A24 | Release Date: December 13, 2019
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 192 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
124
Mixed:
24
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
RiffrafJan 5, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing good to say about this predictable, not believable, one dimensional overwrought poorly-acted unlikeable story about unlikable characters. I have never walked out of a film before it was over. I’m glad I stayed just so I could see these **** get shot in the face. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
AnonymousMouseJan 12, 2020
Not only was the acting filled with zero range & the whole film consisted of all characters
SHOUTING lines....
A good indicator this was going to be delivered a pure piece of crap.... Was the artistic opening scene of a COLONOSCOPY. That told
Not only was the acting filled with zero range & the whole film consisted of all characters
SHOUTING lines....
A good indicator this was going to be delivered a pure piece of crap....
Was the artistic opening scene of a COLONOSCOPY. That told you everything you needed to know. Either Sandler needs to look for better writers with better character development, or he should stick to his forte of comedy.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
GimbuJan 15, 2020
This was Just a lot of caos, drama, and shouting, drawn out for over two hours..In my opinion definitely not Adams best
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
matisyahuDec 24, 2019
Not going to lie - not sure how this movie got an 89 from the critics. It's an unpleasant movie, as it's pretty hard to cheer for a degenerate gambler who continues to dig himself into bigger holes. Almost plays out like a PSA for gamblersNot going to lie - not sure how this movie got an 89 from the critics. It's an unpleasant movie, as it's pretty hard to cheer for a degenerate gambler who continues to dig himself into bigger holes. Almost plays out like a PSA for gamblers anonymous. Not sure what the hype is with these Safdieh brothers, they have a tendency to rip off elements from Brian De Palma, including over the top synths/ominous music over situations that don't really deserve the degree of tension they're trying to create. The protagonist is such a victim of his own making, however, that you don't really feel much sympathy for him which in turn makes the stakes pretty low. Sandler's dynamic with his stripper mistress felt like a cliché ripoff from a lot of other movies I have seen previously. Spike Lee's, "The 25th Hour" is a much better film with similar themes, yet is much more watchable. There's one scene in particular (no spoiler) where it just oozes of Sandler angling for that GG/Oscar nomination and lacks authenticity in terms of how the film progresses. Kevin Garnett doesn't bring much in terms of humorous dialogue or real acting chops, either. There were very few laughs in my theater, as well. Critics will drink the Safdieh juice and Sandler playing a more serious character, but I predict there will be a gap in terms of how audiences respond. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
1
genuinerealistDec 24, 2019
Don't let the critical lemmings fool you. This is a BAD movie. It has one of the worst soundtracks I have ever heard. Voiceovers were a hallmark of Robert Altman - but this is nothing BUT voiceovers. There isn't a single likeable character,Don't let the critical lemmings fool you. This is a BAD movie. It has one of the worst soundtracks I have ever heard. Voiceovers were a hallmark of Robert Altman - but this is nothing BUT voiceovers. There isn't a single likeable character, or a single positive moment. There are no jokes, or wit, or lightness. The movie is all noise and motion, and devoid of life. Expand
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
0
mark7787654Dec 28, 2019
Forgetting who stared or who directed this movie it was Terrible! We got up and left after an hour and fifteen minutes of loud obnoxious yelling, horrible music, filthy language that went on and on. We both gave this film the "worst movieForgetting who stared or who directed this movie it was Terrible! We got up and left after an hour and fifteen minutes of loud obnoxious yelling, horrible music, filthy language that went on and on. We both gave this film the "worst movie of the year" award and we see a lot of movies during a year. Where is the story? There was none. We couldn't find one character in this film that was even remotely likeable. Very SAD film making for sure. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
lukelewisDec 30, 2019
This movie is a social experiment that tests the human threshold of suffering.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
GreatMartinJan 3, 2020
I am so glad I saw "Uncut Gems" as my first movie in 2002 for the following reasons:
1) I know I have seen the worst movie I will see this year
2) I know this will be the loudest/nosiest movie this year with A) Most of the actors shouting
I am so glad I saw "Uncut Gems" as my first movie in 2002 for the following reasons:
1) I know I have seen the worst movie I will see this year
2) I know this will be the loudest/nosiest movie this year with A) Most of the actors shouting through 95% of the movie B) It will be the movie with the most curse words C) The soundtrack, whether needed or not, will be one of the loudest D) It will be the most stereotypical movie of the year regarding New Yorkers, Jews and/or Blacks. E) It will be my shortest review of the year! F) It helped me make up my mind to NOT have to go to a movie every Friday and G) I will walk out of a bad movie! Always trying to be positive I am glad to have seen Idina Menzel in a movie even though her role was negligible and being unfamiliar with Julia Fox she did make her second oldest role in movies--the other woman--noticeable. Last, but not least, I will say there is a lot of favorable talk about Adam Sandler's performance but it hasn't changed my mind about his lack of talent!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
Rising_DoughJan 1, 2020
One note performance, and basically one thematic idea, repeated over and over again. Completely lacking in dark humor, due in part to the fact there were no likable or sympathetic characters. Sandler may be a good actor, but he certainlyOne note performance, and basically one thematic idea, repeated over and over again. Completely lacking in dark humor, due in part to the fact there were no likable or sympathetic characters. Sandler may be a good actor, but he certainly wasn't able to demonstrate it with this character and this direction. If you like watching Adam Sandler frenetically shout for two and a half hours, then this is the movie for you. Just bring ear plugs. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
FilmreactiviewJan 8, 2020
Unfaltering Tempo Set to Full Blast

1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MarkndogsJan 3, 2020
Also sucked in by the overwhelmingly positive critical response only to leave feeling duped, foolish, and bewildered. How could this unrelenting barrage of pointless vitriol pass itself off as redeemable in any form? The story and charactersAlso sucked in by the overwhelmingly positive critical response only to leave feeling duped, foolish, and bewildered. How could this unrelenting barrage of pointless vitriol pass itself off as redeemable in any form? The story and characters were completely undeveloped and it was a horrid portrayal of both black and Jewish culture. A disturbing (for just how bad it was) waste of time and money. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielDec 27, 2019
Was this movie made by someone on cocaine -I mean aside Sandler-? After 20 min in, I had to pause. Even a kid with acute ADHD would think Sandler needs to calm down. This is insanity...that so many people call this cinema, yet alone give thisWas this movie made by someone on cocaine -I mean aside Sandler-? After 20 min in, I had to pause. Even a kid with acute ADHD would think Sandler needs to calm down. This is insanity...that so many people call this cinema, yet alone give this nonsense a 90 score! Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
2
shoulderoforionDec 17, 2019
Just like the last Safdie brothers movie I tried to watch GOODTIME, I had to turn this off within it's first hour. I don't know if this is a new style of moviemaking but I can't deal with a loud incongruous musical score laying so heavilyJust like the last Safdie brothers movie I tried to watch GOODTIME, I had to turn this off within it's first hour. I don't know if this is a new style of moviemaking but I can't deal with a loud incongruous musical score laying so heavily over loud fast talking/shouting dialogue, it makes my brain crazy. Guess I'm getting old, don't know. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
3
DaflabearDec 26, 2019
It is a waste of celluloid. I cannot believe this is getting some much favorable ink. The ending is absurd, but then again so is this entire mess of a movie. It is completely absurd that this character has a successful business in spite ofIt is a waste of celluloid. I cannot believe this is getting some much favorable ink. The ending is absurd, but then again so is this entire mess of a movie. It is completely absurd that this character has a successful business in spite of his insane gambling habits. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
waynegirlDec 27, 2019
We have never walked out of a movie before this one. The characters were all annoying, the plot non-existent, and a constant barrage of profanity, all for no reason at all. This isn't a crime thriller, so don't get sucked in. EveryoneWe have never walked out of a movie before this one. The characters were all annoying, the plot non-existent, and a constant barrage of profanity, all for no reason at all. This isn't a crime thriller, so don't get sucked in. Everyone looks bad in this movie so prepare to be offended. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
1
TyphoonLouDec 25, 2019
Probably the most STRESSFUL movie for my wife and I to watch in our entire adult life. Poorly written story line filled with constant yelling and swearing. So bad we had to walk out half way through the movie. We love Adam as an actor butProbably the most STRESSFUL movie for my wife and I to watch in our entire adult life. Poorly written story line filled with constant yelling and swearing. So bad we had to walk out half way through the movie. We love Adam as an actor but this movie was too ghetto even for him. Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
2
CMCDec 26, 2019
Very unpleasant movie with Sandler the only attraction. I was with my wife so I laid low but I would have walked out otherwise. The filmmaking is heavy-handed, with really obnoxious aggressive sound. Most of the anxiety that you read in theVery unpleasant movie with Sandler the only attraction. I was with my wife so I laid low but I would have walked out otherwise. The filmmaking is heavy-handed, with really obnoxious aggressive sound. Most of the anxiety that you read in the various User reviews is being strapped into a theater seat while being bombarded with aggressive sound and quick shots. Really, you can miss this one. See the trailer, you will get to enjoy Sandler as much as you can there, and then devote the rest of your 135 minutes to something more edifying. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
GabrielnLADec 17, 2019
I wanted to see Bombshell, my friend didn't want to watch a movie where Megyn Kelly is a victim, so we went to Uncut Gems instead. "It's supposed to be one of the best movies of the year," my friend said. And sure enough, the reviews areI wanted to see Bombshell, my friend didn't want to watch a movie where Megyn Kelly is a victim, so we went to Uncut Gems instead. "It's supposed to be one of the best movies of the year," my friend said. And sure enough, the reviews are mostly glowing. And yet...I left the theater with a headache when it was over. As a story, it's...kind of interesting? As a character piece...it's not very interesting? And as a cinematic experience...it's mostly annoying. Sandler is absolutely believable as an idiot unable to help himself (and by help himself, I mean stop himself from making one bad decision after another). There's no character development, though, and every supporting character is just a caricature of a human being. I don't think I've ever been to a movie where every character on screen spends the majority of the time screaming and yelling at each other this much. Half the time, if somebody on screen would have just shut the hell up for a second, maybe they'd have been able to resolve the current conflict. And those conflicts just kept coming; as did the yelling. (I kind of want someone to watch this film just to count the number of "F*cks" in this movie. It's literally every other word out of Sandler's mouth; and I mean "literally" as the dictionary defines it, not how millennials use it.)
Sandler starts at 11 here (well, technically he starts the film unconscious in a doctor's office) and just stays there. There's one moment of nuance, of self-reflection by his character, where he realizes he's just one giant messed up idiot, but it lasts for about a minute, and then he goes right back to his factory default settings.
When Indina Menzel's character (she plays Sandler's wife) says something like, "I'd be happy never seeing you again," I thought, "Same." I couldn't wait for all the yelling to stop.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
neach52Dec 28, 2019
My friend wanted to see this movie and asked me to go along. We walked out with about 45 minutes left of the movie.
I just wanted to tell Sandler's character to Shut the f*** up. The continually loud music and characters all talking at the
My friend wanted to see this movie and asked me to go along. We walked out with about 45 minutes left of the movie.
I just wanted to tell Sandler's character to Shut the f*** up. The continually loud music and characters all talking at the same time was grating, and I felt like chasing cars and chewing on tires. I did not find it compelling or even remotely interesting. I found it predicatable and mind numbing.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
MovieTurtleDec 30, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the opening sequence and giant red herring of a first shot of our protagonist to the closing fade this movie is very much like our main man Howard, talks loudly but has no substance whatsoever.

The movie follows a jewelry dealer Howard Ratner in an exploration of his life as he continues to wreck it with his own destructive and vice-driven actions. He is constantly running afoul of people that has borrowed money from and lost when betting on various basketball games. This comes up so many times that it really drives home the point that he's running out of places to go and eventually starts doing this to his own family and with more dangerous loan sharks that start to bite back now that they realize he's not paying people back Beyond the gambling addiction and theft, we get some insight into his ruined marriage with 3 kids while he's living in an apartment with his side girl. We even get a gross scene of their sexting and cut-to-black on them having sex.
Now Howard himself is a loud-mouthed arrogant pushy con-man who can't seem to con anyone and just comes across as a parody of every terrible reality show bratt in the last decade, but without any charisma at all.

There is no sympathy for this character and no other characters to sympathize with. There is no adversity for him to overcome as it all originates from his own poor actions.

The ending even seems fitting. He gets lucky enough to win big and it just isn't big enough to matter.

Seeing other reviews of this have people talking about anxiety inducing masterpiece. I didn't feel anxious at any point and don't think I felt anything beyond disgust this entire movie. I honestly feel like I should have walked out and would have been better off having just skipped this one.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
rizwanaalviJan 1, 2020
wonderfully awful, crap movie! Don't waste your hard earned dollars on this garbage movie! Dumbest movie of the year and hated it!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
pjs623Dec 31, 2019
This movie was horrible. We left the theater after less than an hour. I've seen the word frenetic used in other reviews and that describes this movie to a T. Nothing in the plot grabbed my attention and none of the characters were likableThis movie was horrible. We left the theater after less than an hour. I've seen the word frenetic used in other reviews and that describes this movie to a T. Nothing in the plot grabbed my attention and none of the characters were likable enough for me to care about what was happening. I'm not a prude but the F word being used constantly got very annoying--couldn't the script writer write anything more interesting for the characters to say? Don't waste your money on this! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
AndrewinPSDec 28, 2019
This movie sucked so bad - do NOT waste your time! The acting is horrible - There is no dialogue, just a whole lotta noise.
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
0
E_OstrowskiDec 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Would’ve been better off giving my $10.25 to a homeless person. The best scene of the movie was when Sandler got shot in the head at the end. This movie was so bad that I needed to go to the bar after to drink away the pain. I have never seen a worse movie in my life. I am giving myself an indefinite suspension from any movie theaters because if I step in one, I will be reminded of the unhealthy horror and pain that the movie left me with. It actually felt like I was injected with AIDS. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
MarkHReviewsDec 27, 2019
Act One of “Uncut Gems” includes footage from a colonoscopy. It’s by far the most probing, thoughtful, well-paced and illuminating scene in the film.

This film was written and directed by the Safdie Brothers, the current “next big thing” in
Act One of “Uncut Gems” includes footage from a colonoscopy. It’s by far the most probing, thoughtful, well-paced and illuminating scene in the film.

This film was written and directed by the Safdie Brothers, the current “next big thing” in movie-making. Their 2017 film “Good Time” with Robert Pattinson was selected to compete for the Palme d’Or, the highest prize at Cannes. Their films have been described by “Variety” as “raucously interior inner-city films” that are “contemporary, raw and untethered.”

“Uncut Gems” has been ten years in the making. It is based on family lore told by the Safdies’ father, who worked in the diamond district of New York City. The film’s central character, Howard Ratner (Adam Sandler), is a diamond merchant and compulsive gambler doing everything he can to stay one step ahead of the debt collectors. Howard imports a blood opal from Africa in the body of a fish, he makes wildly implausible bets on NBA games, he gets locked naked in the trunk of his own car while attending his daughter’s school play, he gets thrown into a fountain. After that, the action picks up. Unfortunately, it’s all just mania in search of a purpose.

While some moviegoers may experience this film as one long adrenaline rush, for me the frantic pace and too-close hand-held cameras were simply exhausting. The film offers zero character development – Howard is apparently genetically incapable of introspection, much less learning from his incessant mistakes. In fairness, there is one moment of personal insight in Act Three. Of course, this flash of self-awareness is discarded immediately. The film’s climactic scene is shocking, but completely unearned.

We all know people like Howard – people who use baseless bravado to hide their insecurity, people who are so self-absorbed they either don’t know or don’t care about the carnage they inflict on family and friends as the lurch through life. In that sense, “Uncut Gems” is an accurate slice of life. But that doesn’t make this film insightful or profound. It just adds to our trauma as we’re forced to observe the fast-moving train wreck. The dialogue is staggering in its self-indulgence. If the f-bombs were removed, the running time would be about 20 minutes. The profanity isn’t shocking or offensive, just monotonous.

My guess is that this is one of those films that is adored by professional film critics, but will generate “Huh? What?” from a lot of regular movie-goers. If that’s the case, “Uncut Gems” almost makes me believe in populism.
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
chymeroJan 18, 2020
I felt assaulted. Worst movie I have ever suffered through. It even hurt my ears. I wanted to leave and wish I had. Nothing redeeming here. I was in a nice clean theatre but felt like I needed a shower afterwards. Seriously painful toI felt assaulted. Worst movie I have ever suffered through. It even hurt my ears. I wanted to leave and wish I had. Nothing redeeming here. I was in a nice clean theatre but felt like I needed a shower afterwards. Seriously painful to watch. AVOID IT even when it comes out on Netflix. It is TOXIC. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
JamesdyoDec 28, 2019
Edgy and raw and totally lacking any kind of heart or humanity. You feel kind of bad for the guy at the end, but then they cut to the KG press conference and then to outer space none of it amounts to anything.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
2
Jason_bJan 3, 2020
Overhyped A24 hipster-bait. Totally annoying, meandering plot. Its pretentious style barely hides the emotionless storyline. Eccentricity pleases critics for some reason. I think they’re out of their minds.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
OmachucaJan 8, 2020
This movie had awful editing. There was not plot. I’d say definitely skip it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews