Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 4, 2009
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 527 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
389
Mixed:
74
Negative:
64
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MegWhiteleyMar 16, 2012
One of my favorite films ever, is amazing, incedible, emotive. And the better... the cast, Anna Kendrick, Vera Farmiga, George Clooney, are amazing. The story can be sad, but the film is fantastic. Up in the Air is a classic.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 6, 2013
A great movie of a solitary life. Everything in this movie makes me sad and I find it beautiful. George Clooney is back again and he is amazing. The writing is sharp and witty with a fun story about what it's like in the modern society.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
RebeccaTApr 18, 2010
I loved this movie. Ryan's character is so much like myself. That's not the reason I love it, it's just a very well-put together film. =)
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
smijatovDec 25, 2010
A really entertaining, good film that definitely make you wonder about the American lifestyle and how good and rewarding (or unrewarding) it actually is. With great direction, screenplay and some really good performances, "Up in the Air"A really entertaining, good film that definitely make you wonder about the American lifestyle and how good and rewarding (or unrewarding) it actually is. With great direction, screenplay and some really good performances, "Up in the Air" manages to make one laugh as well as feel the desperation of Clooney's character. Definitely a film worth watching! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Jason Reitman's tale of corporate downsizing is bound to strike a chord with moviegoers in our modern recession and was released at the perfect time. However, unlike most topical films, which tend to slide into obscurity after their time inJason Reitman's tale of corporate downsizing is bound to strike a chord with moviegoers in our modern recession and was released at the perfect time. However, unlike most topical films, which tend to slide into obscurity after their time in the limelight, I feel 'Up in the Air' will be remembered as a timeless classic which can really reach out to anyone. All three leads (George Clooney, Vera Farmiga and Anna Kendrick) are breathtaking in their character roles, each carrying a sense of enigma affixed with their own goals and expectations for love and life, and as always each is compromised along the way. The relationship between Clooney and Farmiga has incredible chemistry, and Kendrick's conjunction of professionalism and idealism was handled perfectly (I smell Oscars here....) Though most of the dialogue is infused with the quick wit you can always expect from Reitman films, this movie is really one of the most devastating and heavy films of the year. It perfectly embodies the journey of middle-age angst just as 'Juno' represented the indifference of smart-ass teenagers, but like 'Juno', it may appeal more to the age group it is depicting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RONGIUSep 18, 2010
Sorry for the traslation, is mechanical.

Sense of belonging. There is a man who can rightfully share the record with the eagle winged space. This man is accustomed to "take flight". What can it mean, "take flight". Travel with your
Sorry for the traslation, is mechanical.

Sense of belonging.

There is a man who can rightfully share the record with the eagle winged space. This man is accustomed to "take flight". What can it mean, "take flight". Travel with your mind? Going straight down the stairs? Seek freedom? Or ... escape, disappear, vanish? Or maybe, and why not, a call to the enterprise? I try to proceed in an orderly and point my eye, but not random gossip on a man. This man, able to defend themselves from the threat of a nature that loves to challenge those who dream and strives to make real and concrete objects of their desire, is ready for anything. Throughout his life, sooner or later happen to face painful events. The death of a loved one, our dog, a love story ended, a financial investment bankruptcy, dismissal. Mr. Ryan is interested in layoffs. The dismissal, for the sufferer, it can cause serious, serious mental disorders. The pain caused by it, can turn into anxiety, existential closure too often, the next step and "extreme" is suicide. All these "inner beatings, mental" can be turned into disruptive forces in new psychic energy, in increasing self-esteem, desire to relive. Ryan Bingham (G. Clooney) offers his skills to those companies that have to lay off people. Travels the skies of the U.S.A. far and wide. Thousands talks "motivational" making, not to mention those covered. The plane is his first house and this house is tastefully furnished and mentally occupied with pleasure. His travels take place in a frequent flyer program of American Airlines. Its status is excellent. The goal is that at heart is to reach ten million miles. Incredible ten million miles. Many people who meet during the various movements. One of them, Alex (Vera Farmiga), fascinates him, trapping him, his travels thus become a bit 'less instrumental and a bit' more human. A relationship develops between the two. Third stage entrance. A young graduate, Natalie Keener (Anna Kendric) is supporting so vehemently, a project that allows her dismissal "from the ground" in the sense that, the unfortunate party, sitting in front of the monitor gets the sack over the internet. Ryan is forced to return home. Witnessing a demonstration and exposes all its perplexities. Miss Natalie claims that did not mind that this type of profession needs a "human linguistic semantics" and not "computerized management of human feelings." But you know, when you can save millions of dollars at the expense of the mental health ... do not think twice. Indeed, we do not think so. Ryan suggests to his boss to entrust Natalie, so will the "field" whether his theories deserve to be reviewed. Begins with Natalie unprecedented adventure, learn the rhythms and techniques of flight, initial approaches are not happy. The novel taste flyer on his body the marks they leave the informal words, without the bon-ton human relationships. The boyfriend download by SMS. I stop here to not remove the viewer the pleasure of discovery. ... The plot is nice and full bodied. Love, economic welfare, psychological and physical discomfort, maturity and youth, experience and novitiate, certainties and uncertainties, isolation and companionship, joy and sadness there is something for everyone. These themes are presented with such elegance and sobriety. Almost in a whisper. When you reach a goal achieved with sacrifice "flights" growing up. Whether this objective tell you that you have reached when you are "on" How do you feel? Ryan feels like the end of his journey? For miles routes, will add a few meters? Ulysses was a flyer, in a sense, returned to Ithaca, he finds his wife and son. Throughout his travels, he has never forgotten the ultimate goal. The return home. His house, his suffering, emotional stability. See, in conclusion, what he left. Its origins. Even Ryan there are traces of Odysseus. I think.

Welcome aboard and good trip.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
shlugalugSep 2, 2010
Generally funny, and heartwarming. Up in the Air proves to be Jason Reitman's best since Juno. George Clooney is brilliant as the cut-throat businessman being grounded by his company, while his co-stars Farmiga and Kendrick are alsoGenerally funny, and heartwarming. Up in the Air proves to be Jason Reitman's best since Juno. George Clooney is brilliant as the cut-throat businessman being grounded by his company, while his co-stars Farmiga and Kendrick are also outstanding. The story was definitely interesting and proves to be one of the best films of last year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MPVahalikSep 7, 2010
Great movie. I was really pulling for Clooney to win the Oscar but I guess Jeff Bridges finally deserved one. I was pleasantly surprised by Anna Kendrick's performance. I had no idea that anyone from Twilight could actually act but she did aGreat movie. I was really pulling for Clooney to win the Oscar but I guess Jeff Bridges finally deserved one. I was pleasantly surprised by Anna Kendrick's performance. I had no idea that anyone from Twilight could actually act but she did a great job. In a way this was a very sad but real movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
txrangersfan72Sep 19, 2010
One of the best new movies I've seen in a long time. It met all my expectations. With the charm and comedic sensibilities of Broadcast News, the brutal realism of Glengarry Glen Ross and the humanity of Planes, Trains and Automobiles, thisOne of the best new movies I've seen in a long time. It met all my expectations. With the charm and comedic sensibilities of Broadcast News, the brutal realism of Glengarry Glen Ross and the humanity of Planes, Trains and Automobiles, this movie is a must-see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
The3AcademySinsFeb 18, 2019
While not a perfect movie, Up in the Air truly left me breathless. The story of transition and isolation and facing your fears and finding a place in the world, and then the little barb of maybe it won't work out, culminates beautifully in aWhile not a perfect movie, Up in the Air truly left me breathless. The story of transition and isolation and facing your fears and finding a place in the world, and then the little barb of maybe it won't work out, culminates beautifully in a message about being yourself even in the uncertain times. Anxiety about the future also features prominently, and every moment from the first shot to the closing credits seeps with this theme. Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner's script is far and away the best aspect of this movie.

George Clooney's performance is spectacular. He is all at once charming, unflappable, sardonic, and helplessly vulnerable. Anna Kendrick and Vera Farmiga are fantastic, and a perfect supporting cast. The direction is solid, and the soundtrack, while subtle, is beautifully emotional. I don't know if everyone will appreciate this film as much as I did, but I can't recommend this quirky seriocomedy enough.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 15, 2011
What "Up in the Air" wants us to do is not to watch in boredom equipped with popcorn, but to understand the emotion and the characters the movie has to present to us.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
WerothegreatMay 21, 2011
This is one of my favorite movies. George Clooney is an amazing actor, and should have gotten the Oscar. In fact, this movie should have gotten the Oscar over the Hurt Locker. It's such a beautiful look into what love and relationshipsThis is one of my favorite movies. George Clooney is an amazing actor, and should have gotten the Oscar. In fact, this movie should have gotten the Oscar over the Hurt Locker. It's such a beautiful look into what love and relationships are, without taking a side either way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
The best part of Up in the Air isn't the excellent performances or even the pitch-perfect script, it's how real the movie is, and that comes from Reitman's careful direction.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SaraJ.Feb 4, 2010
This film was entertaining - it kept me completely engaged until the end, BUT... I was so disappointed by the ending. It felt as though the film was viewed by a 'test audience' and the George Clooney character was required to This film was entertaining - it kept me completely engaged until the end, BUT... I was so disappointed by the ending. It felt as though the film was viewed by a 'test audience' and the George Clooney character was required to suffer for disconnected lifestyle and thus became cliche. For me, it was a shame that the mid American character had to become -well... so stereotypically mid-American. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobNJan 6, 2010
Relatively few films capture the zeitgeist of an age, or even a brief moment in time. This film does. There is an existential doubt, a grim nihilism floating in the background, as well as a hope for better things present throughout this Relatively few films capture the zeitgeist of an age, or even a brief moment in time. This film does. There is an existential doubt, a grim nihilism floating in the background, as well as a hope for better things present throughout this film. How many films achieve that? Hardly any. Fantastic film that has incredible depth below the surface. It reminds me of Garden State, but for grown ups. If the film would have worked out perfectly, or happy, then it would have sucked. The fact that things are left messy, disordered, yet still hope remains for something in the future...that alone makes this a fantastic film. I don't give a flying crap about awards, or even mentioning if the actors did an amazing job...actors get paid to act...that IS their job. The question is: does the film capture something special. Answer: Yes, this film captures much that is NOW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyBFeb 8, 2010
George Clooney, thanks to an absence of his frequent irritatingly cutesy charm, gives as good a performance as he did in "The Perfect Storm." With considerable help from Vera Farmiga and Anna Hendrik, this turns out to be one of 2009's George Clooney, thanks to an absence of his frequent irritatingly cutesy charm, gives as good a performance as he did in "The Perfect Storm." With considerable help from Vera Farmiga and Anna Hendrik, this turns out to be one of 2009's better films.' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchCJan 13, 2010
This is an adult movie, watching the pains and seductions of now without blinking. It's a romance, a comedy and a tragedy, on point at every moment. The concept is straight out of the existential mindset: life is absurd, and its absence This is an adult movie, watching the pains and seductions of now without blinking. It's a romance, a comedy and a tragedy, on point at every moment. The concept is straight out of the existential mindset: life is absurd, and its absence of coherence and reliable meaning is a void at the edge of even the most upbeat moment. We see the stark, documentary-style suffering of people suddenly fired and cut loose from their moorings for no good reason, intercut with scenes of delight in the mating ritual of practiced pleasure seekers, circled by everybody's inescapable isolation and amplified by a young woman's confusion at the unspooling of values in these modern times. Contrasts: The writing is witty in the telling of somber events; penetrating observation is conveyed in the idiom of farce; an ugly business is packaged as a nimble growth industry. Clooney's acting is spotless and his luminous leading lady stays with him step for step like Ginger Rogers with Fred Astaire. The nerdy young woman who accompanies them is a full equal partner. This is sociology, philosophy and entertainment wrapped tightly together in a package you don't want to let go of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
kgmJan 16, 2010
Clooney does his role well, very well, in this enjoyable mature movie. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AhmedAJan 18, 2010
im a single man and a lot of the time at my job i have to break the bad news to clients about stuff that's really beyond my control. Makes me feel like the meat in the sandwich. looking at Clooney in this movie, it was like i was im a single man and a lot of the time at my job i have to break the bad news to clients about stuff that's really beyond my control. Makes me feel like the meat in the sandwich. looking at Clooney in this movie, it was like i was looking at myself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
markjJan 18, 2010
"Up in the Air" is a nuanced, grown-up romantic comedy that is firmly rooted in the what-is, not the make-believe. Anyone who has spent any time in an airport lounge, dined on rubber steaks in hotel restaurants, crashed another "Up in the Air" is a nuanced, grown-up romantic comedy that is firmly rooted in the what-is, not the make-believe. Anyone who has spent any time in an airport lounge, dined on rubber steaks in hotel restaurants, crashed another company's pep rally party, charged a cable movie to an expense account, kept a suitcase on the living room floor and not in the closet or been downsized will get it. George Clooney gives a superb and subtle performance that is certain to be overlooked by those handing out awards. Mark J. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SandyJan 23, 2010
Laugh-out-loud funny in places, good playing from the leads, gorgeous formailty in the photography, witty script, human characters, with an ending that, whilst a bit fuzzy, does not draw obvious conclusions. Some here obviously missed the Laugh-out-loud funny in places, good playing from the leads, gorgeous formailty in the photography, witty script, human characters, with an ending that, whilst a bit fuzzy, does not draw obvious conclusions. Some here obviously missed the point that 'traditional values' are no more preferable than 'modern life.' What matters is not marriage and family life, but 'only connect.' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesDJan 25, 2010
Up in the Air is a very realistic interpretation of reality. I find that George Clooney's character in this film was one for having an elegant way of life that few dare choose. I thought that the narration and the early part of the film Up in the Air is a very realistic interpretation of reality. I find that George Clooney's character in this film was one for having an elegant way of life that few dare choose. I thought that the narration and the early part of the film really dragged me into the narrative. The only subtle weakness is that it does drag on a bit but I thought the messages and values that the film presents are quite endearing to the purpose of life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkHJan 4, 2010
An excellent movie! Witty comedy by Clooney, Anna Kendrick plays the millenial role to a T, and Vera Farmiga's sexy character propel this movie to the heights of a streamliner. I am 27 and can appreciate the late30's/early An excellent movie! Witty comedy by Clooney, Anna Kendrick plays the millenial role to a T, and Vera Farmiga's sexy character propel this movie to the heights of a streamliner. I am 27 and can appreciate the late30's/early 40's middle age dilemma's and drama. Really enjoyed this movie, saw it twice and will buy the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenS.Jan 5, 2010
it is utterly humorous why people dislike this movie. it falls apart in the final act? this is clearly the film's defining point - where it disregards convention and presents a more believable, un-manipulated, and impacting scenario. it is utterly humorous why people dislike this movie. it falls apart in the final act? this is clearly the film's defining point - where it disregards convention and presents a more believable, un-manipulated, and impacting scenario. you want something to *happen*? oh, so like, you wanted them to hook over a montage of popular music? how about a few explosions while we're at it. clooney did the right thing by wanting to make a change in his life. unfortunately, what we want doesn't always come easy or instantaneously. "up in the air" acknowledges that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvinC.Jan 5, 2010
Such a great dramedy! Everyone who was cast was awesome. I'm in love with Anna Kendrick, the beautiful actress is going to have such a great career in the future. Clooney, Farmiga, Bateman, and Jones were just so wonderful. Jason Such a great dramedy! Everyone who was cast was awesome. I'm in love with Anna Kendrick, the beautiful actress is going to have such a great career in the future. Clooney, Farmiga, Bateman, and Jones were just so wonderful. Jason Reitman is his father's son. So satisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MrXJan 8, 2010
As someone who was in a high-stress corporate job, glued to my office blackberry, and flying around to cheesy tech conventions where I had relations with other people I kept running into at said conventions from other companies. . . . UNTIL As someone who was in a high-stress corporate job, glued to my office blackberry, and flying around to cheesy tech conventions where I had relations with other people I kept running into at said conventions from other companies. . . . UNTIL I was laid off in a massive corporate downsizing fueled by the economic downturn. . . I can tell you all that this film nails so many different aspects of a very common, yet rarely dramatized, lifestyle in ways I would never have imagined. For me, personally, the film was a very cathartic and riveting affair. It was a marvelous and moving experience. . . for ME, the guy who got a small taste of absolutely everything the movie is depicts. THAT being said, I haven't recommended it to any friends whose life experience doesn't overlap those in the film. . . . as I'd imagine the events and characters could seem a bit arbitrary, self important, cold and un-engaging if you haven't seen everything on screen play out in real life in exactly the same way. If you're going into this movie expecting lots of laughs, high-energy quirk, riveting drama, a clockwork-clever plot, or all of the above . . you'll probably hate every second. I didn't like "Brite Star", but that's mainly because I don't like Romantic Era poetry. . . . if you don't have an interest in the absurd realities of corporate downsizing and blackberries'n'powerpoint culture, then don't see a movie about it. . . no matter how much you love George Clooney. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanSFeb 1, 2010
this film has been billed as a comedy, it is not funny. It is a thought provoking, sad film. All the main characters are brilliantly portrayed, it is a great film and I was very sad that there were so few people watching it with me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.Feb 6, 2010
My pick for the best film of the year. Reitman's screenplay is easily this year's finest and the movie itself is the best acted of the year too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarolP.Feb 8, 2010
After reading these reviews, I'm realize that even less people have good taste then I thought. This movie had a fantastic underlying meaning and was very well-cast. The plot was very original as well, and my only complaint would be that After reading these reviews, I'm realize that even less people have good taste then I thought. This movie had a fantastic underlying meaning and was very well-cast. The plot was very original as well, and my only complaint would be that it was weak in certain scenes (ex. the wedding scene). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Feb 9, 2010
Let me begin by saying this movie was much better than expected. It had a slow average beginning which ramped up into almost a comedy and became much more heart felt and introspective by the end of the movie. The worst aspects of the movie Let me begin by saying this movie was much better than expected. It had a slow average beginning which ramped up into almost a comedy and became much more heart felt and introspective by the end of the movie. The worst aspects of the movie were the terribly unconvincing crying scene of his female co-worker and the incessant advertising by the hotel, air, car companies. I really wish they'd stop doing this as it vastly cheapens the movie. The best parts of the movie were a couple of funny scenes and the introspective and somewhat surprise of an ending. Don't mistake this as a feel good movie. It at times almost feels that way but in the end you can feel ultimately what Clune's character felt, loneliness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesHMar 9, 2010
What a wonderful film, great characterizations and excellent performances from everyone, especially Anna Kendrick. She was awesome. J.K. Simmons does an amazing job in a scene that is only a few minutes long.Excellent score, so well What a wonderful film, great characterizations and excellent performances from everyone, especially Anna Kendrick. She was awesome. J.K. Simmons does an amazing job in a scene that is only a few minutes long.Excellent score, so well photographed. The direction is so controlled, excellent vision of the finished product and the development of the story to that point. It is funny as well as touching, the pacing is perfect. Very memorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Mar 9, 2010
A thought provoking piece that is reflective and humorous at times. Clooney and the main characters are outstanding and have undeniable chemistry. Though the end of the film may not leave with resolve, it may leave you with loneliness and sadness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CaroleG.Dec 27, 2009
Easy to watch, especially because of Clooney, who's pitch perfect here,, although there's nothing genuine in the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NealCJan 10, 2010
Great film! Stretched believability in parts, but age has shown me that what's often unbelievable can later be explained by a lack of experience. I suspect that the people who couldn't enjoy the film are uncomfortable with the Great film! Stretched believability in parts, but age has shown me that what's often unbelievable can later be explained by a lack of experience. I suspect that the people who couldn't enjoy the film are uncomfortable with the subject matter and have their own disappointments and insecurities to deal with. If this movie brought that out, I say it's a job well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChaseMJan 12, 2010
Up In The Air was a great story. I was relieved that it did not follow a predictable story line. It's one of those movies that make you think about your own life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeG.Jan 16, 2010
What a difficult movie to grade. Everything was done "right": the performances were magnificent (though it's Anna Kendrick, not George Clooney, who delivers the best performance), the jokes were funny, and the characters and story were What a difficult movie to grade. Everything was done "right": the performances were magnificent (though it's Anna Kendrick, not George Clooney, who delivers the best performance), the jokes were funny, and the characters and story were propped up by an extremely strong script. The problem the movie had is that it delivered an interesting, compelling story in the first two thirds of the movie before falling back on conventional Hollywood narrative for the last third. For a movie this well written, you can't quite call it treacle, but for a movie that was shooting for such lofty heights, it felt like a swing and a miss. There's a lot of critical love for Up in the Air, but in the end there's something missing from this package. What starts as an intriguing look into the construct of what makes for a "good" life goes off the rails and becomes nothing more than the usual moralizing about how there is a right way and a wrong way to live. Don't be fooled by what some are calling an "unconventional" ending. The movie isn't a masterpiece because the ending insists on winners and losers instead of allowing for the gray areas that were apparent throughout most of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
xerxesJan 19, 2010
What a great film i hope it wins best picture or any other film besides avatar because that film was so average they act like its the best film of all times, my goodness up in the air is way better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AntonisZ.Jan 19, 2010
A really wonderful film, one of the best of 2009!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarsRJan 2, 2010
Near flawless movie. Clooney/Farmiga is as close to Tracey/Hepburn as one could hope for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelHJan 21, 2010
Up in the Air probably won't win the big awards but it is very poignant and in most parts beautiful meditation on mid-corporate life and as another commenter says here loneliness. The plot is beautifully constructed, the acting Up in the Air probably won't win the big awards but it is very poignant and in most parts beautiful meditation on mid-corporate life and as another commenter says here loneliness. The plot is beautifully constructed, the acting generally excellent. I have two criticisms: 1) the transitions between the serious and the comical parts of the movie were sometimes a little awkward..I feel Reitman could have given his actors better direction at these points. 2) The song "Up in the Air" that rolls at the very end of the credits should have been placed within the movie. The song is amazingly poignant and fits beautifully with the theme of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MelissaEJan 2, 2010
Very witty and wonderfully acted. Clooney never disappoints.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
B.RJan 23, 2010
Finally an intelligent movie with a star I respect delivering an engaging story that has
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
robertiJan 24, 2010
Oddly vacant, overpraised social comedy of contemporary manners.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WaldoJ.Jan 26, 2010
If you haven't seen the film and are wondering whether to trust the 83/100 critic rating or the 6.6/10 user rating, trust the critic rating in this case. The film is truly excellent: wonderful performances from the three leads, a great If you haven't seen the film and are wondering whether to trust the 83/100 critic rating or the 6.6/10 user rating, trust the critic rating in this case. The film is truly excellent: wonderful performances from the three leads, a great script, with biting dialogue, a stunningly relevant plot, and filled with witty and heartbreaking moments. Subtly moving, this great film is a must see, and is a vast improvement over director Jason Reitman's first two films, Thank You For Smoking and the overrated Juno. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SausageJan 27, 2010
Its Like a polished ping pong ball...slick and light skipping along at a great bouncy pace. Once dissected however, its filled with nothing more than forgettable air!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantP.Jan 28, 2010
A surprising amount of people didn't like this movie. After reading these reviews, it seems like these are the kind of people that don't give a damn about the meaning behind it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonM.Jan 4, 2010
I'd like to address the first user review by Agnes. First of all, critics are not "bought and paid for", whatever that even means. Some of them are, but most are truly neutral and not any more biased than the rest of us. Second, this I'd like to address the first user review by Agnes. First of all, critics are not "bought and paid for", whatever that even means. Some of them are, but most are truly neutral and not any more biased than the rest of us. Second, this was not universally panned by the "movie going public". I loved it and everyone I know who has seen it enjoyed it as well. I don't know what you saw with the casting, but I saw three of the finest performances of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexKJan 4, 2010
This is a fantastic film! the acting is great. this is the kind of movie that you can watch over and over again because it has depth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobWJan 6, 2010
Intelligent, beautifully written, provocative,,,a treat for the adult mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobAJan 6, 2010
Up in the Air is a movie about loneliness. Granted, it masks itself as a film about corporate culture, the troubled economy, and following your dream. In the end though, what makes Clooney
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasMJan 6, 2010
Absolutely incredible, one of my favorite films of the year, consistently hilarious, life affirming, and heartbreaking. Jason Reitman has crafted a film that captures our era the way Frank Capra captured his.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristianDJan 7, 2010
A great movie with great performances by the cast. Especially Clooney. It was sad at the end, but overall I think it fits the realism of the entire movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamEJan 7, 2010
The film was outstanding and a lot of the negative comments on here are outlandish. The film literally is up in the air, going over a lot of peoples heads. For those who got it, like myself, we are damn lucky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RickAJan 8, 2010
I thought it was a very good movie. It could be for the feel good ending missing it may have been lacking for some movie goers, none the less acting was very good and story line mostly good, but It was some what unique making it a "for I thought it was a very good movie. It could be for the feel good ending missing it may have been lacking for some movie goers, none the less acting was very good and story line mostly good, but It was some what unique making it a "for entertainment only movie" and that is why I go the the movies any way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
m1Feb 13, 2010
For anyone who walked out around the 30 minute mark: you have just missed a wonderful cinematic achievement. George Clooney was TERRIFIC in the role (I don't know what performance you watched when critiquing him). How this only has a For anyone who walked out around the 30 minute mark: you have just missed a wonderful cinematic achievement. George Clooney was TERRIFIC in the role (I don't know what performance you watched when critiquing him). How this only has a user average of 6.7 as of now is beyond me. AND yes, there WAS character development. The characters were built upon as the movie progressed. My favorite scene was toward the middle where the three stars enjoy a drink while bantering about love, and then crash a party. The end is arguably dispiriting. However, this is the best Academy Award contender since UP and a superior film to the entertaining but slightly overpraised Avatar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaseyS.Feb 15, 2010
To say this is the best movie of the year is to minimize what it is and what it does. There are so many good things about this movie that it is difficult to begin a list. The actors are phenomenal. The story is told in a unique (in To say this is the best movie of the year is to minimize what it is and what it does. There are so many good things about this movie that it is difficult to begin a list. The actors are phenomenal. The story is told in a unique (in today's world) voice that focuses on the effects that certain events have on the characters, not the other way around. It's hysterical, heartbreaking, and, for most professionals sitting in the audience, haunting. It's so frighteningly on point, that you will not shake the movie for months. Very powerful. Very good filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EggyGFeb 15, 2010
Perfect movie for this time of crisis. Amazingly portray in really brilliant way some of the hard issues in life. George Clooney was perfect...totally cool & charming but with depth. Great cast, music & directing. Just perfect!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianM.Feb 16, 2010
Like most movies that receive loads of critical praise, Up in the Air doesn't live up to expectations. But if you can put aside the gushing reviews and view the movie with an open mind, what you'll find is a genuinely smart and Like most movies that receive loads of critical praise, Up in the Air doesn't live up to expectations. But if you can put aside the gushing reviews and view the movie with an open mind, what you'll find is a genuinely smart and entertaining comedy that deals with a familiar theme: that life is more fulfilling when you have people that you care about to share it with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PFinlayFeb 21, 2010
A really nice film! Not trying to reinvent cinema or trying to blow up the white house, just simply telling a fantastic story and telling it well through excellent acting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.E.Feb 21, 2010
Clever film that I could easily relate to--great character development and good acting. Glad to see that "flyover" territory gets some respect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KaariJFeb 23, 2010
Excellent movie. I think those not liking it cannot relate to the flying for business. For those of us that do, this movie resonates in so many levels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomDFeb 3, 2010
Are you guys serious? This movie was effortlessly funny and dramatic without become to sentimental or ribald. The writing was smart and clever. Clooney was at his finest; Anna Kendrick was terrific as the twenty-someting out to change the Are you guys serious? This movie was effortlessly funny and dramatic without become to sentimental or ribald. The writing was smart and clever. Clooney was at his finest; Anna Kendrick was terrific as the twenty-someting out to change the world; Vera Farmiga was seductive and beautiful in her role as well. Great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaureO.Feb 6, 2010
Nice, clever, pleasant, a few tears... A good one that you may not remember in a year, but actors play well and it is well done. I recommend for a "no brainer" night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrettFeb 7, 2010
Love movies that make you look at your life. Yes the movie is smug, but the key message is 'look at your life, in how many of your favorite moments were you alone?'. If your favorite movie of the year was Transformers 2, you should Love movies that make you look at your life. Yes the movie is smug, but the key message is 'look at your life, in how many of your favorite moments were you alone?'. If your favorite movie of the year was Transformers 2, you should probably not consider seeing this, as you will deem it 'overhyped', if you on the other hand have a few brain cells, you should enjoy it in some fashion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OldyagFeb 7, 2010
How can you not say that is good? You fleas fail to see that it has got nothing to do with down sizing or Clooneys job and he doesn't have an epiphany at the end and realise that he would be happier with someone else. Its about how men How can you not say that is good? You fleas fail to see that it has got nothing to do with down sizing or Clooneys job and he doesn't have an epiphany at the end and realise that he would be happier with someone else. Its about how men have affairs with integrity whereas women do it heartlessly. If she had of said she was married, he wouldn't have cared. No moralising necessary, but she wanted to build farken snowmen and go to his sisters wedding. WHYYYYYYYY? Steve S, 'The Book of Eli' is pure dross!!! Stop going to the movies and stick your head in a bucket of sand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
eliascMar 16, 2010
'Up in the Air' is one of those multi-layered films that define good direction, great scriptwriting, and superb acting. I was amazed recently when I talked to a person who saw the film and thought it was about a corporate quest for 'Up in the Air' is one of those multi-layered films that define good direction, great scriptwriting, and superb acting. I was amazed recently when I talked to a person who saw the film and thought it was about a corporate quest for the 10 million dollar airline frequent flyer card. Here was an adult with the mind of a teen who could not see beyond surface plot lines and did not understand that the film was about a wasted life, and did not have a clue that the title 'Up in the Air' had a double meaning as well. The only fault I had with this film was after you realize what the film was really about after about 30 minutes, the coming resolutions were obvious. Or was it only I who realized that in the scene with Anna Kendrick, George Clooney, and Vera Farminga in which Vera's character talks about her goals to soothe Anna being dumped by her boyfriend, that she was really talking about herself; her real life. And as empty as George Clooney's character was, Vera Farminga's character was a whole lot worse. A great film by a director to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 23, 2009
An expression of astonishment comes across Alex's face upon learning from the horse's mouth that Ryan(George Clooney) was a jock in high school, a basketball player good enough to be immortalized in the trophy case. We're An expression of astonishment comes across Alex's face upon learning from the horse's mouth that Ryan(George Clooney) was a jock in high school, a basketball player good enough to be immortalized in the trophy case. We're amazed too, probably for the same reason as this sexy, vibrant, thirtysomething woman, who probably pegged her new friend as a loner, back in the day. But no, Ryan was part of the mainstream, which makes his current persona ever the more enigmatic. What chain of events helped turn Ryan Bingham, star point guard, into Ryan Bingham, misanthrope, a man who gets off on firing people? Natalie(Anna Kendrick), his protege, ended up in this industry due to the circumstances of her love life; she followed a boy to Omaha. Consequently, the boy dumps her, and in the film's pivotal scene, Natalie makes a spectacle of herself in the hotel lobby. When Ryan says, "It happens," he's speaking from personal experience; his profession pertains to having an axe to grind with some woman in the past. He's like a Neal LaBute protagonist: Aaron Eckhart from "In the Company of Men". Both men eviscerate people's lives as compensation for their broken hearts. Ryan, however, has a shred of humanity, which starts to grow exponentially as he consoles Natalie in a halfway sincere clinch. It forces this impersonal man to become personal. Being there for somebody in pain spells the beginning of the end for his positive outlook on living an intimacy-free life. Holding Anna, he experiences something akin to fatherhood. It's only a matter of time before he starts seeing Alex(Vera Farmiga), his friend with benefits, as wife material. Love can do that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulBruhnDec 25, 2009
Just really well done in every respect - one of the very best in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenC.Dec 5, 2009
Start with a good script, with a timely theme, add good acting and good direction and you've got a top film. Great chemistry, surprising turns and a tragicomedy worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveDec 8, 2009
Definitely one of the best of the year, Clooney and Farmiga were both fantastic. On a side note, does Keith Uhlich ever give a good review to anything!!?? Just a quick check, he gave 40 to this, An Education, Bright Star and Precious. Oh, he Definitely one of the best of the year, Clooney and Farmiga were both fantastic. On a side note, does Keith Uhlich ever give a good review to anything!!?? Just a quick check, he gave 40 to this, An Education, Bright Star and Precious. Oh, he did manage to gove Fantastic Mr.Fox a 60 though, how generous! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattK.Dec 9, 2009
The less you know about this movie before you see it, the better your experience will be. This film masterfully utilizes its assets (Clooney, its relevance, sleek presentation and somewhat unique subtext) to build up a good movie and then The less you know about this movie before you see it, the better your experience will be. This film masterfully utilizes its assets (Clooney, its relevance, sleek presentation and somewhat unique subtext) to build up a good movie and then transcend the normal parameters of its genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanEJan 18, 2010
This is really an excellent film - have seen it 3 times - and can only find one small problem with the story (it has to do with Alex - and the behavior of Player-type personalities - so I would really give the film a 9.75 grade). The film is This is really an excellent film - have seen it 3 times - and can only find one small problem with the story (it has to do with Alex - and the behavior of Player-type personalities - so I would really give the film a 9.75 grade). The film is spot-on placing the personalities within the larger context of their roles in society - and demonstrates that we have much work to do to start caring about one another again. It's funny/sad/real and makes a statement. See this film - you won't be sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaBJan 18, 2010
Best movie I have seen this year. It was awesome, real, dark, painful, and beautiful. Just like real life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbhitBJan 22, 2010
The best film I've seen in a year. The storytelling and development of George Clooney's character is truly expertly done, in a way that's both believable and emotional
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidG.Jan 27, 2010
Every thing about this movie was amazing. The things that really standout are the script and George Clooney. The script is witty and funny. It has just the right doses of comedy and realism. It is depressing and funny at the same time. Every thing about this movie was amazing. The things that really standout are the script and George Clooney. The script is witty and funny. It has just the right doses of comedy and realism. It is depressing and funny at the same time. I'm not a big fan of George Clooney, but this was his best role. He did a fantastic job. He should win the Academy Award for best Actor. He should of won the Golden Globe for acting, but was robbed because Jeff Bridges actually did a decent job at acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CollinPFeb 11, 2010
The genius of this film lies in its duality. Yes, George Clooney's character is self-centered, irresponsible and at times shallow. But he also makes many good points about how we don't all have to follow one singular path. He The genius of this film lies in its duality. Yes, George Clooney's character is self-centered, irresponsible and at times shallow. But he also makes many good points about how we don't all have to follow one singular path. He chooses to live a life different from the mainstream, and while most people (understandably) may think this is a shallow decision, he's proving that we shouldn't feel like there's only one way we can "live" this life here on earth. Not everyone wants to have kids, get married, buy a house, and live a sedentary, domesticated life. Yet, all the while throughout the film (though obviously a bit contrived) he comes to see that it's maybe he himself who is narrow-minded about the way one should live their life (and that a human connection is likely one of the most fulfilling things we can accomplish). That's why I loved this movie. It allows you to take many different messages from it, without shoving one down your throat, right down to the harshly ambiguous ending. Easily top 5 of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanAMar 23, 2010
The best film of the year. Anna Kendrick is going to be huge. She simply invigorated every one of her scenes and was unforgettable. If you really hated this film then either the subject matter has no meaning for you - astonishing given the The best film of the year. Anna Kendrick is going to be huge. She simply invigorated every one of her scenes and was unforgettable. If you really hated this film then either the subject matter has no meaning for you - astonishing given the current economy - or you have absolutely no understanding of cinema . As for the guy who left after 30 minutes and then has the gall to tell us this film was a train wreck, at least I read your entire review before I concluded that you're an idiot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewRosenthalDec 19, 2009
Movie was OK but a few trouble moments and never show why main character is the way he is
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanP.Dec 20, 2009
It' s so refreshing to go to a movie and be totally entertained the entire time on a purely adult level. No guns, no bombs, no special effects, just exceptional acting. Bravo George Clooney!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
anned.Dec 25, 2009
Couldn't be better. Clooney is natural yet complex, pacing is perfect. There isn't a weak performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielR.Dec 26, 2009
Incredible performances by the leads and deftly done cameos by a nice assortment of familiar faces. A movie that actually comes along that means something in today's day and age and isn't 1-2 years late, like all wanna-be relevant Incredible performances by the leads and deftly done cameos by a nice assortment of familiar faces. A movie that actually comes along that means something in today's day and age and isn't 1-2 years late, like all wanna-be relevant movies usually end up being. Terrific stuff - funny, sad, meaningful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesH.Dec 28, 2009
"Up In The Air" is a good film, but I don't understand all the Oscar buzz. It's not THAT good. There were moments of disbelief in the dialogue or actions of the characters for me, but they were brief and did not destroy the overall "Up In The Air" is a good film, but I don't understand all the Oscar buzz. It's not THAT good. There were moments of disbelief in the dialogue or actions of the characters for me, but they were brief and did not destroy the overall successes of the movie. All the acting is very good. The movie started a little slow then got legs and kept getting better. The ending was perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewM.Dec 4, 2009
In my opinion the best movie of the year, with Hurt Locker a very close second. I am not a huge fan of Reitman, but the writing, directing, and acting in this is incredible, not to mention the subtext of our culture, who we've become as In my opinion the best movie of the year, with Hurt Locker a very close second. I am not a huge fan of Reitman, but the writing, directing, and acting in this is incredible, not to mention the subtext of our culture, who we've become as people, and what we're doing to our uncles, aunts, fathers, and grandfathers. This film has humor, pain, joy, sadness, and moments of belief in love followed by deep existential loneliness. Amazing work, gonna see it again very soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasF.Dec 5, 2009
Beautiful, charismatic, charming, well-made, sharp-looking, era-defining, relevant, poignant, thoughtful, hard-hitting, did I mention beautiful. The scene with the wedding? That's really a killer. See it, now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
QwertyDec 8, 2009
This is a good one--almost, but not quite, in a class with The Hurt Locker. Clooney's not just a pretty face after all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EVANQ.Dec 16, 2009
Very well done and 'different' in my opinion. I thought it was very genuine with the inclusion of real people who were fired and asked to speak to the camera as if it was their boss. Great story that pulls at the hearts strings and Very well done and 'different' in my opinion. I thought it was very genuine with the inclusion of real people who were fired and asked to speak to the camera as if it was their boss. Great story that pulls at the hearts strings and makes you think about your own life with a new perspective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MathewH.Dec 17, 2009
Most together film I've seen in a while - thoughtful, funny and well-played. Clooney can be a little too smug to really relate to but he does a great job here, showing just enough cracks in his armor to be convincing. The two female Most together film I've seen in a while - thoughtful, funny and well-played. Clooney can be a little too smug to really relate to but he does a great job here, showing just enough cracks in his armor to be convincing. The two female leads hold their own against his charm, the three of them bouncing off one another with great comic timing, from a witty script. Visually it's stark, bland even sometimes, but that reflects the world these people live in. It's barely noticeable either way with the zing between the actors filling the screen. I think it might edge a little too much into sentimentality towards the end, not feeling quite so tight, but the overall effect is very enjoyable, and thought-provoking too with the topical subject matter. Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasP.Dec 21, 2009
Definitely the best movie of the year thus far. I went into the theater with pretty high expectations and actually got more than what I hoped for, the first time I can remember this happening. It's funny in a way that makes you smile Definitely the best movie of the year thus far. I went into the theater with pretty high expectations and actually got more than what I hoped for, the first time I can remember this happening. It's funny in a way that makes you smile more than laugh, it's happy, it's sad, it's emotional, unpredictable, depressing, fascinating and beautiful from one scene to the next. Worth the trip to the movies, and you'll probably be willing to pay for a second screening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaxM>Dec 24, 2009
One of my favorite movies of the year. The chemistry between the leads was proof that it is an important element. Anna Kendrick shows that she is one to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DickL.Dec 26, 2009
Best movie oscar, best actor oscar, at least!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarkCriticSep 1, 2010
Up in the Air is a wonderful film that I've just seen two times already! George Clooney is one my favorite actors of all time and one of the coolest guys ever and he did really good on his performance. Vera Farmiga & Anna Kendrick did theirUp in the Air is a wonderful film that I've just seen two times already! George Clooney is one my favorite actors of all time and one of the coolest guys ever and he did really good on his performance. Vera Farmiga & Anna Kendrick did their job really supportive and very clever. The scenes are very good like they travel away to United States with great cinematography with each shot of the clouds,cities,and course the entire cast. The story is very interesting way that you see Clooney was traveling to each airport and tells the perfect story about his life that he do all day for working on the company that he fires to everyone in their jobs. I really love this movie of all time and one of the best 2009 films ever! And one of my favorite films in my decade of 2000's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ComasiFeb 6, 2012
Up in the Air was one of the best movies of 2009. George Clooney gave a great performance and the movie was funny and heartwarming. It managed to do what most movies can't do. Feel real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
Being a minor with not much responsibility other than taking the next test or completing a major homework assignment, I have not really been affected by the downturn of the economy. I can see how other people are affected by it, but I haveBeing a minor with not much responsibility other than taking the next test or completing a major homework assignment, I have not really been affected by the downturn of the economy. I can see how other people are affected by it, but I have not really felt what it is like to lose a job, losing a home, or having no money to my name.

Jason Reitman's (director of Juno) explores the downturn of the economy through characters Ryan Bringham played by veteran George Clooney. Ryan is hired by other companies to fire workers simply because the managers do not have the "balls" to do so. Bringham experiences the fast life, traveling from city to city, only really exploring the airport and the monotonous lives of office buildings. During his ventures to airports, he meets fellow Alex Goran, Vera Farmiga, a fellow "fast-lifer" and goes into a "casual" relationship with her. Clooney is content with his life of little personal human communication until young Natalie Keener, Anna Kendrick (Twilight), tries to make Clooney's company more "efficient," threatening Clooney's lifestyle. Clooney then spends most of the film taking Keener to fire people showing her that her "developments" will ruin the basis of the job.

Up In The Air is a commendable movie. Being a fan of Juno and other "hipster" films, I immediately fell in love with the artistic shots, indie music, and funny one-liners. But unlike Juno, Reitman's film actually has meaning. It is a true representation of today's economy, focusing and conveying the "lows" of our society. Up In The Air is not a "feel-good" movie as it portrays death, loss, and love, in a very negative way. But because of this, it establishes the purpose of the film, showing life is ugly.

The cast of the movie achieves a well-acted feat. George Clooney acts in his truly apathetic character to the point of realism. Although Clooney performs an Oscar-worthy performance, his character's emotions are not consistent throughout the movie. Clooney's character goes through an emotional change, that would seem to drastic for it to be possible. Clooney's love interest, Vera Farmiga likewise plays her character to perfection without the flaws of an emotional change. Although actors Clooney and Farmiga make this film shine, Anna Kendrick's performance is less than stellar. Kendrick, known for her roles in Twilight, doesn't move beyond the teen acting she displays in the teen-vampire hit. Her character is important to the story, but I sometimes found her character to be both bothersome and somewhat annoying. Kendrick's performance got her a nomination for Best Supporting Actress for the Golden Globes which in my opinion, is not deserved. The acting in Up In The Air is great, but it contains some minor flaws that can be overlooked.

Up In The Air is a movie that I recommend to most mature movie goers. Like Jason Reitman's other directed films, it has a dark feel that leads to a good film. Young audiences will not appreciate this film, of course, due to a representation that will just "go over their heads." The final song in the credits composed by an average citizen, sums this movie up, as it brings reality to the film from a true representative. Never has a film's credits been so touching. Overall, Up In The Air is the movie that this recession will be represented by for generations to come.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
boneNov 18, 2010
The best movie of 2009. The characters and events in the film are fairly different from those in the book by Walter Kirn, but I enjoyed both. The main and supporting actors performed really well. Anna Kendrick showed how great she can be.The best movie of 2009. The characters and events in the film are fairly different from those in the book by Walter Kirn, but I enjoyed both. The main and supporting actors performed really well. Anna Kendrick showed how great she can be. Jason Reitman keeps improving as a director besting Juno, which bested Thank You For Smoking. Great satire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ProphetOfTruthNov 26, 2010
A very entertaining and intriguing story of a man and his peculiar job. I'm not sure how realistic the whole plot was but nevertheless I think the film was able to captivate the audience for the majority of the time. Some parts of the filmA very entertaining and intriguing story of a man and his peculiar job. I'm not sure how realistic the whole plot was but nevertheless I think the film was able to captivate the audience for the majority of the time. Some parts of the film was pretty humorous but other parts seemed a bit boring and pointless. Still, it was a brilliant performance by Clooney and Kendrick, other actors/actress weren't too bad either. The film generally does well to depict the story of a corporate business expert and maybe a child prodigy, which is a pretty unique experience. This is not a very fast paced film but not too slow and boring either. It is very enjoyable if you have the time to sit back and relax. Probably not suited for people with a small attention span or lack of intelligence. I'd give it 8/10 just put 10 to boost the score as it doesn't reflect how good the film is atm. :P Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJul 15, 2012
Up in the Air is a fantastic piece of existential character study. Powered by a masterful performance by George Clooney, the movie hits all the right notes before coming to a subtle yet wrenching conclusion. Excelling in all departments fromUp in the Air is a fantastic piece of existential character study. Powered by a masterful performance by George Clooney, the movie hits all the right notes before coming to a subtle yet wrenching conclusion. Excelling in all departments from directing to soundtrack, Up in the Air is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
justathoughtablDec 31, 2010
Overall I enjoyed this movie and appreciated its complex, all-is-not-black-or-white message. However, I had a few issues with it. For instance, WHO would buy into that "What's in your backpack" message? Companies want to create the illusionOverall I enjoyed this movie and appreciated its complex, all-is-not-black-or-white message. However, I had a few issues with it. For instance, WHO would buy into that "What's in your backpack" message? Companies want to create the illusion that they're warm and fuzzy families, and no one would tolerate someone who blatantly told them to fly solo. That sideline plot hit us over the head with a message that we already "got" just by observing Clooney. Also, the George Clooney character never seems lonely, sad, or depressed until he learns his lesson about the importance of having a co-pilot. The movie could have done more to make you think he KNEW was missing something in life, because he seemed quite satisfied. But as I said, it's an excellent movie, despite its flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
It is a simple and spontaneous movie, but it turns out to be deep and inspirational one. The movie directed by Jason Reitman, the young Director and the son of Ivan Reitman. Ivan Reitman known-well as a Producer and acclaimed Director,It is a simple and spontaneous movie, but it turns out to be deep and inspirational one. The movie directed by Jason Reitman, the young Director and the son of Ivan Reitman. Ivan Reitman known-well as a Producer and acclaimed Director, through his fun and pop corn movies such as: GHOSTBUSTERS (1984), KINDERGARTEN COP (1990), and EVOLUTION (2001). Flip over with his father, Jason Reitman known-well in these recent years as thoughtful and serious but enjoyable dramas like: THANK YOU FOR SMOKING (2005) and JUNO (2007). The trio Casts in thiz movie fill the characters properly. George Clooney once again shows his talent on the one man show, Clooney is one of the Actors could delivers such character with his aura. Vera Farmiga appears a little bit sexy, charming, and loveable. It is a fantastic flirtatious appearance. Anna Kendricks emerges annoying but acquired sympathy in the end, just fit well on her character. The unique story is about Ryan Bingham (Clooney) who is a frequent flyer across the states. His job is to fire people, representing his boss that did not bold enough to do it himself. Maybe for many people, thiz is a life drama movie. But personally for me, thiz is a great romantic movie with the most of scenes contain with tremendous chemistry between Clooney and Farmiga. It has been a long time I did not have such a feeling since LOST IN TRANSLATION (2003). In the end, The movie was convincing us that we need a partner in life. It is ironically played by life-time bachelor Clooney (in the real life-at least until now). Yup, maybe that is true, Everybody needs a co-pilot.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TBDOPEY22Feb 22, 2011
Good movie. It was a great display of life as some one who's always travels for there company. I think this was a good role for George Clooney and he did a great job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bottafffMar 15, 2011
Up in the air was witty and funny. It's a story about a man who doesn't realize how lonely he really his and how he changes as a person throughout the movie. Not to mention George Clooney was outstanding, he fit the role perfectly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews