Screen Gems | Release Date: January 25, 2008
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 56 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
13
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
HakkiO.Feb 19, 2008
Great movie; correct social-criticism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.May 2, 2008
Great Movie, Great Actors, Great Story 10 of 10 Points
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredB.Jun 10, 2008
When I first saw the trailers for this movie, I was, to say the least, repulsed. My first impression was, "Oh, this will be just another boring 'torture porn' movie. Well, I was partially right. While this movie fell neatly into When I first saw the trailers for this movie, I was, to say the least, repulsed. My first impression was, "Oh, this will be just another boring 'torture porn' movie. Well, I was partially right. While this movie fell neatly into the 'torture porn' category, it was anything but boring. For the whole hour and forty-one minute length of the film, I was on the edge of my seat. Diane Lane, whose last good movie was "Unfaithful,' is excellent as Jennifer, an investigator with the FBI's cybercrimes unit. One day, she and her partner, played by Colin Hanks, stumble upon a site, where the webmaster kidnaps various people and tortures them. The more hits this website gets, the faster the victims die. At first, Jennifer treats this as just another case. That is, until someone very close to her becomes the killer's next victim. My only problem with this movie was the end. For those who have yet to see this movie, I won't spoil it. To everyone else, were you as frustrated by this as I was? Besides this one minor flaw, I gotta say, I found this to be an enjoyable, tense, well-made thriller. Pick up a copy and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DebrahA.Jan 23, 2008
Not my kind of movie but I saw it at a screening yesterday and it sucked me in and took me on a wild ride. Lane is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarbLJan 23, 2008
Good old fashioned suspense served up on the new and scariest plate of all...the wicked wide web.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenC.Jan 27, 2008
I think most of the critics were WAY off in rating this movie. It was taut, thrilling and well acted! Diane Lane still remains one of the best, most subtle actresses in Hollywood and it shows in this film. Loved the plot, and the only thing I think most of the critics were WAY off in rating this movie. It was taut, thrilling and well acted! Diane Lane still remains one of the best, most subtle actresses in Hollywood and it shows in this film. Loved the plot, and the only thing preventing me from giving it a perfect 10 was the waste of Mary Beth Hurt! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronMJan 28, 2008
I'd have to agree with the critics who gave this a 70 out of 100. I actually loved the sly social critique that this movie is as it brings about the topics of violence, TV, internet, torture-tainment. If you don't walk away with I'd have to agree with the critics who gave this a 70 out of 100. I actually loved the sly social critique that this movie is as it brings about the topics of violence, TV, internet, torture-tainment. If you don't walk away with that part of your consciousness shooting off sparks then...let's just say, you're special. Overall, Diane Lane did an excellent job, the movie told a solid story, and though it may have a fast resolution, it's engaging through and through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonO.Feb 7, 2008
I thought the movie was way better than I thought it was going to be. I think the movie is really interesting to watch and it really goes at a good pace. The movie gets an 8 out of 10 because it was actually worth the $9.50 unlike some I thought the movie was way better than I thought it was going to be. I think the movie is really interesting to watch and it really goes at a good pace. The movie gets an 8 out of 10 because it was actually worth the $9.50 unlike some movies that are just better to wait for on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
justinm.Dec 29, 2008
Thrilling, great acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jan 25, 2008
What does "Untraceable", this seemingly disposable thriller have in common with "Sunset Boulevard"? Like the Billy Wilder masterpiece, "Untraceable" is unafraid to unleash an excorciating critique on the modus operandi of "The Dream What does "Untraceable", this seemingly disposable thriller have in common with "Sunset Boulevard"? Like the Billy Wilder masterpiece, "Untraceable" is unafraid to unleash an excorciating critique on the modus operandi of "The Dream Factory"(what Hollywood was dubbed during the Studio Era). It's not 1950 anymore(the dream is over); we'll never see a transition in filmic mode on the scale of silent films giving way to talkies, but 2004's "Saw" was a landmark movie of sorts. That James Wan(not so wan at the box-office)-helmed shocker had the dubious distinction of ushering in the sub-genre(for both, horror & suspense/thrillers) we now call "torture porn"; defined as prolonged scenes in which people under heavy duress are made to suffer before they expire in some grisly manner that makes ordinary homicide seem passe. "Untraceable", in my mind, is a critique of this sick trend in contemporary film. Eli Roth's "Hostel" is like the "Citizen Kane" of torture porn("I Know Who Killed Me" is its "Hudson Hawk")In the Charles Brackett & Wilder screenplay, we see how talkies put silent era-film stars out of work. Likewise, torture porn makes every horror or suspense/thriller icon from Frankenstein to Jason to Hannibal Lecter seem like the Easter bunny. A thriller such as "Lady Beware", a forgettable 1987 film starring Diane Lane(who plays Jennifer in "Untraceable") looks like child's play by today's standards of staging premeditated murder. In the final scene of "Untraceable"(this is not a spoiler), Jennifer makes like Nora Desmond(Gloria Swanson) and is ready for her close-up(into a video camera). "Untraceable" fades to black. Hopefully, this is torture porn's swansong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
horcrux2007Aug 4, 2015
I love me a good crime movie, so I'm glad this one made up for the disaster that was FeardotCom that I watched yesterday. In Untraceable, FBI agent Jennifer Marsh has to hunt down a seemingly untraceable serial killer who posts live videos ofI love me a good crime movie, so I'm glad this one made up for the disaster that was FeardotCom that I watched yesterday. In Untraceable, FBI agent Jennifer Marsh has to hunt down a seemingly untraceable serial killer who posts live videos of his victims getting tortured and killed, and as more people log onto the site, the victim will be killed more quickly. Now, I don't know anything about computers and stuff like that, so I'm not sure how realistic this movie really is. I'll admit I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to that. Even if there are some huge tech flaws that flew way over my head, Untraceable did have a couple of major issues. Like many thrillers, the killer seems to be god-like; he seems to have unlimited resources and intelligence, and it would have been nice to see him stumble a few times to at least build more suspense. They also reveal the identity of the killer way too early into the plot. Anonymity would have added a layer of mystery to the film. Nevertheless, Untraceable was a very entertaining, gritty and intense thriller with an interesting moral compass; why should we watch insanely violent and gory movies like Saw, Seven or even the movie itself? It may be rather hypocritical given how violent this film is, and that moral does get a little preachy by the end of this movie. It's still some intriguing food-for-thought. You might not be completely satisfied if you want a completely coherent and terrifying thriller, but if you want a twisty, edge-of-your-seat kind of movie, Untraceable is a great way to go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews