Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: January 29, 2010
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 63 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
25
Mixed:
11
Negative:
27
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
RickAFeb 7, 2010
You know this is what movie making was like back in the day when morality was considered an important part in the making of a film. I for one have an appreciation for good clean fun and this was fun and humorous with out profanity or nudity, You know this is what movie making was like back in the day when morality was considered an important part in the making of a film. I for one have an appreciation for good clean fun and this was fun and humorous with out profanity or nudity, wow, what a surprise. I do not care much for the degradation of humanity by morally destructive movie making and that is why I find this a refreshing change. It appears that the critics that viewed this movie care only for movies that are morally disgusting or violent n their entertainment, maybe they would have liked it better if it had a lot of profane language and a lot of full frontal nudity or incest, Do not get me wrong this is no Gone With The Wind academy award winning love story, but it was cute and fun to watch purely for the entertainment value. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PayupSep 28, 2010
One of the few movies that start badly and then just go uphill and keep improving. good for a couple of laughs and just overall extremely fun to watch. i normally hate kristen bell, but even she couldn't drag down this great film. loved it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
smumites45Dec 11, 2011
FUN, FUN, FUNNY i liked this movie a lot i have seen better films but it had a few laughs i wish they made more romantic comedies that aren't rude like this one
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
kat267Aug 5, 2015
Really fun and exciting movie. Kristen Bell has such an endearing personality which really made the plot move along. Josh Duhamel is also really hot, and they make a perfect couple! I am amazed that the critics didn't like it because IReally fun and exciting movie. Kristen Bell has such an endearing personality which really made the plot move along. Josh Duhamel is also really hot, and they make a perfect couple! I am amazed that the critics didn't like it because I thought it was really creative and comedic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
heyitsmegrif4Dec 31, 2011
Kristen Bell definitely does not save this cliche driven romantic comedy ( if it should even be called that. It should be a horror movie). She gives such a bad performance she almost steeps as low in acting quality as the supporting actors.Kristen Bell definitely does not save this cliche driven romantic comedy ( if it should even be called that. It should be a horror movie). She gives such a bad performance she almost steeps as low in acting quality as the supporting actors. When in Rome isn't funny or romantic. Please stay away. I give this movie 9%. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
BekaBFeb 6, 2010
I thought this was a great movie. it was feel good, funny, just what it is supposed to be. it's not meant to be deep or unpredictable. loved it - great escape movie. don't listen to the critics.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RegOzJan 27, 2012
I loved it! and I disagree with this movie's critics...in generall I will never understand most of the critics (especially the ones of Rotten Tomatoes!) . For example, critics often give many starts to comedies that are gruesome, raw andI loved it! and I disagree with this movie's critics...in generall I will never understand most of the critics (especially the ones of Rotten Tomatoes!) . For example, critics often give many starts to comedies that are gruesome, raw and abbuse of sexual imagery (e.g There's Is Something About Mary) while they disregard romantic comedies. 'When in Rome' is engaging, sweet, yet a cool movie. It never gets tacky or overly emotional/corney. Seeing this movie was like a refreshing breeze! . If you are trying to find realism in comedies, you are not always going to find it and you may get disappointed with this. The purpose of a comedy is making you laugh, and in order to do so, the resources that producers/directors/writers use are very diverse and those may include 'fairy tale' sort of fantasy! At the end,what is important is that you enjoy it . The plot of this movie is a bit 'Disney-like' so even your children-in you have them- may enjoy it. But remember, this movie is not there to teach you anything, nor is it there to be trascendental, for is just a comedy; thus, is just about having a good time. So watch it with an open mind and an open heart...and forget about critics (their opinions are, after all, subjective) and remember, just because it is romantic it doesn't mean is bad!!! Finally, if you see it positively come and share it here! The movie needs it! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SamSFeb 28, 2010
Why do critics always hate romantic comedies? Is it because their own lives are humorless and without love? Kristen Bell is adorable and her enjoyable personality made it worth seeing the whole movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ZoltronKJan 31, 2010
I liked it. It was a good romantic-comedy and a great date movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jennysurferJan 31, 2010
Perfect chick flick for a night out with the ladies!!! Loved the craziness and has a different story line then others of it's kind. Truly unique!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EvanAug 27, 2010
This movie is poorly put together and just kind of weird. Worst of all, the jokes are not funny. There is not really even a good plot or character development. My wife and I paid $1 to see this from Redbox and I still feel ripped off. SeeThis movie is poorly put together and just kind of weird. Worst of all, the jokes are not funny. There is not really even a good plot or character development. My wife and I paid $1 to see this from Redbox and I still feel ripped off. See a good movie instead of this boring piece of crap. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
RazvSep 23, 2010
Not worth the time. It's true that probably the only good romantic comedy i've seen in the past couple of years was 500 Days of Summer, and this genre keeps setting the bar lower and lower, but still, you expect more than this dull, humorlessNot worth the time. It's true that probably the only good romantic comedy i've seen in the past couple of years was 500 Days of Summer, and this genre keeps setting the bar lower and lower, but still, you expect more than this dull, humorless movie. The so-called jokes (i don't consider falling or being hit by something a joke) are not funny, the lines are naive and the story is uninteresting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
TonyJan 2, 2011
For a film with a cast so rife with comedic talent, this is painfully unfunny. Bell's charm is the only redeeming factor here, but it is not even remotely enough to make this watchable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
RodrigoBGCOct 10, 2011
someone should ban this type of films because it only hurts the intellect of the people, these films are an aberration to the true stories of love, this movies is just .... bad
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
dev92Aug 24, 2012
It wasn't totally awful and it doesn't disguise itself from what it is. The cliched rom-com doesn't really get made anymore and I can see why. It doesn't work. With comedies like The Hangover and The 40 Year-Old Virgin dominating theIt wasn't totally awful and it doesn't disguise itself from what it is. The cliched rom-com doesn't really get made anymore and I can see why. It doesn't work. With comedies like The Hangover and The 40 Year-Old Virgin dominating the landscape, romantic comedies don't hold a place in the market. Also, the story in general is beyond moronic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
I watched this a second time and I have no idea what I saw in it the first time. Not only was the story so-so, but it wasn't even told well. The pacing was horrible! I felt like the two main characters met, then they were instantly in love,I watched this a second time and I have no idea what I saw in it the first time. Not only was the story so-so, but it wasn't even told well. The pacing was horrible! I felt like the two main characters met, then they were instantly in love, and then there was immediate conflict. Also, the supporting cast is exhausting and annoying. I hate Jon Heder! While I'll admit I liked this film the first time, it did not deliver at all the second time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
JmsbppJul 19, 2013
Walt disney deja peliculas bonitas pero al mismo tiempo ridiculas y mal hechas como esta..............................................................
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
AaronC.Jan 30, 2010
romantic comedies usually don't come through, but this film was so very, very terrible. What in the heck are hilarious people like Kristen Bell, Danny DeVito, Angelica Huston, Will Arnett (one of my favorite comedians: terrible in this romantic comedies usually don't come through, but this film was so very, very terrible. What in the heck are hilarious people like Kristen Bell, Danny DeVito, Angelica Huston, Will Arnett (one of my favorite comedians: terrible in this film) and Dax Sheperd doing in this god awful piece of garbage? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesHMay 16, 2010
I saw this movie on a cruise ship one day when I was bored. I couldn't believe how lazy the writing was - it was more like a bad TV sitcom than a full production movie. Predictability is normal in a romantic comedy but a good one has I saw this movie on a cruise ship one day when I was bored. I couldn't believe how lazy the writing was - it was more like a bad TV sitcom than a full production movie. Predictability is normal in a romantic comedy but a good one has good chemistry between the leads and is funny. This one is NOT funny - nearly all attempts at humor failed. The audience I saw it with were quiet the entire time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadSJan 31, 2010
It isn't 1953 anymore, the year William Wyler's "Roman Holiday" hit the silver screen, when women, many of them without careers, could fly to Italy for romance and adventure. Beth(Kristen Bell), a working woman, a single woman, It isn't 1953 anymore, the year William Wyler's "Roman Holiday" hit the silver screen, when women, many of them without careers, could fly to Italy for romance and adventure. Beth(Kristen Bell), a working woman, a single woman, doesn't have the luxury of taking a two-week vacation. She's busy, in demand, but her boss reluctantly gives this curator for the Guggenheim Museum two days to attend her sister's wedding, much to the detriment of "When in Rome". At first, the film's sudden shift back to American soil jars, since the title evokes memories of Gregory Peck and Audrey Hepburn on a scooter, then disappoints, as the fallout from Beth's theivery at the Fountain of Love, one suspects, had a better chance of working in a romantic locale such as Rome. As it stands, the story labors under the pretense of serendipity, in which Beth's potential suitors had known that their match-made-in-heaven was waiting for them in New York. Not counting Nick(Josh Dushamel), the moviegoer has to suffer through not one, or two, but three "meet-cutes". Too bad Beth wasn't unemployed so she could ward off her spellbound admirers in a setting where their persistence for romance seems less like stalking. "When in Rome" contains scenes that remind the moviegoer of decidedly urbane movies such as "The Silence of the Lambs"(actually the bit in the restaurant is quite funny) and "Dressed to Kill", cinematic evocations that are counterproductive to the light comic tone of Italian farce which the filmmaker doesn't quite pull off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
shlugalugSep 3, 2010
Kristen Bell's first big role and it's not bad just not that good. What's wrong is that the film is just continuously repeats on itself. And by the end, it's so repetitive, it really gets under your skin. And yes, I like Kristen Bell and atKristen Bell's first big role and it's not bad just not that good. What's wrong is that the film is just continuously repeats on itself. And by the end, it's so repetitive, it really gets under your skin. And yes, I like Kristen Bell and at times, she was funny but her supporting performers really killed it. And it was predictable, not surprised Josh Duhamel look embarrassed at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SonicphotoSep 28, 2010
There is no doubt When In Rome is a decent film to just spend the time and have a few laughs, but it doesn't bring anything truly new to the table. Kristen Bell has potential as an actress, I just don't think she fits in comedy. Same thingThere is no doubt When In Rome is a decent film to just spend the time and have a few laughs, but it doesn't bring anything truly new to the table. Kristen Bell has potential as an actress, I just don't think she fits in comedy. Same thing for Josh, he is more like the action hero kind of guy, but props to him because I thought he was going to do bad in this film, but he did good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews