Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 1962
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 87 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
5
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
CrazerGDec 13, 2019
This and the book have the same problem and it hurts me to see so many like this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingAug 12, 2019
Retaining the core elements of its source material, “To Kill A Mockingbird” is a successful adaptation all around. On its own, it stands tall thanks to the powerful court scene, its accurate depiction of childhood, and its terrific acting,Retaining the core elements of its source material, “To Kill A Mockingbird” is a successful adaptation all around. On its own, it stands tall thanks to the powerful court scene, its accurate depiction of childhood, and its terrific acting, especially by Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kyle20ellisMar 14, 2022
To start with, the book is absolutely wonderful with great characters and a moving story. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of the best adaptations of a book, it is not only faithful to the source material but it almost improves on it. Do I haveTo start with, the book is absolutely wonderful with great characters and a moving story. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of the best adaptations of a book, it is not only faithful to the source material but it almost improves on it. Do I have any criticisms? Not really, other than to say that the film is a tad overlong for my liking. But it is a brilliant film, with a beautifully crafted story that still maintains the emotional punch of the book about a lawyer in the Deep South and the effect of the rape trial on his children. The film is beautifully shot, the whole film is incredible to watch, and the score is sensitive. The script is effective and sticks closely to the book, and the direction from Robert Mulligan is very impressive. The acting is really good, I have read that Henry Fonda would have been better for Atticus Finch, although Fonda was a great actor, Gregory Peck does give a superb and career-best performance in this film. And he is very well supported by an excellent Robert Duvall as disturbed Boo Radley, while Mary Badham and Phillip Alford are very well-cast as the children. Overall, a wonderful and faithful adaptation and just an excellent film really. 9.5/10 Bethany Cox Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Aug 14, 2019
Based upon literary opus of Harper Lee, the quest for justice of a idealist advocate in the Depression age, in the prejudiced south of US, through the eyes of the innocence of childhood. Gregory Peck in one his essential performances. A mustBased upon literary opus of Harper Lee, the quest for justice of a idealist advocate in the Depression age, in the prejudiced south of US, through the eyes of the innocence of childhood. Gregory Peck in one his essential performances. A must to see before you die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
kayhamedMar 14, 2018
This movie has been made in a high quality but not for today, for its time. we have more progressed & brighter minds in 21st century & we will never see movies, songs or any social platforms implying issues like the one in this film, thisThis movie has been made in a high quality but not for today, for its time. we have more progressed & brighter minds in 21st century & we will never see movies, songs or any social platforms implying issues like the one in this film, this way; we've got more insight about it now. So I found it expired, too direct & boring as a consequence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lobosalvaje2012Feb 28, 2019
To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) can be considered a true work of art, because in it, you can see excellent photography, good lighting, a very good script and a first casting. I envy those who in 1962 could appreciate this jewel in cinemas,To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) can be considered a true work of art, because in it, you can see excellent photography, good lighting, a very good script and a first casting. I envy those who in 1962 could appreciate this jewel in cinemas, because certainly, it is a film that address different issues, including racism, poverty, justice, morals, transports us to our childhood making us children again in clothes of Jem, Scout and Dill, transporting us to our younger years, and confirming that good triumphs over evil. Undoubtedly, To Kill a Mockingbird (1962), becomes one of my favorite movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ElephantEricNov 5, 2019
Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch is one of the greatest performances of all time. This character alone is enough to make this filma masterpiece. The remainder of the film is great. Good pacing, acting, and cinematography make this film great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
geewahJan 21, 2021
The adaption of one of the most famous books ever written, is nothing short of exceptional.
The casting of Peck as Atticus Finch is perfect, The script is as tight as the book and it's impact as profound.
Must see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AJ_13Apr 17, 2022
Even being a completely different to what I was expecting, cimented in a ahead-of-its-time script and nice performances, To Kill a Mockingbird got me glued to the screen for 2 hours (that felt like 20 minutes). I enjoyed the court relatedEven being a completely different to what I was expecting, cimented in a ahead-of-its-time script and nice performances, To Kill a Mockingbird got me glued to the screen for 2 hours (that felt like 20 minutes). I enjoyed the court related plot but I was marvelled by the kids' adventures and their interactions with the society surrounding them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
davemelbourne58Apr 12, 2021
Great storytelling. Great cast. Timeless movie. I wish I had given this movie an earlier chance when I was younger. Humans acting on their emotions and fears from the Depression 30's still rings true today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews