Amazon Studios | Release Date (Streaming): May 29, 2020
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 135 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
83
Mixed:
30
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
GatorZeroAug 8, 2020
Boring, dumb, and a pointless story that goes nowhere. I wish I spent my time doing something else.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
ThomassJul 3, 2020
I did watch this film and there are some technical things that work to keep one involved. It really did look like we were back in the 50’s there. That said it was pretty boring and I could not help but notice the lack of production values.I did watch this film and there are some technical things that work to keep one involved. It really did look like we were back in the 50’s there. That said it was pretty boring and I could not help but notice the lack of production values. Reminded me of an exercise in film school , not a movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
10DavidTennentJun 23, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was ATROCIOUS!! This alleged "sci-fi suspense" movie had absolutely NO suspense. I watched the entire movie waiting for something to happen--but nothing did. I'd say this movie was predictable--but that would be giving it too much credit. In a nutshell: The Vast of Night was PAINFUL TO WATCH and a complete waste of my time. There are NO spoilers because the movie, from start to finish, dragged on and on and on. The only question I have is--what happened to the baby?? Hopefully it was "Beamed Up" and saved from growing up in this wretchedly boring town and it's people. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
4
Bigguy00Jun 17, 2020
This is like the tastiest looking food that when you actually eat it the aftertaste is bitter. This homage to the original Twilight Zone succeeds on an artistic level. The photography, the dialog and the acting are first rate. The TwilightThis is like the tastiest looking food that when you actually eat it the aftertaste is bitter. This homage to the original Twilight Zone succeeds on an artistic level. The photography, the dialog and the acting are first rate. The Twilight Zone delighted with unpredictable endings. This one chooses the most obvious conclusion possible. I kept waiting for a twist but just got credits. It would have made a better conclusion to just leave it a cliff hanger. What a waste of 3/4 of a potentially great film. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
GdgipMay 30, 2020
This isn’t a bad movie the photography is very beautiful, but you can’t tell me the acting was good or that the script was engrossing enough to justify staring at people with emotionless expressions for long stretches. Rule breaking in theThis isn’t a bad movie the photography is very beautiful, but you can’t tell me the acting was good or that the script was engrossing enough to justify staring at people with emotionless expressions for long stretches. Rule breaking in the editing room isn’t fresh and would be aesthetically un pleasing to anyone who wasn’t looking to give the production bonus points for being novel. There is no payoff. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
iduncan91Jun 26, 2020
An absolute waste of time. They used the whole movie setting up for some type of big reveal and there was nothing significant. The entire movie should have been a 30 min beginning of a real movie.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Jun 13, 2020
The film looks good. It has a pretty cool atmosphere and a great tone.
Those elements are very significant, because the film focuses on them to put you inside the situation with its strong aura of suspense; I mean it’s completely obvious that
The film looks good. It has a pretty cool atmosphere and a great tone.
Those elements are very significant, because the film focuses on them to put you inside the situation with its strong aura of suspense; I mean it’s completely obvious that this is inspired by The Twilight Zone, because at all time it feels like that.

But as remarkable as these elements can be, ultimately, those same elements don't make up for a story that never manages to evolve.

And after all, and despite the short duration, The Vast of Night makes it clear that there isn't much to salvage to distinguish itself for being more than it really is.
On top of that, we have fairly regular performances and an unsatisfactory conclusion.

I give it a lot of credit for what it achieves with such a small budget, but its strongest elements only manage to take it to a certain point, the other elements had to do the rest, and in my opinion, they weren't successful.

But it is fair to emphasize that being a debut; it's a worthy presentation and perhaps a promise of something better to come.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
FatLadRossJun 1, 2020
I agree with some other people here, the opening scene in the basketball court is practically impossible to follow. This is due to awful sound mixing and the fact that the main character has a tab (cigarette) hanging out his mouth andI agree with some other people here, the opening scene in the basketball court is practically impossible to follow. This is due to awful sound mixing and the fact that the main character has a tab (cigarette) hanging out his mouth and mumbles. After 15 minutes I still didn't understand who was who, why there was a trombone involved and where the 2 main characters were going. It didn't get much better, many names are included but we don't know any of the actual people. Gave up after 40 minutes as my head hurt.......I can honestly say that this has been overrated by the press reviewers. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
3
AddamMay 31, 2020
Sooo overrated. Some nice elements to it but no payoff was severely disappointing. 2 hours of my life I’ll never get back.
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
4
EvilpooMay 31, 2020
The vast of how to make a movie with 50 dollars. The trend of the meta crisis era
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
2
kaliphoniaJun 1, 2020
Very boring with little to no point or character development whatsoever. Not quite sure where all the hype is coming from, but it definitely doesn't deserve it.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
2
TVJerryJun 2, 2020
This is one of those films that's garnering great reviews from many critics (myself NOT included), but the general pop doesn't get it. It's set (literally and stylistically) in the 50s, when a young switchboard operator (Sierra McCormick) andThis is one of those films that's garnering great reviews from many critics (myself NOT included), but the general pop doesn't get it. It's set (literally and stylistically) in the 50s, when a young switchboard operator (Sierra McCormick) and radio DJ (Jake Horowitz) discover a strange sound coming from several places. They set out to discover the mysterious presence that's looming over their small town. While I can appreciate the director's period approach peppered with subtle modern techniques, it seems there's more interest in the style of the storytelling than in creating a compelling experience. Some scenes drag on FOREVER and two of the biggest "reveals" are conveyed in tedious scenes (one on the phone and the other in a long static shot). The final outcome is mildly cool, but not worth the tedium to get there. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
jimmypowderMay 31, 2020
Sorry but i couldn't get past the opening basketball scene. And who did the sound mixing for this movie? Just horrific.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
7
DubeauJun 2, 2020
This is a relatively good movie. The story is a slow detective journalist work. Perky dialogues, some a bit boring. The Fx are pretty good. Considering that this is a very low budget movie, it is well done. The ending is somewhat puzzling. IThis is a relatively good movie. The story is a slow detective journalist work. Perky dialogues, some a bit boring. The Fx are pretty good. Considering that this is a very low budget movie, it is well done. The ending is somewhat puzzling. I give it 72%. I like the actors a lot in this one. The movie is somewhat too slow at times, and some sequences of filming I didn't like. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
RSilveira6Jun 1, 2020
Overrated I dislike absolutely everything about this movie, the characters, the plot and way it is told. Don't waste your time.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
DeanomiteJun 7, 2020
camerawork, photography, acting and lighting are all top notch. The script is very boring, up to 75 minutes in there are no relationships or plot points. blaaaah. High scoring reviews indicate Amazon is on top of the review as advertisement game.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
PalpetineSheevJun 14, 2020
I really enjoyed the first 40 minutes or so of this film. The dialogue was very witty and charming. The look and feel of the movie fit the time period very well, and the performances were strong overall. Unfortunately, it doesn't maintain theI really enjoyed the first 40 minutes or so of this film. The dialogue was very witty and charming. The look and feel of the movie fit the time period very well, and the performances were strong overall. Unfortunately, it doesn't maintain the momentum or intrigue that it builds up during the first half, and it ends on a bit of an predictable and unsatisfying note. But there is still enough good in here to recommend it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
ScraperAug 2, 2020
Period-correct eyeglasses and settings are all you need to stimulate critics, but the baffling absence of any point had me dumbfounded. Some of the scenes were fixed shots that lasted so long I wondered if there was anything I missed -Period-correct eyeglasses and settings are all you need to stimulate critics, but the baffling absence of any point had me dumbfounded. Some of the scenes were fixed shots that lasted so long I wondered if there was anything I missed - either from sheer boredom or the mesmerizing effect of watching someone in the same position for minutes on end. The script plods on in linear fashion, meeting a few new people along the way whom add incredibly dull monologues that never tie into the plot - a plot that was simply missing. It's like dumping air into an empty canyon. All actions and conversations amount to zero meaning or consequence. It was pretty amazing how terrible it was. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
katezoeAug 8, 2020
This was a boring film! I felt I was watching someone's school project. Do not understand the good reviews.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Mauro_LanariJun 16, 2020
(Mauro Lanari)
If you're on a ridiculous budget and want to (re)make "Close Encounters," debut with a movie like "The Blair Witch Project", add single theatrical act monologues and fixed or dynamic sequence shots, spend the little money for a
(Mauro Lanari)
If you're on a ridiculous budget and want to (re)make "Close Encounters," debut with a movie like "The Blair Witch Project", add single theatrical act monologues and fixed or dynamic sequence shots, spend the little money for a unique special effect at the end. Forget about comparisons with Spielberg, Kelly or Nolan, thanks.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
acturnerJun 5, 2020
The Vast of Night is one in a long line of low-budget sci-fi movies that relies on the viewers imagination for all the sci-fi aspects. There are no special effects. The script is straight out of a 1930's radio play. It believes itself to beThe Vast of Night is one in a long line of low-budget sci-fi movies that relies on the viewers imagination for all the sci-fi aspects. There are no special effects. The script is straight out of a 1930's radio play. It believes itself to be some form of Orson Welle's War of the Worlds, but really its just a very boring episode of Art Bell. Several people found this movie enjoyable and I don't doubt their sincerity, but I was just bored silly. The film completely failed to capture my imagination, much less my attention. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
watchingmovieMay 30, 2020
speechless!! Good cinematography best twist i love the type of that genre absolutely!!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Qbert4551May 30, 2020
Such a well written, superbly acted, well shot, excellently directed, lo-fi piece of sci-fi! Super good, two thumbs up!
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
8
NavyBeanMay 31, 2020
It is well done and interesting to watch. The set design and cinematography are sharp. It's the script that let me down. We've seen this type of story a lot and I don't think the script brought much new to the genre. Worth watching the director.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
NShep53Jun 19, 2020
A pretty amazing flick, especially for being the director's first feature. He really made $700,000 go a long way.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
JachraJun 8, 2020
This is lovely and thoughtful. Absolutely worthwhile. You feel like you're listening to the radio at night.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
Joel_FreecheckJun 4, 2020
"The Vast of Night" is certainly watchable. The pace of dialogue and character revelations is fast and snippy. The plot feels laborious though as the best moments occur either too far into the film or at the very end. Overall a solid watch if"The Vast of Night" is certainly watchable. The pace of dialogue and character revelations is fast and snippy. The plot feels laborious though as the best moments occur either too far into the film or at the very end. Overall a solid watch if you're in it for the long haul and enjoy slow burn sci-fi. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jun 7, 2020
This movie on Amazon Prime is a Twilight Zone homage about two friends (played by Sierra McCormick and Jake Horowitz) in the 50's who discover suspicious airwaves and events hitting their small town. This was an interesting film.

This is one
This movie on Amazon Prime is a Twilight Zone homage about two friends (played by Sierra McCormick and Jake Horowitz) in the 50's who discover suspicious airwaves and events hitting their small town. This was an interesting film.

This is one of those movies that is so well visually planned, including a couple inspired moments of cinematography. Vast takes place in real time. Now, this isn't a continuous-shot attempt like 1914, but the film makes use of a lot of tracking shots driving in the immediacy of the events.

For a movie made on a small budget, it looks pretty good. The sets, clothing, and vehicles all evoke the time period.

I also appreciate that although a lot of this involves scenes with a small cast (this takes place at night), the populated scenes look busy. A lot of moderately or low-budget movies these days never seem to have as many extras as they did in the 80's, making them feel less natural. This doesn't have that issue.

The dialogue too flows well. Both the rapport between the two leads and moments of unsettling exposition are so well handled. However, the dialogue can fly pretty fast at points and with most of the characters' heavy southern accents it can be hard to follow sometimes. I definitely missed lines.

Be forewarned that this may be too slow-paced for some people. Also, one may be disappointed in the ending.

I had a good time, but I admit that this may be more of an on-the-fence situation when suggesting to others. The visuals definitely work, but the plot may be more subjective.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
sicvitaJun 6, 2020
I simply refuse to watch a film with such aglaring grammatical error in it's title. For the title to make any sense it should read "The Vastness of Night" or even "The Vastity of Night" but as it appears here it makes no sense. Just pathetic,I simply refuse to watch a film with such aglaring grammatical error in it's title. For the title to make any sense it should read "The Vastness of Night" or even "The Vastity of Night" but as it appears here it makes no sense. Just pathetic, idiocracy has arrived I'm afraid. Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
7
viroodiemJul 31, 2020
7/10 It takes a long time for this slow burner to take to the skies. When it does its creepy vibe is better than a lot of recent alien horror we have gotten from movies as of late.

It was worth my time to watch. Even if I had to watch it at
7/10 It takes a long time for this slow burner to take to the skies. When it does its creepy vibe is better than a lot of recent alien horror we have gotten from movies as of late.

It was worth my time to watch. Even if I had to watch it at x1.33 speed to get through it.

Definitely one of the better Amazon based films. Especially given it had flown under the radar (no pun intended)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
zNeverSleepingJul 21, 2020
A Vastidão da Noite é uma ótima reimaginação, que aborda o tema de uma maneira diferente, autoral e aflituosa.

Uma das coisas que mais me chamaram atenção foram os diálogos. Eles, por si só, já são o suficiente para te prender na tela até o
A Vastidão da Noite é uma ótima reimaginação, que aborda o tema de uma maneira diferente, autoral e aflituosa.

Uma das coisas que mais me chamaram atenção foram os diálogos. Eles, por si só, já são o suficiente para te prender na tela até o final do longa. Eles são tão bem estruturados que causam um efeito parecido com a leitura de um livro, onde imaginamos a cena através de um conto - o que é MAGNÍFICO. A OST acrescenta muito, e a cinematografia é autoral demais. Os planos, o trackshot audacioso que nos dá a sensação de simultaneidade [ela é importante devido o contexto], a paleta de cores que ficou peculiar com a luz natural e o ISO alto nas gravações. Tudo isso acrescenta muito e ajudam a criar uma atmosfera única.

A tensão vem crescendo de acordo com que o suspense é gerado. Desde o início do filme nos perguntamos: "o que estamos vendo?" e quando as peças começam a encaixar, o clímax vai a mil. Também gosto quando o diretor brinca com nossas expectativas, como quando a carta é ignorada. Ou quando puxa um tema, mas o isola, pois não faz mais parte do presente.

Por fim, The Vast of Night é uma obra de orçamento baixo, porém com uma direção autoral que trabalha muito bem com a reimaginação de um tema muito conhecido. E não nos deixa na mão.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Stream2BigScreeJul 12, 2020
So, you want to watch a genre movie? Well, how about a good sci-fi mystery? The Vast of Night directed by Andrew Patterson may satisfy that craving. It premiered on Amazon Prime a couple weeks ago, and I caught up to this film on a night ISo, you want to watch a genre movie? Well, how about a good sci-fi mystery? The Vast of Night directed by Andrew Patterson may satisfy that craving. It premiered on Amazon Prime a couple weeks ago, and I caught up to this film on a night I wanted to be creeped out. Here’s how it turned out.

The Vast of Night is framed as an episode of a “Twilight Zone” inspired show, which immediately puts the audience in the mindset to expect the unexpected. Here, on one fateful night in a small New Mexico town in the 1950s, a local DJ, Everett, and a wide-eyed telephone operator, Faye, stumble upon a strange sound that portends mysteriousness for their town while the majority of the townspeople are at a local basketball game. Everett and Faye try to figure out what it all means and all as a sense of dread lurks around them.

The success of The Vast of Night all hinges on the harnessed ominous tone and the undercurrent of unease portrayed by the actors. Patterson does a great job of establishing dread. The camera lurks and leers behind and around Everett and Faye as they move through the town. There is constant movement by the camera and the main characters in the first third of the movie until it settles down. The world is built very effectively by the costumes and setting, which transports the audience to that time and instills that creepiness the production is trying to achieve. While the main actors are not well-known, Jake Horowitz and Sierra McCormick, who play Everett and Faye, respectively, have a great chemistry and make the fanciful believable. Horowitz, in particular, has the cadence and confidence needed to portray Everett and conveys the creepiness. Then, the pace is generally pretty good. At less than 90 minutes, the film does not waste a lot of time.

While the movie doesn’t waste much time, my main issue with The Vast of Night is that there are stretches of the dialogue that feel like long, tedious exposition. The film basically stops for 5-10 minutes at a time for side characters to tell a story about what’s about to happen. Even though the information in the dialogue is pertinent, it could have been delivered in more interesting ways – that’s one failure of the script.

Ultimately, The Vast of Night is a good way to spend about 90 minutes. The mood is on point. There is a palpable sense of dread throughout and the characters feed into it. Grab a bowl of popcorn and enjoy.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Parsifal12Jul 16, 2020
Superb writing, absolutely engrossing camera work, and a director who obviously cares deeply about his subject. Just another example of how movies don't need to cost hundreds of millions to draw you in. A splendid film.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
PiyazJul 22, 2020
Innovation in editing gives the film the most feeling, as if a story is being told on an old TV, someone is sitting behind the old TV and following the story, the screen turns black because that person closes his eyes in fear, we go to thoseInnovation in editing gives the film the most feeling, as if a story is being told on an old TV, someone is sitting behind the old TV and following the story, the screen turns black because that person closes his eyes in fear, we go to those scenes. We look at the eyes of the second person from the mobile phone, but who is the third person? Who is looking at us? This is the whole story, all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MarakaiAug 26, 2020
You’ll have heard the saying “sometimes less is more” and never has that been more true when it comes to debutant director Andrew Patterson’s impressive low-budget, sci-fi gem, The Vast Of Night. Set in a small town in 1950’s America,You’ll have heard the saying “sometimes less is more” and never has that been more true when it comes to debutant director Andrew Patterson’s impressive low-budget, sci-fi gem, The Vast Of Night. Set in a small town in 1950’s America, Patterson’s film pays homage to classic science-fiction yarns of old like The Day the Earth Stood Still and Close Encounters of the Third Kind, or tapping into Tv shows like The X-Files and (far more obviously in its opening shot) The Twilight Zone. The paranoia of this time in the U.S is evoked wonderfully and Patterson manages to do so with a meagre budget and two brilliant central performances from newcomers Jake Horowitz and Sierra McCormick. From the opening scene, it grips and only expertly builds on that momentum with some inventive directorial touches; dialogue heavy scenes are lingered on, while sweeping tracking shots give a grander overview of the small town and there’s even fade to black moments that capture the wonder (or the dangers) of the night sky surrounding the characters. This is hugely impressive filmmaking from a newcomer that plays out like a live action version of the now infamous and ill-fated Orson Welles radio broadcast of War of the Worlds that caused panic among its listeners. Patterson keeps things very simple and doesn’t rely on special effects, instead showing a confidence in his material and as much as this may irk some viewers just remember... sometimes less is more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DukeJonAug 16, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Was looking forward to this ultimately found it to be disappointing. First off, the pacing is all over the place. Starts off very slowly, with far too much dialogue and not enough explanation. The whole beginning scene at the stadium is very difficult to follow and, ultimately, of no consequence to what happens in the rest of the film. Bad audio mixing doesn't help. Then from the reveal by the caller and old lady it rushes to a conclusion. A lot of things don't make sense, why would the army and airforce not have been called in once the reports of UFOs started? Why do the two main leads spend so much time running around in the dark when they know aliens are around? I also didn't like the fact the explanations for what was going on fell into their lap; they didn't figure anything out for themselves. Once they did meet the flying saucer it looked like a car hub cap. Overall everything here has been done much better in other films such as super-8, invasion of the body snatchers and, of course, the gold-standard; close encounters of the third kind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Brent_MarchantFeb 15, 2021
I waited a long time to see this, and, now that I finally have, I can honestly say it wasn't at all worth it. This quasi-kitschy sci-fi offering exclusively from Amazon Prime is stylishly filmed with an inventive sound design, but that'sI waited a long time to see this, and, now that I finally have, I can honestly say it wasn't at all worth it. This quasi-kitschy sci-fi offering exclusively from Amazon Prime is stylishly filmed with an inventive sound design, but that's about it. The tediously long-winded monologues in which characters expound on their allegedly extraordinary experiences are far from groundbreaking and told in such painfully dull detail that they could put even hard core insomniacs to sleep. If you're interested in hearing a more compelling account about lights in the sky and alien abduction, just tune in to any episode of Coast to Coast AM radio on the subject; you'll be better rewarded there. The treatment of such material here is so ordinary and already familiar that there is absolutely nothing new, original or imaginative about it. Even the camp factor, which could have been played up for laughs to relieve the incessant boredom, is largely left on the table. How this ended up on a number of Top 10 lists for 2019 is beyond me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Cateash77Dec 12, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't be deceived by the great reviews! This is a really awful movie and I have a pretty generous threshold for this sort of thing. The dialogue is impossible to understand-might be because I'm Australian but I could not understand a word the male character said. The audio was muffled and low budget. Some interesting use of light and dark and filters but the overly long scene with the 'mysterious military man' calling into the radio station is pure torture. Barely any plot or character development. We stopped watching at the 58 minute mark. Terrible! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hnestlyontheslyAug 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Vast of Night combines elements of period nostalgia and 1960s tech to tell a riveting story about living in invisible places.

I first heard about The Vast of Night from Matthew Dessem on Slate and his review made enough of an impression that I put it in the calendar. From his review, I was expecting to watch something unsettling and weird, the way that–tease all you want, I went to see it three times in theaters–Under the Skin felt, like your skin was crawling the entire time you watched, like someone was watching you watch it the entire time, gauging your reactions. I like the way that a good UFO movie can do that, the way Personal Shopper can make ghost stories a little bit spooky and strange without a shaky camera or a jump scare. The Vast of Night tells a story worth hearing–sort of a cross between the nostalgic aesthetic of the 1960s Super 8 and Under the Skin‘s skin-crawling filmography.

The film is very simply split into four structural pieces, a single extended opening sequence with our lead man, the radio boy, Everette, and the sixteen-year-old girl, Faye, who goes to high school with him, who works that night’s shift as a phone operator for the small town in New Mexico where they live. Everette is smooth, suave. His mouth runs a mile a minute interviewing people at the big basketball game with Faye stumbling in tow, clearly mooning after him, but also charmed by his willingness to walk her all the way to her job–in what feels like a single shot. Their report is so lively and their chemistry so natural, that you hardly notice how much time has passed until she’s left alone in her booth for a moment of silence.

Faye’s facility with the board, the way it serves so nicely as an analog for the technical skill and fluency that young people these days have with their own forms of technology, is this electric bit of stageplay for the second scene. In terms of storytelling, her ability to weave in and out of conversations, to call on friends and neighbors in town, to receive scraps of calls, have conversations halt mid sentences, makes for an even more tense, even more energized moment of communication than one could imagine with a modern setting, which feels like justification enough for the period. Her call to Everette and the mysterious noise on the switchboard launches us into the third scene: Billy’s story.

Before we get there though, the camera does it’s coolest shot of the whole movie by retracing Everette and Faye’s steps from the door to the operator’s room all the way back to the high school game and out the window to the radio shack. It’s a weird, creepy scene that will make you appreciate the level of meticulous detail to the set, gives the movie a lived-in feel and a vastness that is lacking in other pieces. The way that 1917 felt like a set that–truly was–only as wide as the trench you were standing in, The Vast of Night stretches across a whole town, main street to the high school and the woods beyond.

The way that the direction leaves everything to Billy’s delivery, fading the lights in and out to black with just the sparest of questions from Everette or Faye is such a fun move narratively. Billy’s story reminds me of one of the spookiest pieces of radio I’ve ever heard was an interview that Terry Gross did with investigative reporter and war correspondent Annie Jacobsen about Area 51 awhile back. It’s easy to imagine building a movie around this one story.

The final scene is intriguing because it made some choices. We go to the house of a recluse, who tells us about how her son was abducted. We’re told to recite some lines of magical words that will trigger people who are hyper-sensitive to radio waves–but only while also in the presence of UFOs, which makes for a bone-chilling moment, but doesn’t make a lick of goddamn sense. The slapstick of running versus driving a car gets to be a little monotonous after it’s repeated use, but thankfully, our director makes a choice and sticks to it with our final few shots of the film. The decision to show the ship, in a slow reveal initiated by the ghostly lights over the forest is a throwback to Close Encounters, but at the same time, the main characters’ disappearance feels like it works as metaphor in a way that Scary Stories To Tell in the Dark didn’t quite hit the mark. Kids in a small town who should go far from this place, the old recluse tells us–the kids who have big dreams of moving to the West Coast for a radio job, who can’t imagine paying for college–suddenly disappearing, works well for Vietnam, the invisible folks like Billy, who feel like they were chosen, abducted even, by the US government because no one would miss them to begin with on account of their race. The old lady in her living room tells us, “I think they like small towns… people by themselves” and she projects onto the UFOs the power to make bad decisions, go mad, do evil, make war....
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Xenomorph_killsMay 11, 2021
A beautiful twilight zone esque film that puts its focus on making you care about the characters and create a concise story involving them. The directing of this film is outstanding as he chooses to make the most out of a little by making hisA beautiful twilight zone esque film that puts its focus on making you care about the characters and create a concise story involving them. The directing of this film is outstanding as he chooses to make the most out of a little by making his shots feel like he a veteran of the craft. The choices to build suspension with just voices make this film unique. This movie is damn near perfect sci fi film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LonsparksJan 3, 2021
Its a old school Sci-fi suspens movie. I loved the cinematography and the simplicity of the acting. There is a very enjoyable feeling of intimacy mixed with a 1950 vibes. I was with them. Its surely not a horror or action movie, it’s just aIts a old school Sci-fi suspens movie. I loved the cinematography and the simplicity of the acting. There is a very enjoyable feeling of intimacy mixed with a 1950 vibes. I was with them. Its surely not a horror or action movie, it’s just a good story with friends next to a bonfire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kevynknoxDec 15, 2020
Moody and esoteric. The cinematography is gorgeous and haunting. Reminiscent of early Chris Nolan or Aronofsky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
geewahJan 28, 2021
A beautifully shot movie that is a clever take on the U.F.O. genre, problem is doesn't keep the suspense for long enough at times.
A fine debut effort from Patterson and you'd expect bigger things are to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Merdoc1982Mar 16, 2021
Like a great twilight zone episode. The ending was a little bit of a let down. But the story and music was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpfalkMay 10, 2021
Great movie. The negative reviews are obviously from fans of Michael Bay films. The director did a great job capturing the period, the lack of technology and isolation that existed before cell phones and the internet. The movie showed justGreat movie. The negative reviews are obviously from fans of Michael Bay films. The director did a great job capturing the period, the lack of technology and isolation that existed before cell phones and the internet. The movie showed just enough of what was needed. If you want explosions and cgi, this movie is not for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews