Amazon Studios | Release Date: October 9, 2020
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 56 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
10
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
bertobellamyFeb 20, 2021
The poetic approach makes 'Time' a fine documentary, but the protagonist's cause may be questionable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesApr 26, 2021
Well-shot and beautifully scored, the film lacks the narrative heft to be anything more than empty calories. What happened to their third accomplice? Why does the film not mention that they turned down a plea deal and went to go jurors’Well-shot and beautifully scored, the film lacks the narrative heft to be anything more than empty calories. What happened to their third accomplice? Why does the film not mention that they turned down a plea deal and went to go jurors’ homes? There are hundreds of people who were wronged by our prison system, but this ain’t one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
XerbyAug 7, 2021
Весь фильм вертится вокруг того, что как же сложно семье жить без отца, который, ну подумаешь, попытался совершить вооружённое ограбление банка вместе с женой и братом. И полтора часа фильм пытается убедить зрителя, что сажать в тюрьму заВесь фильм вертится вокруг того, что как же сложно семье жить без отца, который, ну подумаешь, попытался совершить вооружённое ограбление банка вместе с женой и братом. И полтора часа фильм пытается убедить зрителя, что сажать в тюрьму за преступления - расизм. И что сам факт тюрем - расизм. Потому что чёрные чаще совершают преступления, а значит чаще сидят, а значит вся тюремная система сделана чтобы издеваться над чёрными... Такое вот кино. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryOct 13, 2020
In the early 90s, Fox Rich and her husband robbed a credit union. She got out of jail after a few years, while he was sentenced for 60 years. This documentary is primarily a profile of Fox and her resilience, determination and love whileIn the early 90s, Fox Rich and her husband robbed a credit union. She got out of jail after a few years, while he was sentenced for 60 years. This documentary is primarily a profile of Fox and her resilience, determination and love while raising 6 sons and struggling for her husband’s release. With the exception of her sons, almost nobody else is interviewed or featured. Luckily for the director, Fox shot her own video that helped chronicle her fight and her family. The filmmaker shot additional footage that expands her process. While the camera lingers on Fox’s face for much of the film, we seldom get much insight into her feelings (she only cries once). Also, much of the chronology and details of the circumstances are omitted, making it hard to follow. Despite the heart-breaking situation of this woman and her family, the film feels objective and never achieves a strong emotional effect that the story should engender. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
DazerDec 5, 2020
This movie moved me to write my first review here. It wasn't perfect, yet I still felt compelled to give it 10 stars as it is so unique and special. It moved me to tears for the first time in ages. The final product, despite some minor flaws,This movie moved me to write my first review here. It wasn't perfect, yet I still felt compelled to give it 10 stars as it is so unique and special. It moved me to tears for the first time in ages. The final product, despite some minor flaws, is so powerful. Ignore the holy than thou negative reviews. They are from moralistic people who have no heart for human suffering and/or for people of color. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
j1trainApr 13, 2021
Racists tanking the score of a beautiful Black story yet again. It’s a simple, heartbreaking, inspiring portrait of an American family. Watch it.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
stskottyOct 16, 2020
For all of the couch critics giving this 1 star then boiling it down to a slogan (do the crime do the time) it must be nice to judge from from a perch of privilege. You missed the point. But I guess if you've never had to consider what youFor all of the couch critics giving this 1 star then boiling it down to a slogan (do the crime do the time) it must be nice to judge from from a perch of privilege. You missed the point. But I guess if you've never had to consider what you might do in a situation you'll never in a million years be in the very thought of wearing those shoes is impossible. I think of the young men who've raped women but had a family who could afford a well connected attorney. The fact that our prisons are for profit not only for the corporations but the state may be something that doesn't interest you because it doesn't affect you. But if you took the time to watch this Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
marioinspaceOct 14, 2020
This movie glosses over the serious crime these people committed, in which they put people in danger. It's treated as a minor indiscretion when it's actually very extreme behavior that most people with a conscience and concern for othersThis movie glosses over the serious crime these people committed, in which they put people in danger. It's treated as a minor indiscretion when it's actually very extreme behavior that most people with a conscience and concern for others could never do. There were plenty of other options, but this couple choose the path of evil. Why not make a film showing the resilience of victims of crime who have to rebuild their lives after having them destroyed by sociopaths? Those are the people who truly demand our sympathy and respect. Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
0
NolanAsterOct 11, 2020
Do the crime do the time. Period. The woman gets no sympathy and should be serving the 60 years with her boyfriend.
9 of 29 users found this helpful920
All this user's reviews
0
CellariusMackOct 16, 2020
Zero objectivity and constant grandstanding in this one sided look of how people who have children they cannot afford should somehow be above the law.
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeJan 25, 2021
The Oscar front runner Best Documentary of 2020, winner of many critics association and without doubt a heartbreaking and joyous documentary! Again, we see the ugly face and truth of American racism. All these "0" reviews....
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
grapesnacksOct 27, 2020
They committed an armed robbery, threatening people's lives, to get the money to start a hip hop clothing store. 60 years is a long sentence, it should have been 20 years or so. He definitely deserved to go to jail, and so did his wife. ThisThey committed an armed robbery, threatening people's lives, to get the money to start a hip hop clothing store. 60 years is a long sentence, it should have been 20 years or so. He definitely deserved to go to jail, and so did his wife. This documentary lacks objectivity. It pulls on the heartstrings, trying to create sympathy for the subjects, but it ignores the seriousness of what they did. It also promotes, without scrutiny, the insane leftist idea of prison abolition. Expand
3 of 16 users found this helpful313
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantMar 31, 2021
Is it a statement about the cruelty and indignities of the prison system? A love story of spouses separated by a jail sentence? A family's struggle for survival with an absent father? Well, it's some of all of these things, but the finishedIs it a statement about the cruelty and indignities of the prison system? A love story of spouses separated by a jail sentence? A family's struggle for survival with an absent father? Well, it's some of all of these things, but the finished product fails to come together coherently into a cohesive whole. It's pointed, outspoken criticism is limited to a few noteworthy passionate outbursts, one of the picture's genuine strengths. It's up-close portrait of a family burdened is well-intentioned but weighed down by an excess of archival home movies and a jumbled mix of contemporary footage presented with little explanation, back story or context. And, in between, the sequences are linked by segments consisting of beautiful but pointless art house cinematography and long, lingering emotive shots, neither of which adds much other than presenting images that are pleasing to the eye. Director Garrett Bradley's latest has garnered considerable praise, as well as an Oscar nomination for best documentary feature, but, unfortunately, whatever the driving intention is here, it doesn't come through as clearly as it might have. Better editing and a sharper focus would have helped immensely, taking what assets the film does have and making them resonate more viscerally with the viewing audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NexogeosApr 17, 2021
SI bien admiro mucho la historia que se está contando, no puedo mentir que me dejo bastante frío, no es porque no me importe lo que están viendo, sino porque encuentro que nunca nos muestran cómo sufren realmente, nunca vemos que siente elSI bien admiro mucho la historia que se está contando, no puedo mentir que me dejo bastante frío, no es porque no me importe lo que están viendo, sino porque encuentro que nunca nos muestran cómo sufren realmente, nunca vemos que siente el padre al no poder ver crecer a sus hijos, nunca vemos a estos sentir algo por crecer sin un padre y no vemos cómo la madre se tiene que enfrentar al hecho de que tiene que criar a sus hijos sola por 18 años, esto perfectamente uno lo puede inferir pero les falto mostrarnos esos momentos de debilidad, tiene una gran fotografía, una protagonista muy carismática he de decir y la sustancia suficiente para no sentirla manipuladora, pero es la falta de esos ganchos emocionales lo que me dejaron algo indiferente hacia la obra. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews