New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 14, 2009
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 159 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
118
Mixed:
33
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
MikeD.Aug 15, 2009
Reviewers who focus on the time travel totally miss the point of the movie. Its about the struggles of a woman when the man she loves can't give himself to her completely, but, she realizes, what he can give is enough. Amy McAdam plays Reviewers who focus on the time travel totally miss the point of the movie. Its about the struggles of a woman when the man she loves can't give himself to her completely, but, she realizes, what he can give is enough. Amy McAdam plays that role very well. From the male side, it is about not wanting to be able to be there for the ones you love, and that part is told poignantly as well. At the end, it is moving and effective if you can just accept the time travel as a dramatic device and not try to analyze it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CastorT.Aug 16, 2009
Boasting terrific performances and chemistry from Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana, the Time Traveler's Wife has some flaws but is a charming, endearing and bittersweet romantic drama nonetheless.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
W.B.WinnAug 15, 2009
Some reviewers are getting too hung up on the illogical paradoxes of time travel and the supposedly absurd premise. At it's core, this isn't a movie about time travel but a movie about relationships and overcoming unique Some reviewers are getting too hung up on the illogical paradoxes of time travel and the supposedly absurd premise. At it's core, this isn't a movie about time travel but a movie about relationships and overcoming unique challenges. Viewed from this angle it succeeds, in my humble opinion. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SarahHAug 19, 2009
Sure- it's far fetched, but Rachel McAdams is (as always) amazing and Bana is surprisingly right for his role. I cried my way through reading the book, and the movie brought me to tears throughout most of the ending. It might not be an Sure- it's far fetched, but Rachel McAdams is (as always) amazing and Bana is surprisingly right for his role. I cried my way through reading the book, and the movie brought me to tears throughout most of the ending. It might not be an award winner, but it is still a solid, tragic romance, and I am sucker for those! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KielM.Oct 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie, but I did wonder if I would have enjoyed it if I had not already read the book. Although the movie omits important elements from the book, I thought it did a good job of focusing and the main story line from the I really enjoyed this movie, but I did wonder if I would have enjoyed it if I had not already read the book. Although the movie omits important elements from the book, I thought it did a good job of focusing and the main story line from the book. For me the great love story overcame the questionable science. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WinstonL.Nov 30, 2009
Despite the reviews, McAdams and Bana are on Oscar-watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AdamC.Sep 17, 2009
This movie had a really likable cast. Even though the storyline was a little confusing, it was heart warming and funny at needed times. However, the trailer does do the movie justice being one of the best trailers ive seen in a while.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
bassthingMar 23, 2011
Considering I rented this film more for my wife than for myself, ironically it was I that enjoyed this film more. My wife had a relatively fair criticism that this film is a little trite. However I would add that it has a certain charmConsidering I rented this film more for my wife than for myself, ironically it was I that enjoyed this film more. My wife had a relatively fair criticism that this film is a little trite. However I would add that it has a certain charm because of this, and it is trite at the beginning of the film, and much less so by the end. Personally the first reason I enjoyed this film was that the two main characters actually do have a believable chemistry. Too often I have watched (Hollywood) films in which the lead couple have absolutory zero believability as a couple. Secondly, this film definitely throws you into the story straight away, hooking me with the central premise of a boy (and then a man) time travelling who cannot control what happens to him.

Third. I have now actually seen a film in which I liked Eric Bana. To be honest I thought he was a bit crappy until this, but he plays the role well, especially with the potential of some of the material to be somewhat paedophilic (let your mind boggle, and I hope that isnâ
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FrankTCastleJan 4, 2015
This is a very enjoyable movie indeed that I can find no faults in it at all, excellent direction and the cast are nothing short of brillant. There was no point in the movie where I was bored, the story and characters grabbed me and refusedThis is a very enjoyable movie indeed that I can find no faults in it at all, excellent direction and the cast are nothing short of brillant. There was no point in the movie where I was bored, the story and characters grabbed me and refused to let go. As someone who is not a fan of romance films I was surprised to have enjoyed this movie as much as I did and have watched it several times. I would recommend this film to anyone interested in scifi/drama or romance movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SsmithFeb 3, 2010
I loved this movie; the beautiful direction, the acting, the story.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
hoops2448Feb 28, 2012
Most reviews Iâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AaronMAug 20, 2009
People who have read the book will forgive all the things the movie doesn't go into detail explaining, and will love the movie for what it really is - a heartfelt and enduring story of a woman who is destined to love a troubled guy who People who have read the book will forgive all the things the movie doesn't go into detail explaining, and will love the movie for what it really is - a heartfelt and enduring story of a woman who is destined to love a troubled guy who time travels. So simply put, read the book first and love the movie or don't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
S.H.Aug 18, 2009
Fresh new story that keeps you locked in until the end... I haven't had to fight tears at a movie since Braveheart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
fantasyAug 30, 2009
This is a feel good movie with no beginning and no end. You only hope some heads or tails can be made of the time traveling but in the end it is simply a love story about blind love and caring. There was so much more that coud have been This is a feel good movie with no beginning and no end. You only hope some heads or tails can be made of the time traveling but in the end it is simply a love story about blind love and caring. There was so much more that coud have been explained but it is the same scene repeated forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaM.Aug 15, 2009
A touching tale of the power of love that has no expiration date and the paradoxes of time travel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimS.Aug 19, 2009
I really liked the movie. It's far from perfect but it is likable nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DonnaL.Aug 15, 2009
It is possible to abandon reason and enjoy this film. The acting supports the effort.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ElisaH.Aug 16, 2009
I was concerned that it was going to be very difficult to follow the book. However, they have done a good job at capturing most of the important facts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeWAug 19, 2009
I'm into sci-fi and time travel stories so I liked this movie. My wife isn't and didn't. So whether you enjoy this movie depends on your orientation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
vinipushka010Aug 22, 2009
True, it's probably a movie you'd take your girfriend/s to, but it's a bit more than just that. You may find you walk away happy you gave it a chance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
iCCMar 23, 2015
The movie is not exactly a masterpiece, but it has a really creative and a non-predictable plot... really good actors and a nice story... is like one of those movies you want to see when you are relaxed, I really recommend it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Antgiog1202Jul 17, 2016
The emotional level "The Time Traveler's Wife" brings is off the charts. It maximizes it's method of sadness and entertainment to the point where you can't help but love this film. You can't bare to resist Rachel MacAdams' affectionate beautyThe emotional level "The Time Traveler's Wife" brings is off the charts. It maximizes it's method of sadness and entertainment to the point where you can't help but love this film. You can't bare to resist Rachel MacAdams' affectionate beauty and her spiritual character she also possessed in "The Notebook." If you have a heart of stone, you cannot realize that this film is simply beautiful.

Rating: 7/10

A+ = 10
A = 9
A- = 8
B+ = 7
B = 6
B- = 5
C+ = 4
C = 3
C- = 2.5
D+ = 2
D = 1.5
D- = 1
F = 0
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DawdlingPoetNov 25, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is definitely a movie which you need access to tissues to watch, so ladies - you've been warned! although the slip it arrived in from Lovefilm classifies it as a fantasy/sci-fi movie, I'd say its alot more fantasy/romance based than sci-fi, personally. I think its more a movie that women will enjoy, although thats not to say that men wouldn't enjoy it, I just think its more of a chick flick sort of a movie really.

I can be quite critical about movies and the first thing that came to mind while watching it from fairly early on in the movie (ie plot wise) is the believability of the story. Of course people wouldn't believe that the main character can travel through time and its not a movie based on actual scientific fact, thats not what I'm referring to in this case, instead I'm thinking more about the fact that, for example, every time he 'travels' and suddenly appears elsewhere in the nude (as you do), he's able to quickly and fairly easily get his hands on someone elses clothes - is that really likely? there's that and the other sticking point that came to mind was the fact that when two characters are faced with the fact that he's not a bit of a loony and he does actually travel through time, when they see him disappear before their eyes, while it obviously takes them by surprise, there's no real talk of telling the media, of rushing him to medics or of claiming him as their discovery or anything like what you'd imagine may happen if this happened for real. In a sense its as if their like wow, ok so you *can* travel through time, thats a bit weird but ok then... and then they accept it and move on. Of course the story would likely be affected in a big way if the story changed but all the same, you are left thinking that there is this extra element of it thats less credible...I'm probably being a bit mean since its not really the point of the movie to be uber credible and everything but all the same, it came to mind so I'm mentioning it. People who are keen on time travelling movies and pay close attention to that side of it may also question the validity of Henry using his knowledge of the future to change him and his wives' future after its said earlier in the movie that no matter what, his special power doesn't allow him to change his future.

I felt that the movie was a bit confusing for viewers in terms of keeping track of 'which' Henry was in each scene, as he 'travelled' a lot and it can get a little confusing, from what point in time does he come from and what does he know when he's conversing with his wife etc. it can be alot to get your head around at first and it given my review so far, it sounds like there are a fair few criticisms for this movie but in its defence, I would say that its quite watchable, I like the concept/plot and trying to figure out what the outcome would be, indeed keeping up with the changes with Henry and 'which' Henry was appearing from scene to scene may be part of the appeal as well as a slight disadvantage, depending on how you see it. There are some fairly intense scenes where you'll likely need tissues as its quite emotional and I felt quite attached to the characters, thanks to decent performances from Eric Bana and Rachel McAdams.

I think that overall, there are definitely flaws and questions im left with having seen it but as mainly a romantic drama or fantasy movie, I can't criticise it too badly because I did enjoy the characters and felt quite attached to them and their story and I was intrigued to see what would happen, so in that sense I certainly enjoyed the movie and I can't say that its not entertaining, it is fairly dramatic and there's definitely a fantastical element to it, which the musical score/soundtrack helps to convey, so in that way its a good movie, just not without some technical flaws perhaps.

As a romantic drama with fantasy and sci-fi elements to it, yes I would recommend it but for real time travel buffs then perhaps not. Overall I'd say that its worth seeing once and you know judge for yourself but I watched it through to the end and although I was left feeling a little unsure perhaps, I would say that I still enjoyed it and I thought it was quite good as a romantic drama, so its worth checking out.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Dostoyevsky3May 29, 2020
The Time Traveler's Wife puts the chemistry of its talented cast to good use. Providing an exquisitely directed, impressively plotted, and romantically crafted story that ends sad and dramatically yet still sweet and beautifully.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews