Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 10, 2016
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3040 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,520
Mixed:
278
Negative:
242
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
grrdohJun 10, 2016
The mainstream critics were never going to get this film as it's guilty of two cardinal sins in their eyes.

1. Being based on a game. 2. High fantasy. If you're a fan of the source material this film was great fun. If however you go
The mainstream critics were never going to get this film as it's guilty of two cardinal sins in their eyes.

1. Being based on a game.

2. High fantasy.

If you're a fan of the source material this film was great fun. If however you go in with the idea that its stupid you will hate it.

To everyone else, give it a try it is far better than the critics would have you think.
Expand
89 of 104 users found this helpful8915
All this user's reviews
10
Ben234Jun 10, 2016
Hmm. When critics views it bad and audiences views it good, who's wrong?
Are we the stupid ones or those critics are the stupid ones who doesn't understand how to enjoy a good movie?
Even my non gamers family and friends say it's good. I
Hmm. When critics views it bad and audiences views it good, who's wrong?
Are we the stupid ones or those critics are the stupid ones who doesn't understand how to enjoy a good movie?
Even my non gamers family and friends say it's good. I for one can't wait for the sequel
Expand
71 of 90 users found this helpful7119
All this user's reviews
10
NerdlifeJun 10, 2016
A truly work of love. As a diehard warcraft fan this movie was amazing. So many details, amazing art design and amazing sound design. It truly shows how disconnected the critics are to the everyone else. Me and everyone i know that went toA truly work of love. As a diehard warcraft fan this movie was amazing. So many details, amazing art design and amazing sound design. It truly shows how disconnected the critics are to the everyone else. Me and everyone i know that went to watch the movie truly liked it. Even people that had no knowledge on the Warcraft lore. A few friends even started playing after the movie. An amazing job by Duncan and the team. The actors were great and passionate and the CGI was one of the best i've ever seen. Go watch it, you won't regret it. Expand
63 of 80 users found this helpful6317
All this user's reviews
10
SinjinJun 10, 2016
Had so much fun watching this and will watch it again yes a lot went on at the same time but it was still an awesome movie to watch and enjoy. note this is based on Warcraft and not world of warcraft
63 of 80 users found this helpful6317
All this user's reviews
8
dreadnoughtJun 10, 2016
What is with all these "Professional Reviews"? Even more stupid then the videogame journalism going on.

Anyway this movie is a solid 8/10 Story is rushed and fast paced but is visually impressive and has great world building sequences
What is with all these "Professional Reviews"? Even more stupid then the videogame journalism going on.

Anyway this movie is a solid 8/10

Story is rushed and fast paced but is visually impressive and has great world building sequences in it, which is what I want from a fantasy movie, I want to see the world!
Expand
57 of 73 users found this helpful5716
All this user's reviews
10
sadarnwn4Jun 10, 2016
Народ, не смотрите на оценки критиков, ибо нынче они просто напросто зажрались! Фильм ШИКАРЕН! Что мне - фанату варкрафта во всех его ипостасиях, что моей жене - не знакомой с миром варкрафтом вообще - фильм очень понравился. Единственно чтоНарод, не смотрите на оценки критиков, ибо нынче они просто напросто зажрались! Фильм ШИКАРЕН! Что мне - фанату варкрафта во всех его ипостасиях, что моей жене - не знакомой с миром варкрафтом вообще - фильм очень понравился. Единственно что немного огорчает это то, что сюжет в фильме бежит не останавливаясь на разъяснения. Но здесь все понятно - дядьки, решившие, что их видение картины лучше, чем у режиссера и считавшие, что лучше знают, что хочет видеть народ - несчадно порезали ту составляющую фильма, которая объясняет в подробностях все происходящее в картине. Отсюда и негативные отзывы от людей, не знакомых с лором (миром варкрафта). Повторюсь еще раз - не слушайте и не читайте рецензии критиков, не портите заранее себе впечатление о фильме! Сходите сами и посмотрите картину. А если уже почитали и сомневаетесь - так познакомитесь вкратце с миром варкрафта перед просмотром фильма - это улучшит его восприятие и все встанет на свои места. Ну или, в крайнем случае, дождитесь режиссерской версии картины, от просмотра которой, я уверен, все получат огромное удовольствие! Expand
186 of 244 users found this helpful18658
All this user's reviews
9
NefliteJun 10, 2016
Don't trust the bad reviews. The movie is not a cinematic masterpiece but it is quite enjoyable and a good intro to the Warcraft world.

It is by far better than most popcorn flicks, even more so if you are familiar with the setting. If
Don't trust the bad reviews. The movie is not a cinematic masterpiece but it is quite enjoyable and a good intro to the Warcraft world.

It is by far better than most popcorn flicks, even more so if you are familiar with the setting.

If you want Lord of the Rings go watch that again, however if you want Warcraft you will not be disappointed.
Expand
29 of 39 users found this helpful2910
All this user's reviews
10
ThiagoFragaKJun 11, 2016
It is not perfect, of course. But, bad as Critics say it is, it is not by far! It is everything I expected a Warcraft Film to be. I am not even a Warcraft-Fan, I know nothing about it or the Video-Games. I just like Fantasy and I love it.
29 of 39 users found this helpful2910
All this user's reviews
10
AdjutantJun 11, 2016
Well done Blizzard! The movie stays faithful to its roots and theme.
Story was good and it felt real (instead of fake, like most modern fantasy movie attempts).
Was expecting worse, but pleasantly surprised. No unnecessary sarcastic
Well done Blizzard! The movie stays faithful to its roots and theme.
Story was good and it felt real (instead of fake, like most modern fantasy movie attempts).

Was expecting worse, but pleasantly surprised.
No unnecessary sarcastic humour. genuine story, hard core bad guy, beautiful CG.
Chris Metzen, I salute you. Looking forward to a sequel.
Expand
34 of 46 users found this helpful3412
All this user's reviews
10
AuvianceJun 11, 2016
Simply a great movie, enjoyed every single bit of it as a Warcraft fan. Acting was great from orcs, the humans was a little dissapointing at times and the effect are great! Can't wait for chapter 2.
17 of 23 users found this helpful176
All this user's reviews
9
ReerrJun 10, 2016
As a fan of Warcraft I went into this movie a little bit sceptical, but from ten minutes in I was already loving the film. The majority of critic reviews are pathetic and should just be ignored. The CGI is mostly fantastic, and the storyAs a fan of Warcraft I went into this movie a little bit sceptical, but from ten minutes in I was already loving the film. The majority of critic reviews are pathetic and should just be ignored. The CGI is mostly fantastic, and the story while it is a little rushed at the start is also pretty good. I saw the movie with two other people one who knows a little bit about Warcraft but who has only played WOW, and someone who has no interest in video games at all and they both loved it. I recommend if your a fan of Warcraft as a franchise go see it, if your a fan of high fantasy go see it. Expand
25 of 34 users found this helpful259
All this user's reviews
8
darkvoltonJun 10, 2016
I Honestly don't even know why the movie industry has critics anymore... This movie is one of the movies that prove that critics just don't know what they are talking about. Now to give you some background, yes i am a gamer, no not any movieI Honestly don't even know why the movie industry has critics anymore... This movie is one of the movies that prove that critics just don't know what they are talking about. Now to give you some background, yes i am a gamer, no not any movie that is based on a video game is good, and lastly i have played a very small amount of WoW or Warcraft. To start this movie was no masterpiece, BUT it was a good movie. The story line although critics would leave you to believe that you need to know EVERYTHING about Warcraft in order to understand was surprisingly good. That being said the story is tough to follow ALTHOUGH not for the reasons stated by said "critics" The main problem the storyline has is that it throws out A TON of hard to pronounce and even harder to remember names that get the listener confused. How is someone that has never played a video game going to remember who's name is who's when there are names floating around like "dalaran", "lothar", "Gorona", "Gul Dan" etc. the answer is they wont, they get frustrated and stop because "it doesn't make sense" when they really mean that they are lost because they dont know who is who and what is what. Now imagine if the main character was named Jason and instead of saying the complicated names of cities and towns they started saying names like "New York" "Tokyo" and "London" that literally EVERYONE knows! yes that would make the movie easier to understand, but because people are too lazy to even try to remember a name as complicated as "Medivh"(i think i spelled that right) they give up and call the movie **** THERE IS A REASON THIS SHOW KILLED IT IN CHINA! long story short if you only watch movies to be TOLD a story instead of watching movies to LISTEN to a story then this movie will be tough to watch. Expand
19 of 26 users found this helpful197
All this user's reviews
9
GregTheMadJun 10, 2016
Best Video Game movie I've seen so far, not perfect, but still a great time.
Despite it's 2 hours run time it feels a bit rushed, but is never boring.
If you expect a 100% adaption of any source material into a movie that's your own
Best Video Game movie I've seen so far, not perfect, but still a great time.
Despite it's 2 hours run time it feels a bit rushed, but is never boring.

If you expect a 100% adaption of any source material into a movie that's your own fault, not the one of the movie. I'd say it's welcoming to both people who play Warcraft games and those that don't.
Expand
33 of 46 users found this helpful3313
All this user's reviews
9
OzimandeusJun 10, 2016
I was lucky enough to see this at a Preview showing in IMAX 3D. Whilst the story and characters are only skin deep, this did not detract from the absolute spectacle that was on screen. Having been an on/off fan of the franchise for sometime -I was lucky enough to see this at a Preview showing in IMAX 3D. Whilst the story and characters are only skin deep, this did not detract from the absolute spectacle that was on screen. Having been an on/off fan of the franchise for sometime - I really enjoyed watching characters on screen that I have been playing alongside for near two decades. Yes this is Fan fodder, and unashamedly so - that's a good thing. Definitely the best video-game inspired movie ever made and deserving of multiple sequels. My only complaint - the running time was trimmed too much, therefore there wasn't enough time to develop characters; the focus shifting between too many characters; within too short a space of time. In many ways I wish that had been a TV series rather than a movie, that would have given more time to give to character development and being in parts of well known locales. Ironforge and Dalaran were brilliantly rendered, but never on screen for long enough. That said, other movies like the Jurassic Park series had the same level of 2D characterisation and this did not detract from the stunning spectacle of the CGI dinosaurs. Warcraft has its flaws, but bloody hell is it one hell of a spectacular, no.. EPIC. Ignore the bad reviews, they are written by a constant flow of mainstream critics who wouldn't understand what Warcraft is about, or how deep its lore and canon is. If your a fan of the series its a must see, if your not a fan of the series - but are a lover of fantasy/sci-fi its a must see. If your tastes are more high brow then avoid this little gem. Expand
22 of 31 users found this helpful229
All this user's reviews
9
ValerunJun 10, 2016
I saw this film a few weeks prior to the US release in Germany and I was so frustrated that the user reviews were locked for this film. The Critics were totally off base on this one.

The film is not perfect but I enjoyed it enough to pay
I saw this film a few weeks prior to the US release in Germany and I was so frustrated that the user reviews were locked for this film. The Critics were totally off base on this one.

The film is not perfect but I enjoyed it enough to pay for a second round at the theater. I didn't really connect to the characters but the film is really able to sell the world. I felt immersed in a beautiful cinematic universe with believable fantasy wildlife and magical powers.

The action was brilliant, The Magic was beautiful and the Overall quality of this film was really high.

Honestly this film is a 7/10 for me, I'm giving it 9 to help the average as the Critics genuinely angered me on this one.
Expand
17 of 25 users found this helpful178
All this user's reviews
8
scoleyJun 10, 2016
I dont understand why this is getting such low critic scores its a really enjoyable film.I have never played the game so i dont know if it is true to it but as a film well worth a watch.
20 of 30 users found this helpful2010
All this user's reviews
8
FattermadiganJun 10, 2016
Una película destinada, sobre todo, a los fans de Warcraft (entre los que me encuentro). Es cierto que algunos personajes son poco profundos, pero el resto de la película es un auténtico espectáculo que ningún aficionado a esta maravillosaUna película destinada, sobre todo, a los fans de Warcraft (entre los que me encuentro). Es cierto que algunos personajes son poco profundos, pero el resto de la película es un auténtico espectáculo que ningún aficionado a esta maravillosa saga de videojuegos debe perderse. Una sólida base sobre la que construir una trilogía, bravo Duncan Jones. Expand
16 of 25 users found this helpful169
All this user's reviews
10
SquallLJun 10, 2016
Сперва я думал, что мне не понравится, поэтому с опасением шел на киносеанс, однако фильм оказался значительно лучше моих ожиданий. Да, повествование несколько рваное, есть глупые моменты, а местами сильно похоже на CG-ролик из игры, но всеСперва я думал, что мне не понравится, поэтому с опасением шел на киносеанс, однако фильм оказался значительно лучше моих ожиданий. Да, повествование несколько рваное, есть глупые моменты, а местами сильно похоже на CG-ролик из игры, но все же это пока лучшая киноадаптация игры. Жду 2 часть. Критики - идите в жопу! Expand
21 of 33 users found this helpful2112
All this user's reviews
0
moviestalkerJun 11, 2016
If you're not a die-hard warcraft fan, then do yourself a favor and skip this one, you'll regret it ... nothing to see here.

Probably the worst acting I've ever seen in my entire life. Every single actor really hates being in this movie
If you're not a die-hard warcraft fan, then do yourself a favor and skip this one, you'll regret it ... nothing to see here.

Probably the worst acting I've ever seen in my entire life. Every single actor really hates being in this movie and they don't even have the decency of hiding it. I wish I could say something about the plot, but I honestly had no idea what the hell they were even trying to do most of the time.
Expand
16 of 63 users found this helpful1647
All this user's reviews
3
TheReceptorJun 10, 2016
Comparable to the Shannara Chronicles, this is just plain bad.
Acting, script, characterisations... as with many movies in the end it´s just a boring CGI show, which makes no sense whatsoever. No humor, bad action sequences, nothing is
Comparable to the Shannara Chronicles, this is just plain bad.
Acting, script, characterisations... as with many movies in the end it´s just a boring CGI show, which makes no sense whatsoever. No humor, bad action sequences, nothing is comprehensible - it just feels like a senseless collection of scenes with slightly the same theme. I think no one even cared about it making sense a little bit or about continuity.

The design, while true to the games which I like btw., doesn´t fit the big screen in any way. It´s just plain ridiculous.

To the people, who seem to think, they must defend their beloved franchise by ignoring the failure of this movie: even as a WC fan you don´t need to like this to be a true fan, you know? It´s not heresy to be critical when something is as obviously bad as this adaption. Just think about, what would have been possible with some film making skills involved.
Expand
16 of 66 users found this helpful1650
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeJun 10, 2016
A terrible disappointment that not only fails to capture the hearts based on the video game it's played on but also seems obvious that the cast and crew were oblivious on what they were even doing in the first place.
16 of 106 users found this helpful1690
All this user's reviews
10
edujim89Jun 13, 2016
Incredible movie and incredible characters. I am very proud to spent my money in this Movie.

For me, all the critics are wrong because they are not fair with a movie whose screenplay is about a video game and this mean dont take risk and
Incredible movie and incredible characters. I am very proud to spent my money in this Movie.

For me, all the critics are wrong because they are not fair with a movie whose screenplay is about a video game and this mean dont take risk and execute on the best way the idea about Warcraft that every fans get in theirs minds.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
SNESStarterSep 30, 2016
More evidence that if the "critics" weren't paid off ahead of time, the movie will fail. The hipster brigade didn't receive enough Starbucks gift certificates in their email and therefore, they gave the movie 3s.

Warcraft is a lot closer
More evidence that if the "critics" weren't paid off ahead of time, the movie will fail. The hipster brigade didn't receive enough Starbucks gift certificates in their email and therefore, they gave the movie 3s.

Warcraft is a lot closer to a 10 than it will ever be to a three. I just hope we get a sequel and the physical release is a success.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
ori123Oct 19, 2016
i read the critic reviews after watched movie and frankly i was shocked, i can understand why some people wouldn't like it, being that it is a little geeky and all, but no way no how does this movie deserve the low rating that the criticsi read the critic reviews after watched movie and frankly i was shocked, i can understand why some people wouldn't like it, being that it is a little geeky and all, but no way no how does this movie deserve the low rating that the critics gave it. I also saw some of the complaints that people couldn't keep track of the characters (being that i've never really played any warcraft games aside from warcraft 2 a little) i could understand this complaint, however even so, even with a little confusion as to who was married to who and related which way, everything mostly narrows down in the end, and ultimately i understood everything and really enjoyed the movie. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
DakimazAug 19, 2016
This film was so amazing. I have played a lot of the Warcraft games. I loved it, so did my brother in law. My girl friend have never played any of the games and did not know any of the lore before entering the theater. We all loved it. DieThis film was so amazing. I have played a lot of the Warcraft games. I loved it, so did my brother in law. My girl friend have never played any of the games and did not know any of the lore before entering the theater. We all loved it. Die hard Warcraft fans as well as a new fan. All three of us look forward to the (hopefully) sequel. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
SH1Jun 18, 2016
I really enjoyed this, even though I am not a hardcore WoW player. Now if they would only remake WoW with proper graphics and console support ...

1. Release movie
2. ???
3. Remake game
4. Profit!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
LoneWolfSonesJun 12, 2016
As a fan of the Warcraft games (Both RTS and MMO) for over 10 years now I wear my bias on my sleeve. The film's greatest strength is in the love and care that have gone into adapting this world for the big screen. Its a difficult task to tryAs a fan of the Warcraft games (Both RTS and MMO) for over 10 years now I wear my bias on my sleeve. The film's greatest strength is in the love and care that have gone into adapting this world for the big screen. Its a difficult task to try and distill over 20 years of lore and storytelling from one medium to another. Even more difficult is trying to tell a coherent story from this material in the space of two hours. The film largely succeeds in doing so despite a few stumbles.

Blizzard and Duncan Jones wisely chose to start from the beginning. The story is fairly simple but serviceable. If I had one criticism its that the story is fairly generic compared to those found in later games. But that isn't a slight against the film as the movie is a faithful adaptation of that story. It wasn't until Warcraft 3 that I really felt that the storytelling really became interesting.

The film can be a bit too fast paced in the beginning of the film which I do think may be disorienting to those who are not familiar with the lore. However I do feel that casual moviegoers can still have fun with it if they allow the film to exist on its own. If you can divorce yourself from the idea that the LotR is the standard of fantasy films I think you can have a great time with it and become invested in its characters.

The cast does a great job of bringing these characters to life in my opinion. Durotan and Drakka are notable standouts. Lothar and Khadgar have decent chemistry between them and I would have even liked to have seen more of it. I know Ben Schnetzer has been criticized in other reviews but I actually quite liked him as Khadgar. Another casting choice I have seen criticized is Ben Foster's Medivh. Again I actually thought he put in a decent part as Medivh. I would be remiss however if I didn't give praise for Daniel Wu's Guldan. They captured Guldan's cunning and ruthlessness perfectly.

The special effects are quite special indeed. I really do think the effects are a visual feast for the eyes. I saw the film in 3D and I even liked the extra sense of depth it added to the experience. I never really was taken out of the film by something looking fake or out of place. I found myself easily immersed in this lovingly crafted world.

The score was solid as well. If you have played the games you will recognize familiar themes from the games as well as some original music. The fantastic audio extends to the sound effects as well. Punches feel like they have power behind them and even the sword strikes and magic carry spectacular weight through the sound design.

Its worth noting that there is an abundance of fan service in the film and it never really felt too on the nose but there were some very clever subtle uses of it. Some of these may be lost on casual movie goers but I don't think they will detract from anyone's enjoyment of the film.

In the end Warcraft is a solid fantasy film and one I recommend to any fan of the property. For die hard lore fans there are some changes made to the lore but they too never detract from this adaptation. If you are a casual moviegoer my advice is to just go into the movie with an open mind. Not every movie has to be a Lord of the Rings. I do hope we see sequels so that we can get the Lich King on screen someday.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
GnoblesseJun 17, 2016
As a Warcraft fan, I loved it. Rest of my family, who have either little or no experience with the franchise, enjoyed it too. I don't understand the complaints from those who found it hard to follow - my kids, who didn't know Khadgar fromAs a Warcraft fan, I loved it. Rest of my family, who have either little or no experience with the franchise, enjoyed it too. I don't understand the complaints from those who found it hard to follow - my kids, who didn't know Khadgar from Kil'jaeden, followed it just fine. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
vexkunJun 15, 2016
I have already seen the movie and it's "EPIC". They did such an amazing job on converting a franchise I love into such an incredible movie, as well as breaking the video game movie curse. Not only was it broken, it was shattered. The movieI have already seen the movie and it's "EPIC". They did such an amazing job on converting a franchise I love into such an incredible movie, as well as breaking the video game movie curse. Not only was it broken, it was shattered. The movie has everything in it so that fans as well as those that have never played any of the Warcraft games can enjoy the experience of seeing this movie. Don't listen to mainstream critics. IF you like high fantasy, chances are you will like this movie. You don't need knowledge of the games to enjoys this movie.

Lok'tar Ogar! And. For the Alliance!
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
darth-revanJun 15, 2016
Best movie EVER, and I want more!! Blizzard please don't listen to these noobs critics, they have no idea! We want more movies about other Warcraft characters!!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
EruadanJun 15, 2016
I came into this movie expecting the worse, due to the critic reviews. I also came into Star Wars with low expectations despite critic reviews.
It would appear that user reviews are actually far more reliable.
While I am familiar with the
I came into this movie expecting the worse, due to the critic reviews. I also came into Star Wars with low expectations despite critic reviews.
It would appear that user reviews are actually far more reliable.

While I am familiar with the lore, I don't play the game.
The movie's setting is as complete as it can be without overwhelming the audience with names of kingdoms, characters, races, which is an impressive feat, I did not think it would achieve.

If you are a hardcore fan, you might be disappointed in the lack of detail on the kingdoms/dranei/etc, but it makes it much more accessible to the general audience.

The original lore is much more intricate and complicated, and it does a great job of giving a simplified adaptation, which means it’s also a little bit far from the original lore, but it does it fairly well.

There are a lot of elements that are not fully explained, which from what I've read caused great anger from critics, who seem to have wanted to be spoon-fed every explanation.
That being said, while the movie is definitely internally-consistent, some of the missing details can cause confusion. It is like trying to collapse half a season of game of thrones into 2 hours.

This makes it feel a bit rushed, but that's not on the actors or the direction, rather on how much they tried to squeeze in, making the writing a very difficult task.
Because of this, they lost a lot on character development and we don't get to relate much to Durotan or the Orc culture.

The settings and art are beautifully done, the acting is adequate though limited by the fact that they couldn't develop that many characters concurrently.
The adaptation is impressive, albeit not loyal to the lore. It is worth noting that Warcraft lore is more of a history than a narrative.

Critics never really gave the movie a chance, and if you read the reviews, you can tell how they never tried to understand it.

Give it a chance, most questions you might have might at the end will be answered in the sequels
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
LajanonJun 19, 2016
I am a huge fan of Warcraft; played it for 11 years, I have a tattoo related to him and I met my husband playing it.. So I approached the movie with some fear.
I must admit they made some big change lore related but they were well done: I am
I am a huge fan of Warcraft; played it for 11 years, I have a tattoo related to him and I met my husband playing it.. So I approached the movie with some fear.
I must admit they made some big change lore related but they were well done: I am overall totally satisfied with the movie and I can't wait to see the next one! For Azeroth! For the Alliance!
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
MoninWoodJun 19, 2016
So.... this movie is awesome! Simple.... but its kind of tricky to rate the movie, because i feel people will think "wow fanboy" compared to the critics, yes I'm a fan indeed. Incredible. A world brought to life from two decades ofSo.... this movie is awesome! Simple.... but its kind of tricky to rate the movie, because i feel people will think "wow fanboy" compared to the critics, yes I'm a fan indeed. Incredible. A world brought to life from two decades of imagination from game- playing. Tells a great story in a which encapsulates the humour and character of the games. A must- see for any fan of high fantasy, or if you've ever got anything out of Warcraft in the past, this will bring you right back. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Dablaster6Jun 20, 2016
As a WoW fan I think this is an amazing movie and it is made for the fans. Yeah there are some plot changes but all the important events are still there, the CGI was amazingly done and I thought the acting was great as well. To the peopleAs a WoW fan I think this is an amazing movie and it is made for the fans. Yeah there are some plot changes but all the important events are still there, the CGI was amazingly done and I thought the acting was great as well. To the people who may not be fans I recommend going to see it and not listen to the critics, they are only hammering it so hard due to it being based on a very popular game series, for some reason it is "cool" to hate on popular things. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
TheGreatDustyCZAug 5, 2016
I didn't played a game, but i´ve seen the movie, and i kinda like it. CGI were not bad and the actors weren't bad at all. I hope there will be a sequel. 80%
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
norseFeb 17, 2017
Amazingly good movie, best I've seen since Dr Strange. Great writing, avoiding many cliches, reasoned background and some truly unexpected events. The actors do wonders with this difficult material. Graphics and sound are top-notch. It'sAmazingly good movie, best I've seen since Dr Strange. Great writing, avoiding many cliches, reasoned background and some truly unexpected events. The actors do wonders with this difficult material. Graphics and sound are top-notch. It's instructive to watch the deleted scenes - two that should not be in the movie made it into the Blueray, and two that would have added real value remain cut.
Note that the blueray has issues on PS4 and Xbox with picking up after an interruption - all you'll get until you clean the internet cache is a black screen.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeOct 24, 2016
One fights for their new home and the others to defend theirs.

I never played Warcraft game in my life, nor read comic book, but I enjoyed this new fantasy universe. Azeroth is the world where this story takes place. When the Orcs planet
One fights for their new home and the others to defend theirs.

I never played Warcraft game in my life, nor read comic book, but I enjoyed this new fantasy universe. Azeroth is the world where this story takes place. When the Orcs planet was destroyed, they use a magic portal to get to Azeroth and make a safe home. But that is where humans and other intelligent species live peacefully. A new race means a new conflict to solve the differences. So the battle commences at no time to gain the power to rule the land. Between the two great powers, who wins is the film to tell us in the rest of the parts.

It was something like 'Avatar' and 'The Lost of the Rings' coming together. Despite having alien race, it is very much an action- fantasy film, not a sci-fi. From the games to film, it was awesomely made which is obviously a latest trend in the filmmaking. The graphics were good, but not perfect, and that's fine, because it succeeds to give the game look than the realistic one. I think that's the point, otherwise no disgrace to call it was inspired by the games or comic book.

I know it is not a masterpiece like 'The Lord of the Rings', but there's a promise like the quality and story and its characters. There's no big names, but these actors who are known mostly for their supporting roles has given their best. Like I said I'm new to this Warcraft universe, so I don't know anything outside this film, but I'm kind of neutral on the war between the humans and orcs. Because one's world was destroyed and they're seeking a new home and the other ones are defending theirs. So everything makes sense from both the perspectives for their actions.

This is just a beginning, there's lot more sequels to come. Though, it's a pity that it failed in America, the native product, but internationally proved it is one of best of its kind, I mean games to screen adaptation. The director of 'Source Code' did a great job and all the actors, including those motion-capture artists. I missed Zoe Saldana in this, to be as another blue or green skinned alien specie, instead Paula Patton did well in a similar role. The character name also very similar to the one from 'Guardian of the Galaxy'. I know it's going to get even bigger in the follow-up, so I can't wait for it. Hope it will release in less than couple of years.

8/10
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BitashJun 3, 2018
I am shocked of the negative reviews, I am not into video games, didn't even know the story line but was so impressed with the CG that I kept watching, it kept me entertained till the end! I will watch it again to appreciated the CG more. II am shocked of the negative reviews, I am not into video games, didn't even know the story line but was so impressed with the CG that I kept watching, it kept me entertained till the end! I will watch it again to appreciated the CG more. I loved it. And I rated Wonder Woman Zero!! Can't believe they did such a great job creating a movie out of a video game. Must watch Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
heavyfootJun 14, 2016
I've been to the theatre to see the movie twice which is something I may have only done one other time. I am a fan of Warcraft which I am sure amplifies the movie enjoyment, however my girlfriend is not a fan and she actually really liked itI've been to the theatre to see the movie twice which is something I may have only done one other time. I am a fan of Warcraft which I am sure amplifies the movie enjoyment, however my girlfriend is not a fan and she actually really liked it as well, and she is even recommending it to her mom lol. Go see it and judge for yourself, it seems that the critics are being pretty harsh for some reason. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
VojoJun 15, 2016
Good thing someone is "paying" these critics to their job. And it is such a bad thing no one is paying us viewers to score the movie. But why do we consider this movie is something totally different than what the critics think is reallyGood thing someone is "paying" these critics to their job. And it is such a bad thing no one is paying us viewers to score the movie. But why do we consider this movie is something totally different than what the critics think is really strange to me. I advise them when they are payed to ruin something that they should watch if it is worth it of their reputation cause it comes with a price. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BoomBasticdrumsJun 15, 2016
If you haven't seen it yet GO NOW. It was really damn good. If you have any doubts crush them now, it seems like the only gripes critics had were literally only in the first 35 mins yes the pacing was kinda funky in the beginning and some ofIf you haven't seen it yet GO NOW. It was really damn good. If you have any doubts crush them now, it seems like the only gripes critics had were literally only in the first 35 mins yes the pacing was kinda funky in the beginning and some of the acting was a bit off but ONLY in that first 35 mins, while watching the movie I was thinking that literally maybe the critics didn't even watch the whole film and cut it off halfway because mid way thru the movie picks up and has really cool moments. The action scenes were brutal, the visuals were stunning and I even really liked the costumes and the set pieces yes they do look a little "cartoonish" but that's how the game looks! It's the perfect take on Warcraft the game and it leaves me wanting more. I want a sequel. Go support this movie don't pirate it don't stream it go buy a ticket and watch this film you will not be disappointed I promise you. It was the first time in a while I got up off my ass to the movie theater to watch a movie only other movie I saw this year was Star Wars and before that it had been years since I'd seen a movie in theaters. It's worth your time and money. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Zeropwnz0rJun 16, 2016
Wow, what a moviegoing experience. The film had a budget of $160m, and it really showed. The CGI was well done just like Blizzard's famous game trailers. The action was also well done, considering human actors were battling CGI orcs (thoughWow, what a moviegoing experience. The film had a budget of $160m, and it really showed. The CGI was well done just like Blizzard's famous game trailers. The action was also well done, considering human actors were battling CGI orcs (though the humans often became CGI after putting their greathelms on). The environments were stunning. The overhead shots of great capital cities like Stormwind and the floating city of Dalaran were impressively detailed. The magicians' spells looked much better than Gandolf the Grey. The wolves, horses, and gryphons also looked spectacular. Overall, the movie was visually epic.

The plot hewed closely to the original Warcraft video game's plot--which was a good thing, IMO. Due to the 2 hour time constraint, the movie moved at a dizzying speed and tried to cram in as much as possible. In the trade off between remaining authentic to the source material and cutting things to make the movie more watchable, Duncan Jones chose the former. And thank God he did. Fanboys of the world rejoice.

A lot of casual references were made to Azeroth's characters and lore that required intimate knowledge of the game. When characters casually referenced the Redridge Mountains, Goldshire, Blackrock Mountain, Deadwind Pass, etc., I possessed a detailed knowledge of exactly what they were talking about (having ventured there many times myself), whereas casual babbies prob got confused. Same thing with all the names--Gul'dan, Medivh, Lothar--you get the picture. Same thing even with the jokes. Example--murlocs were considered a humorous enemy in World of Warcraft that made a distinctive gargling sound when attacked--the exact same audio recordings were used in the movie, which caused me to Løl Wüt.

Some parts of the movie were predictable and uninteresting. A certain character died midway through. This elicited zero emotional response from me. I gathered early on that the only reason for that particular character's existence was to be slain to add emotional oomph to the movie. Judging from the music, the movie makers intended that scene to be quite dramatic. It failed entirely. But overall I was on the edge of my seat throughout.

I loved the atmosphere at the theater--fanboys shouted "For the Horde!" at various intervals, and I of course responded with cries of "For the Alliance!" I definitely recommend seeing this one in IMAX 3D. It's the only way to do such a fantastic film justice.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
YetizodJun 20, 2016
The movie was awesome. Beautiful settings, great music, lots of easter eggs for fans of the game. Critics are idiots. Listen to the overwhelmingly positive fan reviews.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Grimlock047Oct 15, 2016
This is in my personal opinion the best movie based on a video game franchise so far. I don't consider myself fan of Warcraft, Blizzard or Video Game movies in general but I think they did a great job in every aspect.

The thing I like most
This is in my personal opinion the best movie based on a video game franchise so far. I don't consider myself fan of Warcraft, Blizzard or Video Game movies in general but I think they did a great job in every aspect.

The thing I like most about the story is that the producers didn't just want to try to please World of Warcraft players directly but instead cared about telling a kind of origin story for the whole series. In the movie you can see some nods and hints of characters and story that seem to lead to the events unfolded during the Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos game which is probably the most story focused Warcraft game.

Regarding "professional" critics: In this era where it is so easy to land a job as a "critic" with even bloggers without any formal film education are being taken serious and are even calling themselves "professionals" 2016 is probably one of the most embarrassing years for these people, especially with fiascos like the Ghostbusters fake universal praise and the hate towards movies like Warcraft. I wouldn’t be surprised if in a few years Metacritic is entirely based on user opinions rather than on “critic” reviews.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
stefgrigAug 18, 2016
I really cannot understand why the critics hate this film.

The digital actors are the best ever. The orcs are the main characters and the emotions going through their faces are unbelievable. Truly fleshed out , awesome three dimensional
I really cannot understand why the critics hate this film.

The digital actors are the best ever. The orcs are the main characters and the emotions going through their faces are unbelievable. Truly fleshed out , awesome three dimensional characters. The story is engaging, the action is awesome.

This is the BEST movie based on a game.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
CasteSep 14, 2016
I really enjoyed the movie.

Awesome CG, great pace, nice combat sequences.

Also, the lore and overall plot worked better for me than other titles like The Hobbit.

And btw, not a fanboy of the WoW game. It is just my plain opinion :)
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
melli06Jun 16, 2016
Pretty darn good! It is as solid as any super hero movie of recent. The scope is kept manageable and has some beautiful special effects. Its a fun experience and worth seeing.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
AdderTudeSep 27, 2016
It did change up the original storyline from the RTS into the one presented by the MMO (which I thought the film pandered too much toward), but overall the movie was solid and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Saw it in 3D the night before release andIt did change up the original storyline from the RTS into the one presented by the MMO (which I thought the film pandered too much toward), but overall the movie was solid and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Saw it in 3D the night before release and the effects for the magic use was spectacular.

Whatever the professional critics are smoking, they really should throw it away.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
MightyThorJan 6, 2017
This movie is clearly for the fans. There's a lot going on and it's crammed into a tiny space. I can easily see how someone who doesn't play the games would be confused. Then the artistic style, while it scores high with anyone who plays theThis movie is clearly for the fans. There's a lot going on and it's crammed into a tiny space. I can easily see how someone who doesn't play the games would be confused. Then the artistic style, while it scores high with anyone who plays the games it's so outlandish and cartoony that I could see it being a turn off for those who don't. Some of the acting was great like Durotan, Lothar and Medivh, but some was pretty awful like basically everyone else. It general it's the problem with video game films is that they try and fail to capture the scope of the game. They need to narrow their focus to a single narrative or this will continue to happen. You can't capture a 100+ hour gaming experience in a 2 hour movie.

So why a 7? Cus for me as a former wc3 and wow player I loved the locations and how faithfully the universe was recreated. There were tons of props to fans with mention of locations like goldshire, redridge, elwyn forest and that murloc drop was awesome. The shot of Ironforge in the second scene made my hair stand up, I just wish we had returned there more. But again this is me with exposure to the universe. For any normal person this movie is sadly going to score pretty low.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
CAP198462Jun 15, 2016
I am a longtime player of Warcraft, first played Warcraft II: Tides of Darkness, then Orcs and Humans, Beyond the Dark Portal, and so forth, up until Warcraft 3. So, when the movie faithfully recreated the world of Azeroth, down to the nearI am a longtime player of Warcraft, first played Warcraft II: Tides of Darkness, then Orcs and Humans, Beyond the Dark Portal, and so forth, up until Warcraft 3. So, when the movie faithfully recreated the world of Azeroth, down to the near pixel perfect duplicates of the Footmen from the games, I was pleased, and first of all, I noticed. So, full credit there. The battles were good, faithful to the game, all that was missing was the hud, and cooldown timers. Having said that, the rest of the movie was unimpressive, in the way that the first film of a series often is. It introduces characters and gives a rough background. So, go see it, once, for no more than US$9 or local equivalent and if you can't avoid saying "ready to work," or "zug zug," you probably won't be sad. To the professional critics I ask, "what you want?" Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
mijxeroOct 1, 2016
I don't understand all the hate for this movie. Yes I have played the games, but it only added small bonuses for seeing some of the iconic locations and characters. It was a good fantasy movie in its own right, with great visuals, goodI don't understand all the hate for this movie. Yes I have played the games, but it only added small bonuses for seeing some of the iconic locations and characters. It was a good fantasy movie in its own right, with great visuals, good pacing, and nice action scenes. I hope there is a sequel or maybe they will decide to make a starcraft movie, which would also be great. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
RCBobsJun 17, 2016
Characterization was limited and some times nonexistent, some of the writing was a bit off but in all a great cast and great effects, combined with very good pacing made this one of the more enjoyable mainstream films released this year.Characterization was limited and some times nonexistent, some of the writing was a bit off but in all a great cast and great effects, combined with very good pacing made this one of the more enjoyable mainstream films released this year. Sure, it is nothing medium-changing but a good film nonetheless. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ay1556Jun 13, 2016
I created this account just to give a 10/10. And the 29 points critic review is just unfair to this movie. Of course, I must say that this movie could have been better, but it is good enough for me.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Wraithe1Jun 13, 2016
The acting in this movie was well done, the CGI was excellent. Nothing ever seemed over the top or campy. Some of the green screen fight scenes could have been choreographed better, but overall it was an enjoyable movie. I can see a criticThe acting in this movie was well done, the CGI was excellent. Nothing ever seemed over the top or campy. Some of the green screen fight scenes could have been choreographed better, but overall it was an enjoyable movie. I can see a critic not being interested in this movie, but to give it a terrible review just tells me they simply didn't watch it. There were some quality actors in this movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
daanelfJun 21, 2016
Just wanted to say the negatic critics are wrong. This is an excelent film if you are into this kind of thing. Enjoyed every minute of it. And i have never played world of warcraft.

Story is simple but very enjoyable. Can`t wait to see the
Just wanted to say the negatic critics are wrong. This is an excelent film if you are into this kind of thing. Enjoyed every minute of it. And i have never played world of warcraft.

Story is simple but very enjoyable. Can`t wait to see the sequals.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Reciter5613Jun 14, 2016
Well after seeing it myself I can see that it's not really made for people who haven't played the games. They don't explain much and it feels rushed. I guess cause Warcraft had so much lore that it was hard to fit into one movie. But I didWell after seeing it myself I can see that it's not really made for people who haven't played the games. They don't explain much and it feels rushed. I guess cause Warcraft had so much lore that it was hard to fit into one movie. But I did enjoy the movie and what it was trying to do. Most retcons made were acceptable and several main elements of the series were still done well. Hopefully if they have a sequel they follow Warcraft 3 and try to work on introducing new people to the series a whole lot better. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Voodoo123Sep 20, 2016
After the critics reviews hit I worried when I saw the trailers this film wouldn't be for me, instead I was pleasantly surprised to find a film with great visuals coupled with an engaging cast and decent story / setting.

If you enjoy
After the critics reviews hit I worried when I saw the trailers this film wouldn't be for me, instead I was pleasantly surprised to find a film with great visuals coupled with an engaging cast and decent story / setting.

If you enjoy action adventure films you should definitely check this one out.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
x0v3rKiLxJun 14, 2016
I've never played a Warcraft game in my life and was never a fan of the franchise. And I loved this movie. It's a great story in its own right, with interesting characters, a compelling conflict, and good pacing and flow that make it anI've never played a Warcraft game in my life and was never a fan of the franchise. And I loved this movie. It's a great story in its own right, with interesting characters, a compelling conflict, and good pacing and flow that make it an incredibly satisfying experience. Easily the best video game movie I've EVER seen.

The critics are dead wrong about this movie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
steddyeDec 2, 2016
I've never played wow, but I found it fresh and exciting. Certainly it's not the great "Lord of the Rings", but I got bored watching remakes, prequels and superheroes of all kinds. I understand that investing in a movie can be disastrous forI've never played wow, but I found it fresh and exciting. Certainly it's not the great "Lord of the Rings", but I got bored watching remakes, prequels and superheroes of all kinds. I understand that investing in a movie can be disastrous for producers and that's why they are betting on the "winning horse". Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SmikhailJun 17, 2016
My rating rather reflects highly positive emotions from the film and nostalgia for the old days, than the objective quality of the film (which nevertheless is quite good).
P..S.
The difference between my own impression of this film (as
My rating rather reflects highly positive emotions from the film and nostalgia for the old days, than the objective quality of the film (which nevertheless is quite good).
P..S.
The difference between my own impression of this film (as overall average user's score) and critic's is so terrible that it almost seemed that there is some over reason behind it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
dotatrollfaceJan 8, 2017
This movie was made for fans, That is the reason why it has so low rating of the critics just follow the story of the video game and you'll love this incredible movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Crux95Jun 18, 2016
The video game industry is a threat to traditional mainstream media (TV & movies mostly), even more so by the fact this movie is now on their territory so they're doing all they can to trash it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
KisekiAug 28, 2016
Never been a Warcraft fan but this movie left me feeling I've witnessed perfection. For its purpose, for what its meant to illustrate, this is a 10/10 job. Is it really perfection down to every single tiny bit of the movie? No, but it is THENever been a Warcraft fan but this movie left me feeling I've witnessed perfection. For its purpose, for what its meant to illustrate, this is a 10/10 job. Is it really perfection down to every single tiny bit of the movie? No, but it is THE best movie I have seen in a long long time. I cannot find another that I can say was better made. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Darkly_TranquilJan 12, 2017
Warcraft is far from a perfect film, with some wonky dialogue and hammy acting performances, but it is nonetheless a faithful adaptation of the source material that captures the odd mix of the serious and the goofy that is the Warcraft aesthetic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
uguraAug 31, 2016
best movie i ever seeee it, try this your going no dissapponted, biggest high fantasy game, if your fan like me on warcraft your talk awesome movie, movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
XenoJakeOct 5, 2016
If your a fan of the universe its really enjoyable. Thats pretty much the sole thing thats dividing the audience. Having had played warcraft reign of chaos and frozen throne, I was able to follow along well enough to understand where theIf your a fan of the universe its really enjoyable. Thats pretty much the sole thing thats dividing the audience. Having had played warcraft reign of chaos and frozen throne, I was able to follow along well enough to understand where the direction of the film was taking me. However, I can see where the immersion and pacing could have suffered for those audience members whom knew nothing about the lore or world. I'd love to see a sequel, but am fearful due to the overwhelmingly negative critic response. They went in to this film wanting to hate it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
OnyX13Aug 16, 2016
With a little backstory about orcs and about humans, this would have been liked by many critics. Instead the movie relied on the game-fans who knew many of the spells or places or characters. Anything other than what I wrote above is justWith a little backstory about orcs and about humans, this would have been liked by many critics. Instead the movie relied on the game-fans who knew many of the spells or places or characters. Anything other than what I wrote above is just perfect. Action, visuals, emotion and a good story that makes you care for the characters, especially one of the orcs. Very good fantasy movie! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
nin2000Jun 12, 2016
I don't know why there is so much hate about this movie, it is an epic movie, full of action and history. As a WOW player i watched on IMAX and I had a blast a really good movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AlienVoltGamingJun 13, 2016
As a fan wanting to see a movie of this series since World of Warcraft's release in 2005, I was blown away. This movie is an epic entry into this franchise and is largely based on the Warcraft books with small departures. Of course this isAs a fan wanting to see a movie of this series since World of Warcraft's release in 2005, I was blown away. This movie is an epic entry into this franchise and is largely based on the Warcraft books with small departures. Of course this is only a taste of what this franchise has to offer with 30 years of lore to run with and sets up a back ground for some epic events and characters to come. I went to see this film with both people who I played World of Warcraft with and people that knew nothing about the games or books and everyone in my group absolutely loved it. The critical reviews are harsh on this film and are not justified in my honest opinion. The only thing I felt could have been better was a stronger emotional build for some of the characters like Lothar's son. The film met my high expectations and I can't wait to watch it again. I look forward to more movies in this expansive universe. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
UsagiSenninJun 13, 2016
Duncan Jones attempts to weave an impressive spell, but the conjugation's complexity sometimes gets the better of him.

Movies based on video games don't have a great track record. Most are terrible, a few slip into entertaning, very few
Duncan Jones attempts to weave an impressive spell, but the conjugation's complexity sometimes gets the better of him.

Movies based on video games don't have a great track record. Most are terrible, a few slip into entertaning, very few rise to the level of "good," none are "great." Budding director Duncan Jones apparently saw that mountain and said, "I'mma climb dat!" With dedication, focus, and heart he and his production team nearly reach the summit.

Based upon 1994's Warcraft: Orcs & Humans, Warcraft drops us directly and unapologeticly into the Orc invasion of Azeroth. Lead by the clearly evil and power-hungry sociopath Gul'Dan and his appointed Warchief Blackhand a large Orc warband travels to Azeroth to establish a foothold and open a larger and more stable portal so that their entire race may escape the dying world of Dreanor. The humans on the other side of that portal don't take kindly to being murdered by aliens or used for Fel fuel, and initiate an immediate military response.

The plot is simple enough to follow, and that's perfect for a fantasy setting that many will be engaging with for the first time. Where the stumbles happen is with the characters that actually have to carry the plot.

Nearly everything on the Orc side is amazing. Visually its the best use of CGI in the history of cinema, sometimes you can get lost enough to forget its CG. The tense personal and political struggles of Durotan and Draka feels really grounded and tense. Durotan doesn't agree with violently conquering an new world and he clearly has issues with Gul'dan's unabashed evil and lack of any scruples. However if he doesn't toe the line then he, his family, and his entire clan are going to be slaughtered. The constant political dance, small tender family moments, and hidden machinations and maneuvers are strong elements and very good cinema. If the whole movie was as strong as these scenes then I suspect the critics would have been much kinder.

The human side is, unfortunately, much more meandering. While on the Orc side you have only 6 key orcs (Durotan, Draka, Ogrim, Garona, Gul'dan, Blackhand) to pay attention to there are nearly a dozen humans that vie for attention and screen time. Unfortunately this reduces many of the humans to mere plot devices, as if every scene that was supposed to make us care got cut down to only the bare motivations. The young wizard Khadgar is a delight on screen singularly encapsulating both the serious and irreverent side of the Warcraft universe. Medivh, the older and much more powerful Wizard, is clearly gripping with a mental illness and struggling to hold himself together and it can be an uncomfortable duality. Lothar is a passable warrior, but aside from some brief shining moments, an unfortunately dull character. Garona was a strong female character and usually delightful on screen, however when she spoke in halting broken English after first meeting the humans it felt really offputting (yes your foreign we got that with the green skin and the tusks, stop hurting my ears!) That's not to mention the other characters that just glide in and out of the film.

The pacing of the film suffers from both its run time and its breadth. In an effort to keep the story moving many characters don't get a chance to breath and show us why we should attach to them. Paradoxically, the need for world building and squeal fuel lead to some otherwise unnecessary sequences. There were many scenes that could have been stripped out or paired down. The small section in Ironforge at the beginning, and the whole scene at Dalaran were pure fan service that really contributed nothing storywise. In fact at Dalaran Khadgar gets advised: What are you doing here?! You know what to do already. (Also: Alodi, because apparently there isn't enough esoteric lore in this movie).

The battle scenes were few, but great. Most importantly everything that was going on was clear. I was ready to knock the cosplay design of the human armor, but goddamnit it works so well to keep the battles easy to read.

So, why the high score? Simple, most of the problems amount to quibbles. I thoroughly enjoyed this film, and I can't help but think if Jones were given a longer runtime (3hrs.) he could have made the broad fantasy epic he was clearly aiming for, or if he was constrained more (90min) he would have cut out a lot and really focused on the core characters, playing to his strengths.

Will you like it?
If you're a fan of Warcraft: its a must see, just go and buy your ticket.
If you're a fan of high-fantasy: It will prove to be an enjoyable time. Although you may find yourself on Wowpedia looking things up, or bugging a friend that's already versed in Warcraft lore for some fleshing out.
If your not a fan of Warcraft or fantasy: Its going to be a crapshoot. If you can not worry about all the proper nouns and just take it in you may enjoy it without it being memorable. Otherwise you may wish to skip it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mariosgipsy7Jun 13, 2016
a great opening to this movie franchise with fantastic battles and cgi but te human charachters felt a little bit flat but the scope of it makes it great we believe that the sequels will improve it
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
robertdowningJun 13, 2016
The actual humans (that went to see this movie with the intention to enjoy or be entertained by it) pretty much universally loved it.

Great movie. Great pace. Great action. Great characters. Great story. Will see again. Can't wait
The actual humans (that went to see this movie with the intention to enjoy or be entertained by it) pretty much universally loved it.

Great movie. Great pace. Great action. Great characters. Great story. Will see again. Can't wait for more movies in this world.

Don't listen to the critics. I mean, who listens to the critics anyways? Most critics consistently give the vast majority of movies a **** snobby review. Seriously, we need some new critics if almost unanimously the critics have a different opinion than the public viewpoints that they are supposed to represent.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HalysonJun 13, 2016
O 10 não é por ser um filme perfeito, muita coisa ali poderia ser melhor, mas por reconhecimento de um filme que realmente valorizou o público da obra original. Espero que toda comunidade de jogadores de Warcraft apoie indo aos cinemas e façaO 10 não é por ser um filme perfeito, muita coisa ali poderia ser melhor, mas por reconhecimento de um filme que realmente valorizou o público da obra original. Espero que toda comunidade de jogadores de Warcraft apoie indo aos cinemas e faça boa divulgação como incentivo à criação de mais filmes como este, feito de fã para fãs. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
vosjes22Jun 14, 2016
Amazing movie. I have been a loyal player at World of Warcraft and I really enjoyed this because it is based on the game and allot of the game can be seen in the movie. LOVE IT
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
AestosJun 14, 2016
I saw this movie with as open a mind as possible considering it has such horrible critic reviews. What in the hell is with critics these days? This movie is not perfect as it feels rushed which leads to less character development than I wouldI saw this movie with as open a mind as possible considering it has such horrible critic reviews. What in the hell is with critics these days? This movie is not perfect as it feels rushed which leads to less character development than I would have liked considering how much emphasis is based on the quickly established relationships. With that said, it was worlds better than the reviews people are slamming it with. It is CGI heavy, but incredibly well done CGI ( and remember movies like Lord of the Rings, Starwars, Star Trek, every Marvel/DC film, Jurassic Park, etc. are also heavy CGI films).

The action is fantastic, fight scenes are well done, the magic is neat though it feels a bit rushed, the acting is solid for the most part though a few characters felt flat. Go watch the movie if you at all like fantasy.

On the critics: After seeing some of these terrible reviews I started to wonder how bad they rated some of the other movies I liked. My conclusion, many critics simply shouldn't review fantasy or horror genres because they don't like them. So many of the movies in those genres I have loved have been hacked to bits by the same critics that have raved about movies I have disliked immensely.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LOLO4011Jun 15, 2016
I don't play the game but I absolutely loved the movie!!! It's was so real, although the orcs were animated they didn't look like it. You couldn't even tell the difference between the animated and non animated. Everything meshed so perfectly,I don't play the game but I absolutely loved the movie!!! It's was so real, although the orcs were animated they didn't look like it. You couldn't even tell the difference between the animated and non animated. Everything meshed so perfectly, the story line and the characters acting were fabulous! Not sure why critics viewed it as bad because the consumers everywhere loved the movie! So shocked of how great the movie actually turned out. It was so good I'd go again and watch it at the movies. I hope they make a second one!! It's the best video game movie I have ever seen. This movie was so good I'd play the game. Who ever created the movie did a really good job!! I did not expect it to be that good. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ron2812Jun 15, 2016
It's so weird. How come critics rate this movie 30/100 while "normal" people rate it 8.6/10?
It's a great movie!
Not every more has to be some avantgardistic crap nobody watches to deserve a decent rating in my opinion. I recommend this
It's so weird. How come critics rate this movie 30/100 while "normal" people rate it 8.6/10?
It's a great movie!
Not every more has to be some avantgardistic crap nobody watches to deserve a decent rating in my opinion.
I recommend this movie, especially if you like the Warcraft games. Lot's of eastereggs, many familiar characters and great CGI.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
WAglowJun 15, 2016
Being a fan of the Warcraft lore going in to the movie I was easily able to enjoy the movie, I went with some of my friends who are not well versed in the lore of Warcraft and just explained a few things to them as the movie went on and theyBeing a fan of the Warcraft lore going in to the movie I was easily able to enjoy the movie, I went with some of my friends who are not well versed in the lore of Warcraft and just explained a few things to them as the movie went on and they said they enjoyed it as well. I absolutely can not wait for the sequel. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
exedesJun 16, 2016
I really enjoyed this film! When I saw those critics reviews I was a bit afraid - but DON'T trust them.
Great MOVIE !!!! i will buy the bluray too with 40 min of extra scenes
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mxcviJun 18, 2016
I'm glad I didn't listen to the critics. Brought the world and characters to life with a good mix of humour and pathos. Some nice little touches that brought a smile to this fan of the series.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
exoticfruitJun 18, 2016
Movie was awesome! The plot deviated a lot from the books/games for theatrical purposes, but otherwise stayed true to the Warcraft universe. A must see for fans!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
alextoulouJun 18, 2016
lol
Zero trust for metacritic anymore..
this actually was a really good movie, and i could watch it again:)
Even if you never heard about Warcraft, you should definitely go see it,.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
NerfDeezNutsJun 18, 2016
While it doesn't make it into my top 30 it is definitely a good movie, I enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who likes the fantasy genre.
My greatest complain is the editing: some scenes feel unnecessarily long and some others feel
While it doesn't make it into my top 30 it is definitely a good movie, I enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who likes the fantasy genre.
My greatest complain is the editing: some scenes feel unnecessarily long and some others feel too short (so much that in some parts you feel like you're switching context way too fast).
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MaxvongameroJun 20, 2016
Nice Movie. Not the best out there, but with potential in the following movies. But its a shame how bad some sides with "a name" shred the movie with the only aim to generate clicks. Shame! Shame! Shame!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AceorJun 20, 2016
So.... this movie is awesome! Simple.... but its kind of tricky to rate the movie, because i feel people will think "wow fanboy" compared to the critics, yes I'm a fan indeed. Incredible. A world brought to life from two decades ofSo.... this movie is awesome! Simple.... but its kind of tricky to rate the movie, because i feel people will think "wow fanboy" compared to the critics, yes I'm a fan indeed. Incredible. A world brought to life from two decades of imagination from game- playing. Tells a great story in a which encapsulates the humour and character of the games. A must- see for any fan of high fantasy, or if you've ever got anything out of Warcraft in the past, this will bring you right back. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Said01Aug 9, 2016
Overall it wasn't a bad movie. It was fun to watch but it could have been greater. The acting wasn't bad (again could be better) but there was a lack of main character. It was as if all the characters were supporting actors. I would say it isOverall it wasn't a bad movie. It was fun to watch but it could have been greater. The acting wasn't bad (again could be better) but there was a lack of main character. It was as if all the characters were supporting actors. I would say it is a mediocre start but i still want to see the next Warcraft movie because I think it will get more interesting and better. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
msneena25Dec 30, 2016
I heard of Warcraft video game, but never played. As for the movie I actually liked it. I was surprise that a lot of other people didn't. I would add this movie to my movie collection. Its better than Avatar... YES it is....
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
dajhornMay 20, 2018
A fun movie about monsters and magic with fan service for people that played the 1990s games. Beautiful style and art. Scares, violence, and plot appropriate for most preteens.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MihalJan 13, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Critics fail on this one... for real its 7/10 but i will give it 10/10 because i'am mad on how those 30 people trash this film!

This film was amazing. I am bored with same movies, this is something new.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BobmoraneJun 15, 2016
ITS A SHAME! I never feel so pissed off. What they've done is just not right. This is purely bullying. I've seen many movie in my life, im what you can call a cinephile and im pretty accurate when its time to judge a movie. So When i say thatITS A SHAME! I never feel so pissed off. What they've done is just not right. This is purely bullying. I've seen many movie in my life, im what you can call a cinephile and im pretty accurate when its time to judge a movie. So When i say that the CRITIC team up to **** all over this movie im pretty sure of what im saying. At this point im not even sure if they saw the movie.

I can understand that if you're not WARCRAFT fan this movie will seem odd and a bit off. AND THAT'S THE POINT this movie was made by warcraft fan for warcraft fan! Analyzing this movie otherwise is pointless. Its like looking at a rock and saying that its a ugly tree.

For those who didn't see the movie i highly recommend it, just for the sake of seeing a fantasy world becoming so accurately alive! You will get goosebumps each time an Orc raise his arm and smash something with a hammer!

P.S: Just look at the user score review, more than 1500 people stand up to defend a movie that's been thorn down by a gang of seflcomplaisant critic!

P.S2: still, the movie's not perfect but no one is!
Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
10
nono5551212Jun 13, 2016
WOW. I mean WOW how did this get a critic score of 32? Was Blizzard supposed to pay the professional critics and forgot to? Is that how scores work these days? Are they bought and paid for? I've never played any Warcraft games or any BlizzardWOW. I mean WOW how did this get a critic score of 32? Was Blizzard supposed to pay the professional critics and forgot to? Is that how scores work these days? Are they bought and paid for? I've never played any Warcraft games or any Blizzard games for that matter. I am judging this movie on just the movie. I was left wanting more. The story did a wonderful job setting up the franchise. The only problem I had with the movie was the bad acting from the half orc half human girl... In her defense it must be tough to act with bottom fangs. Ragnar was great in the movie.... Look I'm no critic and I can't tell you why I liked this movie... but I just did... I hope the poor reviews don't keep a sequel from being made... PLEASE GO OUT AND SEE THIS MOVIE AND BUY IT ON DVD OR DOWNLOAD WHEN IT COMES OUT. I'll never trust a professional critic ever again after their reviews of this movie. I thought the little orc baby the short time he was in the movie was adorable. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
9
alangvJun 13, 2016
First of all this movie is for the fans of Warcraft universe. and it seems like critics never played warcraft 1-3 or world of warcraft and dont know nothing about warcraft thats why they give such low scores. They just dont understand.
The
First of all this movie is for the fans of Warcraft universe. and it seems like critics never played warcraft 1-3 or world of warcraft and dont know nothing about warcraft thats why they give such low scores. They just dont understand.
The movie is great. visuals, story, characters.
All i can say is FOR THE HORDE !
Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
Zeratul12345Jun 29, 2016
I seriously believe critics just forgot how to have fun and enjoy a movie. This movie is fun, epic, very reminiscent to the lord of the rings movies, and even has a lot of Easter eggs for fans of the games. Go and watch it you won´t feelI seriously believe critics just forgot how to have fun and enjoy a movie. This movie is fun, epic, very reminiscent to the lord of the rings movies, and even has a lot of Easter eggs for fans of the games. Go and watch it you won´t feel disappointed. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
carlilelanceJun 14, 2016
So the acting was a little campy. It's a movie about Orks and Humans. If that's not your thing, you won't like it. If it is your thing...this movie is freakin' awesome!
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
cpjontekJun 15, 2016
I went and saw this with a friend who knew nothing about the games. He liked it more than me lol! I went and saw it again at the IMAX 3D and OMG the difference! This movie was made to be watched in that format. It's so high fantasy that allI went and saw this with a friend who knew nothing about the games. He liked it more than me lol! I went and saw it again at the IMAX 3D and OMG the difference! This movie was made to be watched in that format. It's so high fantasy that all the details come to life and made me feel so much more invested in the characters. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
rhino1181Jun 18, 2016
Me and my girlfriend recently went to see this film, and having neither of us know anything more about warcraft than hearthstone cards, we absolutely loved it, we feel they did a great job establishing a world and has laid down a potentiallyMe and my girlfriend recently went to see this film, and having neither of us know anything more about warcraft than hearthstone cards, we absolutely loved it, we feel they did a great job establishing a world and has laid down a potentially great story line Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
mAg1Cb0XJun 15, 2016
There are few indicators of the idiocy of critics regarding anything in the sci-fi or fantasy genres than their rigid adherence to tropes. If I have to read another review of Warcraft that complains that Lothar isn't Aragorn enough andThere are few indicators of the idiocy of critics regarding anything in the sci-fi or fantasy genres than their rigid adherence to tropes. If I have to read another review of Warcraft that complains that Lothar isn't Aragorn enough and Medivh isn't old enough to be Gandalf, then I'm going to tear my hair out. I enjoyed this film quite a bit and am very disappointed in mainstream critics who should have been giving mediocre at worst reviews, who instead are giving terrible reviews to a movie with a) a fairly complex plot, b) engaging characters with motivations, c) a nuanced look at a conflict that isn't just "good guys vs. bad guys", which often is split down racial or species lines.

This is not the best film around. In fact, it's likely a 7 out of 10. But the critics are so wrong in this case, I feel that the positive user reviews are warranted.
Expand
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
9
CriviewerJun 13, 2016
Really awesome. I'm a Warcraft fan, having played both Warcraft 2 and 3. It's great to see a genuine story based on the game in such a big blockbuster movie. Most of us are tired of all these Hollywood style movies, from which every newReally awesome. I'm a Warcraft fan, having played both Warcraft 2 and 3. It's great to see a genuine story based on the game in such a big blockbuster movie. Most of us are tired of all these Hollywood style movies, from which every new fantasy film presents just a re-hashed story. That is boring and useless.

Warcraft is none of that, which is exactly why critics rooted in the status quo don't like it and people looking for a genuinely heroic story will love it. I loved it, I felt it expressed authentic emotions, it had some really good CGI. It's true, it had some maybe embarrassing, childish, moments, but they pale in comparison with overall feeling of the movie.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
custompcmaxJun 21, 2016
First off, I am slightly surprised by the negative critic reviews on this. While I can admit there are maybe some issues in the first 45 minutes or so of the movie for non-players (maybe a little too much fan service, name dropping...) IFirst off, I am slightly surprised by the negative critic reviews on this. While I can admit there are maybe some issues in the first 45 minutes or so of the movie for non-players (maybe a little too much fan service, name dropping...) I don't think it is movie breaking. I am honestly not real sure what they were expecting here. It is a fantasy movie based on a very fantastical video game series. The video game is rich in lore, which is used to great effect here. The use of CGI is done well, even though there is a lot. Again - it is based on a video game, so I don't think it is a foul.

The movie is fun... period. It follows a story arc that precedes World of Warcraft (what many gamers familiar with the series have played) and is done really well. It brings in a lot of locations, characters and elements from the games. Much of it will be recognizable to people who have played World of Warcraft. The characters are well done, especially the Orcs. Without providing too much in the way of spoilers, the story is fairly deep. It isn't as simple as good vs bad (at least not as you are maybe expecting with humans vs orcs) and I appreciate that.

TLDR version: If you like fantasy flicks and/or Warcraft, I don't think you will be disappointed with this film. It is a fun and exciting ride, it gives you a nice story that has some depth and brings in a lot of elements from the games for the fans.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
LettunenaJun 13, 2016
Good movie, Only thing that bothers me that there was scenes what were discontinued/stopped too early.
Movie is not too hard to understand, plot is actually quite simple, dont take me wrong plot was good, it was everything what Warcraft
Good movie, Only thing that bothers me that there was scenes what were discontinued/stopped too early.
Movie is not too hard to understand, plot is actually quite simple, dont take me wrong plot was good, it was everything what Warcraft should be.
Movie was enjoyable within many aspect, humor, action, fantasy and acting was good.
Good work, keep it coming !!
waiting for second movie!
PS: Murlock spotted
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews