Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: February 13, 2009
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 97 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
6
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
bcoolFeb 21, 2012
One of the most beautiful love dramas in the recent years with great performances of an actors playing grown up but emotionally immature characters.some people are dismissing this film by saying that these characters act like teenagers butOne of the most beautiful love dramas in the recent years with great performances of an actors playing grown up but emotionally immature characters.some people are dismissing this film by saying that these characters act like teenagers but that's exactly what makes this film stand out,cause people like this do exist. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RachelLFeb 16, 2009
This movie is clearly a character piece [sorry action fans], but the soft melancholy hits your soul with a dramatic punch. It is effortless to become ensnared by this realistic love story as Phoenix's performance is so painstakingly This movie is clearly a character piece [sorry action fans], but the soft melancholy hits your soul with a dramatic punch. It is effortless to become ensnared by this realistic love story as Phoenix's performance is so painstakingly fantastic - also a strong supporting cast, particularly Isabella Rossellini. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RudyM.Feb 19, 2009
Simply wonderful, the best movie of the decade since Lost In Translation.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MasterOMay 4, 2009
Gorgeous and affecting movie. The only reason I could knock it is because it's tough to believe that two women would fall all over themselves for a thirty-something dry-cleaning heir who lives with his parents-- but I guess that is one Gorgeous and affecting movie. The only reason I could knock it is because it's tough to believe that two women would fall all over themselves for a thirty-something dry-cleaning heir who lives with his parents-- but I guess that is one of those "he's Juaquin Phoenix, he's hot enough to make it happen" moments. Great movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BecquerMFeb 20, 2009
I could not help but become engrossed in James Gray
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
avatar16May 25, 2012
Avec Two Lovers, James Gray étonne. Déjà par le fait qu'il s'attaque à une banale histoire d'amour après trois films où règnent la violence (LittleAvec Two Lovers, James Gray étonne. Déjà par le fait qu'il s'attaque à une banale histoire d'amour après trois films où règnent la violence (Little Odessa, The Yards, La nuit nous appartient). Et puis, Two Lovers n'est pas un film romantique comme les autres. Il est même bien loin de la surdose de bons sentiments, de chansons et de belles couleurs typiques de Hollywood. En effet, ici, tout semble noir et cruel (magnifiques jeux de lumières qui offrent une certaine ambiance), accentuant ainsi des détails méconnus à ce genre (tentative de suicide, fausse couche...). On ressent le mal qu'éprouvent les personnages à aimer. D'ailleurs, il faut féliciter leur performance à chacun, dévoilant leurs émotions avec tant de finesse et de crédibilité. Un grand bravo à Joaquin Phoenix, bluffant, et Gwyneth Paltrow, dans un de ses meilleurs rôles. On pourrait regretter que le final s'en arrête là (pas de spoile !). Mais on ne peut rester indifférent face à la puissance qui se dégage de Two Lovers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kathytreeceApr 1, 2017
Romance, drama with a twist at the end. I felt apprehension throughout the film as the disfunctional main character makes mistakes in his choices. I like the ending. Available through Overdrive with my libary card.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews