Netflix | Release Date: May 26, 2017
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 77 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
34
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
moviemitch96May 28, 2017
A pretty straightforward, yet mostly amusing war satire nonetheless. The cast assembled here is undeniably talented and keeps thing interesting as well, although I must say that I felt as though Brad Pitt was mostly just revisiting hisA pretty straightforward, yet mostly amusing war satire nonetheless. The cast assembled here is undeniably talented and keeps thing interesting as well, although I must say that I felt as though Brad Pitt was mostly just revisiting his dimwitted Lt. Aldo Raine character from Inglorious Basterds in this film. Nonetheless, he still does a fine job and has his fair share of humorous and worthwhile moments throughout. Like I said before, the story and everything here is all pretty straightforward, but the film's decision to approach war satire in more of a deadpan fashion instead of a more ridiculous and over-the-top fashion (and wisely so, I might add), kept the film humorous and interesting enough for me. Overall, it's nothing amazing, but if you have some time to kill on Netflix, I'd say that it's worth your time for the most part. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsAug 4, 2017
A very, very solid film in which Brad Pitt and the cast get to show off some nice acting chops. War Machine does a great job in telling a fictionalized version of the story of General McCrystal. While the script does kind of conflict with theA very, very solid film in which Brad Pitt and the cast get to show off some nice acting chops. War Machine does a great job in telling a fictionalized version of the story of General McCrystal. While the script does kind of conflict with the narrative of reality, this is a good choice if you are interested at all in the War in Afghanistan. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JonDocJan 23, 2018
I am beginning to lose faith in the judgement of professional critics. This movie was excellent. It deftly tackled the difficulties of fighting a guerrilla war with skill and humour. Pitt’s likeable over the top performance was the heart andI am beginning to lose faith in the judgement of professional critics. This movie was excellent. It deftly tackled the difficulties of fighting a guerrilla war with skill and humour. Pitt’s likeable over the top performance was the heart and soul of the movie. Kingsley and Swinton had small but satisfying roles. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Jun 10, 2017
Brad Pitt remarks as a arrogant general in a war drama that dissects the unconfortly truth about the military incursion to Afghanistan. Some parts - the dialogued- feels dull but the absurd humor is helpful.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
trinitycrazyJul 25, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In a quick little summary, if you don't like political satire of the US and a rather anti-war type theme, you will not like this movie. Do not come into it expecting a lot of action as there is only one action scene lasting about 10 minutes. If you are OK with this, it will be a hell of a ride. War Machine is a well done, yet imperfect movie on the United State's rather controversial job in Afghanistan. It shows the vanity of fighting in Afghanistan from the point of view of a rather satirical general, who more or less demonstrates in a very exaggerated way, the logic of many generals in the US army. All of them believing in one way or another, the war in Afghanistan could be won. When in reality, this is everything but the truth. Despite a quick change of tone in the beginning of the movie and some rather side tracking sub plots, the movie was a very enjoyable take on Afghanistan. And its ending wraps up the entire movie up nicely, summarizing our attempts in Afghanistan quite nicely. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
rmaynardjrAug 14, 2017
While not groundbreaking or incredible, War Machine is an enjoyable and often hysterical film (while still managing to be serious when it needs to be) led by the ever talented Brad Pitt.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sassymahMay 26, 2017
The media's smear campaign and bias against this film is really being destructive. The injustice of the reviews who refuse to understand the relevance and poignancy of this film really is unsettling. War Machine is one of the mostThe media's smear campaign and bias against this film is really being destructive. The injustice of the reviews who refuse to understand the relevance and poignancy of this film really is unsettling. War Machine is one of the most intelligent, complex, nuanced, and provocative films of 2017. A worthy Oscar contender with strong performances across the board and sharp writing is being trashed with the press agenda against Brad, this film, and netflix. The film neither glorifies or vilifies the military. It is about government dsyfunction and shades of gray in policies of war. The bad reviews against this film are superficial, crass, and do not appear to grasp the dark tone of satire.

War Machine is The Big Short of war films and has the kind of dark underlying humor that Inglourious Basterds or Burn After Reading had. War Machine is a superior film to Allied or Fury, so the fact that the biased reviews are giving a extraordinary and compelling film like War Machine a lower score than those films is really disturbing to me.

Brad is a revelation here. His performance contains a range and a level of verstaility that perfectly embodies the absurdist satirical tone of the piece. There is a lot of sensitivity and humanity given to his performance as well as a gonzo levity and portrayal of human arrogance/falliability. Topher Grace, Lakeith Stanfield, Tilda Swinton, Meg Tilly, Ben Kingsley, and the entire ensemble all give grounded performances that perfectly off-set the deconstruction and nuanced nature of this film. There are no clear cut good guys or bad guys in this movie.

It is all about exposing the flawed doctrines of insurgency and occupation. I would recommend this film for smart viewers. This film deserves Oscar nominations for Best Picture, Adapted Screenplay, Best Actor, Original Score, Cinematography, and Editing. Alas, the sleazy press who is determined to make this captivating, groundbreaking and yet strange film a debacle is going to negatively impact its chances.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
SidneyDenverMay 28, 2017
I just watched. Brad Pitt you are awesome. This is not the best movie ever made, but he's hilarious! He took a real human and made me want to watch. As well as Meg Tilly, Ben Kingsley, Anthony Michael Hall, Griffin Dunne. All veryI just watched. Brad Pitt you are awesome. This is not the best movie ever made, but he's hilarious! He took a real human and made me want to watch. As well as Meg Tilly, Ben Kingsley, Anthony Michael Hall, Griffin Dunne. All very entertaining. In this world of violence, which we are all aware, this took a take on the real horror of a situation and made me want to educate myself. Brad, the running, hahaha! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ZadenBuria15May 27, 2017
At first, the film shows itself in a very simple way, it has a good introduction, and successfully presents the concept in a good yet not so fascinating perspective, however, it takes truly excellent turns, and makes a perfect transition ofAt first, the film shows itself in a very simple way, it has a good introduction, and successfully presents the concept in a good yet not so fascinating perspective, however, it takes truly excellent turns, and makes a perfect transition of tone and perspective, and offers a final moment that leaves us understanding completely how this “cycle” repeats itself all the time, leaving the same to worse result, due to the underestimation of the problem, and the people chosen to give solutions. Even though the ending seems too serious in this description, the film successfully gives it to us in a very successful satirical way, where you can understand and laugh because of the irony. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
FernandoFLMay 27, 2017
The film and its script was excellent, it did not only recreated original and interesting behaviours, but it also showed true creativity and talent with its pace and development, and immense depth and realism in the right moments. Excellent.The film and its script was excellent, it did not only recreated original and interesting behaviours, but it also showed true creativity and talent with its pace and development, and immense depth and realism in the right moments. Excellent. It's hard for me to believe there's people who didn't get the entire tone of the film. Because the film does change its focus, but does it perfectly, with the right turns and takes its time to do it. This bad reviews rain is not justified and its goal is not other than to boycott the Netflix network. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
3ebfan511Jun 24, 2017
This is not a typical "war" movie, it is actually an anti-war satire. Some people will get it, some people won't. and for those that don't...they probably won't like it. If you have a cynical view of the military or our country you willThis is not a typical "war" movie, it is actually an anti-war satire. Some people will get it, some people won't. and for those that don't...they probably won't like it. If you have a cynical view of the military or our country you will probably enjoy it, as it will make more sense to you. If...you don't get it...you are probably like the people being satirized....

Overall not a perfect film, as it goes from funny to a little philosophical as it goes on, but overall pretty entertaining, unique, and definitely worth seeing.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DanielFereMay 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brad Pitt was able to mix seriousness with comedy. A fanstastic production of Netflix with one of the best actors. The criticism should pay more attention to the script, the theme, director. War Machine is a great story and very well told. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
shoulderoforionJun 22, 2017
This was a good movie, not a great must see, but an enjoyable way to be informed about the story of Afghanistan General Stanley McChrystal. Though fictionalized it's the adapted profile from Rolling Stone's Michael Hastings profile of theThis was a good movie, not a great must see, but an enjoyable way to be informed about the story of Afghanistan General Stanley McChrystal. Though fictionalized it's the adapted profile from Rolling Stone's Michael Hastings profile of the General, that brought him down & led to his dismissal by President Obama. The cast is top notch, the production is top notch, the story is what it is, neither terrible or must see, but recommended. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Zatanlovesgod15May 27, 2017
Apparently everyone is extremely angry to see the Netflix network be successful enough to produce its own big budget film with a very talented cast and writing material. You should definitely see the film for yourself and give it a chance,Apparently everyone is extremely angry to see the Netflix network be successful enough to produce its own big budget film with a very talented cast and writing material. You should definitely see the film for yourself and give it a chance, this is not like spectral or the anime Netflix productions that aim towards the most commercial audience. This film aims towards the smart film fanatic demographic, but of course if you hate Brad Pitt because of its fame, or Netflix because is bigger than any other subscription service, then you may not like it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
notcoldMay 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everyone is so divided about a film, which seems not to treat itself as seriously, as it is seen by many. Yeah, it tries a silly "war is bad" message (as if a sane person wouldn't know that already), but I believe it's better to see it as a story about delusions, albeit a goofy one. It is because this movie's weakest parts are the serious ones: Narrator, a Rolling Stones journalist, who uncovered the general's misconducts, cannot stop himself from being a pretentious know-it-all; a german official, played by Tilda Swinton, has some good points, which completely miss the audience in a chaotic confrontation between her and the main character, which initiate his, slightly too abrupt, fall into despair. But if you forgive those, you'll be amazed by how funny and witty this film can be. You might end up liking the main character, hoping he'll succeed at his impossible quest and feel bad, when he loses. It would be a bad feeling, right? He's a bad guy and they make him look cool, which makes them bad, right? Maybe if a film doesn't show war as a bad thing in every aspect, it deserves negativity. For me the intertwining of cool, likable, incredibly stupid and just plainly wrong makes this film something I'd absolutely recommend to anyone, just try not to overthink it (I know I probably am). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonJun 5, 2017
Based loosely on real life events War Machine tells the story of Glenn McMahon as he attempts to command NATO forces in Afghanistan. The movie is a satirical look at the doomed attempts of fighting insurgents and how these wars can never beBased loosely on real life events War Machine tells the story of Glenn McMahon as he attempts to command NATO forces in Afghanistan. The movie is a satirical look at the doomed attempts of fighting insurgents and how these wars can never be won, despite numerous military leaders’ claims to the contrary. It certainly raises a few interesting ideas, and is relatively funny in places, but the targets are too broad and the movie a little too unfocused (the scenes with McMahon and his wife seem out of place) for it to be considered truly successful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ShinodAug 19, 2018
Film is pretty OK, silly at some moments but entertaining and fun, based on real events which is very accurate but portraying McChrystal as an idiot, I see a lot of backlash from media to this film but honestly I think it is because of whoFilm is pretty OK, silly at some moments but entertaining and fun, based on real events which is very accurate but portraying McChrystal as an idiot, I see a lot of backlash from media to this film but honestly I think it is because of who pays their wages.

I do not care if this General is or is not an utter idiot but what the film wants to show is that the Anfghan war (mostly any modern war) is defended by idiots and should never happen, the US just wants to steal more resources basically as they did in Iraq.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews