New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 14, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 159 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
118
Mixed:
33
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
BillySSep 11, 2009
Eric Bana travels back and forth from time to time in his life over and over and over again, I'd like to travel back to right before I paid for the ticket! Seriously.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
kgmSep 3, 2009
Who wouldn
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JeffH.Aug 15, 2009
Even as I guy I usually enjoy a good love story as well as anyone. But this movie was a disappointment. All the time traveling was hard to keep track of and seemed manipulative. That said, the actors did a real good job given the material Even as I guy I usually enjoy a good love story as well as anyone. But this movie was a disappointment. All the time traveling was hard to keep track of and seemed manipulative. That said, the actors did a real good job given the material they had to work with. But the director didn't even use the great song from the trailer in the movie either. This adds up to a truly average film but I was expecting much more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I do not normally like soppy films but this one had an interesting premise to it and actually posed some extremely fascinating morale dilemmas. I enjoyed Eric Bana's performance while Rachel McAdams gave a decent account of herself.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
ChadS.Aug 17, 2009
Lucky for young Claire, the naked man in the bushes turns out to be her one and only, and not some child rapist, like the girl's killer in Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones". The interaction between Henry(Eric Bana) and Lucky for young Claire, the naked man in the bushes turns out to be her one and only, and not some child rapist, like the girl's killer in Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones". The interaction between Henry(Eric Bana) and Claire's pre-pubescent self is the film's litmus test. If moviegoers aren't silently humming George Michael's "Father Figure" to themselves while the time traveler chats up the little girl, "The Time Traveler's Wife" just dodged the first bullet. (The second bullet is if Henry's wormholes seem plausible to a quantum physicist.) Bana's scenes with his future wife as a child are crucial to keeping intact the film's central theme of unconditional love. (It's a good thing Claire didn't see Jesus, or else she would have winded up a nun.) Not for one second can Henry appear to be hitting on her. Claire's future husband has to treat his pre-wife like he was looking at an old photograph in a keepsake album. To quote filmmaker Wim Wenders(and Bono), Henry has to be "faraway, so close". When he shakes Claire's hand in that meadow, it's analogous to a husband stroking some picture's surface that embodies the woman he married under a sheath of plastic. Bana has to convey that Claire's unformed state touches his heart, not his genitals. (***HEY, SPOILER ALERT***) Due to tragic circumstances, late in the film, Henry suddenly seems cruel, keeping Claire(played by the lovely Rachel McAdams) in limbo. Had Henry returned to the meadow and traumatized young Claire by jumping out of the bushes, his wife wouldn't be perpetually haunted by a "Librarian of Desire". At least the Demi Moore character in Jerry Zucker's "Ghost" found closure. But they had a kid. End of story. They're a chained melody. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NutterJr.Jan 10, 2010
The chemistry of the actors makes the film quite tender and it gets more emotional towards the end of the film. But there are a number of confusing time-travel related paradoxes and contradictions that sometime remove the viewer from the The chemistry of the actors makes the film quite tender and it gets more emotional towards the end of the film. But there are a number of confusing time-travel related paradoxes and contradictions that sometime remove the viewer from the essence of the film: a love story that transcends across time. And talking about such stories, my favourite love story that transcends across time is the "The Fountain". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TomMAug 18, 2009
This film was okay, but it lacked the emotional attachment I had with other romantic films, like The Notebook. My main problem was that Henry time traveled too much in the film and not allowing the audience to get involved in the story. This film was okay, but it lacked the emotional attachment I had with other romantic films, like The Notebook. My main problem was that Henry time traveled too much in the film and not allowing the audience to get involved in the story. McAdams is very good in her role. I really wanted to like the film, but could not embrace it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ElizabethC.Aug 17, 2009
The leading actors are charming and talented, there's some good photography - but the storytelling falls limp. Of course it's a fantasy, so it's hard to criticize it for being illogical, but somehow it never makes sense for me The leading actors are charming and talented, there's some good photography - but the storytelling falls limp. Of course it's a fantasy, so it's hard to criticize it for being illogical, but somehow it never makes sense for me to have the time traveler meet up with their older or younger self - several times. And the story doesn't seem to go anywhere with an intriguing premise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful