Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: February 13, 2009
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 97 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
6
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
bcoolFeb 21, 2012
One of the most beautiful love dramas in the recent years with great performances of an actors playing grown up but emotionally immature characters.some people are dismissing this film by saying that these characters act like teenagers butOne of the most beautiful love dramas in the recent years with great performances of an actors playing grown up but emotionally immature characters.some people are dismissing this film by saying that these characters act like teenagers but that's exactly what makes this film stand out,cause people like this do exist. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RachelLFeb 16, 2009
This movie is clearly a character piece [sorry action fans], but the soft melancholy hits your soul with a dramatic punch. It is effortless to become ensnared by this realistic love story as Phoenix's performance is so painstakingly This movie is clearly a character piece [sorry action fans], but the soft melancholy hits your soul with a dramatic punch. It is effortless to become ensnared by this realistic love story as Phoenix's performance is so painstakingly fantastic - also a strong supporting cast, particularly Isabella Rossellini. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RudyM.Feb 19, 2009
Simply wonderful, the best movie of the decade since Lost In Translation.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MasterOMay 4, 2009
Gorgeous and affecting movie. The only reason I could knock it is because it's tough to believe that two women would fall all over themselves for a thirty-something dry-cleaning heir who lives with his parents-- but I guess that is one Gorgeous and affecting movie. The only reason I could knock it is because it's tough to believe that two women would fall all over themselves for a thirty-something dry-cleaning heir who lives with his parents-- but I guess that is one of those "he's Juaquin Phoenix, he's hot enough to make it happen" moments. Great movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
KPSep 24, 2009
This movie was ok at best. Phoenix was solid as always. But I think it was the worst I've seen from Paltrow in a long while. I just found her character totally unbelievable...not sure if it was her acting or the writing. maybe both. IThis movie was ok at best. Phoenix was solid as always. But I think it was the worst I've seen from Paltrow in a long while. I just found her character totally unbelievable...not sure if it was her acting or the writing. maybe both. I just didn't buy it. Even though the film did it's best to put a new spin on the "love triangle" theme, it still felt cliche to me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BecquerMFeb 20, 2009
I could not help but become engrossed in James Gray
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EdwardKMar 13, 2009
Good performances could not save what Siskel and Ebert used to call "the idiot plot": If one of the main characters ever failed to act like an idiot, there would be no plot. I found it depressing to watch the three main characters make one Good performances could not save what Siskel and Ebert used to call "the idiot plot": If one of the main characters ever failed to act like an idiot, there would be no plot. I found it depressing to watch the three main characters make one bad decision after another. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
avatar16May 25, 2012
Avec Two Lovers, James Gray étonne. Déjà par le fait qu'il s'attaque à une banale histoire d'amour après trois films où règnent la violence (LittleAvec Two Lovers, James Gray étonne. Déjà par le fait qu'il s'attaque à une banale histoire d'amour après trois films où règnent la violence (Little Odessa, The Yards, La nuit nous appartient). Et puis, Two Lovers n'est pas un film romantique comme les autres. Il est même bien loin de la surdose de bons sentiments, de chansons et de belles couleurs typiques de Hollywood. En effet, ici, tout semble noir et cruel (magnifiques jeux de lumières qui offrent une certaine ambiance), accentuant ainsi des détails méconnus à ce genre (tentative de suicide, fausse couche...). On ressent le mal qu'éprouvent les personnages à aimer. D'ailleurs, il faut féliciter leur performance à chacun, dévoilant leurs émotions avec tant de finesse et de crédibilité. Un grand bravo à Joaquin Phoenix, bluffant, et Gwyneth Paltrow, dans un de ses meilleurs rôles. On pourrait regretter que le final s'en arrête là (pas de spoile !). Mais on ne peut rester indifférent face à la puissance qui se dégage de Two Lovers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ScraperFeb 7, 2017
As much as I liked the acting and the look of this movie, common sense kept me at arms length. The obsessive, love-struck male, as sure as steel and the stars that shine, is as painful to watch on screen as it is to witness in real life. AtAs much as I liked the acting and the look of this movie, common sense kept me at arms length. The obsessive, love-struck male, as sure as steel and the stars that shine, is as painful to watch on screen as it is to witness in real life. At no point could I get on board with the Leonard's foolish decisions in these modern times - drawing out at length what is obvious doom. That is what derailed this otherwise warm and sincere project. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kathytreeceApr 1, 2017
Romance, drama with a twist at the end. I felt apprehension throughout the film as the disfunctional main character makes mistakes in his choices. I like the ending. Available through Overdrive with my libary card.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeSep 17, 2018
hilarious and calculatively ambiguous..

Two Lovers Two Lovers is a character driven romantic drama about a reserved guy who falls in love for two girls and is cornered in a morale conflict that he is definitely not ready for. It is
hilarious and calculatively ambiguous..

Two Lovers

Two Lovers is a character driven romantic drama about a reserved guy who falls in love for two girls and is cornered in a morale conflict that he is definitely not ready for. It is surprisingly flat out hilarious and not forcibly imputed by any whatsoever eerie verbal sparrings but tiny notions that it is brimmed with and mostly relies upon the stunning performances by the cast. The weaving of the structure is smooth and utterly congruent to the tone of the feature where one may not be able to easily filter out the either one. The background score is almost non-existent with decent cinematography and editing where the only thing that stands out on technical aspects is camera work that captures the apt tone and theme of the feature. As it starts aging on screen the web of deceptions and lies grows wide and spirals out which is done with equal passion that may be appropriate but may not be as gripping and appealing to the viewers as the rest of the material does. Phoenix is pure magic on screen, and its purity is reflected on his extraction of the character from the written words and his investment that he implies on each frame of his portrayal, what an actor. His range is from being hilarious and goofy to itensed writhing performance that leaves you in an awe of it and this time he is supported by brilliant Rossellini and Paltrow. The pragmatic conversation that are both hilarious and calculatively ambiguous that keeps the crisp alive, the three dimensional characters around which the bubble revolves around and Phoenix at the heart of it are the high points of the feature. Gray's finesse on execution has always been its gem that it relies upon and as always it pays off. Two Lovers is a convoluted take on simplistic terms and emotions that it fuels itself on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews