A24 | Release Date: December 13, 2019
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 192 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
124
Mixed:
24
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
moviewagsJan 4, 2020
Adam Sandler plays his part well. While the chaotic lifestyle may be somewhat realistic it's too much to watch for two hours. Simple plot that just drags on.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Kreig415Dec 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wanted to like this movie. I really did. But I came out feeling a bit ill. The frenetic trailer proved a proper foreshadowing: it was like they extended the same pacing over the entire film. As a result it becomes hard to get to know or even like any of the characters and there was a resultant stock quality to many of them, with no real tension between them provided by the story. It skates too cleanly over the main character's gambling addiction and Kevin Garnett's role is almost inscrutable as a character goes; we end up with stereotypes. The tension which exists is generated in the hyperactive cinematography and editing and it leaves you feeling more and more like the end of the film couldn't come too soon... but when it does its nonsensical... it "wraps things up" but very unsatisfyingly. There's just not much of a payoff for your 2 1/2 hours. In sum, I'd sit this one out and wait till it's available to stream. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
Unfounded_prodDec 21, 2019
Nice story, big performance from the unexpected Adam Sandler BUT this movie is a big disappointment when it s time to close the book. It goes into a narrative facility and destroy itself.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
Temujin1206Dec 13, 2019
Had high expectations but ultimately walked out slightly disappointed.

Great performance by Sandler and there were some brilliant moments but overall it’s a schizophrenic, overly intense, poorly paced feature with a character that is hard to
Had high expectations but ultimately walked out slightly disappointed.

Great performance by Sandler and there were some brilliant moments but overall it’s a schizophrenic, overly intense, poorly paced feature with a character that is hard to cheer for. I couldn’t stand the soundtrack, yes, it was deliberately aggressive to convey the hyper state of mind of Sandler’s anxious character, and yet I found it too over the top, exhausting to listen to by the end. I probably had too high expectations after Good Time.
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
4
everettDec 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sandler was terrific, but in a role that required very little more than near-constant frenetic energy - so repetitive that I barely made it through the first hour. I hung in there because of all the rave reviews, and in the end I wished I hadn't. There's too much here that's "cool" and far too little that's actually good. Did I root for this guy? Yes, by the second hour I did. But at the end, I should've cared a lot more. The rest of the characters ranged from stereotypes to ... more stereotypes. Other than Sandler, there's little here to redeem two hours and fifteen minutes - except for this caution: Don't trust reviews, especially when it comes to opportunities for reviewers to fall all over cool directors as a way of proving how cool they are too. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesDec 13, 2019
Great work by Sandler and a few intense sequences, but ultimately some poor pacing and repetitive story beats leave you wanting more.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantDec 29, 2019
Pay no attention to the undeserved hype for this overlong and self-important offering from the Safdie Brothers (who are themselves among the most overrated filmmakers in the business today). While the picture is generally well made, itPay no attention to the undeserved hype for this overlong and self-important offering from the Safdie Brothers (who are themselves among the most overrated filmmakers in the business today). While the picture is generally well made, it nevertheless features a story line about a self-destructive character for whom it's difficult to feel any sympathy and leaves one extremely large central question unanswered, undercutting the vehicle's basic underlying viability. What's more, the narrative closely parallels the 1974 release "The Gambler," augmented by a sense of hyper-desperation not unlike the directors' 2017 offering "Good Time," a combination that's not exactly original or particularly interesting. And then there's the much-praised performance by Adam Sandler in a dramatic role, a capable but overrated portrayal that essentially consists of little more than two hours of the actor screeching F-bombs in a manner similar to his wise-ass characters in his long strong of eminently forgettable comedies. It's the kind of film that constantly frustrates the viewer and, after a while, makes one long for the ending to come. Wait for the home version -- and then only if you have nothing pressing to do. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
emkadvDec 28, 2019
I was very disappointed in this film. Based on the reviews I expected something more engaging. Basically, you spend 2+ hours watching Adam Sandler's character waste his life to support his gambling addiction. I admired his performance,I was very disappointed in this film. Based on the reviews I expected something more engaging. Basically, you spend 2+ hours watching Adam Sandler's character waste his life to support his gambling addiction. I admired his performance, which showed that he can be a real actor, but the film itself was relentlessly depressing with only a few moments of much-needed humor. One of my friends walked out after a half hour.

And, although I am not prudish about swearing, and much of it was not gratuitous, if you deleted every line from the screenplay that had a swear-word in it, you would nearly have a silent movie. That was more than seemed necessary to me.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticDec 29, 2019
I think we all have our biases towards any film with Adam Sandler's name attached to it. The reviews I read about his performance were not wrong. It's perhaps his best role in the entire decade, and the best since 'Punch Drunk Love'. AsI think we all have our biases towards any film with Adam Sandler's name attached to it. The reviews I read about his performance were not wrong. It's perhaps his best role in the entire decade, and the best since 'Punch Drunk Love'. As enthralling as he is, I find myself liking the film far less than I expected. The movies as a whole feels rushed and underdeveloped, with a one-man show surrounded by 2-D standees being mechanically moved by the directors. And the ending, which I'll refrain from spoiling, left a lot to be desired. The story wasted a lot of potential, but to its credit, it did allow Adam Sandler to showcase the talent that many of us already knew he possessed, but didn't expect from him. Aside from him, 'Uncut Gems' is meh. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
Bulletsponge69Jan 2, 2020
Super slow paced, most of the movie is Adam Sandler yelling like Bernie Sanders, maybe a few good scenes. It’s a lot of setup for no pay off.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
TerrinaMeloJan 3, 2020
Too slow, too chaotic, too loud. Wanted to leave 20 minutes into the movie but stayed because we paid
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
dbwingcoJan 10, 2020
Sandler plays the part to perfection (could easily typecast him in this role) but the frenetic pace and unrealistic scenarios made it somewhat boring. Kevin Garnett was quite a surprise but he really didn't add much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
skip65Jan 8, 2020
From the beginning we see a self-destructive guy who in all probability will come to a bad end. He’s got so many plates spinning (jewelry store, 3 kids, mistress, wife, black opal, bookie, prostate, pawned rings, creditors, auction,From the beginning we see a self-destructive guy who in all probability will come to a bad end. He’s got so many plates spinning (jewelry store, 3 kids, mistress, wife, black opal, bookie, prostate, pawned rings, creditors, auction, relatives), and we’re shown over and over that he’s completely incompetent in every area of his life and unlikely to keep any of them afloat. It’s just a question of which plate is going to fall first. We’re left to wonder how this person lacking common sense ever came to own a jewelry store in Manhattan’s prestigious diamond district or what his wife and mistress ever saw in him in the first place. This is a guy who’s willing to make huge risks to get rich quick, so I never believed for a second he would ever take the 5 months necessary to meticulously research the mining industry in Somalia and figure out how to successfully acquire that black opal. And if he is that kind of careful investor he wouldn’t just impulsively loan it out 10 minutes after it arrives! I also didn’t believe this manic reckless adrenaline junkie would ever have the presence of mind to schedule a prostate exam. His death was a forgone conclusion; the only question was how. If the Safdies wanted to really surprise us they should have given us a happy ending where all those plates remain safe due to sheer luck mixed with some previously unseen genius on Howard’s part. As for the relentless intensity, it was mostly without variation and thus felt monotonous, redundant and just noisy. Having said that, there's enough here (mostly Sandler's performance) that warrants 2.5 stars. I know there’s a barrage of critics who loved it; to each his own. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KeithDowJan 2, 2020
We had incredibly high expectations for the Safdie Brothers' follow-up to 'Good Time.' Sadly, 'Uncut Gems' fell short of the mark.

There were simply too many implausibilities and peculiar character motivations for us to ever truly buy into
We had incredibly high expectations for the Safdie Brothers' follow-up to 'Good Time.' Sadly, 'Uncut Gems' fell short of the mark.

There were simply too many implausibilities and peculiar character motivations for us to ever truly buy into the story, which kept us emotionally disconnected from the picture.

Hopefully the Safdie Brothers can rebound next time around.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
guiSkalJan 21, 2020
I hate the movie.... Just lost time.... Adam Sandler nice job.... But the history is horrible...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews