Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2020
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
42
Mixed:
6
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
OlivierPielMar 27, 2020
This movie should be watched in the same state of mild-to-severe alcohol induced somnolence that Ben Affleck spends half of the time in it or as a replacement to a mediocre NBA game. There is nothing wrong with that. It's just not cinema, notThis movie should be watched in the same state of mild-to-severe alcohol induced somnolence that Ben Affleck spends half of the time in it or as a replacement to a mediocre NBA game. There is nothing wrong with that. It's just not cinema, not even entertainment. It's distraction. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Mauro_LanariApr 14, 2020
(Mauro Lanari)
"Ite missa est": as if suddenly Gavin O'Connor had become the 3rd of the Kendrick brothers and even the most clumsy (zoomings, slow motions, direction effects of the past millennium), and with a redemption of Ben Affleck that
(Mauro Lanari)
"Ite missa est": as if suddenly Gavin O'Connor had become the 3rd of the Kendrick brothers and even the most clumsy (zoomings, slow motions, direction effects of the past millennium), and with a redemption of Ben Affleck that would like to be taken literally, between cassocks and prayers. Weir's eponymous film from a decade ago arouses nostalgia. If the future of cinema is a serialized photocopy, I wish its lockdown ad infinitum.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Mar 14, 2020
Ben Affleck stars as an alcoholic construction worker who once had a bright future in high school basketball, but is now given a chance to redeem and prove himself once again by coaching a small underprivileged varsity basketball team at hisBen Affleck stars as an alcoholic construction worker who once had a bright future in high school basketball, but is now given a chance to redeem and prove himself once again by coaching a small underprivileged varsity basketball team at his alma mater. I went into this film thinking it would be a fairly predictable and by-the-book sports drama, but WOW was I impressed and pleasantly surprised by this one! Not only did Affleck deliver the best performance of his career yet, but the film managed to move, inspire, and even bring me to tears by the end of it! The emotion felt while watching this was so high for me, and the drama and tension throughout is portrayed and acted in such a poignant way! Overall, this is one most definitely worth watching, despite its initial appearance and marketing as just another sports drama, but also for Ben Affleck's riveting performance alone! The first truly great film I've seen this year! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
lovedog7Mar 12, 2020
Solid adult film. The story is familiar but the arc plays with your expectations some. My biggest complaint is that given the lead's drinking habits he should look a lot worse at the beginning of the movie than he does at the end. But that'sSolid adult film. The story is familiar but the arc plays with your expectations some. My biggest complaint is that given the lead's drinking habits he should look a lot worse at the beginning of the movie than he does at the end. But that's wha happens when the star is also a producer. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Mar 17, 2020
Part of me struggled thinking about this rating but ultimately I think beyond Ben Affleck's outstanding acting work; The Way Back is still a film made within the box, both formulaic and predictable.

Although those adjectives are not
Part of me struggled thinking about this rating but ultimately I think beyond Ben Affleck's outstanding acting work; The Way Back is still a film made within the box, both formulaic and predictable.

Although those adjectives are not synonymous of poor quality, it's just this story never offers surprises or feels like something different or improved.
I applaud Affleck's work because he's the one who bears the full weight of the film and his work is definitely the most powerful reason to watch it.

It's worth it, but keep in mind that this is a base drama.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Murphydh1Mar 13, 2020
This movie is the classic C+/75 It is formulaic and for the most part follows the standard sports flick outline. However, Afleck's performance is very good ,worth seeing and there are a couple of non standard twists .
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
marshallonfilm_Mar 18, 2020
“You’re nervous. I get it. The truth is, they’re more talented than you. Probably got a better coach. But I promise you, they are not a better team. Because they haven’t been through what we’ve been through. They don’t know adversity. They“You’re nervous. I get it. The truth is, they’re more talented than you. Probably got a better coach. But I promise you, they are not a better team. Because they haven’t been through what we’ve been through. They don’t know adversity. They don’t know what it’s like to get knocked down and have to get back up again. They don’t know what it is to fight.“ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
theredskyMar 12, 2020
I’m not a big fan of sports movies because they are all the same. The first half of The Way Back is like your standard sports movie. You got the bad team that fights with others and each other and is trained by a coach looking for redemption.I’m not a big fan of sports movies because they are all the same. The first half of The Way Back is like your standard sports movie. You got the bad team that fights with others and each other and is trained by a coach looking for redemption. They start to get better and win more games. They go to the big game and win. That all happens in the movie in the first half, but the second half is truly special because it’s realistic and human. It takes a different turn for a sports drama and I loved it. It made sense for Ben Affleck’s character and the choices he made. It was emotionally powerful and uplifting. This was kind of a personal performance for Ben Affleck. He has struggled with alcohol for a long time and recently went to rehab for it. It doesn’t feel like Affleck is acting, in a good way. His performance is fantastic and is, so far, my favorite performance of the year. He was able to convey so much emotion and harness it from his personal experiences that it was impressive. The rest of the cast does a decent job but they weren’t as developed as Ben Affleck was. They each have a character trait that defines them and that was about it. The screenplay was pretty good. It isn’t best of the year level but it was a lot better than the other films I have seen this year. I didn’t take a lot of issue with some of the other technical aspects but I did have an issue with the cinematography. The camera was always shaking. I don’t remember a single steady shot. It made sense for the basketball game sequences but not for any normal scenes. It also felt amateurish at points. There is a scene that takes place at lunch and the camera zooms in on Ben Affleck but it shifts position halfway through as if the cinematographer forgot to set the shot in frame. The editing was perfectly fine and the score by Rob Simonsen was good and helped add some emotion to different sequences and scenes. Overall, The Way Back may have a cliched first half with some below average cinematography but the second halves dive away from sport movie cliches along with Ben Affleck’s fantastic performance makes this movie worth watching. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
fiftywordreviewMar 10, 2020
The Way Back may be the most predictable and formulaic sports movie in the history of sports movies, but strong characters and a powerhouse performance from Ben Affleck manage to mostly hide its faults. For fans of the actor and the genre,The Way Back may be the most predictable and formulaic sports movie in the history of sports movies, but strong characters and a powerhouse performance from Ben Affleck manage to mostly hide its faults. For fans of the actor and the genre, this film should hit all the right notes. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
DDRhonMar 9, 2020
Ben Affleck’s performance was superb!
Dramatic film with substance and emotion.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Mar 7, 2020
I'm a huge fan of Gavin O'Conner, ever since Warrior I think he's done fantastic work and i think this is just another example of that. It's not your typical sports movie like a Coach Carter or Gridiron Gang so the trailers can be a bitI'm a huge fan of Gavin O'Conner, ever since Warrior I think he's done fantastic work and i think this is just another example of that. It's not your typical sports movie like a Coach Carter or Gridiron Gang so the trailers can be a bit deceiving. Affleck, in his second collaboration with O'Conner after The Accountant gives an incredibly real and reserved performance. This is a very good film Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
GreatMartinMar 10, 2020
"The Way Back" is the kind of movie people are talking about when they say 'They don't make them the way they used to' (without the cursing!)

Jack Cunningham (Ben Affleck) was the star of his basketball team in high school but now is an
"The Way Back" is the kind of movie people are talking about when they say 'They don't make them the way they used to' (without the cursing!)

Jack Cunningham (Ben Affleck) was the star of his basketball team in high school but now is an alcoholic who never met his promise afterward. He is a construction worker who drinks vodka from a thermos on the job, stops at the bar on the way home, has a beer in the shower and goes through a case during an evening at home.

For no reason that I could understand he is offered the job of head coach at his former high school where the team has been a loser in the 2 decades since he played there. Of course, there is(n't) a solid reason the assistant coach can't take over the position except to help Cunningham redeem himself.

What happens from this point on should be known to anyone who has watched movies, oh say, the last 20 years so I'll leave that alone.

This movie is a cut above others like it because of a smart script by Brad Ingelsby matched by the direction by Gavin O'Connor and the photography of Eduard Grau but by another factor that won't be avoided by anyone.

Ben Afflick gives a strong performance of what is causing his pain and how he tries to stop the hurting. Is he acting or is he just playing the actor that we have read in all the news stories and Internet media? It doesn't make a difference as this is one of Afflick's best performances and raises "The Way Back" above other films in this genre.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
Jp117Mar 7, 2020
He really is the worst Batman and he can’t even play a simple basketball coach..... sad the guy simply can’t act only people seeing this is his Snyder cut buddies anyway garbage film.
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 10, 2020
"Formulaic" is actually not a word I'd pin to director Gavin O'Connor's newly released sports-drama "The Way Back." Though others may have already allowed the word to seep into the annals of public discourse surrounding this movie, I'd"Formulaic" is actually not a word I'd pin to director Gavin O'Connor's newly released sports-drama "The Way Back." Though others may have already allowed the word to seep into the annals of public discourse surrounding this movie, I'd contend there's so much about this film that rails against the typical formula associated with the "sports movie" sub-genre. The entire conceit of the movie -- namely -- revolves around you wanting the protagonist to get better and heal as a human being, not necessarily win basketball games. Yes, you do root for the team, and all of the sporting-related action is expertly handled by O'Connor, but once the movie gets going, you realize what's actually at stake. You don't really care as much to see these kids go the distance and win it all. You care more to see them grow, and for the protagonist to be potentially rehabilitated as a result. Of course, not all things work out this way, and the film handles this brilliantly, particularly with its commentary on alcoholism and trauma, and ending which really caught me by surprise. Affleck is incredible, allowing an eerily resonant wave of self-referentiality to wash over every bit of turmoil his character has to face. The emotionality is really quite affecting. Even the score is appropriately moving and melancholy. This is a dark, deep and effective project overall, and though it's not O'Connor's best work, I'd say I'm far from regretting watching it. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
Thigpen84Mar 8, 2020
This may he my favorite Basketball movie ever, I love the music I love the low key acting by Affleck and I love that they didnt do too much in game footage since after all it is about his struggles and not so much about the game.
I highly
This may he my favorite Basketball movie ever, I love the music I love the low key acting by Affleck and I love that they didnt do too much in game footage since after all it is about his struggles and not so much about the game.
I highly recommend to anyone that has a heart for uplifting broken men movies like "Crazy Heart or "Wrestler" and even the directors earlier movie "Warrior"
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
AsclepiusMar 9, 2020
I wasn't expecting to like this one as much as I did. I expected it to be cliche. I expected it to be a sports movie. It was neither, and was instead a very worthy look at pain and alcoholism. The performances were excellent in this movie,I wasn't expecting to like this one as much as I did. I expected it to be cliche. I expected it to be a sports movie. It was neither, and was instead a very worthy look at pain and alcoholism. The performances were excellent in this movie, and I can't help but appreciate it in totality. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
zmgalen2000Mar 30, 2020
"The Way Back" prefaces itself as a stereotypical docudrama with a predictable ending, yet the story is nothing of the sorts. A fictional film, "The Way Back," starring Ben Affleck, tells the heartbreaking story of an alcoholic coping with"The Way Back" prefaces itself as a stereotypical docudrama with a predictable ending, yet the story is nothing of the sorts. A fictional film, "The Way Back," starring Ben Affleck, tells the heartbreaking story of an alcoholic coping with recovery amid coaching a basketball team. Though the film is truly entertaining, it has a bit of an abrupt ending, leaving too much unanswered. That being said, the film is a great choice for your next family movie night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SidLawMay 7, 2020
It wasn't something I've never seen, but it had a solid script and solid performances. Overall I enjoyed watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AWESOM-0May 14, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a very good movie and Ben Affleck gives a great performance. I like that they didn't end it where it seemed to be the end and they put in that last part. It made it much more real and emotionally powerful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
Current Movie Releases
By MetascoreBy User Score