters are fantastic and still hold up today. All around a really great movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Aug 13, 2017
Efficent rip-off of Alien (1979). The screenplay wrote by Carpenter himself is faithful to original story written by John W. Campbell. The creepy, paranoid atmosphere, and the special effects and make up created by Rob Bottin still does notEfficent rip-off of Alien (1979). The screenplay wrote by Carpenter himself is faithful to original story written by John W. Campbell. The creepy, paranoid atmosphere, and the special effects and make up created by Rob Bottin still does not lose it´s charms. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TuneisonAug 13, 2018
The Thing is an absolute masterpiece of a horror movie. The only horror movie I think that might be on the same level or better is The Shining by Stanley Kubrick. (Yes I know that's a cliché) Every little detail is so fine tuned in thisThe Thing is an absolute masterpiece of a horror movie. The only horror movie I think that might be on the same level or better is The Shining by Stanley Kubrick. (Yes I know that's a cliché) Every little detail is so fine tuned in this movie. It's honestly hard to believe that John Carpenter made this movie because the majority of his career are just mediocre blockbuster horror movies. So where do I begin?
First the acting. The entire cast is great with every actor delivering their lines and perfectly conveying the emotion they need too. There isn't really any cheese in the performances. Next, the practical effects. Need I say more? It looks incredible and kicks the ass of most of the practiacal effects of the time except for maybe The Fly. Even the lesser talked about effects like the space ship look great. Bill Lancaster's script is absolutely fantastic and, leaves so much up to interpretation. There is a reason this movie is still talked about to this day. There are so many plot threads and theroies left up to the imagination. What happened at the end? Who destroyed the blood? Who was the first infected by the dog?
It's absolutely fantastic and, I really can't sum it all up in words. The film making is fantastic. (I know I'm using that word too much shut up) I could spend all day dissecting each and every detail but, could never get to the bottom of this movie. It's absolutely genius and check it out. (But you probably already have)
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
blacksunNov 19, 2018
An exciting ride from start to finish, The Thing is in my opinion a classic of the genre. The traditional effects will shock you, and still hold up today, outperforming much of the CGI stuff we currently get. The tension of being trapped withAn exciting ride from start to finish, The Thing is in my opinion a classic of the genre. The traditional effects will shock you, and still hold up today, outperforming much of the CGI stuff we currently get. The tension of being trapped with no-where to go stays with you for the whole film, while the uncertainty of not knowing who you can trust just adds to the paranoia. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Voodoo123Dec 4, 2018
+Incredible practical effects
+Memorable main theme form carpenter
+Deep mood building score from Ennio Morricone +Excellent cast deliver 'the goods' -'That' computer analysis scene 1982's The Thing is one of carpenters best. This seminal
+Incredible practical effects
+Memorable main theme form carpenter
+Deep mood building score from Ennio Morricone
+Excellent cast deliver 'the goods'
-'That' computer analysis scene


1982's The Thing is one of carpenters best. This seminal effects laden horror classic remake lays down the template all others should follow...
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Kai82Jan 8, 2020
The most underrated horror movie of all times which has become an insider tip and cult classic. It is also a horror movie where the cast acts smart and plausible. It has one of the best settings respectively set ups for a horror movie. AfterThe most underrated horror movie of all times which has become an insider tip and cult classic. It is also a horror movie where the cast acts smart and plausible. It has one of the best settings respectively set ups for a horror movie. After the reveal of the threat the tensions starts to grow because no one knows if they can trust each other. It is this plausible distrust, fear and paranoia that makes this movie so good. The whole cast deserves a lot of credits for this as does John Carpenter. They are nailing the roles. You feel the building tensions as their fears start to drive them into despair. For me it is the best cast outside 12 Angry Man and the Godfather 1 / 2. I was also amazed by the practical effects. They are horrifyingly and disturbingly good and enhance the atmosphere. Be warned: While they don't go for gore and splatter it is still to much for some people. Then there is the score from the legend himself Ennio Morricone. He is also also an example for a person that deserves more credits. He is along John Williams and Hans Zimmer the best composer in movie history. As always he made a beautiful score. At its release it was pulled to pieces by critics and was not a box office hit (But also not a failure). Like Citizen Kane earlier it was rediscovered by fans and critics and was reevaluated as cult classic. It is now considered an at its time of release unrecognized masterpiece. Overall it is a horror movie with great atmosphere, incredible tension and an experience you will never forget. Also there is the fitting ambiguous ending which lets fans discuss still today in a positive way. Bonus: Much of Ennio Morricones work is available on YouTube. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsSep 17, 2018
The Thing is a masterpiece of horror cinema that I was fortunate enough to see on the big screen in 70 mm. John Carpenter is really bringing his A-game with this movie. The scares are still good even now, 36 years later. The effects are mindThe Thing is a masterpiece of horror cinema that I was fortunate enough to see on the big screen in 70 mm. John Carpenter is really bringing his A-game with this movie. The scares are still good even now, 36 years later. The effects are mind blowing. There is some nice camp and humor in the script to lighten the mood, and the tone and bleak sense of isolation that pervades the fabric of this movie is palpable. The ending of this movie is one of the best endings to a horror movie ever, and this is well worth a watch, especially with Halloween right around the corner! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MaxiThresherFeb 8, 2018
Great movie, very scary and well done, the sounds are so anguashing and the ambiance so creepy. Carpenter did it well !
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PhilipBlakeMay 24, 2019
How to describe what is to me not only the best movie ever made in every category but also the only one to deserve the perfect 10 on 10 rating.
This is barely impossible to describe each perfect aspect of the film. The razor blade direction
How to describe what is to me not only the best movie ever made in every category but also the only one to deserve the perfect 10 on 10 rating.
This is barely impossible to describe each perfect aspect of the film. The razor blade direction by John Carpenter is only the beginning of it. Rob Bottin's creatures special effects was incredible and still very effective as the ones nowadays, Ennio Morricone's evocative and cold as hell score just feet perfectly to the story with the help of the uncredited additional score done by John Carpenter with Alan Howarth, Dean Cundey's post Spielberg photography is just amazing and perfectly rendered the eternity of the cold ice of Antarctica, Kurt Russell is perfectly cast on the lead and every single actors involved in the production are almost unforgettable. The perfect representation of what was one the best decades in the cinema industry.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The-ComidianJul 1, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Scary and suspenseful this movie delivers on everything you could ask from it and more. The fear of not knowing who you can trust fuels this movie and the question posed at the end (is Childs real?) brings the movie to a perfect close. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
adamhui78Jun 12, 2017
One of the best horror movies of all time! Great cast, creepy score and some horrifying special effects that still hold up well - not sure why the critics were hating on this in 1982. It's one of the first movies I'd recommend to anyone whoOne of the best horror movies of all time! Great cast, creepy score and some horrifying special effects that still hold up well - not sure why the critics were hating on this in 1982. It's one of the first movies I'd recommend to anyone who likes horror and suspense. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ryanlikemoviesAug 2, 2017
theis ilm is a good film beaise this film knows whats oip if oyio dont lilke foodd classic hiorroor movies than look a wasy know cuse the ting his here and its **** a beast11!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
daviddelnorte23Aug 17, 2017
Si hubiera elaborado en algún momento una lista de películas que más ganas tengo, yo creo que 'La Cosa' estaría seguramente entre las 5 primeras. Es una película que me esperaba un poco distinta, pero porque llevaba ya mi propia película.Si hubiera elaborado en algún momento una lista de películas que más ganas tengo, yo creo que 'La Cosa' estaría seguramente entre las 5 primeras. Es una película que me esperaba un poco distinta, pero porque llevaba ya mi propia película. Esperaba una película más 'Alien'. Esto no quiere decir que no me gustara o que me pareciera mala o peor de lo esperado, solo distinta. Las fases de la película donde 'La Cosa' toma forma son altamente delirantes y casi parece una paranoia. El personaje protagonista, el de Kurt Russel es genial y tiene un momento con "muestras de sangre" que es de los mejores que he visto ultimamente. Es una película 'Made in Carpenter' y una de las joyas del terror. Dirección, banda sonora, guión (el final por dios, el final). En general, me encanta pero me gusta un pelín menos que 'Halloween' que para mí con lo que he visto de Carpenter me parece todavía su mejor obra. 'La Cosa' es de esas películas que veré muchas veces. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Jun 27, 2020
"Cheating ****

38 years ago, this movie both bombed and received poor reviews from critics; same thing with Blade Runner, which was released at the same time. This just confirms that even in 1982, people were complete idiots. 'The Thing' is
"Cheating ****

38 years ago, this movie both bombed and received poor reviews from critics; same thing with Blade Runner, which was released at the same time. This just confirms that even in 1982, people were complete idiots.

'The Thing' is a classic body horror thriller where the mystery and suspense kept audiences on edge for years. It's one of the best John Carpenter movie behind 'Halloween'.

This movie and Blade Runner stood the test of time as Sci-Fi masterpieces.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JPKJul 14, 2019
A Horrifying Classic
The Thing is scary, gross, and suspenseful to make it a true classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
billplanetFeb 22, 2020
I saw this in the theatre and it creeped me the f*** out! I don't normally get scared by movies but this was an exception.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
neeeeeeiinMar 25, 2020
An absolute masterpiece of a film and one of the greatest (if not greatest) horror films of all time. The critics and audience members that panned this movie at the time were complete brain dead morons and are absolutely on the wrong side ofAn absolute masterpiece of a film and one of the greatest (if not greatest) horror films of all time. The critics and audience members that panned this movie at the time were complete brain dead morons and are absolutely on the wrong side of movie history. The fact that this film's fantastic music was nominated for a Razzie just goes to show how much of a colossal joke the Razzies are. Rotten Tomatoes should be ashamed of themselves for not having only 5 star audience reviews pinned on the main page instead of these pitiful 3 star reviews from these so called "established user reviewers". The Thing is a masterclass in directing, casting, acting, suspense, visceral body horror, terrific score from Ennio Morricone (who has been historically validated with his Oscar win for the Haterful 8 which featured a track from the Thing) and terrific practical effects. The only thing about the practical effects that's aged badly is the dummy corpse near the end-everything else is fantastic. This is easily one of the most re-watchable horror movies of all time. Every viewing you pick up a new detail as to who and who isn't the Thing and you start form an internal timeline of the way the creature manipulates and slowly picks off our main cast of characters. There's so much attention to detail in this film that you really need to rewatch it multiple times to appreciate its brilliance. Up there with the Shining, The Exorcist and Suspiria as one of the all time greats. My personal favourite horror movie and the best film Carpenter has made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Popcorn55Dec 29, 2018
Seeing it in 1982 I expected just another SF film, so the initial eruption of that dog in the beginning took me totally by surprise. It was so shocking that I had to leave the theater for a few minutes. No other film has ever even comeSeeing it in 1982 I expected just another SF film, so the initial eruption of that dog in the beginning took me totally by surprise. It was so shocking that I had to leave the theater for a few minutes. No other film has ever even come close to doing that to me! No question -- this is one of the grimmest horror films ever made, a diabolically powerful masterpiece of a futile fight for survival by a small and shrinking group of terrified humans against an utterly alien, unimaginably ancient entity, surrounded by the deadly, primeval, Antarctic winter night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
amheretojudgeJul 4, 2018
an annihilated breach with an "in and out" agenda..

The Thing 2 And A Half Out Of 5 The Thing is plot driven horror feature that is more blame game than poetic as it aspires to be. The concept isn't as smart as the makers think and the
an annihilated breach with an "in and out" agenda..

The Thing 2 And A Half Out Of 5

The Thing is plot driven horror feature that is more blame game than poetic as it aspires to be. The concept isn't as smart as the makers think and the scrutiny isn't loud enough to bang its way out of the screen; it stays with you but maybe you don't want to keep it. It is short on technical aspects like background score, art design, visual effects, sound department and editing. The writing is weak on terms of creativity for it completely relies upon its concept and never even attempts to outgrow it which fades away its specific chareacteristics after the first act. The screenplay by Bill Lancaster is gripping if not smart, for it contains all the essential ingredients that a mandatory commercial cinema does, to draw in most of the attention from the audience. John Carpenter; the director, is not in his A game as he lacks better execution skills or maybe isn't focused on the vision that is aspired to set and is enjoying a bit much of it to breed sincerity. There isn't much range offered to any of the star cast to factor in effectively on terms of performance although Kurt Russell is giving all he can from the allotted part. The Thing is an annihilated breach with an "in and out" agenda that is similar to its characters; one-dimensional.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
martinruizFeb 21, 2018
This movie just gave me nightmares, the special effects the sounds, the creatures design were pretty well done, the acting was just good to decent at times, they could do better, the other thing is that they did't gave a lot of screen time toThis movie just gave me nightmares, the special effects the sounds, the creatures design were pretty well done, the acting was just good to decent at times, they could do better, the other thing is that they did't gave a lot of screen time to the creature, it would been really good to see more about it. 8.5 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RaduAMar 30, 2019
85/100

  This was pretty good.   Bearing in mind that this movie was made in 1982, it is among the best horror films. The practical effects are awesome ( when the thing comes out of a body is very well done and these days so many CGI, just
85/100

  This was pretty good.
  Bearing in mind that this movie was made in 1982, it is among the best horror films. The practical effects are awesome ( when the thing comes out of a body is very well done and these days so many CGI, just why?? ). The best scene is when they test the blood. It's a very well-developed suspense ... who will it be? And the dog scene... disturbing as f#*k.
  They chose the location very well, somewhere isolated where no one can help you. The acting was ok, the characters too. It wasn't a happy ending, which somehow, I liked it. I can not wait to see The Thing from 2011 (I'm kidding, but I will still see it just to compare them but I do not think it deserves it).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Kurayami_AkiraNov 26, 2018
_ What are the good aspects of the movie?
- Knows how to create moments of tension and suspense.
- Has a really great monster. - Has a good atmosphere. - Doesn't rely on jumpscares. - The decisions of the characters are comprehensible and
_ What are the good aspects of the movie?
- Knows how to create moments of tension and suspense.
- Has a really great monster.
- Has a good atmosphere.
- Doesn't rely on jumpscares.
- The decisions of the characters are comprehensible and realistic.
- Really enjoyable movie, it won't get you bored.
_ What did it do wrong?
- Tried too hard to be grotesque (-1 point).
_ But what about today's standards?
- the special effects have aged, so if you watched something gory with good effects they won't get to you, that makes the parts of the movie where it tries to be grotesque just kind of obnoxious, wich still doesn't ruin the movie, but again will cost a point from my score.
_ Verdict: 8. Only watch if interested on the positive aspects i've mentioned.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HazretiBjornApr 23, 2020
Best horror movie of all time. Great characters, great atmosphere, great effects and great ending. And it's still scare you sh** at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HorrorMonster48Mar 15, 2019
The Thing is my all time favorite horror movie ever. I love the story, the characters, the monsters, the special effects, the atmosphere, the suspense, and it's really creepy. I always love to watch this movie again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Shajac19Feb 16, 2020
If not the greatest horror movie of all time, definitely top 5. John Carpenter does an amazing job and this movie has hardly aged a day. The practical effects may not be believable but they are grotesque and extensive enough to still delightIf not the greatest horror movie of all time, definitely top 5. John Carpenter does an amazing job and this movie has hardly aged a day. The practical effects may not be believable but they are grotesque and extensive enough to still delight and horrify. The movie is well-paced and thrilling throughout with one of the best endings ever. I cannot highly recommend this movie enough to horror fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LilycrownJul 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Chest Defibulater scene is sooo epic gory two arms right off I loved it and head malted Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
1kristhompsonNov 6, 2019
The best movie ever by the best director ever. Roger Ebert really looked like a fool here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SyrvindaFeb 27, 2020
This film aged well. It still gives such an immersive athmosphere. Everything in this movie is spot on. The music, the sound and visual effects, and the acting. Even the script is perfectly paced and balanced. No doubt this is one of theThis film aged well. It still gives such an immersive athmosphere. Everything in this movie is spot on. The music, the sound and visual effects, and the acting. Even the script is perfectly paced and balanced. No doubt this is one of the best movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IAmaMovieGeekMay 31, 2020
A horror classic. One of the best ever. Please watch. That's all I have to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CloudybellonioApr 21, 2020
The film comstantly has you at the edge of your seat. You never know who's the thing upping the suspense. The gore is some of the greatest in film history and coolest imagery in film history. This film has some great characters who aren'tThe film comstantly has you at the edge of your seat. You never know who's the thing upping the suspense. The gore is some of the greatest in film history and coolest imagery in film history. This film has some great characters who aren't idiots which is so hard to find in horror films and lets be honest Kurt Russell is certified badass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YammyMay 29, 2020
This movie is one of my all time favorites! It is a testament to how great practical effects can look. Over all an amazing movie than keeps you invested all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews