Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 27, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2532 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,307
Mixed:
114
Negative:
111
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
B.W.Jul 4, 2008
A lot of people seem to share my opinion about how incredible this film was. I personally feel that this may be the best film I've ever seen. I don't see this as bashing any one group of people based on their weight (...and I love A lot of people seem to share my opinion about how incredible this film was. I personally feel that this may be the best film I've ever seen. I don't see this as bashing any one group of people based on their weight (...and I love that one person commented on how this movie would offend "fat people". Don't you think that some people might find that label offensive?). It does raise some important questions about the amount of time that we spend in front of our computer/screens these days, the lack of time that we spend playing outdoors and interacting with others face to face, and the nature of the "corporate beasts" that rule the retail market. More importantly, it's got great music, amazing graphics, and is truly endearing and hilarious. Watch this movie. And then go for a walk with family or friends. Expand
21 of 25 users found this helpful
10
GHillAug 18, 2011
An astonishing film in every way. First half a mixture of sweet poetry and heart warming romance; second half, rough satire. All sweetened with optimism. Wall-E represents hope in a world that has lost touch with connections. TheAn astonishing film in every way. First half a mixture of sweet poetry and heart warming romance; second half, rough satire. All sweetened with optimism. Wall-E represents hope in a world that has lost touch with connections. The greatest of all great Pixar films. Here's hoping there's more like this. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
WALL-E is probably their biggest gamble yet, but as always, Pixar pulls it off. There is virtually no dialogue for at least the first 15 minutes of the movie, yet the audience is suspended by the charm of a tiny little trash compacter,WALL-E is probably their biggest gamble yet, but as always, Pixar pulls it off. There is virtually no dialogue for at least the first 15 minutes of the movie, yet the audience is suspended by the charm of a tiny little trash compacter, something that is unheard of in a modern kids movie (let alone a regular movie.) The film also contains an overt environmental message that probably wouldn't have been possible a few years ago. All in all, it's not Pixar's best, but it's still an enjoyable movie and a must see for the big screen because the visual environment is absolutely gorgeous. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 12, 2011
The contrast between the landscape and life on Earth and The Axiom is overwhelmingly brilliant in a visual sense. The depiction of human life on the ship isn't forced like it so easily could've been. The sort of love story between the robotsThe contrast between the landscape and life on Earth and The Axiom is overwhelmingly brilliant in a visual sense. The depiction of human life on the ship isn't forced like it so easily could've been. The sort of love story between the robots was also really fun to watch and provided a perfect back story for the front theme of the discovery that the captain was going through. It's different and brilliant in every sense Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 29, 2011
Goes to show that you don't need characters to speak in order to make a classic. I haven't seen a robot as adorable as Wall-E since R2-D2 in the Star Wars movies.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
BelmsherAug 10, 2011
Awesome animation for adults, essentially. There were some children in the audience when I saw this and they weren't obviously getting it. Besides that and imho, best anim. movie ever.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
AnthonyT.Jul 3, 2008
The opening act had me transfixed with amazement. The cinematography and visual realization of an abandoned dystopian Earth will take your breath away. We see who is essentially a lonely child going about his futile, grinding routine, and The opening act had me transfixed with amazement. The cinematography and visual realization of an abandoned dystopian Earth will take your breath away. We see who is essentially a lonely child going about his futile, grinding routine, and his funny gags add an eerie resonance to the movie, as if he was trying to distract himself from pervasive loneliness. Sadly, after the plot starts moving and Wall Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ImUnavailableJun 27, 2011
WALL-E is a special kind of movie that is soaked in wit, a spirit of adventure and, rarest of all, sincerity. There is an innocent joy evident within this film of which theaters have not seen in quite some time. WALL-E's powerful first halfWALL-E is a special kind of movie that is soaked in wit, a spirit of adventure and, rarest of all, sincerity. There is an innocent joy evident within this film of which theaters have not seen in quite some time. WALL-E's powerful first half involves little dialogue and though some may find it boring, the movie never loses sight of where its going and what it wants to be. The second half is more standard Pixar fare but is enhanced by the attachment we grow towards WALL-E early on in the movie. This movie does not try to dazzle us with special effects or perplex us with a complex plot. The animation, though amazing, and the plot, though interesting, never overtake the characters in terms of importance. Pixar' took two significant risks with this movie: taking a slow approach to the scenes on Earth and having a largely speechless main character. Both paid off handsomely making WALL-E an affecting and enthralling classic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Aug 19, 2011
Its charming and intelligent plot is enough to make Wall-E an enjoyable experience. The lack of dialogue for almost fifty minutes it wasn't a problem but indeed a pleasure. Why do you need sounds when the visuals speak for themselves?Its charming and intelligent plot is enough to make Wall-E an enjoyable experience. The lack of dialogue for almost fifty minutes it wasn't a problem but indeed a pleasure. Why do you need sounds when the visuals speak for themselves? Besides, I was pleased by the captivating love story and environmental messages. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
A113Sep 25, 2011
It's not unusual for Pixar to make a movie that is unforgetable, flawlessly animated, and mind-blowingly beautiful; but WALL-E took Pixar awesomeness to a whole new level. Some people think that the movie is about "the dangers ofIt's not unusual for Pixar to make a movie that is unforgetable, flawlessly animated, and mind-blowingly beautiful; but WALL-E took Pixar awesomeness to a whole new level. Some people think that the movie is about "the dangers of consumerism", but Director Andrew Stanton himself said that the real main point of the movie is love, and WALL-E is one of the most powerful love stories you will ever see. The movie has really cute lovable characters, stunningly beautiful music by Thomas Newman and Peter Gabriel, subtle humor, and tons of heart, soul, and emotion expressed with very little dialogue. It may seem like a major stretch, but this movie is yet another home run for Pixar. Easily the best movie of 2008, the best movie of decade, and (in my opinion) the best movie of all time. I give this "LOVEL-E" masterpiece my highest recommendation. 10/10 (I would give it an 11 if I could). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
SEROJJul 5, 2013
The best Pixar animation yet! Wall-e is a genial masterpiece! So much action,emotions,fun,philosophy and great graphics deliver us one of the most deep animations of all-time! My score is 9/10 very close to full 10!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
JmsbppAug 5, 2013
Wall.e deja un mensaje profundo e importante para todo publico un concepto entendible y demasiado importante en la sociedad mostrandose en una tierna pelicula de Pixar
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DelindilHJul 9, 2008
I've always been a fan of the Pixar films but this easily surpassed my expectations. The characters all had personality and really came to life. It was also, as usual for a pixar film, expertly rendered.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CalebH.Nov 10, 2008
My friends can tell you I have an unhealthy habit of bringing up WALL-E in almost every conversation. Words cannot even begin to describe my love for this movie. It's a heart warming, life-appreciating, gem of a movie. Take a My friends can tell you I have an unhealthy habit of bringing up WALL-E in almost every conversation. Words cannot even begin to describe my love for this movie. It's a heart warming, life-appreciating, gem of a movie. Take a civilization that has never heard about what Earth is and what its people do and I bet you they would be amazed. WALL-E finds a way to show us a society just like that and at the same time give us a new perspective on the little things that we have. If you haven't seen WALL-E yet, go see it now. If you just can't seem to see past the idea of a robot love story, you might want to try and unscrew the blots tightly placed in your head. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KatherineSJul 6, 2008
I thought the movie was great. Very well done and suitable for all ages. I have heard some people say that they were offended that the movie made fun of "fat" people. There was nothing that pointed fingers at that. Just the mere fact that I thought the movie was great. Very well done and suitable for all ages. I have heard some people say that they were offended that the movie made fun of "fat" people. There was nothing that pointed fingers at that. Just the mere fact that thousands of years from now if we are not active and have machines do everything for us then we aren't getting exercise. So anyone who is reading the comments, ignore the bad reviews. the movie was great and I guarantee you and children of all ages will enjoy it. :) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EugeneAug 11, 2008
That movie is so funny, wonderful story. Nice movie Pixar.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LydonM.Aug 16, 2008
Amazingly different movie. Highly recommended!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarissaA.Aug 18, 2008
I've never cried so much at a movie. I think the film is relevant to nowadays and it touches people of all ages. Kids have fun and adults simply get the noble message without being preachy at all. Highly recommended!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BengT.Aug 28, 2008
With this movie and the people behind it, there's hope for planet earth!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TonyJSep 11, 2008
I loved this movie i just wish i could watch it for the first time again
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulE.Jun 24, 2008
Brilliant story telling, right at the top of the already impressive Pixar heap.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrianG.Jun 28, 2008
Took the whole family to see this movie last night and we absolutely loved it. The kids (10, 4, 2) sat mesmorized - even though there was little dialogue for the first 30 minutes. Let me just say there is a lot of prognostication in the Took the whole family to see this movie last night and we absolutely loved it. The kids (10, 4, 2) sat mesmorized - even though there was little dialogue for the first 30 minutes. Let me just say there is a lot of prognostication in the reviews about whether children will love this movie as much as adults, and I can say without a doubt YES. This is a family movie. To all of you out there without any kids who offer opinions about kids not liking this - SHUT-UP. You don't know what the heck you're talking about. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
samAug 5, 2008
I hope people saying 'Wall-E is hypocritical because it's saying big corporations are bad but there are lots of Wall-E toys.' know that Pixar makes the movie and has nothing to do with the marketing. Only disney does. Anyway, I hope people saying 'Wall-E is hypocritical because it's saying big corporations are bad but there are lots of Wall-E toys.' know that Pixar makes the movie and has nothing to do with the marketing. Only disney does. Anyway, this is easily tied for the best movie of the year in my book. It's message is obvious, but it's told in a moving, never before done way. The 2 main characters have an extraordinarily engrossing romance, and their total dialouge has about 4 different words total. The first half of the film is nearly dialouge-less. It uses its wonderous visuals to share its story. But whent the dialouge does come in, the story doesn't get any less intruiging and the visuals are even more involving. It's a film that has aspects most summer blockbusters have, but this doesn't make it any less fascinating or loveable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
mbagelyJan 3, 2011
If this was purely an art house film, the first essentially wordless half hour would be extended with no human involvement and would make a beautiful film. Alas, this is not the case and this film has to include some relevance to modern timesIf this was purely an art house film, the first essentially wordless half hour would be extended with no human involvement and would make a beautiful film. Alas, this is not the case and this film has to include some relevance to modern times and true narrative.
This film is 10/10 for me in the sections with only the robots. The sections with the humans are 6/10, which brings the score down for me.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
I was really surprised at the quality and depth of the movie. This is not your ordinary children's cartoon by any stretch of the imagination. This is a movie that Stanley Kubrick and Arthur C. Clarke would enjoy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
great entertainment, great writing, great animation, great everything.

Rating: 88%
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrCreativenameNov 12, 2010
WALL-E was purely amazing. Nothing much else to say so ill fill in the last of the words needed with. CCCCCCCCCCCOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLL MMMMMMMOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVIIIIIIIEEEEEEE!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TitaniumDragonJun 6, 2016
This movie, up to the point at which the humans show up, is one of the best dialogueless movies of all time. The humans in the movie are the weakest link - in particular, the normal ones - but the captain, the AI, Wall-E, and EVE are allThis movie, up to the point at which the humans show up, is one of the best dialogueless movies of all time. The humans in the movie are the weakest link - in particular, the normal ones - but the captain, the AI, Wall-E, and EVE are all great. There are very few animated movies which are on the level of WALL-E, and the social commentary is biting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
FortinbrasNov 20, 2010
Even though I was reeled in by the cute characters and the futuristic hi jinks, part of my mind was fixated on how the world turned to refuse and how everybody got so lazy and fat.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SlammyjFeb 3, 2011
amazing, speachless, captivating. really touching and emotional. I realy thought that this movie was one of the best animation i have ever seen in my life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ScraperJun 27, 2013
Normally, fussing over every detail when creating art can make the big picture stiff and neglected. Instead Wall-E blossoms into a masterpiece from whatever angle you look at it. Bravo.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
A vivid experience everyone should partake on no matter what age. If you can fight the grueling and passive first 10-20 minutes, you shall be rewarded.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PetrovitaJul 30, 2012
A classic disney movie. Amazing quality animation, great for kids and grownups. Loads of humor, cute moments, even thrilling. Character creation was the best, simple, yet straightforward, kept you interested for a long while thoughtout the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheOdusseusFeb 19, 2011
Ok the images are clearly amazing. But what is this story and this scenario ?! It's so boring, so useless. I just wanted to kill myself cause I couldn't endure that !
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FatalExcursionApr 20, 2011
A perfect Pixar masterpiece that appeals to the science-fiction genre, while also finding simplistic romantic tie-ins and a child-based approach that allows plenty of entertainment for adults and children alike. Even though jagged dialogue isA perfect Pixar masterpiece that appeals to the science-fiction genre, while also finding simplistic romantic tie-ins and a child-based approach that allows plenty of entertainment for adults and children alike. Even though jagged dialogue is the main communication between characters, the emotion between each of them is strong and connective. By far a standout title among Pixar's great list. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Jboy2468Nov 23, 2011
This movie was one of my favorites from Pixar. It involves an innocent little robot who has feelings for a robot named EVE (Extraterrestrial Vegetation Evaluator). I'll leave the wonderful story from there. This film proves that humans aren'tThis movie was one of my favorites from Pixar. It involves an innocent little robot who has feelings for a robot named EVE (Extraterrestrial Vegetation Evaluator). I'll leave the wonderful story from there. This film proves that humans aren't the only things with feelings, and it shows it in an awesome way. The movie gives plenty of laughs. The storyline is a little predictable, but everything else is excellent. If only I could give this a 9.5!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Kaz23Jan 5, 2012
Without a doubt, the best animated movie I've ever seen and my 2nd favourite movie of all time. I can't fault anything about it. It is entertaining for all ages. I've seen it many times and still want to watch it more. It's a heart-warmingWithout a doubt, the best animated movie I've ever seen and my 2nd favourite movie of all time. I can't fault anything about it. It is entertaining for all ages. I've seen it many times and still want to watch it more. It's a heart-warming story with a great meaning. I highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Feb 4, 2013
Wall-E is an astonishing film. The movie has barely a word spoken in the first 30 minutes but tells a story so magnificent, so touching, and so innocent it leaves you breathless. The movie injects something so rare in movies, sincerity thatWall-E is an astonishing film. The movie has barely a word spoken in the first 30 minutes but tells a story so magnificent, so touching, and so innocent it leaves you breathless. The movie injects something so rare in movies, sincerity that it might be Pixar's finest of all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GagaForGhibliMay 28, 2012
Very Cute And Amazing Movie! This Is 100% Pixars Best Movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
kane148Nov 8, 2012
Fantastic movie! As usual, Pixar knocked this one out of the ballpark. What I found really impressive was that despite the fact that the main characters are robots and don't really talk, you nonetheless come to love them and really care aboutFantastic movie! As usual, Pixar knocked this one out of the ballpark. What I found really impressive was that despite the fact that the main characters are robots and don't really talk, you nonetheless come to love them and really care about their story. Heck, they even made a **** lovable. That takes talent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JawsLaxerDramaDec 19, 2012
I give out high ratings like a greedy old man gives out money. It's rare, and films must EARN it. Comedies only get 10s if they are great movies, and I consider them classics. While there are many classics, Wall-E directed Andrew Stanton isI give out high ratings like a greedy old man gives out money. It's rare, and films must EARN it. Comedies only get 10s if they are great movies, and I consider them classics. While there are many classics, Wall-E directed Andrew Stanton is inredible. For those with a great attention span, there will be magic, and curiousity. This movie is fantastic for all ages. For a deeper diagnosis, it is filled with longing as Wall-E wants to be with Eve, and it shows through his motions. Incredible. This film is a classic in my book. It deserves it. A- Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
Wall-E is a near masterpiece for the animation genre with a great plot and special effects while having that rare emotional depth for the icing on the cake.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 3, 2016
WALL-E has captured the hearts that Pixar is still having throughout the past couple of movies. Let's just sit down and enjoy this movie right here and don't think about anything else.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
annbdApr 30, 2018
Wall-e is my favorite animation and one of the best Pixar works! You will sink into the sweet story of a little, charming robot, who falls in love and saves mankind, followed by incredible effects, characters and beautiful messages. What moreWall-e is my favorite animation and one of the best Pixar works! You will sink into the sweet story of a little, charming robot, who falls in love and saves mankind, followed by incredible effects, characters and beautiful messages. What more to ask for?! :D I really.. stand for a good 10 minutes, thinking and trying to spot some flaws, but really didn't succeeded. So watch it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
UncleWillardMar 12, 2019
Pixar at its finest. I'm a single dad and have had to sit through a ton of kids' movies. Sometimes it's a chore and others I get just as caught up in them as the kids. This is one of those cases. I never get tired of this one. Should bePixar at its finest. I'm a single dad and have had to sit through a ton of kids' movies. Sometimes it's a chore and others I get just as caught up in them as the kids. This is one of those cases. I never get tired of this one. Should be farther up the list as well, imo. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MetalMan95Sep 20, 2010
Best kids movie ive seen in years. It has a great story and amazing visuals. I loved it to no end. All ages will enjoy. if your 1 or 100, you'll enjoy
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
ArturB.Jul 4, 2008
The Best Movie of Pixar & maybe of the decade!
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
TravisHJun 30, 2008
WALL-E is a standout for all the reasons mentioned, plus one further. I quibble with the idea that it is not suitable for younger kids. No, they aren't going to get all of the 2001-Silent Running references that all the critics are WALL-E is a standout for all the reasons mentioned, plus one further. I quibble with the idea that it is not suitable for younger kids. No, they aren't going to get all of the 2001-Silent Running references that all the critics are going wild over at the age of 4, but there is plenty that is accessible to them now, and the rest will keep them coming back to it in later years with a greater and greater appreciation for the movie they enjoyed as a child. This is a movie kids can potentially never outgrow. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful
10
heyitsmegrif4Dec 23, 2011
Charming, lovable, hilarious, unique, visually beautiful, and heartfelt. WALL-E is my favorite Pixar film not counting Toy Story and is certainly the most enjoyable. I give this movie 98%.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
RaulC.Jul 20, 2008
One of the best movies of the year.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
LukeS.Jul 1, 2008
Its pretty obvious Bobb H is fat. I think anyone who is lazy and fat would feel real uncomfortable watching this. I for one thought it was a great message, and a great film.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"WALL-E" is a child's SF animation that can be simply called one of Pixar's most well made movies. The story is smooth and slick while pertaining a good appeal to the audience while containing witty humor and brazen dialogue. Its a definite"WALL-E" is a child's SF animation that can be simply called one of Pixar's most well made movies. The story is smooth and slick while pertaining a good appeal to the audience while containing witty humor and brazen dialogue. Its a definite must-watch! (PS: Don't litter, noobs) Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
DarkCriticAug 27, 2010
WALL-E is one my favorite animated films and the best Pixar film since Toy Story. WALL-E is the greatest robot that I always trust. I love the setting of the story and I love the way that they use the idea to put on this post-apocalypticWALL-E is one my favorite animated films and the best Pixar film since Toy Story. WALL-E is the greatest robot that I always trust. I love the setting of the story and I love the way that they use the idea to put on this post-apocalyptic world,when WALL-E is all by himself for 700 years ago without no people in the earth. The robot seeks another robot named EVE,with the kind of gentle ways that she's looking for the plant to come back to earth. And they both have connection to each other and they both fell in love with the ways that people do,not other robots that they could fell in love. The music gets chills in my ears and the animation is so beautiful. I love this movie and it's a masterpiece of the best animated film of the 2000's! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelDJan 9, 2011
A fantastic, unique movie that every single person of all ages should enjoy.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 30, 2011
I don't know how, but on my first time watching it, I hated this movie. However, after having seen it again, and gotten past my ignorance, I can see that WALL-E is absolutely amazing. The surprising political motivation only makes this movieI don't know how, but on my first time watching it, I hated this movie. However, after having seen it again, and gotten past my ignorance, I can see that WALL-E is absolutely amazing. The surprising political motivation only makes this movie better. The main complaint will be the lack of dialogue for the first 20 or 30 minute. I will tell you, that makes absolutely no difference. Only over hyper people with ADD who can't sit still for more then 5 minutes without talking, or impatient people will dislike that. Knowing how fantastic the rest is, get past the no talking part if you want a great movie. A fantastic film that anyone who likes good movies will want to see. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TheGorillaAug 25, 2011
Classic.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
The first half is transcendent. Although WALL-E is a robot composed of assorted metals, he is anything but lifeless. One of the most endearing characters that I know of. Honestly, movie's don't get much more heart warming than this. Pixar's best.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
BobbHJun 28, 2008
The first and last 10 minutes were good. The rest was a rehash of Robots, the Jetsons, Star Wars, and other space operas. The movie jumps the shark the moment when the dialog starts and we see the unwelcome preachy societal commentary that The first and last 10 minutes were good. The rest was a rehash of Robots, the Jetsons, Star Wars, and other space operas. The movie jumps the shark the moment when the dialog starts and we see the unwelcome preachy societal commentary that has nothing to do with the 'love' story. I rushed home and watched Ratatouille, relieved that Wall-E was at least preceded by some truly outstanding Pixar films. This one has nowhere near the multilevel appeal of the others. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
4
CR.Nov 27, 2008
So disappointed in this film after reading all the good press here. First 25 minutes are okay..then it descends into schmaltzy , corny rubbish. Worst kids movie I've seen in years. The " love " story between the robots is pathetic. My So disappointed in this film after reading all the good press here. First 25 minutes are okay..then it descends into schmaltzy , corny rubbish. Worst kids movie I've seen in years. The " love " story between the robots is pathetic. My girlfriend is still giving me a hard time about dragging us to Wall-E. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
0
MikeJun 30, 2008
Add a little "I am Legend" "Starwars" "2001 a space odyssey" and top it off with "an inconvenient truth" And thats what this movie is! It tries at everything and it fails!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
MelodyP.Jun 30, 2008
You know? I've never posted anything on a blog before in my life. But I walked out of that movie so perplexed at how Wall-e came across that I had to look up the reviews to see if I had missed something? Clearly they didn't produce You know? I've never posted anything on a blog before in my life. But I walked out of that movie so perplexed at how Wall-e came across that I had to look up the reviews to see if I had missed something? Clearly they didn't produce this to be a big money maker. That's ok. It doesn't have to be. I liked Wall-e and the other darling robot. I loved the endearing emotions between the two but twice throughout the film I looked at my husband and asked, "What do you think the producer was thinking when he made this film?" I am a 49 year old Mother of older kids but totally enjoy children's movies. I saw the previews and was anxious to see this endearing little Wall-e. But that was about all that was endearing in the film. Exactly what I saw in the previews. That's it. An endearing little character without engaging music or scenes (except for a few). I'm shaking my head in amazement? Do they think I'm going to go home and tell my friends with children they got to go see this? Probably not happening. I just don't get how everyone is raving about this? Cute but personally I've never left a movie theater so perplexed in my life? Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
5
DeafH.Jun 30, 2008
The animation is beautiful. Would have made a good short but as a full length feature it's repetitive and boring. Some young children will have a hard time sitting through this one quietly. Once the dialogue begins the movie dies. Would The animation is beautiful. Would have made a good short but as a full length feature it's repetitive and boring. Some young children will have a hard time sitting through this one quietly. Once the dialogue begins the movie dies. Would have been better left as a love story and not the sophomoric moralistic tale it morphed into. It will however, end up looking glorious on blu ray. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
5
BruceR.Feb 9, 2009
The rating the critics give this movie shows where movie reviews go wrong. Its rated as the 16th best movie of all time according to the Metacritic ratings! Its not a horrible movie but could only be seen as slightly amusing and is not in The rating the critics give this movie shows where movie reviews go wrong. Its rated as the 16th best movie of all time according to the Metacritic ratings! Its not a horrible movie but could only be seen as slightly amusing and is not in the same class as other wonderful animated movies like the Lion King, Toy Story etc. I have never had so many moralistic politically correct messages so bluntly stuffed down my throat in one movie. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful
0
MizettoSOct 13, 2008
it was a horribly boring movie. There was virtually no plot, no depth and nothing really happened either. The characters are shallow. The visuals were nice in the first 5 minutes, but then nothing interesting and new came up. Those it was a horribly boring movie. There was virtually no plot, no depth and nothing really happened either. The characters are shallow. The visuals were nice in the first 5 minutes, but then nothing interesting and new came up. Those who've seen asian CG Animation know what real virtual beauty looks like. I feel betrayed by the positive reviews. I went with two friends and we all agreed it was one of the most boring movies we'd ever seen. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
BobH.Dec 27, 2008
I had the highest of expectations for this film, since Stanton had done Nemo. All of the prior Pixar blockbusters have been structured around one or more main characters dealing with personal challenges and overcoming adversity with the help I had the highest of expectations for this film, since Stanton had done Nemo. All of the prior Pixar blockbusters have been structured around one or more main characters dealing with personal challenges and overcoming adversity with the help or resistance of other complex characters. The locations and details were the variations on the theme. The plots were complex, highly textured and detailed, and always had an abundance of the 'wow' factor. Ratatouille is the most spectacular example of Pixar's perfecting of paying attention to every detail. Now comes Wall-E which deviates from all these prior standards except for some of the starting animation, and regresses back to an earlier era of animation such as 2-dimensional when the Barcalounger scenes kick in. It also drops its successful formula of the brilliant ensemble pieces with compelling characters, to constructing a left-leaning political manifesto overlaid with a bland romance between a couple of droids who can do slapstick and vaudeville. Those raters giving this film a 10 have clearly not paid much attention to the detail of its predecessors, but are jumping on the political bandwagon which is admirable if you're attending An Inconvenient Truth. But it is completely out of Pixar character and a betrayal of the public's expectations to sneak an unamusing, pompous, boring political message into what should have been a true-to-form Pixar film. Those that rated Wall-E a 10 not only seem to agree in general with its political message, but they actually think this tripe belongs and FITS within a Pixar film. Rather, it destroyed the pacing and the film. These ratings and commentaries are reminiscent of positions taken during the recent election. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
BKJul 15, 2008
WOW, the movie was completely boring. Sure WALLE is kinda cute but the plot was completely predictable, the characters barely say anything and the beginning is really 40 minutes of nothing and than you lose interested in the film. It's WOW, the movie was completely boring. Sure WALLE is kinda cute but the plot was completely predictable, the characters barely say anything and the beginning is really 40 minutes of nothing and than you lose interested in the film. It's one of the worst films I've ever scene Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
Ton-eM.Jul 2, 2008
I gave it a 2, as a protest against all the reviewers, et al, who were going ga-ga over it. Ga-ga is the level of the language of the movie. "WALL-E." "Eve-a." "WALL-E." 'Eve-A." And don't tell me it's like Charlie Chaplin. I gave it a 2, as a protest against all the reviewers, et al, who were going ga-ga over it. Ga-ga is the level of the language of the movie. "WALL-E." "Eve-a." "WALL-E." 'Eve-A." And don't tell me it's like Charlie Chaplin. Comparing WALL-E to Chaplin is like comparing GW to Abe Lincoln. And any movie that uses romantic scenes and dance scenes from the mediocre movie Hello, Dolly! (and doesn't even include Barbra) is suspect. WALL-E is surprisingly trite -- music from 2001? That's fresh. It's just been used ad nauseum. And Sigourney Weaver voicing the ship's computer is just coy. WALL-E, can you say overrated? Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
LinL.Jan 4, 2009
Started with a silly vision of environmentalist doom and went downhill from there. Technically impressive, of course, but where are the beautiful, imaginative, character-driven kids' films I used to take my chldren to? Seemed like 90 Started with a silly vision of environmentalist doom and went downhill from there. Technically impressive, of course, but where are the beautiful, imaginative, character-driven kids' films I used to take my chldren to? Seemed like 90 percent of the "dialogue" consisted of a monotonous,squeaky voice shouting "Wall-E! Wall-E! Wall-E!" Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful
1
JosephG.Jun 30, 2008
What an awful movie...boring for adults,boring for children. Audience was disappointed.
6 of 27 users found this helpful
10
NazguleroMar 20, 2011
Really, really boring. The only thing I can apppreciate is the enormous amount of work that goes into productions like this.
I fell asleep after seven minutes...
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
3
DouglasWNov 20, 2008
The core of this movie was a love story, which is highly dependent on character and chemistry. This movie had neither. Previous Pixar films had three-dimensional, well-rounded characters like Woody and Buzz, but I just didn't get that The core of this movie was a love story, which is highly dependent on character and chemistry. This movie had neither. Previous Pixar films had three-dimensional, well-rounded characters like Woody and Buzz, but I just didn't get that from these robots. Of course the writers made their job more difficult by not using any dialog. As for chemistry, for WALL-E they gave absolutely no reason for falling in love other than "love-at-first-sight," despite the fact that his love interest was an emotionless (and in the beginning sex-neutral) probe interested only in carrying out its mission, and blowing everything else up. The writers also gave EVE very little reason to come around to WALL-E. Finally, we have the whole problem of accepting a love affair between two machines. If this movie was presented solely as a fantasy (like most of Pixar's movies) than we can accept human emotions from anything. In a fantasy its fine if a toaster falls in love with a rock (or a toy befriends a toy). But I felt this movie presented itself more as science fiction. In that context, you want your robots to make sense. If EVE and WALL-E were suppose to be highly complex robots with brains approaching those of humans (e.g. in I, Robot) than maybe we can accept some emotion from them. But one was a trash compactor, and the other a probe. Why is a trash compactor scared? lonely? happy? It doesn't make sense. Sure the animation was brilliant, but if I couldn't buy into the love story aspect of this film, everything else falls flat. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
LarryP.Jul 13, 2008
Very dissappointed. Left my kids (ages 5 and 7)completely confused, and me with a bitter taste in my mouth. I not interested in paying $10 for lecture on enivornmental issues....especially when trying to make them seem funny.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
LisaM.Jul 20, 2008
Hate the idea of the movie and the message that humans don't treat the earth right, pollute everywhere and allow ourselves to get lost in a digital world sitting in chairs. My kids thought it was boring!!!! Underlining message in the Hate the idea of the movie and the message that humans don't treat the earth right, pollute everywhere and allow ourselves to get lost in a digital world sitting in chairs. My kids thought it was boring!!!! Underlining message in the movie really ruined it for us. Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful
0
BenV.Jun 28, 2008
More like crap*E.
1 of 13 users found this helpful
6
RichardR.Jul 7, 2008
I really enjoyed the first part of the movie. It started out with a very interesting premise, made a robot seem human, and made a cockroach sympathetic. The movie started downhill for me with the arrival of the second major character. By the I really enjoyed the first part of the movie. It started out with a very interesting premise, made a robot seem human, and made a cockroach sympathetic. The movie started downhill for me with the arrival of the second major character. By the time the action had moved to a luxury ship in space, it had gone from a cool PIXAR movie to an old Disney chase movie. Maybe I missed something, but I don't understand how this movie is getting rated at levels equal to or higher than Toy Story, The Incredibles, Ratatouille, etc. It did not do it for me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZRJun 30, 2008
Robots are really cute. only go see this movie if you want to watch cute robots.... THEY SOOOOO CUTE! Who doesn't like cute robots?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MarkS.Jul 14, 2008
Competent and mildly pleasant, but nothing to rave about. I don't know why the critics think it's so great. It's not worth seeing twice, and it will be totally forgotten in in 6 months.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
TomP.Jul 4, 2008
This movie is not funny and you should be prepared that your children will be subjected to a sermon. The message is the same old stuff - environment, corporations, fat people, etc. You have heard it before. It is beautifully done technically This movie is not funny and you should be prepared that your children will be subjected to a sermon. The message is the same old stuff - environment, corporations, fat people, etc. You have heard it before. It is beautifully done technically but - think about it. It recycles Star Wars. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
HaroldT.Oct 27, 2008
The only thing about this movie is it's half appealing visual beauty, very little and annoying dialogue, predictable plot and highly overrated by those Disney/HSM freaks.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EricFJun 28, 2008
For the first time in me life, a movie has truly made me smile from beginning to end. Wall-E is an original and gripping movie that will leave you speechless. The visuals are unmatched, with landscapes that will drop your jaw, at the very For the first time in me life, a movie has truly made me smile from beginning to end. Wall-E is an original and gripping movie that will leave you speechless. The visuals are unmatched, with landscapes that will drop your jaw, at the very least. The expressiveness of the two main characters is unmatched, as Pixar is able to craft extremely complex characters, without using any major dialogue. The movie is very imaginative, and at the same time the universe is so complete, filled with characters and places both charming and surprisingly witty. I wont get into plot spoilers, but I'll just tell you that you must see this movie. You wont regret it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JoeR.Jun 29, 2008
The movie was very preachy and insulting on many levels. The biologically and scientifically impossibilities kept me from true involvement. There were a few moments of anthropomorphic tenderness and the animation was proficient but the movie The movie was very preachy and insulting on many levels. The biologically and scientifically impossibilities kept me from true involvement. There were a few moments of anthropomorphic tenderness and the animation was proficient but the movie does not deserve such effusive praise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NicP.Jun 30, 2008
Awesome social commentary. Is this a children's movie though? I didn't see much that would appeal to the ADD and ADHD riddled children of America.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ConradB.Jul 1, 2008
I saw the movie with my 12-year-old son the day it opened. Like most, I love Pixar's movies and we couldn't wait to go see it. My own reaction and that of my son both are negative. When the fat people plot was revealed, my son I saw the movie with my 12-year-old son the day it opened. Like most, I love Pixar's movies and we couldn't wait to go see it. My own reaction and that of my son both are negative. When the fat people plot was revealed, my son leaned over and whispered, "That is so wrong." Of course, he's grown up in a size-positive environment, but he is quite capable of deciding himself what he feels is good old-fashioned fun, what is clever speculation, and what is just a cheap grab for laughs at the cost of fat people. Both he and I felt it was the latter. I mean, what with exhaustion of renewable resources, our ability to nuke ourselves into oblivion, global warming and whatever, the worst that can happen to our planet is that we drown in garbage and then become hugely fat and lazy? Ha ha ha. I am sure one can construct some sort of justification into this movie, but in a society where fat people (and no, fat people are not a majority of the population, only statistically fat people are) are ridiculed, discriminated against, and exploited, is it really necessary for the next big Pixar megamovie to equate garbage, eating, fat, and lazy? Is it necessary to gleefully portray a ship full of obese people plop around, unable to walk or reach or anything? In my opinion, with Wall-E, Pixar is so far off, it's off the scale. Sure, some of the Pixar folks may be fat themselves, but that just makes them apologists. They did our children and the fat people in this nation and anywhere a huge disservice with this movie. More, really; a cruel slap in the face. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DavidS.Jul 12, 2008
Exceptional animation, lovable robots, a boring cliche riddled plot that makes no sense. Should we expect the plot to be remotely plausable in a cartoon? Probably not but I did and was disappointed. Movie was a little preachy and displayed a Exceptional animation, lovable robots, a boring cliche riddled plot that makes no sense. Should we expect the plot to be remotely plausable in a cartoon? Probably not but I did and was disappointed. Movie was a little preachy and displayed a very negative view of the human condition. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PatN.Jul 18, 2008
Are people so brainwashed by the endless enviromental doom & gloom message that it has just become a core belief to them ? We took the kids to see a movie which look entertaining in the trailer, only to insulted and feed a load of crap , Are people so brainwashed by the endless enviromental doom & gloom message that it has just become a core belief to them ? We took the kids to see a movie which look entertaining in the trailer, only to insulted and feed a load of crap , talk about bait & switch. It appears that it didn't take long for Disney's influence to change Pixair, Walt Disney would be ashamed. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
johnt.Jul 26, 2008
Hated it all it was a pile of tin saying eva or wall-e.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MichaelG.Jul 2, 2008
Wall-E...meh. Its cute, its fun, its nifty to look at, but it is not a good movie. The story is dull, the dialog non-existent and at the end you feel bad for what has happened and where the people have ended up. The opening cartoon is Wall-E...meh. Its cute, its fun, its nifty to look at, but it is not a good movie. The story is dull, the dialog non-existent and at the end you feel bad for what has happened and where the people have ended up. The opening cartoon is GREAT!!! Magician and Rabbit!!! Amazing! But Wall-E, just not clever. Rent it on DVD, but as for a Pixar film, not even close to their best. Sorry. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BillN.Jul 3, 2008
The fart noises and the sexually suggested messages wasn't my thing. Who are you catering to: little kids or socially retarded adults?
0 of 11 users found this helpful
1
tommym.Jul 30, 2008
Walle was about as bad as they get no dialogue until second half hard to understand whats going on if anyone has watched walle and not considered killing theme selves or others well you obviously enjoyed it more than me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AnneO.Jul 4, 2008
Great animation, horrible horrible story. Am I the only person who has a problem getting jazzed about seeing one of a small handful of movies concieved of over one lunch? Good stories take time to gestitate, but what we have here is a great Great animation, horrible horrible story. Am I the only person who has a problem getting jazzed about seeing one of a small handful of movies concieved of over one lunch? Good stories take time to gestitate, but what we have here is a great animation house with the worlds attention throwing bad stories at us with great looks. Pixar, you made it big because you essentially introduced us to computer animated movies. You aren't writers/directors. Find the great stories and animate them, don't just throw any story that one of your fat cats thinks is cute at us. The routine is wearing thin. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
CoreyF.Jul 5, 2008
it was so boring i fell asleep in it all the thing does is box trash and try ti save a plant STUPIDEST MOVIE EVER
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
CMorseJul 6, 2008
I have thoroughly enjoyed most of the Pixar movies. This ranks as one of their worst. Very disappointed with premise, ratings, movie critics, Pixar, and over indulged consuming society theme. It's a love story about 2 robots that save I have thoroughly enjoyed most of the Pixar movies. This ranks as one of their worst. Very disappointed with premise, ratings, movie critics, Pixar, and over indulged consuming society theme. It's a love story about 2 robots that save Earth, because we humans are to stupid, lazy and selfish to care. Robots frolicking around space? Seriously. Don't waste your money or take your kids to this piece of trash. I have expected more from Pixar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SerhatO.Aug 11, 2008
I like the message, but the movie was sooooooo boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
shschAug 17, 2008
I think Pixar did a good job visually but I never found the movie engaging. It was too long; and the messages that humans are destroying the Earth & especially that technology will make us fat & lazy was made too obvious too many times. The I think Pixar did a good job visually but I never found the movie engaging. It was too long; and the messages that humans are destroying the Earth & especially that technology will make us fat & lazy was made too obvious too many times. The movie was also often too frenetic for someone over 50 who doesn't play video games. This was truly one of the most boring movies I have seen in many a year. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JoshD.Sep 14, 2008
The WORST Pixar movie ever. Instead of investing in digitizing reality, they could have hired a writer or two. Seems the easy way is to make all humans fat instead of tackling the difficult measure of creating/drawing them convincingly. The WORST Pixar movie ever. Instead of investing in digitizing reality, they could have hired a writer or two. Seems the easy way is to make all humans fat instead of tackling the difficult measure of creating/drawing them convincingly. beside the fact that its downright depressing, Im struggling to understand the quotes in the newspapers: "Hillarious" comes to mind, I chuckled a few times, but funny? No. Talk about preaching down to people. I get it, were destroying th earth, but a public service announcement does not a two hour movie make.Extremely disappointing! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SMJan 1, 2009
Absolutely boring, although very well made with all the tiny details taken into account. It's message is also big, but unfortunately, cannot catch one's attention.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
thecriticJan 6, 2009
Left leaning political garbage. they could have at least made it a little more entertaining. snoozer.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
NikoLFeb 26, 2009
I'm a fan of every other Pixar film, but this one. How many times did the script print "Wall-E"? It sounded like I heard that over 50 times along with one repetitive song that loses its impact when you see real people dancing, but on I'm a fan of every other Pixar film, but this one. How many times did the script print "Wall-E"? It sounded like I heard that over 50 times along with one repetitive song that loses its impact when you see real people dancing, but on the spaceship there's "Pixar'ed" humans and Fred Williams which is beyond awkward! And the obvious loop-hole of picking up a leaf with no video stream to execute a mass exodus, get real. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
cherylc.Nov 30, 2008
Don't know what age group this was aimed at. Too grim and long for children; too simplistic and boring for adults. Cute visual effects, but essentially propagandistic poppycock!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DaveF.Oct 17, 2008
I like Pixar movies as much as anyone (Monsters Inc and Cars are 100%-ers for me) but aside from the cute characterization of Wall-E, this movie is preachy, politically-charged, thin on plot, and boring. Kids will love it of course.
0 of 1 users found this helpful