Sundance Selects | Release Date: September 23, 2011
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 86 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
72
Mixed:
8
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Imran24Oct 12, 2011
"Weekend" is such a delicate, modest little love story that even writing about it seems like it'll ruin the movie's spell. It's a slight film and hardly groundbreaking, but it's so lovely that you almost feel protective of it. Just like you"Weekend" is such a delicate, modest little love story that even writing about it seems like it'll ruin the movie's spell. It's a slight film and hardly groundbreaking, but it's so lovely that you almost feel protective of it. Just like you want its main couple to find love with each other, you don't want anyone's snark ripping this sweet film to shreds. And I hope at some point in the future the most "interesting" thing about "Weekend" isn't that it's a gay love story. Maybe eventually people will just like it because it's a good love story, period. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
rkellytexOct 9, 2011
A beautiful movie that captures what it is like to be a gay man, looking for a connection (or not). It is a rare opportunity to see our lives on film that doesn't resort to the use of the sassy best fiend, mincing drag queen, or homophobicA beautiful movie that captures what it is like to be a gay man, looking for a connection (or not). It is a rare opportunity to see our lives on film that doesn't resort to the use of the sassy best fiend, mincing drag queen, or homophobic father to flesh out our lives. It just shows how we might spend one weekend making a connection with another human being. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
filmfestguySep 23, 2011
Stunningly realistic and perfectly acted, WEEKEND surprised me in that I had no idea how hooked I had become until I found myself utterly moved by the end.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
littlehedonistMar 16, 2012
Weekend is probably the most honest queer film since Shortbus. Chris New and Tom Cullen give unnervingly intimate and intricate moments for such a sustained period that the skin begins to anticipate fingertips.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
OddBetJan 16, 2012
A truly amazing movie. Never have I encountered a more realistic and genuine depiction of romance. The characters are both enchanting, as are their conversations and interactions. New and Cullen are both perfect in their roles, hitting allA truly amazing movie. Never have I encountered a more realistic and genuine depiction of romance. The characters are both enchanting, as are their conversations and interactions. New and Cullen are both perfect in their roles, hitting all the right notes. This movie sticks with you, forcing you to come back to it long after the credits have rolled. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
coffeepottyApr 15, 2012
This film was as gay as hell! dont think you can get much gayer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleOct 7, 2011
An absolutely touching film, which I would have rated higher had more of the dialogue toward the beginning been audible. The person with me and I kept looking at each other: "What did he say??" For the most part, it's a great little film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mediaman23Oct 30, 2011
What a splendid surprise! One can only wonder why this terrific, engrossing and beautifully crafted film is not bringing in at least a few million in the box office (perhaps it will win over fans abroad). The characters are so wonderfullyWhat a splendid surprise! One can only wonder why this terrific, engrossing and beautifully crafted film is not bringing in at least a few million in the box office (perhaps it will win over fans abroad). The characters are so wonderfully real, and certainly ring true. Leads Tom Cullen (only 26!) and Chris New (the latter was very impressive when we saw him in an off-Broadway play earlier this year) are pitch perfect. My only regret is that we do not get to spend another 30-45 minutes with Glen and Russell, but I'm thankful for the time spent with them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jimmytancrediJun 23, 2012
Weekend was one of the most beloved romantic dramas by European critics last year. The picture is written and directed by Andrew Haigh, who has been production assistant and editor neophyte in works such as: Gladiator, Black Hawk Down,Weekend was one of the most beloved romantic dramas by European critics last year. The picture is written and directed by Andrew Haigh, who has been production assistant and editor neophyte in works such as: Gladiator, Black Hawk Down, Kingdom Of Heaven, all of them destined for the male public. This new venture is a warmhearted romantic gay drama. In which a consanguinity is able to evolve in a single weekend, leaving marks and emotions for the two young man differently conceived, an ardent Russel who does not raise the GLS flag and then there Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawApr 13, 2012
A peerless matter-of-fact approach of a gay romance-drama, I watched it for the first time end of last year in the cinema, but due to the fact Iâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
riskyMay 16, 2012
Weekend is a wonderful movie. The protagonists are complex and diverse, as well as highly suggestive and secretive. The chemistry between them on scene is fascinating and intriguing. I'm very happy that there's another gay movie out that doesWeekend is a wonderful movie. The protagonists are complex and diverse, as well as highly suggestive and secretive. The chemistry between them on scene is fascinating and intriguing. I'm very happy that there's another gay movie out that does not present the gay man as someone complementing the heterosexual everyday life; someone cute, witty and free with great experience in cutlery, sex, skin care, weddings and home deco. The men in the movie are to some extent alone and alienated, something much more relatable than an entourage of **** hags. The picture of something about to escape and the themes of, for example, loss translate into something real and relatable. This movie thrusts a fist down deep and stays there, even after the credits have finished rolling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
foxgroveDec 12, 2012
Weekend is an achingly sad and beautiful film about 2 gay guys who meet up over one weekend. Tom Cullen is so devastatingly good that I thought I knew him. The two characters are presented so honestly with all their flaws and insecuritiesWeekend is an achingly sad and beautiful film about 2 gay guys who meet up over one weekend. Tom Cullen is so devastatingly good that I thought I knew him. The two characters are presented so honestly with all their flaws and insecurities that you are by turn fascinated and hypnotised by the simplicity of the excellent screenplay. When all is said and done at its heart this is a life affirming love story which is not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NirglaucioOct 20, 2014
Stunningly realistic and perfectly acted. One of the truest, most beautiful movies ever made about two strangers. So i thinking this movie, so so perfect. I love this movie. Is my favorite
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheGreenBeastNov 30, 2014
One of the most authentic, realistic and truly genuine movies I have ever seen! The Script is simply beyond perfect! The actors are unbelievably compelling and amazing, and not to mention very courageous! It just makes me very happy, to knowOne of the most authentic, realistic and truly genuine movies I have ever seen! The Script is simply beyond perfect! The actors are unbelievably compelling and amazing, and not to mention very courageous! It just makes me very happy, to know that movies like Weekend exist ... it is pure Honesty!
I don't know what else to say, you have to see it ... It is perfect!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews